Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Seeking a fresh start, newly divorced Sarah and her daughter Elissa find the house of their dreams in a small, upscale, rural town. But when startling and unexplainable events begin to happen, Sarah and Elissa learn the town is in the shadows of a chilling secret. Years earlier, in the house next door, a daughter killed her parents in their beds, and disappeared - leaving only a brother, Ryan, as the sole survivor. Against Sarah's wishes, Elissa begins a relationship with the reclusive Ryan - and the closer they get, the deeper they're all pulled into a mystery more dangerous than they ever imagined. (Relativity Media) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 10 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Sep 21, 2012
    70
    Working from a story by all-around genre specialist Jonathan Mostow, director Mark Tonderai steers the story cleanly around its queasy hairpin turns, perversely toying with one of pop cinema's most cherished clich├ęs: the audience's inculcated desire to side with the underdog.
  2. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Sep 21, 2012
    50
    This PG-13 scare-fest is more psychological terror than blood and guts, and should satisfy-not repulse-young genre fans.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Sep 21, 2012
    50
    Yes, there are the requisite jump-in-your-seat scares, many of them false alarms, and it all plays out basically exactly like any other horror movie, but Lawrence does elevate the proceedings.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Sep 21, 2012
    38
    Most of the comedy, however, is unintentional. House At The End of the Street may not draw much of an audience during its initial run, but the movie's preposterousness certifies it for future midnight screenings, where the story will get the jeering it deserves.
  5. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Sep 21, 2012
    30
    Exploiting Lawrence's newfound fame is the only hope this ill-conceived, poorly executed venture has of connecting with audiences before poisonous word of mouth sends potential buyers in search of a more attractive address.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 21, 2012
    25
    The film is essentially toothless, but it never stoops to humorless torture-porn theatrics.
  7. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 26, 2012
    11
    Shue, to her credit, looks like she's trying to crawl out of her skin, but hey, anything to get away from this hell house, right? Right.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 31
  2. Negative: 8 out of 31
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    The house at the end of the street is the most emotional, powerful, moving cinematic piece. This film needs a nomination for Best Picture and may I go to say Best Film Of The Decade, my grandma even said that it deserves a Best Picture Ever sticker, I mean its that good. Go and see it NOW.....please Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    The House at the End of the Street, the new Jennifer Lawrence's movie, and I wanna say that I like it, the movie is very intereseting, but the development have some mistakes, the performances are good -the better is Lawrence- and the funny can be interesting for much people. Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2013
    6
    It's a good movie with a nice background talking about production, and I consider Jennifer Lawrence's performance is great. However, it is "supposed" to be a horror movie and the film is principally focused on a teenager's relationship instead of scary and suspense aspects, fact that lowers movie's rating notably and creates a film unsure about its general genre. Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2013
    5
    The film is hard to see ... Wing time is predictable but unpredictable. The film is to see it once and forget about it.
  5. May 20, 2013
    4
    There are really no scares in this movie.
    Not at any second. Jennifer Lawrence did her job great but because of its terrible story the movie
    is damn bad! Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. House at the End of the Street is a classic thriller movie. It is indeed not in the correct genre of its placing in horror. The movie is about a young teenage girl that just moved to a new place with her mother next to a teenage boy that survived his sister Expand
  7. Zal
    Dec 14, 2012
    1
    The performances from Jennifer Lawrence and Elisabeth Shue are fine, but HATES has nothing to offer with its unlikable characters and uninteresting setup. It's not scary or interesting and it's not original. This is a movie for people who have never watched a horror movie in their entire life. I wonder how many people who gave this movie a good review are horror movie fans. Somehow I doubt it. That's not to say that you're an idiot for liking it, but there are other movies that have done this kind of story before and they've done it better.

    As for the "twist ending," the opening scene kind of gave it away. I'm not a horror movie junkie, but even I kind of knew something was up. Also, if you think that twist is "omg so original," there's a 1980s slasher movie called Sleepaway Camp. Exact same twist done much better.

    And if you still want to see this because Jennifer Lawrence is in it, I think you should come up with a better reason than that. There are other better Jennifer Lawrence movies to see like Winter's Bone, Silver Lining Playbook (haven't seen it but I hear it's good), and, oh yeah, The Hunger Games. If you like Jennifer Lawrence, watch those movies.
    Expand

See all 31 User Reviews