Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 8, 2012
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 95 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
47
Mixed:
35
Negative:
13
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
TVJerryAug 18, 2012
Meryl Streep gives a sweet, slightly-mannered performance as a woman who's in a 31-year marriage that's deteriorated into a remote, robotic relationship. Tommy Lee Jones, as her husband, is all bluster and gripes, especially when she insistsMeryl Streep gives a sweet, slightly-mannered performance as a woman who's in a 31-year marriage that's deteriorated into a remote, robotic relationship. Tommy Lee Jones, as her husband, is all bluster and gripes, especially when she insists on intensive counseling (provided by Steve Carell in a non-comedy role). Basically, this is couples therapy on the big screen with all the predictable setbacks and breakthroughs. Although it's being billed as a comedy, there aren't a lot of big laughs, just knowing chuckles. I kept waiting for the whole enterprise to rise above ho-hum, but it just plods along. The women around me LOVED this film, especially the ones "of a certain age," but I found it wimpy and disappointing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Mar 20, 2014
It may maintain an unsettling tendency to shift from mundanity to extremely mature subject matter in the same breath, but with two lovable performances from both Jones and Streep, "Hope Springs" narrowly pulls ahead of its own inconsistencies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeAug 29, 2014
Disguised by what may seem like a light romantic comedy is instead an honest look at mature relationships. Meryl Streep, great as always; but Tommy Lee Jones? Surprisingly strong in his role--perhaps, because it was reflective of himself?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
lasttimeisawSep 18, 2012
After her hard-earned third Oscar statuette earlier this year from THE IRON LADY (2011, 8/10), Meryl Streep keeps her momentum on and this summer, she is back with a more earthly contemporary comedy looking into the sex life between an elderAfter her hard-earned third Oscar statuette earlier this year from THE IRON LADY (2011, 8/10), Meryl Streep keeps her momentum on and this summer, she is back with a more earthly contemporary comedy looking into the sex life between an elder couple, after marrying for over 30 years, their lethargic and stereotyped life has hemmed themselves into a dead water, so it all starts when the wife initiates to break the status quo and resorts to a marriage counselling to Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GreatMartinAug 10, 2012
Right up front it has to be stated that Tommy Lee Jones steals
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
BHBarryAug 10, 2012
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
LynMay 26, 2013
If you've ever been to marriage counseling, this film might give you PTSD flashbacks. But admonitions to have more oral sex probably didn't solve your problems, and it doesn't immediately work wonders for Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones,If you've ever been to marriage counseling, this film might give you PTSD flashbacks. But admonitions to have more oral sex probably didn't solve your problems, and it doesn't immediately work wonders for Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones, either. Streep can be just as brilliant at frowsy, doormat types as she is playing queen-of-the-world types see "One True Thing." But Jones is given such a humorless, curmudgeonly role that even as you root for them to work things out, you never quite buy them as a couple. Of course, it's nice to see starring parts for AARP types and they can't all be rollicking, luminous productions with great soundtracks, e.g. "Something's Gotta Give." But this really was pretty dull and dry, and the soundtrack was clueless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheDRauchDec 26, 2012
A look into the sex lives of the elderly that is worth a glance due to some fine work from Tommy Lee Jones, Steve Carell, and Meryl Streep. The film isn't nearly as revelatory as it may think it is relating to the topic of sex, but it isA look into the sex lives of the elderly that is worth a glance due to some fine work from Tommy Lee Jones, Steve Carell, and Meryl Streep. The film isn't nearly as revelatory as it may think it is relating to the topic of sex, but it is defiantly non-commercial in the sense that it is frank and honest about sex and the movie treats its audience with respect - a rarity for a film aimed at mainstream audiences. The most interesting scenes involve the three leads talking during therapy and the revelations that come from their discussions. The movie tends to lag whenever we spend time away from the doctor's office and the plot treads familiar water right up to the finale scene. For the most part, though, 'Hope Springs' is some refreshing hollywood fare and stands as David Frankel's finest film to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
gunnyartSep 10, 2012
As a middle aged couple married for over 20 years I found lots to relate to and if you fit a similar demographic you will too. HOWEVER... Its not the movie the trailer wants you to think it is. The comedic genius of Steve Carrel wasAs a middle aged couple married for over 20 years I found lots to relate to and if you fit a similar demographic you will too. HOWEVER... Its not the movie the trailer wants you to think it is. The comedic genius of Steve Carrel was completely suppressed. The cast had the potential to deliver a raucous comedy of awkward old couple sex therapy but instead settled for a dry Hollywood expose about a miserable marriage. That said... If a couple is tricked into seeing it and decides to repair their damaged marriage it will have accomplished a greater purpose than merely two hours of comedic relief. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DTDunnDec 29, 2012
This is a film with limited appeal. I cannot imagine enjoying or even understanding it, if you are not on the far side of middle-age and a long time married. If that does describe you, then this is s movie you will likely relate to and findThis is a film with limited appeal. I cannot imagine enjoying or even understanding it, if you are not on the far side of middle-age and a long time married. If that does describe you, then this is s movie you will likely relate to and find interesting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SuburbMommyDec 20, 2012
Meryl fan? A must see for sure! Otherwise, probably not a movie you will like. I wanted to love it. I didn't. I watched it on DVD and it took me 4 evenings to finish it. It was a great premise and the actors were wonderful, but it was veryMeryl fan? A must see for sure! Otherwise, probably not a movie you will like. I wanted to love it. I didn't. I watched it on DVD and it took me 4 evenings to finish it. It was a great premise and the actors were wonderful, but it was very slow. Definitely the director's fault. No one else's. Now I can see why it didn't do well in theaters. They needed to move it along a lot more quickly! But if you love Meryl Streep...of course you must see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews