Ice Age: Continental Drift Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 221 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In Ice Age: Continental Drift, Scrat's nutty pursuit of the cursed acorn, which he's been after since the dawn of time, has world-changing consequences -- a continental cataclysm that triggers the greatest adventure of all for Manny, Diego and Sid. In the wake of these earth-shatteringIn Ice Age: Continental Drift, Scrat's nutty pursuit of the cursed acorn, which he's been after since the dawn of time, has world-changing consequences -- a continental cataclysm that triggers the greatest adventure of all for Manny, Diego and Sid. In the wake of these earth-shattering upheavals, Sid reunites with his long lost family, and the gang encounters a ragtag menagerie of new characters determined to stop them from returning home. (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jul 25, 2012
    75
    Handsomely animated and features a story that, while hopelessly familiar, at least seems to be part of a whole. Also, there are pirates. So there's that.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jul 11, 2012
    75
    Gutt is a wonderful villain, something the franchise has lacked, and even performs an original musical number - an Ice Age first, if I'm not mistaken. Dinklage has a sinister voice, and a subtle way of expressing the character's sillier moments.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 11, 2012
    63
    It is as comfortable and predictable as any Saturday morning cartoon, although with higher production values and a spiffier look.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jul 11, 2012
    50
    Watching this film was a cheerless exercise for me. The characters are manic and idiotic, the dialogue is rat-a-tat chatter, the action is entirely at the service of the 3-D, and the movie depends on bright colors, lots of noise and a few songs in between the whiplash moments.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jul 12, 2012
    50
    Much of the action in Ice Age: Continental Drift takes place on an iceberg fashioned into a seagoing vessel. No one seems to be piloting the boat, which is an apt metaphor for the film.
  6. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Jul 13, 2012
    40
    A business-as-usual slog.
  7. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Jul 12, 2012
    12
    Caters almost exclusively to the remedial, Duplo Blocks demographic, leaving parents and guardians bored to distraction.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 64
  2. Negative: 14 out of 64
  1. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    This is the best Ice Age movie I've ever seen. Not to mention, one of the greatest films ever in my opinion. And that's saying a lot seeingThis is the best Ice Age movie I've ever seen. Not to mention, one of the greatest films ever in my opinion. And that's saying a lot seeing that I've seen a lot of awesome movies. No wonder this was a box office success...

    10/10
    Pros: Everything
    Cons: Doesn't have a number 4 on the title
    Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    Let me take you back to the early 2000s. The Dreamworks film Shrek was all the rage when it came out in 2001, and Pixar had its first seriousLet me take you back to the early 2000s. The Dreamworks film Shrek was all the rage when it came out in 2001, and Pixar had its first serious competitor. With two titans of computer animation battling it out in a huge colosseum of moviegoers, it seemed like computer generated imagery (CGI) was the way of the future. As with most innovations in the history of film (like the transition from black & white to color), studios have always taken the "Innovate or duplicate?" stance. Throughout the rest of the decade, there were so many computer animated films that it was like an infestation.

    But enough about history. Let's talk about a film that has... history.

    The first Ice Age film from 2002 is known by pretty much everyone. It was a beautifully animated tale about prehistoric animals bringing a human infant back to his colony. What made this film work so well is that it had something for everyone. Adults could enjoy the familiar voice actors and timeless story while kids delightfully laugh at all the silly moments.

    Flash forward 10 years later and we have Ice Age 4. The animation is some of the best I have ever seen. The characters have such a great charm to them that even the villains look absolutely adorable. All your favorites are back: Sid, Manny, Diego, the possums, and of course the lovably mute Scrat. The jokes are still funny, the silly moments are still silly, and the touching moments are still touching. The only thing this film lacks is an original story. It's your basic "family gets separated and has to find each other" story, and please don't ask me to sing Somewhere Out There.

    The film's biggest strength, however, is the characters. They have such distinct personalities that it makes for a lot of humorous moments. Simply watching these characters argue is like watching an animated sitcom. The way they propose different solutions to their problems makes for some very creative scenes. When all of it adds up, you have a fantastic adventure filled with adorable characters and delightfully silly moments.
    Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2012
    8
    One of the best Ice Age movie sequelz ever seen !!! What a mindblowing graphics and itz 3d effects. The best part is i loved the part whereOne of the best Ice Age movie sequelz ever seen !!! What a mindblowing graphics and itz 3d effects. The best part is i loved the part where the daughter mammoth feelz for the missing of father mammoth due to the so called "continental Drift". However the music was also scored perfectly well. As usual as in all the other parts there was this guy tat small squirell running around the globe searching for the island of chestnutz. Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2012
    6
    This Ice Age hasn't really improved on the last, but it is still clever and funny in parts, just like the three previous films. However, itThis Ice Age hasn't really improved on the last, but it is still clever and funny in parts, just like the three previous films. However, it does feel like the writers are running out of ideas and are now aiming at children rather than a range of ages. Expand
  5. May 24, 2013
    5
    I do not hate Ice Age 5. It has good morals, the four main likeable characters, and some good laughs. However, this is weakest Ice Age film.I do not hate Ice Age 5. It has good morals, the four main likeable characters, and some good laughs. However, this is weakest Ice Age film. There are way too many characters forcing the writers to come up with things for every else to do while Manny, Sid, and Diego battle the pirates out at sea. There are potential plot lines for the movie such as Sid dealing with his family or Manny dealing with his daughter Peaches and her having to fit in. However, these plot lines are either ignored or poorly written providing a lot of stuff that has been done before. There are new characters but none of them are likeable or interesting. Plus, the film tries to be hip with teenage mammoths who have crazy hairstyles and has a bad musical number. All of these elements come together to form a meh film that is the worst of the franchise. Unless you are a little kid or a fan of the films, then this is a definite skip. Expand
  6. Jul 27, 2012
    4
    Would the world come to an end if I didn
  7. Jul 30, 2013
    0
    one of the worst moviesone of the worst movies eveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer Expand

See all 64 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.
  2. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.