Lions Gate Films | Release Date: January 6, 2006
3.1
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 635 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
174
Mixed:
62
Negative:
399
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
KamachoMcSaggetAug 13, 2010
This movie... doesn't exist. It is probably the least creative movie I've ever seen. It's really mentally grathing and slow, and it may not be the worst movie I've ever seen, but it's pretty close. I know it's not about shock and more aboutThis movie... doesn't exist. It is probably the least creative movie I've ever seen. It's really mentally grathing and slow, and it may not be the worst movie I've ever seen, but it's pretty close. I know it's not about shock and more about gross out scares, but you can't really be grossed out too much if you're not immersed in the movie (maybe the infamouse "eyegasm", but nothing else), and this movie does nothing interesting to help itself. What little story there is the most cliched I've ever heard. I'd like to dig more deeply into it, but there is nothing there to dig into. All you have to know is that people get tortured while the audience wonders what's so great about it. This may not be a part of a genre I like, but a truely good movie could suck you in regardless of the genre. Not to get off track or anything, but a good example is, Pulp Fiction. It is listed under "crime", "drama", "suspence", and "comedy" all at once, but you don't think "hey, I'm watching a crime/drama/suspence/comedy", you just think "hey, I'm watching a movie". Hostel is so cliched that it seems like a genre template and nothing else. I read the user reviews of people who liked it in case I missed something, but the argument of "saterizing the audiences lust for pain" could be said for any movie in the genre. Bottom line: you can't have a gross-out movie without the "movie" part. I was grossed out when i stepped in dog poop, but that doesn't make it the apitamy of cinema. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
2
lususgreeneJul 7, 2011
Let me say to start that I am NOT the target audience for this movie. This moive is more for the gore for the sake of gore crowd, anyone else watching this movie has chosen to punish themselves. This movie has no higher purpose, no greaterLet me say to start that I am NOT the target audience for this movie. This moive is more for the gore for the sake of gore crowd, anyone else watching this movie has chosen to punish themselves. This movie has no higher purpose, no greater wisdom, no real story. Hack and slash, hack and slash. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
0
RyanH.Jan 3, 2007
One of the the worst movies I have ever seen. I think i was watching a stupid teenage trip movie that went wrong and had added gore for fun. It is the standard gory movie with the stupidest characters who set themselves up to be killed with One of the the worst movies I have ever seen. I think i was watching a stupid teenage trip movie that went wrong and had added gore for fun. It is the standard gory movie with the stupidest characters who set themselves up to be killed with one person making it out alive. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MarkC.Aug 20, 2006
this moive is not scary at all it just freakin nasty it is very boring it has no suspense.You already know whats going to happen before it happens now can u tell me how lame it that?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AmandaP.Jan 6, 2006
Was not scary at all!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
danieli.Jan 10, 2006
It's a pretty pathetic plot line with little or no back story. The movie is not all deep, with only scenes that will shock the audience. The first half is a glorified porno, while the last 45 minutes are made as groteskly as possible. It's a pretty pathetic plot line with little or no back story. The movie is not all deep, with only scenes that will shock the audience. The first half is a glorified porno, while the last 45 minutes are made as groteskly as possible. If you like movies with no plot and horrible lines this Hostel was made for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MelissaJan 7, 2006
Very disturbing and degrating movie towards women. Definitely not a date movie. The gore aspect was just too much they showed peoples faces being burned with blow torches. It sucked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WendyJan 7, 2006
A movie made for juvenile teenagers [Ed: uhhh..]. With the garbage currently playing it should do well at the box office. But the truth is it is pretty bad. Move over Mr. Jackson, Mr. Q has joined you as a one-trick pony. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NickiC.Jan 8, 2006
I was disappointed in Quentin Tarantino for turning out this film. The overall theme of the moview was sex, drugs, and gore. The plot played out in a manner where there were no surprises. I didn't like it. We were waiting outside the I was disappointed in Quentin Tarantino for turning out this film. The overall theme of the moview was sex, drugs, and gore. The plot played out in a manner where there were no surprises. I didn't like it. We were waiting outside the theater as the first show let out and most of the people were commenting that it was just stupid and disappointing. We should have listened to them an had chosen a different movie to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrookL.Jan 8, 2006
The first hour was Eurotrip, of which I'm not a fan. The second hour, for about 5 minutes, gave the impression that it might do okay. But no, somehow Roth managed to take one of the best original plots of the year and completely screw The first hour was Eurotrip, of which I'm not a fan. The second hour, for about 5 minutes, gave the impression that it might do okay. But no, somehow Roth managed to take one of the best original plots of the year and completely screw it up. The score was absolutely terrible, the movie seemed like a joke. I was so disappointed, you willl be too. Avoid this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MichaelB.Jan 9, 2006
It's early in 2006, but I can't see anything topping this piece of garbage for the "worst movie of the year" award. You know how in some horror movies they introduce some mindless inane characters at the beginning and kill them off It's early in 2006, but I can't see anything topping this piece of garbage for the "worst movie of the year" award. You know how in some horror movies they introduce some mindless inane characters at the beginning and kill them off quickly to give you a taste of whats to come, and then introduce you to the real main characters? In Hostel, the mindless inane characters are the main characters... total disappointment. I was almost happy to watch them get killed off. Everything about this movie is awful. Watching this movie was way more torture than any of the characters experienced. Don't waste a penny of your hard-earned cash on this piece of crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NickA.Sep 8, 2006
So this is supposedly one of the most vicious and goriest films ever if you believe the front cover. Well don't because this is neither, the film doesnt know what to be, is it a spoof, is it horror? no its basically utter garbage and So this is supposedly one of the most vicious and goriest films ever if you believe the front cover. Well don't because this is neither, the film doesnt know what to be, is it a spoof, is it horror? no its basically utter garbage and doesnt work on any level. The characters to begin with are so annoying and one dimensional that as the viewer you couldnt care less what happened to them and this is the big problem here, the tension never gets going, the gore becomes laughable, basically this sucks big time ! Please Eli Roth go back to your day job! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ABSep 9, 2007
It is surprising that "Hostel" was advertised as a particularly shocking horror film; it turns out to be standard horror fare: it is boring, fairly gory, and has no plot whatsoever. And, of course, it is not scary. Its only merit is that, It is surprising that "Hostel" was advertised as a particularly shocking horror film; it turns out to be standard horror fare: it is boring, fairly gory, and has no plot whatsoever. And, of course, it is not scary. Its only merit is that, although it is sharply degrading (especially toward women and children), it is not as offensive as its preposterous sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CarlW.Jan 13, 2006
If you're going to put all your eggs in one basket, it should be a pretty gory basket... gorier than a few chopped-off fingers and a cheesy hanging eyeball. I would've given this a 1 if the obnoxious main character had been If you're going to put all your eggs in one basket, it should be a pretty gory basket... gorier than a few chopped-off fingers and a cheesy hanging eyeball. I would've given this a 1 if the obnoxious main character had been tortured and killed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChrisA.Jan 21, 2006
One of the worst movies I've ever seen. There's over the top, and then there's Hostel. It starts out as a badly scripted (and acted) teenage Eurotrip-style movie: gratuitous sex and nudity, copious amounts of pot-smoking, and One of the worst movies I've ever seen. There's over the top, and then there's Hostel. It starts out as a badly scripted (and acted) teenage Eurotrip-style movie: gratuitous sex and nudity, copious amounts of pot-smoking, and the word "dude" said every 2 lines. Then it becomes an assault on the senses with absolutely brutal and depraved torture scenes. You do NOT go to this movie if you want a nice night out - this is not entertainment. And any Slovakians out there will most likely be appalled at how their country (and Europe in general) is portrayed. I don't know what to call this movie: a psychological thriller perhaps? It's not a traditional horror movie, as it doesn't "scare" you, it just makes you want to leave the theatre. Absolutely brutal in every sense of the word. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoeM.Jan 6, 2006
A very poorly made teeny-bopper shocker film. Misleading in that Trantino is just a producer of the film (it's obviously been hinted that he is more than that) and that it's somehow shocking when it's just another "hack-em up A very poorly made teeny-bopper shocker film. Misleading in that Trantino is just a producer of the film (it's obviously been hinted that he is more than that) and that it's somehow shocking when it's just another "hack-em up try and gross out the audience" film among many that seem to be coming out of the woodwork lately. Nothing new, surprising or otherwise interesing in this film. Acting is terrible and the story is ho hum. Don't bother spening your 10 bucks on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndyJan 7, 2006
I don't know what crack these other reviewers are smoking. This is not the best horror film made. This is not at all traumatizing. It is not even the goriest movie 'EVA'. Devoid of tension or suspense but lots of gore mixed I don't know what crack these other reviewers are smoking. This is not the best horror film made. This is not at all traumatizing. It is not even the goriest movie 'EVA'. Devoid of tension or suspense but lots of gore mixed with fresh harvests of European jiggly-tits. Wait for the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ShoshanahM.Feb 28, 2006
Worst movie I've seen this year. Not so much a horror film, more of a glorified snuff film. The filmmaker seemed only interested in how many times he could gross out the audience, rather than building up genuine fear and suspense. You Worst movie I've seen this year. Not so much a horror film, more of a glorified snuff film. The filmmaker seemed only interested in how many times he could gross out the audience, rather than building up genuine fear and suspense. You could not *pay* me to watch this movie again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CoryApr 21, 2006
How bad? Awfull bad. I love horror movies and I had just finished watching 'Wolf Creek". Hostel went for laughs and gore. From me all it got was laughs. Bad gore scenes. Only missplaced fingers to see. The torture scenes were few and How bad? Awfull bad. I love horror movies and I had just finished watching 'Wolf Creek". Hostel went for laughs and gore. From me all it got was laughs. Bad gore scenes. Only missplaced fingers to see. The torture scenes were few and far between. Can you imagine a guy slipping and cutting himself in half? Niether could I, but i saw it anyway. Stay away from this crap. You want a movie that is really tough to watch? Wolf Creek". A real man's horror movie. Don't say I didn't warn you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JakeK.Apr 21, 2006
I really dont get how anyone can say how this movie was gory. I thought there wasnt that much of it. [***SPOILERS***] i mean , when the guy takes that electric screw driver over to the guy and puts it in his leg, u dont even see it. the only I really dont get how anyone can say how this movie was gory. I thought there wasnt that much of it. [***SPOILERS***] i mean , when the guy takes that electric screw driver over to the guy and puts it in his leg, u dont even see it. the only good part of this movie was when there was all of this naked hott chicks but other wise, it was horrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikM.Apr 24, 2006
Poor story, weak acting, and a couple torture scenes. Not worth 2 hours of your life (let alone rental or purchase price).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DrunkenMasterJan 11, 2006
It's total poop. Strictly for sadists w/ severe learning disabilities.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KingChadJan 15, 2006
Sorry little boys and girls but this film really sucked. Not worthy of your time or money. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TroyS.Jan 16, 2006
Utterly worthless piece of gratuitous junk. An embarassment to the film industry. It should have been rated NC-17.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DaveK.Jan 19, 2006
How did this piece of garbage get an "r" rating? Very predictible plot; gratuitous sex and violence; an utterly filthy and disgusting journey into the twisted minds of Roth and Tarentino. Don't go!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CoryC.Jan 9, 2006
Not good. Not enough horror. It took an hour to get to something at least bit scary. The first hour is basically American Pie and all u see are naked chicks. No time is really spent in the tortue rooms. Overall, not scary and not that gory Not good. Not enough horror. It took an hour to get to something at least bit scary. The first hour is basically American Pie and all u see are naked chicks. No time is really spent in the tortue rooms. Overall, not scary and not that gory as i thought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
artpJan 9, 2006
The whole first part of the movie is awefully directed. The rest is glorified violence with no purpose but to shock audiences. This movie is a disgrace to the art of movie making.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChrissyFeb 11, 2006
Perhaps this movie would've been better, if the completely inexplicable (and dreadful) comedy pieces hadn't been pushed into the dialogue. Not only that, but the acting seemed have an unrealistic, and almost dull effect. Nudity is Perhaps this movie would've been better, if the completely inexplicable (and dreadful) comedy pieces hadn't been pushed into the dialogue. Not only that, but the acting seemed have an unrealistic, and almost dull effect. Nudity is also quite overused in this movie. If you'd like to go and see a torturesome, comedic porno-flick, then this is the movie for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JimQ.Apr 23, 2006
I want my 95 minutes of life back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AquamanMay 19, 2006
I am the kind of guy who likes the typical horror movie. When i came across this at the movie store, i thought "hey, this looks good", i was incorrect. I just could not summon up the strength to find this movie enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Jun 17, 2006
This movie is stupid, it has no plot, its not scary, its just disgusting. The first hour or so is ok, but after that, its one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZackO.Jun 27, 2006
why why why? the first half hour is pretty much cliche softcore horror movie porn. after that, it becomes a twisted and meaningless film of needless torture and pain. there is no reason for this movie to exist. the eye mayonaise really did why why why? the first half hour is pretty much cliche softcore horror movie porn. after that, it becomes a twisted and meaningless film of needless torture and pain. there is no reason for this movie to exist. the eye mayonaise really did it for me. i actually laughed out loud when the blatantly fake thousand island dressing splurged of the asian's eye socket. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarkW.Jan 11, 2006
I was expecting something alot more scarier. The extreme violence wasnt something that scared you after you left the theatre. You just feel like you wasted two hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
M.EscherJan 14, 2006
I am not generally opposed to violence and gore in films, but Hostel has very little else going for it. If you are going to make a movie with such extreme violence as this, I think that you ought to have a strong plot, interesting I am not generally opposed to violence and gore in films, but Hostel has very little else going for it. If you are going to make a movie with such extreme violence as this, I think that you ought to have a strong plot, interesting characters, or at least some point to the movie. Take any of Quentin Tarantino's films, for example: plenty of violence, but they are all well made and extremely entertaining. Hostel, on the other hand, seemed like a whole lot of sadistic violence with no real justification, and no redeeming qualities. Why a brilliant filmmaker such as Tarantino would put his name and money behind this dog of a film is beyond me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TonydannieJan 15, 2006
I have officialy seen one of the worse movies of the year. The firts hour is nothing but Boob fest for those imature kids who are looking for "boobie shots" If I wanted to see boobie shots I would have poped in American Pie ( either one, it I have officialy seen one of the worse movies of the year. The firts hour is nothing but Boob fest for those imature kids who are looking for "boobie shots" If I wanted to see boobie shots I would have poped in American Pie ( either one, it don't matter). THe gore was nothing extrordinary. There was more Gore In SAW 2 then in this crap fest. And Jay Hernandez is no leading actor. That is why Carlito's way 2 went straight to DVD. Stay Home Folks ..This movie was a waste of my time. Two Hours I could have spent playing Video games. 2 out of 10.. I think I am being a little generous here. I cannot wait to stand in line for the shaggy dog movie. You want for torture..well this is your flick. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GrantN.Jan 16, 2006
If you enjoy this movie then you have no taste in movies. The first 45 minutes is just sex and the director uses excessive gore to mask incompatence and a lack of tension.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BobbyJ.Jan 23, 2006
this is a horific exscuse for a movie, how could anyone find this enjoyable, let alone hilarious? (Dan R), anyone who gives this a movie a rating above 2 is almost as sick and twisted as the director, The first 45 mins is all porno, and then this is a horific exscuse for a movie, how could anyone find this enjoyable, let alone hilarious? (Dan R), anyone who gives this a movie a rating above 2 is almost as sick and twisted as the director, The first 45 mins is all porno, and then they kill them. this movie has no plot first of all and second it is way to explicit. Tarentino and Roth should be forced to go through the torture the people in the movie went through for this movie. the real question is when is roth's trial date? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JacobY.Apr 24, 2006
I would have to say this is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Don't waist your time watching it, there isn't even a hint of story until about 45 minutes into it. This film was alot of talk with no delivery, cabin fever was I would have to say this is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Don't waist your time watching it, there isn't even a hint of story until about 45 minutes into it. This film was alot of talk with no delivery, cabin fever was good but this is just pathetic in every way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarkH.Jun 18, 2006
The first half a very stupid teen movie with all clichés - the rest a desperate attempt to make all previous chainsaw massacres look like "finding nemo". At the end a big question: How sick does one have to be to find the most The first half a very stupid teen movie with all clichés - the rest a desperate attempt to make all previous chainsaw massacres look like "finding nemo". At the end a big question: How sick does one have to be to find the most perverted kinds of torture entertaining? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
S.BannonJul 26, 2006
I knew the film would suck. But it was supposed to be totally offensive and gruesome, so I thought I should atleast watch it. Not even close. No suspense, no twists, even the gore was lame. Total waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SarahNov 12, 2007
This was the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. There was barely any gore or violence until the end. The whole beginning of the movie is sex. It is pretty much a soft core porno. It is so disgusting. I would not recommend it to This was the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. There was barely any gore or violence until the end. The whole beginning of the movie is sex. It is pretty much a soft core porno. It is so disgusting. I would not recommend it to anyone at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ShaoKahn260May 10, 2015
This movie shouldn't have been released. The movie has gratuitous sex, violence and of course profanity.
The movie tried to capitalize on movies like the saw series. The director hasn't made a quality movie in my opinion. His movie Cabin
This movie shouldn't have been released. The movie has gratuitous sex, violence and of course profanity.
The movie tried to capitalize on movies like the saw series. The director hasn't made a quality movie in my opinion. His movie Cabin Fever is just as pointless and offensive as this picture. Fortunately few movies of this type are released. This movie has nothing to enjoy and has no originality, a total waste of time for any viewer.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews