Focus Features | Release Date: February 8, 2008
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 398 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
370
Mixed:
19
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
BillCJul 9, 2008
This film is impossible to label.It's action , drama, comedy, buddy film ,all in different proportions. I thought it was entertaining and well worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillT.Oct 12, 2008
Excellent and brooding dark comedy, with well defined characters and good performances from the main 5/6 actors, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
trNov 2, 2008
Great actors, terrific atmosphere and a humor blacker than the night, so it´s just a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RexFeb 21, 2008
I thought the movie was great. The dialogue was funny and touching. My favorite was Brendan Gleeson. Quite bloody towards the end, but worthy of the 8 I gave it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillD.Feb 24, 2008
It had fabulous cinematography, crisp dialogue, and morally ambiguous characters. The delightful plot was completely unpredictable. the only thing missing was a memorable soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DarylFeb 25, 2008
A really entertaining movie, with a real good balance of high and low brow comedy. A bit heavy handed at the end, but that sin is easily absolved by what proceeds it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DWillyFeb 28, 2008
Hey, who knew... Collin Farrell can act! I'm guessing he was sober, that and playing an ineffectual type, but whatever, he holds his own with a magnificent Brendan Gleeson and a very good Ralph Fiennes. You have to suspend a lot of Hey, who knew... Collin Farrell can act! I'm guessing he was sober, that and playing an ineffectual type, but whatever, he holds his own with a magnificent Brendan Gleeson and a very good Ralph Fiennes. You have to suspend a lot of disbelief, but the style covers almost all of it and the intelligent and just damn fine artistic writing (as well as quite capable direction) of playwright Martin McDonagh makes it all very special and worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveJ.Mar 16, 2008
The funniest dialogue I've heard in a long time. The chemistry between Farrell and Gleeson was totally believable and the quirky supporting characters were compelling as well. I saw it twice in three days and laughed almost as much The funniest dialogue I've heard in a long time. The chemistry between Farrell and Gleeson was totally believable and the quirky supporting characters were compelling as well. I saw it twice in three days and laughed almost as much during the second viewing as I did the first. As for the darkness at the heart of the tale, it hit just as hard as the laughs. Yeah, there was lots of profanity but, given the circumstances, it was fitting. I highly recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattO.Mar 16, 2008
This was movie that couldn't have come at a better time. In the never ending stream of boring, apathetic movies this one shines through with hilarious dialogue and dark humor. The dwarf/midget (i have no idea what's socially This was movie that couldn't have come at a better time. In the never ending stream of boring, apathetic movies this one shines through with hilarious dialogue and dark humor. The dwarf/midget (i have no idea what's socially acceptable) is a fantastic combination in the end of the movie. Couldn't have been better Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulK.Mar 30, 2008
This was much better than I initially thought it was going to be. Colin Farrell's character was fleshed out just enough to make the story compelling and the ending was substantial enough to even out the ambiguity. See it in the theater This was much better than I initially thought it was going to be. Colin Farrell's character was fleshed out just enough to make the story compelling and the ending was substantial enough to even out the ambiguity. See it in the theater if you have a strong interest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NancyApr 13, 2008
In a nutshell I liked this movie. The acting, the dialogue all worked for me, much of it smart, funny, amusing, unexpected or surreal. I did not expect to laugh at a film about hitmen. The surreal element to the whole thing seemed to balance In a nutshell I liked this movie. The acting, the dialogue all worked for me, much of it smart, funny, amusing, unexpected or surreal. I did not expect to laugh at a film about hitmen. The surreal element to the whole thing seemed to balance the sheer ridiculousness of some of the non-PC topics. There was no way to take this seriously but just to enjoy the ride to the somewhat over-the-top ending which was a bit much for me but the preceding scenes were worth it. Colin Farrell played Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TopiusU.May 24, 2008
Very cool, great dialogs, great script, perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TylerM.Jun 27, 2008
Not what I was expecting at all. The Story: Two hitmen are sent to Bruges in order to hide out... An expected call from the boss though, results in unexpected orders, for an otherwise expected outcome. It's kind of a character study in Not what I was expecting at all. The Story: Two hitmen are sent to Bruges in order to hide out... An expected call from the boss though, results in unexpected orders, for an otherwise expected outcome. It's kind of a character study in that there's a significant amount of time learning what makes these characters tick, the problem is, that (on first viewing at least) there's not much too the characters... Ray feels guilty for his past and spends most of the film trying to figure out if he deserves to live. Ken, mesmerized by the wonderland that is Bruges, finds himself worried about his friend, taking it upon himself to save his partners soul. Conflicted by the moral issues that surround his current situation and job... And than there's Harry. The boss. He's a villain that you know deep down inside you can't hate because he makes a valid point, one must pay for their own actions, accidental or not. He's not evil, though he's not nice either, he's not good but he's not bad, and you're not going to be rooting for him. The Cast: Colin Farrell, Brendan Gleeson, Ralph Fiennes... Colin Farrell is Ray, guilt stricken by a hit gone terribly awry. He gives a good performance as he's eternally conflicted, he's not a man, but he feels deeply ashamed of himself for his past actions, so doesn't that mean that he should be forgiven? Or is he hopeless because he's done the unthinkable? Solid performance from start to finish. Brendan Gleeson is Ken, stuck between a rock and a hard place hit his partner or save his soul, giving him a second chance? Arguably the best performance in the film. Ralph Fiennes is Harry, a firm believer that some actions deserve certain consequences no matter what the circumstance. You know he has a heart and you know that on some level he is in fact right, but you're wishing he's wrong the entire time. Great performance, but not his best. Probably the first time that a trailer has truly influenced my score... There's no disagreeing that the trailer is about as misleading as you can possibly get. The trailer has you believing that Guy Ritchie has some competition. It's fast, it's clever, it's stylish, it's funny, and it's full of quirky or offbeat characters... The film itself is slowpaced, sometimes predictable and nowhere near as complex as you're expecting, as the quirky characters often add little to nothing to the story... I'm giving it the benefit of the doubt, I only watched it once expecting a fast paced Snatch type film, really hoping to see another Guy Ritchie on the horizon... The second time around I'm sure it will be immensely better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeD.Jul 21, 2008
Very surprised by this movie. Best movie I have seen in a long time. I watched it twice back-to-back. It has some hilarious moments and Colin Farrell is great. Well written with a great story...definitely worth the rental...even worth buying!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomM.Jul 27, 2008
Martin McDonagh, an award winning playwright, scores big-time with his debut full length feature. The film portrays two hit men hiding out in the historical Belgian city of Bruges after carrying out a gruesomely sloppy hit back home in Martin McDonagh, an award winning playwright, scores big-time with his debut full length feature. The film portrays two hit men hiding out in the historical Belgian city of Bruges after carrying out a gruesomely sloppy hit back home in England. It's hard to believe that a flick about such an event could possibly turn out to be charming (as well as a number of other things), but McDonagh and an excellent cast pull it off. The result is black comedy as its absolute best. My only problem was some difficulty with the thick British accents (Cockney?) that denied me even further laughs and enjoyment of the extraordinary dialogue. Be on the lookout for this gifted director's future work! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TamaraM.Aug 18, 2008
One can't ask more of a film than gorgeous cinematography, a brilliant script and actors whose performance delves deep and perfectly carries the multifaceted, rich dark humor clothed in a perfect story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyS.Jan 12, 2009
Best of the year. and brilliantly acted by principals.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KrisDAug 3, 2009
Last week i saw this movie on TV (paychannel) I didnt really know what it was about, but i have to say i was completely blown away. While the story is of course very different, this film gave me the same feeling like pulp fiction did back in Last week i saw this movie on TV (paychannel) I didnt really know what it was about, but i have to say i was completely blown away. While the story is of course very different, this film gave me the same feeling like pulp fiction did back in the days. Just after watching it, i felt like i immediately wanted to see it again. And this is a VERY RARE thing for me nowadays. Anyway, this weekend i bought it on dvd. The characters are really loveable, the humour is dark and the situations are absurd. There's a lot to be liked about this film. Only two kinds of people won't like it imo. The ones who don't get it and the arty farty so-called movie "connaiseurs" who are searching way too much behind it. This was a very nice surprise for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Mar 11, 2008
A great script, quirky characters, a lot of good laughs and Colin Ferrell raises his acting abilities to be able to play opposite the great Brendan Gleeson. You'll find it all in In Bruges, the best black comedy I've seen in years!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Mar 16, 2008
A hitman might not be the keenest judge of character. Congenial or not, Ken(Brendan Gleeson) is a sociopath. The company he keeps are other hitmen, like Ray(Colin Farrell), Ken's charge, who just recently shot a Catholic preist. But A hitman might not be the keenest judge of character. Congenial or not, Ken(Brendan Gleeson) is a sociopath. The company he keeps are other hitmen, like Ray(Colin Farrell), Ken's charge, who just recently shot a Catholic preist. But there was an accident. There was collateral damage. For all the un-PC humor in "In Bruges", perhaps the funniest thing about this lively film is the tacit agreement between filmmaker and audience that the dead clergyman be forgotten. We're judging Ray solely on how he reacts to the second body. "In Bruges" cons the audience into feeling sorry for a man who had recently shot a man of God in cold blood. If there is such a thing as honor among hitmen, Ray is no hitman(as Ken pointed out), because he has no honor, which precludes his occupation and the occupational hazards that go with it. Ken was wrong about Ray. He withholds a key tidbit of information from Harry(Ralph Fiennes) at the end of "In Bruges" which would've brought honor to his mentor(Ken). Like samurai, Harry lives and dies by the code. Earlier, when Ray points the gun to his own head, he was probably only bluffing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcusA.Mar 24, 2008
Can you say underrated. This movie is probably the best of 2008 so far. IT is smart, dark, funny, and witty, and needs some recognition. Some people don't understand the ending, but it suits this film perfectly. The best hitman movie Can you say underrated. This movie is probably the best of 2008 so far. IT is smart, dark, funny, and witty, and needs some recognition. Some people don't understand the ending, but it suits this film perfectly. The best hitman movie since Pulp Fiction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DougN.Apr 13, 2008
I wasn't really impressed by this film. Who could identify with any of the characters? The "action" is somewhat formulaic. The story line isn't that interesting. The best part is Bruges, the city itself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
hollycJun 27, 2008
Holy crap. what an amazing surprise. I can see why this film had a hard time marketing itself b/c it doesn't lend itself to slick one-liners at all. As others have said, tightly, tightly written, very well acted--genre busting story Holy crap. what an amazing surprise. I can see why this film had a hard time marketing itself b/c it doesn't lend itself to slick one-liners at all. As others have said, tightly, tightly written, very well acted--genre busting story that works on so many layers it's just ridiculous! You get a drama/comedy/action-thriller/ biblical fairytale. In Bruge. rent this thing now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichR.Jul 12, 2008
This movie is the funniest thing I've seen in years! Hmmmm, maybe the black humor has a little to do with the British losing hundreds of thousands (in Belgium and Holland and freakin' France) fighting the Nazis during WWII while This movie is the funniest thing I've seen in years! Hmmmm, maybe the black humor has a little to do with the British losing hundreds of thousands (in Belgium and Holland and freakin' France) fighting the Nazis during WWII while the Belgians and their ilk hid under their mommie's dresses. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlPMar 17, 2009
Don't believe the negativity. Everyone I know has taken something different from this film but they all loved it and so did I. It is a movie that just begs to be watched right through in one sitting and manages to switch from absurd to Don't believe the negativity. Everyone I know has taken something different from this film but they all loved it and so did I. It is a movie that just begs to be watched right through in one sitting and manages to switch from absurd to disturbing to hilarious whilst still remaining completely believeable thanks to the quality of the script and actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ERG1008Sep 3, 2010
Two hitmen are sent to Bruges to "get out of the way" for a couple of weeks.
It reminded me of a sort Father Ted doing hitmen for the first part of the film then it gets a bit darker.
Some great one liners & good performances all round. Never
Two hitmen are sent to Bruges to "get out of the way" for a couple of weeks.
It reminded me of a sort Father Ted doing hitmen for the first part of the film then it gets a bit darker.
Some great one liners & good performances all round.
Never been to Bruges but looks absolutely beautiful.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
oxanaAug 25, 2014
I'm quite certain my review for this movie will improve slightly after I get to see it with English subtitles - without them, the strongly accented and quick manner of speaking is at times very hard to follow for a non-English viewer like me.I'm quite certain my review for this movie will improve slightly after I get to see it with English subtitles - without them, the strongly accented and quick manner of speaking is at times very hard to follow for a non-English viewer like me.

It is nice to see Colin Farrell speaking as he normally does, once again. Not that I hate the honed English with less "Irish" in it, but it brought a lot into his character in this particular movie.

There's some funny parts, and others that have you shaking your head; some gangster action, raw images and bloody scenes. Altogether, though, "In Bruges" is hardly the film it could be.

The characters were not as well drawn as they could be. Sure, we learned each of their main characteristics, but more may have been appropriate. The plot jumped into motion from the start, and made me wonder for a while: "What kind of movie was I expecting to see?" This hardly was one to meet my expectations.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
everlastallSep 26, 2015
Dark and filled with snark and dry humor, the movie twists between relaxing, clever, intense and hilarious. Not a fan of the little speech at the end, but otherwise I loved this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TrilobiteGAug 25, 2015
It's annoying ending is nothing compared to how much a laughed, felt suspense and paced through this wonderful blend of dark comedy and heart pounding action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FilmQueenOct 21, 2015
This dark comedy is **** perfect. Few movies actually make me laugh, but this one is one of them. I have already watched it two times and the second time it was even better.The dialogue is hilarious and there is a balance between the dramaThis dark comedy is **** perfect. Few movies actually make me laugh, but this one is one of them. I have already watched it two times and the second time it was even better.The dialogue is hilarious and there is a balance between the drama and the comedy. The message at the end of the film is a meaningful one,I like it,although ambiguous endings piss me of a little bit. I should also mention that Colin Farrell did great job, very good performance. Brendan Gleeson is good as well and Ralph Fiennes is hella scary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews