Hostel

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 448 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. M.Escher
    Jan 14, 2006
    0
    I am not generally opposed to violence and gore in films, but Hostel has very little else going for it. If you are going to make a movie with such extreme violence as this, I think that you ought to have a strong plot, interesting characters, or at least some point to the movie. Take any of Quentin Tarantino's films, for example: plenty of violence, but they are all well made and I am not generally opposed to violence and gore in films, but Hostel has very little else going for it. If you are going to make a movie with such extreme violence as this, I think that you ought to have a strong plot, interesting characters, or at least some point to the movie. Take any of Quentin Tarantino's films, for example: plenty of violence, but they are all well made and extremely entertaining. Hostel, on the other hand, seemed like a whole lot of sadistic violence with no real justification, and no redeeming qualities. Why a brilliant filmmaker such as Tarantino would put his name and money behind this dog of a film is beyond me. Expand
  2. Tonydannie
    Jan 15, 2006
    2
    I have officialy seen one of the worse movies of the year. The firts hour is nothing but Boob fest for those imature kids who are looking for "boobie shots" If I wanted to see boobie shots I would have poped in American Pie ( either one, it don't matter). THe gore was nothing extrordinary. There was more Gore In SAW 2 then in this crap fest. And Jay Hernandez is no leading actor. I have officialy seen one of the worse movies of the year. The firts hour is nothing but Boob fest for those imature kids who are looking for "boobie shots" If I wanted to see boobie shots I would have poped in American Pie ( either one, it don't matter). THe gore was nothing extrordinary. There was more Gore In SAW 2 then in this crap fest. And Jay Hernandez is no leading actor. That is why Carlito's way 2 went straight to DVD. Stay Home Folks ..This movie was a waste of my time. Two Hours I could have spent playing Video games. 2 out of 10.. I think I am being a little generous here. I cannot wait to stand in line for the shaggy dog movie. You want for torture..well this is your flick. Expand
  3. GrantN.
    Jan 16, 2006
    3
    If you enjoy this movie then you have no taste in movies. The first 45 minutes is just sex and the director uses excessive gore to mask incompatence and a lack of tension.
  4. BobbyJ.
    Jan 23, 2006
    0
    this is a horific exscuse for a movie, how could anyone find this enjoyable, let alone hilarious? (Dan R), anyone who gives this a movie a rating above 2 is almost as sick and twisted as the director, The first 45 mins is all porno, and then they kill them. this movie has no plot first of all and second it is way to explicit. Tarentino and Roth should be forced to go through the torture this is a horific exscuse for a movie, how could anyone find this enjoyable, let alone hilarious? (Dan R), anyone who gives this a movie a rating above 2 is almost as sick and twisted as the director, The first 45 mins is all porno, and then they kill them. this movie has no plot first of all and second it is way to explicit. Tarentino and Roth should be forced to go through the torture the people in the movie went through for this movie. the real question is when is roth's trial date? Expand
  5. A.J.S.
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    All of you who give this movie low scores obviously ignored the fact that this movie has a message that is revealed in the end. Namely, that violence begets more violence as we see when the young hero stalks his friend's murderer and tortures him, eventually killing him. Those of you who say this film has no message and is just meaningless gore shouldn't have seen the movie in All of you who give this movie low scores obviously ignored the fact that this movie has a message that is revealed in the end. Namely, that violence begets more violence as we see when the young hero stalks his friend's murderer and tortures him, eventually killing him. Those of you who say this film has no message and is just meaningless gore shouldn't have seen the movie in the first place. The gore was clearly too much for you to handle and so it is the only thing you took away from this movie. Expand
  6. RyanJ.
    Feb 24, 2006
    4
    An excellent premise and some clever torture make the movie worth seeing. However, the movie honestly feels like it was going overbudget and they felt the need to wrap up all of the plot points at the end within 5 minutes. The end was rushed, and some of the scenes towards the end were just ridiculous. How could nobody at the train station notice there was a Japanese girl wandering around An excellent premise and some clever torture make the movie worth seeing. However, the movie honestly feels like it was going overbudget and they felt the need to wrap up all of the plot points at the end within 5 minutes. The end was rushed, and some of the scenes towards the end were just ridiculous. How could nobody at the train station notice there was a Japanese girl wandering around with her eye hanging out of its socket. A great premise, I recommend to hardcore horror or torture fans, but I just can not give this more than a 4 due to the rushed and unintentionally comical ending. Expand
  7. Wetwebwork
    Apr 21, 2006
    7
    Hostel lacked the humour and suspense required to make it a classic horror film, but it's a not a bad one. I guess most people aren't familair with the genre after it's decline since the 80's, and mark Hostel down as result. I think they're missing the point in the same way that people miss the point of the original Texas Chainsaw Massacre or Last House On the Left.
  8. JohnK.
    Apr 21, 2006
    5
    Reality is much more terrifying, HollyWood writers suck, The only thing HollyWood hasn't done is a King Kong Vs Jason Vs Freddie Vs Rocky fim. Sincerely. A-Tetrapod
  9. GarageBand
    Apr 21, 2006
    6
    Not dumb, but a bit simple at times. The girl with half a face will live in my head for a while. The sad part is that this movie isn't so far fetched. The disturbing part is that we now have movie makers more interested in putting on a show very much like the Roman Colosseum games than telling a story. Gore, blood lust, violence...the worst part is these shows are becoming more Not dumb, but a bit simple at times. The girl with half a face will live in my head for a while. The sad part is that this movie isn't so far fetched. The disturbing part is that we now have movie makers more interested in putting on a show very much like the Roman Colosseum games than telling a story. Gore, blood lust, violence...the worst part is these shows are becoming more dehumanizing and demonic. How much longer until Faces of Death is becomes a legit movie review? Man I'm not even religious and I've about had my fill. Expand
  10. JacobY.
    Apr 24, 2006
    0
    I would have to say this is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Don't waist your time watching it, there isn't even a hint of story until about 45 minutes into it. This film was alot of talk with no delivery, cabin fever was good but this is just pathetic in every way.
  11. MarkH.
    Jun 18, 2006
    0
    The first half a very stupid teen movie with all clichés - the rest a desperate attempt to make all previous chainsaw massacres look like "finding nemo". At the end a big question: How sick does one have to be to find the most perverted kinds of torture entertaining?
  12. AdrianF.
    Jun 24, 2006
    10
    The thing that annoys me most about how people vote on this movie is how vile, sick and disgusting it is. However that should be be expected for a horror movie and perhaps those that don't enjoy delving into the darkest depths of human nature should steer well clear of this movie (and genre). Also on the front cover of this DVD it clearly indicates strong sexuality and graphic The thing that annoys me most about how people vote on this movie is how vile, sick and disgusting it is. However that should be be expected for a horror movie and perhaps those that don't enjoy delving into the darkest depths of human nature should steer well clear of this movie (and genre). Also on the front cover of this DVD it clearly indicates strong sexuality and graphic violence. If you adverse to these, also steer clear! (maybe you should get out Wallace & Gromit instead on your next visit to your dvd store - a true classic in its own genre). The main objective of any horror movie is to entertain and shock. Not to make a political or profound statement. Not to be 100% realistic. Does Hostel achieve what a horror movie is meant to? Without a doubt, yes. Eli Roth is the future of horror movies and can't wait to check out his future work. Expand
  13. AaronB.
    Jun 28, 2006
    5
    The premise of this moving is interesting. I agree with many reviewers in saying that the gore in the movie is a little over the top. However, isn't that what a blood and guts horror movie is all about? I gave this movie a '5' because that is what it deserves. It's not as great as some would have you believe but, at the same time, it certainly isn't as bad others The premise of this moving is interesting. I agree with many reviewers in saying that the gore in the movie is a little over the top. However, isn't that what a blood and guts horror movie is all about? I gave this movie a '5' because that is what it deserves. It's not as great as some would have you believe but, at the same time, it certainly isn't as bad others would tell you. My advice: check it out and make come up with your own opinion. At least with the DVD you can turn off the disgust at any time you like. Expand
  14. S.Bannon
    Jul 26, 2006
    3
    I knew the film would suck. But it was supposed to be totally offensive and gruesome, so I thought I should atleast watch it. Not even close. No suspense, no twists, even the gore was lame. Total waste of time.
  15. HalB.
    Nov 3, 2007
    7
    A minor masterpiece of modern horror, that draws heavily from several horror classics. Was the soft porn over the top at times? Probably. But the direction, set design and cinematography are all top notch, and the performances pretty believable. The story arc is pretty simple, some might say boring... but I think that misses the point. This is a horror film; it's meant to entertain A minor masterpiece of modern horror, that draws heavily from several horror classics. Was the soft porn over the top at times? Probably. But the direction, set design and cinematography are all top notch, and the performances pretty believable. The story arc is pretty simple, some might say boring... but I think that misses the point. This is a horror film; it's meant to entertain and shock by depicting the worst that humans are capable of. And some of the human monsters even get their just desserts in the end. Revenge is a dish best served cold. Expand
  16. Sarah
    Nov 12, 2007
    0
    This was the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. There was barely any gore or violence until the end. The whole beginning of the movie is sex. It is pretty much a soft core porno. It is so disgusting. I would not recommend it to anyone at all.
  17. May 10, 2015
    0
    This movie shouldn't have been released. The movie has gratuitous sex, violence and of course profanity.
    The movie tried to capitalize on movies like the saw series. The director hasn't made a quality movie in my opinion. His movie Cabin Fever is just as pointless and offensive as this picture. Fortunately few movies of this type are released. This movie has nothing to enjoy and has no
    This movie shouldn't have been released. The movie has gratuitous sex, violence and of course profanity.
    The movie tried to capitalize on movies like the saw series. The director hasn't made a quality movie in my opinion. His movie Cabin Fever is just as pointless and offensive as this picture. Fortunately few movies of this type are released. This movie has nothing to enjoy and has no originality, a total waste of time for any viewer.
    Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. It's obligatory for a horror film to feature exploitative sex as an appetizer, but Roth, even as he fulfills the sleaze imperative, does something shrewder: He mocks his heroes, presenting them as cold-eyed horndog jerks who fail to see that they've wandered into an entire country of exploitation.
  2. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    70
    Hostel may become something of a classic among Fangoria magazine's readership, acolytes of George Romero and audiences who thought "Saw II" was for babies.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    60
    Although he damn near slanders an entire country - expect poor Slovakia's tourism industry to take a hit - Roth is not an unskilled ringleader of gory crisis moments, or breathless escapes. The squeamish should simply stay away, but carnage queens will appreciate some of Roth's less grisly, even amusing details.