Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM) | Release Date: March 26, 2010
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 260 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
150
Mixed:
71
Negative:
39
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
YourMotherApr 4, 2010
I laughed a few times, but there really wasn't any memorable moments. I think it was at least worth seeing for me, but never really wowed me like The Hangover did.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
randomdudeJun 7, 2011
Watchable, when you're bored off your ass, otherwise forget it.

I need 150 chars... here we go 12345678901234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890234567890
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
berbanJun 3, 2010
Better than I expected for a comedy of this caliber... but not too much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BoomSizzleMar 29, 2010
Wow...this movie sucked. Not funny all and super disjointed. It was disappointing because I love the cast. Not even close to being as funny as the Hangover or Superbad or something like that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidHillMar 29, 2010
It's just not that funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TheDudeApr 11, 2010
If you have a Pen15 or know someone who does, there is a good chance that you will get a decent number of laughs from this movie. Jerk-of-a-friend jokes are the name of the game here... the only disappointing part was that Chevy Chase had If you have a Pen15 or know someone who does, there is a good chance that you will get a decent number of laughs from this movie. Jerk-of-a-friend jokes are the name of the game here... the only disappointing part was that Chevy Chase had such a small role :( Anyway a run-through comedy which makes use of its time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
joseApr 2, 2010
Sorry but this movie just wasn't that great. It did have a few real funny scenes but compared to a movie like dumb and dumber it sucked.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SaMoGuyApr 2, 2010
You will laugh often enough to justify the price of admission but you
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
walrusgodAug 25, 2010
Hot Tub Time Machine suffers what I like to call "post-Hangover syndrome." The bar for R-rated comedies was raised by 2009's smash hit, and now movies like Hot Tub Time Machine, which are occasionally funny but madly inconsistent, have toHot Tub Time Machine suffers what I like to call "post-Hangover syndrome." The bar for R-rated comedies was raised by 2009's smash hit, and now movies like Hot Tub Time Machine, which are occasionally funny but madly inconsistent, have to suffer for it. Unfortunately, Hot Tub Time Machine falls into just about every problem a comedy can fall into (actors going through the motions, plot-hole filled storyline, lame ending), except that it manages to avoid the cardinal sin of being unfunny. The jokes aren't top notch, but there are some very funny moments. Sometimes it forgets that crude does not automatically equal funny, however, and it seems to wear pretty thin after the first hour or so. Probably worth at least a rental for those who like raunchy comedy, but those expecting any level of sophistication or the laugh-out-loud moments that were prevalent in The Hangover will be sorely disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ArkonBladeAug 21, 2010
a decent comody in the years of alot of epic fails . really the last decent comodey ive seen befor this film was the hang over . it seems like hollywood is getting less funny with there films as time goes by. it has some good funny moments toa decent comody in the years of alot of epic fails . really the last decent comodey ive seen befor this film was the hang over . it seems like hollywood is getting less funny with there films as time goes by. it has some good funny moments to it . the premise is rediculas but its a comodey so who cares right ? its worth a rental atleast but dont expect to be rolling on the floor laughing or any thing close to that. you will get some good laughs and some mild entertainment out of it . which for a rental i didnt think was so bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MichaelDApr 10, 2011
I only could watch 20 minutes of this so from what I've watched, there pretty much is only one word to describe this film: DIRTY.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheChaser1985May 13, 2012
There were some pretty funny parts, but a lot of boring moments. The characters were well done though, so that keeps you interested. Kind of a boring ending, but good enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
rotkuSep 19, 2011
Disappointing and unfunny movie which doesn't work. Why John Cusack wasted his talent on this rubbish baffles me, he must have owed somebody a big favour!!! The only saving grace was the performance of Rob Corddry as Lou who at least gave meDisappointing and unfunny movie which doesn't work. Why John Cusack wasted his talent on this rubbish baffles me, he must have owed somebody a big favour!!! The only saving grace was the performance of Rob Corddry as Lou who at least gave me some reason to chuckle and stopped me from hitting the off button. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
drlowdonMay 25, 2013
Three old friends (Adam, Nick and Lou) along with Adams nephew find themselves transported back to 1986 thanks to an incident involving a banned Russian energy drink and a hot tub. At first they determine not to do anything that will affectThree old friends (Adam, Nick and Lou) along with Adams nephew find themselves transported back to 1986 thanks to an incident involving a banned Russian energy drink and a hot tub. At first they determine not to do anything that will affect their futures but soon realize that maybe they have been given an opportunity to change things for the better.

Exploring many of the same concepts it is difficult not to be constantly reminded of the classic sci-fi comedy Back to the Future and in this regard there really is no comparison. While Hot Tub Time Machine may falter in terms of originality and pacing however it certainly has a good enough cast and enough genuinely funny moments to make for a fairly entertaining watch for the majority of its running time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
J-ShapAug 28, 2011
Hot Tub Time Machine is the ideal example of a movie that you like in spite of yourself, it applies to all the lowest forms of comedy and half-assed homage, but succeeds simply as a laugh generator due to its own enthusiasm and confidence inHot Tub Time Machine is the ideal example of a movie that you like in spite of yourself, it applies to all the lowest forms of comedy and half-assed homage, but succeeds simply as a laugh generator due to its own enthusiasm and confidence in itself to be such. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Hot Tub Time Machine is a average movie this is the 3rd time i have watched it now and i can say that its not really that bad but its not that good either. Some of the jokes are funny while some dont fit and feel forced. I like the castHot Tub Time Machine is a average movie this is the 3rd time i have watched it now and i can say that its not really that bad but its not that good either. Some of the jokes are funny while some dont fit and feel forced. I like the cast though John Cusack, Craig Robinson, Rob Corddry, Lizzy Caplan, Clark Duke, Chevy Chase as the hot tub repairman was great. The running gag throught the movie is Phil(Crispin Glover) an employee of the resort town they visit gets himslef into sitations where his arm might get chopped off i did find that pretty funny especially when it finally does it chopped off. I did enjoy the movie but its difinitely a movie you would put on for background noise or if someone likes 80's films and hasnt seen it.

Overall i give it a 6.5 i didnt really think i was going to like this movie when i first seen it but i was surprise that it wasnt has bad as i thought it was going to be. Still though i dont know why Hollywood thinks making a sequel is a good idea oh well lastest news is that the sequel is coming out in December this year.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews