Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: October 24, 2008
4.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 147 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
61
Mixed:
21
Negative:
65
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
JayHFeb 15, 2009
Disney has always been out of touch with teen youth, and they seem to be drifting further away, with HSM 3 being a good example of that. The film is energetic, but the songs are unmemorable, the performances shallow and the story is silly. Disney has always been out of touch with teen youth, and they seem to be drifting further away, with HSM 3 being a good example of that. The film is energetic, but the songs are unmemorable, the performances shallow and the story is silly. Lets just hope now that they are seniors the tortuous musicals will end. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
4
CuhawkI.Oct 31, 2008
What a horrible movie and album. How does this sellout (movie) sell 200k (soundtrack) in the first week? The auto tune is actually distracting enough to the point where you can hear jumps in tone and note if you listen carefully enough. The What a horrible movie and album. How does this sellout (movie) sell 200k (soundtrack) in the first week? The auto tune is actually distracting enough to the point where you can hear jumps in tone and note if you listen carefully enough. The movie is too bubblegum pop and not enough focus on music. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
RhouelApr 3, 2009
HSM3 was i think the best musical for now... It can make every senior feel that it's really gonna be over for them, they're going separate places after graduation... And for me, as a high school student, it had touched me in HSM3 was i think the best musical for now... It can make every senior feel that it's really gonna be over for them, they're going separate places after graduation... And for me, as a high school student, it had touched me in different ways... The movie made me want to perform because it is so energetic, all the numbers make you have Last Song Syndrome (LSS), and even though I don't really enjoy love scenes, this movie kinda made me like it... If you compare this to other musicals, this would be the leading one, this is the best among musicals as for now. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BrandonA.Nov 3, 2008
High School Musical 3 is a BIG WASTE OF MONEY! THEY RUINED DISNEY! This Live Action, Tween Star nonsense needs to STOP!!!!! Where are the CARTOONS?!? Where on earth is Mickey?!?!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
A,MarkscontNov 5, 2008
It's a blast! A musical that isn't ashamed of being a musical, and now they have the bucks behind the to be as fab as tthey wanna be!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AmandaM.Nov 7, 2008
If you hate this movie, you're probably 15 years old trying to outgrow tween Disney culture, - ad good on ya for graduating to South Park, but honestly if you're not in the midst of adolescent rebellion, this movie is absolutely If you hate this movie, you're probably 15 years old trying to outgrow tween Disney culture, - ad good on ya for graduating to South Park, but honestly if you're not in the midst of adolescent rebellion, this movie is absolutely delightful. It's a full on, full bore musical that's unashamed of its exuberance, innocence or over-the-top-ness. The musical numbers are terrific, and after a few years of working together, these kids have real chemistry and theyve taken the dancing up several notches. It's easy to dismiss Effron as a disposable pretty boy idol, but he's really got the makings of an honest to goodess musical star. Looking for mindless, guilty pleasure fun - see this in on a big screen and try not to smile or feel uplifted - I dare ya. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SamGDec 2, 2008
Not the worst film I've ever seen, but it comes pretty close. I wonder what Walt Disney (an anti-gay right wing conservative) would say if he saw what has his company has become. The music is fairly poor, the voices are fairly high and Not the worst film I've ever seen, but it comes pretty close. I wonder what Walt Disney (an anti-gay right wing conservative) would say if he saw what has his company has become. The music is fairly poor, the voices are fairly high and the whole thing is fairly crappy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AllisonL.Oct 26, 2008
I love this movie. (: its my favoritee... during the movie in the theater me and my friends were dancing and singing along. it was amazing. but of course since it was a musical, it was a little cheesy in like one song! haha.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielS.Oct 26, 2008
This Movie Is Excelent..!!!! Amazing..!!! and has the perfect ending that a movie ever done.! the songs r incredible the dance over the top.. and the acting are the best..! but the history is everything..! and Ashley Tisdale was so This Movie Is Excelent..!!!! Amazing..!!! and has the perfect ending that a movie ever done.! the songs r incredible the dance over the top.. and the acting are the best..! but the history is everything..! and Ashley Tisdale was so Fabulous.! HSM3 is the best musical EVER MADE IN HISTORY..! ''Once A Wildcat Always A Wildcat''!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KathyB.Oct 26, 2008
I was quietly hesitant or at least expecting a catnap while my kids enjoy the show but I was pleasantly surprised! The topics and emotions touched a nerve for me ( I remember the same concerns and even now wonder of life's direction) I was quietly hesitant or at least expecting a catnap while my kids enjoy the show but I was pleasantly surprised! The topics and emotions touched a nerve for me ( I remember the same concerns and even now wonder of life's direction) the musical numbers were either romantic, over the top with skills and fun. I laughed out loud a few times, got a bit teary eyed and just left the theatre feeling as pepped up as the kids. It was worth the money! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadS.Oct 27, 2008
The late Miles Davis once said on "The Arsenio Hall Show" that he hears music at basketball games. The renowned trumpeter wasn't referring to the Top 40 ilk that pumps out of arena loudspeakers; the legendary musician, whose "Bitches The late Miles Davis once said on "The Arsenio Hall Show" that he hears music at basketball games. The renowned trumpeter wasn't referring to the Top 40 ilk that pumps out of arena loudspeakers; the legendary musician, whose "Bitches Brew" signaled the genesis of fusion, was talking about the squeaks that a shoe produces on the hardwood floor. In "High School Musical 3: Senior Year", Troy Bolton(Zac Efron) "can't stop the music;" he breaks into song even while the big dog on campus leads his team to victory. Is there a better way to portray a closeted athlete? The basketball court, or the stage: What is Troy's "Xanadu"? "A boy. An honest-to-God straight boy," that's how a counselor describes one of the music campers in Todd Graff's "Camp"; the boy who auditions with The Rolling Stones' "Wild Horses" on his guitar. Needless to say, it turns out that the seemingly straight boy is gay too, just like all the other male Stephen Soundheim worshippers. The position that "Camp" undertook, preserves the stereotype about the synonymy of Broadway music and gay men. Because "High School Musical 3: Senior Year" bears the Disney insignia, a chaste kiss is the only action that Troy gets out of Gabriella Montez(Vanessa Hudgens), but the absence of physical love doesn't account for the musical number("Scream") where Troy goes on a rampage in the empty school. Just for the record: boys shout, girls scream. When Jonah Hill screams(as in scream like a little girl) after happening upon a corpse in Steve Pink's "Accepted", he asks the other guys to keep his feminine flare-up, a secret. Is it just a desire to sing and dance that's eating away at Troy? When he gets off the phone with Gabriella(who's away at an early-acceptance program at Stanford), look closely at how Troy positions himself on the bed in the vicinity of his teammate(when the cat's away, the mice will play). The scenario comes scarily close to what goes down in Todd Solondz's "Storytelling" between Scooby(Mark Webber) and his "special" friend. "Falling Slowly", the achingly gorgeous ballad that Glenn Hansard and Marketa Irglova perform in John Carney's "Once", makes you believe that these two strangers are falling in love, because the music is real. The songs aren't show tunes; they're written for real life(for digital video). "Once" has the distinction of being the first truly heterosexual musical. The little indie did something interesting to the musical genre. Since the folk-based music did such a superior job of conveying tenderness and devotion than its imitative brethren; the love ballad, steeped in the musical theater tradition, has the effect of compromising the validity of a couples' love, with Troy and Gabriella's performance of "Can I Have This Dance?" being just one example, because their sentiments are being transmitted through a musical vein that's largely believed to be appreciated largely by women and gay males. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
StephenUOct 27, 2008
Dreck. And the people who have sent this film to the top of the charts are also going to vote. That is terrifying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexGMar 16, 2009
Shame on Disney for not making any movies for teenagers. Disney needs to know that teenagers are deserved to watch movies about serious, realistic things such as pregnancy, drugs, gangs, etc. Disney needs to stop making any crappy movie like HSM!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesOct 27, 2008
This movie has as little entertainment as Paris Hilton has talent. And Matt C, the last critic says that if your gay or EIGHT years old it's good but for everyone/thing else its as welcome as the apocolypse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CalebH.Oct 27, 2008
Best of the series yet! With a move to the big screen came a jump in their budget and boy did they take it and run! Great script, absolutely astounding musical numbers, and an amazing cast make for one of the best musicals in years. The Best of the series yet! With a move to the big screen came a jump in their budget and boy did they take it and run! Great script, absolutely astounding musical numbers, and an amazing cast make for one of the best musicals in years. The dance numbers are right up their with the greats such as West Side Story, and this is especially evident in the best dance number in the movie, "The Boys Are Back". Some songs could have been left out, but overall this music is electrifying. It's as if someone is taking a syringe full of happy and injecting it right into your heart. If you don't like the music, you should like the choreography, if you don't like that, than you probably have a heart two sizes, too small. HSM3 is movie event that should be seen by every one of all ages! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LaurensFeb 14, 2009
I'm a teen, and i found this movie AWFUL! I'm 12, and i can tell you that this is the worst movie of the year. God, why do some many other kids love this movie, i mean the movie is just, well, stupid, there's no plot. And, why I'm a teen, and i found this movie AWFUL! I'm 12, and i can tell you that this is the worst movie of the year. God, why do some many other kids love this movie, i mean the movie is just, well, stupid, there's no plot. And, why did they ever create the F---ing thing! By the way, High school is not revolved around Teens trying out for musicals, how about pregnancy, and um, peer pressure. I don't care if its a tween/teen film, for those who love it, you're messed up and it's not cause' i can't enjoy it because i tried. For those of you who agree with me, If you haven't seen Sweeney Todd, which is one of my favorites of all time, you should, if you hated this crap... Sweeney Todd is so much better than the freakish, little baby, retard-movie High School Musical..... go see sweeney instead. I loved it. I HATE HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DippyDFeb 19, 2009
Simply atrocious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DanielKFeb 21, 2009
Terrible.. nothing more really needs to be said. Not sure how anyone could sit through it. It even seems too ridiculous for pre-teens.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AllieBMar 15, 2009
Plot was horrible. Songs were pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AriNApr 3, 2009
It was one of the worst movies I've ever saw!!! The music was okay but the acting was terrible and the plot was awful. So I guess overall it was terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FreddyPJun 29, 2009
I don't mind having a cheesy storyline, I can deal with that, even as a 16 year old. I watched this film for the music. And the music DID NOT deliver like the past 2 films did. Unmemerable, and not particularly catchy. Just poor all around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FedUpNov 3, 2008
Ted Mack would have kicked this movie off of his show as that is how awful it is. Don't spend your hard earned money on this trash.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AronJ.Dec 1, 2008
I cant sit here and deny the success and fanbase of this movie, or the ones before it. Its huge and the kids love it. But, from someone who knows movies, its a mess, a horrid mess. Since its aimed at kids, the diologue doesnt have to be I cant sit here and deny the success and fanbase of this movie, or the ones before it. Its huge and the kids love it. But, from someone who knows movies, its a mess, a horrid mess. Since its aimed at kids, the diologue doesnt have to be great, or even decent at all, and its not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlexH.Dec 27, 2008
I guess this movie is only good for eight year-olds that share an interest in Hanna Montana and who don't know Micky Mouse. I actually saw the movie and I gravely regretted it. The singing and the music is terrible; there is no plot I guess this movie is only good for eight year-olds that share an interest in Hanna Montana and who don't know Micky Mouse. I actually saw the movie and I gravely regretted it. The singing and the music is terrible; there is no plot sypnosis; the romance it nothing but common high school life (I don't even know why kids are calling it "so romantic"); the acting was terrible as well; and it completely lacked humor. I'm not saying it's a bad movie because I'm not a kid, but it's still safe to say the High School Musical 3 is one of the worst movies of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JunaidN.Oct 24, 2008
There were a bit too many songs but gawdd the neding was incredible. cinema was full everybody was on their feet clappin and dancing along it's what high school musical is all about. bit upset that its over with the current cast but There were a bit too many songs but gawdd the neding was incredible. cinema was full everybody was on their feet clappin and dancing along it's what high school musical is all about. bit upset that its over with the current cast but relly they left in style. incredible movie. soo much fun. sooo much excitement and anticipation for this global phenomenon culminating in an absolutely fantastic motion picture musical which will leave it's mark for years at the box office and in our hears even though some critics just don't have a clue and don't get it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattC.Oct 25, 2008
It's painfully obvious that most movie critics are miserable b'stards with serious joy issues. The writing is bad? It's High School Musical not Waiting For Godot for goodness sake. It's about singing, dancing and kids It's painfully obvious that most movie critics are miserable b'stards with serious joy issues. The writing is bad? It's High School Musical not Waiting For Godot for goodness sake. It's about singing, dancing and kids having a good time. And that's exactly what my 8 year old daughters had. When the worlds most cynical man (Charlie Brooker) finds it difficult to hate the High School Musical movies you know it's time to leave cynicism and pretension at the door and have some good clean fun. Lighten up world. We've got enough to worry about other than slating a perfectly entertaining family movie with its heart in the right place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChuckB.Oct 25, 2008
This movie BLEW MY MIND! The plot was just random enough to work, and the pseudo Thriller scenes, horror movie stylings, and crazy hot sexual tension just put this movie over the top. In a good way. Get a group of friends, pop a few Xanax, This movie BLEW MY MIND! The plot was just random enough to work, and the pseudo Thriller scenes, horror movie stylings, and crazy hot sexual tension just put this movie over the top. In a good way. Get a group of friends, pop a few Xanax, and get ready for the ride of a lifetime. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HaroldTOct 27, 2008
Terrible excuse for a movie, don't know how anyone except for fans or little girls can even give this a 4.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarcusLJan 24, 2009
Good grief. This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen in my life. I'm not even going to go into detail. Becuase, well, it's too awful, abysmal and a word I can't use. You see, the first two HSMs made me nod my head in Good grief. This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen in my life. I'm not even going to go into detail. Becuase, well, it's too awful, abysmal and a word I can't use. You see, the first two HSMs made me nod my head in shame, dissapointed at what Disney have done. Then a third one came out, and I think Disney has destroyed ALL of my reputation from me. I remember when all that came out of Disney was good stuff. However, nowadays, Disney are still focusing on the younger audiences. ONLY the younger audiences. Come on, Disney! Make a violent movie! We grew up with you! Please, for all our sake, leave High School Musical alone! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MattDFeb 22, 2009
I feel bad for those of you who actually had to go see this movie to know it would be horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HarryT.Nov 11, 2008
People giving this film 10s and 8s because it is the best film in the series is like giving the flu a 10 because it is the least lethal disease i can think of. This film is part of the ruin that is modern disney. Disney's only hope lies People giving this film 10s and 8s because it is the best film in the series is like giving the flu a 10 because it is the least lethal disease i can think of. This film is part of the ruin that is modern disney. Disney's only hope lies in reinventing themselves and hoping that Pixar keeps up the quality and the rest of the company. For a Musical, the music in this and the other 2 films is horrible. In many modern musicals, there is a mix of music but in the HSM series it is just all pop and stuff that appeals to 8 year olds and under. The "teen" idea behind the film is horrible because these characters are impossible for any teen to empathise with. I mean how many teens do you know that have rich parents and are the popular kids of the school that always perform in the musicals and somehow manage to insult people while hanging out with their sibling? outside of the world of this kids' trash, there are no actual teens like these characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
siddersftSep 13, 2010
oh good this is bad not again its not fair its just not fair!! Not fair ahhhhhhhhhh!
we can stop this madness now kill zak please yes we will

dont make me watch another oh no please.........]
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
aaronpaul121May 25, 2012
A teenage musical film turned into an off-key performance. Their acting are just terrifying and this is not even a horror film! The story was too ordinary and predictable all the way from the first movie. I'm glad that this terrible HighA teenage musical film turned into an off-key performance. Their acting are just terrifying and this is not even a horror film! The story was too ordinary and predictable all the way from the first movie. I'm glad that this terrible High School Musical series is over.....for now...... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
harupiAug 15, 2011
I love this movie. I enjoyed all of this movie! I want to watch again. Troy is so cool and Gabriella is so cute. I want you to listen these songs. These songs made you happy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
YoshipieDec 4, 2011
Decent way to end the trilogy, finally seeing the famous Wildcats graduate at last. The movies have been a great success; however, how can tween viewers relate to the characters when they are moving off to college? Discussing aboutDecent way to end the trilogy, finally seeing the famous Wildcats graduate at last. The movies have been a great success; however, how can tween viewers relate to the characters when they are moving off to college? Discussing about universities half of the time is meaningless to them, which may lose some interest. Furthermore, the rivalry between Gabriella and Sharpay was absent in this movie, which is quite a disappointing. Was expecting for something a bit more special. The songs are great, but it would be better if they were more 'classic' sounding than a modern 'rock' sound. Overall, it is a good movie, so HSM fanatics should check it out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
heyitsmegrif4Jan 2, 2012
The best of them all. With some good songs, okay performances and some touching moments. It is a solid ending for a very shaky franchise. I give this movie 64%.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
javis10Jan 11, 2012
At last, we have been given a decent typical teenage film, now they confront one of the worst fears that a teenager can feel. Enjoyable, funny and it is better than the others.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
OfficialMar 8, 2014
The characters are just so shallow, you honestly don't care what they do. This would probably be a good time when you have nothing better to do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JmsbppJul 24, 2013
que pelicula tan espantosa Disney se esta desviando a lo cursi y sobre absurdo un musical que tendria que tener un gran final de recuperacion despues de la 2 pesima una leccion sobre los musicales
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jeff_reviewsJul 23, 2013
"High School Musical 3: Senior Year" may not be a masterpiece in any way, shape, or form, but its catchy musical numbers and generally charming story line will certain entertain children and give adults a nice time. Although the film has"High School Musical 3: Senior Year" may not be a masterpiece in any way, shape, or form, but its catchy musical numbers and generally charming story line will certain entertain children and give adults a nice time. Although the film has themes that are very similar to its previous films, "High School Musical 3: Senior Year" uses bright and warm musical numbers to close into a considerably nice ending to the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
lukechristianscMar 15, 2014
okay the high school 3 is okay the fact there getting out of high school finally no more high school finally something to forward to . ................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
diegonelliSep 13, 2015
Typical plastic movie of Disney Channel. Every time I see it on TV I'm like ''hell'' and I change the channel, because it's boring! The only nice thing are the songs. Although their voice are fake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DavidTejadaJan 18, 2017
For HSM lovers, this is a satisfying conclussion to the franchise. Now compared with the other ones I liked it a little bit more. Still it results silly and unnecesary to have created all this three deliveries. It just offers decentFor HSM lovers, this is a satisfying conclussion to the franchise. Now compared with the other ones I liked it a little bit more. Still it results silly and unnecesary to have created all this three deliveries. It just offers decent choreographies and some good songs, but nothing more. Of course also a worth-it farewell. Overall it was kind of OK and maybe for other ones excellent because finally Disney it's closing this (55%) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews