Hatchet III

Hatchet III Image
Metascore
25

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A search and recovery team heads into the haunted swamp to pick up the pieces and Marybeth learns the secret to ending the voodoo curse that has left Victor Crowley haunting and terrorizing Honey Island Swamp for decades.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 5 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Staeger
    Jun 11, 2013
    60
    There's no shortage of visceral, gross-out thrills.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jun 13, 2013
    50
    There’s something curiously underwhelming about the blood-soaked mayhem on display in Hatchet III.
  3. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jun 13, 2013
    40
    The execution, however, leaves something to be desired, as this effort seems more visually muddled and choppier than previous installments.
  4. Reviewed by: Drew Hunt
    Jun 10, 2013
    25
    BJ McDonnell, too hesitant to stray from the beaten path set by Green's previous films, lacks the looser, more whimsical hand that would have allowed Hatchet III to transcend its thoughtlessly imitative state.
  5. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    Jun 13, 2013
    25
    Will there be a “Hatchet IV’’? I shudder to think about it.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jun 12, 2013
    25
    A film that plays like a long, tedious inside joke for fanboys.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 14, 2013
    0
    The crowd that likes these things will certainly be psyched. Everyone else, not so much.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    This movie is very striking with more horror than the previous plot giving a special touch on a sequel so well done. Deaths are more violentThis movie is very striking with more horror than the previous plot giving a special touch on a sequel so well done. Deaths are more violent and more serious than the previous film. It's like Friday the 13th, but much better with more techniques and more deaths. I think this movie deserves to win awards for excellent performances and especially Danielle Harris is more acclaimed playing the role of Marybeth. Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2016
    8
    Not as good as the second but it was still an entertaining gory movie.The story might not be as interesting as the previous ones but, it wasNot as good as the second but it was still an entertaining gory movie.The story might not be as interesting as the previous ones but, it was the grand finale and if you saw the first two, you can't miss this one. Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    I missed out on the previous Hatchet films, but I really had a good time watching this. The gags were great. hilarious set ups, but alwaysI missed out on the previous Hatchet films, but I really had a good time watching this. The gags were great. hilarious set ups, but always satisfyingly gory, and there's no cgi to ruin it. I liked the witty dialogue, even though its purposely cheesy. There's a few horror cameos that surprised me for a low budget movie. After seeing this I had to watch the previous film the next day on demand. Expand
  4. Jun 16, 2013
    5
    Hatchet 3 manages to be submersive and scary with a bloody hell blood ride but depresses towards the end and just gets SAW head slasher goryHatchet 3 manages to be submersive and scary with a bloody hell blood ride but depresses towards the end and just gets SAW head slasher gory flick for the audience to snooze around. Collapse
  5. Sep 16, 2015
    5
    This movie was better than the last 2. Which was not hard as they lacked proper pacing. Both movies had all major deaths occurring in the lastThis movie was better than the last 2. Which was not hard as they lacked proper pacing. Both movies had all major deaths occurring in the last 20 minutes of the film. This film is just gore throughout which is a major improvement. However, the acting is terrible with the main character Mary-Beth stuck between being a snarky badass heroin and a whining idiot. Everything you expect to happen, happens. There's no surprises. If you expect a brilliant film, you're going to be disappointed. If you expect an average horror movie, you'll have a decent time as it hilariously doesn't take itself seriously. Expand
  6. LTR
    Oct 5, 2013
    2
    This movie is a DISASTER!The story is stupid,the acting is bad,the blood looks like kool aid and isn't even scary.It is just like most reallyThis movie is a DISASTER!The story is stupid,the acting is bad,the blood looks like kool aid and isn't even scary.It is just like most really bad horror movie sequels. Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2013
    0
    2 points for the two laughs it gave me, other than that it was a waste of my time. Danielle's accent was all over the place, just like the2 points for the two laughs it gave me, other than that it was a waste of my time. Danielle's accent was all over the place, just like the second. Sometimes it was great, sometimes if was non-existent, and sometimes it was downright terrible. The kills were the same old same old. It was pretty much a film by numbers "Hatchet" edition. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.