Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Nov 12, 2012
    80
    A quiet, nearly plot-free drama enlivened by beautifully nuanced performances by its four-person leading ensemble, In Our Nature depicts familiar dysfunctional family dynamics with a welcome lack of melodrama.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Dec 11, 2012
    75
    As prophetic as it is provocative, exploring dysfunction, in a recognizable but no less satisfying way.
  3. Reviewed by: Leah Churner
    Dec 12, 2012
    67
    A study in fine gradations of resentment in the great outdoors, In Our Nature is a little too subtle for this genre. Country-house-fiasco films are only satisfying when the shit truly hits the fan.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Dec 6, 2012
    60
    Is the movie psychologically accurate? Yes. But that doesn't keep it from being a little dull.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Nov 12, 2012
    60
    Writer-director Brian Savelson drags four characters all the way out to the woods to orchestrate the sort of politely confrontational chamber piece best suited to an Off Off Broadway stage in In Our Nature, an eloquent but overly rehearsed drama.
  6. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Dec 5, 2012
    58
    Brian Savelson's small-scaled domestic drama In Our Nature evokes a specific, fairly common experience: when two young lovers expose a still-blossoming relationship to their relatives' stifling attention.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Dec 7, 2012
    50
    Nuanced work by the great John Slattery ("Mad Men") as an emotionally distant dad isn't enough to sustain more than sporadic interest in Brian Savelson's underwritten, slow-moving indie, which plays distressingly like a photographed off-Broadway drama.
  8. Reviewed by: Pete Vonder Haar
    Dec 4, 2012
    50
    By the time Savelson has hit all the obligatory checkpoints (unplanned pregnancy, dying parents, bear home invasion), the reconciliation we all saw coming has been achieved.
  9. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 6, 2012
    40
    A mopey indie family drama like In Our Nature can't quash "Mad Men" star John Slattery's charm no matter how badly it tries.
  10. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Dec 4, 2012
    40
    In the wake of the spunkier "Your Sister's Sister," writer-director Brian Savelson can't seem to mount a head of steam, and his chamber piece feels underdeveloped. Even Slattery's sourness doesn't redeem the banality of impending heart-to-hearts.
  11. Reviewed by: Diego Costa
    Dec 7, 2012
    25
    In Our Nature's visual style seems plastered on or allocated, not developed with any sort of authorial singularity.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    I've just watched it and I'm truly amazed how psychologically accurate this film was... The difficult father- son relationship is showed in aI've just watched it and I'm truly amazed how psychologically accurate this film was... The difficult father- son relationship is showed in a both subtle and complex way... All the dialogues seemed really natural and fitting the events on the screen. The acting was superb, all 4 leads couldn't do a better job and I can't really understand why this film didn't get a wider recognition. I would love to see more pictures like this, moving family dramas, telling some important truths about relationships with people we love and yet find it so difficult to communicate with. Full Review »