House at the End of the Street

House at the End of the Street Image
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Seeking a fresh start, newly divorced Sarah and her daughter Elissa find the house of their dreams in a small, upscale, rural town. But when startling and unexplainable events begin to happen, Sarah and Elissa learn the town is in the shadows of a chilling secret. Years earlier, in theSeeking a fresh start, newly divorced Sarah and her daughter Elissa find the house of their dreams in a small, upscale, rural town. But when startling and unexplainable events begin to happen, Sarah and Elissa learn the town is in the shadows of a chilling secret. Years earlier, in the house next door, a daughter killed her parents in their beds, and disappeared - leaving only a brother, Ryan, as the sole survivor. Against Sarah's wishes, Elissa begins a relationship with the reclusive Ryan - and the closer they get, the deeper they're all pulled into a mystery more dangerous than they ever imagined. (Relativity Media) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 10 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Sep 21, 2012
    70
    Working from a story by all-around genre specialist Jonathan Mostow, director Mark Tonderai steers the story cleanly around its queasy hairpin turns, perversely toying with one of pop cinema's most cherished clichés: the audience's inculcated desire to side with the underdog.
  2. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Sep 21, 2012
    50
    This PG-13 scare-fest is more psychological terror than blood and guts, and should satisfy-not repulse-young genre fans.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Sep 21, 2012
    50
    Yes, there are the requisite jump-in-your-seat scares, many of them false alarms, and it all plays out basically exactly like any other horror movie, but Lawrence does elevate the proceedings.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Sep 21, 2012
    38
    Most of the comedy, however, is unintentional. House At The End of the Street may not draw much of an audience during its initial run, but the movie's preposterousness certifies it for future midnight screenings, where the story will get the jeering it deserves.
  5. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Sep 21, 2012
    30
    Exploiting Lawrence's newfound fame is the only hope this ill-conceived, poorly executed venture has of connecting with audiences before poisonous word of mouth sends potential buyers in search of a more attractive address.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 21, 2012
    25
    The film is essentially toothless, but it never stoops to humorless torture-porn theatrics.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 26, 2012
    11
    Shue, to her credit, looks like she's trying to crawl out of her skin, but hey, anything to get away from this hell house, right? Right.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 42
  2. Negative: 12 out of 42
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    The house at the end of the street is the most emotional, powerful, moving cinematic piece. This film needs a nomination for Best Picture andThe house at the end of the street is the most emotional, powerful, moving cinematic piece. This film needs a nomination for Best Picture and may I go to say Best Film Of The Decade, my grandma even said that it deserves a Best Picture Ever sticker, I mean its that good. Go and see it NOW.....please Expand
  2. Jul 12, 2015
    8
    Marcada por reviravoltas inesperadas dos personagens e elementos de suspense que são muito bem utilizados em cada cena proposta, o filme emMarcada por reviravoltas inesperadas dos personagens e elementos de suspense que são muito bem utilizados em cada cena proposta, o filme em nenhum momento deixa a desejar, as atuações de Jennifer Lawrence & Max Thieriot são extremamente convincentes (ao ponto de você, brevemente, esquecer que é tudo fictício) Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2013
    7
    I very surprised at how good this movie was since it mainly got negative reviews from critics. I didn't find one thing wrong with this movie.I very surprised at how good this movie was since it mainly got negative reviews from critics. I didn't find one thing wrong with this movie. It was suspenseful, unpredictable, entertaining, and wildly original. Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2013
    5
    What the critics don't tell you is that this movie makes you think. Its characters are all well developed and the performances are good. AWhat the critics don't tell you is that this movie makes you think. Its characters are all well developed and the performances are good. A pretty darn underrated movie. Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2013
    4
    The only quality in this movie is the acting, but House at the End of the Street has nothing to do with horror, it is more of a RomanticThe only quality in this movie is the acting, but House at the End of the Street has nothing to do with horror, it is more of a Romantic Thriller, as a movie, it isn't bad it is mediocre, is HATES unwatchable? No, but you better spent your time on something else, good idea. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2012
    3
    This is one of those cheapie horror flicks that was so **** it sat on the shelf for about two years before it was released.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    0
    I was expecting a bad movie but JESUS!!! This was AWFUL!! The enitre time I spent watching this dreck I prayed to God for him to KILLL ME!!I was expecting a bad movie but JESUS!!! This was AWFUL!! The enitre time I spent watching this dreck I prayed to God for him to KILLL ME!! AND I'M AN ATHEIST!! Hideous writing, hideous acting, hideous lighing, hideous, hideous, hideous!! Worst film of the CENTUARY!! Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 24 Roles These Actors Would Rather Forget

    24 Roles These Actors Would Rather Forget Image
    Published: April 25, 2016
    Even good actors have a few duds on their resumes. We look at 24 highly forgettable roles from some of Hollywood's biggest stars.
  2. Every Jennifer Lawrence Movie, Ranked

    Every Jennifer Lawrence Movie, Ranked Image
    Published: March 24, 2016
    We rank Jennifer Lawrence's entire filmography from worst to best.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: March 30, 2012
    Watch new trailers for "The Dictator," "The House at the End of the Street," Sundance hit "Safety Not Guaranteed," and more, and get a quick recap of this week's major developments in the film world, including news of sequels to "Anchorman" (good!) and "Twins" (not so much).
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  6. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  7. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.