I Killed My Mother

I Killed My Mother Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A semi-autobiographical story about writer-director-lead actor Xavier Dolan as a young homosexual at odds with his mother.

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Mar 13, 2013
    91
    Xavier Dolan's I Killed My Mother marks the emergence of an exciting new filmmaking talent. The Montreal actor, a mere 20 years old, displays a startlingly mature perspective on human behavior in his triple threat position as writer-director-star.
  2. Reviewed by: Rachel Saltz
    Mar 13, 2013
    90
    As a director, Mr. Dolan has a freewheeling style, and he’s self-dramatizing enough to want to call attention to it without being too much of a visual show-off.
  3. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Mar 13, 2013
    75
    Love sometimes hurts, but love/hate is always pure anguish. That's the two-stroke engine powering I Killed My Mother ( J'ai tué ma mère), a coming-of-age tale as ferociously raw as its teller - the very young Xavier Dolan.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Mar 13, 2013
    63
    I Killed My Mother is a film best heard than seen, as the earnest, nimble scrubbiness of Dolan's screenplay is ill-served by his conceited visuals, an aesthetic mode that feels insecurely borrowed from perfume commercials and the work of Jean-Luc Godard and Wong Kar-Wai.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    The movie is full of drama, as it had to be. I mean, they're talking about a gay boy with his mom and they do not have any communication. ButThe movie is full of drama, as it had to be. I mean, they're talking about a gay boy with his mom and they do not have any communication. But you can see how that lack of communication affects both. At the final part he understands her, and she does the same for him. 5 stars: The movie was spectacular, because you can see similar problems in the society today. The part the you'll like, it that the movie could be cliché, but it wasn't. Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2013
    8
    This is a beautiful movie, a little unrelatable at times, I feel as though it lacks pathos, but for me that didn't did not seem to be an issueThis is a beautiful movie, a little unrelatable at times, I feel as though it lacks pathos, but for me that didn't did not seem to be an issue worth stopping the film for. The storyline is a little back and forth, yet the drama in this is very intense and the beauty in which this film was what amazed me. It has many similarities to "Mysterious skin" in my opinion and is a quite stark in the image it's portraying. I would not suggest watching this film with a lesson or a thought that is applicable for your life tomorrow or the next day, or with a view that you could just sit back and watch this film comfortably. It truly is an experience to watch. Collapse
  3. Aug 20, 2013
    6
    One look at that summary and you already know that there's going to be some extreme navel-gazing here. The question, then, is just how much doOne look at that summary and you already know that there's going to be some extreme navel-gazing here. The question, then, is just how much do we get out of watching Dolan work through his Oedipal traumas? The answer, in my case, is: not enough. There's nothing really wrong with this film, and Dolan himself is very pleasant to look at, but the story never transcends its micro scale. Don't expect to learn anything about mothers and sons that you did not already know. Expand

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.