Magnet Releasing | Release Date: May 6, 2011
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 82 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
60
Mixed:
15
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AG1May 7, 2011
This movie is sick, it is gross and I loved it. If you expected something different, I understand you might not like this movie at all. But if you like grindhouse movies, you can not miss this one.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Tyrant_T100May 9, 2011
Hobo with a shotgun is a very entertaining movie, it does right by not trying to be normal and instead treats us to an over the top gore romp featuring sadistic punks, Metal Gimps and paedophile Santas. The film is Brilliant in every way withHobo with a shotgun is a very entertaining movie, it does right by not trying to be normal and instead treats us to an over the top gore romp featuring sadistic punks, Metal Gimps and paedophile Santas. The film is Brilliant in every way with the over acting and the corny one liners.
With a John Carpenter esq soundtrack what's not to love about a Hobo with a Shotgun delivering justice one shell at a time.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
iamtrent424Jul 17, 2011
Really crazy movie with ton of blood and action. This is the best grindhouse movie i seen yet. Another great Grindhouse movie. This movie is so crazy the most craziest grindhouse movie i didn't think that grindhouse could get any crazierReally crazy movie with ton of blood and action. This is the best grindhouse movie i seen yet. Another great Grindhouse movie. This movie is so crazy the most craziest grindhouse movie i didn't think that grindhouse could get any crazier until i seen this movie. Great actors and actress and directing. The storyline was on point it wasn't the best story line but it was great. A simple story line turn into very great movie. I love all the blood and killing in this movie. If you could just ignore the hilarious title of the movie and take a chance to watch it you might actually like it, i did. It is bloody from beginning to end. This movie also had a couple sad scene. SOme scene in this movie might make you cry. A action movie with a lot of heart. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
HeadbombJun 28, 2011
Hobo with a Shotgun doesn't wink. It doesn't flinch. And it never refrains from going overboard in ways you've could never have imagined.

The good * Very original ways of killing people * Ultra violent (see below) * Utterly ridiculous
Hobo with a Shotgun doesn't wink. It doesn't flinch. And it never refrains from going overboard in ways you've could never have imagined.

The good

* Very original ways of killing people
* Ultra violent (see below)
* Utterly ridiculous scenes
* Bad guys are over-the-top, diverse, and original
* Casting for several characters is great (Rutger Hauer as the Hobo is amazing, Nick Bateman as Ivan is perfect, and Brian Downey makes Drake a much more memorable character than you'd think you would expect)
* Very nice cinematography in several places

The "bad"
* If you're not comfortable with extreme violence, then some scenes will make you flinch. I don't mind it, but it goes beyond "normal violence" to the point that I would warn friends that it may be more violent than what they might expect since a lot of it is done in poor taste. We're talking stuff like flamethrowing a bus full of children and burning alive a mother and her baby in the dumpster they live. If you're cool with that level of violence, then it's all good.
* The movie is a bit less funny than I expected. Instead of "OMG, uber-cheese", it made me go "OMG, that was crazy". Not "bad" per say, just different than what I expected.
* The strength of the casting for several roles highlights the weakness of the casting in other roles.
* David Brunt (the original Hobo in the Grindhouse trailer) was said to be casted as a cop. While true, you only see him twice for like 2 seconds.

Thumbs way way up. Turned out better than Machete, IMO. Or Grindhouse (either movie).
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
grobliroJan 26, 2012
Hobo with a sho gun. Fantastic, destined to be a cult classic!. More pulpy than Pulp Fiction, more vengeful then Gran Torino. More ultra-violent than Clockwork Orange! The perfect blend that just manages not to take itself too seriously. AndHobo with a sho gun. Fantastic, destined to be a cult classic!. More pulpy than Pulp Fiction, more vengeful then Gran Torino. More ultra-violent than Clockwork Orange! The perfect blend that just manages not to take itself too seriously. And the opening soundtrack is breathtaking! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442Aug 15, 2011
I'm a huge fan of the genre and this movie really didn't disappoint. A prime example of low art becoming high art. Brilliant cinematography, amazing soundtrack, solid acting and action in bucket loads. Surprisingly enough it manages to beI'm a huge fan of the genre and this movie really didn't disappoint. A prime example of low art becoming high art. Brilliant cinematography, amazing soundtrack, solid acting and action in bucket loads. Surprisingly enough it manages to be quite touching in parts, mainly due to Rutgar Hauer's brilliant acting. When he starts talking you just can't help but listen. Remember his speech at the end of bladerunner? I've seen things you people wouldn't believe....' well he delivers similar speeches in this movie, one or two actually putting a lump in my throat. He plays an insanely believable hobo too. Genius casting there. I even preferred this film to planet terror. This is the best and most authentic grindhouse I've seen by far and probably the bloodiest, sickest film I've seen too, which in my messed up head is a compliment. Best line is 'you can't cure the world's problems with a shotgun...' Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
HeaviermetalMay 8, 2011
Sheer, mindless fun with lots of over-the-top, stylized blood-'n-guts. Destined to become a cult classic that will have audiences laughing at it as well as with it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TheMudDoctorSep 1, 2011
If youâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BMFMay 16, 2011
This is the goriest movie I have ever seen the special effects guy must have worked some late nights. Rutger Hauer is great in the roll of Hobo a guy who is tired of all the filth in his new town and decides to do some cleaning up... with aThis is the goriest movie I have ever seen the special effects guy must have worked some late nights. Rutger Hauer is great in the roll of Hobo a guy who is tired of all the filth in his new town and decides to do some cleaning up... with a shotgun. A damn good movie but dont go see it if you are scared of blood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Khunter4382Jul 13, 2011
This is a B-movie done right! Personally, I found this film to be far more entertaining and tolerable than Machete. Rutger Hauer is excellent as the Hobo, and he fully-embodies this role with all the right tones. Each time he appears onThis is a B-movie done right! Personally, I found this film to be far more entertaining and tolerable than Machete. Rutger Hauer is excellent as the Hobo, and he fully-embodies this role with all the right tones. Each time he appears on screen, he steals the show. The supporting cast is good, with Brian Downey giving an over-the-top but morbidly entertaining performance. Yes, it's as straight forward in it's storytelling as the title suggests, but it works well, partly due to it's short runtime. It's relentless, unapologetic, and hilariously gory, so if that appeals to your sensibilities, give it a look! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lovemusicJun 27, 2011
one of the best movies I've seen this year. i loved it. it was so bloody though. the story was genius. the movie was kinda funny. i enjoyed it a lot. its entertaining as hell. great job with the script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dimweatJul 27, 2011
The title is 'Hobo with a Shotgun'. That says all you need to know, really?
Obnoxious, loud, over-the-top gore where stubbing your toe will result in a blood fountain that would rival those in los vegas.
You know its stupid. And unlike the
The title is 'Hobo with a Shotgun'. That says all you need to know, really?
Obnoxious, loud, over-the-top gore where stubbing your toe will result in a blood fountain that would rival those in los vegas.
You know its stupid. And unlike the hordes of action movies out there, it knows its stupid. and its cool with that. good on ya, mate.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobFeb 24, 2013
Over the top gore similar to films like Grindhouse and Machete but this movie is my favorite of the group. It's stupid but a good kind of stupid. Very entertaining imo. Rutger Hauer is amazing as the title character (the hobo). WouldOver the top gore similar to films like Grindhouse and Machete but this movie is my favorite of the group. It's stupid but a good kind of stupid. Very entertaining imo. Rutger Hauer is amazing as the title character (the hobo). Would definently recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SwarleyStinsonSep 5, 2012
Awesome and totally insane. Its has lots of killing and some creative deaths. The main bad guy is great and very crazy. Whats kinda silly is that the shotgun never gets reloaded in the entire film but who cares. Also there is so much swearingAwesome and totally insane. Its has lots of killing and some creative deaths. The main bad guy is great and very crazy. Whats kinda silly is that the shotgun never gets reloaded in the entire film but who cares. Also there is so much swearing that sometimes it actually loses its impact and you think 'are you only gonna call him a piece of **** when you just called that guy a ****** **** ****** ***** ******?' and one time you can almost see him stop and try to think of a word he hasn't used recently. Definitely one of the most psychotically violent films ever and its done in good way, not an 'oh look, more blood, meh.' like many gory films. Some parts are quite funny too, in a psychotic way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
yrcrazyMar 24, 2012
Personally I thought ''Hobo with a Shotgun'' was brilliant.It delivers something better than most other films but on a low budget.Very exciting and you just want to watch more, in the high paced , highly violent action/Dark Comedy .HavePersonally I thought ''Hobo with a Shotgun'' was brilliant.It delivers something better than most other films but on a low budget.Very exciting and you just want to watch more, in the high paced , highly violent action/Dark Comedy .Have recommended to friends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ReubenIsAGodJul 3, 2015
**** dude, this film is violent as **** Basically about a humble Hobo who moves to a big city were **** ass rich white people **** with each other. So he decides to take justice in his own hands and becomes a vigilante. The film is a bloody**** dude, this film is violent as **** Basically about a humble Hobo who moves to a big city were **** ass rich white people **** with each other. So he decides to take justice in his own hands and becomes a vigilante. The film is a bloody mess, its gritty, violent, disgusting and god awful funny. For anybody who is a fan grind-house cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FilmVirtueMar 28, 2015
Proving to be entertaining despite It's limited budget, Hobo with a Shotgun delivers the gore, the acting, and the ready-made movie quotes that make the film memorable as exploitation, and entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeNov 20, 2014
This movie is sick.Great acting and great special effects are the forces of this movie.Another force of the movie is the fact that he doesn't take himself too seriously.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews