User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 282 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 97 out of 282
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobQ.
    Jun 22, 2003
    4
    Nothing is more sad than seeing a great story ruined by a director with no vision. Hulk was boring, confusing, and a waste of time. Too bad, really. The computer animation was wonderful. When Hulk was actually on the screen. the movie was exciting and touching. Tragically, this is only about 1/4 of the time. In the meantime, Lee insists on his creedo: "why shoot the scene in 20 seconds Nothing is more sad than seeing a great story ruined by a director with no vision. Hulk was boring, confusing, and a waste of time. Too bad, really. The computer animation was wonderful. When Hulk was actually on the screen. the movie was exciting and touching. Tragically, this is only about 1/4 of the time. In the meantime, Lee insists on his creedo: "why shoot the scene in 20 seconds when we can stretch it out endlessly". Hulk 2 should be great...I'm sue Lee will not be involved after this fiasco. Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    Ang Lee's Hulk doesn't work. It tries to be more than it is, and fails. What it is, is loud, disjointed action sequences separated by boring stretches that try to provoke thoughts and don't.
  3. Nov 3, 2013
    5
    Ang Lee's version of the Hulk is very long and fuelled with over the top action. Eric Bana stars as Bruce Banner and the Hulk. First of all, this is the most average superhero movies that I have ever seen. It's corny and long with some good action scenes. The atmosphere is tense and great but the story and dialogue also the acting is corny and bad. Ang Lee makes Hulk take great leaps andAng Lee's version of the Hulk is very long and fuelled with over the top action. Eric Bana stars as Bruce Banner and the Hulk. First of all, this is the most average superhero movies that I have ever seen. It's corny and long with some good action scenes. The atmosphere is tense and great but the story and dialogue also the acting is corny and bad. Ang Lee makes Hulk take great leaps and awesome helicopter takedowns but the acting, direction and story is very dumb. Lee makes a very well action sequenced but corny film that should only be watched by hardcore Hulk or action, blowing, Eric Bana, more blowing up and even more blowing up fans. Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    5
    Holk realmente no se muestra como es hasta el increíble Hulk en 2008 creo, sin embargo no es una descepcion...........................................
  5. JerryT.
    Jun 20, 2003
    4
    Um yea i dont know why anyone would give this a 10 cause its not that good. the movie was wayyyyyyyyyyy too long. if any movie makes me have to go pee twice and i do leave the movie both times it is not a good movie. he was basically super man he might as well have been called green super man. it wasnt a terrible movie but it wasnt all that good either. the characters were all wellUm yea i dont know why anyone would give this a 10 cause its not that good. the movie was wayyyyyyyyyyy too long. if any movie makes me have to go pee twice and i do leave the movie both times it is not a good movie. he was basically super man he might as well have been called green super man. it wasnt a terrible movie but it wasnt all that good either. the characters were all well developed and the hulk made me think that was an actual hulk. the story just dragged on forever. my advice is to wait for it to come on dvd and watch it at home cause then u can pause and use the toliet. Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2011
    5
    Visually, the movie looks like a well done Hulk adaptation. The plot, however, was completely laughable, abandoning many aspects of the Hulk comic books, and just plain forgettable. Thank God for the much, much better "Incredible Hulk" movie in 2008.
  7. Aug 28, 2011
    4
    I could hardly believe myself when I told a colleague of mine that the movie about a brilliant scientist who is transformed into a gamma ray-powered green monster that fights the military who intend to destroy him was the dullest experience of the year. But it was. Hulk is a clunky drama that moves at a glacial pace, which is never a desirable trait in a movie about a giant green monster.
  8. Mar 7, 2012
    4
    The only good in this film is the poster. Is atractive. But the film that is the most important is a biggest disaster, the performance of Eric Bana like Hulk is terrible, and this poor intent to do that Hulk looks like a bad and violent guy, really? because is like a Barney's friend.
  9. JohnY.
    Jun 21, 2003
    6
    I admire Lee?s work, but he was the wrong choice here. When an art-house director is unleashed on a superhero flick, you get one very confused film. The movie invests too much time in discovering its own psychological identity; it drags and drags, and most tragically, it forgets that summer blockbusters are suppose to be fun.
  10. EricC.
    Jun 21, 2003
    5
    I wasn't half bad. But then again it wasn't half good either. All the good scenes are given away in the previews, and what wasn't shown was the very long and somewhat dull dialogue. Don't get me wrong; the special effects and action scenes were very enjoyable to watch. It just that there's not enough action to fill in a movie over two hours. What surprised me most I wasn't half bad. But then again it wasn't half good either. All the good scenes are given away in the previews, and what wasn't shown was the very long and somewhat dull dialogue. Don't get me wrong; the special effects and action scenes were very enjoyable to watch. It just that there's not enough action to fill in a movie over two hours. What surprised me most though was that Ang Lee's direction was pretty unimpressive, not to mention the lame performances given by Bana and Nolte. The multiple panel comic book style was overdone, and the movie came out too serious and artsy to be an action-comic book movie. I really hope this style is not used in anymore comic-book movies, and I could live without a Hulk 2. Expand
  11. BradA.
    Jun 21, 2003
    5
    I went for fun... ended up not having any. Drab film.
  12. JoshuaW.
    Jun 30, 2003
    6
    It was an decent movie. I thought that the main cast was great but that the supporting cast didn't work at all. As for the special effects, they were hit a miss. Sometimes I was in awe of the Hulk and at other times I wish Ang Lee had contracted Peter Jackson's Weta to do the effects. As for the story, it was alright but not by any means great. I also enjoyed Lee's comic It was an decent movie. I thought that the main cast was great but that the supporting cast didn't work at all. As for the special effects, they were hit a miss. Sometimes I was in awe of the Hulk and at other times I wish Ang Lee had contracted Peter Jackson's Weta to do the effects. As for the story, it was alright but not by any means great. I also enjoyed Lee's comic book style cinematography, but he used it way too much and should have used it only at times when it helped to speed up the story in-between major sequences. I know that I'm being way too picky concerning a summer action movie but the whole point of having Ang Lee direct this movie was to make it more than just a popcorn flick, which it isn't. But it's also not a great film either. The Hulk exists somewhere in the middle of being a great film or just being a mindless distraction. Expand
  13. TimA.
    Aug 25, 2003
    6
    Accept the CGI faults i think it was good. Perhaps they should have left the acting to the actual "actors" rather than a program!
  14. Marc.D.
    Oct 7, 2007
    6
    Is the movie good? No, not really. Is it as bad as most reviewers would have you believe? Again, no. The Hulk as a film is as confused about its identity as the titular character. It clearly has no idea if it wishes to be a whimsical psychological journey into a fractures human being...or bash things to pieces. The result is a convulated piece of work by Ang Lee which seems to shoot for, Is the movie good? No, not really. Is it as bad as most reviewers would have you believe? Again, no. The Hulk as a film is as confused about its identity as the titular character. It clearly has no idea if it wishes to be a whimsical psychological journey into a fractures human being...or bash things to pieces. The result is a convulated piece of work by Ang Lee which seems to shoot for, and miss, all it's goals. Beyond the confusing and out there plot is a technical misfire which no one can avoid. The visual effects simple do not possess the polish required for the audience to abandon all disbelief that a monstrous green behemoth is leaping about on the screen. It fails on the most basic visceral level. For all it's faults...Hulk is not a walking ton of waste. It simply offers too many subplots...and far too little of the angry green man himself. Expand
  15. BillJ.
    Nov 1, 2003
    6
    It was better than I expected. I wished I had ignored the reviews I saw and seen it on the big screen. My only previous exposure to the Hulk was the TV show that aired some years ago. I did expect to find Dr. David Banner following the same path as on the TV show - eluding police, moving from one place to another continuously, keeping a low profile, trying to find a cure. But the movie It was better than I expected. I wished I had ignored the reviews I saw and seen it on the big screen. My only previous exposure to the Hulk was the TV show that aired some years ago. I did expect to find Dr. David Banner following the same path as on the TV show - eluding police, moving from one place to another continuously, keeping a low profile, trying to find a cure. But the movie was different. The animation was very realistic. But was it true to the comic version? Was the Hulk in the comics able to make miles long leaps like in the movie? I would have liked to see a little more angst and introspection from Banner in the movie. His character just did not meld well with his alternate Hulk character. They were like two completely different entities. Expand
  16. JerryT.
    Jun 20, 2003
    4
    Um yea i dont know why anyone would give this a 10 cause its not that good. the movie was wayyyyyyyyyyy too long. if any movie makes me have to go pee twice and i do leave the movie both times it is not a good movie. he was basically super man he might as well have been called green super man. it wasnt a terrible movie but it wasnt all that good either. the characters were all wellUm yea i dont know why anyone would give this a 10 cause its not that good. the movie was wayyyyyyyyyyy too long. if any movie makes me have to go pee twice and i do leave the movie both times it is not a good movie. he was basically super man he might as well have been called green super man. it wasnt a terrible movie but it wasnt all that good either. the characters were all well developed and the hulk made me think that was an actual hulk. the story just dragged on forever. my advice is to wait for it to come on dvd and watch it at home cause then u can pause and use the toliet. Expand
  17. Meat
    Jul 18, 2003
    4
    Way too long and boring. Also, the story was tired and predictable. ie. How many times can you re-hash the "Government Conspiracy" idea. Everybody complained about how goofy the CGI was. However, it wasn't THAT bad... the acting and plot was far worse. I'm disappointed in Ang L. and Jennifer C. She cried throughout the whole movie. ugh!
  18. ChadS.
    Jul 3, 2003
    5
    Only airplanes and Superman should be allowed to fly. The Hulk must be a pretty boring screen subject, as evidenced by his prodigious ability to long distance jump. Who is this movie for? The lovers don't get it on, and the helicopters don't explode. For the sake of the kids, yes, but what juvenile under the age of ten will enjoy the odes to "Frankenstein" and "King Kong"? Nick Only airplanes and Superman should be allowed to fly. The Hulk must be a pretty boring screen subject, as evidenced by his prodigious ability to long distance jump. Who is this movie for? The lovers don't get it on, and the helicopters don't explode. For the sake of the kids, yes, but what juvenile under the age of ten will enjoy the odes to "Frankenstein" and "King Kong"? Nick Nolte revives "Weeds" during the coda, and you may spot a reference to "Princess Mononoke". It's alright for the Hulk to be mega-strong and angst-ridden, but keep his two feet on the ground. And the usually brilliant Jennifer Connelly cries too much in this movie. There's no crying in baseball, and there's no crying in summer blockbusters. Expand
  19. ScottF.
    Nov 19, 2003
    5
    This movie had promise but the execution was extremely poor. The movie was drawn out far too long with the action sequences few and far between. At one point in the movie I was thinking to myself, "I wish this movie would just hurry up and end." Definitely no Spiderman. Also, I didn't read the comics much but how can the hulk jump from one continent to another. I mean they might as This movie had promise but the execution was extremely poor. The movie was drawn out far too long with the action sequences few and far between. At one point in the movie I was thinking to myself, "I wish this movie would just hurry up and end." Definitely no Spiderman. Also, I didn't read the comics much but how can the hulk jump from one continent to another. I mean they might as well have made him superman! Really, the only thing that would make me want to watch this movie again is to see Jennifer Connelly. I thought she looked stunning in the movie! Expand
  20. May 11, 2015
    4
    The Hulk is entertaining when it actually focuses on the Hulk especially in the last third. If the film was condensed and made the last third the focus it could’ve been a decent film. Ang Lee instead chooses to focus on uninteresting characters and keep the Hulk out of the film for the majority of the story. While Ang Lee may be good at making stylish action movies the comic book genre isThe Hulk is entertaining when it actually focuses on the Hulk especially in the last third. If the film was condensed and made the last third the focus it could’ve been a decent film. Ang Lee instead chooses to focus on uninteresting characters and keep the Hulk out of the film for the majority of the story. While Ang Lee may be good at making stylish action movies the comic book genre is not his place. Thankfully five years from this film’s release a better Hulk movie would come out that would spotlight the last third of the film. Expand
  21. Mar 2, 2012
    5
    Ang Lee's Hulk is messy, disjointed and very odd. An original take on a superhero movie is always welcome but this movie misses the mark. The plot makes little sense and is poorly executed. The action scenes never fully satisfy as watching the Hulk destroy things isn't as fun as it should be. Some visual effects are pretty cool and the movie should be commended for placing an emphasis onAng Lee's Hulk is messy, disjointed and very odd. An original take on a superhero movie is always welcome but this movie misses the mark. The plot makes little sense and is poorly executed. The action scenes never fully satisfy as watching the Hulk destroy things isn't as fun as it should be. Some visual effects are pretty cool and the movie should be commended for placing an emphasis on character over relentless action. Expand
  22. Nov 17, 2013
    4
    I really love Ang Lee's performance in "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon," but what he did just turned Hulk into a block of green glob all over. In my personal point of view, the 2003 version of Hulk was a catastrophe. Dusted into thin air, why would I want to see this Marvel movie if it was a good movie? I mean, I'm a huge fan of The Incredible Hulk since I was growing up reading everyI really love Ang Lee's performance in "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon," but what he did just turned Hulk into a block of green glob all over. In my personal point of view, the 2003 version of Hulk was a catastrophe. Dusted into thin air, why would I want to see this Marvel movie if it was a good movie? I mean, I'm a huge fan of The Incredible Hulk since I was growing up reading every single cliffhangers on what would happen next. Hulk (2003), on the other hand, is beyond disappointing. The acting is bad, the story is ridiculous, and somehow I love the action sequences a little bit, but it wasted for like 2 1/2 hours. Fans really hated this movie. So bad you might even need a barf bag or throw it in the bargain bin just like terrible Marvel sociallites like Daredevil and The Punisher. But finally, my wish for a reboot came true because the 2008 version is slightly the best reboot (before Amazing Spider-Man) better than any superhero movie ever. Because I would hope if they've learned something right from making bad choices from the Ang Lee version. Expand
  23. Aug 5, 2013
    5
    Though it contains decent Hulk smashing action in it, it's overlong with too much dialogue choked up into it that by the time the action comes around you feel too deprived of quality entertainment.
  24. Apr 3, 2014
    5
    Every director has one bad movie out of many great ones, and this is Ang Lee's example of this. The Hulk is not at all what one would expect from Lee; it is superficial, over-exaggerated, and cliché-heavy. If you want a good Hulk movie, try "The Incredible Hulk". It is much better than this average fare.
  25. Jan 2, 2014
    4
    A surprisingly boring film despite the amount of effects and action sequences. The characters lack chemistry and the comic book panelling between sequences is amateurish at its best.
  26. Feb 1, 2015
    4
    Magnificently directed and well acted, but dramatically inert and partly dull, "Hulk" is, along with Daredevil and Ghost Rider movies, one of the weakest entries in the super-hero genre and in Marvel's track record.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. 50
    The main problem with The Hulk, really, is that there isn't enough Hulk in it.
  2. 70
    The real star is the splendid computer-generated Hulk, though his King Kong-like story is compromised by the need to keep him around for the inevitable sequel.
  3. The Hulk has a split personality: Two-thirds come from director Ang Lee, one-third from '60s comic book creator Stan Lee.