User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 455 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 455

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    I like movies done by DreamWorks Animation, but none seemed to reach the emotional tone of Pixar movies, until this fantastic movie came. Had "Toy Story 3" not been released in the same year, this movie would've definitely been my pick for best animated movie of the year.
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    8
    Dreamworks Animation's new viking animation "How to Train Your Dragon" is surprisingly enjoyable compared to recent films made by them. It has unusually strong love and passion throughout the animation as well as a enjoyable story that will definitely make you laugh and jump in excitement. A family must-watch
  3. Feb 19, 2011
    7
    A solid movie that both adults and kids should enjoy. It's no Pixar film, but the plot is entertaining, albeit predictable.
  4. Oct 28, 2010
    4
    Watching How to Train your Dragon, I had relatively high expectations. I was expecting a good, creative plot, clever and original jokes and finally good 3D effects. The plot was far from being creative, using the same trite story of a teenager misunderstood by his father and his community who finally finds a girls that, through great difficulty, falls in love with him. Very unimpressive. Some of the humor that How to Train your Dragon made me grin at most, nothing was strikingly hilarious and creative. The 3D effects were not the best but were not completely boring which made the experience ok. Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    this movie is awesome and breathtaking
  6. Jan 6, 2014
    4
    This can be sort of heartwarming in parts, but it is mostly generic. The kid befriends a dragon, dragons and humans hate each other, the kid brings the two groups together. Also, there's a scene where they think the dragon's dead, but he's really not. Yeah, you've seen it all before.
  7. Sep 2, 2012
    8
    Surprisingly fantastic. The movie was epic on an animation level. A well thought out script that carried such heart around it. The music was the highlight and the comedy/action was fun.
  8. Jun 7, 2013
    7
    Overall, while I enjoy How to Train Your Dragon I wish it had a more original premise in terms of characters and story, something Megamind would address. Don’t get me wrong I enjoy this film but I have seen a lot of this before and I wish it gave us something we had it seen before. But for what it is the film is pretty good. Unlike Tangled the film makes the story interesting so even though this is a predictable film with numerous clichés. I like these characters and I love the world. Plus, there is some great animation and awesome flying segments, which probably look spectacular in 3D. While a wish this film had more originality it is still pretty good. The story, characters, and universe I were likeable enough to I was engaged and that clichés did not bother me that much. When the film ended I was happy and glad I saw it but wishing I had seen it in 3D and/or IMAX. While it may not be the most original or creative film I have seen How to Train Your Dragon is pretty good providing likeable characters, a cool world, and is engaging and that is enough for me to say it is worth a watch. Expand
  9. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    One of the best movies I've ever seen, the story is awesome, the characters are likable, and it's hilarious, one of the best movies of 2010, it earns a perfect 10, a must see.
  10. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    How to Train Your Dragon puts shame to lesser animated films. It's so lovingly crafted, from it's beautiful animation to the pitch-perfect script flawlessly performed by the vocal talent, to John Powell's rich, Celtic-inspired score. The casting is perfect, but of particular note is Jay Baruchel, who makes our unlikely hero Hiccup an extremely relatable protagonist, America Ferrera who packs so much attitude into battle-maiden Astrid's every line that you can almost hear her daring you to underestimate her prowess on the battlefield, and Craig Furguson, who's just plain fun as the grizzled, wise-cracking old trainer Gobber. Despite the talent of the actors, the real star of the film isn't a person at all, but an animated dragon. "Toothless" is a real triumph of animation - not since Wall-E has a mostly-silent computer-animated character been so easy to read, his every movement and slightest change in expression communicating to the audience exactly what he is feeling and thinking. The dragons in general are extremely well handled - the designers and animators have managed to pull off a range of creatures that are recognisable, but at the same time original, cartoony, yet still believable, a work of fantasy, but somehow grounded in some semblance of reality. Even with all of these stunning elements, How to Train Your Dragon could have still fallen short, as in the end, it comes down to one thing - the story. Luckily, it succeeds on this front too - it's just a good old-fashioned fable with a timeless moral - don't judge a book by it's cover. It's also a coming-of-age story, a comment on father-son relationships and a warning against humanity's tendency to destroy that which it does not understand. How to Train Your Dragon is so much more than an animated family feature film. It's engaging, original and expertly crafted in every aspect. It manages to comment on serious issues on quite a profound level without ever becoming preachy. And of course it's a feast for the eyes, ears and heart. With features like Kung Fu Panda, Monsters vs.Aliens and How to Train Your Dragon, DreamWorks Animation are fast becoming very serious contenders for Pixar's crown... Expand
  11. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    Wow! This is great.. I recommend anyone who hasn't to get off the couch and buy it. Great movie Dreamworks Animation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  12. May 29, 2012
    10
    One of Dreamworks best films. No wonder it has a 98% on Rotten Tomatoes. Great characters and a ton of dragon action scenes render this as a great start to a potential franchise.
  13. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    best dreamworks movie ever!!!!!!!!!!! Fun, funny, witty, wonderful animated all what movie need to be Love viewing:) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
  14. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    i love some of theese CGI kids films . i shouldnt eveen call it that it should be referd to as a family film because like shrek people of all ages can enjoy theese films . its a fun little story about a viking town who fight dragons and a young kid names hic up who want to be a dragon slayer but doesnt have the build or stomach for it . its very well voice acted i thought the guy who did hic up did a great job . he was very funny and fit the charicter perfect . the action and camera shots where amazing i wached this with my neices and nephews and they where just wowed by it as was i . great film probubly best of the year. Expand
  15. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    Absolutely loved it. The 3D was amazing, as was the animation. The score was beautiful. Script was smart & funny. And oh how adorable was that dragon?! I love how Dreamworks are paying homage to genres with love rather than parodying them with hate. I thought it was just as good as Toy Story 3!
  16. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    How to Train your Dragon gives you all the reasons to fall in love with kids adventure movies over and over again. It portrays the perfect blend of adventure, family sentimentality and finding one-self.
  17. Oct 21, 2010
    9
    This movie made me feel, like really, really good. A really awesome movie even beyond the scope of Animated flicks. For instance this shows how a real Krakken would look like and in action, instead of the brief glimpse we had in Clash of the Titans lol. Loved the wide variety of crazy dragons and vivid animations. I mean Toothless would be able to even tame King kong! Who wouldn't fall for that creature? The voice acting was, kind of, not that top knotch. Bottomline, one of the best Animated features I've seen. Expand
  18. Sep 2, 2011
    8
    Best animated movie made by Dream Works.
  19. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    How to Train Your Dragon is an absolutely amazing animated movie. It has great characters, cute monsters and fantastic action sequences. Even better, it has a deep cathartic edge that leaves you a tear in the eye. More of this, please... it's great!
  20. Jan 7, 2011
    5
    After 300 years of war between vikings and dragons, a viking boy get along with a handicapped dragon. He helps the dragon to fly and so the entire viking community is against him now. But in the end every thing turns to be ok because the vikings together with the dragons fight against the evilest dragon, kills it and live a happy life together afterward.
    Yes, the plot it bad. You can't
    ignore this and like the movie. Expand
  21. Feb 19, 2011
    8
    The movie didnt really match up with its trailer. Its really interesting n the story is amazing never been used before. 3D makes it look upto its best visuals. The various dragons used were perfect n all wer diff which makes da story even more exciting. The only predicament the boy faced was not only to win his fathers blessings but also to defeat da biggest dragon were he scores a gf n his fathers proudness. Dats ol. Expand
  22. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    The Avatar for kids -- How To Train Your Dragon is brilliantly written and both charming and suspenseful, whilst being gloriously animated in breathtaking 3-D.
  23. Mar 20, 2011
    9
    My favorite animated Dreamworks movie is Shrek 2, but How To Train Your Dragon is officially a very close second. I'd say it's more like a first-and-a-half. Pixar is still the animation powerhouse, but Dreamworks has been doing very well. Stereotypical (yet likeable) characters and a predictable story didn't hurt this one at all, in my opinion. I loved Toothless (the Dragon). He didn't utter a single word, yet I could see every emotion that went through his mind. And Hiccup (Jay Baruchel) was a fine lead. There was nothing extremely inventive in his looser-becomes-hero character, but I still liked him alot. I pretty much liked everything else about this one too. Gerard Butler would be just as good a Viking in live action, as he was in this one. It was just like King Leonidas put on a few pounds. And I have to mention Craig Ferguson. I watch his late night show every once in a while, and the guy is hilarious. I loved seeing (well technically hearing) him in a good movie. If there happens to be a sequel (like that would ever happen), he better be there. Like I mentioned before, the story is a bit cliche, but it was still a fun, heart warming tale. I loved how this movie leaned more towards drama and action, than comedy. That really made this a unique experience to me. The 3D was beautiful too. It was more like Avatar's, with depth. Finally a 3D animated movie that doesn't throw stuff at you for an hour and a half! This story would be amazing in any D, but if you can, go see it in 3D. It really accentuates the digital effects perfectly. I cannot say enough how much I loved it, and I'll definitely be picking a copy up when it comes out. Expand
  24. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    This movie is beyond amazing. It didn't seem very good in the trailer, but when I actually saw the movie, I was blown away. It has beautiful animation, beautiful voices, a beautiful plot, and one thing that I think is beyond amazing is it's beautiful music. The movie could've had no voices and just music and it would get 10 stars. The only thing that wasn't great was the 2 cheesy lines that Astrid says. Other than that, it is a COMPLETELY AMAZING. Expand
  25. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    This is a nother one of my faves. :) Mainly because I love dragons, especily the night fury.:) This is a veary good movie, next 2 Eragon and Percy Jakson. :)
  26. May 31, 2011
    9
    A fantastic film. The story is fabulously original, with a strong supporting cast of actors. The actors are always on the ball with how the line should be delivered. The animation quality is top notch, and the designer of toothless knows exactly how to create the worlds cutest fire breathing monster. The film was a masterpiece of modern animation, and well worth your money.
  27. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    Albeit the lack of originality, "How to Train Your Dragon" has a clever and funny story, emotional impact and good messages to its target audience. And it is the best DreamWorks animation since "Shrek".
  28. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    How to train your dragon does not have the most intresting story ever, but its an absolutely charming movie... The story is mostly predictable after Hiccup finds the dragon, but the animations are very well done, the characters fit the whole story, and it has this "i know how it ends and its a bit kitschy, but still the movie excites me"- thing...I watched it around 5 times yet, and though it´s mainly a movie made for children I will come back watching this a lot of times, and I´m not a teenager Expand
  29. May 20, 2012
    10
    An entertaining tale on how a Viking boy befriends a dragon. Fantastic visual effects, and proberly the only film I have seen where I have actually liked the 3D. Well worth a watch 10/10
  30. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    This movie is amazing and is filled with crisp animation. It is funny and is filled with some great punch lines. I have watched it about five times. Also the special effects are great and I loved all of the movies. Next, this movie is filled with depth and the script is great. I couldn't believe it was actually a kids movie. All parts of it were fantastic and I call it the best movie every.
  31. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    First off, I would give this a 9.25 out of 10. Great animation. Action sequences can be pretty great. Story is also well crafted. Score is epic, and the acting is quite well done. Highly recommend.
  32. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    de las mejores peliculas de animacion q eh tenido la oportunidad de ver, los efectos visuales son impresionantes, al igual q la animación, quede flipando con esta pelicula
  33. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    Whoa!? Dreamworks where did this come from? What great, heart-felt film...one of the best films of 2010 and one of the best animated films of recent years...
  34. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    Took me a while to get around to seeing this but now that I have I can see why so many people liked it. Aimed at children obviously but its one of the more recent kids films that has simply got it right. Great concept about vikings and dragons (something that young boys in particular will love). I could have seen this being an all-time favourite of mine had it been released when I was a kid, but even though I'm a little older I can still appreciate it for what it is, and that is a great film! Expand
  35. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    I remember watching this in the theater and enjoying it, but just watched it again tonight, and it was sooooo much better than the first time. Probably because it was in 3D the first time, and all we are watching are for the affects! An absolutely brilliant film, and I have to say that after watching it tonight it is now one of my favorites of all time. Just a wonderful story. And the final scene in which Hiccup realizes he's missing part of a limb, and the dragon whisks him away...beyond touching!!! Will watch this over and over!!! Expand
  36. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just when I thought recent animated movies would be stuck in a pit of suckiness for the rest of eternity, this lovely movie came along. Humerus as well as entertaining, Jay Bruchel and America Ferrera light up the screen with their acting abilities as Hiccup and Astrid, who make an unlikely pair, while Hiccup befriends a cute but dangerous dragon. Expand
  37. Jun 22, 2013
    8
    How to train your dragon may sound like a ridiculous title to give a movie, but this surprisingly is very entertaining. The story of a boy trying to fit in with his rather violent background is not anything new, but is somewhat refreshing to hear in this light. Some of the great things this film has to offer are some pretty visuals; the flying sequences are a spectacle in 3-D, which has always been great for most dreamworks productions. Again the story may be old, but I still personally like it. Finally the relationship between the father and son, it has some levels if depth; for instance the father tries to appreciate his son, but just can't because he's not good at what everybody else can do. Then there's the stuff that doesn't really fly with me (hehe). The main does have an annoying voice at times, but that may have been intentional. Finally the supporting cast. They're not that well developed, a barely new them aside from simple character traits like: he's the hot shot, they're the troublemakers, he's the nerd, and she's the love interest. Anyways, this still a fun enjoyable movie, and I do wonder about the sequels. Expand
  38. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    This is by far the best Animated Movie of 2010 and certainly DreamWorks Magnum Opus. Visuals are perfect, acting is top-notch, and the music is awesome. And of course the story hits you on emotional level that surpasses even some Pixar films. Highly Recommend. Also OFF TOPIC, the Metascore should be way higher. There are a lot of other reviews that would've boosted the score if they actually included them. This website can be EXTREMELY biased sometimes. Expand
  39. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    This movie has a great story, loveable characters and a great soundtrack. It has 3D sequences that would make even Avatar jealous. The dragons are creative and it is something you would not think about by yourself. Easily one of the best films of 2010.
  40. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    This is in my top 5 favourite animated films of all time. The story, the characters, the relationships, the pacing, the atmosphere, the soundtrack; everything is near perfect. A film that can be rewatched a hundred times and still retain its emotional resonance. Definitely a classic to be remembered.
  41. Aug 10, 2014
    9
    This is just a wonderful little film. It's everything it needs to be. My absolute favourite favourite animation to date. The details in Toothless' eyes and the different shades and types of fire, beautifully done! I'm sure I could pick on certain things, but for this type of film and what it tries to achieve, I think it's pretty damn perfect!
  42. Sep 3, 2014
    10
    The first DreamWorks film that surpasses Pixar in terms of emotional depth and visual quality, How To Train Your Dragon could arguably be the best animated film of all time. With a mature, thoughtful plotline, stunning animation, and timeless characters, this feature rises out of the 'children's animation' genre. And let's not forget John Powell's absolutely breath-taking soundtrack, which adds that extra dimension to a marvellous movie. A must-see for all the family. Expand
  43. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    Probably the best animated movie i've seen yet. With a simple but very witty storyline, greatly designed characters, amazing graphics, this movie has it all. I think it's a big must-see for everyone.
  44. Sep 3, 2010
    8
    Great flick ever animated so far 2010. I do say that i didn't watch it in 3D, but hey, it still counts! Well done Dream-works, may continue to out stand your fellow fans!
  45. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Although this is a kid's movie i can guarantee that almost anyone who see it will just fall in love with it. Good overall cast, very likable characters and a story that really draws you in. I really wish i had a dragon now.
  46. Oct 16, 2010
    10
    The best Childrens movie since Finding Nemo. I loved every second of it. I was so enveloped in it i swear to god i wanted to adopt Toothless. And the ending does not disappoint at all. The only thing that bugged me was this story is serious, and they named the main character Hiccup? Whatever the movie completely overshadows that.
  47. Sep 24, 2010
    9
    This film the Advertisements and the trailers made this movie look like yet another movie to take your kids to and with the 3D now thats what sells the kids and makes you want to see the film but heres the thing i saw this film in 2D and i loved it its truth that a movie can be just as great in 2D as is in 3D the animaton , the score , the voicework , there is nothing wrong with this film . its perfect this is a rare movie that you watch and there is nothing wrong with it .. the whole movie i was looking for a flaw but i was too cought up in the story and emmersed in this breathtaking FANTASTIC film.

    The film Starts off as an action-packed explosive Ride .. where we meet Hiccop played by (Jay Baruchel) he is an apriring viking trying to take in his fathers footsteps here is shocker the father is played by (Gerard Butler) its weird seeing him in a Good movie i mean after Ugly Truth & Gamer & Bounty Hunter, i was starting to loose hope but he is very well placed in this movie as the head viking of the village hes the head hancho!. Well Hiccop wants to prove that he can be more than just a screw up and a handy man .. so he does somthing he actully captures a Dragon!.

    And not just any dragon he captures the rarest Dragon there is one that noone has ever seen and or lived to tell about it. So he is about to slay the dragon so he can prove to his dad that he is a real viking but he cant and so he frees the dragon but the dragon has been injured so he does somthing that all vikings forbid he trains this Dragon this scared and lonely Dragon. But soon after that he is enrolled in a Dragon Training Practice which teached Young Viking how to slay Dragons the right way. Well HIccup after freeing the Dragon at which he names Toothless which is the perfect name for this one of a kind Dragon. Anyway after trianing his Dragon he learns a few features about the dragons that he dident know. And so that helps he Excel in Beating out the competion in his Dragon Training. But as soon as things start to arise like a Queen Dragon that is the Biggest and Baddest of them all the Villiage and Hiccup and Toothless are againts all the ODDS!.

    This movie starts off and your thinking wow is that what the whole movie is going to be like? Thats what i was asking myself .. I Think Dreamworks Animation has learned from Pixar the best way to get though a great scene is no Dialogue that is what this movies Key was the score in the backround was so Beautiful you couldent ask for a better composer .. the scenes between Hiccup and toothless while in traning are what this movie lives off of anfd i gotta say it works.. The scenes in this movie where they are soaring to new heights are Breathtaking it actully feels like your there.

    This movie Succeds where other animated films do not this one in particular teaches you a moral and you can clearly tell what it is. The voice work was Brilliant and Sport on Craig Ferguson was Hilrious and a Riot as the Old Timer the Vetren if you will this movies comedic timing is actully quite perfect what UP dident accomplish this movie has a heart and a soul the children are going to love this film has at times this movie may be scary but in the end its worth it... this film is fantastic i have said it 100 times and im gonna say it 100 more Breathtaking , asthonishing! ... Glorious.

    A++

    ReviewdByNate

    RatedPG

    RunTime90mins

    Thanks For Stoppin Buy!
    Expand
  48. Oct 4, 2010
    8
    I went to this film with very high expectations, after reading glowing reviews, and although it was not the masterpiece I thought it would be, it still proved to be a fun rollercoaster of a ride. It is not better than 'Shrek', 'Shrek 2', or 'Kung Fu Panda', and still doesn't compare to most Pixar films, but the flying action sequences and scenes shared by the hero and his dragon as they build upon their unlikely relationship make it well worth watching. There was definitely heart to this film, just not being as touching as Pixar's latest two films 'Up' and 'Wall-E'. Expand
  49. Nov 8, 2010
    9
    How to train your Dragon was a great movie!

    The plot was brilliant and I thought this was a heart warming film because if you think
    about it a boy and a friendship with a dragon is nice.

    The action sequences were great, there were some moments where I chuckled a bit!

    All in all great movie!
  50. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    I love good animation. I loved "Kung-Fu Panda" last year, so I had to see Dreamwork's latest. It didn't disappoint. The action scenes are great, the movie is well written, and it probably has the best usage of 3D that I've seen so far. After these two gems, Dreamworks is almost at the level of Pixar, who I think slipped a little after last year's "Up". Pixar still makes the most original films, however. This one does have the tired storyline of the protagonist that nobody respects suddenly becoming a hero, just like Kung Fu Panda. Once Dreamworks does something totally original, such as "Toy Story", or "Monster's Inc", they will be at the level of Pixar. Expand
  51. Oct 27, 2010
    8
    I was surprised how good this was given the trailer and commercials. All my kids loved it, and for a brief time even did sketches of the main dragon character. Highly recommended for families.
  52. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    Based on a novel with the same name, writer William Davies was able to turn this kids story into a touching and deep first-class screenplay that is really rare for Dream Works. Hiccup, voiced by the devastating and believable Jay Baruchel, is a weak and low self-esteem little boy who lives in a world of Vikings. His dad and his friends, all around him, their life mission is to kill dragons and Hiccup is expected to do the same. Going through training and a lot of trying, Hiccup was not successful. Instead of killing dragons, Hiccup decided to read books on the dragons and found out they are not that bad. The belief was brought on after Hiccup met a dragon, who was considered the most dangerous dragon and did not try to eat him. This created a interesting but predictable twist for the audience to eat up on. Hiccup named his "friend" Toothless. Months go by as Hiccup trains his dragon friend Toothless to fly since he was injured when Hiccup found him. Throughout the training, their relationship begins to build and we see that Hiccup is falling in love. The writer really wanted us to cry at this point because Hiccup's friend Toothless was discovered by the town people and he's being killed by them. At the end, we know that dragons aren't as bad and Vikings shouldn't be killing them. This really looks like Disney's work because the message and the tone of the film is based on being friends and nice and all. At first, I thought this was not Dream Work's work, but after checking up on it, I was surprised. This looked more like Disney's cheesy work than Dream Work's. How To Train Your Dragon is classy, funny, kid-friendly, and intelligently scripted. It is one of the best films of the year.
    OscarBuzz: Best Animated Feature, this will go head to head against Toy Story 3. Even though Toy Story 3 definitely has a lead, if it didn't win, How To Train Your Dragon would snatch the Oscar.
    Though I didn't mention the 3D, be assured that Avatar will be jealous to see this film in 3D.
    Expand
  53. Jan 11, 2011
    6
    Honestly, it is very hard for me to criticize animated films. Coz all camera angles, character expressions, body languages, and etc. are fully controllable by the maker. Thiz kind of movie also depends on whole divisions (the credit not just on director). Thiz movie made by Dream Works Team and directed by Disney LILO AND STITCH (2002) creators, Dean DeBlois and Chris Sanders. The characters voiced by: Jay Baruchel, Gerard Butler, Jonah Hill and America Ferrera. A Viking boy, named Hiccup learned how to be a warrior, instead of vanquished a dragon, they became friend. The dragon character which named Toothless appeared uniquely but likeable. Yes, it is entertaining but still on standard formula. The story relied on what I called Sport Formula, where zero to hero elements implied. The main character mostly described as nerd type and later becoming a savior for his surroundings. Plus the commonly ending by diiquieting moment, when we were waiting was Hiccup will going to survive and closed by cheer and applause. Although the flying scene is still thrill and excited. Yes, it is another CGI animation. Yes, it is another feel-good movie.


    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  54. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    Do you remember Stitch ? Well, our dragon has his face. And that is a good thing! Many times during the movie I was amazed how they blended the "cute" dragon with a living beast. It's so believable. OK - I admit I simply like the dragon :) The presentation is easily the best 3D I've seen so far and although the story is a bit predictable, still a solid 10 for me.
  55. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    Rather brilliant, full of real emotion and wonderful breathtaking setpieces. Music is sublime, the animation is beyond beautiful and as an all round package ,one of the best animated movies of the year. Take the hint Dreamworks, more movies like this!
  56. Jan 23, 2011
    9
    i'm from braSil!
    This movie is very good! Simple, interesting, beautiful and breathtaking animations! good mix of action with comedy.
  57. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    This is a fantastic movie coming from Dreamworks Animation. Everything's well done, from the story to the cinematic presentation. The characters are easily liked. Great movie for adults and children alike. If you have kids, this is one movie you wont mind sitting down and watching it with them from time to time.
  58. Oct 29, 2011
    8
    All I can say is I really enjoyed the movie, and I felt like it was the BEST effort so far from Dreamworks Animation. The story was simple, but well told. The world was visulaly interesting, but fun and authenetic. The characters are charming and well voice acted

    It is not as emotionally deep as Up or Toy Story, but that is okay. I think, I woudl rather spend an afternoon with my
    sister's kids watching this move then anything else. Expand
  59. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    This movie is a cult classic. Some dark things happen in this for a kids movie, but that's why it's so awesome. This was one of the best animated films, if not the best animated film of all time
  60. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    How to Train Your Dragon is not just one of the best animated films of 2010, its one of the best animated films, full stop. From the flawless, beautiful visuals to the voice cast, everything is perfect. It's one of those films that just makes you feel great once your finished because it is just so sincere and delightful. It's visuals are terrific with the animation of Toothless the Dragon being some of the best character animation I have ever seen. Despite the fact he doesn't speak you always know what he is thinking. It's masterful. Jay Baruchel leads a brilliant voice cast including the likes of Gerard Butler, America Ferrera, Craig Ferguson and Jonah Hill. Everyone seems to be having great fun with their characters and in doing so, allowing us to enjoy it too. It's a marvel of a project and I'm glad there is another on the way. Expand
  61. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    Possibly the greatest kids movie in a very long time. Absolutely charming, stunningly beautiful, and perfectly satisfying. This is the sort of family movie that actually does what the genre says and appeals to the whole family. I loved it.
  62. Aug 24, 2014
    7
    Strong 3 1/2 stars.

    A sweet, somewhat predictable tale of a boy with an unusual name who keeps disappointing his father and fellow Vikings with his unconvincing appearance, yet manages to herald a new age for his entire community.

    The movie begins on a grim note: battles and destruction are at the forefront of the action, and a certain degree of violence persistently cling to most of
    the movie. However, it manages to elevate the story from childish dreamland to something a little more concrete, and makes the tale of people and dragons all the more tangible.

    The dragon Toothless definitely steals the show, taking best bits of cat- and dog-like behavior, endearing himself to the audience. Seeing the relationship of Hiccup and Toothless grow despite their rocky start - and then seeing that extended to other people - inspires faith in human heart's capacity to love and accept those we once feared.

    A fun, lovely movie that has a lot of laughs,warm & fluffy feelings and all-around enjoyment to spare.
    Expand
  63. Feb 6, 2012
    8
    Awesome. Dragons and vikings. Story is brilliant and CGI also. Well done Dreamworks! Usually Pixar is my preferred CGI Company but this movie is superb. i like :D
  64. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    I would be considered for the older crowd (15-25) when I first watched this movie. No I did not get to enjoy this movie in theaters, but firstly at my houses 60" LCD TV. This was possibly one of the most enjoyable movies I have watched in a long time, and I am a fan of the fantasy genre. The plot is old as any other one, a forbidden friendship. The key to using this plot is how they put a story to it, and I personally loved the way it was expressed in this film. It played out well with a beginning, middle, and an end that will not disappoint. This voice acting is great, as it is in most big releases as such, and the animation was by far amazing. Observing this movie, with its small, but plentiful amount of puns it still carries a dark persona with it. This movie is rather mature when compared to DreamWorks other projects, such as Shrek or Madagascar, when I watch this it truly carries meaning.

    I am not embarrassed while talking about this, due to the fact itâ
    Expand
  65. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    How to Train Your Dragon is exciting, magical and sincere. Too bad that is only the case between the boy and the Dragon toothless. With all the action and exciting times throughout the film it needed to stop and let emotion take over for a bit.
  66. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    This is the most fantastic, amazing, brilliant movie I have ever seen. Why? Well first of all the music is perfect, always capturing the moment perfectly. Second, the story it just amazing. I don't want to give anything away, so just watch and you will see why. Third, the voice acting is fantastic. Jay Baruchel plays Hiccup the main character, and America Ferrera plays the love interest Astrid. Jay Baruchel does a perfect job at playing Hiccup because he is just like Hiccup in many ways. Forth and final reason why this movie is fantastic, amazing, and brilliant is that the visuals are amazing. The animation looks nothing like you have seen before. You can see every little freckle on Hiccups face, even a scar or two. Most people would think of How to Train Your Dragon as a kids movie. Well I don't think so and so does Dreamworks. Dreamworks has said many times it is not intended to be a kids movie more of a teen and adult flick. You will notice if you ask a kid about this movie they do not remember it. Why, because they have seen so many other movies that are more kid like that this one slips their mind probably. Most of the fans are teens and adults, but that doesn't mean a kid would not like it, just that teens and adults will appreciate it more. This movie deserves a 10 out of 10. I say buy it. If you have a 3D TV watch in 3D because the 3D also looks fantastic. Dreamworks made the best animated movie ever in my book. Expand
  67. Jan 16, 2013
    8
    "How to Train Your Dragon" excels visually and creatively. Although I would change the ending a bit in order to pack an emotional punch, you can not deny the raw beauty of animation and visuals when you see them. Truly a gem of animated features.
  68. Jul 17, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very heart warming children's movie that works for adults as well. Pixar is known for its great animation, but DreamWorks is gaining because of their ability to learn that emotional connection is the key. Expand
  69. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    Having watched this film first on DVD, I sure wish I didn't. With its stunning scenes, its wonderful script, and surprising depth, "How to Train Your Dragon" truly is in itself a winner. While its story tangles with the "Aladdin", "Avatar", and several of other tales told before, the story still shines with its wonderful creative spin off of its book series. With several more positives than negatives to the story, its a fun and new tale to everyone. Expand
  70. May 20, 2014
    8
    You know 2010 was a pretty packed year for good animated movies, I mean we had this, Toy Story 3, Tangled, Megamind, Despicable Me, Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole. All of them are good movies in their own right but i would have to say that this is my second favorite animated movie to come out that year behind Toy Story 3 of course. Dreamworks Animation has always had some decent movies a few being Antz, Shrek, Kung Fu Panda, Megamind, but it seems that people always put them behind in the race with Pixar. ill honest here and say that this movie is better then the last 3 Pixar films without a doubt. The voice cast is freaking great, the animation was top notch, the action/flight scenes were awesome, and the story does have it's heartfelt moments when needed. The only problem i have with the movie is that the story never really seems to take off, for me it seemed that the writers played it safe but other then that i loved it.

    Overall i give it a 8.0 One problem i had when i first watched the film was Jay Baruchel as Hiccup his voice just didn't seem to fit but after a couple of times watching it his voice grew on me. I really can't wait to watch How to Train Your Dragon 2 but i already know it's not going to be as good as this one though, The trailers do make it look as if it will be just as fun filled as the first so count me in for a theater viewing.
    Expand
  71. Jun 15, 2014
    7
    Thoroughly entertaining, and beautifully animated. Yet DreamWorks still cannot live up to Pixar's heart, creativity, and vibrance of animation. Still, DreamWorks shows its talents here.
  72. Oct 22, 2013
    6
    A pretty good kids movie, but adults will probably not enjoy it as much. The animations are good, and the characters are likable, but the story drags in some parts. Overall, it is a heartwarming film, but with some flaws.
  73. Dec 20, 2013
    5
    To put it plainly, How to Train Your Dragon is generic, predictable and just unfunny. It's just another story of a dorky kid trying to impress the most popular kid in school, who just so happens to be a girl who is also the most talented viking warrior of the kids; of course (I didn't even know that female vikings existed). The movie boasts visual dazzles and excitement on the same level as Avatar, but in the end, it's just not enough. For me, this movie was nothing special, and represents the lowlights of Dreamworks movies like Bee movie and Turbo. Not one of the highlights like Skrek, Madagascar or Kung fu Panda. Expand
  74. Nov 20, 2013
    6
    How to maintain your ass from dragging.
    A very good animated tale with a very slow precise execution. The characters are believable and the story is nice, but some areas of the film are simply boring...
  75. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    I can't believe I haven't watched this earlier. Well, now I've seen it three times in about 3 months. I might even say it's my favorite animated movie of all time and that's pretty big since I grew up with all kinds of animated movies. And this wins them all despite of the nostalgia many older movies bring to me. It makes me ask myself the same question all my favorite movies and video games do: "why can't my life be like this?". But not everybody is a friend of these kind of movies. It might feel pretty generic and boring for some people and I can see that it doesn't actually bring much new to the table with it's storyline. But I'm a fan of happy endings and heartwarming stories. Expand
  76. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    I love this film and it doesn't matter how many times I watch it, always makes me emotional. The animation is wonderful and the soundtrack is perfection. The 3D version is worth getting also. I hope the second one holds up to this. Also people shouldn't assume that because is animated its for children. As I watch a lot of anime this is defiantly not the case.
  77. May 12, 2014
    9
    I remember around the time this movie was being made I was already reading the original How to Train Your Dragon book and when I read it, I really enjoyed the story of the book; but when I saw the trailer for this film adaption, I was not pleased because it looked like it had a totally different story from the book and it did; however when I saw it in theaters I highly enjoyed it. Sure it has a totally new story with only a few elements from the books, but the action and emotional height and creativity that went into this film was great and I would recommend it. Expand
  78. Sep 1, 2014
    10
    “How to train your dragon” is the story of a furious dragon, Toothless, and a genius dragon fighter, Hiccup. Dragons constantly raid Hiccup's town, steal the live stock, and set the houses on fire. Hiccup's father is leader of the town, a legendary dragon fighter, and Hiccups role model. Hiccup craves to be like his father but he lacks the essential skills to fight dragons. He is clumsy, cowardly, and weak. Still he relentlessly practices to become a dragon fighter even though nobody takes him seriously.

    “How to train your dragon” is the story of a young boy searching for his identity; searching for who he wants to be and how to become it. It is a story of perseverance. It shows when traditions and conventions are hindering you, they should be changed or abandoned. When Hiccup fails to become a dragon fighter by following the traditional and conventional methods, he questions their authenticity, meticulously examines them, refines them, or even completely rejects them and devises new unorthodox ways. The myths fascinate him in the fantasy world but do not blind him in the real world.

    “How to train your dragon” is full of sublime messages and themes but it is not a heavy handed movie for the elite. Quite conversely, it is an extraordinarily fun movie to watch, a movie that even toddlers can enjoy. The graphic design is phenomenal, soundtracks are captivating, dialogues are fluid and seamless, and it has a remarkable story to tell. This is indeed one of the best achievements in the history of animations.
    Expand
  79. Aug 13, 2014
    7
    "How to Train Your Dragon" is surprisingly balanced in terms of both plot and emotion, and its wonderful animation matches its intriguing characters. Perhaps too action-packed to get its points made, but overall amusing for kids and enjoyable for adults.
  80. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    An emotional, but great movie, capturing the importance of trust and friendship and how it can bring peace to different populations. Favorite animated movie so far!
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. An exciting, fun and sensationally entertaining movie for everyone.
  2. Rouses you in conventional ways, but it's also the rare animated film that uses 3-D for its breathtaking spatial and emotional possibilities.
  3. 75
    Works enough miracles of 3-D animation to charm your socks off.