Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: October 1, 2004
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 152 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
106
Mixed:
19
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
8
AlexSJun 26, 2011
This film manages to convey interesting philosophies while still achieving its ultimate goal which is to be hilarious.Jason Schwartzman and Mark Wahlberg share some great scenes as do Lily Tomlin and Dustin Hoffman.It's funny and compellingThis film manages to convey interesting philosophies while still achieving its ultimate goal which is to be hilarious.Jason Schwartzman and Mark Wahlberg share some great scenes as do Lily Tomlin and Dustin Hoffman.It's funny and compelling in equal measure Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JohnY.Oct 2, 2004
Absolutely bonkers; this film is not going to make money because it literally slams the audience with a sledgehammer (you'll see what I mean). But still, it's got enormous ambition, a wonderful cast (with a surprise performance Absolutely bonkers; this film is not going to make money because it literally slams the audience with a sledgehammer (you'll see what I mean). But still, it's got enormous ambition, a wonderful cast (with a surprise performance from Wahlberg), and is a welcome departure from the boring stuff normally out in the market. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeSchmoeR.Oct 8, 2004
The current 53 rating for this film is dumbfounding. This is one of the most original, audacious, and funniest comedies I've seen in a long while. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaneA.Oct 1, 2004
This film is wonderfully funny. It's clever and dry and brilliantly absurd. You must see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JerryH.Oct 2, 2004
A very funny film with great acting throughout the cast (save a certain cameo). I wish there were more films like this one. Go see this film so more like it can be made. Well done David O.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HeatherOJun 16, 2005
Some may say this movie is mearly a series of funny, but disconnected and confusing scenes. I say to those people: did you see the scene with the blanket?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanB.Oct 10, 2004
It was really funny. Weird, slapstick violent, cartoony, and "deep". I have no idea if the deepness is coherent or if it ties together to make sense - but it is funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeM.Nov 10, 2004
Best Movie that I've seen in years. It is defiantly not for everybody; it does not speak down to the least common denominator. Not everybody will understand this movie; the viewer must have had a glimpse of enlightenment. This movie is Best Movie that I've seen in years. It is defiantly not for everybody; it does not speak down to the least common denominator. Not everybody will understand this movie; the viewer must have had a glimpse of enlightenment. This movie is about becoming the Buddha and then coming back to Earth. It deals with extremely serious ideas, but it doesn?t take itself seriously. Like everything in this world, sometimes it?s the Buddha; sometimes it?s not. I can?t wait for the DVD to come out so that I can watch this movie over and over again (but I?ll have to wait just the same). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
okOct 10, 2004
How "Thirteen Conversations About One Thing" can be unanimously praised and this move can receive anything short of a perfect score absolutely baffles me. There are movies that aren't as smart as they think they are (13 Conversations, How "Thirteen Conversations About One Thing" can be unanimously praised and this move can receive anything short of a perfect score absolutely baffles me. There are movies that aren't as smart as they think they are (13 Conversations, Happiness, even the decent Waking Life) and then there are movies that are smarter than anyone gives them credit for. Collateral, in my opinion, fell into that category and Huckabees outdoes that one by a long shot. Brilliant, hilarious, and INCREDIBLY well acted (Oscar for Marky Mark?), I Heart Huckabees is the best major studio flick I've seen all year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeyGOct 2, 2004
If Naomi Watts isn't wearing skimpy outfits in this movie, the rating goes down to a 6. However, given the interesting concepts presented, the solid acting, the hilarious Mark Wahlberg, and the cool visual effects, this movie warrants a If Naomi Watts isn't wearing skimpy outfits in this movie, the rating goes down to a 6. However, given the interesting concepts presented, the solid acting, the hilarious Mark Wahlberg, and the cool visual effects, this movie warrants a viewing even if you're one of those people, like one of the characters in the movie, that doesn't wanna have to ask certain types of questions of oneself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AjA.Oct 22, 2004
Original in every way. I expected some serious ideas would be presented but it is the humor that suprised and the wonderful structure which all this fell under that gave this film a certain genius. I would expect that people would either Original in every way. I expected some serious ideas would be presented but it is the humor that suprised and the wonderful structure which all this fell under that gave this film a certain genius. I would expect that people would either love it dearly or hate it madly. A sign it is all good. Memorable as an experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JBOct 25, 2004
Absolutely fantastic. I give it a 10 to offset the people who are so closeminded and absurdely over-reactionary just because they didn't understand the movie. Please go see this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RetroHOct 9, 2004
I snickered my way through this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johnn.Oct 1, 2005
Fun & quirky & interesting- great music too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinE.Jan 20, 2005
At least Hoffman left his typical s***-eating grin at the door for this one. The casting is brilliant. Talky, but that's the point. I'm sure it will sail over the heads of the 'fly-over states' audiences. If you love Lily At least Hoffman left his typical s***-eating grin at the door for this one. The casting is brilliant. Talky, but that's the point. I'm sure it will sail over the heads of the 'fly-over states' audiences. If you love Lily Tomlin then this is a truffle of a performance for you. Wry, ironic, clever - just what you might expect from David O. Russell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronF.Mar 18, 2005
Well-written, humorous, and somewhat philosophical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
seandMar 8, 2005
If you didn't learn anything from this, your an idiot!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
chrismApr 2, 2005
Either you get it or you don't. You can choose by the reviews whether you'll want to watch it or not. Let's see the WSJ and Washington Post hated it, what's that say to you? Oftetimes the movie isn't easy, but the Either you get it or you don't. You can choose by the reviews whether you'll want to watch it or not. Let's see the WSJ and Washington Post hated it, what's that say to you? Oftetimes the movie isn't easy, but the rewards come in the second act. It gets hillarious in the end. If you thought Royal Tennenbaums was laugh out loud funny, which most people don't than this might just become your favorite movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeirS.Sep 24, 2005
Superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DustinS.Mar 26, 2006
Madly and refreshingly paced so not a scene, line, or even word is wasted in this mind-bending farce that had me giggiling and astounded. What a wonderful surprise -- I was astonished that so many critics were down on a film with so many Madly and refreshingly paced so not a scene, line, or even word is wasted in this mind-bending farce that had me giggiling and astounded. What a wonderful surprise -- I was astonished that so many critics were down on a film with so many tremdous actors giving tremendous performances. Every character delighted and every scene tingled with energy. This movie was so brisk to not allow a minute of boredom-- at times laugh out loud funny. Must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JekX.Nov 6, 2004
I forgot the question ¿%
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidLOct 17, 2004
I'm not sure how many of these reviewers actually saw the film. It's absolutely brilliant and the score couldn't have been better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleROct 17, 2004
I don't handout many 10s, but this one is worth it. Don't go to it if you like the formula most movies follow. Outside of the box and hilarious. If you liked Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, you might like i heart huckabees. I don't handout many 10s, but this one is worth it. Don't go to it if you like the formula most movies follow. Outside of the box and hilarious. If you liked Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, you might like i heart huckabees. if you saw Human Nature and found it amusing but sort of shallow character-wise, my money is you'll like this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaneAOct 18, 2004
Really wonderful and hilarious and brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillW.Dec 20, 2004
Brave, funny and sweet. Puts virtually every other big-studio comedy of the last year to shame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AliceZOct 23, 2004
I don't really understand why the critics gave this movie such bad reviews. I thought it was very funny, very smart, and so much better that most of the garbage that gets made. If you want something different, go see this. You I don't really understand why the critics gave this movie such bad reviews. I thought it was very funny, very smart, and so much better that most of the garbage that gets made. If you want something different, go see this. You won't regret it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Oct 24, 2004
Mark Wahlberg, as a fireman, is even more hysterical if you've already seen "Ladder 49". There's a fire, and he's watering the... There's a fire, and he rides... After 9/11, we've elevated the firefighter to Mark Wahlberg, as a fireman, is even more hysterical if you've already seen "Ladder 49". There's a fire, and he's watering the... There's a fire, and he rides... After 9/11, we've elevated the firefighter to superhero status, and rightly so, but everybody deserves to be lampooned sometimes. "I Heart Huckabee" is for those of you who liked Richard Linklater's "Waking Life", but wished there was a story to dramatize your metaphysics. Naomi Watts steals this movie. She has the most memorable headwear since Samantha Morton in "Sweet and Lowdown". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KerithP.Oct 6, 2004
So absolutey weird it's brilliant. mark wahlberg was hilarious. lily tomlin, superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesM.Jan 10, 2005
Any synopsis makes this movie sound like a pretentious bore ("existential detectives?" give me a break!), but in fact it turned out to be one of the smartest and (surprise!) most humane comedies of the year. David O. Russell proves that he, Any synopsis makes this movie sound like a pretentious bore ("existential detectives?" give me a break!), but in fact it turned out to be one of the smartest and (surprise!) most humane comedies of the year. David O. Russell proves that he, not Kevin Smith, is the Preston Sturges of our time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tonybobOct 23, 2005
I loved this movie so much i couldnt stop laughing everytime i watch it it gets funnier it never plays out. i think this is the most underrated movie this year. mark wahlberg was halarious everytime he's on the screen i cant stop laughing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AnthonyM.Jan 25, 2005
Almost as funny as "Flying High 1&2" and "Toy Story2." It is definttely ORIGINAL. I never seen a movie like this. The directorship and acting are unique!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyD.Feb 21, 2005
Brilliant! Not a good movie for many people because it's certainly not mainstream. Witty, quirky, odd, with a bit of philosophy thrown in. Great acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregG.Feb 24, 2005
Lily and Dustin are absolutely fantastic together. Mark is a great one man circus. Jason and Jude pull up the short end of the acting spectrum, but they are sustainable since the film is such a great ride. A daring endeavor, simply good fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeE.Feb 25, 2005
Well as you can see....love it...or hate it. If you like big Hollywood blockbusters like Armageddon or other massive pieces of crap, then avoid this movie like the plague. If you have even an ounce of inner questioning or relate to the total Well as you can see....love it...or hate it. If you like big Hollywood blockbusters like Armageddon or other massive pieces of crap, then avoid this movie like the plague. If you have even an ounce of inner questioning or relate to the total mystery of why you're alive...you'll love this flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamMar 17, 2005
I really don't understand the negativity about this movie ... I walked in to the theatre half expecting a bunch of pretentious half-witted blahblahblah. What it is is a totally fun, occasionally manic, caper. Lily Tomlin is the soul of I really don't understand the negativity about this movie ... I walked in to the theatre half expecting a bunch of pretentious half-witted blahblahblah. What it is is a totally fun, occasionally manic, caper. Lily Tomlin is the soul of this movie and Marky Mark is the heart. Dustin Hoffman is great too. Schwartzman is a little too sweet for my taste, but he works. Seeing Jude Law puke mayo totally redeemed him in my book. Just see this movie and have fun; then see it again and think (but just a little). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradS.Mar 21, 2005
Refreshing movie that is actually about something real, or is it?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrentLMar 23, 2005
Seeing the movie once makes you laugh. Seeing it again makes you think. Seeing after that makes you act.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ericApr 1, 2005
Probably one of, if not the best, comedy of the year. gets better with each viewing, too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
alanMay 23, 2005
A movie that holds the cynics in such comtempt, while lecturing those that give too much of a sh.t about life. the movie's momentum keeps building until you look forward to the inevitable resolution in the last half hour. such an absurd A movie that holds the cynics in such comtempt, while lecturing those that give too much of a sh.t about life. the movie's momentum keeps building until you look forward to the inevitable resolution in the last half hour. such an absurd exercise in character, design, and writing, that it may be a little too polarizing, but if you can go with it, t's a wonderful thing to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeA.Nov 12, 2004
I think I went into this movie expecting too much. I was hoping for a little more from the Hoffman/Tomlin angle. Wahlberg and his character is a pure riot. You gotta like that this movie was made in the first place.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveB.Nov 17, 2004
I went in expecting sophormoric discussions of philosophy, but it wasn't anything like that. I even put it off until a Monday night so I wouldn't feel like my weekend was ruined if it was terrible, but I wish I'd gone on a I went in expecting sophormoric discussions of philosophy, but it wasn't anything like that. I even put it off until a Monday night so I wouldn't feel like my weekend was ruined if it was terrible, but I wish I'd gone on a Saturday. Paid $9.25 to see it; would have paid about $15. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyC.Nov 6, 2004
A laugh-out loud movie with a wacky plot and great performances. The main characters are caught in existential angst and call on the experts...Lily Tomlin and Dustin Hoffman. The movie's angst and silliness calls to mind the early, A laugh-out loud movie with a wacky plot and great performances. The main characters are caught in existential angst and call on the experts...Lily Tomlin and Dustin Hoffman. The movie's angst and silliness calls to mind the early, funny Woody Allen films. While it may not always be clear where the plot is going, the acting by Jude Law, Jason Schartzman, Mark Wahlburg, Tomlin, Hoffman, and Naomi Watts is great. I thought Jude Law's performance was amazing. His face was a wonder to watch with all of its smirks, smiles, and shrugs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
danielhOct 16, 2004
I loved this movie, although it's not for your average joe. If you're in the Julia Roberts realm of movies, you'll hate it. I really enjoyed thinking and pondering ideas in a film. Lily Tomlin and Dustin Hoffman were hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanOct 19, 2004
A glass of water in insane times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DerekOct 22, 2004
It was a bit too "talky" and incoherent at times, but overall pretty entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JedD.Oct 23, 2004
This film has a great premise, wonderful actors and several incredible scenes. But one is left without proper resolution and without further development. What happened to the Jason Schwartzman's questions about the coincedences? With This film has a great premise, wonderful actors and several incredible scenes. But one is left without proper resolution and without further development. What happened to the Jason Schwartzman's questions about the coincedences? With all of the build up for it we are left with nothing. Also as the film was wrapping up I felt as though I was not ready for the wrap up and needed more. Despite the few problems I had with the film it is still one of the best hollywood films of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DianeDOct 29, 2004
There is no remainder in the mathematics of infinity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FabienL.Nov 28, 2005
Very much in line with "Rushmore" or "the aquatic life..." Great cast, great acting jobs, very pleasant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jan 25, 2005
This movie is great!!! i thought the story on it was better then almost every other movie i have seen this year. it is a funny movie that i watch over and over. i recomend this to anyone who liiked gardenstate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShanekwaP.Feb 25, 2005
I think this is the best film of the year (sideways was great too). americans dont like to be challenged; and this wasnt that challenging of a movie, just smart. we are so used to watching movies based on video games and amusement rides, I I think this is the best film of the year (sideways was great too). americans dont like to be challenged; and this wasnt that challenging of a movie, just smart. we are so used to watching movies based on video games and amusement rides, I fear theyll give an oscar to a commercial accidentally one of these years. walhberg--you can't beat that performance, and if you dont like that you could stare at Watts instead. its sad that we cant recognize a good use of film when we see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanisT.Mar 23, 2005
A funny, and stimulating movie. I loved it. It's definitely one of a kind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunM.Dec 5, 2006
My all time favorite movie. Smart. Funny. Generally amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieN.May 17, 2006
Brilliant, original, and hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChristianP.Dec 28, 2004
I really enjoyed this movie. With the multitudes of film in the last few years, all aimed at mindless teens, I was glad to see a film that asked bigger questions and caused one to think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CJMorrisDec 11, 2007
WARNING: this movie is NOT for a general audience like all books are not written for one person, etc. If you like philosophy and ideas, this is as good a dramatization as has been realized on screen. That's Russell's real WARNING: this movie is NOT for a general audience like all books are not written for one person, etc. If you like philosophy and ideas, this is as good a dramatization as has been realized on screen. That's Russell's real achievement here. As for the cast, score, design, etc. it's terrific. Well done, Mr. Russell. This film has a heart and a voice that is infinite. An undeniable classic that captures the times. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful