Lions Gate Films | Release Date: January 6, 2006
3.1
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 638 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
175
Mixed:
64
Negative:
399
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
KamachoMcSaggetAug 13, 2010
This movie... doesn't exist. It is probably the least creative movie I've ever seen. It's really mentally grathing and slow, and it may not be the worst movie I've ever seen, but it's pretty close. I know it's not about shock and more aboutThis movie... doesn't exist. It is probably the least creative movie I've ever seen. It's really mentally grathing and slow, and it may not be the worst movie I've ever seen, but it's pretty close. I know it's not about shock and more about gross out scares, but you can't really be grossed out too much if you're not immersed in the movie (maybe the infamouse "eyegasm", but nothing else), and this movie does nothing interesting to help itself. What little story there is the most cliched I've ever heard. I'd like to dig more deeply into it, but there is nothing there to dig into. All you have to know is that people get tortured while the audience wonders what's so great about it. This may not be a part of a genre I like, but a truely good movie could suck you in regardless of the genre. Not to get off track or anything, but a good example is, Pulp Fiction. It is listed under "crime", "drama", "suspence", and "comedy" all at once, but you don't think "hey, I'm watching a crime/drama/suspence/comedy", you just think "hey, I'm watching a movie". Hostel is so cliched that it seems like a genre template and nothing else. I read the user reviews of people who liked it in case I missed something, but the argument of "saterizing the audiences lust for pain" could be said for any movie in the genre. Bottom line: you can't have a gross-out movie without the "movie" part. I was grossed out when i stepped in dog poop, but that doesn't make it the apitamy of cinema. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
2
lususgreeneJul 7, 2011
Let me say to start that I am NOT the target audience for this movie. This moive is more for the gore for the sake of gore crowd, anyone else watching this movie has chosen to punish themselves. This movie has no higher purpose, no greaterLet me say to start that I am NOT the target audience for this movie. This moive is more for the gore for the sake of gore crowd, anyone else watching this movie has chosen to punish themselves. This movie has no higher purpose, no greater wisdom, no real story. Hack and slash, hack and slash. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
0
RyanH.Jan 3, 2007
One of the the worst movies I have ever seen. I think i was watching a stupid teenage trip movie that went wrong and had added gore for fun. It is the standard gory movie with the stupidest characters who set themselves up to be killed with One of the the worst movies I have ever seen. I think i was watching a stupid teenage trip movie that went wrong and had added gore for fun. It is the standard gory movie with the stupidest characters who set themselves up to be killed with one person making it out alive. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MarkC.Aug 20, 2006
this moive is not scary at all it just freakin nasty it is very boring it has no suspense.You already know whats going to happen before it happens now can u tell me how lame it that?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
imthenoobDec 22, 2012
Solid acting and incredibly gory. What I love most about this movie is that it proves that Americans can still make gruesome horror movies. Eli Roth is on his way to become the next great horror film director.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
JoseRochaPTOct 3, 2011
This film actually has the power to impress when it comes to gore, but lacks the movie story to be complete, I still do not know what the true meaning of the tattoo used in the film. And I still do not know anyone who founded the empire ofThis film actually has the power to impress when it comes to gore, but lacks the movie story to be complete, I still do not know what the true meaning of the tattoo used in the film. And I still do not know anyone who founded the empire of murder. I just to know who the leader is behind all this, but not the purpose. As already mentioned, the film is good in the gore category, but just as impressive film images, but as a good movie needs a good story I'm going to grade 6 for the lack of story that could make this film much more interesting Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGoer14Jul 20, 2013
Hostel is the first torture porn horror that scared me and disturbed me, it is funny and entertaining, but with a build up that people will criticize on, I think that such movies should have such executions, because if the climax starts fromHostel is the first torture porn horror that scared me and disturbed me, it is funny and entertaining, but with a build up that people will criticize on, I think that such movies should have such executions, because if the climax starts from the beginning, you will be bored half through the movie. Albeit that the story needs more explanation, it terrifies indeed. The acting is good as far as a horror movie go, it is better than other horror movies. The action sequences are will done, they are intense, and the plot is interesting, it is a really great horror movies, that will scare and terrify, almost anyone. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
juliankennedy23Aug 21, 2014
Hostel: 10 out of 10: Half Eurotrip style sex comedy (with a seventies level of nudity) and half the doctor scene from Bloodsucking Freaks, yeah I might as well stop my review right there it's a 10.

Director Eli Roth (Cabin Fever) has
Hostel: 10 out of 10: Half Eurotrip style sex comedy (with a seventies level of nudity) and half the doctor scene from Bloodsucking Freaks, yeah I might as well stop my review right there it's a 10.

Director Eli Roth (Cabin Fever) has scored a bull's eye simply by going back to what makes exploitation films great. Thus he produces a film that could have been lensed in the freewheeling year of 1975 rather than PG-13 stuffy year of 2005.

The film starts with two American college students and an Icelandic hanger on enjoying some debauchery in Amsterdam. They hear about a nirvana for sex and drugs in Slovakia and they pursue it as if they were traversing the Himalayas to find Shangri-La.

What they find is,,,, well I won't spoil it for you but they should have stuck with the marijuana brownies and overpriced Dutch hookers.

The movie actually makes torture scenes enjoyable again. (I generally have hated the whole torture motif in modern film for example Rest Stop.) Roth unlike his contemporaries shows the gore without those annoying zooming camera tricks. The leads are unlikable in a fun rather than irritating way (not easy to do) and the film has both a wonderful energy and plentiful surprises.

Oh and there is copious amounts of extremely well done gratuitous nudity and sadistic gore. One of the best films of 2005.
Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
JavisOct 4, 2011
An ironic well-made gory film, has what you wanted, gore, jokes and is sexy, the performances are OK I think they should have improved more, you can notice the effects and the make up sometimes, but anyway is a good movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
In Hostel, two American college students go traveling across Europe. On the train they hear about a hostel in Slovakia that attracts lots of girls, so naturally they head there. Unbeknownst to them, the hostel is run by a group whoIn Hostel, two American college students go traveling across Europe. On the train they hear about a hostel in Slovakia that attracts lots of girls, so naturally they head there. Unbeknownst to them, the hostel is run by a group who mercenaries who kidnap tourists and sell them to rich people to torture for kicks. While the situation is a nightmare, the story really isn't that scary. It's bloody and very gory, but it's not going to keep you up at night. It was a good movie, I like blood and guts, but that's not how it was advertised! This was advertised as being one of the scariest movies ever and it just wasn't. If you're a horror fan, it's defiantly worth seeing, but be warned, it's more about shock and awe than it is scary. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
OfficialMar 8, 2014
The film is effective at giving you creeps with its gory scenes, but the film took quite a long time to get going. Ultimately, the film is a disappointment. If you're interested in this type of genre, I would recommend you to check out theThe film is effective at giving you creeps with its gory scenes, but the film took quite a long time to get going. Ultimately, the film is a disappointment. If you're interested in this type of genre, I would recommend you to check out the first three movies in the "Saw" series. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
It's no Cabin Fever, but it's gross as hell, and it takes exploitation horror about as far as it can possibly go.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989Feb 4, 2013
The first in a three-part trilogy that I really enjoy despite it being rather messed up! It's a torture film so some of it is rather hard to stomach, but you're on Paxton Josh's side and you hope they can escape! There is a nice blend ofThe first in a three-part trilogy that I really enjoy despite it being rather messed up! It's a torture film so some of it is rather hard to stomach, but you're on Paxton Josh's side and you hope they can escape! There is a nice blend of gore as well as some good thrills in there with some great acting from the leads. I probably enjoyed the next two installments a little better, but this was the start of a great series. Overall a great Horror that won't be easy for all to stomach! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
charlie_westOct 28, 2013
For its first hour, 'Hostel' plays out as some sort of soft core porno, before turning into a mildly exciting (albeit grisly) thriller for its last half.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
horcrux2007Sep 2, 2014
While the first 45 minutes of "Hostel" are overly boring and slow, the story (and blood) really pick up quickly, and it becomes very dark and entertaining. If you can get past the first half of the movie, I'd recommend it.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
AmandaP.Jan 6, 2006
Was not scary at all!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RD.Apr 4, 2007
Not scary enough. Not as gory as some say. I saw unraTED VERSION btw. Just flinched twice in the whole movie. One during the removing a finger from the legs of a woman and during cutting of an eyeball scene if you know what I mean. Roth Not scary enough. Not as gory as some say. I saw unraTED VERSION btw. Just flinched twice in the whole movie. One during the removing a finger from the legs of a woman and during cutting of an eyeball scene if you know what I mean. Roth needs to seriously do something different or else his Hostel series will become just another Saw series except the fact thatS aw 1 is intelligent while Hostel which had a good premise is not! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DannyB.Jan 10, 2006
Pretty solid movie, could've used more Charlize Theron though. One sex scene is never enough for me. The kids were priceless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
danieli.Jan 10, 2006
It's a pretty pathetic plot line with little or no back story. The movie is not all deep, with only scenes that will shock the audience. The first half is a glorified porno, while the last 45 minutes are made as groteskly as possible. It's a pretty pathetic plot line with little or no back story. The movie is not all deep, with only scenes that will shock the audience. The first half is a glorified porno, while the last 45 minutes are made as groteskly as possible. If you like movies with no plot and horrible lines this Hostel was made for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricS.Jan 21, 2006
Some may call hostel a gratuitous and overall difficult to watch movie. They
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MelissaJan 7, 2006
Very disturbing and degrating movie towards women. Definitely not a date movie. The gore aspect was just too much they showed peoples faces being burned with blow torches. It sucked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WendyJan 7, 2006
A movie made for juvenile teenagers [Ed: uhhh..]. With the garbage currently playing it should do well at the box office. But the truth is it is pretty bad. Move over Mr. Jackson, Mr. Q has joined you as a one-trick pony. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KadyCampJan 8, 2006
This movie was not scary, but fun to watch, if you enjoy gore, blood, severed limbs, and that type of stuff. The first part of the movie had me laughing like crazy, I thought it was a comedy; then it just took a turn down the gore road. This movie was not scary, but fun to watch, if you enjoy gore, blood, severed limbs, and that type of stuff. The first part of the movie had me laughing like crazy, I thought it was a comedy; then it just took a turn down the gore road. Excellent for people with a dark sense of humor...go see it if you want some nasty fun at the movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeB.Jan 8, 2006
I thought it was a thoroughly entertaining movie. It's not for the squeemish, I'm glad I left my wife at home! I never would've heard the end of it! This movie is only going to appeal to a certain group of people. It I thought it was a thoroughly entertaining movie. It's not for the squeemish, I'm glad I left my wife at home! I never would've heard the end of it! This movie is only going to appeal to a certain group of people. It doesn't surprise me that it's been getting mixed reviews. I loved the movie, it made me squirm in my seat and yell explitives at the screen! I know I wasn't alone, the rest of the theater was right there with me. Definitely adding this one to my already pretty twisted dvd collection! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NickiC.Jan 8, 2006
I was disappointed in Quentin Tarantino for turning out this film. The overall theme of the moview was sex, drugs, and gore. The plot played out in a manner where there were no surprises. I didn't like it. We were waiting outside the I was disappointed in Quentin Tarantino for turning out this film. The overall theme of the moview was sex, drugs, and gore. The plot played out in a manner where there were no surprises. I didn't like it. We were waiting outside the theater as the first show let out and most of the people were commenting that it was just stupid and disappointing. We should have listened to them an had chosen a different movie to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SEanM.Jan 8, 2006
Eli Roth is a brilliant director with a lot of potential, I would not mind seeing a full length rotten fruit feature. Hostel provides the gore, the women, the drugs, and boatloads of endless laughter. The kids in this movie are priceless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BrookL.Jan 8, 2006
The first hour was Eurotrip, of which I'm not a fan. The second hour, for about 5 minutes, gave the impression that it might do okay. But no, somehow Roth managed to take one of the best original plots of the year and completely screw The first hour was Eurotrip, of which I'm not a fan. The second hour, for about 5 minutes, gave the impression that it might do okay. But no, somehow Roth managed to take one of the best original plots of the year and completely screw it up. The score was absolutely terrible, the movie seemed like a joke. I was so disappointed, you willl be too. Avoid this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Danc.Jan 9, 2006
Good
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JaredSSJan 9, 2006
I find it funny that people saw the trailer, expected more than just "another horror film", got exactly that, and then complain. People are very amusing. Eli Roth did what he did with Cabin Fever, in that he took a very common horror tale I find it funny that people saw the trailer, expected more than just "another horror film", got exactly that, and then complain. People are very amusing. Eli Roth did what he did with Cabin Fever, in that he took a very common horror tale and developed it in a unique manner. Even hints of social commentary (terrorists torture tapes have been rather hot lately, rich people "doing what they will" with people less fortunate, and people being taken advantage of by their naive desires, etc.) And to those ragging on Quentin...rag on Eli, he made the movie. Quentin put up the money. Of course they're using Quentin's name in bold letters to get more people to see it, it worked didn't it? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClarkJan 9, 2006
It was my wife's birthday and the only thing she wanted to do was see Hostel. We went and had a nice romantic evening. Awesome date movie! Made us crave Chicken McNuggets, which we got afterwards.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MichaelB.Jan 9, 2006
It's early in 2006, but I can't see anything topping this piece of garbage for the "worst movie of the year" award. You know how in some horror movies they introduce some mindless inane characters at the beginning and kill them off It's early in 2006, but I can't see anything topping this piece of garbage for the "worst movie of the year" award. You know how in some horror movies they introduce some mindless inane characters at the beginning and kill them off quickly to give you a taste of whats to come, and then introduce you to the real main characters? In Hostel, the mindless inane characters are the main characters... total disappointment. I was almost happy to watch them get killed off. Everything about this movie is awful. Watching this movie was way more torture than any of the characters experienced. Don't waste a penny of your hard-earned cash on this piece of crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NickA.Sep 8, 2006
So this is supposedly one of the most vicious and goriest films ever if you believe the front cover. Well don't because this is neither, the film doesnt know what to be, is it a spoof, is it horror? no its basically utter garbage and So this is supposedly one of the most vicious and goriest films ever if you believe the front cover. Well don't because this is neither, the film doesnt know what to be, is it a spoof, is it horror? no its basically utter garbage and doesnt work on any level. The characters to begin with are so annoying and one dimensional that as the viewer you couldnt care less what happened to them and this is the big problem here, the tension never gets going, the gore becomes laughable, basically this sucks big time ! Please Eli Roth go back to your day job! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ABSep 9, 2007
It is surprising that "Hostel" was advertised as a particularly shocking horror film; it turns out to be standard horror fare: it is boring, fairly gory, and has no plot whatsoever. And, of course, it is not scary. Its only merit is that, It is surprising that "Hostel" was advertised as a particularly shocking horror film; it turns out to be standard horror fare: it is boring, fairly gory, and has no plot whatsoever. And, of course, it is not scary. Its only merit is that, although it is sharply degrading (especially toward women and children), it is not as offensive as its preposterous sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CarlW.Jan 13, 2006
If you're going to put all your eggs in one basket, it should be a pretty gory basket... gorier than a few chopped-off fingers and a cheesy hanging eyeball. I would've given this a 1 if the obnoxious main character had been If you're going to put all your eggs in one basket, it should be a pretty gory basket... gorier than a few chopped-off fingers and a cheesy hanging eyeball. I would've given this a 1 if the obnoxious main character had been tortured and killed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EddieB.Jan 15, 2006
Hostel is a neat little revenge flick, and it's obviously not for the squeamish. If you can stand the graphic torture scenes, you might find yourself cheering for both the survivor and yourself--as if you, too, had survived a truly Hostel is a neat little revenge flick, and it's obviously not for the squeamish. If you can stand the graphic torture scenes, you might find yourself cheering for both the survivor and yourself--as if you, too, had survived a truly sickening ordeal. Roth does, however, make the movie a little easier to sit through by adding memorable bits of humor and gratuitous sex and nudity. Hostel delivers exactly what the trailer promises--an interesting premise, lots o' blood, and plenty of screams--and it has some fun doing it. I give it an 8. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottH.Jan 16, 2006
Wow, an 80's teenage T&A movie that turns into a gore-fest in the middle! Shame on all of you who gave this low scores! I haven't seen something this quirky since From Dusk Till Dawn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChrisA.Jan 21, 2006
One of the worst movies I've ever seen. There's over the top, and then there's Hostel. It starts out as a badly scripted (and acted) teenage Eurotrip-style movie: gratuitous sex and nudity, copious amounts of pot-smoking, and One of the worst movies I've ever seen. There's over the top, and then there's Hostel. It starts out as a badly scripted (and acted) teenage Eurotrip-style movie: gratuitous sex and nudity, copious amounts of pot-smoking, and the word "dude" said every 2 lines. Then it becomes an assault on the senses with absolutely brutal and depraved torture scenes. You do NOT go to this movie if you want a nice night out - this is not entertainment. And any Slovakians out there will most likely be appalled at how their country (and Europe in general) is portrayed. I don't know what to call this movie: a psychological thriller perhaps? It's not a traditional horror movie, as it doesn't "scare" you, it just makes you want to leave the theatre. Absolutely brutal in every sense of the word. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AramisG.Jan 27, 2006
For everyone who didn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
V.MartinezJan 6, 2006
This movie is well made and directed. It is graphic, so be forewarned. It has a plot, though, and despite no-name actors, the acting is pretty good. I had no complaints. It's not a date movie, unless you both like 'Reservoir This movie is well made and directed. It is graphic, so be forewarned. It has a plot, though, and despite no-name actors, the acting is pretty good. I had no complaints. It's not a date movie, unless you both like 'Reservoir Dogs' or something. I gave it a ten because it was done on a low budget with well-made gory effects courtesy of Tarantino and the other Director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoeM.Jan 6, 2006
A very poorly made teeny-bopper shocker film. Misleading in that Trantino is just a producer of the film (it's obviously been hinted that he is more than that) and that it's somehow shocking when it's just another "hack-em up A very poorly made teeny-bopper shocker film. Misleading in that Trantino is just a producer of the film (it's obviously been hinted that he is more than that) and that it's somehow shocking when it's just another "hack-em up try and gross out the audience" film among many that seem to be coming out of the woodwork lately. Nothing new, surprising or otherwise interesing in this film. Acting is terrible and the story is ho hum. Don't bother spening your 10 bucks on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaTriceW.Jan 7, 2006
this movie was excellant but it was alot of sex but other than that the mystery was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndyJan 7, 2006
I don't know what crack these other reviewers are smoking. This is not the best horror film made. This is not at all traumatizing. It is not even the goriest movie 'EVA'. Devoid of tension or suspense but lots of gore mixed I don't know what crack these other reviewers are smoking. This is not the best horror film made. This is not at all traumatizing. It is not even the goriest movie 'EVA'. Devoid of tension or suspense but lots of gore mixed with fresh harvests of European jiggly-tits. Wait for the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MeaganD.Jan 7, 2006
In regards to what Joe M. said, the movie was NOT a teeny-bopper-shocker film...what kind of movies are you watching? The first 45 minutes are soft core pron...if you can handle that your ok....but I do have to admit....this was the In regards to what Joe M. said, the movie was NOT a teeny-bopper-shocker film...what kind of movies are you watching? The first 45 minutes are soft core pron...if you can handle that your ok....but I do have to admit....this was the bloodiest movie I have ever seen!!! Acting was awesome, you try going to eurpoe and getting kidnapped and then waking up in a chair and getting your limbs slowly cut off...it really happens!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ericvJan 8, 2006
I went into the theatre with high hopes for this movie as I am a big fan of Eli Roth and his previous Cabin Fever. I wasn't let down... though I thought it was gonna be completely different than it was. It looked like it was gonna be I went into the theatre with high hopes for this movie as I am a big fan of Eli Roth and his previous Cabin Fever. I wasn't let down... though I thought it was gonna be completely different than it was. It looked like it was gonna be more of a SAW type movie... but it was soooo much better. Great plot, creepy, really funny, and lotsa lotsa sex, drugs, and gore. Doesn't get any better than that. Props to Eli Roth for this one Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaneWJan 8, 2006
Wendy is an idiot. "Mr. Jackson is a one-trick pony" who has done more with his life than 10 year old wendy will ever do. And as for Hostel, it was a terrific horror film. Not the greatest of all time but it still was very well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharltonXJan 9, 2006
A zesty romp! This is a smart, inventive permutation on the gore genre. Unlike everything in the SAW movies, this all makes strange sense. Urban legends get twisted and fulfilled as fantasies get inverted in the film. And no, despite what A zesty romp! This is a smart, inventive permutation on the gore genre. Unlike everything in the SAW movies, this all makes strange sense. Urban legends get twisted and fulfilled as fantasies get inverted in the film. And no, despite what you may have heard, it's really no more gory or shocking than the SAW movies... I'd actually say less. Once you accept that there's going to be a certain Grand Guignol level to the movie, it's not quite what you fear it could be. In fact, there's one scene that is so over-the-top that it becomes almost funny... in a very sick way. If you could handle Romero's original DAWN OF THE DEAD, then this is fine. This was a super movie in it's genre. A real step up from SAW. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WilliamR.Jan 9, 2006
HOSTEL Where: Amc24 OKOKC When: 010606 @ 1910 Size/Occ: 450/50% Trailers: Lots of Lions Gate stuff with a lot of forgetful titles. One really looked interesting sadly I can't recall much about it at the moment. The rest were all similar HOSTEL Where: Amc24 OKOKC When: 010606 @ 1910 Size/Occ: 450/50% Trailers: Lots of Lions Gate stuff with a lot of forgetful titles. One really looked interesting sadly I can't recall much about it at the moment. The rest were all similar in nature in terms of trailer presentation sadly. One that really sucked was the trailer involving the girl inside the house where the "phone call is coming from inside." Movie: Hostel presented by Quentin Tarantino clearly being used just for name recognition which I guess is okay in this case. The movie follows the travels of three guys in Europe seeking drugs, sex, and hostels for a place to sleep. The movie takes some time setting things up and letting us get to know the three people on the surface, so we can care what happens to them later on as usual. When things do start going down it comes quick and mercilessly save for Jay Hernandez's character who we get to spend a lot more time with. The carnage in this film goes full throttle the last 20 minutes where we get our measure of satisfaction. I thought the music in this film was very good and really built the mood when it needed. I was definitely hoping this film wouldn't turn into a Wolf Creek and although it may seem over the top when you watch it most of it seems to have a definite purpose save for one scene involving some children. I was actually "glued" to this film the whole way through and it did not let me down. I did feel that it was bordering on sadistic towards the end which I was actually enjoying but I think it stops short...barely. Although "fictional" I seriously wouldn't doubt that this stuff in the film goes down somewhere in this world which is almost unreal to imagine. In the end, I thought the setup was maybe a bit too long, but I may be wrong there. The film just really keeps one glued to the screen which I certainly appreciate. Grade: B+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LukasH.Feb 2, 2006
I'm from the Czech Republic, where the movie was shot so I have something to say, I think. Please note that the movie mainly reflects how Americans probably think about Eastern European countries. And it is done very cleverly. Police I'm from the Czech Republic, where the movie was shot so I have something to say, I think. Please note that the movie mainly reflects how Americans probably think about Eastern European countries. And it is done very cleverly. Police cooperate with gangsters, policemen drag people out of cars and beat them up... If Slovaks and others complain how the movie badly interprets Slovakia, it is only because they didn't get it. The movie doesn't say anything about Slovakia, it only shows how people, who have never been there, see it. I'd like to mention that the whole movie has late 80. feeling, which was probably achieved by cooperation with Czech filmakers. There is also plenty of funny moments which only natives can appreciate. Some scenes, like the old abandoned factory with a guy in a small guardhouse, are just marvelous. For all reviewers, who gave 1:Some movies have something happening under the surface and using your head is necessary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ShoshanahM.Feb 28, 2006
Worst movie I've seen this year. Not so much a horror film, more of a glorified snuff film. The filmmaker seemed only interested in how many times he could gross out the audience, rather than building up genuine fear and suspense. You Worst movie I've seen this year. Not so much a horror film, more of a glorified snuff film. The filmmaker seemed only interested in how many times he could gross out the audience, rather than building up genuine fear and suspense. You could not *pay* me to watch this movie again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OdelloS.Mar 29, 2006
Better than Wes Craven's The Hills Have Eyes, on a par with the original Texas Chain Saw Massacre and just shy of matching The Wicker Man (WM), a truely superb horror film which clearly influenced this future classic. The torture scenes Better than Wes Craven's The Hills Have Eyes, on a par with the original Texas Chain Saw Massacre and just shy of matching The Wicker Man (WM), a truely superb horror film which clearly influenced this future classic. The torture scenes are memorable, not so much for their explicit content, more for the genuine fear instilled by the plausable implication that this could happen to you. This film will be revered in years to come thanks to the intricate game of cat and mouse played out by the residents of the depraved Slovakian town. Whilst this direction draws heavily on the WM who can argue when it is presented in such a subtle and elegant manner and the homage to this inspiration, via a sample of the WM soundtrack, is a nice touch. Tremendous show and, on another note, well said Lukas H, for your enlightened piece from an Eastern European prespective. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickyB.Apr 17, 2006
Quentin and Roth are forging ahead in scene of horror. These two geniuses will be the idols for future movie makers of all genres. Some people cannot handle the gore/violence, to that all i have to say is A: What did you expect from Quentin Quentin and Roth are forging ahead in scene of horror. These two geniuses will be the idols for future movie makers of all genres. Some people cannot handle the gore/violence, to that all i have to say is A: What did you expect from Quentin and Roth and B: Why would you see a movie without knowing what its about. I do no recommend this film to people with weak hearts, hippies, or people easily offended. Please read reviews and synopsis's before seeing. This film is not for everyone. I, however, loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ERApr 18, 2006
To answer Ryan J's question: "How could nobody at the train station notice there was a Japanese girl wandering around with her eye hanging out of its socket." For one, she was wandering around an area where nobody pays much attention to To answer Ryan J's question: "How could nobody at the train station notice there was a Japanese girl wandering around with her eye hanging out of its socket." For one, she was wandering around an area where nobody pays much attention to the occupants and she doesn't have an eyeball hanging out her socket, it had been previously cut out in that now notorious scene. Anyway, the movie is a very very underrated horror film. I think Eli Roth is the only current horror filmmaker who will achieve two things: 1) have final cut in a Hollywood system (this movie cost $4 million and made close to $50 million in the US alone) and 2) make a classic horror film in the upcoming years. This film was definitely a step in the latter direction. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CoryApr 21, 2006
How bad? Awfull bad. I love horror movies and I had just finished watching 'Wolf Creek". Hostel went for laughs and gore. From me all it got was laughs. Bad gore scenes. Only missplaced fingers to see. The torture scenes were few and How bad? Awfull bad. I love horror movies and I had just finished watching 'Wolf Creek". Hostel went for laughs and gore. From me all it got was laughs. Bad gore scenes. Only missplaced fingers to see. The torture scenes were few and far between. Can you imagine a guy slipping and cutting himself in half? Niether could I, but i saw it anyway. Stay away from this crap. You want a movie that is really tough to watch? Wolf Creek". A real man's horror movie. Don't say I didn't warn you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JakeK.Apr 21, 2006
I really dont get how anyone can say how this movie was gory. I thought there wasnt that much of it. [***SPOILERS***] i mean , when the guy takes that electric screw driver over to the guy and puts it in his leg, u dont even see it. the only I really dont get how anyone can say how this movie was gory. I thought there wasnt that much of it. [***SPOILERS***] i mean , when the guy takes that electric screw driver over to the guy and puts it in his leg, u dont even see it. the only good part of this movie was when there was all of this naked hott chicks but other wise, it was horrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikM.Apr 24, 2006
Poor story, weak acting, and a couple torture scenes. Not worth 2 hours of your life (let alone rental or purchase price).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonM.Apr 27, 2006
Just to weigh in here. I cannot believe the mixed reviews here...especially from users. I watch a ton of horror movies. Most promise a lot but pack little punch. This is without doubt the best horror movie of the last 5 years. Wolf Creek had Just to weigh in here. I cannot believe the mixed reviews here...especially from users. I watch a ton of horror movies. Most promise a lot but pack little punch. This is without doubt the best horror movie of the last 5 years. Wolf Creek had nothing of a horrific nature about it and lacked the most important element of all...it just wasn't fun. It was an ugly movie and did little to shock in the payoff moment. Hostel is everything and more than it promises. Great (and I mean great) return to slasher form by showing us the one thing that these movies stopped showing us 15 years ago...nudity...and lots of it. Second the gore is over the top...and thats the FUN of it. It plays out like a 70's style shocker directed by Roman Polanski. And finally the characters are more realistic and sympathetic than any I have seen in this genre for a decade. The fact that we get the revenge plot payoff is just a brilliant way to end this one. Satisfying in every regard. Was it the timing of the release of this that gave it such bad reviews? Wolf Creek and Saw 2 were similar and arrived on the scene earlier but come on people. This is great horror (even recalled An American Werewolf In London to me)!! Watch this one become a classic as the years roll! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
OllyF.Apr 3, 2006
A movie that aimed to scare but only shocked using over the top gore. Pretty brainless stuff without any real watchable factors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BitBurnMay 11, 2006
It's not half as bad as the critic says. Everything you may expect from a horror flick is here. I'm surely not a big fan of the genre but this one was definitely worth a rental!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillJul 15, 2006
Maybe the best horror movie this decade. disturbing, creepy, funny, and gory. a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AmurabiM.Jul 8, 2006
"Hostel" is an exercise of innecesary sadism. This is an exploration of the American POV, no more than that. It is a metaphor as amercans being torturers and people who suffers torture. This is waht we get, people!. Eli Roth makes an "Hostel" is an exercise of innecesary sadism. This is an exploration of the American POV, no more than that. It is a metaphor as amercans being torturers and people who suffers torture. This is waht we get, people!. Eli Roth makes an excercise of hyper violence, hyper realism and exploitation without any guilt. Mixing all the cliches of the genre and twisting them in a mean humor. "Hostel" is just a shocking film, no more than that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlecB.Aug 16, 2006
more of a soft porn flick than horror. not what i was expecting but still pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnE.Oct 10, 2006
I thought the idea behind this film was brilliant. A lot of people have criticised it because it is either too gory, or because it is not gory enough. I liked the film because it got the balance right - it was a bit slow to get going, but I thought the idea behind this film was brilliant. A lot of people have criticised it because it is either too gory, or because it is not gory enough. I liked the film because it got the balance right - it was a bit slow to get going, but this only made the last half hour feel more shocking. Worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DrunkenMasterJan 11, 2006
It's total poop. Strictly for sadists w/ severe learning disabilities.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CamN.Jan 12, 2006
A look at what can happen when people expect a free ride (pun intended). No one in this flick is innocent. The name "hostel" is very appropriate if read as "hostile". I don't doubt this could or does probably happen somewhere. I wish it A look at what can happen when people expect a free ride (pun intended). No one in this flick is innocent. The name "hostel" is very appropriate if read as "hostile". I don't doubt this could or does probably happen somewhere. I wish it had actually gone a bit further into the evil intentions of the "customers" and why they would do this. Very gritty as is though. Look for Eli Roth as the hostel desk clerk. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ToddJan 12, 2006
This is what you want in a hyperviolent splatterhouse flick. More breasts, blood, and weirdos than I could have possibly hoped for. A+
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KingChadJan 15, 2006
Sorry little boys and girls but this film really sucked. Not worthy of your time or money. Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseM.Jan 16, 2006
Wow, wow, wow. This movie was amazing. It was the gorefest of movies. It's in many ways sick and twisted, and yet you'll love it. The only way that you'll apreaciate this movie is if you're a gore fan. This movie was just Wow, wow, wow. This movie was amazing. It was the gorefest of movies. It's in many ways sick and twisted, and yet you'll love it. The only way that you'll apreaciate this movie is if you're a gore fan. This movie was just crazy, it has everything in it. Lots o' gore and violence and tonssss of nudity. Anyways, check it out. Definitely worth the $10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TroyS.Jan 16, 2006
Utterly worthless piece of gratuitous junk. An embarassment to the film industry. It should have been rated NC-17.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamuelL.Jan 17, 2006
So the first half of the movie leaves a little be desired. It's not funny and moves kind of slow, but the second half more than makes up for it. It's not going to win any awards, but is inventive and fun to watch. With all the crap So the first half of the movie leaves a little be desired. It's not funny and moves kind of slow, but the second half more than makes up for it. It's not going to win any awards, but is inventive and fun to watch. With all the crap studios try to pass as horror films, it's nice to actually enjoy one of them. Not so much scary as brutal and shocking, but way worth seeing in the theatres to enjoy the groans and screams from the crowd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanR.Jan 18, 2006
Eli Roth delivers again...This movie was hilarious because it was soooo over the top. Great looking film too. The scenes in Slovakia were chilling and industrial looking. The babes in the movie were totally hot and the bad guys were really Eli Roth delivers again...This movie was hilarious because it was soooo over the top. Great looking film too. The scenes in Slovakia were chilling and industrial looking. The babes in the movie were totally hot and the bad guys were really sinister. The imagery conjured memories of Nazi, Germany and the numberable unspeakable acts they committed. Eli Roth is becoming one of the genre's best filmakers. I will run to the theatre, for his next movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DaveK.Jan 19, 2006
How did this piece of garbage get an "r" rating? Very predictible plot; gratuitous sex and violence; an utterly filthy and disgusting journey into the twisted minds of Roth and Tarentino. Don't go!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeeganB.Jan 22, 2006
I think people forget they are watching a horror movie when they make there reviews. Eli Roth has put forth one of the most twisted movies I have watched to this day. This movie has some extreamly realistic qualitys to it, from the story to I think people forget they are watching a horror movie when they make there reviews. Eli Roth has put forth one of the most twisted movies I have watched to this day. This movie has some extreamly realistic qualitys to it, from the story to what comes next. If you are a horror movie junkie this if for you, it puts SAW to shame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FatherGooseJan 27, 2006
I was genuinely surprised at how inventive and compelling this film was. I'm a horror fan, but I flinched, squirmed and almost covered my eyes more than a few times during this film. Eli Roth gives you three characters that you I was genuinely surprised at how inventive and compelling this film was. I'm a horror fan, but I flinched, squirmed and almost covered my eyes more than a few times during this film. Eli Roth gives you three characters that you can't completely like, but being an American, you can understand. The sexy females who set them up for torture have no regrets. The kids who beat people senseless for candy are soulless. Hidden and not-so-hidden messages abound throughout this film where depraved people pay to get their jollies. Yes, as in every horror film the victims do stupid things, but that makes the film more enjoyable. A woman 3 seats away screamed loudly during one scene, and then apologized. Of course, I was thinking "No need to apologize - hell, I almost screamed myself." When I left the theatre I felt stunned and more than a little subdued. Yes, I loved this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JeffM.Oct 29, 2006
If you want a soft-core porn movie that turns into a torture flick halfway through, this is your movie. I like naked breasts as much as the next guy, but the gore was mostly disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnF.Jan 5, 2006
Disgusting and horrible... but I love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SanshiS.Jan 6, 2006
unbelievably, the best horror flick ever made. i was seriously disturbed by the movie. people were leaving the theater. definitely not for the faint or light-hearted. i can't believe how this movie gets under your skin. if you want to unbelievably, the best horror flick ever made. i was seriously disturbed by the movie. people were leaving the theater. definitely not for the faint or light-hearted. i can't believe how this movie gets under your skin. if you want to be utterly traumatized by a movie, see this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeW.Jan 6, 2006
If you want to watch a movie with all the good stuff (excessive sex, violence, drugs...the works), and want to be scared pantless while doing it? See this movie now. Definately the GORIEST movie EVA!!! Sqeemish beware... you're in for a If you want to watch a movie with all the good stuff (excessive sex, violence, drugs...the works), and want to be scared pantless while doing it? See this movie now. Definately the GORIEST movie EVA!!! Sqeemish beware... you're in for a scare... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DrewF.Jan 7, 2006
Best horror flick i've seen in awhile. Torture sequences are incredibly well-done. Be forewarned: not for the squeamish. Horror seems to have FINALLY kicked the self-referential "SCREAM" stuff. It is the better for it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisJan 8, 2006
Pretty good movie. First 20 min was full of nudity etc, middle was extremely gory and violent (if you don't like violence, don't watch the movie and don't complain when you see it --- see the trailer before you see the Pretty good movie. First 20 min was full of nudity etc, middle was extremely gory and violent (if you don't like violence, don't watch the movie and don't complain when you see it --- see the trailer before you see the movie...). The acting was pretty good, surprisingly. Ending was the best part of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
bobertbJan 9, 2006
Bound to replace battle royale as the college guy's holy grail of gore flicks. as to the lady that said the plot outline seems like a joke...it is. watch cabin fever. roth always has his tongue in his cheek, even (hell, especially) when Bound to replace battle royale as the college guy's holy grail of gore flicks. as to the lady that said the plot outline seems like a joke...it is. watch cabin fever. roth always has his tongue in his cheek, even (hell, especially) when he's busting out the seven year old skull bashers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CoryC.Jan 9, 2006
Not good. Not enough horror. It took an hour to get to something at least bit scary. The first hour is basically American Pie and all u see are naked chicks. No time is really spent in the tortue rooms. Overall, not scary and not that gory Not good. Not enough horror. It took an hour to get to something at least bit scary. The first hour is basically American Pie and all u see are naked chicks. No time is really spent in the tortue rooms. Overall, not scary and not that gory as i thought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
artpJan 9, 2006
The whole first part of the movie is awefully directed. The rest is glorified violence with no purpose but to shock audiences. This movie is a disgrace to the art of movie making.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChrissyFeb 11, 2006
Perhaps this movie would've been better, if the completely inexplicable (and dreadful) comedy pieces hadn't been pushed into the dialogue. Not only that, but the acting seemed have an unrealistic, and almost dull effect. Nudity is Perhaps this movie would've been better, if the completely inexplicable (and dreadful) comedy pieces hadn't been pushed into the dialogue. Not only that, but the acting seemed have an unrealistic, and almost dull effect. Nudity is also quite overused in this movie. If you'd like to go and see a torturesome, comedic porno-flick, then this is the movie for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RossD.Feb 27, 2006
This film acheived what it was set out to do. Scare the living crap out of us, make us gag, and make us not want to visit western Europe. I made the mistake of taking my girlfriend to it. It is cleary a guy movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanC.Mar 23, 2006
Ross D i think you mean east europe, western europe is Britain, france etc Slovakia is east, anyway I dont know that all the fuss is about. Who actaully went to the movie to watch a movie with a comlex and thrilling plot? Everyone knows its Ross D i think you mean east europe, western europe is Britain, france etc Slovakia is east, anyway I dont know that all the fuss is about. Who actaully went to the movie to watch a movie with a comlex and thrilling plot? Everyone knows its a glorified snuff film and thats why people watch it, reason i went and i satisfied. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobApr 17, 2006
I did manage to sense a touch of humour in this film. It helps a lot because I do not think the writer was massively bothered about making a film with a glorious, realistic plot and a load of in-your-face morals, and more on just smuggly I did manage to sense a touch of humour in this film. It helps a lot because I do not think the writer was massively bothered about making a film with a glorious, realistic plot and a load of in-your-face morals, and more on just smuggly making a strange horror film. It is, I must admit, difficult to argue against it being pointless, but I will try anyway. The first half of Hostel can perhaps be described as an overly-offensive teen movie, while the second half is pretty sickening and I imagine those who were disturbed would hate the film but there were a few things that I thought were pretty fascinating. Firstly, the type of horror I thought was quite original. I noticed that the things that made this film scary were very different to the methods in most other horror films. [***SPOILERS***] It doesn't make you jump, there is nothing supernatural, it is just seeing such disturbing acts being carried out by fellow humans that is so effective, too effective for some. There is also the question running through my mind 'What makes these people (Slovakians!) want to do this to other humans?'. It is mostly left as a mystery, though I remember one conversation with a torturer, giving you a creepy glimpse of the mindset of these people. I also found it weird at the end of the film, how I was willing to think of it as a "happy ending" when really it was one character being put out of their misery (quickly) and lots of bad people getting hurt in nasty ways. The film is so lacking in niceness, it's ironically pleasing. I hate to go and point out the film's humour, but I think it helps to see the funny side to how ridiculously moral-less the main charcters are, the unexplained fact that Americans are more valuable torure victims than any other...eh... race, and the excessive gore (I never realised someone getting ran over by a train would result in several people getting sprayed in blood). Don't get me wrong, this is not a comedy film by far, but there are times when it seems so deliberately ridiculous that you can tackle the unrealistic plot and horrible torture scenes with a pinch of salt and maybe even enjoy the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SteveA.Apr 20, 2006
This movie had your stereotypical Americans in it: fat, lazy, belligerent, horny, stoned (look out your window; I'm sure you'll see one or two walking around). I think this worked for and against the movie. I was rooting against This movie had your stereotypical Americans in it: fat, lazy, belligerent, horny, stoned (look out your window; I'm sure you'll see one or two walking around). I think this worked for and against the movie. I was rooting against the main characters the whole time. I found them utterly horrid. However, it also made the torture scenes tolerable and, sadly to say, somewhat entertaining. Overall, though, I'd say it was an okay movie. The gore, sex, and nudity made up for some of the movie's corniness. [***SPOILERS***] Also, what was up with the second main character (the American who had just lost his girlfriend)? Was he a latent homosexual? The second meeting with he and the surgeon just struck me as odd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JimQ.Apr 23, 2006
I want my 95 minutes of life back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AquamanMay 19, 2006
I am the kind of guy who likes the typical horror movie. When i came across this at the movie store, i thought "hey, this looks good", i was incorrect. I just could not summon up the strength to find this movie enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JessL.May 2, 2006
Those who actually get paid for their film opinions (lucky bastards) always slam horror flicks, so I'm not surprised at their mediocre reviews. But what's up with all you users?? This is one of the best creepshows made in years. Those who actually get paid for their film opinions (lucky bastards) always slam horror flicks, so I'm not surprised at their mediocre reviews. But what's up with all you users?? This is one of the best creepshows made in years. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because I'm holding out for the sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanJun 16, 2006
I think a lot of people are missing some major points that make this film very successful: [***SPOILERS***] 1. The whole Eurotrip part of the movie was developed to show the stupid boorishness of American tourists abroad (why do you think I think a lot of people are missing some major points that make this film very successful: [***SPOILERS***] 1. The whole Eurotrip part of the movie was developed to show the stupid boorishness of American tourists abroad (why do you think Americans commanded the highest price?) It is over the top in a very calculating, deliberate way. Moreover, there is a message of these brats "getting what they deserve"-- giving the film a deeper POV than a lot of people apparently were willing to develop. 2. It is not meant to deliver scares, or even shocks. The monsters in this film are real human beings. And, in a very real sense, that is what develops the fear: that there are people in this world who would do such things to other human beings is distressingly believable here. Human monsters are, ultimately, more scary than the make believe ones. 3. The point of all the torture scenes (the "eyegasm" being particularly vivid,) is to, on some level, put the audience through a level of torture too. And if we enjoy it a little too much, the film is effective as a mirror, isn't it? In short, like the 1968 Night of the Living Dead, this is a blood and guts movie with both tongue planted in cheek and also with some surprisingly powerful statements. And like NOLD, I think it will hold up well over time. Gross? Absolutely! Over the top? You better believe it! Sadistic? What do you think? But please, don't call it stupid, plotless, or pointless. Eli Roth has made a small triumph here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Jun 17, 2006
This movie is stupid, it has no plot, its not scary, its just disgusting. The first hour or so is ok, but after that, its one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidC.Jun 22, 2006
People are forgetting the point of a horror flick. its aim is to have you on the edge of your seats as much as possible. true there is no gore at the beginning of the film but there needs to be a foundation for the following activites that People are forgetting the point of a horror flick. its aim is to have you on the edge of your seats as much as possible. true there is no gore at the beginning of the film but there needs to be a foundation for the following activites that occur. i feel that this film is a well layered structure that did have me at the edge of the seat most of the time. however i feel this could not be a DVD to own as i dont think i could have the stomach for it again. however an exciting experience none-the-less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZackO.Jun 27, 2006
why why why? the first half hour is pretty much cliche softcore horror movie porn. after that, it becomes a twisted and meaningless film of needless torture and pain. there is no reason for this movie to exist. the eye mayonaise really did why why why? the first half hour is pretty much cliche softcore horror movie porn. after that, it becomes a twisted and meaningless film of needless torture and pain. there is no reason for this movie to exist. the eye mayonaise really did it for me. i actually laughed out loud when the blatantly fake thousand island dressing splurged of the asian's eye socket. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JonathanD.Jun 7, 2006
This movie is the sickest most disgustiong movie i have ever seen. I have seen Saw Saw 2 Dawn of the Dead, Seven, any other gross out movie and believe me when i say this: the movie Hostel is one hundred times grosser then all those This movie is the sickest most disgustiong movie i have ever seen. I have seen Saw Saw 2 Dawn of the Dead, Seven, any other gross out movie and believe me when i say this: the movie Hostel is one hundred times grosser then all those combined. The story could've been worse ill say that but the beginning is pretty much a porno... nothing against that but thats what it is. The next hour is all blood and gore and stuff that will make everyone look away. The movie will creep you out and believe me you will not sleep well the next couple nights. It will be better if you see the movie and skip say an hour and 15 minutes of it because its so awful. Avoid and have a friend tell u about it instead Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NoahG.Sep 13, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] I thought this was awesome! It was really wrenching at times, like when the guys feet freakin get cut & he stands up.....gross!, but all in all it was really good..... real gore....But it didnt really go any where..... all [***SPOILERS***] I thought this was awesome! It was really wrenching at times, like when the guys feet freakin get cut & he stands up.....gross!, but all in all it was really good..... real gore....But it didnt really go any where..... all it was was people getting tortured or dieng but yea it was good... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarkW.Jan 11, 2006
I was expecting something alot more scarier. The extreme violence wasnt something that scared you after you left the theatre. You just feel like you wasted two hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SaraJan 11, 2006
So, obviously, this movie won't give you any epiphanic insights into life, i.e. human evil. BUT, as far as pure entertainment value goes, it's not bad at all. Go if you're looking for a decent jolt, not for a brainstorm.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoelT.Jan 12, 2006
Didn't live up to the hype, but I don't know that anything would have. Good movie regardless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertM.Jan 13, 2006
First off, let it be known that Eli Roth is working already now on a "Hostel 2" so there's some FYI for those if you like the movie... Anyways, the reviewers slamming the movie for it not being scary enough is riduculous. You have to First off, let it be known that Eli Roth is working already now on a "Hostel 2" so there's some FYI for those if you like the movie... Anyways, the reviewers slamming the movie for it not being scary enough is riduculous. You have to let your imagination throw you into the movie! Imagine waking up in some basement, strapped to a chair with a guy over you with a drill? You wouldn't be crappin your pants? If you can stomach the gore (and love the sex) then go check it! Good date movie if your girl is into bein scared. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful