User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 186

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    5
    "Hitman", despite its frantic pace with monotonous dialogue added in, is a great counterexample of "game-based movies suck". Its a film that you will enjoy.
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    sh*ts on the games. literally ruined american cinema as we know it today. my life will never be the same. asdfghjklkjhgfdsasdfghjklkjhgfdsaSDFGHJKLKJHGFDSASDFGHJKLKJH
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    4
    Not the worst video game movie I've ever seen, but still a pretty horrible one. I've never played a game in the Hitman series so I can't compare it to them. The action is mildly entertaining, but the gore is to fake to be believable and just seems to be in it for the sake of having it. The script is a series of predictable moments that you've seen happen a million times in other movies. The acting and characters are awful, and timothy olyphant makes for one of the worst main characters of all time, but that may just be do to the writing, he has no personality and constantly has the stupidest look on his face at all times. This movie sucks, it's almost bad as the Uwe Boll video game movies. Don't watch this crappy movie. Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    This movie is awesome and has great action. Great acting by Timothy Olyphant and he's great in Justified too. The critics always get negative on movie that were based on video games anyway so screw the critics.
  5. May 11, 2011
    7
    Easily one of the most underrated game adaptations. The action sequences are solid (accept the cheesy 4 man hitman fight that was added later by another director â
  6. Dec 29, 2011
    2
    Moi qui pensais que Resident Evil était l'adaptation la moins fidèle du jeu vidéo dont elle est tirée... Je n'avais pas vu Hitman... Bon, je l'accorde, ce dernier est bien meilleur que Afterlife. Mais franchement, comment peut-on oser proposer une adaptation à mille lieues de l'oeuvre originale, sans avoir peur de mettre en colère les nombreux adeptes du jeu? Car le film de Xavier Gens n'a rien d'un Hitman : meurtres barbares, shooter movie, fusillades à gogo... alors que le tueur agit normalement avec la plus grande discrétion... A la place, nous avons un navet sans âme, ni scénario, ni bons acteurs, ni intérêt, comme Luc Besson sait si bien produire. Il reste à ce Hitman de quoi se divertir pendant 1h30, mais c'est loin d'être suffisant pour être à la hauteur d'un Transporteur, qui avait le mérite de proposer des séquences d'action très efficaces sans être limité par son statut (en tant que film unique et non une adaptation). Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2013
    3
    Not good at all. Firstly it is nothing like the video games (well I had to mention this, because after all it is supposed to be a Hitman movie), it just using the name to generate more sales. Secondly this film is just a generic action movie, with no character depth or development. After the first 20 minutes you have seen it all, the director will just repeat the same things until the last frames. Not even the action scenes are anything good. Mr. Timothy Olyphant is not a bad actor, but this role did not really suit him. Not recommended. Expand
  8. Mar 22, 2013
    2
    An inane, poorly crafted, and ultimately uninteresting film. Pretty trashy even by video game movie standards. Goes without saying that its relationship with the video game series is entirely superficial.
  9. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    Bloody, action packed but never stupid. An exiting plot that doesn't have to hide from a Bourne story, Timothy Olyphant and Dougray Scott as hero and antihero or the other way round, you feel with both. Not for the faint-hearted, but especially for fans of the video game a full indulgence.
  10. Nov 28, 2012
    4
    It has a few eye-catching set pieces, but this video game adaptation takes more pleasure in cliche than actually crafting a worthwhile story.
  11. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    I was never a big fan of the games, and I'm not telling the game fans about what opinion to hold. All I know is that I enjoyed the movie myself. The action, plot and characterization worked well. The movie is not long enough to become boring. If anything, I wanted it to be longer.
  12. Feb 19, 2014
    6
    Not a bad movie, but neither is good. A watchable action movie that doesn't portrait the Hitman from the games.

    The action is quite over the top, helicopter gunships... really... the fighting sequences are nice, the acting is ok and the visual effects and soundtrack fit the quality needed for a good movie. The strongest feature of the movie is in my opinion the plot, really good and
    solid, would say, quite original.

    My main complaint with this movie is of a political?/racial?/national? nature. Basically the main character is a murderer without restraints, killing cops left and right, but it's like its all good because they are Russian... it feels like a 80's anti-soviet propaganda movie, from start to end, Russians in the movie are either evil, incompetent, cannon fodder and the only nice people are the whore and the fat cop... honestly this movie is absolutely xenophobic... Then it ends with that almighty CIA showoff in the end... "we do what we want in the middle of Moscow and even make fun in your face"... come on... seriously...

    So if you want a decent action movie with an interesting plot and decent action, look no further. If you want to see something that reminds you of the Hitman from the game series, expect disappointment. If you want a more "realistic" action movie in the realm of the Bourne movie series, then this isn't the movie for you.
    Expand
  13. Jan 1, 2014
    2
    Flopman..

    Hitman tries to give a suspenseful narrative style but bored the hell out of me. Few action sequences were enjoyable but just at par but apart from that it falls flat. Performances were poor to average and the bad script and dialogues made this movie based on video game(never heard about it until I saw the movie) even worse. The story of a assassin who looked like computer
    programmed robot(that’s how he was supposed to be though..ugh) drawn into political conspiracy did not generate much interest either. Overall Hitman may please a few people who like such game-based action flicks but in general it’s unlikely this movie will impress someone at random with high chances it may frustrate more often.
    Personally I hated this movie badly but I won’t say everyone will hate this.
    Hitman was a flop for me.
    Expand
  14. Mar 15, 2014
    8
    I liked this movie. I don't understand why so many people hate it, probably because we are looking on the internet. Anyway, if you haven't seen it and your a Hitman fan definitely check this out. I would put this up near the Bond films as my favorite "spy" films. When I picked this up from my local FYE I thought it was gonna be a bad movie where Hollywood would make a quick buck. It actually stayed close to it's game based roots as far as gadgets and stealth tactics go. Although it was a little weird seeing 47 "fall in love", the movie still was able to portray him as a cold blooded killer. It was interesting that Hitman: Absolution showed 47 had a softer side in the game. I wished they had released the game first, if that happened then the movie would make sense. Seeing that Agent 47 isn't just a "Robotic Killer" as seen in the older games. Don't let the negativity fool you into missing out on this movie. If you collect game items or game related items, or just a Hitman fan, buy this from your local FYE. It's not as bad as people say. Expand
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 11 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    10
    A Eurotrashy vidgame knockoff that misses its target by a mile. Numbingly unthrilling as it lurches from one violent encounter to another, the pic's dark roots in an electronic, non-dramatic medium are plain to see, and unsuspecting gamers lured to theaters will soon wish they were back home participating in the action themselves.
  2. The movie's one saving grace is Olyphant ("Live Free and Die Hard," HBO's "Deadwood"), whose sociopathic elegance is gradually winning, and whose dry, monotonic, Eastwood-like delivery of one-liners is frequently, if perhaps unintentionally, very funny.
  3. Reviewed by: Karl Rozemeyer
    50
    Ultimately Hitman is about bullets, blood, and bombs. For die-hard fans of the videogame, there is much to relish in terms of cobblestone car chases, punishing fistfights, cool weaponry, impossible physical feats, and ear-popping gun battles that rage through exclusive hotels in exotic locations.