Paramount Pictures | Release Date: March 26, 2010
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 619 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
575
Mixed:
35
Negative:
9
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
gm101Apr 13, 2011
I like movies done by DreamWorks Animation, but none seemed to reach the emotional tone of Pixar movies, until this fantastic movie came. Had "Toy Story 3" not been released in the same year, this movie would've definitely been my pick forI like movies done by DreamWorks Animation, but none seemed to reach the emotional tone of Pixar movies, until this fantastic movie came. Had "Toy Story 3" not been released in the same year, this movie would've definitely been my pick for best animated movie of the year. Expand
17 of 20 users found this helpful173
All this user's reviews
10
BobN.Mar 29, 2010
How to Train your Dragon was a great, interesting movie. If you're looking for a family friendly movie, this is a movie to watch. This movie also includes the thrilling scenes people want to watch. The creatures in this movie are very How to Train your Dragon was a great, interesting movie. If you're looking for a family friendly movie, this is a movie to watch. This movie also includes the thrilling scenes people want to watch. The creatures in this movie are very interesting. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful
10
MovieLonely94Dec 21, 2010
this movie is awesome and breathtaking
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuJul 29, 2014
How to Train Your Dragon is an absolutely amazing animated movie. It has great characters, cute monsters and fantastic action sequences. Even better, it has a deep cathartic edge that leaves you a tear in the eye. More of this, please... it's great!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
TheQuietGamerMar 18, 2011
One of the best movies I've ever seen, the story is awesome, the characters are likable, and it's hilarious, one of the best movies of 2010, it earns a perfect 10, a must see.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
HalfwelshmanNov 26, 2011
How to Train Your Dragon puts shame to lesser animated films. It's so lovingly crafted, from it's beautiful animation to the pitch-perfect script flawlessly performed by the vocal talent, to John Powell's rich, Celtic-inspired score. TheHow to Train Your Dragon puts shame to lesser animated films. It's so lovingly crafted, from it's beautiful animation to the pitch-perfect script flawlessly performed by the vocal talent, to John Powell's rich, Celtic-inspired score. The casting is perfect, but of particular note is Jay Baruchel, who makes our unlikely hero Hiccup an extremely relatable protagonist, America Ferrera who packs so much attitude into battle-maiden Astrid's every line that you can almost hear her daring you to underestimate her prowess on the battlefield, and Craig Furguson, who's just plain fun as the grizzled, wise-cracking old trainer Gobber. Despite the talent of the actors, the real star of the film isn't a person at all, but an animated dragon. "Toothless" is a real triumph of animation - not since Wall-E has a mostly-silent computer-animated character been so easy to read, his every movement and slightest change in expression communicating to the audience exactly what he is feeling and thinking. The dragons in general are extremely well handled - the designers and animators have managed to pull off a range of creatures that are recognisable, but at the same time original, cartoony, yet still believable, a work of fantasy, but somehow grounded in some semblance of reality. Even with all of these stunning elements, How to Train Your Dragon could have still fallen short, as in the end, it comes down to one thing - the story. Luckily, it succeeds on this front too - it's just a good old-fashioned fable with a timeless moral - don't judge a book by it's cover. It's also a coming-of-age story, a comment on father-son relationships and a warning against humanity's tendency to destroy that which it does not understand. How to Train Your Dragon is so much more than an animated family feature film. It's engaging, original and expertly crafted in every aspect. It manages to comment on serious issues on quite a profound level without ever becoming preachy. And of course it's a feast for the eyes, ears and heart. With features like Kung Fu Panda, Monsters vs.Aliens and How to Train Your Dragon, DreamWorks Animation are fast becoming very serious contenders for Pixar's crown... Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
89iajoAug 18, 2011
Wow! This is great.. I recommend anyone who hasn't to get off the couch and buy it. Great movie Dreamworks Animation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMay 29, 2012
One of Dreamworks best films. No wonder it has a 98% on Rotten Tomatoes. Great characters and a ton of dragon action scenes render this as a great start to a potential franchise.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
maor757Jun 22, 2012
best dreamworks movie ever!!!!!!!!!!! Fun, funny, witty, wonderful animated all what movie need to be Love viewing:) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
DCCircuitBoyDec 25, 2012
I remember watching this in the theater and enjoying it, but just watched it again tonight, and it was sooooo much better than the first time. Probably because it was in 3D the first time, and all we are watching are for the affects! AnI remember watching this in the theater and enjoying it, but just watched it again tonight, and it was sooooo much better than the first time. Probably because it was in 3D the first time, and all we are watching are for the affects! An absolutely brilliant film, and I have to say that after watching it tonight it is now one of my favorites of all time. Just a wonderful story. And the final scene in which Hiccup realizes he's missing part of a limb, and the dragon whisks him away...beyond touching!!! Will watch this over and over!!! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Skullgirlsfan13Jun 22, 2013
How to train your dragon may sound like a ridiculous title to give a movie, but this surprisingly is very entertaining. The story of a boy trying to fit in with his rather violent background is not anything new, but is somewhat refreshing toHow to train your dragon may sound like a ridiculous title to give a movie, but this surprisingly is very entertaining. The story of a boy trying to fit in with his rather violent background is not anything new, but is somewhat refreshing to hear in this light. Some of the great things this film has to offer are some pretty visuals; the flying sequences are a spectacle in 3-D, which has always been great for most dreamworks productions. Again the story may be old, but I still personally like it. Finally the relationship between the father and son, it has some levels if depth; for instance the father tries to appreciate his son, but just can't because he's not good at what everybody else can do. Then there's the stuff that doesn't really fly with me (hehe). The main does have an annoying voice at times, but that may have been intentional. Finally the supporting cast. They're not that well developed, a barely new them aside from simple character traits like: he's the hot shot, they're the troublemakers, he's the nerd, and she's the love interest. Anyways, this still a fun enjoyable movie, and I do wonder about the sequels. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
AvrgMovieGoerSep 4, 2013
This is by far the best Animated Movie of 2010 and certainly DreamWorks Magnum Opus. Visuals are perfect, acting is top-notch, and the music is awesome. And of course the story hits you on emotional level that surpasses even some Pixar films.This is by far the best Animated Movie of 2010 and certainly DreamWorks Magnum Opus. Visuals are perfect, acting is top-notch, and the music is awesome. And of course the story hits you on emotional level that surpasses even some Pixar films. Highly Recommend. Also OFF TOPIC, the Metascore should be way higher. There are a lot of other reviews that would've boosted the score if they actually included them. This website can be EXTREMELY biased sometimes. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TaylorD.Mar 27, 2010
Absolutely Incredible. Emotional and awe-inspiring the first fly scene gave me goosebumps.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AaronW.Mar 26, 2010
Truely amazing, this movie is the first good non-Pixar CGI animated film since Kung Fu Panda (which also got a 73). It is a true marvel, and the main dragon, Toothless, really tops it off with his cute/action packed nature. It is a charmer, Truely amazing, this movie is the first good non-Pixar CGI animated film since Kung Fu Panda (which also got a 73). It is a true marvel, and the main dragon, Toothless, really tops it off with his cute/action packed nature. It is a charmer, yet also filled with tons of action and an in-depth story that truely is not something to be missed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArkonBladeOct 26, 2010
i love some of theese CGI kids films . i shouldnt eveen call it that it should be referd to as a family film because like shrek people of all ages can enjoy theese films . its a fun little story about a viking town who fight dragons and ai love some of theese CGI kids films . i shouldnt eveen call it that it should be referd to as a family film because like shrek people of all ages can enjoy theese films . its a fun little story about a viking town who fight dragons and a young kid names hic up who want to be a dragon slayer but doesnt have the build or stomach for it . its very well voice acted i thought the guy who did hic up did a great job . he was very funny and fit the charicter perfect . the action and camera shots where amazing i wached this with my neices and nephews and they where just wowed by it as was i . great film probubly best of the year. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
austinbondMar 19, 2011
Absolutely loved it. The 3D was amazing, as was the animation. The score was beautiful. Script was smart & funny. And oh how adorable was that dragon?! I love how Dreamworks are paying homage to genres with love rather than parodying themAbsolutely loved it. The 3D was amazing, as was the animation. The score was beautiful. Script was smart & funny. And oh how adorable was that dragon?! I love how Dreamworks are paying homage to genres with love rather than parodying them with hate. I thought it was just as good as Toy Story 3! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Mediocre_SoulNov 3, 2010
How to Train your Dragon gives you all the reasons to fall in love with kids adventure movies over and over again. It portrays the perfect blend of adventure, family sentimentality and finding one-self.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
PhabtarOct 21, 2010
This movie made me feel, like really, really good. A really awesome movie even beyond the scope of Animated flicks. For instance this shows how a real Krakken would look like and in action, instead of the brief glimpse we had in Clash of theThis movie made me feel, like really, really good. A really awesome movie even beyond the scope of Animated flicks. For instance this shows how a real Krakken would look like and in action, instead of the brief glimpse we had in Clash of the Titans lol. Loved the wide variety of crazy dragons and vivid animations. I mean Toothless would be able to even tame King kong! Who wouldn't fall for that creature? The voice acting was, kind of, not that top knotch. Bottomline, one of the best Animated features I've seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TheGorillaSep 2, 2011
Best animated movie made by Dream Works.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
AaronharisPFeb 19, 2011
The movie didnt really match up with its trailer. Its really interesting n the story is amazing never been used before. 3D makes it look upto its best visuals. The various dragons used were perfect n all wer diff which makes da story evenThe movie didnt really match up with its trailer. Its really interesting n the story is amazing never been used before. 3D makes it look upto its best visuals. The various dragons used were perfect n all wer diff which makes da story even more exciting. The only predicament the boy faced was not only to win his fathers blessings but also to defeat da biggest dragon were he scores a gf n his fathers proudness. Dats ol. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
KendylKlownfishMar 15, 2011
The Avatar for kids -- How To Train Your Dragon is brilliantly written and both charming and suspenseful, whilst being gloriously animated in breathtaking 3-D.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
RJSmooveMar 20, 2011
My favorite animated Dreamworks movie is Shrek 2, but How To Train Your Dragon is officially a very close second. I'd say it's more like a first-and-a-half. Pixar is still the animation powerhouse, but Dreamworks has been doing very well.My favorite animated Dreamworks movie is Shrek 2, but How To Train Your Dragon is officially a very close second. I'd say it's more like a first-and-a-half. Pixar is still the animation powerhouse, but Dreamworks has been doing very well. Stereotypical (yet likeable) characters and a predictable story didn't hurt this one at all, in my opinion. I loved Toothless (the Dragon). He didn't utter a single word, yet I could see every emotion that went through his mind. And Hiccup (Jay Baruchel) was a fine lead. There was nothing extremely inventive in his looser-becomes-hero character, but I still liked him alot. I pretty much liked everything else about this one too. Gerard Butler would be just as good a Viking in live action, as he was in this one. It was just like King Leonidas put on a few pounds. And I have to mention Craig Ferguson. I watch his late night show every once in a while, and the guy is hilarious. I loved seeing (well technically hearing) him in a good movie. If there happens to be a sequel (like that would ever happen), he better be there. Like I mentioned before, the story is a bit cliche, but it was still a fun, heart warming tale. I loved how this movie leaned more towards drama and action, than comedy. That really made this a unique experience to me. The 3D was beautiful too. It was more like Avatar's, with depth. Finally a 3D animated movie that doesn't throw stuff at you for an hour and a half! This story would be amazing in any D, but if you can, go see it in 3D. It really accentuates the digital effects perfectly. I cannot say enough how much I loved it, and I'll definitely be picking a copy up when it comes out. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
eragondragonApr 29, 2011
This is a nother one of my faves. :) Mainly because I love dragons, especily the night fury.:) This is a veary good movie, next 2 Eragon and Percy Jakson. :)
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MrCinnamonMay 31, 2011
A fantastic film. The story is fabulously original, with a strong supporting cast of actors. The actors are always on the ball with how the line should be delivered. The animation quality is top notch, and the designer of toothless knowsA fantastic film. The story is fabulously original, with a strong supporting cast of actors. The actors are always on the ball with how the line should be delivered. The animation quality is top notch, and the designer of toothless knows exactly how to create the worlds cutest fire breathing monster. The film was a masterpiece of modern animation, and well worth your money. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Potter17Dec 11, 2011
Albeit the lack of originality, "How to Train Your Dragon" has a clever and funny story, emotional impact and good messages to its target audience. And it is the best DreamWorks animation since "Shrek".
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
FakeLiesDec 31, 2011
How to train your dragon does not have the most intresting story ever, but its an absolutely charming movie... The story is mostly predictable after Hiccup finds the dragon, but the animations are very well done, the characters fit the wholeHow to train your dragon does not have the most intresting story ever, but its an absolutely charming movie... The story is mostly predictable after Hiccup finds the dragon, but the animations are very well done, the characters fit the whole story, and it has this "i know how it ends and its a bit kitschy, but still the movie excites me"- thing...I watched it around 5 times yet, and though it´s mainly a movie made for children I will come back watching this a lot of times, and I´m not a teenager Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Horsemad7009May 20, 2012
An entertaining tale on how a Viking boy befriends a dragon. Fantastic visual effects, and proberly the only film I have seen where I have actually liked the 3D. Well worth a watch 10/10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieFan123Mar 17, 2012
This movie is amazing and is filled with crisp animation. It is funny and is filled with some great punch lines. I have watched it about five times. Also the special effects are great and I loved all of the movies. Next, this movie isThis movie is amazing and is filled with crisp animation. It is funny and is filled with some great punch lines. I have watched it about five times. Also the special effects are great and I loved all of the movies. Next, this movie is filled with depth and the script is great. I couldn't believe it was actually a kids movie. All parts of it were fantastic and I call it the best movie every. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JuanoloMar 31, 2012
First off, I would give this a 9.25 out of 10. Great animation. Action sequences can be pretty great. Story is also well crafted. Score is epic, and the acting is quite well done. Highly recommend.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
worleyjamersDec 8, 2012
Whoa!? Dreamworks where did this come from? What great, heart-felt film...one of the best films of 2010 and one of the best animated films of recent years...
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews