Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: March 31, 2000
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 144 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
130
Mixed:
7
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
3
JessicaA.Nov 8, 2004
From a female's perspective who had read the book before the movie, I did not enjoy it at all. The beginning is very slow, and didn't catch my attention. Who wants to know about another pathetic PIG of a man, or should i say CHILD? From a female's perspective who had read the book before the movie, I did not enjoy it at all. The beginning is very slow, and didn't catch my attention. Who wants to know about another pathetic PIG of a man, or should i say CHILD? Women get enough of this immaturity from real men, we don't need to hear about someone else. I do have to say that the end helped me understand men a little better but I still thought it was poor. Maybe it's because the only thing Rob (the narrator) talks about is Music and how it relates to his pathetic life. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RichardGOct 26, 2006
The worst movie I
0 of 5 users found this helpful
10
ClintAug 26, 2002
Great like a movie is great but the book is better, although much of what made the book so good couldn't be scripted into the movie too well. john cusack-definately in my top five actors.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
HaroldD.Nov 7, 2006
Watching this movie was like a 90 minute glimpse into hell. I hear "You mean you don't have Blonde on Blonde??" twenty times a day at work, I don't feel like hearing it on screen. Even worse is it's coming out of Jack Watching this movie was like a 90 minute glimpse into hell. I hear "You mean you don't have Blonde on Blonde??" twenty times a day at work, I don't feel like hearing it on screen. Even worse is it's coming out of Jack Black's mouth. This movie is for hipster's only. If you have any kind of intelligence or self-respect rent something else. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BlancoA.Feb 1, 2001
This was my favorite movie of 2000 (with "Almost Famous" as a close second). Jack Black is incredible in this film, and John Cusack is his typical brilliant self.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PicoP.Jun 1, 2001
A brilliant movie, perfectly casted, scripted, and acted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlecD.Feb 3, 2004
It deserves every point John Cusack is incredible and the movie itself is hillarious and appeals to any man who has ever been in a relationship.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LawrenceP.May 24, 2004
To John Cusack, Stop doing movie's like America's Sweethearts...Keep up the good work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoãoS.Oct 15, 2001
Great movie, great story, great top 10 lists.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EscapeFromThePlanetOfTheMulroneycakesNov 29, 2002
What a great movie. He may have moved the book from London to Chicago (to Nick Hornby and the Range's chagrin), but it doesn't matter because the film doesn't dwell on it - it's filmed in the city, sure, but no-one What a great movie. He may have moved the book from London to Chicago (to Nick Hornby and the Range's chagrin), but it doesn't matter because the film doesn't dwell on it - it's filmed in the city, sure, but no-one mentions the place. It could have been filmed anywhere. Which is probably the point; an everyman, living in an everycity, leading an everylife. Cusack is fab - who'd have thought you could do cinematic soliloquy so well? - and of course Jack Black can sing! All fat blokes can sing! Brilliant cameos by Ted Robbins and Zeta (why doesn't she ever get to play anyone Welsh?), wonderul soundtrack, great script, perfectly understated direction from Stephen Frears...I love this movie. But how the hell do you pronounce Iben Hjelje? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackB.Jul 17, 2002
Yo good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YoonMinC.Sep 26, 2003
A refreshingly candid and reflective movie about a man growing into manhood. There's something about Western culture where men remain boys well into their 30s, fixating on their teen hangups memorialized thru endless listening to songs A refreshingly candid and reflective movie about a man growing into manhood. There's something about Western culture where men remain boys well into their 30s, fixating on their teen hangups memorialized thru endless listening to songs that awakened and defined their sexuality. While most movies lampoon or celebrate this facet of life, High Fidelity takes a long, hard look at its crippling--as well as its therapeutic--effects; but, not without humor(Jack Black is especially great)and without the easy sermonizing of neocon virtuecrats. For those like myself who belong to Cusack's generation, we may find much of ourselves--aspirations, frustrations, self-deceptions, justifications--in his long monologues. In its hunger for truth and its coming to terms with the facts of life, it's nothing less than beautiful. A comparable movie would be Truffaut's Love on the Run. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Jan 7, 2004
Damn. Look at all these 10's. I'd like to intelligently point out some glaring flaw you all missed, but the whole thing rang true moment to moment. Non-critics who chart the the progress of their lives non-verbally will instantly Damn. Look at all these 10's. I'd like to intelligently point out some glaring flaw you all missed, but the whole thing rang true moment to moment. Non-critics who chart the the progress of their lives non-verbally will instantly recognize the pitfalls and rewards of maintaining the soundtrack of one's life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Flat23May 29, 2004
This is definitely one of THE greatest and funniest and bestest films of all times...i am glad most people here agree with the 10 point vote, as anything else would be WRONG.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeA.Dec 24, 2001
When Black starts to sing, it's icing on a cake that satisfies on every level. The movie covers the waterfront describing relationships.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelS.Sep 22, 2006
Surprisingly enjoyable. He makes a very interesting narrator and keeps you interested in this journey. And to Jessica A: that is why you are still single.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
matroycemMay 13, 2013
This would make my Top 5.
The secret to making a good film is the soundtrack and this film nails it. Its a story of heartache, love and the bits inbetween told pretty much first person by a Record Store owner.
The characters in the film are
This would make my Top 5.
The secret to making a good film is the soundtrack and this film nails it. Its a story of heartache, love and the bits inbetween told pretty much first person by a Record Store owner.
The characters in the film are padded out well and do draw you in and you begin to feel who they are rather than empty vessels. There are some nice little double take moments and moments where the plot is directly told to camera. These feel correct in the context of the film and explain emotions and thoughts of the people on screen. Casting fits well with Jack Black doing his normal over the top character, John cusack as the confused Store owner. Even a Cameo by 'The Boss' Bruce Springsteen does not feel out of place. All in all a good solid film which I have watched several times and enjoyed them all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuMay 4, 2014
High Fidelity is a fantastic romantic-comedy that perfectly captures the spirit of relationships gone sour. All set to a celebration of amazing alt-rock. For a certain generation, this film hits home hard. I am of that generation. Great stuff!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
darrrnJan 7, 2011
The characters are real, and therefore compelling. High Fidelity plays off the experience of most men, and does it perfectly. Jack Black, John Cusack, and Todd Louiso are simply brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
hoops2448Oct 18, 2011
High Fidelity's best attribute is that it is so incredibly self aware and through that self awareness it exudes this sense of realism. High Fidelity is so incredibly real that your connection with John Cusack's Rob is so strong you getHigh Fidelity's best attribute is that it is so incredibly self aware and through that self awareness it exudes this sense of realism. High Fidelity is so incredibly real that your connection with John Cusack's Rob is so strong you get invested and you also understand him despite the fact he is an incredibly well thought out, written and acted character. He is joined by Jack Black and Todd Louiso's Barry and Dick who add a sense of fun to the proceedings which is sorely needed because the main tone set by Rob is one of doom and gloom as he discusses the breakups that ruined him the most. Black especially pulls out all the stops with Barry being a delight because he is just so incredibly self confident despite the fact he is the most despicable of the bunch. This would have been hard to show if it wasn't for Black who really does pull out his best performance. Cusack is great as the bleak Rob and the only reason I don't say this is his best role is because he was just fantastic in Say Anything. (if you thought I was going to say 2012 you deserve to be shot). Overall the film has a confidence you rarely see in films and it knows what its trying to do in a way that by the time you leave the viewing you are extremely happy and satisfied, like me after a roast dinner Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
geo86Oct 29, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At the beginning of the movie I was thinking of just close it and surf the net. But I didn't !!! There is something that made me want to see more. This is NOT a boring romantic comedy; instead its a vivid enjoyable, fresh, peerless movie. Its like Cusack presenting his relationship more than just acting. I LOVE BONET!!!! and also Jack Black. I think the music references are the spark for everything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleApr 6, 2016
High Fidelity is a give and a take. More give than take, though. Stephen Frears delivers discrete direction here. I had no idea it was his film. John Cusack is great, but his character is annoying prick who falls into a good life. Yet, theHigh Fidelity is a give and a take. More give than take, though. Stephen Frears delivers discrete direction here. I had no idea it was his film. John Cusack is great, but his character is annoying prick who falls into a good life. Yet, the film does enough to show us there is more to him that explains his actions. The characterization here is very well done and very in-depth. Additionally, his development is very well done and his progression through the film is well handled. There are quite a few unrealistic scenes that hold the film back, but this film is quite well-written and has a ton of heart and will leave you with an infectious smile. Additionally, it has a lot of interesting and accurate commentary on guys of this nature. Jack Black also turns in a fantastic and energetic performance here in a film that, while offering social commentary, is also infused with classic music that really plays well into the infectious nature of the film. Overall, High Fidelity is an unconventional coming of age type film that has a ton of heart and, though imperfect, will leave you smiling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Honest-reviewsJun 8, 2014
This is an underrated movie in my opinion. The dialogue in the music store and the structure of the flashbacks is very interesting and funny. Considering that I just caught this movie on TV and was not expecting anything, I thoroughly enjoyedThis is an underrated movie in my opinion. The dialogue in the music store and the structure of the flashbacks is very interesting and funny. Considering that I just caught this movie on TV and was not expecting anything, I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone wanting a light-hearted comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews