Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Nov 20, 2012
    100
    This is one of the best movies of 2012. With rich performances, a riveting and articulate screenplay, meticulous direction and enough grounded emotional intensity to keep your pulse pounding, Hitchcock grabs you by the lapels like a suspense classic by Hitch himself - a knockout from start to finish.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Nov 20, 2012
    75
    Hopkins and Mirren are acting pros in stellar form. There's no way you want to miss the pleasure of their company in a movie that offers a sparkling and unexpectedly poignant look at how to sustain a career and a marriage.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 5, 2012
    75
    A movie as fun as it is flawed.
  4. Reviewed by: Ella Taylor
    Nov 23, 2012
    60
    The film never coheres. Trying to carve out a space between black comedy and straight evocation of a difficult but rewarding marriage, the movie never settles on a tone.
  5. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    Feb 4, 2013
    60
    Hitchcock for dummies: brisk, jolly, well-played but oversimplified.
  6. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Nov 21, 2012
    50
    I wouldn't recommend Hitchcock to cinephiles seeking a bold new take on the master's life or work, but if all you want is to while away the afternoon in the company of some excellent actors in plummy period costume, Gervasi's film is not without its pleasures.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Nov 23, 2012
    10
    Hitchcock rings false from start to finish.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Great acting by Mirren and Hopkins . Expand
  2. May 5, 2013
    10
    A good bio that doesn't bore the hell out of you, not it is funny and keeps you interesting the whole watch and it is appropriate for all ages to get to know one of the greatest directors of all time. Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2012
    9
    What a wonderful movie! It may be rewriting history but it does it in such a beautiful way. If I was A.H. then I would have a thing for blondes too...
  4. Feb 7, 2013
    8
    has great cinematography, a great sense of humour and spot on acting from the cast. Though my only problems with the film were that at times it felt tonally confused and there could have been more about Psycho presented in the film, also some parts felt a bit rushed and they could have shown more of them. In the end, is a fun, though flawed, biopic. Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    Anthony Hopkins puts on a fat suit and lots of makeup to play the famous director, while Helen Mirren just wears glasses in the role of his wife. The story starts as he comes off the success of "North by Northwest" and is searching for a new project to inspire him and prove that he's still got it. That project is "Psycho" and the challenges of making it and the relationship with his wife take up the rest of the film. As any fan knows, **** dry, dark humor was his most enjoyable asset and this film gives us plenty to laugh about. His obsessions are also explored, but never too darkly. As expected, the performances are solid. The costumes and art direction recreate the period attractively. While the film has a glossy, surface feel, it's still enjoyable entertainment. Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2013
    6
    Above all this is a polite movie. After the closing lines I had a feeling that everything was left on the surface, like that the director was afraid or too well mannered to dig beneath, I'm referring, among other things, to the fight between **** and Alma which lacks emotions. And I was not convinced at all about H. fascination with his leading ladies. This is mentioned throughout the movie, but I was not convinced (that is the movie did not convince me, the real life and true H. is something else). The cast is superb, as one can only expect from Mirren and Hopkins. Collapse
  7. Jan 6, 2013
    4
    I just saw this film and it was quite a lightweight. Anthony Hopkins, donning a lot of makeup that makes him look nothing like Alfred Hitch, reads his way through a weak script that attempts to chronicle the master filmmaker's struggle in making his classic film, Psycho. This movie isn't short on simplicity, but its definitely short on depth. It narrows this mystic, yet legendary filmmaker, down to a caricature and presents all his genuine human and creative struggles in a farcical manner. I was not a fan of that approach and the movie's tonal inconsistencies were also a bothersome thing of note, that's sure to give audiences a puzzling viewing experience. I wouldn't consider this film offensive to Hitch by any means, I just felt it lacked some incite. We didn't truly learn much about the man, by the film's end. While James D'Arcy and Scarlett Johansson excel in their respective roles, those were only small things to appreciate in this relatively poor film. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 007! Gandalf! Django! (And A Few Oscar Contenders, Too) Image
    Published: November 7, 2012
    The holiday movie season kicks off this weekend with what could be the best James Bond film yet, but there are plenty more treats in store over the coming weeks, including new films from Quentin Tarantino, Kathryn Bigelow, Michael Haneke, David O. Russell, and Judd Apatow and the first of three Hobbit films.