Hostel

User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 536 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MarkH.
    Jun 18, 2006
    0
    The first half a very stupid teen movie with all clichés - the rest a desperate attempt to make all previous chainsaw massacres look like "finding nemo". At the end a big question: How sick does one have to be to find the most perverted kinds of torture entertaining?
  2. DavidC.
    Jun 22, 2006
    7
    People are forgetting the point of a horror flick. its aim is to have you on the edge of your seats as much as possible. true there is no gore at the beginning of the film but there needs to be a foundation for the following activites that occur. i feel that this film is a well layered structure that did have me at the edge of the seat most of the time. however i feel this could not be a People are forgetting the point of a horror flick. its aim is to have you on the edge of your seats as much as possible. true there is no gore at the beginning of the film but there needs to be a foundation for the following activites that occur. i feel that this film is a well layered structure that did have me at the edge of the seat most of the time. however i feel this could not be a DVD to own as i dont think i could have the stomach for it again. however an exciting experience none-the-less. Expand
  3. AdrianF.
    Jun 24, 2006
    10
    The thing that annoys me most about how people vote on this movie is how vile, sick and disgusting it is. However that should be be expected for a horror movie and perhaps those that don't enjoy delving into the darkest depths of human nature should steer well clear of this movie (and genre). Also on the front cover of this DVD it clearly indicates strong sexuality and graphic The thing that annoys me most about how people vote on this movie is how vile, sick and disgusting it is. However that should be be expected for a horror movie and perhaps those that don't enjoy delving into the darkest depths of human nature should steer well clear of this movie (and genre). Also on the front cover of this DVD it clearly indicates strong sexuality and graphic violence. If you adverse to these, also steer clear! (maybe you should get out Wallace & Gromit instead on your next visit to your dvd store - a true classic in its own genre). The main objective of any horror movie is to entertain and shock. Not to make a political or profound statement. Not to be 100% realistic. Does Hostel achieve what a horror movie is meant to? Without a doubt, yes. Eli Roth is the future of horror movies and can't wait to check out his future work. Expand
  4. ZackO.
    Jun 27, 2006
    0
    why why why? the first half hour is pretty much cliche softcore horror movie porn. after that, it becomes a twisted and meaningless film of needless torture and pain. there is no reason for this movie to exist. the eye mayonaise really did it for me. i actually laughed out loud when the blatantly fake thousand island dressing splurged of the asian's eye socket.
  5. AaronB.
    Jun 28, 2006
    5
    The premise of this moving is interesting. I agree with many reviewers in saying that the gore in the movie is a little over the top. However, isn't that what a blood and guts horror movie is all about? I gave this movie a '5' because that is what it deserves. It's not as great as some would have you believe but, at the same time, it certainly isn't as bad others The premise of this moving is interesting. I agree with many reviewers in saying that the gore in the movie is a little over the top. However, isn't that what a blood and guts horror movie is all about? I gave this movie a '5' because that is what it deserves. It's not as great as some would have you believe but, at the same time, it certainly isn't as bad others would tell you. My advice: check it out and make come up with your own opinion. At least with the DVD you can turn off the disgust at any time you like. Expand
  6. AmurabiM.
    Jul 8, 2006
    6
    "Hostel" is an exercise of innecesary sadism. This is an exploration of the American POV, no more than that. It is a metaphor as amercans being torturers and people who suffers torture. This is waht we get, people!. Eli Roth makes an excercise of hyper violence, hyper realism and exploitation without any guilt. Mixing all the cliches of the genre and twisting them in a mean humor. "Hostel" is an exercise of innecesary sadism. This is an exploration of the American POV, no more than that. It is a metaphor as amercans being torturers and people who suffers torture. This is waht we get, people!. Eli Roth makes an excercise of hyper violence, hyper realism and exploitation without any guilt. Mixing all the cliches of the genre and twisting them in a mean humor. "Hostel" is just a shocking film, no more than that. Expand
  7. Bill
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    Maybe the best horror movie this decade. disturbing, creepy, funny, and gory. a must see.
  8. S.Bannon
    Jul 26, 2006
    3
    I knew the film would suck. But it was supposed to be totally offensive and gruesome, so I thought I should atleast watch it. Not even close. No suspense, no twists, even the gore was lame. Total waste of time.
  9. AlecB.
    Aug 16, 2006
    7
    more of a soft porn flick than horror. not what i was expecting but still pretty good.
  10. NickA.
    Sep 8, 2006
    1
    So this is supposedly one of the most vicious and goriest films ever if you believe the front cover. Well don't because this is neither, the film doesnt know what to be, is it a spoof, is it horror? no its basically utter garbage and doesnt work on any level. The characters to begin with are so annoying and one dimensional that as the viewer you couldnt care less what happened to So this is supposedly one of the most vicious and goriest films ever if you believe the front cover. Well don't because this is neither, the film doesnt know what to be, is it a spoof, is it horror? no its basically utter garbage and doesnt work on any level. The characters to begin with are so annoying and one dimensional that as the viewer you couldnt care less what happened to them and this is the big problem here, the tension never gets going, the gore becomes laughable, basically this sucks big time ! Please Eli Roth go back to your day job! Expand
  11. NoahG.
    Sep 13, 2006
    6
    [***SPOILERS***] I thought this was awesome! It was really wrenching at times, like when the guys feet freakin get cut & he stands up.....gross!, but all in all it was really good..... real gore....But it didnt really go any where..... all it was was people getting tortured or dieng but yea it was good...
  12. JohnE.
    Oct 10, 2006
    8
    I thought the idea behind this film was brilliant. A lot of people have criticised it because it is either too gory, or because it is not gory enough. I liked the film because it got the balance right - it was a bit slow to get going, but this only made the last half hour feel more shocking. Worth seeing.
  13. JeffM.
    Oct 29, 2006
    5
    If you want a soft-core porn movie that turns into a torture flick halfway through, this is your movie. I like naked breasts as much as the next guy, but the gore was mostly disappointing.
  14. RD.
    Apr 4, 2007
    4
    Not scary enough. Not as gory as some say. I saw unraTED VERSION btw. Just flinched twice in the whole movie. One during the removing a finger from the legs of a woman and during cutting of an eyeball scene if you know what I mean. Roth needs to seriously do something different or else his Hostel series will become just another Saw series except the fact thatS aw 1 is intelligent while Not scary enough. Not as gory as some say. I saw unraTED VERSION btw. Just flinched twice in the whole movie. One during the removing a finger from the legs of a woman and during cutting of an eyeball scene if you know what I mean. Roth needs to seriously do something different or else his Hostel series will become just another Saw series except the fact thatS aw 1 is intelligent while Hostel which had a good premise is not! Expand
  15. AB
    Sep 9, 2007
    2
    It is surprising that "Hostel" was advertised as a particularly shocking horror film; it turns out to be standard horror fare: it is boring, fairly gory, and has no plot whatsoever. And, of course, it is not scary. Its only merit is that, although it is sharply degrading (especially toward women and children), it is not as offensive as its preposterous sequel.
  16. HalB.
    Nov 3, 2007
    7
    A minor masterpiece of modern horror, that draws heavily from several horror classics. Was the soft porn over the top at times? Probably. But the direction, set design and cinematography are all top notch, and the performances pretty believable. The story arc is pretty simple, some might say boring... but I think that misses the point. This is a horror film; it's meant to entertain A minor masterpiece of modern horror, that draws heavily from several horror classics. Was the soft porn over the top at times? Probably. But the direction, set design and cinematography are all top notch, and the performances pretty believable. The story arc is pretty simple, some might say boring... but I think that misses the point. This is a horror film; it's meant to entertain and shock by depicting the worst that humans are capable of. And some of the human monsters even get their just desserts in the end. Revenge is a dish best served cold. Expand
  17. May 10, 2015
    0
    This movie shouldn't have been released. The movie has gratuitous sex, violence and of course profanity.
    The movie tried to capitalize on movies like the saw series. The director hasn't made a quality movie in my opinion. His movie Cabin Fever is just as pointless and offensive as this picture. Fortunately few movies of this type are released. This movie has nothing to enjoy and has no
    This movie shouldn't have been released. The movie has gratuitous sex, violence and of course profanity.
    The movie tried to capitalize on movies like the saw series. The director hasn't made a quality movie in my opinion. His movie Cabin Fever is just as pointless and offensive as this picture. Fortunately few movies of this type are released. This movie has nothing to enjoy and has no originality, a total waste of time for any viewer.
    Expand
  18. WJS
    Oct 12, 2015
    6
    A strong narrative highlights this at time exploitive body parts feature. The first act of the film is nothing more than a frat boy, soft core porn fest, with lots of T & A. The second act is the definitive example of torture porn, with blood and guts and body parts flying all over the place. In the third act the film morphs into a fairly effective Jason Bourne style game of cat and mouse,A strong narrative highlights this at time exploitive body parts feature. The first act of the film is nothing more than a frat boy, soft core porn fest, with lots of T & A. The second act is the definitive example of torture porn, with blood and guts and body parts flying all over the place. In the third act the film morphs into a fairly effective Jason Bourne style game of cat and mouse, which really proves quite entertaining. Expand
  19. Oct 17, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie will keep American tourists from ever visiting Slovakia.

    It has a slow, dull start in Amsterdam (where the inhabitants speak German instead of Dutch) and it's only once our American friends start their train trip to Slovakia that things get interesting.

    The whole setting in the hostel is very nice, the sexy girls are there to seduce horny boys and lead them to hell. The receptionist is a creepy nerd who keeps saying things like "Americans? Cool! Party yes? Why not!"

    The way that Eli Roth portrays a village in Eastern Europe can be seen as slightly racist, but in the end it creates a very nice modern, spooky fairy tale feeling. They boys are far from home, and in here there are other rules at stake than they are used to.
    Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. It's obligatory for a horror film to feature exploitative sex as an appetizer, but Roth, even as he fulfills the sleaze imperative, does something shrewder: He mocks his heroes, presenting them as cold-eyed horndog jerks who fail to see that they've wandered into an entire country of exploitation.
  2. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    70
    Hostel may become something of a classic among Fangoria magazine's readership, acolytes of George Romero and audiences who thought "Saw II" was for babies.
  3. 60
    Although he damn near slanders an entire country - expect poor Slovakia's tourism industry to take a hit - Roth is not an unskilled ringleader of gory crisis moments, or breathless escapes. The squeamish should simply stay away, but carnage queens will appreciate some of Roth's less grisly, even amusing details.