User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 380 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 380

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    I love this film and it doesn't matter how many times I watch it, always makes me emotional. The animation is wonderful and the soundtrack is perfection. The 3D version is worth getting also. I hope the second one holds up to this. Also people shouldn't assume that because is animated its for children. As I watch a lot of anime this is defiantly not the case.
  2. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    This movie has a great story, loveable characters and a great soundtrack. It has 3D sequences that would make even Avatar jealous. The dragons are creative and it is something you would not think about by yourself. Easily one of the best films of 2010.
  3. Jan 6, 2014
    4
    This can be sort of heartwarming in parts, but it is mostly generic. The kid befriends a dragon, dragons and humans hate each other, the kid brings the two groups together. Also, there's a scene where they think the dragon's dead, but he's really not. Yeah, you've seen it all before.
  4. Dec 20, 2013
    5
    To put it plainly, How to Train Your Dragon is generic, predictable and just unfunny. It's just another story of a dorky kid trying to impress the most popular kid in school, who just so happens to be a girl who is also the most talented viking warrior of the kids; of course (I didn't even know that female vikings existed). The movie boasts visual dazzles and excitement on the same level as Avatar, but in the end, it's just not enough. For me, this movie was nothing special, and represents the lowlights of Dreamworks movies like Bee movie and Turbo. Not one of the highlights like Skrek, Madagascar or Kung fu Panda. Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    This movie is a cult classic. Some dark things happen in this for a kids movie, but that's why it's so awesome. This was one of the best animated films, if not the best animated film of all time
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    6
    How to maintain your ass from dragging.
    A very good animated tale with a very slow precise execution. The characters are believable and the story is nice, but some areas of the film are simply boring...
  7. Oct 22, 2013
    6
    A pretty good kids movie, but adults will probably not enjoy it as much. The animations are good, and the characters are likable, but the story drags in some parts. Overall, it is a heartwarming film, but with some flaws.
  8. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    This is the most fantastic, amazing, brilliant movie I have ever seen. Why? Well first of all the music is perfect, always capturing the moment perfectly. Second, the story it just amazing. I don't want to give anything away, so just watch and you will see why. Third, the voice acting is fantastic. Jay Baruchel plays Hiccup the main character, and America Ferrera plays the love interest Astrid. Jay Baruchel does a perfect job at playing Hiccup because he is just like Hiccup in many ways. Forth and final reason why this movie is fantastic, amazing, and brilliant is that the visuals are amazing. The animation looks nothing like you have seen before. You can see every little freckle on Hiccups face, even a scar or two. Most people would think of How to Train Your Dragon as a kids movie. Well I don't think so and so does Dreamworks. Dreamworks has said many times it is not intended to be a kids movie more of a teen and adult flick. You will notice if you ask a kid about this movie they do not remember it. Why, because they have seen so many other movies that are more kid like that this one slips their mind probably. Most of the fans are teens and adults, but that doesn't mean a kid would not like it, just that teens and adults will appreciate it more. This movie deserves a 10 out of 10. I say buy it. If you have a 3D TV watch in 3D because the 3D also looks fantastic. Dreamworks made the best animated movie ever in my book. Expand
  9. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    This is by far the best Animated Movie of 2010 and certainly DreamWorks Magnum Opus. Visuals are perfect, acting is top-notch, and the music is awesome. And of course the story hits you on emotional level that surpasses even some Pixar films. Highly Recommend. Also OFF TOPIC, the Metascore should be way higher. There are a lot of other reviews that would've boosted the score if they actually included them. This website can be EXTREMELY biased sometimes. Expand
  10. Jul 17, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very heart warming children's movie that works for adults as well. Pixar is known for its great animation, but DreamWorks is gaining because of their ability to learn that emotional connection is the key. Expand
  11. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    Having watched this film first on DVD, I sure wish I didn't. With its stunning scenes, its wonderful script, and surprising depth, "How to Train Your Dragon" truly is in itself a winner. While its story tangles with the "Aladdin", "Avatar", and several of other tales told before, the story still shines with its wonderful creative spin off of its book series. With several more positives than negatives to the story, its a fun and new tale to everyone. Expand
  12. Jun 22, 2013
    8
    How to train your dragon may sound like a ridiculous title to give a movie, but this surprisingly is very entertaining. The story of a boy trying to fit in with his rather violent background is not anything new, but is somewhat refreshing to hear in this light. Some of the great things this film has to offer are some pretty visuals; the flying sequences are a spectacle in 3-D, which has always been great for most dreamworks productions. Again the story may be old, but I still personally like it. Finally the relationship between the father and son, it has some levels if depth; for instance the father tries to appreciate his son, but just can't because he's not good at what everybody else can do. Then there's the stuff that doesn't really fly with me (hehe). The main does have an annoying voice at times, but that may have been intentional. Finally the supporting cast. They're not that well developed, a barely new them aside from simple character traits like: he's the hot shot, they're the troublemakers, he's the nerd, and she's the love interest. Anyways, this still a fun enjoyable movie, and I do wonder about the sequels. Expand
  13. Jun 7, 2013
    7
    Overall, while I enjoy How to Train Your Dragon I wish it had a more original premise in terms of characters and story, something Megamind would address. Don’t get me wrong I enjoy this film but I have seen a lot of this before and I wish it gave us something we had it seen before. But for what it is the film is pretty good. Unlike Tangled the film makes the story interesting so even though this is a predictable film with numerous clichés. I like these characters and I love the world. Plus, there is some great animation and awesome flying segments, which probably look spectacular in 3D. While a wish this film had more originality it is still pretty good. The story, characters, and universe I were likeable enough to I was engaged and that clichés did not bother me that much. When the film ended I was happy and glad I saw it but wishing I had seen it in 3D and/or IMAX. While it may not be the most original or creative film I have seen How to Train Your Dragon is pretty good providing likeable characters, a cool world, and is engaging and that is enough for me to say it is worth a watch. Expand
  14. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just when I thought recent animated movies would be stuck in a pit of suckiness for the rest of eternity, this lovely movie came along. Humerus as well as entertaining, Jay Bruchel and America Ferrera light up the screen with their acting abilities as Hiccup and Astrid, who make an unlikely pair, while Hiccup befriends a cute but dangerous dragon. Expand
  15. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    How to Train Your Dragon is exciting, magical and sincere. Too bad that is only the case between the boy and the Dragon toothless. With all the action and exciting times throughout the film it needed to stop and let emotion take over for a bit.
  16. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    Took me a while to get around to seeing this but now that I have I can see why so many people liked it. Aimed at children obviously but its one of the more recent kids films that has simply got it right. Great concept about vikings and dragons (something that young boys in particular will love). I could have seen this being an all-time favourite of mine had it been released when I was a kid, but even though I'm a little older I can still appreciate it for what it is, and that is a great film! Expand
  17. Jan 16, 2013
    8
    "How to Train Your Dragon" excels visually and creatively. Although I would change the ending a bit in order to pack an emotional punch, you can not deny the raw beauty of animation and visuals when you see them. Truly a gem of animated features.
  18. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    I remember watching this in the theater and enjoying it, but just watched it again tonight, and it was sooooo much better than the first time. Probably because it was in 3D the first time, and all we are watching are for the affects! An absolutely brilliant film, and I have to say that after watching it tonight it is now one of my favorites of all time. Just a wonderful story. And the final scene in which Hiccup realizes he's missing part of a limb, and the dragon whisks him away...beyond touching!!! Will watch this over and over!!! Expand
  19. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    Whoa!? Dreamworks where did this come from? What great, heart-felt film...one of the best films of 2010 and one of the best animated films of recent years...
  20. Sep 2, 2012
    8
    Surprisingly fantastic. The movie was epic on an animation level. A well thought out script that carried such heart around it. The music was the highlight and the comedy/action was fun.
  21. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    de las mejores peliculas de animacion q eh tenido la oportunidad de ver, los efectos visuales son impresionantes, al igual q la animación, quede flipando con esta pelicula
  22. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    best dreamworks movie ever!!!!!!!!!!! Fun, funny, witty, wonderful animated all what movie need to be Love viewing:) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
  23. May 29, 2012
    10
    One of Dreamworks best films. No wonder it has a 98% on Rotten Tomatoes. Great characters and a ton of dragon action scenes render this as a great start to a potential franchise.
  24. May 20, 2012
    10
    An entertaining tale on how a Viking boy befriends a dragon. Fantastic visual effects, and proberly the only film I have seen where I have actually liked the 3D. Well worth a watch 10/10
  25. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    First off, I would give this a 9.25 out of 10. Great animation. Action sequences can be pretty great. Story is also well crafted. Score is epic, and the acting is quite well done. Highly recommend.
  26. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    This movie is amazing and is filled with crisp animation. It is funny and is filled with some great punch lines. I have watched it about five times. Also the special effects are great and I loved all of the movies. Next, this movie is filled with depth and the script is great. I couldn't believe it was actually a kids movie. All parts of it were fantastic and I call it the best movie every.
  27. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    This is a fantastic movie coming from Dreamworks Animation. Everything's well done, from the story to the cinematic presentation. The characters are easily liked. Great movie for adults and children alike. If you have kids, this is one movie you wont mind sitting down and watching it with them from time to time.
  28. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    I would be considered for the older crowd (15-25) when I first watched this movie. No I did not get to enjoy this movie in theaters, but firstly at my houses 60" LCD TV. This was possibly one of the most enjoyable movies I have watched in a long time, and I am a fan of the fantasy genre. The plot is old as any other one, a forbidden friendship. The key to using this plot is how they put a story to it, and I personally loved the way it was expressed in this film. It played out well with a beginning, middle, and an end that will not disappoint. This voice acting is great, as it is in most big releases as such, and the animation was by far amazing. Observing this movie, with its small, but plentiful amount of puns it still carries a dark persona with it. This movie is rather mature when compared to DreamWorks other projects, such as Shrek or Madagascar, when I watch this it truly carries meaning.

    I am not embarrassed while talking about this, due to the fact itâ
    Expand
  29. Feb 6, 2012
    8
    Awesome. Dragons and vikings. Story is brilliant and CGI also. Well done Dreamworks! Usually Pixar is my preferred CGI Company but this movie is superb. i like :D
  30. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    Possibly the greatest kids movie in a very long time. Absolutely charming, stunningly beautiful, and perfectly satisfying. This is the sort of family movie that actually does what the genre says and appeals to the whole family. I loved it.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. An exciting, fun and sensationally entertaining movie for everyone.
  2. Rouses you in conventional ways, but it's also the rare animated film that uses 3-D for its breathtaking spatial and emotional possibilities.
  3. 75
    Works enough miracles of 3-D animation to charm your socks off.