Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 22, 2010
    100
    Think "Catch Me If You Can" mashed up with "Brokeback Mountain" if Mel Brooks directed and you'll get the idea.
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Dec 6, 2010
    91
    It's the beaming movie-star intensity of the complicated comic Carrey in the role of the dominant lover and Obi-Wan Kenobi McGregor as the gentle beloved that makes this unfettered, stranger-than-fiction picture pop.
  3. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Dec 6, 2010
    90
    Nothing tops ILYPM's Jim Carrey ... in the most gloriously raunchy, unrepentant moment in the an(n)als of Hollywood A-listers doing gay-for-pay.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Dec 6, 2010
    90
    A Jim Carrey movie all the way: a good one, I might add. With his manic glare, ferociously eager smile, hyperkinetic body language and talent for instant self-transformation, Mr. Carrey has rarely been more charismatic on the screen.
  5. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Dec 6, 2010
    90
    Less of a comedy than a hilarious tragedy, I Love You Phillip Morris stars Jim Carrey in his most complicated comedic role since "The Cable Guy."
  6. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 25, 2010
    88
    It is Carrey, turning his patented rubber-faced, rubber-voiced shtick loose on a role with heart, substance and entertainment value, who makes this romantic farce a movie too good to sit on any studio's shelf.
  7. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Dec 8, 2010
    88
    Carrey makes the role seem effortless; he deceives as spontaneously as others breathe.
  8. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Dec 6, 2010
    83
    Ficarra and Requa are more comfortable being bad: The nastier the film gets, the better it is.
  9. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    Dec 6, 2010
    80
    One of the funniest films of the year, this is a wonderful mix of old-school Carrey outrageousness with a genuinely touching - and very modern - love story.
  10. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Dec 6, 2010
    80
    "Liar Liar" meets Obi-Wan? Who'da thunk even fearless star power could make these two work as a romantic pair? But both stars prove to be enormous fun in a gay love story played straight in a thoroughly crooked context.
  11. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 6, 2010
    80
    Carrey provides one of his most whacked-out and enjoyable performances.
  12. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 17, 2010
    75
    McGregor, playing his lover, is a perfect foil: gentle, funny, magnetic.
  13. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Dec 9, 2010
    75
    The performance often errs on the side of cartoon, but it's laced with flashes of remorse and chagrin, with sincerity. When Carrey tries to do "dramatic acting'' the life always goes of out him.
  14. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 6, 2010
    75
    It's one crazy love story, but Carrey and McGregor make it work by making us buy the romance as the real thing. There's something about these Marys that pulls you in.
  15. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Dec 6, 2010
    75
    This is a love story in which one of the partners repeatedly does some really bad stuff, and while it's easy enough to admire him for his ability to get away with it all, it's harder to square the way he so cheerfully dupes innocent people, including his beloved.
  16. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Dec 6, 2010
    75
    It's a welcome alternative to the homogenized Hollywood releases that proliferate during the holiday season.
  17. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Dec 9, 2010
    70
    If you're a fan of provocative, offbeat films such as "My Own Private Idaho" or "The Crying Game," you might want to give "Phillip Morris" a chance.
  18. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Dec 24, 2010
    63
    Likable but uneven comedy by writer-directors Glenn Ficara and John Requa (Bad Santa).
  19. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Dec 9, 2010
    63
    Ultimately, the plot (irrespective of how faithful it is to real life) isn't the problem - it's the unevenness with which co-directors Glenn Ficarra and John Requa (both making their directorial debuts) approach it that limits the film's success and mutes the experience of sitting through it.
  20. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Dec 6, 2010
    60
    People who like their comedies pitch black (we're talking midnight, no stars or moon) should get a kick out of the tale of Steven Russell (Carrey).
  21. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 6, 2010
    60
    I Love You Phillip Morris is tragedy, or something close to it, decked out in comedy's clothes.
  22. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Dec 6, 2010
    60
    At best, I Love You Phillip Morris may be hailed as a necessary step in Hollywood's fearful crawl toward sexual evenhandedness; the film upholds the constitutional right of every gay man to be as much of a liar, a crook, and a creep as the rest of us. Makes you proud.
  23. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Dec 6, 2010
    58
    The movie, at its best, is compellingly odd, which is also the most accurate description of Carrey's performance.
  24. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Dec 16, 2010
    50
    Carrey fearlessly gives it his best shot, but this fundamental schizophrenia strong-armed me out of the film, and left me feeling like McGregor's more grounded performance existed in another movie entirely.
  25. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    There's plenty to scratch your head about here. Is it a drama? A comedy? And if it's a farce, what's it making fun of?
  26. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Dec 6, 2010
    50
    This is an oddball tale that is well worth telling, but Mr. Carrey simply cannot resist turning it into a Three Stooges routine in drag.
  27. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 6, 2010
    50
    It's clear from first frame to last that the filmmakers decided to go broad, very broad, with a story that swings between hysterical, hyper-sexual, bizarre, surprisingly tender and just plain awful. This is one mixed bag of a movie.
  28. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Dec 6, 2010
    50
    A tonally confused, fitfully entertaining film about a pathologically two-faced man.
  29. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 6, 2010
    38
    Barrels around in manic fashion much like Carrey does in most of his movies. He's meant to be a fool for love, but mostly he's just bonkers.
  30. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Dec 17, 2010
    30
    It's confused and confusing, by turns hilarious and off-putting. In short, it's awfully hard to love I Love You Philip Morris.
  31. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Dec 9, 2010
    30
    Unfortunately, as the opening title might suggest, the filmmakers have punted on the hard cinematic work of making the incredible seem credible; instead they've turned Russell's story into a broad farce with one wocka-wocka gag after another.
  32. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 6, 2010
    20
    I Love You Phillip Morris not only blasts gay stereotypes back decades, it could actually make people wish for a third "Ace Ventura" movie. Both of those are an accomplishment, though neither is a compliment.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Feb 8, 2011
    2
    Something about this movie rubbed me the wrong way. First, I thought it was black comedy and/or farce that didn't work for me. But, much more so, it was the inauthenticity of the main character that gave me a strong negative visceral reaction. Yet, although I was uncomfortable while watching, I was never bored. And I did find myself thinking about the film afterward. Full Review »
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    8
    "I Love You Phillip Morris" is a heart warm comedy that gives its best to the audience with the funny, usual performance by Jim Carrey and girlish acting by Ian Mcgregor. Full Review »
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. IN MY OPINION **MAY CONTAIN SPOIILER S** by CtheTav I didn't think this film would be very good going in as Jim Carrey has been a bit terrible with choosing films and Ewan McGregor has never been my favourite person. However this film was a pleasant surprise. It starts with the words "this really happened...no really" which raised the proverbial eyebrow over what was going to happen that was so unbelievable. As the film opens we see a very skinny Jim Carrey dying in a hospital bed, he then proceeds to tell us his life story. Normally I would find this irritating however due to the unreliability of the narration the rugged is pulled from under the audiences feet several times. The story seems so farfetched I am inclined to see how much is true given all the escapes pulled off. The romance between the pair seems believable enough and I found myself welling up at the end than laughing hilariously before the credits finally rolled Rating 7 out of 10 Quite funny with a solid story, though not for everyone Full Review »