Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 586 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Robert Neville is a brilliant scientist, but even he could not contain the terrible virus that was unstoppable, incurable...and manmade. Somehow immune, Neville is now the last human survivor in what is left of New York City...and maybe the world. But he is not alone. He is surrounded byRobert Neville is a brilliant scientist, but even he could not contain the terrible virus that was unstoppable, incurable...and manmade. Somehow immune, Neville is now the last human survivor in what is left of New York City...and maybe the world. But he is not alone. He is surrounded by "the infected"--victims of the plague who have mutated into carnivorous beings that can only exist in the dark and that will devour or infect anyone or anything in their path. For three years, Neville has spent his days scavenging for food and supplies and faithfully sending out radio messages, desperate to find any other survivors who might be out there. All the while, the infected lurk in the shadows, watching Neville's every move, waiting for him to make a fatal mistake. Perhaps mankind's last, best hope, Neville is driven by only one remaining mission: to find a way to reverse the effects of the virus using his own immune blood. But his blood is also what the infected hunt, and Neville knows he is outnumbered and quickly running out of time. [Warner Bros.] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    90
    In what has been a pretty remarkable career up to now, it's this performance that fully affirms Smith as one of the great leading men of his generation.
  2. The movie year's most expensive and ambitious sci-fi spectacular, I Am Legend, is three movies in one: a futuristic effects-o-rama, a zombie thriller and a survivalist parable. Each is better than average, and the experience is fairly gripping.
  3. 75
    As Tom Hanks did in "Cast Away," Will Smith pulls off this half-insane role perfectly.
  4. 70
    The popcorn elements are well handled, but what lingers is the sense of urban despair: watching old videotapes of the Today show, carrying on friendships with mannequins, Smith turns out to be no legend at all, just another New Yorker slowly dying of loneliness.
  5. 63
    Matheson's bitterly ironic ending -- which pivots on the nature of Neville's legend -- is gutted and turned into formulaic pap.
  6. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    60
    A big part of the reason for this movie's nose dive around the one-hour mark is that, seen up close, the Infected just aren't that scary.
  7. Reviewed by: Josh Rosenblatt
    30
    Unfortunately, after those first 10 minutes it’s all downhill for I Am Legend, as the film descends into a monster-movie malaise starring a horde of balding CGI monsters that look like refugees from a video game and that will scare absolutely no one, save those who worry that green-screening is ruining the movies.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 268
  1. SeanF
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    An interesting updating of the original novel. Will Smith shows that he can actually act. Sometimes when I make that statement people give a An interesting updating of the original novel. Will Smith shows that he can actually act. Sometimes when I make that statement people give a quizickle look, but, remember that most of the film is Smith acting on his own with a dog, and he holds the audiences interest. One of the few films that brings a tear to my eye during one certain scene. However, what the hell is up with the new ending? It sucks,and also makes the film title itself nonsensical. Expand
  2. LouisK.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    this is one of the best movies i have ever watched i think, with this movie it just proves that will smith is one of the best actors in the this is one of the best movies i have ever watched i think, with this movie it just proves that will smith is one of the best actors in the world and I love the end and his heroic death i love movies with this kind of end. Expand
  3. BitBurn
    Dec 19, 2007
    9
    Apart from the weak animation scenes, this film was terrific. Scarry, heartfelt, powerful. Good performance by Will Smith. Warning: For Apart from the weak animation scenes, this film was terrific. Scarry, heartfelt, powerful. Good performance by Will Smith. Warning: For adults only. Kids under 18 don't bother going. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    7
    This movie really could have been an 8, but it lacked certain things. The story is good, and the destroyed abandoned New York City is amazing.This movie really could have been an 8, but it lacked certain things. The story is good, and the destroyed abandoned New York City is amazing. It was created really well digitally. The story is quite creepy, as it shows just the "last man on Earth" and his dog. There isn't a lot of action in it, though the action scenes are good. The effects are great and Will Smith played his part really well. The zombies look great, especially close up. It's not so much a horror movie, though there are a few creepy scenes. This movie should appeal to any action movie fan and most horror fans. Expand
  5. GrahamP.
    Jan 17, 2008
    6
    I have been really looking forward to seeing this movie in the UK and last night got my chance. Whilst I enjoyed watching the film, I came I have been really looking forward to seeing this movie in the UK and last night got my chance. Whilst I enjoyed watching the film, I came away thinking that the film was short on a couple of counts. Firstly, after the terrific first 40/50 minutes, where Smith does a pretty good job of commanding the screen with Sam his only company, the tension in that part of the film was palpable and there were plenty of heart racing and jumping moments. These were beautifully achieved without the need for loud music, just the eerie silence of a deserted New York and the gradual glimpses of the Night Seekers adding to the tension. Why then, was the second half of the film such a contradiction. It seemed to be rushed and lifeless and left many questions unanswered. The interaction between the Neville and Anna characters should have been so much better. Why couldn't the film have been 20 minutes longer and allowed a bit of character back-story to be established so we knew more about Anna and her son(?). How did they manage to get to a seemingly cut off New York. The rush seemed to be to cram in as many OTT computer generated zombies as possible and go for a possibly ludicrous last 15 minutes and a bloodbath at the end. Why, when Neville had gone to great pains to explain, in the first half, that the virus caused the cessation of rational thinking and most human traits, did the zombies suddenly start to show intelligence in the way they set a trap for Neville, which mimicked an earlier set-piece stunt, and sadly, from then onwards the film lost its way. Maybe I'm being a little harsh but there was so much for this film to achieve. The book is a concise 200 pages, written in 1954, so why couldn't the screeen-writers have stuck to the plot line in the book without the necessity of over-doing the CGI and just making the latter half of the film look cheap? Perhaps when the DVD comes out I'll re-appraise the movie so I can see if some of the questions are answered. An enjoyable B movie romp, akin to the Spielberg remake of War of the Worlds, certainly not the A-lister I thought it could have been. Expand
  6. AdamL.
    Dec 16, 2007
    5
    After a pretty good first half, the movie comes to a screeching halt with the arrival of two entirely unnecessary characters. I highly urge After a pretty good first half, the movie comes to a screeching halt with the arrival of two entirely unnecessary characters. I highly urge everyone to go read the original novel to see just how short this movie has fallen. Bad CGI, too. Expand
  7. MaxM.
    Dec 10, 2007
    0
    Do yourself a favor and don't go see it. I wasted 100 minutes of my life watching Will Smith walking through his house, dating dummies, Do yourself a favor and don't go see it. I wasted 100 minutes of my life watching Will Smith walking through his house, dating dummies, and driving his van around the city. Expand

See all 268 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Vampire Movies of the Past 30 Years

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Vampire Movies of the Past 30 Years Image
    Published: June 28, 2010
    While it's unlikely that this week's "The Twilight Saga: Eclipse" will merit consideration on our list, here are the ten movies it would have to beat out to be considered the top vampire film since 1980. We've added five additional vampire movies from the other end of the quality spectrum, but there aren't any "Twilight" films among them ... yet.