Horrible Bosses

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 503 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 503

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 11, 2011
    8
    Very solid film. The comedy wasn't gross out and stupid, it was somewhat articulate. I didn't feel like I was a little kid getting read a story like I have with the past few comedies I have seen. Jason Sudekis, Charlie Day and Jason Bateman are very funny together. You have the Player (Sudekis), the Mature One (Bateman) and the Crazy (Day) much like the Hangover. Very watchable andVery solid film. The comedy wasn't gross out and stupid, it was somewhat articulate. I didn't feel like I was a little kid getting read a story like I have with the past few comedies I have seen. Jason Sudekis, Charlie Day and Jason Bateman are very funny together. You have the Player (Sudekis), the Mature One (Bateman) and the Crazy (Day) much like the Hangover. Very watchable and very funny. 8 out of 10 Expand
  2. Jul 11, 2011
    8
    Three hard-working guys (Charlie Day, Jason Bateman, Jason Sudeikis) are tormented by their bosses (Jennifer Aniston, Kevin Spacey, Colin Farrell), so they decide to do them in. Instead of relying of gross-out gags and over-the-top outrageousness, this film features genuinely funny characters and situations. The leading trio have great comic chemistry and their non-stop banter providesThree hard-working guys (Charlie Day, Jason Bateman, Jason Sudeikis) are tormented by their bosses (Jennifer Aniston, Kevin Spacey, Colin Farrell), so they decide to do them in. Instead of relying of gross-out gags and over-the-top outrageousness, this film features genuinely funny characters and situations. The leading trio have great comic chemistry and their non-stop banter provides most of the laughs. The bad guys are obviously having lots of fun, too. This film won't break any new ground (although it may launch Charlie Day's big screen stardom), but it's energy will certainly keep you amused. Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    With an extremely good cast, "Horrible Bosses" is a surprisingly good comedy! With a reasonably interesting and silly plot, it manages to keep the audience entertained, while not being overly diluted and stupid, like many comedies nowadays are. There are never really dull moments in the film, and the action is ever-present, which provides for good entertainment. What I really enjoyed areWith an extremely good cast, "Horrible Bosses" is a surprisingly good comedy! With a reasonably interesting and silly plot, it manages to keep the audience entertained, while not being overly diluted and stupid, like many comedies nowadays are. There are never really dull moments in the film, and the action is ever-present, which provides for good entertainment. What I really enjoyed are the supporting performances, actually. I thought they were amazing - much better than the leads. That being said, Charlie Day is the cutest thing around and I could watch him for hours. But Jennifer Aniston, Kevin Spacey and Colin Farrell all do amazing jobs. Aniston is perfect as the kinky, sexy, sex-crazed maniac boss, and should definitely experiment some more with characters like these. Farrell reminds me of Tom Cruise in "Tropic Thunder" - same look, same crazy, same good performance. Overall, the performances are the really fun, surprising factor here, making the film truly fun and entertaining! Definitely fun to watch! Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2011
    7
    Horrible Bosses is a sort of modern day remake of 9 to 5 by way of Superbad. I honor this film for the several laughs that it got out of me, but by the end, I found myself ready to move on to something with more lofty comedic goals. Easily worth your matinee admission price, but be a bit cautious if you are considering paying full evening admission price on this movie. This is the kindHorrible Bosses is a sort of modern day remake of 9 to 5 by way of Superbad. I honor this film for the several laughs that it got out of me, but by the end, I found myself ready to move on to something with more lofty comedic goals. Easily worth your matinee admission price, but be a bit cautious if you are considering paying full evening admission price on this movie. This is the kind of movie that Saturday night cable premieres were made for, in my opinion. Collapse
  5. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    This movie had me laughing from beginning to end! I even saw it twice to make sure it was that funny and i still laughed my butt off!Loved all the characters everyone is hilarious especially Charlie Day.Overall this is the funniest movie i have seen all summer(and i watch a lot of movies) and one of the top films of the year!!!
  6. Jul 31, 2011
    8
    I really enjoyed this movie. Best comedy I've seen this year. I don't know why everyone is comparing it to the Hangover, because there are 3 guys as the main characters?? I guess if u were disappointed with Hangover 2 like i was you should appreciate this movie. Solid film, Great actors. Charlie Day is amazing. When you go see this movie, enjoy it for what it is, a hilarious comedy. Don'tI really enjoyed this movie. Best comedy I've seen this year. I don't know why everyone is comparing it to the Hangover, because there are 3 guys as the main characters?? I guess if u were disappointed with Hangover 2 like i was you should appreciate this movie. Solid film, Great actors. Charlie Day is amazing. When you go see this movie, enjoy it for what it is, a hilarious comedy. Don't go in there expecting it to be like something else, do the comparing after u watch the movie. Just sit and enjoy. Expand
  7. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    the movie is very good, because it has a great story and of course a great cast, this film is also an excellent and entertaining comedy that makes atentatos everyone is thrilled with the film
  8. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    It wasn't what I expected, but it WAS funny. The plot was pretty solid, and the acting in it was pretty great. Some parts were better than others, but overall, it was a pretty good movie. I'd defiantly go and see it again.
  9. Apr 10, 2012
    8
    One of the best comedies of 2011, miles better than The Hangover II, but not on par with Bridesmaids. An ensemble cast that coukdnt have been cast better with all characters taking on their roles brilliantly. But two actors that stand out against the rest of the cast is Charlie Day and Jennifer Aniston, they have excellent chemistry together, and As soon as both appear on screen togetherOne of the best comedies of 2011, miles better than The Hangover II, but not on par with Bridesmaids. An ensemble cast that coukdnt have been cast better with all characters taking on their roles brilliantly. But two actors that stand out against the rest of the cast is Charlie Day and Jennifer Aniston, they have excellent chemistry together, and As soon as both appear on screen together you know sparks will fly. Jennifer Aniston is outstanding in a role no one would have expected, with her dirty talk and sexual ways, she is different and excellent at it. Her role could either be a one off or the start of a brilliant new acting route for her. But above all is Charlie Day, every scene he is in is hilarious, and you would seriously believe this is what Charlies real life persona is like. Its hard to describe how execellent and hilarious he is in the film without watching it for yourself. The only bad points of this film is it is not consistently funny, nor a plot that is by the end very intruging or memorable. But overall a truly fantastic comedy film that pretty much everyone could enjoy, just dont watch with your parents or grandparents! Expand
  10. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    This movie is original, entertaining and has a very good argument. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
  11. Jul 9, 2011
    7
    I was prepared for something much more low brow and raunchy - but no, it's appropriately raunchy, and I laughed very hard with it. It's just not substantial enough to be considered a classic that can sit along side your Old Schools, Hangovers, or Wedding Crashers. But it's much better than Hall Pass! Charlie Day seems to be making every movie he's in better. Makes me fired up for anotherI was prepared for something much more low brow and raunchy - but no, it's appropriately raunchy, and I laughed very hard with it. It's just not substantial enough to be considered a classic that can sit along side your Old Schools, Hangovers, or Wedding Crashers. But it's much better than Hall Pass! Charlie Day seems to be making every movie he's in better. Makes me fired up for another season of It's Always Sunny. And Jennifer Aniston? I love that she goes all the way and really commits to these roles. I know she had a brief period in her career when some other celeb broke up with her? Who was that, Brad Pitt? Pffft! The days of our needing to feel sorry for her are long over. She's destroying it. Look forward to her next film. Expand
  12. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    The movie was a solid 8, with a fun story line, great casting, plenty of laughs all the way through, and the additional scenes I've never seen in a movie, until this one, in the out-takes during the credits, make this a 9. It is vulgar, sexual and gross, but a good film for those who are not prudes.
  13. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    Horrible bosses was quite a great movie. It did remind me of hangover but only the first one. I hope Horrible Bosses 2 is not a flop. This movie had a lot of interesting timeless jokes. By timeless I mean jokes that stand with the test of time with memorable part being Dale singing a song doing the hilarious seat thing. The issues with the bosses were seemingly real and I could personallyHorrible bosses was quite a great movie. It did remind me of hangover but only the first one. I hope Horrible Bosses 2 is not a flop. This movie had a lot of interesting timeless jokes. By timeless I mean jokes that stand with the test of time with memorable part being Dale singing a song doing the hilarious seat thing. The issues with the bosses were seemingly real and I could personally relate to 2 of them. The people chosen for the movie where not expected to act in such ways - Aniston and Colin Farrel. All in all we laughed the entire way through and the jokes where not all stupid sexual one's that most comedy films end up stooping to. Expand
  14. Aug 12, 2011
    7
    The fashion in the movie industry when it comes to comedy is adult humour. It is delicate to handle as it can easily be misconstrued as crude/crass in the wrong hands. Luckily this film has a number of gifted comedians whose talent helps us forget the inadequacies of the film giving us a number of funny moments.
  15. Jul 8, 2011
    7
    One of the funniest movies that came out this year. I will start off by saying how evil and psycho is Kevin Spacey's character (Dave Harken), which he played really well. He's so psycho that he scares you. Hopefully nobody will have that type of monster has a boss. But the movie had a lot of focus on this character (and stand out the most from all the horrible bosses). I would of liked toOne of the funniest movies that came out this year. I will start off by saying how evil and psycho is Kevin Spacey's character (Dave Harken), which he played really well. He's so psycho that he scares you. Hopefully nobody will have that type of monster has a boss. But the movie had a lot of focus on this character (and stand out the most from all the horrible bosses). I would of liked to see a little bit more situations involving Dr. Julia Harris, D.D.S. (Jennifer Aniston) and Bobby Pellitt (Colin Farrell). Especially Jennifer Aniston, she was hot. In fact, I would like to had her has a boss. Anyway, the filmmakers did a great job creating theses characters. Has for our heroes, they were hilarious. It was fun to watch these normal people trying to kill there bosses, and failing at it. It's an enjoyable movie, I was waiting to see this for a long time and it didn't disappointed me. Expand
  16. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    Absolutely hilarious and one of the best comedy's I've seen in a long time. Excellent writing and acting. It will have you rolling. Highly recommended.
  17. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    Ultimately a good comedy especially with Miss Spotlight Stealer, Jennifer Aniston. HB is your typical comedy, but Hollywood and its brethren has its way by keeping you tuned with sexy twists and turns.
  18. Jul 12, 2011
    10
    As long as you see this before hype kills it, its worth every dime....every character has a good part, and its nice to see J. Aniston with a dirty mouth. She kills it. Really, everyone did well considering the story is fairly see-through.
  19. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    The best comedy movie i watch in months, maybe years. My god, i LOL-ed many times throughout the movie. Great acting from the 3 guys. Astounding. A must watch. 4.5 stars
  20. Jul 9, 2011
    8
    Proof that Hollywood can still make original, clever movies. Kevin Spacey particularly steals every scene as the twisted boss Harken. This is "Office Space" played to a wider demographic with just as many laughs.
  21. Jan 12, 2012
    9
    This film is like marmite. You either love it or hate it. I personally loved the movie and I think, wait I KNOW that this movie was funnier than Hangover. I think the reason why people hate it is because the themes of the movie such as sex, vulgar etc are too specific towards a certain target audience but I lie said this film was kick-ass really funny, the characters were interesting andThis film is like marmite. You either love it or hate it. I personally loved the movie and I think, wait I KNOW that this movie was funnier than Hangover. I think the reason why people hate it is because the themes of the movie such as sex, vulgar etc are too specific towards a certain target audience but I lie said this film was kick-ass really funny, the characters were interesting and easy to relate to. I think that people that enjoyed Hangover will like this film too. Expand
  22. Jul 29, 2011
    8
    The best R rated comedy since the hangover. The story is well told as well as well written. The comedy is smart and well thought out unlike many comedies in this day of age. If your looking for a movie that's funny and has a good story I suggest you watch horrible bosses. If your looking for a bad movie with dumb comedy I suggest you watch zookeeper
  23. Jul 9, 2011
    8
    A funny movie that provides constant laughs along the way. No, not gut wrenching laughter, but good, solid laughs. A good date night movie experience!
  24. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best comedy movies ever since "the hangover" with a great performances of jennifer aniston,colin farrell and charlie day.

    A great movie to see with your friends
    Expand
  25. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Much funnier than Hangover, in my opinion, but I also think Hangover was WAY overrated.

    Pretty much the entire movie is funny.

    Don't agree with the person who said the movie was too short; it was just the right length.

    Our movie theater was filled, and everyone seemed to enjoy the movie.
  26. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    LMAO for most of this well paced movie. JA was super hot and a refreshingly new role for her and the boys were hilarious. Most of the negative reviewers tend to over think analyze comedies in general instead of just enjoying the ride.
  27. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    This is one of the funniest, not to mention bizarre, films I've seen in a very long time. The whole audience was belly-laughing. The acting was incredible. We couldn't stop talking about it after it was over. A MUST SEE!!!
  28. Aug 6, 2011
    7
    The movie was solid, but with a cast filled with comedy stars like Jason Bateman (Arrested development) , Jennifer Aniston (friends) and Colin Farrell (In Bruges). I was glad it wasn't an all out gross film and the trio of charlie day, Bateman and Jason Sudeikis worked quite well together especially during the break in scene into Bobby's house. The movie delivers non stop laughs with goodThe movie was solid, but with a cast filled with comedy stars like Jason Bateman (Arrested development) , Jennifer Aniston (friends) and Colin Farrell (In Bruges). I was glad it wasn't an all out gross film and the trio of charlie day, Bateman and Jason Sudeikis worked quite well together especially during the break in scene into Bobby's house. The movie delivers non stop laughs with good supporting actors like Kevin Spacey and Jamie Foxx. It wont break any new ground but it is a good start for Charlie Day on the big screen. 7/10 Expand
  29. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    I liked this movie overall. Sudekis, Day, and Bateman are very funny especially together and leads me to ponder why they are not in more films. Spacey is fantastic as usual and Aniston and Farrell fight against type casting and are rewarded thoroughly for it. Not the funniest movie this year, but it does a good job.
