Hustle & Flow

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 149 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 149

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    The realistic and believable depiction of Howard's character's life isn't what makes this movie so great. This is one of the movies that is solid in almost everything, writing and story wise but is made great by the acting. Especially Taraji P. Henson and Terrence Hoawrd deliver stellar performances
  2. AlexE.
    Jul 26, 2005
    8
    "Hustle & Flow" is, essentially, a movie about the love of music. In the scenes where DJay, Key, and Shelby hole up in a back room of DJay's run-down house, the movie has an almost electric feeling about it. It is a credit to Terrence Howard's brilliant performance that the rhymes his character speaks in these scenes truly feel improvised. When he steps up to the microphone and "Hustle & Flow" is, essentially, a movie about the love of music. In the scenes where DJay, Key, and Shelby hole up in a back room of DJay's run-down house, the movie has an almost electric feeling about it. It is a credit to Terrence Howard's brilliant performance that the rhymes his character speaks in these scenes truly feel improvised. When he steps up to the microphone and says, "This is my heart right here," you believe him entirely. However, one must not overlook the quietly powerful Taraji P. Henson, who plays Shug, one of DJay's girls who is now pregnant. Her scene with Howard toward the end of the film where she gives him her present is the stuff that Best Supporting Actress nominations are made of. Unfortunately, my Yankee ears had a rough time deciphering Howard's authentic Memphis accent at first, so I was essentially clueless as to what was going on in the first scenes. But the 70's Blaxploitation-style credits were more than enough to get me hooked. Great music, great cinematography, great acting, but a flawed script. Despite an almost fatal last-act twist, the film is a gritty, powerful, crowd-pleasing indie gem that deserves an audience. Expand
  3. AshN
    Jul 28, 2005
    3
    I found myself checking my watch constantly in this movie. There were so many parts that could have been cut out because they were completely irrelevant. Unlike Martin Luther's post, I wasn't offended by the vulgarity of "pimpin," I just found this movie to be very slow to bloom. The acting was mediocre, and the accents were annoying to me. The only thing that salvaged this I found myself checking my watch constantly in this movie. There were so many parts that could have been cut out because they were completely irrelevant. Unlike Martin Luther's post, I wasn't offended by the vulgarity of "pimpin," I just found this movie to be very slow to bloom. The acting was mediocre, and the accents were annoying to me. The only thing that salvaged this movie was the slight action scene near the end, and the great sound trac. I assume the reason people scored this well is mainly due in part to the lack of movies like this, or they're just huge fans of the hip hop culture. I scored this a 3 only because I felt there were a few movies out there with poor production quality and even more horrible scripts that deserved the lower ranking slots. Expand
  4. LindaD.
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    The first thing I ask a movie like this to be is honest. If you
  5. RiskP.
    Jan 25, 2006
    9
    The poster describing "authentic" Memphis accent must not be a Memphian. Howard's dialect coach gave him a solid Southern base, but in dialog it often skewed closer to white Appalachia ("Deppity Dawgh") more than a North Memphis gateway hustler. Nevertheless, I'm a sucker for films about the creation of art, and I pretty much lost it when Shug reacted to hearing her own voice on The poster describing "authentic" Memphis accent must not be a Memphian. Howard's dialect coach gave him a solid Southern base, but in dialog it often skewed closer to white Appalachia ("Deppity Dawgh") more than a North Memphis gateway hustler. Nevertheless, I'm a sucker for films about the creation of art, and I pretty much lost it when Shug reacted to hearing her own voice on playback. Hell, I'm losing it just writing about it. Collapse
  6. rjh
    Jul 11, 2005
    1
    What a waste of time.
  7. TemmaM.
    Jul 13, 2005
    9
    Loved it! Super sexy, sweet, and gritty film backed by amazing hip hop track!
  8. SunnyS.
    Jul 22, 2005
    0
    A movie set in Memphis without mention of the Blues?! Just another hip hop mtv trash film white washing peoples heritage.
  9. EdB.
    Jul 27, 2005
    9
    I was impressed by the drama and excitement created by events that were, for the most part, believable reality. Too many movies require a suspension of disbelief to accept their premise. However, I did feel that the role of the pimp was "cleaned up" to ensure a sympathetic character. A real pimp would have used more violence as well as head games to control his stable by fear and I was impressed by the drama and excitement created by events that were, for the most part, believable reality. Too many movies require a suspension of disbelief to accept their premise. However, I did feel that the role of the pimp was "cleaned up" to ensure a sympathetic character. A real pimp would have used more violence as well as head games to control his stable by fear and unpredictability. Putting that criticism aside, I thoroughly enjoyed watching the film play out. The supporting characters added depth to the movie with exemplary performances. I would agree with those who feel this is one of the best movies the season in spite of it's flaws. The humanity, love of music and courage to follow a dream are worthy subjects for any filmaker. Go see this film. Expand
  10. IshaP
    Aug 1, 2005
    0
    I dont think that I can say this enough... WHAT HAPPENED TO OUR CULTURE!! I cannot believe that people are taking this movie serious. Not only do I think that it plays on such an ignorant part of the African-American community i.e (pimps and tricks) but what we consider to be an astounding movie is TOTALLY ignorant! The lyrics were thoughtless, disrespectful and just flat out meaningless. I dont think that I can say this enough... WHAT HAPPENED TO OUR CULTURE!! I cannot believe that people are taking this movie serious. Not only do I think that it plays on such an ignorant part of the African-American community i.e (pimps and tricks) but what we consider to be an astounding movie is TOTALLY ignorant! The lyrics were thoughtless, disrespectful and just flat out meaningless. And what was the point of having church people be producers of such violent and vulgar lyrics? Terrance Howard that just finished doing CRASH was an astounding role and undeniably great film. For him to stoop to this level and carry the torch to represent his culture this way, after Jamir Foxx has proved that we are Academy potential actors, makes him highly unfavorable. This movie is sick and disgusting, the acting is poor and EVERYONE sold themselves and everyone that is connected to them SHORT! I am totally disappointed!! Expand
  11. yogir.
    Aug 13, 2005
    10
    Most excellent movie I've seen all year. It actually had me showing empathy for the pimp and his whores. He was a hero.
  12. duntap.
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    Great job by everybody that worked on this movie.
  13. JonoL
    Aug 20, 2005
    9
    GREAT FILM, SOUNDTRACK and CONTENT!. True to life, excellent acting. Terrific snapshot of a segment of life that is often overlooked. Always great to see and underdog. Singleton's creation was outstanding. Howard's performance was incredible. Great film!
  14. JenniferT.
    Aug 2, 2005
    9
    Excellent movie. Howard's performance was mesmerizing. The sessions felt real -- and it brilliantly captured the energy of a studio.
  15. ChadS.
    Aug 4, 2005
    9
    In "Hustle and Flow", the filmmaker shows rap's critics where the genre's harder strains originates from, with a very methodical introduction to the wanna-be MC's environment and lifestyle. If the life of D-Jay (take a bow Terrence Dashon Howard) is an accurate reflection of how real gangsta rappers operate, to expect political correctness in their lyrical treatment of In "Hustle and Flow", the filmmaker shows rap's critics where the genre's harder strains originates from, with a very methodical introduction to the wanna-be MC's environment and lifestyle. If the life of D-Jay (take a bow Terrence Dashon Howard) is an accurate reflection of how real gangsta rappers operate, to expect political correctness in their lyrical treatment of women and attitudes towards violence, is to exact censorship which manifests into selling out your community and the people who still live there, like the increasingly commercial Ludacris character. In "Hustle and Flow", we get the seemingly perverse notion that clean rap is more offensive. This amazing film leaves you with a better understanding of culture, and it contains scenes that depict song birthing better than any film since...I don't know. You barely understand what D-Jay is saying underneath that regional accent, but you can hear him loud and clear when he's on the mic, when his life snaps into focus. Expand
  16. K-Ci
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    Man ima be real this movie was off the chain. Anyone who is trying to make it big trying to make a dalla out of 15 cents will feel this movie. For those people who found that this movie was making disrespecting the African American culture must not have survived in the streets but unstead lived with Mommy and Daddy there whole life and doesn't understand the struggle most of us go Man ima be real this movie was off the chain. Anyone who is trying to make it big trying to make a dalla out of 15 cents will feel this movie. For those people who found that this movie was making disrespecting the African American culture must not have survived in the streets but unstead lived with Mommy and Daddy there whole life and doesn't understand the struggle most of us go throu. I give this movie 2 thumbs up and its my third time watching it. I think this movie did a fonaminal job catching the emotions and really touching people who live in the struggle. Expand
  17. JohnW.
    Feb 3, 2006
    10
    What movie were people like the NY Times watching? I am an avid worshipper of the NY times but do they really have those Norteast Liberal blinders on? This is the best movie of the year. No questions asked. It should have been nominated and easliy have won for Best Picture and Terrence and Joaquin shoud be neck and neck for Best Actor. This is not a slight to PSH who is my favorite actor What movie were people like the NY Times watching? I am an avid worshipper of the NY times but do they really have those Norteast Liberal blinders on? This is the best movie of the year. No questions asked. It should have been nominated and easliy have won for Best Picture and Terrence and Joaquin shoud be neck and neck for Best Actor. This is not a slight to PSH who is my favorite actor on earth but his performance of Capote while brilliant is totally one dimensional. Hustle & Flow is the American dream at its roughest and most uncomforatble. The dialect was dead on and I grew up in Memphis. And no this is not a John Singleton movie it is a masterpiece of Craig Brewer's that took almost a decade to get made. It is not about exploitation of woman but more about exploiting every gd opportunity given to a person in order to feel like you made a dent in this world. Why do the Oscars always miss the best films of the year? Expand
  18. Debriah
    Feb 4, 2006
    10
    At first I would never have gone to see a movie with a pimp. This movie touched my life. Terrance Howard delivers this film message with poise and ease. Mr. Howard Play a character that is so belive to the American Underdog. I loved this film. The strongest message in the film was.... No matter who you are, where you are from, You have a dream. A dream that may not be attainable. But At first I would never have gone to see a movie with a pimp. This movie touched my life. Terrance Howard delivers this film message with poise and ease. Mr. Howard Play a character that is so belive to the American Underdog. I loved this film. The strongest message in the film was.... No matter who you are, where you are from, You have a dream. A dream that may not be attainable. But nontheless, a dream..... I loved this film. I think everyone should see this film. It was wonderful. Expand
  19. MarcelaV.
    Feb 6, 2006
    10
    I agree with John W. This is the best movie in years about the American underclass and the authencity of hip hop that captures that reality. The NYT, Village Voice and LA times are wrong; I am an educated latina professional and I was not insulted by this film. It revealed the humanity behind the sterotypes of pimps and prostitutes. In a fair world, it would have gotten more attention.
  20. DanC.
    Mar 6, 2006
    9
    Sometimes a performance elevates an otherwise unremarkable film to a higher level. Terrence Howard OWNS this film. He masters it. He channels the character with raw emotion, much as the character channels his own life into song. The supporting cast is good, and the story is serviceable, but it's the performance at the center that makes this not just a good movie, but a great one. I Sometimes a performance elevates an otherwise unremarkable film to a higher level. Terrence Howard OWNS this film. He masters it. He channels the character with raw emotion, much as the character channels his own life into song. The supporting cast is good, and the story is serviceable, but it's the performance at the center that makes this not just a good movie, but a great one. I didn't care for the idea of a sympathetic pimp, nor am I a big fan of hip hop, and so I waited a long time to see it. Now I see why so many people consider it one of the best of the last year. See it now! Expand
  21. PaulD.
    Apr 21, 2006
    8
    Traditional "Let's put on a show" plot morphs into gritty, intense urban fantasy. Good performances, especially by Terence Howard as the pimp, turned hip hop artist.
  22. JeffM.
    Aug 10, 2006
    8
    Terrance Howard rocks, the music is great, and the film, if nothing else, manages to make you root for a pimp.
  23. PatrickM.
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    This movie gets better with repeated viewings. Not many movies you can say that about. Even though I heard some good things about it when it came out, I didn't see it because the subject matter didn't interest me. Trouble relating to the whole pimp and ho, hip-hop culture. Glad I caught it on cable, because this movie presents more of the universal human experience than 99% of This movie gets better with repeated viewings. Not many movies you can say that about. Even though I heard some good things about it when it came out, I didn't see it because the subject matter didn't interest me. Trouble relating to the whole pimp and ho, hip-hop culture. Glad I caught it on cable, because this movie presents more of the universal human experience than 99% of the garbage out there. Far better than Crash, which is unwatchable a second time around. Great performances throughout...I'll be looking for more from Craig Brewer. Expand
  24. ElaineM.
    Oct 15, 2005
    8
    Wonderful movie, except for the sappy ending. The cast was uniformly terrific. I hope they're rewarded with nominations come awards season.
  25. juliafi
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    Terrance Howard is my favorite actor. Any video or movie he is in wil have all the woman I know spending their Crash, I mean cash. He looked magnificant in that movie too. He is great in every role I've seen him in. I think it's the eyes.
  26. JoeB.
    Jul 23, 2005
    9
    The best film to come out of Sundance this year will also likely be the best film of the summer (if not the year). Great performances by Howard and Manning, sharp writing and directing, and a soundtrack that even had middle aged mormons walking out of their Park City screenings singing "Whoop that trick!" Hustle & Flow will work for everyone except those too stubborn to get passed the The best film to come out of Sundance this year will also likely be the best film of the summer (if not the year). Great performances by Howard and Manning, sharp writing and directing, and a soundtrack that even had middle aged mormons walking out of their Park City screenings singing "Whoop that trick!" Hustle & Flow will work for everyone except those too stubborn to get passed the thick Memphis accents and gritty look at prositituion (altough let it be said, every character here is so well written you can't even begin to suggest anyone here is stereotypical). See it over every other film this week, you won't be disappointed. Expand
  27. NormG.
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    Will probably be my #1 for 2005.
  28. MartinLutherC.
    Jul 25, 2005
    0
    It's absolutely tragic that American culture has to be destroyed and mongrelized by a section of our society that should have remained in the dark cuty shadows, instead of on movie screens. The very idea that the term "Pimp" has become some kind of romanticized term, instead of the bottom of the gutter slug-like sub-humans that take advantage of women and not only sell them into It's absolutely tragic that American culture has to be destroyed and mongrelized by a section of our society that should have remained in the dark cuty shadows, instead of on movie screens. The very idea that the term "Pimp" has become some kind of romanticized term, instead of the bottom of the gutter slug-like sub-humans that take advantage of women and not only sell them into sexual slavery, but steal the money that these women earn from their tragic "occupation". I, for one, cannot wait until this pathetic concept known as "Pimpin'" and every brainless clone that follows this senseless and absolutely reprehensible ideolgy is laughed at in the same way that we mock 70's disco or all the cheesey pop that came in the 80's. Both of those decades will soon be looked at as much more valuable and much less destructive to this country than the "Hip Hop Culture" has become. This movie could be the "Citizen Kane" of Hip Hop movies and it would still be absolute swill. Any generation that chooses to listen to this type of absolute garbage DESERVES WHAT IT GETS. Expand
  29. keithw.
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    The best movie of the Summer and probably 2005. I can't imagine seeing a better performance this year then Howards.
  30. gwens.
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    Who hasn't struggled to achieve some of the better thing in life against the odds and who doesn't know someone like d'jay ? He's down but not out . All the characters have issues and you know the anxiety that comes with it. In America anyone can challenge his fate with a little determination and hard work. Terrence made you feel his struggle even if he was a pimp and Who hasn't struggled to achieve some of the better thing in life against the odds and who doesn't know someone like d'jay ? He's down but not out . All the characters have issues and you know the anxiety that comes with it. In America anyone can challenge his fate with a little determination and hard work. Terrence made you feel his struggle even if he was a pimp and his crew was hanging on to the dream too. It's a great story told from the bottom looking up. Expand
  31. JudyT.
    Aug 10, 2005
    5
    Much ado about nothing. Too bad Kee wasn't inspired by the beautiful music he was recording. He had the talent.
  32. Spongeee
    Sep 22, 2005
    1
    Wow!!! This was such a horrible movie. Maybe it wouldnt be so bad if it wasnt over hyped by MTV. But this is a cookie cutter, made for the white folks movie about black people. Every aspect is bad about this film, esp the writting. Thank goodness I waited to watch it at the $1 theater.
  33. MattH.
    Sep 24, 2005
    10
    The best movie of the year. John Singleton's second best to Boyz in the Hood. Great Movie
  34. FredR.
    Feb 7, 2006
    10
    Amazing flick. I haven't really understood the Terrence Howard hype until now, I mean, I liked him, but this performance is stellar, at least as good as any acting in any music movie ever. Everyone is incredible but the fact that Taryn Manning wasn't nominated for an academy award is a travesty. She supported Terrence perfectly, how could she have been snubbed? It's a good Amazing flick. I haven't really understood the Terrence Howard hype until now, I mean, I liked him, but this performance is stellar, at least as good as any acting in any music movie ever. Everyone is incredible but the fact that Taryn Manning wasn't nominated for an academy award is a travesty. She supported Terrence perfectly, how could she have been snubbed? It's a good thing I don't really care about awards. Hustle and Flow has THE best studio recording scene ever. "Whoop that trick!" And the scene with Luda is electrifying, whoever thinks it's "sappy" is first of all not a rap fan, and second of all corny. I bought this DVD, it's that good. Expand
  35. [Anonymous]
    Jun 30, 2007
    9
    This movie looked... unwatchable to me until I watched it, then I realized what a knock your socks off kind of movie is.
  36. AlanD.
    Dec 9, 2005
    8
    This movie feels like an honest look at the world of a pimp who wants to be a rapper, and neither romanticizes nor condemns hiphop culture.
  37. VicL.
    Jul 22, 2005
    9
    Raw, emotional, gritty filmmaking that stayed with me weeks after I saw the screening.I was very moved and I cared for these people. Individual perfomances, writing, music, cinematography added up to much more than the sum of their individual ( honest bordering on brilliant)parts. I predict this film is going to change a lot of lives, and do what rap set out to do at it's genisis: Raw, emotional, gritty filmmaking that stayed with me weeks after I saw the screening.I was very moved and I cared for these people. Individual perfomances, writing, music, cinematography added up to much more than the sum of their individual ( honest bordering on brilliant)parts. I predict this film is going to change a lot of lives, and do what rap set out to do at it's genisis: wake people up! Expand
  38. RichK.
    Jul 22, 2005
    9
    H & F is a brilliant movie that works on many levels. I have zero attraction to hip hop or pimp culture, but I was completely drawn in by these characters. This is the work of future master and it's amazing that this is one of his first films.
  39. S.Bragg
    Jul 22, 2005
    10
    The acting is amazing , the writing is sharp, and the movie as a whole is fun to watch; Finally someone has the guts to do a movie about Memphis .
  40. BenK.
    Jul 23, 2005
    10
    Not only is this the early favorite for next year's Academy Awards, Terence Howard's performance is impressive bordering on miraculous. The intensity and magentism with which he invests in his character suggests a combination of early Brando, Dean, and Poitier. The strength of the movie lies in its ability to transcend genre constraints to show us the core of pain contained Not only is this the early favorite for next year's Academy Awards, Terence Howard's performance is impressive bordering on miraculous. The intensity and magentism with which he invests in his character suggests a combination of early Brando, Dean, and Poitier. The strength of the movie lies in its ability to transcend genre constraints to show us the core of pain contained within each of its various characters. Far from the glitz and glamour of a typical Hollywood productions, Brewer and producer John Singleton demonstrate an eye for detail, for example the scenes such as the construction of the studio or the manner in which D-Jay and Lola acquire a professional-level microphone, which adds an immediacy which seems both authentic and compelling. The ending is jarring not because it rings false but because of the realization that this fantastic movie is over and you now have to leave the theater. Expand
  41. StuQ
    Jul 29, 2005
    10
    The question is: Will Terrence Howard be remembered come Oscar time? Another star is Anthony Anderson. Contrasting his character in this movie with his portrayal of a gang leader on THE SHIELD shows a versatility that should make him a hot commodity. He seems to be able to do it all, and let's hope that good parts keep coming his way.
  42. jayceeb.
    Jul 31, 2005
    10
    It was a really ood movie...i liked it becuz a lot of ppl can relae to it...n thats wut really happens in tha world!
  43. BruceR.
    Jul 31, 2005
    6
    I found many things to like about this movie. The soundtrack, Terrance Anderson's perforamnce, and the cinematography are great but the powerful acting in this film can't quite outweigh its flaws. The film's portrayal of bottled-up creative energy rising to the surface after years of sumblimation is by turns magical and schmaltzy a la Mr. Holland's Opus. Sadly the film I found many things to like about this movie. The soundtrack, Terrance Anderson's perforamnce, and the cinematography are great but the powerful acting in this film can't quite outweigh its flaws. The film's portrayal of bottled-up creative energy rising to the surface after years of sumblimation is by turns magical and schmaltzy a la Mr. Holland's Opus. Sadly the film does more than add reality with its misogyny. It glorifies it. Anderson's character DJAY is only sympathetic to a point. The film excells in the portrayal of a man in pursuit of his dreams on the one hand yet the fact that DJay uses and abuses the women around him diminishes the compassion we might have for his situation. Expand
  44. TangoR.
    Jul 31, 2005
    10
    This was a great movie Terrance Howard play a very good role!!!!!!!
  45. myeyag.
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    One of the best movies i've seen in a long time. I especially liked it because i am an up coming rapper, and this movie shows that if you put your heart and your head into what ever you want to do it can actually happen. big ups to John Singleton you did it again!!!!
  46. MarkB.
    Aug 31, 2005
    7
    Remember the conversation the guys in the bar were having in an early episode of Cheers about which was the sweatiest movie of all time: Body Heat, Ben-Hur or Rocky II? Too bad this film didn't exist at the time: it might not have beaten those worthy nominees, but it certainly deserves Top 10 consideration! A vivid, pungent (and I mean that in a GOOD way) account of D-Jay, an Remember the conversation the guys in the bar were having in an early episode of Cheers about which was the sweatiest movie of all time: Body Heat, Ben-Hur or Rocky II? Too bad this film didn't exist at the time: it might not have beaten those worthy nominees, but it certainly deserves Top 10 consideration! A vivid, pungent (and I mean that in a GOOD way) account of D-Jay, an impoverished Tennessee pimp who's inspired by a gospel singer's performance (!!!) to enter the music field himself, penning and performing rap songs about his work and lifestyle, Hustle & Flow benefits greatly from impressive background detail, atmospherically grainy cinematography that gives the movie a great 1970s blaxploitation/drive-in look, and especially a charismatic, star-making portrayal by Crash's Terrance Howard--even if his character's dialectic and colloquialisms sometimes call for a few Ken Loach-like subtitles! Since one of the movie's themes deals with the need for Black artists to return to their unvarnished roots, it's also a real pleasure to see the superb comic character actor Anthony Anderson, who has of late been squandering his talents in such ephemera as King's Ransom and Kangaroo Jack, back in form as a middle-class associate of D-Jay's who becomes his unlikely supporter and co-producer. The most controversial aspect of Hustle & Flow is not that writer-director Craig Brewer makes his central character a pimp, but that he de-emphasizes and downplays D-Jay's behavior toward his women (he's occasionally abusive, but ONLY occasionally, and this is just briefly touched on) in order to perhaps necessarily make him more easily identifiable and sympathetic as a working stiff trying to reach his potential. In fact, his relationship with his women was much more reminiscent to me of how Henry Winkler and Michael Keaton treated theirs in Night Shift than how Morgan Freeman treated his in Street Smart or even how Max Julien did in The Mack. This will no doubt placate some viewers and disgust others, who will understandably label the film a romanticized whitewashing of a despicable profession. I can't honestly argue with the latter view, but can only defend my enjoyment of Brewer's film the same way I could Rob Zombie's very funny countrified Manson family in this summer's earlier Devil's Rejects: here's another case where style trumps unsavory substance. And anyway, in writing and rapping about "the life", D-Jay is simply following the first rule of songwriting, followed by everybody from Woody Guthrie to Willie Nelson: Write What You Know. Having said that, I have to admit that I regret NOT getting to watch Anderson's social-climber wife (Elise Neal, who's hilarious and later quite touching) perform a crunk song based on her monologue about the tribulations of being a supervisor in a fashion store. Now THAT'S a hip-hop number I would have paid extra to watch! Expand
  47. AndreaS.
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    This movie is unreal. Captures the human spirit. I'm white, 43 and born in the south. I rented the movie because I am a Terrence Howard fan (and a closet Rap fan...old school, you know). This movie was so awesome that I purchased it and am now waiting on the Soundtrack from Amazon. I'm adding this to my collection (right beside Kid Rock). Not bad for an old broad!
  48. AmurabiM.
    Jul 17, 2006
    8
    In the subgenre of artists raising in bad conditions ans fighting against adversity imn pursue of their dreams, "Hustle & Flow" is a gem for that kind of movies. Besides the intense Performance of Terrence Dashon Howard, The star of this film is His director. We are watching the troubles of an artist for follow his dreams, and, in this case, the mataphor includes the job of his maker. In the subgenre of artists raising in bad conditions ans fighting against adversity imn pursue of their dreams, "Hustle & Flow" is a gem for that kind of movies. Besides the intense Performance of Terrence Dashon Howard, The star of this film is His director. We are watching the troubles of an artist for follow his dreams, and, in this case, the mataphor includes the job of his maker. With a sense of blaxploitation perfectly elaborated, intense music and performances and the stunning job of Amelia Vincent behind the cameras, in "Hustle & Flow", you can feel inspired, excitedl, amazed and touched, all at the same time. For me, this is the best rap film ever made. Period. Expand
  49. Jan 7, 2011
    7
    Does well in capturing the creative moment/process of a musician. Encourages to have a dream and work for it, to eventually break out of an unfulfilling everyday routine. Claims to give insight into an average pimp's life. A few magical (musical) moments, worth watching.
  50. Jan 3, 2014
    7
    Good movie. Terrence Howard kills it in the lead role and helps Hustle & Flow elevate from your classic hip hop drama to a much better movie. Ultimately, it winds up being a very interesting look at how rappers may have "flow", but they need "hustle" most importantly to make it in the rap game.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 70
    Ends with a burst of movie-ish mayhem, and then a burst of sentiment, but when Brewer, Howard, and Ludacris stick to the bitter texture of South Memphis failure and success they produce a modest regional portrait that could become a classic of its kind.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    50
    Howard redeems this lumpy fantasy. Soft-spoken and mysterious, he presides over the movie with a dangerous, feline grace.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Director Craig Brewer has given his second feature film a vibrant pulse amplified by an outstanding cast led by Terrence Howard.