User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 203 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 203
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PsionTheory
    Nov 21, 2007
    2
    The worst movie I've seen this year, dont waste your money. Comes off like an extremely cheap borne idendity knock off.
  2. JonasH.
    Jun 11, 2008
    3
    I have played every Hitman game and loved every one, and I must admit: This movie has the shell. The agent's name is 47, he's brought up in a facility and he's a hitman. The problem is, that it doesn't vaguely capture the spirit, or the core, of the Hitman games. What seems the most misplaced is the pseudo-romantic little-boyish interaction between 47 and the Russian I have played every Hitman game and loved every one, and I must admit: This movie has the shell. The agent's name is 47, he's brought up in a facility and he's a hitman. The problem is, that it doesn't vaguely capture the spirit, or the core, of the Hitman games. What seems the most misplaced is the pseudo-romantic little-boyish interaction between 47 and the Russian girl. In some ways the movie could have been rated as a passable action movie, but truth be told, IO-Interactive's directors and designers did a far better job on the story-telling and entertainment value. This is not good when comparing a movie to a game. So, basically the movie is an empty shell, which in no way has earned its title. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    sh*ts on the games. literally ruined american cinema as we know it today. my life will never be the same. asdfghjklkjhgfdsasdfghjklkjhgfdsaSDFGHJKLKJHGFDSASDFGHJKLKJH
  4. GeorgeC.
    Nov 24, 2007
    0
    Not well advertised, I saw some of the posters, but they never gave much of this movie's detail and story in depth. Just a guy with a gun, it supposedly is a good action movie, I enjoyed it. But once i considered these reviews, 34/100!!! I started to agree in a way, but the story was good, action was good, but I think the main critical saying is that the acting sucked. Like you have Not well advertised, I saw some of the posters, but they never gave much of this movie's detail and story in depth. Just a guy with a gun, it supposedly is a good action movie, I enjoyed it. But once i considered these reviews, 34/100!!! I started to agree in a way, but the story was good, action was good, but I think the main critical saying is that the acting sucked. Like you have to agree, they write a good script, direct it on stage, film it with a camera and get it over with. But the acting truly sucked, the genre was good, but this movie is a letdown, the acting affected the power of the script and direction, the good screenplay is wasted. Overall a low budget crap show. Expand
  5. Sep 11, 2012
    4
    Not the worst video game movie I've ever seen, but still a pretty horrible one. I've never played a game in the Hitman series so I can't compare it to them. The action is mildly entertaining, but the gore is to fake to be believable and just seems to be in it for the sake of having it. The script is a series of predictable moments that you've seen happen a million times in other movies.Not the worst video game movie I've ever seen, but still a pretty horrible one. I've never played a game in the Hitman series so I can't compare it to them. The action is mildly entertaining, but the gore is to fake to be believable and just seems to be in it for the sake of having it. The script is a series of predictable moments that you've seen happen a million times in other movies. The acting and characters are awful, and timothy olyphant makes for one of the worst main characters of all time, but that may just be do to the writing, he has no personality and constantly has the stupidest look on his face at all times. This movie sucks, it's almost bad as the Uwe Boll video game movies. Don't watch this crappy movie. Expand
  6. JayH.
    Feb 27, 2008
    4
    Empty action movie, no substance with shallow underdeveloped characters. It does have some good photography but the film just isn't involving. A lighter approach might have worked.
  7. GabrielM.
    Mar 5, 2008
    2
    This is a joke for the fans of the game, the main story is pathetic and if you played any of the games you will not see nothing like that. Many scenes are dumb, like the fight scenes. Timothy Olyphant doesn't fit the character of hitman, and not even close because hitman is a cold character. I think this movie is very bad executed, the writers have to play the game a little to This is a joke for the fans of the game, the main story is pathetic and if you played any of the games you will not see nothing like that. Many scenes are dumb, like the fight scenes. Timothy Olyphant doesn't fit the character of hitman, and not even close because hitman is a cold character. I think this movie is very bad executed, the writers have to play the game a little to understand the concept of the character and the things he do. I think the best of the movie is Olga Kurylenko and her beauty but thats all. Its really a shame. Collapse
  8. Teop
    Nov 23, 2007
    3
    Bad actors, worse scenario and not enough good-looking action-scenes. I would better rewatch The Bourne Identity once more.
  9. DaleP
    Nov 29, 2007
    3
    I knew the movie was bad before I saw it so I went in not expecting much. But i really wasn't prepared for the cheesy borefest that I was subjected to. The scene where bar-code baldy faces four assasins is really is really a case in point, irt was so bad that it was no longer funny, "Let me die in dignity" ha ha ha!!!
  10. JaredC.
    Dec 4, 2007
    4
    Off the wagon and onto the road.
  11. dddboy
    Apr 20, 2008
    3
    A message to the director and producers: Russia does not border Turkey, and Interpol is based in Lyon, France not London, England. I know the teenage boys who liked this movie don't care about factual geography, but it's unfair to dumb down a movie that's already dumb.
  12. PfillipT.
    Nov 26, 2007
    2
    So, 47 is ordained by god and kills for charity? Makes perfect sense to me. Producers ruined this before it even got greenlit. As a standalone action flick, it's not too bad, but it does a worse job of matching the game series than the Resident Evil movies. And you people complain about Uwe Boll!?
  13. MasonH
    Nov 28, 2007
    2
    Loved the games, hated the movie. Timothy Olyphant is the most unconvincing assasin/badass they could of chosen. Aside fromt he bad acting, the constant jumping around with the plot was rediculous. I was not entertained by the action even in the slightest bit, and the bad guys in futurisitc metal armor from head to toe not only looked rediculous, but seeing them all die from one bullet Loved the games, hated the movie. Timothy Olyphant is the most unconvincing assasin/badass they could of chosen. Aside fromt he bad acting, the constant jumping around with the plot was rediculous. I was not entertained by the action even in the slightest bit, and the bad guys in futurisitc metal armor from head to toe not only looked rediculous, but seeing them all die from one bullet was flat out dumb. Expand
  14. Odra
    Dec 15, 2007
    4
    When judged by its relation to the game series this movie does a poor job and as a stand-alone film for those with no knowledge to the game this film is mediocre at best. this a prime example of streamlining for general audiences. Olyphant's portrayal is off 80 percent of the time as he displays to many emotions, the plot as a whole portrays the assassins as orphans "recruited" into When judged by its relation to the game series this movie does a poor job and as a stand-alone film for those with no knowledge to the game this film is mediocre at best. this a prime example of streamlining for general audiences. Olyphant's portrayal is off 80 percent of the time as he displays to many emotions, the plot as a whole portrays the assassins as orphans "recruited" into a program rather than clones created by a rogue scientist. hammy acting, cliches and stale fight scenes make the silent hill and Mortal Kombat adaptations to film look like masterpieces. Expand
  15. BarryM
    Dec 21, 2007
    4
    I didn't have very high expectations for this. The games are acclaimed and deservedly so, but the film doesn't maintain the same level of quality. Some good cinematography, ok performances and mildly entertaining action sequences are all ruined by some hammy, cliched scenes and a ridiculous and poorly put together plot. The style and feel of the game is only partly carried over I didn't have very high expectations for this. The games are acclaimed and deservedly so, but the film doesn't maintain the same level of quality. Some good cinematography, ok performances and mildly entertaining action sequences are all ruined by some hammy, cliched scenes and a ridiculous and poorly put together plot. The style and feel of the game is only partly carried over ie, when 47 pulls two pistols from an ice box, it is a nice touch but hardly enough to get a better rating. Expand
  16. AmishP.
    Dec 2, 2007
    1
    Unsuprisingly I knew I wouldn't like the movie judging by the trailer alone. For all of you fans of the game out there, you know very well that hitman is a silent assassin; this means he doesn't blow his cover, nobody sees him, uses guns as a last resort. The movie looks more like a die hard movie with 47 firing through the whole room, taking down armoured personel with a Unsuprisingly I knew I wouldn't like the movie judging by the trailer alone. For all of you fans of the game out there, you know very well that hitman is a silent assassin; this means he doesn't blow his cover, nobody sees him, uses guns as a last resort. The movie looks more like a die hard movie with 47 firing through the whole room, taking down armoured personel with a handgun and dodging the hundreds coming at him... And Timothy lacks the style of the character. Let me put this straight, the beauty in the hitman series is that nobody knows who he is; he's a legend. He has a mission, he goes in, comes out, the target is eliminated and the mission is complete, leaving everybody scared as they have no idea who did it. He's a ghost and you can't shoot what you can't see. That's the true essence of hitman and that's what it lacked together with a james bond style. They might as well have named the movie "Shoot & Run". Hopefully we still have the game. Expand
  17. Dec 29, 2011
    2
    Moi qui pensais que Resident Evil était l'adaptation la moins fidèle du jeu vidéo dont elle est tirée... Je n'avais pas vu Hitman... Bon, je l'accorde, ce dernier est bien meilleur que Afterlife. Mais franchement, comment peut-on oser proposer une adaptation à mille lieues de l'oeuvre originale, sans avoir peur de mettre enMoi qui pensais que Resident Evil était l'adaptation la moins fidèle du jeu vidéo dont elle est tirée... Je n'avais pas vu Hitman... Bon, je l'accorde, ce dernier est bien meilleur que Afterlife. Mais franchement, comment peut-on oser proposer une adaptation à mille lieues de l'oeuvre originale, sans avoir peur de mettre en colère les nombreux adeptes du jeu? Car le film de Xavier Gens n'a rien d'un Hitman : meurtres barbares, shooter movie, fusillades à gogo... alors que le tueur agit normalement avec la plus grande discrétion... A la place, nous avons un navet sans âme, ni scénario, ni bons acteurs, ni intérêt, comme Luc Besson sait si bien produire. Il reste à ce Hitman de quoi se divertir pendant 1h30, mais c'est loin d'être suffisant pour être à la hauteur d'un Transporteur, qui avait le mérite de proposer des séquences d'action très efficaces sans être limité par son statut (en tant que film unique et non une adaptation). Expand
  18. Apr 26, 2013
    3
    Not good at all. Firstly it is nothing like the video games (well I had to mention this, because after all it is supposed to be a Hitman movie), it just using the name to generate more sales. Secondly this film is just a generic action movie, with no character depth or development. After the first 20 minutes you have seen it all, the director will just repeat the same things until the lastNot good at all. Firstly it is nothing like the video games (well I had to mention this, because after all it is supposed to be a Hitman movie), it just using the name to generate more sales. Secondly this film is just a generic action movie, with no character depth or development. After the first 20 minutes you have seen it all, the director will just repeat the same things until the last frames. Not even the action scenes are anything good. Mr. Timothy Olyphant is not a bad actor, but this role did not really suit him. Not recommended. Expand
  19. Mar 22, 2013
    2
    An inane, poorly crafted, and ultimately uninteresting film. Pretty trashy even by video game movie standards. Goes without saying that its relationship with the video game series is entirely superficial.
  20. Nov 28, 2012
    4
    It has a few eye-catching set pieces, but this video game adaptation takes more pleasure in cliche than actually crafting a worthwhile story.
  21. Jan 1, 2014
    2
    Flopman..

    Hitman tries to give a suspenseful narrative style but bored the hell out of me. Few action sequences were enjoyable but just at par but apart from that it falls flat. Performances were poor to average and the bad script and dialogues made this movie based on video game(never heard about it until I saw the movie) even worse. The story of a assassin who looked like computer
    Flopman..

    Hitman tries to give a suspenseful narrative style but bored the hell out of me. Few action sequences were enjoyable but just at par but apart from that it falls flat. Performances were poor to average and the bad script and dialogues made this movie based on video game(never heard about it until I saw the movie) even worse. The story of a assassin who looked like computer programmed robot(that’s how he was supposed to be though..ugh) drawn into political conspiracy did not generate much interest either. Overall Hitman may please a few people who like such game-based action flicks but in general it’s unlikely this movie will impress someone at random with high chances it may frustrate more often.
    Personally I hated this movie badly but I won’t say everyone will hate this.
    Hitman was a flop for me.
    Expand
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 11 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    10
    A Eurotrashy vidgame knockoff that misses its target by a mile. Numbingly unthrilling as it lurches from one violent encounter to another, the pic's dark roots in an electronic, non-dramatic medium are plain to see, and unsuspecting gamers lured to theaters will soon wish they were back home participating in the action themselves.
  2. The movie's one saving grace is Olyphant ("Live Free and Die Hard," HBO's "Deadwood"), whose sociopathic elegance is gradually winning, and whose dry, monotonic, Eastwood-like delivery of one-liners is frequently, if perhaps unintentionally, very funny.
  3. Reviewed by: Karl Rozemeyer
    50
    Ultimately Hitman is about bullets, blood, and bombs. For die-hard fans of the videogame, there is much to relish in terms of cobblestone car chases, punishing fistfights, cool weaponry, impossible physical feats, and ear-popping gun battles that rage through exclusive hotels in exotic locations.