  30. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    Horrible Bosses is totally funny and enjoyable movie. New kind of black comedy with a solid story . All the characters in this film was different and awesome & it was done amazingly . Jason Bateman,
    Charlie Day,Jason Sudeikis,Kevin Spacey,Jennifer Aniston,Colin Farrell & Jamie Foxx did really did .Markowitz's story was really good also Seth Gordon's directing.Its different then any other
    Horrible Bosses is totally funny and enjoyable movie. New kind of black comedy with a solid story . All the characters in this film was different and awesome & it was done amazingly . Jason Bateman,
    Charlie Day,Jason Sudeikis,Kevin Spacey,Jennifer Aniston,Colin Farrell & Jamie Foxx did really did .Markowitz's story was really good also Seth Gordon's directing.Its different then any other comedy film and totally worth watching .
    Expand
  31. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    Nick, Kurt and Dale are all cursed with a horrible boss. Dave Harken is extremely controlling with psycho traits, keeping a tight leash around Nick, while a cocaine addict ,Bobby Pellit, inherits his fatherâ
  32. Oct 1, 2011
    8
    This is totally the best comedy film of this year
    Way better than bad teacher or bridesmaids
    Must watch 4 all hangover fans
    Almost as gud too and quite similar 2 it n sum ways...great actin by everybdy
  33. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Good and so much funny in some moments, but most of the time it feels really stupid, the story is ok but is to predictable, horrible bosses is a good but not brilliant comedy
  34. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    A hilarious comedy. Metascore is totally off on this one. It is a great comedy film, and well, yeah, bit of an action and plot things and whatnot. Yeaaaah, pretty f---ing good movie.
  35. Dec 15, 2011
    7
    If you're looking for a movie that brings on the laughs, look no further than "Horrible Bosses." It's a comedy where the energy of the cast never fails to bring on the fun. Everyone sells their roles perfectly here, particularly Charlie Day and Jennifer Aniston. The script isn't bad either. There's a number of memorable quotes and fun situations to keep this movie going. The one big weakIf you're looking for a movie that brings on the laughs, look no further than "Horrible Bosses." It's a comedy where the energy of the cast never fails to bring on the fun. Everyone sells their roles perfectly here, particularly Charlie Day and Jennifer Aniston. The script isn't bad either. There's a number of memorable quotes and fun situations to keep this movie going. The one big weak point is the concept itself, and that causes the laughs to diminish a bit, but just as the movie starts to sink, there's an inspired performance to bring it back up. See "Horrible Bosses" if you want some R-rated summer fun. Expand
  36. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    From Arrested Development creator, Brett Ratner, and the star of Freaks Geeks, John Francis Daly, comes Horrible Bosses. What made this film stand out from other raunchy comedies, was that there wasn't just one super funny guy that the other played off of. Every character had their moment and was funny in their own way. The story was fairly original too. Three miserable guys decide allFrom Arrested Development creator, Brett Ratner, and the star of Freaks Geeks, John Francis Daly, comes Horrible Bosses. What made this film stand out from other raunchy comedies, was that there wasn't just one super funny guy that the other played off of. Every character had their moment and was funny in their own way. The story was fairly original too. Three miserable guys decide all their problems would end if they kill each other's boss and they go on a hilarious mission to get the job done. While I love the idea and thought the movie was genuinely funny, what it lacks is character development. Other than the abuses they face at work, you don't really know too much about these guys and where they are coming from. I feel like that weakened the film, but what more than makes up for it is a ton of hilarious cameos. I love cameos and there are some great ones from Jennifer Aniston, Jamie Foxx, Donald Sutherland, Bob Newhart, and Collin Farrell. Horrible Bosses while lacking substance is defiantly good for a few laughs, which is pretty much all that I expect from these types of movies. Expand
  37. Feb 11, 2012
    7
    So hilarious. The chemistry between everyone was just on point, it was a cast full of veterans making a great dirty rated R movie. I loved it, one of the better comedies of 2011.
  38. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    I went into this movie with pretty low expectations and came out pleasantly surprised. It is one of few movies that I can watch over and over and still find myself laughing throughout the entire movie. The casting was spot on across the board. While the humor can be a bit raunchy at times, it is very relatable, particularly to the younger generation. The main trio have a great chemistryI went into this movie with pretty low expectations and came out pleasantly surprised. It is one of few movies that I can watch over and over and still find myself laughing throughout the entire movie. The casting was spot on across the board. While the humor can be a bit raunchy at times, it is very relatable, particularly to the younger generation. The main trio have a great chemistry that is present throughout the entire film. Overall, Horrible Bosses remains one of my favorite go-to comedies. Expand
  39. Jan 5, 2014
    7
    Funny and raunchy. The movie didn't hold anything back, and pushed actors to their limits. It wasn't cliche as so many other comedies are. It was nice to see Jennifer actually play a different character over her dull self.
  40. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    Funny movie the cast was great Charlie Day was hilarious! So if your a fan of It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia this is a must see movie. Jason Bateman and Jason Sudeikis were great too. If your looking for a good laugh then Horrible Bosses is for you.
  41. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    One of the best comedies of 2011, miles better than The Hangover II, but not on par with Bridesmaids. An ensemble cast that couldnt have been cast better with all characters taking on their roles brilliantly. But two actors that stand out against the rest of the cast is Charlie Day and Jennifer Aniston, they have excellent chemistry together, and As soon as both appear on screen togetherOne of the best comedies of 2011, miles better than The Hangover II, but not on par with Bridesmaids. An ensemble cast that couldnt have been cast better with all characters taking on their roles brilliantly. But two actors that stand out against the rest of the cast is Charlie Day and Jennifer Aniston, they have excellent chemistry together, and As soon as both appear on screen together you know sparks will fly. Jennifer Aniston is outstanding in a role no one would have expected, with her dirty talk and sexual ways, she is different and excellent at it. Her role could either be a one off or the start of a brilliant new acting route for her. But above all is Charlie Day, every scene he is in is hilarious, and you would seriously believe this is what Charlies real life persona is like. Its hard to describe how exeellent and hilarious he is in the film without watching it for yourself. The only bad points of this film is it is not consistently funny, nor a plot that is by the end very intruiging or memorable. But overall a truly fantastic comedy film that pretty much everyone could enjoy, just dont watch with your parents or grandparents! Expand
  42. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    Impossibly irreverent and almost mercilessly hilarious, "Horrible Bosses" amounts up to a great comedy for adults.
  43. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    This is one of the funniest movies ever! each and every one of the charecters is amazing in their own right: the three bosses are HILARIOUS, and each of the boys has their own comical charecteristic.
  44. May 31, 2014
    10
    I don't know why, but I get a real kick out of this movie. I've literally watched this movie a million times and it never gets old. I guess I can easily say that this movie has really grown on me. The humor hits me hard with its great combination of slapstick comedy and relate able scenarios. For me, it's just one of those comedies that holds a special place in my heart that I neverI don't know why, but I get a real kick out of this movie. I've literally watched this movie a million times and it never gets old. I guess I can easily say that this movie has really grown on me. The humor hits me hard with its great combination of slapstick comedy and relate able scenarios. For me, it's just one of those comedies that holds a special place in my heart that I never thought would be possible. If you haven't seen this movie, you really should. You may not love it as much as I do, but you'll still get some great laughs. Either way, I give this funny film my highest rating of an A+! Expand
  45. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    This movie was far better than I expected. Charlie Days part in this movie was awesome. It is funny, disturbing and sometimes just cool. The story is innovative and also breathtaking.
    The best scenes are those with Charlie in it. When you like Always Sunny in Philadelphia you will love this movie.
  46. Jun 11, 2013
    7
    Great comedy, with great actors and some action and suspense. The trio of the clients were superb. Jennifer anniston was a breakthrough character.Liked it a lot
  47. Sep 19, 2013
    8
    Often very funny, Horrible Bosses has a star studded cast and plays out like four separate stories coming together for one big movie that is sure to entertain, or disgust. It depends on how you view it.
  48. Jul 12, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Better than the Hangover in the way that it's going to be far more re-watchable, and I doubt it will have an almost identical sequel which has a third of the funny parts and really should have been called a remake. Jason Bateman and Charlie Day rule while Spacey and Aniston(surprisingly Aniston honestly)really bring it home. The guy from SNL wasn't bad but really reminded me of Ed Helms only Day has the more frantic parts. Both Bateman and Spacey are so brilliant with how deadpan they are... which makes Day's frantic, hilarious character that's quite similar to Charlie on It's Always Sunny but a tad smarter and not the raging drunk that that character is. He had the funniest running joke about being a registered sex offender... Expand
  49. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Wow, this movie was great, it deserves every positive review it receives, a 57 is way too low for this film. It is highly underrated by critics. This is what i was looking for in the hangover part 2, a laugh. I laughed countless times throughout this movie. It was fregen hilarious, the acting was great, the comedy was outstanding and the casting for this film was perfect. Jason Bateman,Wow, this movie was great, it deserves every positive review it receives, a 57 is way too low for this film. It is highly underrated by critics. This is what i was looking for in the hangover part 2, a laugh. I laughed countless times throughout this movie. It was fregen hilarious, the acting was great, the comedy was outstanding and the casting for this film was perfect. Jason Bateman, Charlie Day, and Jason sudekis were hilarious and perfectly casted for this film. I believe they stole the summer, this was the hangover of 2011. The comedy was nonstop. Everybody should go see this film, whether for a laugh, for a cheering up, or just to go see a good movie, you must see this. You wont be disappointed, 10/10 definitely! Expand
  50. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    This movie was SUPER funny. The only reason it did not get a 10 is because it could have been a tad bit longer. It was very entertaining and could have been stretched out a little bit more. Other than that movie was Awesome and well cast. Every actor was perfect for their role, especially Charlie Day. Jennifer Aniston was WOW! and has never looked so good. Although Jaime Foxx's parts wereThis movie was SUPER funny. The only reason it did not get a 10 is because it could have been a tad bit longer. It was very entertaining and could have been stretched out a little bit more. Other than that movie was Awesome and well cast. Every actor was perfect for their role, especially Charlie Day. Jennifer Aniston was WOW! and has never looked so good. Although Jaime Foxx's parts were short they were hilarious. Jason Bateman is a great actor and I hope to see more of him in future roles. Jason Sudeikis was funnier than I thought he would be. Also Kevin Spacey is bad ass as a bad guy and Collin Ferrel play a good crack head. Expand
  51. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    Be cautious of reviews that seem overly critical, this movie is Hilarious! My wife and I as well as most of the audience laughed out load throughout this movie. I have not laughed this much since the Hangover and I really enjoyed this movie more. The boss's are all Horrible although most men would wish their boss was Jennifer Aniston, she was great. The three main characters were greatBe cautious of reviews that seem overly critical, this movie is Hilarious! My wife and I as well as most of the audience laughed out load throughout this movie. I have not laughed this much since the Hangover and I really enjoyed this movie more. The boss's are all Horrible although most men would wish their boss was Jennifer Aniston, she was great. The three main characters were great and their chemistry worked very, great supporting actors like Jamie Foxx (he was a riot) as the "hitman", Kevin Spacey as the worst boss ever were terrific also. If not for a few brief jokes that did not work I would give this movie a 10. Unlike some of the reviews that I read I would rate this movie higher than Wedding Crashers and on par with the Hangover. If your main reason to go see a comedy is to hae an good time and to laugh ALOT then you wil love this movie. Most of the scenes with Jennifer Aniston were gut busters! A fun time for sure, I may have to see it again! Expand
  52. Jul 28, 2011
    7
    A good enough popcorn flick, with Jen Aniston and Kevin Spacey stealing the show. The former plays against type, and the latter playing himself to the extreme. Basically a slacker bromance caper film with some neat homage to predecessors
  53. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    Horrible Bosses is just a good time all around. I went in with very high expectations and I think it's safe to say they were met. The only negative thing I can say about this movie is that it just feels like something is missing, and the worst part about that is, I'm not sure what it is that's missing.
  54. Dec 20, 2011
    7
    Relatively-vaguely funny caper with Kevin Spacey walking away with best actor. Nice to see Jennifer Aniston looking hot, albeit a bit mental, and Colin Farell's brief appearance was unsettlingly amusing. However nothing to write home about on the comedy front in general. The gags are predictably stoopid, popcorn mush.
  55. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    Vulgar? Yes. Funny? Yes. Forgetful? Somewhat. This is the type of movie that you go to see if you just want to be entertained. You should not expect to feel compelled to analyze the script when you leave the theater.....or to have a conversation about the quality of acting. This movie will not stand the test of time. I laughed outloud several times. I was pleasantly surprisedVulgar? Yes. Funny? Yes. Forgetful? Somewhat. This is the type of movie that you go to see if you just want to be entertained. You should not expect to feel compelled to analyze the script when you leave the theater.....or to have a conversation about the quality of acting. This movie will not stand the test of time. I laughed outloud several times. I was pleasantly surprised where the script headed. But, when all was said & done, I was simply entertained and nothing more. Just what I was looking for that afternoon. Expand
  56. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    A more realistic version, (and this year's) Hangover. Absolutely hilarious and pitch perfect. Great cast, great script great time. My favourite comedy of 2011.
  57. Jul 9, 2011
    8
    Horrible Bosses provides constant laughs throughout. The bosses are truly terrible people but the main characters all bring there likable unique personalities to the movie. Obviously the plot is ridiculous but it's easily the number two comedy of the summer behind Bridesmaids and will hold up as a rewatchable comedy for years to come.
  58. Sep 3, 2011
    9
    I liked this movie, it started off a little slow, but sped up and was funny as all get out! The actors were all good, Kevin Spacey is the ultimate SOB, I highly recommend it.
  59. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    A great comedy. Finally a comedy that actually can make people laugh. I mainly only saw it because it didn't have Seth Rogan as the lead. It was miles above The Hangover.
  60. Oct 31, 2011
    7
    Horrible Boss is not as horrible as everyone should think (especially if you have a boss like them; for me? of course I have one). There is lots of twists and turns in this surprising comedy. At first you'll think you know what's going to happen -- but wait, and watch the movie to the very end, including the credits. Several in this extraordinary cast (perhaps especially Jennifer Aniston)Horrible Boss is not as horrible as everyone should think (especially if you have a boss like them; for me? of course I have one). There is lots of twists and turns in this surprising comedy. At first you'll think you know what's going to happen -- but wait, and watch the movie to the very end, including the credits. Several in this extraordinary cast (perhaps especially Jennifer Aniston) step outside their "comfort zone" and display aspects of their personalities and acting skills that may surprise you. The acting of the lead stars especially the bosses was so damned good that it actually carry the movie by itself. Horrible Bosses never takes itself seriously, but you'll be too deep into laughter to notice the difference. The movie is dark as the movie earned its R rating easily, but if you can handle it you are in for a uproarious ride. Keep an eye on this one, as it is one of the best summer surprises in recent years. Expand
  61. May 26, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mischievous comedy at its near-finest! Unfortunately the movie itself strays from its awesomeness during the second half when one of the two funniest characters in the film (alongside Jenifer Aniston) is murdered. Colin Farrell literally provides a sidesplitting 'barrel of laughs' performance and is the true breakout of the feature. The three leading men were all great casting choices and while some may say their back-stories are virtually non-existent I didn't find that to be a problem as more time was then focused on the titled horrible bosses! Expand
  62. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    Horrible Bosses is a crude and raunchy film. Good that is what i want. Funny as hell and a great story with acting by everyone well above par. One of the funniest movies of the year.
  63. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    Nick, Dale and Kurt are average Americans with reasonable and respected intentions in life. Some of their aspirations are no different from our own. Nick is the hard-working office employee who is always the first to arrive and the last to leave. He dreams of a big promotion, which he clearly deserves. Dale is committed to the woman he loves. His plan is to marry her, sustaining theirNick, Dale and Kurt are average Americans with reasonable and respected intentions in life. Some of their aspirations are no different from our own. Nick is the hard-working office employee who is always the first to arrive and the last to leave. He dreams of a big promotion, which he clearly deserves. Dale is committed to the woman he loves. His plan is to marry her, sustaining their relationship through his earnings as a dentist's assistant. Kurt is content with his role in the chemical company he's in. He smiles in the thought that he could one day be in charge. Nick, Dale and Kurt are such harmless, typical fellas that, when they agree that it would be best to kill their bosses, we wonder how evil their superiors could be.

    The bosses in "Horrible Bosses" are indeed what the title suggests them to be, and more. Besides being horrible, they're also psychotic, perverted, delusional, and mean. They make other people's life miserable because they can. They take advantage of their authority by engaging in activities that can only be classified as either immoral or illegal. I describe these bullies from observations I made during office hours. How do these people entertain themselves on a Holiday?

    The first of three bosses is Dave Harken, played by Kevin Spacey. Dave is so skilled at publicly humiliating others that he might as well host the next Oscars. Dave knows that he can easily make Nick's dream come true, but won't. Next up is Jennifer Anniston's Dr. Julia Harris, the world's horniest dentist. Julia's instinctive habit of seducing the nearest conscious male would make an ordinary man rejoice, especially if you're her assistant, but not Dale. He fears that Julia's regular sexual stunts will jeopardize his engagement. And then there's Bobby Pellitt (Colin Farrell), who has recently took command of the chemical company that employs Kurt. Because everything that Bobby touches turns to a strip club, Kurt is not confident that the company will last long.

    Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/horrible-bosses-movie- review/
    Expand
  64. Nov 7, 2012
    7
    Horrible Bosses is hilarious, and even then, it doesn't go as far as it good have. It had Hangover potential, but, nevertheless, I'm thoroughly entertained.
  65. May 25, 2014
    7
    "Life is a marathon and you cannot win a marathon without putting a few bandaids on your nipples!"

    Horrible Bosses has a great concept, great actors, hilarious dialog, and the fact that its a rated R comedy makes it even better. Really though if they had tried the makes this a pg13 movie it would have just been not funny and unwatchable. Seth Gordon has come out with 3 movies now and
    "Life is a marathon and you cannot win a marathon without putting a few bandaids on your nipples!"

    Horrible Bosses has a great concept, great actors, hilarious dialog, and the fact that its a rated R comedy makes it even better. Really though if they had tried the makes this a pg13 movie it would have just been not funny and unwatchable. Seth Gordon has come out with 3 movies now and this one is for sure the best and only one worth watching, his first movie "Four Christmases" was pure unwatchable crap and his most recent movie Identity Thief is also pretty horrible. Im pretty sure you could have thrown any decent director in this and it would have been just as good.

    So the movie follows three friends Nick Hendricks(Jason Bateman), Dale Arbus(Charlie Day), and Kurt Buckman(Jason Sudeikis) as they try to figure out a way to kill their bosses that they absolutely hate. Bateman's boss is played by Kevin Spacey and pretty much again Spacey was the best part of the whole movie he plays being a rude dick to perfection. Now we have Sudeikis's boss played by Colin Farrell who is a coked up douche bag that only got the job because his dad died. So this leaves us with Charlie Day's boss who is played by Jennifer Aniston a sex crazed dentist that is always trying to have sex with him. Aniston at this point stopped relying on her acting which was never all the good to begin with for being half naked in almost all her scenes but she was still actually pretty funny, most of though she was flipping SEXY!!!!!!.

    The movie has plenty of jokes throughout at no point did i feel the movie slow down yet it does take a little while before we actually get to the part where they want to kill their bosses the scenes that fill that time are showing you just how horrible these bosses can be. The guy that tells them how to kill their bosses is played by Jamie Foxx his role is minor and you see him only like two or three times so he was forgettable the best about him was his name **** Jones.

    Overall i give it a 7.5 im hopping Horrible Bosses two will be just as funny also i didnt know John Francis Daley wrote the script for this that guy is just awesome.
    Expand
  66. Nov 23, 2014
    9
    I really must say it took me awhile to see this but wow oh wow it was one of the wildest and fall down funniest movies I have seen in awhile I say if u are in a good mood to kill your boss as these guys were don't see it It will only make it worse but I must admit to this I laughed out loud several times and had a wonderful time with the boys "these guys " I say see it for a good comedy II really must say it took me awhile to see this but wow oh wow it was one of the wildest and fall down funniest movies I have seen in awhile I say if u are in a good mood to kill your boss as these guys were don't see it It will only make it worse but I must admit to this I laughed out loud several times and had a wonderful time with the boys "these guys " I say see it for a good comedy I can't wait till thanksgiving to see the second part of it happy watching oh yea word of advice teens and parents please watch separately due to a ton of swearing and unconfertable moments for both Expand
  67. May 1, 2015
    8
    A dark cold blooded, mean spirited humor that is so offensive it's comedy gold! Jason Bateman, Charlie Day, Jason Sudeikis are all funny that they have to tolerate Colin Firth, Kevin Spacey, Jennifer as bosses. Even though the joke are old and the satire is not clever but the film is wickedly clever the humor is funny and the performances are silly! Grade B+
  68. Apr 9, 2014
    8
    This is an original concept and an original movie.There is a lot of funny scenes and it's one of the best 2011's movies.If it's not it's the best comedy of 2011.Tis is a sexy and wild movie that i can only recommend
  69. Apr 19, 2015
    8
    Horrible Bosses is a great time and so much hilarious jokes like funny scene after funny scene. The movie doesn't fail to entertain the audience and that's good. It's an instant classic for me. Original and pure greatness throughout the whole film. Sure that you will watch it more than once.
  70. Oct 29, 2015
    7
    I think this film is very funny. Only sometimes annoyingly exaggerated, all in all quite good. It is similar in style to 'The Hangover' except it's better, not gross and annoyingly stupid. (I know people don't agree with me, but I dislike 'The Hangover' very much.)
  71. Nov 27, 2015
    7
    Really good comedy. The characters and plot for this movie are really funny and well done for a comedy. This is one of the best comedies made in recent years.
  72. Dec 23, 2015
    10
    Horrible Bosses is personally I think one of the best comedy movie out there, yeah it isn't generally funny for all ages but for the right viewer, it will never fail.
  73. May 9, 2016
    7
    "Horrible Bosses" es una comedia novedosa, que esquiva el humor grotesco y/o estúpido, y presenta una premisa con la que la audiencia podrá identificarse que presenta una gracia fluida que entretiene a lo largo de toda la película.
    La historia nos presenta a tres empleados Nick Hendrics (Jason Bateman), Kurt Buckman (Jason Sudeikis) y Dave Arbus (Charlie Day), quienes trabajan en
    "Horrible Bosses" es una comedia novedosa, que esquiva el humor grotesco y/o estúpido, y presenta una premisa con la que la audiencia podrá identificarse que presenta una gracia fluida que entretiene a lo largo de toda la película.
    La historia nos presenta a tres empleados Nick Hendrics (Jason Bateman), Kurt Buckman (Jason Sudeikis) y Dave Arbus (Charlie Day), quienes trabajan en distintos rubros pero coinciden en dos aspectos, una amistad de años y tener jefes que les están arruinando la vida. Debido a su mala situación piensan que sus vidas serían mucho más fáciles si asesinan a sus empleadores, y un momento de frustración cada uno decide poner en marcha el plan.
    La comedia es muy buena, nada es forzado y la narración se acompleja haciendo la historia interesante, en gran parte por el gran elenco, actuaciones como la de Kevin Spacey o Jamie Foxx contribuyen muy bien.
    Es una recomendable, entre tantas comedias que salen cada año es bueno premiar la que se diferencia de las demás y cumple con el cometido de hacer pasar un buen tiempo.
    Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Jul 22, 2011
    40
    These bosses cannot justify either murder or lasting comic memories, fatally compromising a farce that could have been great but ends up merely mediocre.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 11, 2011
    75
    For something like Horrible Bosses to sparkle, the actors have to shine... and shine they do.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jul 8, 2011
    33
    The coarseness wouldn't be so bad if at least the steady stream of obscenities were funny.