Focus Features | Release Date: February 8, 2008
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 408 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
378
Mixed:
21
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
AgathaXMar 4, 2008
A morality tale delivered with laughs and blood. The humor veers between smart and surreal. The movie was brilliantly acted by Brendan Gleeson, with a strong performance by Colin Farrell, and a slightly overwrought performance by Ralph A morality tale delivered with laughs and blood. The humor veers between smart and surreal. The movie was brilliantly acted by Brendan Gleeson, with a strong performance by Colin Farrell, and a slightly overwrought performance by Ralph Fiennes. Ralph Fiennes, alone among the actors, appeared to try to play the part for laughs. And alone among the actors, he failed. The movie is marred by profanity and gore which will limit its appeal, which is sad because it is a true gem. It also has odd references to blacks, which made me a bit uncomfortable watching, and may have made me yet more uncomfortable were I black. I think the story intended to deal with racism in the same brutal yet light way in which it dealt with courage, redemption and second chances. It did not work. The few offending scenes are a bit like pimples on an otherwise likable countenance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DomFeb 20, 2008
Great actors and a wonderful setting. It's been a long time since I enjoyed the atmosphere and the sense of humor of a movie that much.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveApr 4, 2008
A fine little movie! A very black comedy that makes you laugh out loud without quite knowing why.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LeahRAug 5, 2008
Awkward mashup of grave moral dilemmas with dialogue that strains itself trying to be shockingly un-PC. For all the racist, midget, molestation etc. jokes, I never felt shocked so much as embarrassed for the actors reciting such groan-worthy Awkward mashup of grave moral dilemmas with dialogue that strains itself trying to be shockingly un-PC. For all the racist, midget, molestation etc. jokes, I never felt shocked so much as embarrassed for the actors reciting such groan-worthy material. Farrell's caterpillar eyebrows provide the most action this movie has to offer. The running gag of making fun of Bruges (often by simply saying, "We're in Bruges!") was old at 10 minutes in, but dragged on for what felt like much longer than its running time. The movie draws a line through the middleground of "dark comedy" and leaps gracelessly back and forth across it, never managing an inspired balance between them like Pulp Fiction. An incohesive, grating bore with an ending that will leave you shocked at its predictability--so they did at least manage to get in one shocker! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
8
RichardW.Feb 16, 2008
While indecisive in trying to be both a comedy and, ultimately, a bloodbath, Bruges has great highs, some lowbrow humor, and great lows.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanFeb 17, 2008
Absolutely the freshest, funniest and most poignant movie of the season. And, strangely enough, the most hopeful movie about man's capacity for second chances and doing the right thing. Colin Farrell is a joy to watch him at the top of Absolutely the freshest, funniest and most poignant movie of the season. And, strangely enough, the most hopeful movie about man's capacity for second chances and doing the right thing. Colin Farrell is a joy to watch him at the top of his game. Brendan Gleason is perfect. Seeing Ralph Fiennes going over the top as the crime boss is delicious. Martin McDonough is the new cinematic voice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EdM.Feb 22, 2008
Nicely black comedy. The wordplay is great, as the two protagonists cool off in the charming, boring city of Bruges.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcK.Feb 24, 2008
Although still February, will almost certainly make by "Best of 2008" list. Funny, clever, well-written, but not too over-the-top. Definitely influenced by "Pulp Fiction" and "Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels." Professional critics who Although still February, will almost certainly make by "Best of 2008" list. Funny, clever, well-written, but not too over-the-top. Definitely influenced by "Pulp Fiction" and "Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels." Professional critics who didn't like this film are clueless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisB.Feb 7, 2008
Engaging plot for a fairly bloody action picture. Brendan Gleeson is a real treat and his buddy combo with Colin Farrell has some nice chemistry. Ralph Fiennes in a role that will surprise you. Voldemort has definitely gone to his head. Engaging plot for a fairly bloody action picture. Brendan Gleeson is a real treat and his buddy combo with Colin Farrell has some nice chemistry. Ralph Fiennes in a role that will surprise you. Voldemort has definitely gone to his head. Interesting twist ending. We saw a sneak preview and it was the weirdest crowd in recent memory. They laughed uproariously at jokes that were only mildly funny. Must have been McDonagh's cousins. Give it a look and enjoy the odd juxtaposition of comedy and brutality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RitBFeb 9, 2008
If Hieronymus Bosch were alive and making movies instead of painting, he would make "In Bruges". Strange, brutal at times, beautiful at times, unpredictable and fascinating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomasV.Feb 9, 2008
A surprisingly funny, engaging plot, with a superb performance by an otherwise inconsistent Colin Farrell. The movie's focus around Bruges was very interesting, and the dialogue between Brendan Gleeson and Colin Farrell throughout was A surprisingly funny, engaging plot, with a superb performance by an otherwise inconsistent Colin Farrell. The movie's focus around Bruges was very interesting, and the dialogue between Brendan Gleeson and Colin Farrell throughout was quite compelling. Some parts of the movie were a little confusing, however, in that the viewer didn't necessarily know whether to laugh or feel sad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickD.Mar 24, 2008
This film is hilarious. And it is also very dark and gro. The progression through the story is extremely well-wrought. One of the best films I have seen this year. Seriously hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BryanM.Mar 26, 2008
