Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: December 3, 2004
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 477 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
420
Mixed:
33
Negative:
24
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
PhillipR.Jul 29, 2008
I am not a film buff and don't normally have much time for watching films, but this one just grabbed me and kept me enthralled. The twists and turns of the story are mesmerizing and the beauty of Mei is captivating. The depiction of the I am not a film buff and don't normally have much time for watching films, but this one just grabbed me and kept me enthralled. The twists and turns of the story are mesmerizing and the beauty of Mei is captivating. The depiction of the Martial Art fighting leaves you in awe, even if a little unbelievable. The closing scenes of fighting and death leave you emotionally drained. Fantastic Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TylerDurden900Jul 9, 2014
House Of Flying Daggers is a gorgeous action movie with sumptuous cinematography and sublime
action sequences. The movie is one of the best martial arts movies made recently. If you don't like the
story, there is always the brilliant action
House Of Flying Daggers is a gorgeous action movie with sumptuous cinematography and sublime
action sequences. The movie is one of the best martial arts movies made recently. If you don't like the
story, there is always the brilliant action to entertain you.
Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
8
bobbsywAug 12, 2012
The final fight scene appeared a bit poorly cut-together and took the sheen off an otherwise excellent film. The visuals were truly astounding, and the "echo game" scene must be one of the most amazing pieces of choreography ever filmed.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
JaceANov 14, 2008
It has beautiful imagery and stunning scenes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
oxanaSep 12, 2014
It's been a while since I last watched an Asian movie, so that could be affecting my judgment: still film felt a bit weird, and I don't know why.

Essentially this was a story of love, betrayal, and making choices. Choosing your path, even
It's been a while since I last watched an Asian movie, so that could be affecting my judgment: still film felt a bit weird, and I don't know why.

Essentially this was a story of love, betrayal, and making choices. Choosing your path, even if it won't lead to lasting happiness. To be a carefree wind - or a playful, teasing wind. To stop for someone, or to go on.

This movie had fighting scenes just as expected, but while beautiful and artistic, they felt a bit hollow, and were at times hard to keep up with.

Altogether the story was easy to follow, the characters intriguing and deep. Seeing Takeshi Kaneshiro and Zhang Ziyi together in a same movie was awesome, and Andy Lau wasn't bad either.

The heavy stuff started only near the end, with the fateful, slightly drawn-out battle of two men who once were friends, but falling for the same woman (among other things) drives them against each other.

A good story, beautiful clothes, colors and design, but somehow this left me wanting for more. Maybe I will watch this another time again and be more at ease with it.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
TonyL.Feb 6, 2005
The kungfu sequences are amongst the greatest even in hong kong standard. Using a love story to reflects Zhang's love-hate relationship with China is not new but still interesting. A little hard for non-chinese to get the message The kungfu sequences are amongst the greatest even in hong kong standard. Using a love story to reflects Zhang's love-hate relationship with China is not new but still interesting. A little hard for non-chinese to get the message though. Lousy subtitle translation spoiled some of the hidden meanings, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatC.May 4, 2006
The film starts as a political confrontation between government and rebel interests, but no one is who they seem, and through many plot twists the story converts into a romantic confrontation between love and freedom interests. A Mata Hari The film starts as a political confrontation between government and rebel interests, but no one is who they seem, and through many plot twists the story converts into a romantic confrontation between love and freedom interests. A Mata Hari kind of thing. But unlike a Hollywood romance, the characters all realize they are expendable, that no one cares whether they live or die. In the confines of this oriental mindset they find a way to make their obscurity empowering, which is interesting though perhaps not memorable. The martial arts action is precise but reeks of improbability. The most remarkable thing by far in this project is its attention to the art of the photoplay. Every scene is lush in color and light and finely crafted with the meticulousness of an impressionistic painting. As a feast of visual splendor for those with an eye for art, this is a wonderful movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaneM.Jan 18, 2005
A dazzling fairy tale, mesmerizing in its cinematic beauty (what color schemes) and the choreographed fight scenes. The allegorical tale of star-crossed lovers (all three) in the throes of passion and history. Truly superior to CTHD and A dazzling fairy tale, mesmerizing in its cinematic beauty (what color schemes) and the choreographed fight scenes. The allegorical tale of star-crossed lovers (all three) in the throes of passion and history. Truly superior to CTHD and Hero. The acting was superb. The music haunting especially with Kathleen Battle's exquisite soprano voice. The surreal quality makes this film a fairy tale, not t be interpreted in the literal sense (it is not making sense) but working to satisfy our spiritual limbic drives for love and ultimately survival, so intertwined - emotions and passions do help us in our quest for life and immortality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LucianSJan 19, 2005
This is the most aesthetically amazing film I have ever seen. It is also one of the most pointless films I have ever seen. Yeah the story goes against Hollwood (happy ending) type but it feels like a sideplot to a bigger film. merely.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
harrym.Apr 10, 2005
The next best movie after Jet Lee and Jackie Chan's masterpieces. Bravo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
salvMQMay 3, 2005
Very good film. Lot of moaners out there with warped opinions giving it 3s and 1s, don't listen to them
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sammyJan 8, 2006
A beautiful film, one of the best martial arts films I've seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
thinJan 15, 2005
Best movie of 2004 (& 2005 so far), even surpasses Hero. Ravishingly beautiful, with an exceptional cast and unparalleled action, this is the kind of movie the cinema was invented for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sOct 22, 2005
Just remarkable... The action and romance were pefectly balanced and like all Chinese movies, it ended in tragedy and kept you thinking. Cool action, great storyline, a movie to rival Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveG.Jan 6, 2005
A beautifully composed, elegantly produced film that - sadly - falls short of being a classic. Those easily excitable people going to see what they think will be the usual kick and leap kung fu (with attendant grunts and loud slapping noises A beautifully composed, elegantly produced film that - sadly - falls short of being a classic. Those easily excitable people going to see what they think will be the usual kick and leap kung fu (with attendant grunts and loud slapping noises so the dimmer ones among them can get even more excited) will be disappointed that this is essentially a love story with interwoven deceptions and no easy conclusion. But for all its grace and subleties, 'Flying Daggers' has flaws - not least the way the daggers are like homing missiles and everyone (arrow, spear or dagger) is gifted with astonishing accuracy over long distances, which strains credibility even in a fantasy film. There are a couple of holes in the plot which needed tidying up to make it a truly satisfying story and some things which simply hadn't been thought through. The dancing was wonderful but the music unmemorable, sadly. At least in Ziyi Zhang there is an actress of great talent. As for the controversial ending in the driving snow, I thought it worked well and made the point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
UrsulaJan 7, 2005
It may not have been as visually breathtaking as "Hero" and its characters may not all have been as charismatic as in "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon", but as a whole it was stunningly beautiful. Some may call scenes where you only see Jin It may not have been as visually breathtaking as "Hero" and its characters may not all have been as charismatic as in "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon", but as a whole it was stunningly beautiful. Some may call scenes where you only see Jin sitting on his horse thinking of what to do boring - I loved the slow parts between the exciting fight scenes! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AramisG.Jan 9, 2005
This director has to get it right next time. If you are going to spend the money on lavish sets and costumes at least you could stay consistent with the Tang Dynasty. From the annoying ochestral Feux-Chinese music to the naive-love story This director has to get it right next time. If you are going to spend the money on lavish sets and costumes at least you could stay consistent with the Tang Dynasty. From the annoying ochestral Feux-Chinese music to the naive-love story this movie cuts corners where it could have shined. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
smitJan 9, 2005
One of the best martial art movie ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisJan 9, 2005
This movie is so beautiful, I found myself really wanting to love it. And, it really comes close to attaining sublime perfection. But, the overwrought melodrama at the end keeps this movie from being a hands-down '10'. It's This movie is so beautiful, I found myself really wanting to love it. And, it really comes close to attaining sublime perfection. But, the overwrought melodrama at the end keeps this movie from being a hands-down '10'. It's frustrating to watch a movie come so close only to fall just short with a few ill-advised scenes. In spite of it's weaknesses, this movie is still a must see in the theater because the sheer beauty of it will take your breath away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffRobinsonFeb 10, 2005
I loved this movie the twist the humor about julia robers i dont know why somone would not like this movie the stealing the cheating its great its a 100 movie in my book, 2 thumbs up. It had me thinking throught the whole thing i lovedI loved this movie the twist the humor about julia robers i dont know why somone would not like this movie the stealing the cheating its great its a 100 movie in my book, 2 thumbs up. It had me thinking throught the whole thing i loved Oceans Twelve Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanA.Feb 6, 2005
A classic that might be Ziyi's best work at the end of her career. She is delicious and strong. Jin and Leo put in good performances in support of Mei. Yimou's got a slightly more dynamic story to work with than some of the A classic that might be Ziyi's best work at the end of her career. She is delicious and strong. Jin and Leo put in good performances in support of Mei. Yimou's got a slightly more dynamic story to work with than some of the previous archetypal stories like Ju Dou. This is more along the lines of 859AD American Graffitti meets a Chinese James Bond the way you would want it to be. With the Bond girl in the lead while Bond and the Anti-Hero nearly kill each other and lose the plot over her. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TuN.Mar 1, 2005
Beautiful movie, excellence story and great fight / dance scenes. I hope they come out with another sequence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TheElusivePossomMay 17, 2005
Here's a film worthy of any hype it gets, emerging from the perversely under-rated oriental contribution to world cinema. The story was deep, ripe with eastern culture and full of pleasing twists, great fun to guess at with friends over Here's a film worthy of any hype it gets, emerging from the perversely under-rated oriental contribution to world cinema. The story was deep, ripe with eastern culture and full of pleasing twists, great fun to guess at with friends over a plate of Gang Bang Chicken. The art of the fight scene is once again mastered, and though it holds no bearing to the cinematic orgasm that was "Hero", has a more accessible beauty of its own. Other points of merit are also a delicate underlying soundtrack, and a markedly harrowing ending (I won't spoil the final twist). A healthy combination with masterfully orchestrated fight scenes with Chinese themes and metaphor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
jarredbMay 9, 2005
This movie, in my opinion was great, the cinemetography was phenominal, as well as the choreography. definately a movie to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
joseo.Sep 27, 2005
Astonishing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GnarlesFeb 12, 2006
The first 90 minutes or so are simply great, but the climax eventually becomes almost unbearably silly - and the alarmingly fake CGI snowstorm doesn't help. Until that point, though, this is a beautiful and satisfyingly passionate The first 90 minutes or so are simply great, but the climax eventually becomes almost unbearably silly - and the alarmingly fake CGI snowstorm doesn't help. Until that point, though, this is a beautiful and satisfyingly passionate movie, with some of the best fight scenes ever shot (especially the bamboo forest). Recommended, but don't be surprised if you find yourself laughing at the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReikonAug 12, 2006
Best of his genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobbyL.Dec 3, 2004
breathtaking
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HouseH.Dec 5, 2004
Nearly perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimW.Dec 7, 2004
Perhaps this film will obtain an award from Academy Award.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CornerH.Jan 20, 2005
Does anyone even realize that beyond the twisted love story and action sequences, that moreover there is actually a mystery? Who can answer the following questions?: 1. Who rescued Mei & Jin in the field? 2. Who was the man that Mei Does anyone even realize that beyond the twisted love story and action sequences, that moreover there is actually a mystery? Who can answer the following questions?: 1. Who rescued Mei & Jin in the field? 2. Who was the man that Mei previously seduced? 3. Who is the House of Flying Daggers deceased leader's daughter? 4. Who is the true new leader of the House of Flying Daggers? Another movie with a similar type of mystery is: Chan Is Missing (1982) Directed by Wayne Wang The guys looking for Chan never find him, but the audience can if paying close attention. Neither of these films play below the level of intelligence of the audience, but 'Daggers' offers much more entertainment then 'Chan', so that the less observant can still enjoy the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DKJan 22, 2005
Yes, it's good, but not as good as Hero or Crouching Tiger. And I know Yimou Zhang can do a better job with the love scenes than he did in this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElizabethD.Jan 25, 2005
Yes, it's not as good as Hero. But Zhang Yimou is one of the rare filmmakers of our time, in my opinion. He has such an eye for colour, and can create movies that dazzle and touch the heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZsoltG.Jan 31, 2005
It's a fantastic movie, which is very spectacular and poetic in the same time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
theop.Oct 4, 2005
A really good martial arts film that doesn't revolve around martial arts. flying daggers is the best film of it's genre since Crouching tiger, hidden dragon (hero came close). Though it is really a soap opera like love story with A really good martial arts film that doesn't revolve around martial arts. flying daggers is the best film of it's genre since Crouching tiger, hidden dragon (hero came close). Though it is really a soap opera like love story with fighting sequences, it has great acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryanJJan 7, 2005
For those who only want to see Kungfu movie, please go rent any of Jackie Chan's movie. This movie has so much more to offer than a kungfu flick so please don't insult Zhang YiMou for his amazing style of story telling. While For those who only want to see Kungfu movie, please go rent any of Jackie Chan's movie. This movie has so much more to offer than a kungfu flick so please don't insult Zhang YiMou for his amazing style of story telling. While watching the movie, I found myself totally with the beauty of cinematography, the haunting music score, and the touching love story. When Jin dropped his sword at the end for Mei, it marks one of the most touching moment in cinema history. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlennKJan 7, 2005
A brillant movie, better than Hero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Feb 14, 2005
Zhang Ziyi is thrown to the ground; not once, not twice, but three times for some torrid lovin' by her dueling suitors. The success of "House of Flying Daggers" hinges on Mei being a woman that's worth dying over. Ziyi is lovely Zhang Ziyi is thrown to the ground; not once, not twice, but three times for some torrid lovin' by her dueling suitors. The success of "House of Flying Daggers" hinges on Mei being a woman that's worth dying over. Ziyi is lovely here, and not insufferably so like she was in Yimou's "The Road Home" where the actress was more eye-candy than an engaging character. The action is predictably exciting, as usual, always on the verge of being ridiculous, if not for the absolute conviction the players bring to the chopsocky choreography. Yimou goes for big emotions at the end and mostly scores. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GaryS.Feb 27, 2005
Enchanting and captivating. Certainly not an all action movie but the two hours playing time seem to just drift by effortlessly
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RashidCarlosJamilMarcanoR.Mar 12, 2005
¡INCREÃ
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeFMar 17, 2005
What a great plot for a martial arts based film, not to mention good on the eyes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
armandosmitheeMay 1, 2005
What dazzling eye candy! Great action and acting also. A thinking persons swordfight movie. The sound and music score also was awsome. A superior effort from the best Chinese director alive today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OatmealBlizzardMay 17, 2005
A wonderful film. Beautifully filmed, exquisitely acted. An epic of love, passion, and heartbreak; full of gravity-defying ass-kicking action that builds to a gut-wrenchingly beautiful climax. Highly recommended. My second favorite movie of A wonderful film. Beautifully filmed, exquisitely acted. An epic of love, passion, and heartbreak; full of gravity-defying ass-kicking action that builds to a gut-wrenchingly beautiful climax. Highly recommended. My second favorite movie of last year behing Eternal Sunshine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DayMay 7, 2005
This movie was wonderful. This movie kicked crouching tiger hidden dragon, and hero's butt. Takeshi Kaneshiro is very cute. This is the best ive seen Zhang Ziyi act ever. Great movie. Keep it coming.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephenW.Jun 21, 2005
Over all good movie. Great picture and sound and fighting. Probably couldn't sit through it again though. Best first time around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyP.Jun 5, 2005
Very Enjoyable, and one of the most beautiful looking films I have ever seen. More of a love story than an action film, but you will not be disappointed
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Jul 1, 2005
Like hero, but more straightforward and action packed. The art side of martial arts is still embraced. It's perfectly obvious Zhang Ziyi ain't blind, but it's fun to watch her pretend...and succeed in fighting off attackers!! Like hero, but more straightforward and action packed. The art side of martial arts is still embraced. It's perfectly obvious Zhang Ziyi ain't blind, but it's fun to watch her pretend...and succeed in fighting off attackers!! The ending was a letdown, but I don't think that was intended...oh well, great movie, bad ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeniseG.Sep 30, 2007
a beautiful film with jaw dropping action & achingly tender love scenes. The scenery is stunning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KastusLJul 26, 2008
Poetic in every scene, in every touche, in every voice. Unbelievably how Zhang can create this? Like picture of Rembrandt in movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyT.Dec 12, 2004
One word: Phenomenon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DrewA.Dec 2, 2004
Tremendous action (and dance!) sequences, but the ending is just a bit toooo ridiculous. The pictures are pretty to look at.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
harisDec 29, 2004
Absolutely amazing. The best foreign film i have seen since Battle Royale. Everyone should see this film. Definately in the top 10 films of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
VidM.Nov 10, 2005
Solid. Not worth seeing a second time though. In the same vein as Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon and Hero. A couple good fight scenes, nothing awesome enough to warrant any more detail than that. The love story is predictable and falls kinda flat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BifidusJan 12, 2005
Just wonderful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JadaG.Jan 18, 2005
True Kung Fu fans who love the old Chinese movies with the story will love this film. If you like the Americanized kung fu flicks, you will like the fight scenes. Visually, beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JFeb 28, 2005
A great exploration of chinese views, coupled with a tragedy that could not be avoided. An excellent movie, good fight scenes backed up by a great script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelH.Feb 28, 2005
Visual stunning, story is engaging, levels of deceipt and plot twists keep you on the edge of your seat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GazFeb 28, 2006
Simply beautiful. A love story that breaks the stereotypical dimensions of the mainstream Western cinema, and in doing so, expresses that romance on a far greater and physical level. Far better than other easily predictable romances, it Simply beautiful. A love story that breaks the stereotypical dimensions of the mainstream Western cinema, and in doing so, expresses that romance on a far greater and physical level. Far better than other easily predictable romances, it thereby deserves a higher mark. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JBAug 11, 2006
It's a good story with great acting, that actually does the reverse of what most stories do: it starts out on a grand scale (rebels vs. government) and then focuses inward on a smaller scale (character devotions vs. personal It's a good story with great acting, that actually does the reverse of what most stories do: it starts out on a grand scale (rebels vs. government) and then focuses inward on a smaller scale (character devotions vs. personal responsibility). Luckily for us, HoFD is one of very few films that does this well. I would rate this higher than Hero. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinDec 19, 2004
I love it when Chinese "critics" rating this movie. They would say that they have seen all the kung fu flicks becasue they are from asian and that everything has already been done. I do agree that it has many similarities.. and they might I love it when Chinese "critics" rating this movie. They would say that they have seen all the kung fu flicks becasue they are from asian and that everything has already been done. I do agree that it has many similarities.. and they might not have the true "kung fighting" compare to the old-school flicks. For me, I like to rate one movie at a time. I dont go into a movie categorizing it to the "asian market" before even watching it. Just cuz the Western market hasn't been exposed to it as much as those 'critics' have, but I feel like they can still learn to appreciate the artistic and emotional perception that were created through these files. So... for future reference, please dont use your "I-am-from-asia-so-I-know-more" type of crap cuz that's just plain bull. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
imthenoobMar 18, 2012
I really liked it but the only problems I had with the film is that it failed to show what happend to the rebel group (House of the Flying Daggers) and the action scenes could have been better. Still a solid film though, Definently worth the watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeMay 3, 2016
Makes China look like a magnificent place to visit and also makes China look like a memory for everyone who's been there or lives there no matter what, in any coincidence, were you forced to be there for any reason.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews