Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 418 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: An unspeakably evil army rampages across what was an idyllic, peaceful world, destroying everything in its path, looking to conquer the mighty Castle Ebb and vanquish the King himself! Amidst this backdrop of war in the Kingdom of Ehb, between the evil Gallian and the ruling King Konreid, a once simple family man named Farmer sets out to find his kidnapped wife, Solana. (Freestyle Releasing) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 10 out of 11
  1. 50
    A second-rate regurgitation of "The Lord of the Rings." Everything about it, down to the set and costume design, apes Peter Jackson's epic trilogy. However, while "The Lord of the Rings" was a grand story of scope and power, In the Name of the King feels small in more ways than one.
  2. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    30
    Its convictionless competence is merely dull, denying the pleasures of an outright howler without providing much else.
  3. 25
    Cultists will be happy to discover that In The Name Of The King bears all the so-bad-it's-good hallmarks of a classic Boll production.
  4. 25
    Director Uwe Boll sticks with what he knows -- how to turn video games into dull, cheap-looking movies.
  5. 20
    An awkward “Lord of the Rings” knockoff, it features both elaborate battles and bumbling humor, though it’s never quite clear when you should be laughing.
  6. Reviewed by: Jim Ridley
    20
    As numbing and depressing to watch as suits hammering out a film-packaging deal one venal clause at a time.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    10
    A plodding patchwork of derivative fantasy-adventure, medieval production design, risible dialogue, unimpressive CGI trickery and haphazardly edited action sequences.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 59
  2. Negative: 35 out of 59
  1. JeffS.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Hey...like you are all good at making movies...i'd like to see your sorry arses make a better movie. Anyone who can create a film and put it on the big screen deserves a 10, good luck to all your losers. Collapse
  2. RalphH.
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    Best movie ever.Very exciting with a good cast and great special effects. See this movie!
  3. Justin
    Feb 4, 2009
    7
    Not a bad movie. Those that rated this a zero have obviously jumped on the Uwe Boll bashing bandwagon and have lost objectivity.
  4. JoelK
    Jan 19, 2008
    2
    A DUNGeon siege tale... haha...oh wait never mind.
  5. SusanT.
    Apr 16, 2008
    1
    I could of done better then this director , saved a lot of money, some of the actors on this movie should of done a updated movie , it was like watching modern day actors try to fit into ancient times, it was frustrating, to watch, also , some of them need desperately acting lessons, burt reynolds, is a great actor so he pulled it off, but the others needed to be in a gangster movie, or put makeup on to desguise them from the type of movies that they had done before. the story made no sense, they should of had some prelog statements made at the beggining, you had no idea about the characters, you didnt get close enough to the passion of each character, clean the board all those good actors and not much of a story to follow, something was missing ,it was hard to watch at times , and caused me real distress, because they had so much equipment and energy put into it, but the story seemed, boring, the movie seemed boring, the film production , had some wonderful scenary, but why could i not get into the passion of the movie i just dont know. it seemed odd at best, what were they thinking, you cant just start a story without any background of the situation, who did i feel passion with , i just dont know, very boring,, bery boring indeed, a lot of good stars, but no real content, i think they all just wanted to make a movie, no body was conviencing me of there characters, a interesting actress, was the wife of the hero, great actress, i beleived in her character, she was beleivable, so that is my statement about the movie, it seems to me, i would of arranged alot of things differently then the director did, the villian i think should of put makeup to add to the characters beleivable self,i dont like to be critical, but i thought the movie was really bad. and always look for positives in everything Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Jan 10, 2008
    0
    Don't see this movie. Please make him stop!
  7. JohnF
    Jun 7, 2008
    0
    First off, Jason Statham stick to action movies (Hint: The Transporter). The only thing that I liked about this movie is the fact that it ended. Could someone please give me back the last 2 hours of my life. All I wonder is why didn't the guy at the movie store warn me that this movie sucks. Accents are wrong, "Farmer?", compatible with planet of the apes in medieval times. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Movies Based on Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Movies Based on Videogames Image
    Published: September 8, 2010
    This week's "Resident Evil: Afterlife" is yet another film adaptation of a popular videogame. Everything you've heard about the genre is true: there are a lot of terrible movies, and a lot of Uwe Boll movies. (And those categories are definitely not mutually exclusive.) We look at the "best" and worst examples of games-turned-movies.