While darkly humorous at times, the movie never quite lifted off the ground for me. Odd, bloody, and drawn out. A much different film than it's trailers portray.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamieB.Apr 6, 2008
Best film of 2008 so far. This superb film has an incredibly complex message about the power of violence and nonviolence, and layers of depth which many critics seem to miss (did they noticed Chloe's speech "homage is too strong a word" Best film of 2008 so far. This superb film has an incredibly complex message about the power of violence and nonviolence, and layers of depth which many critics seem to miss (did they noticed Chloe's speech "homage is too strong a word" compares the movie within a movie to Don't Look Now, the movie of which In Bruges itself is a pastiche). It's also hilarious. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GordSMay 26, 2008
I whole heartedly agree with Roger Ebert on this film. Outstanding. A dark comedy with great dialogue and characters. Far from PC, but never the less a thoroughly enjoyable experience. I saw this almost by accident and enjoyed it more than I whole heartedly agree with Roger Ebert on this film. Outstanding. A dark comedy with great dialogue and characters. Far from PC, but never the less a thoroughly enjoyable experience. I saw this almost by accident and enjoyed it more than any movie I have seen in the past year. Where did it go? No one else I know has even heard of it. It reminded me of the Great Santini, which disappeared until the film lovers brought it back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RoyKMay 27, 2008
An excellent film, went with little or no preconceptions and thoroughly enjoyed it. One of the best films I have seen this year, laugh out loud funny in places, emotionally stirring in others. The two Irish leads are superb, Farrell gives a An excellent film, went with little or no preconceptions and thoroughly enjoyed it. One of the best films I have seen this year, laugh out loud funny in places, emotionally stirring in others. The two Irish leads are superb, Farrell gives a great, unexpectedly low key, performance. For those who know Father Ted, he's a bit Father Dougall at times! All in all a great piece of cinema and one of those films you are bound to tell your friends to go see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AllyD.May 4, 2008
Really boring to watch, there's little to no sexual appeal from what I saw and no action to be found. Not really that funny either it's just Collin Ferrel nothing special. Avoid this crap.
0 of 8 users found this helpful
10
MortezaH.Jun 11, 2008
An exercise in genre blending which is second to none.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Jun 20, 2008
Not quite the action packed movie the cover box describes, but it is a good dark comedy/drama. The cast is very good, but the slow pace gets tedious at times. Good location filming.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MorganC.Jul 10, 2008
Absolutely brilliant filmmaking, cleverly written with beautiful cinematography. The end is a bit much to stomach, but completely appropriate and fitting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OgestJul 22, 2008
It wasn't what I expected. And that's why I give it 9. I was freaking surprised after this movie. It was genius. Very good dialogues, beautiful scenery, dark humor, interesting plot. Definetely a must see, especially now when there It wasn't what I expected. And that's why I give it 9. I was freaking surprised after this movie. It was genius. Very good dialogues, beautiful scenery, dark humor, interesting plot. Definetely a must see, especially now when there are not that much good dvds to rent. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BillCJul 9, 2008
This film is impossible to label.It's action , drama, comedy, buddy film ,all in different proportions. I thought it was entertaining and well worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarkH.Jan 4, 2009
The film tries so hard to be politically incorrect and indie odd that it comes across as a parody of itself. The illogical story lines and impossible timing of events make this an unbearable and embarassing movie to sit through.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
WepmajoEMar 24, 2009
Perfect from start to finish. The dry sometimes extremely dark humor shoots your funny bone as the dramatic scenes shoot through your nerves. Great performances all around, beautiful locales, excellent pacing. By far the best movie of last year.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
BillT.Oct 12, 2008
Excellent and brooding dark comedy, with well defined characters and good performances from the main 5/6 actors, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
trNov 2, 2008
Great actors, terrific atmosphere and a humor blacker than the night, so it´s just a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SunilBFeb 11, 2008
I found this movie to be mediocre. The plot was decent, but the movie was quite slow-paced and dragging along at time. Colin acted quite well in it though the whole thing about ragging on Bruges just didn't make any sense. The humor was I found this movie to be mediocre. The plot was decent, but the movie was quite slow-paced and dragging along at time. Colin acted quite well in it though the whole thing about ragging on Bruges just didn't make any sense. The humor was no ha-ha, from my perspective, but a chuckle here and there. All in all, I would recommend waiting for a DVD on this one. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
2
KristinaFeb 14, 2008
Bad acting, unlikeable and underdeveloped characters , bizarre and stupid situations, too much blood, ridiculous ending. Wanted to walk out before the end but kept hoping for a memorable or meaningful twist that never materialized. A big Bad acting, unlikeable and underdeveloped characters , bizarre and stupid situations, too much blood, ridiculous ending. Wanted to walk out before the end but kept hoping for a memorable or meaningful twist that never materialized. A big waste of $19.00!. My husband and I were both disappointed in this move, but the one good thing about it was that we learned something about Bruges and would like to visit there someday. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
RobertM.Feb 17, 2008
In Bruges is a superb morality play set in a very dark comedy. The pace is fast, the dialogue crisp (if a bit too profane) and the actors timing is on the money.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GaryFeb 17, 2008
Excellent movie. Engaging, well-acted, written, and directed, with an oddly transcendent feel.
1 of 1 users found this helpful