Her

Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 18, 2013
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1360 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,217
Mixed:
77
Negative:
66
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
StriderKiwiFeb 9, 2014
Semi-interesting use of near futuristic technology
somewhat unnecessarily vivid depictions of love making
the humor is very vulgar and disgusting throughout. Wasn't a huge fan of it. Their use of videogames is kinda dumb and clearly from
Semi-interesting use of near futuristic technology
somewhat unnecessarily vivid depictions of love making
the humor is very vulgar and disgusting throughout. Wasn't a huge fan of it. Their use of videogames is kinda dumb and clearly from the point of view of someone who doesn't play videogames so that didn't make me very happy. Lots of language and most of it isn't really called for. The videogames are anything but violent (which considering how vulgar the rest of the movie is, I'm really not sure why they didn't go with a more accurate depiction seeing as most videogames are in fact violent) and all of them seem like discount German games. The acting is pretty good. I'm not at all a fan of Joaquin but he did a great job and Johansson was great too even if she only did voicework. The dialogue is generally good with the exception of the aforementioned excess vulgarity, that could've been done without. There's something that happens near the end that i saw coming that shows potential but then quickly is thrown away and I wasn't exaclty sold on the ending Her settled for either. All in all, it had some good ideas but many could've used better execution.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
FranzHcriticJul 20, 2014
Besides few moments of brilliance, 'Her' suffers from an oddly unbalanced pacing and lack of structure in the script that fails to blend these ideas together. The acting is well enough. All the critics who write positive reviews are simplyBesides few moments of brilliance, 'Her' suffers from an oddly unbalanced pacing and lack of structure in the script that fails to blend these ideas together. The acting is well enough. All the critics who write positive reviews are simply trying to appear like they're not stupid, but it's the opposite. Spike Jonze needed a lot more time to think this through. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
FilmQueenOct 25, 2015
This could have been a really interesting concept, but it's too slow-paced and the relationship between the computer and Theodore is just plain boring. I mean, other than not having a body Samantha seems very human, so it's easy to imagineThis could have been a really interesting concept, but it's too slow-paced and the relationship between the computer and Theodore is just plain boring. I mean, other than not having a body Samantha seems very human, so it's easy to imagine ...what if she was a human? In that case this film would be just a terribly boring and long story about a relationship that consist of two person asking each other: "Are you Ok?" *Sigh*"Yeah". I am not kidding, their conversations mostly look like this or something similar. Also Theodore is a big looser, that should not be a problem, but I can't even feel sorry for him, he is a boring character in my opinion. However the acting is great, the cinematography and scenery is pretty and the music is good, too. So the whole atmosphere of the film can easily capture the viewer, I understand why some people might like this, but I still think it's overrated. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Tony1984Feb 18, 2017
I wish I could give HER a higher score because it's beautifully produced in the visual sense and Joaquin Phoenix is an outstanding actor but..Samantha's voice just nauseated me, I just couldn't get past it and quit after half an hour...I loveI wish I could give HER a higher score because it's beautifully produced in the visual sense and Joaquin Phoenix is an outstanding actor but..Samantha's voice just nauseated me, I just couldn't get past it and quit after half an hour...I love Cortana with a passion so it's not a disembodied voice I found creepy just HER. Secondly, the old trope of a materially comfortable future but a soulless one is wearisome. People have been lonely since the beginning of time and will always be, so the movie is profiting somewhat off lonely people which is to my mind exploitative. And lastly, Loneliness is voluntary, if you're happy with yourself than you will attract friends and as a last or even first resort.. if that's where a person is stuck at, get a DOG, man's and woman's best friend.. or even a cat at a push... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
shiftworkerNov 30, 2016
Sci-fi. The not-too-distant future. Joaquin Phoenix becomes increasingly dependant on his interactive operating system. A slightly creepy warning of the place we have given IT.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
SandyflowersJan 16, 2014
HER made me super uncomfortable. The whole idea of falling in love with a computer system made me feel creeped out. Maybe it was Joaquin Phoenix's mustache that made it feel dirty. But I understand that this movie is about how people couldHER made me super uncomfortable. The whole idea of falling in love with a computer system made me feel creeped out. Maybe it was Joaquin Phoenix's mustache that made it feel dirty. But I understand that this movie is about how people could fall in love with anyone and apparently anything. I liked that about the film. The message it gave.well at least what I got. Anyway, the other reason I give it a kinda good review is because when I was watching the movie I felt the emotions the actors were acting out. I understood why he and Amy Adams characters turned to the OS system. Their lives were depressing and the actors played it out so well for the audience. I felt all the emotions. and I loved how the movie was half visual and half dialogue. It was beautifully filmed. Expand
9 of 15 users found this helpful96
All this user's reviews
5
WadeVSJan 26, 2014
An interesting premise for a movie, but Joaquin is basically playing the part of Leonard from the Big Bang Theory and that seems like a waste for him. When you take the humour out of that role he is whiny and annoying and has an uglyAn interesting premise for a movie, but Joaquin is basically playing the part of Leonard from the Big Bang Theory and that seems like a waste for him. When you take the humour out of that role he is whiny and annoying and has an ugly mustache. This movie could have been great but was a bit gloomy and intense. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
5
lunanulJan 21, 2014
Starts amazingly well, but by the end is bloated with distractions. Too much overlap with Being John Malkovich (a tighter, superior effort). Yet if you're a Jonze fan (as I am), it's a must-see. Lower expectations a tad and enjoy the copiousStarts amazingly well, but by the end is bloated with distractions. Too much overlap with Being John Malkovich (a tighter, superior effort). Yet if you're a Jonze fan (as I am), it's a must-see. Lower expectations a tad and enjoy the copious good stuff. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
4
LynJan 13, 2014
I really like Joaquin Phoenix and enjoyed his acting here ... but this is a deeply silly story that (even for science fiction) has few believable notes. Start with the notion that anyone in the future will make a living composing emotional,I really like Joaquin Phoenix and enjoyed his acting here ... but this is a deeply silly story that (even for science fiction) has few believable notes. Start with the notion that anyone in the future will make a living composing emotional, handwritten notes for people -- when we're already at the point where people express sympathy in Facebook posts and "tributes" to the dead on Twitter! The story has no more insights than that episode of "Big Bang Theory" in which Raj falls in love with "Siri" in his new iPhone. Honestly feel many who adore the film are in love with the notion that the breathy voice of the fake computerized girlfriend is Scarlett Johansson. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
5
seantimothyJan 21, 2014
I was torn about this movie. On the one hand, it explored some interesting concepts about singularity and AI. On the other, it seemed like it was just a self glorified hipster marketing ploy. Good film, but I got sick of all the mustaches andI was torn about this movie. On the one hand, it explored some interesting concepts about singularity and AI. On the other, it seemed like it was just a self glorified hipster marketing ploy. Good film, but I got sick of all the mustaches and bright colored jeans. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
5
doughboy914Jan 15, 2014
To summarize: This was an interesting premise that failed to live up to its potential, much less hold my attention for two hours. From the instant we learned of the main character's profession - the movie lost me. It is impossible toTo summarize: This was an interesting premise that failed to live up to its potential, much less hold my attention for two hours. From the instant we learned of the main character's profession - the movie lost me. It is impossible to believe that in any future of ours - where we are moving away from letters in exponential progression (letters to emails to texts to instagram and now Snapchat) - there would be a viable outsourced personal letter writing business. Preposterous. While I believe that many a sad sack could fall in love with an AI operating system, I find it impossible to believe that 99 out of 100 people wouldn't find that relationship more than a little creepy as opposed to opposite as depicted in this film. Phoenix did a great job appearing odd in the film, but his oddness and interesting premise was not enough to turn this oh-so-boring film into one worth watching. As is often the case with interesting premises and solid acting performances, the critics have grossly overrated the film. Maybe if I was forced to see one typically terrible film after another, I'd overrate atypical fare, but being able to discriminate, I don't. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
5
QualitygamerJan 27, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. By no means a terrible movie, but the ending is one of the worst in a very long time. It is obviously rushed, does not explain anything, and does not make sense when you consider reality and how this movie already tries to make the setting seem like a not-so far off future, grounded in OUR reality.

-SPOILERS-

Products that you buy DO NOT just "ascend" and "go away". It was extremely, extremely rushed near the ending with no time given to explain the previous event which was actually the movie's climax.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
foxgroveFeb 19, 2014
The fact that 'Her' is laden with nominations, awards, 10 best list citations and superlatives galore makes the disappointment all the more acute, although not all that surprising as I find Spike Jones' films very resistable. 'Being JohnThe fact that 'Her' is laden with nominations, awards, 10 best list citations and superlatives galore makes the disappointment all the more acute, although not all that surprising as I find Spike Jones' films very resistable. 'Being John Malkovich' is ok for one viewing, but I didn't get 'Adaptation' at all.

'Her' starts promisingly enough and one settles down to enjoy a gentle and engaging comedy, but the lauded screenplay is fatally flawed. On the one hand one admires some original conceits only to dismiss their unbelievable conclusions within the soft centred predictability of the story's arc. There is also a streak of sentimentality a mile wide and however hard it tries for the reverse, by the end I found myself exasperated and totally unmoved by what transpires. In addition I had more fun watching the computer games in the film than I did from the film itself.

Joaquin Phoenix is as good as always and Scarlett Johansson is engaging, for a while, as operating system Samantha, but even she wears thin by the end. Amy Adams is becoming somewhat over exposed of late and is much better in 'American Hustle'. It seems to me that the critics go ga ga over anything that seems to present an original idea. Dig deeper, though, and ths is actually not as original as its surface sheen would have us believe. It's just another boy meets girl, by loses girl, boy meets different girl. See, not so original after all. Finally, I have to mention that the simulated sex scene between Phoenix and the operating sytem is just embarrassing.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
Gamer147Feb 2, 2014
eh
Not really much to say, a pretty bleh movie. Couldn't even finish it, gets a six because the concept was pretty interesting.
filler filler filler
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
RobbertFeb 1, 2014
The lead actor's performance (Joaquin Phoenix) was amazing. I loved the originality and awkwardness of the plot. The movie is shot beautifully. Sadly, as much as I loved the first half, during the second half the (by now predictable) plotThe lead actor's performance (Joaquin Phoenix) was amazing. I loved the originality and awkwardness of the plot. The movie is shot beautifully. Sadly, as much as I loved the first half, during the second half the (by now predictable) plot started to drag on for too long. I can't help but feel like the movie could have been way better if it were cut shorter. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryJan 22, 2014
Joaquin Phoenix plays an earnest man who leads a quiet life in slightly-future LA. He loads a new operating system on his computer (voiced by Scarlett Johansson) and they end up passionately in love. Director Spike Jonze has written a uniqueJoaquin Phoenix plays an earnest man who leads a quiet life in slightly-future LA. He loads a new operating system on his computer (voiced by Scarlett Johansson) and they end up passionately in love. Director Spike Jonze has written a unique story and endowed it with sweet ruminations on love and life. Cinematographer Hoyte Van Hoytema has created a lovely look with soft light and shallow focus. The whole film has a wistful, quiet quality that's heartfelt, but there are too many scenes of Phoenix in solo conversations with his OS. I also had problems with some stuff being modern and cool, while other things (esp. the fashion) look disappointingly unfuturistic. Despite its good qualities, this could have been a short and would have been charming. For me it's just too long and too precious. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
5
LowbrowCinemaDec 26, 2013
HER looks and sounds great, thank you Scarlett Johansson, but ultimately Spike Jonze's latest proves to be too long with nothing much new to say despite its futuristic setting and ostensible outlook.
7 of 21 users found this helpful714
All this user's reviews
4
PatternFallsFeb 11, 2014
This movie tries and fails to immerse you in a story between man and machine. It fails because the characters live in a society (apparently the near future) were all this strange and alien behaviour is viewed as normal, but we as an audienceThis movie tries and fails to immerse you in a story between man and machine. It fails because the characters live in a society (apparently the near future) were all this strange and alien behaviour is viewed as normal, but we as an audience still find it alienating thus making the actions of the characters unsympathetic and unrelatable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TommyKGBFeb 18, 2014
Actually, I haven't seen this movie but I wanted to add that the plot of this one sounds very close to an old Twilight Zone episode and I'm wondering if that's where the idea came from. It starred Wally Cox playing a super nerd who falls forActually, I haven't seen this movie but I wanted to add that the plot of this one sounds very close to an old Twilight Zone episode and I'm wondering if that's where the idea came from. It starred Wally Cox playing a super nerd who falls for his (giant) computer. It's quite amusing to see what the producers of that show thought a modern computer would look like. The computer communicates with Cox by displaying a series of cue cards on the front of the huge console. An attractive assistant technician tries to get Cox's attention but he's too concerned about the feelings of his mechanical friend. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
CMCFeb 9, 2014
The near-future depicted is clever, and the movie is easy enough to watch, but is not memorable in any way. The main characters do not seem credible, which may be due to the movie's uneasy relationship to comedy. It is indeed possible forThe near-future depicted is clever, and the movie is easy enough to watch, but is not memorable in any way. The main characters do not seem credible, which may be due to the movie's uneasy relationship to comedy. It is indeed possible for comedic characters to be memorable, like Peter Sellers so often demonstrated, but in this case everyone is just flat and not interesting. There is absolutely no arc to the story or to the experience of the main character; he has the same flat inflection in the beginning, middle and end. The Saturday Night Live parody is perfect, because it demonstrates how much the movie depends on a surface gloss of slowly moving cameras, an intrusive score, high saturation imagery, etc. If they had cut out 40 million of Hollywood gloss it might have helped force the characters to carry more. Once again the Metascore is so out of sync with my own perceptions, I am afraid that Metacritic is no long the semi-reliable barometer it used to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Trev29Jun 17, 2014
A well made movie with an interesting concept that opts to go for a much more depressing story than it needed to be. The funny moments were great, the ideas were smart, and the pace was terrible by the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
smilzobobozOct 4, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm quite sure Spike Jonze doesn't know how his phone works... the whole thing is totally unrealistic. At first it was ok, actually pretty good, but didn't take much before I started checking the time every 5 minutes or so.

What I found incoherent about this AI is that she/it is sometimes incredibly efficient and overly smart, but sometimes thinks far slower, like if she/it was an average human. If the AI was that smart it wouldn't have taken the whole movie to break with the guy, she/it wouldn't have started the relation in the first place and there would have been no movie material and there would have been no movie, full stop.

I hate things that don't make sense.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
borderlinefilmsFeb 4, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not a Keeper

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts needs to return to limiting Best Picture contenders to five nominations, which always fell in line with the five Best Director nominees. Having ten casts too wide a net and allows squeakers like "Her" to slip in.

Spike Jonze needs to return to doing what he does best, and that is direct films written by Charlie Kaufman. "Her" is mundane and uninspired. "She" is drastically inferior to "Adaptation" and "Spotless Mind" and only somewhat better than John Malkovich flirting with Siri. Her has little to offer on the subjects of digital addiction, imaginary companions, internet porn, the singularity, long-distance love affairs, servitude fantasies, or post-modern love in general. Joaquin Phoenix is an intense and seriously committed actor who pointlessly busts his chops on such unimpressive material. An effort wasted in the prime of his career. While Jonze attempts to reach for all the possibilities that can be explored with his high concept premise, he conspicuously excludes other logical outcomes. Why was Theodore the only one with a virtual girlfriend? This OSi should be selling like hotcakes and iPhones. As a sentient OS, Samantha is able to process information at lightning speed, yet can only process human emotion at the rate of molasses. Seems like there was a trade off. The more emotional she gets, the dumber she becomes. Call it the Spock effect. Above all, why didn't Samantha give herself a digitized face and body? Perhaps because Jonze was determined to contain and disable her enough to make the point that true romantic love has little to do with desires of the flesh. But there is little to muse about beyond this tidy declaration. Nothing more knotty or involving than one would experience revisiting old episodes of I Dream of Jeannie (replace the smart-phone with a bottle). While half-watching "Her", my thoughts strayed, seeking a more satisfying premise than that of a lonely man falling in love with a voice on his computer. What if his dying wife's brain was transferred into an operating system and just when he thought he could be with her forever a computer virus kills her off?

Maybe the Academy should divide the 10 Best Picture nominees into two categories. Instead of bunching mega-budget extravaganzas and low-budget darlings together, they could separate them into 5 Best Studio Movies and 5 Best Independent Films (under, say, $25 mill); open with one, close with the other. But even then, I'm not sure Her deserves any mention.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews