Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Nov 14, 2013
    70
    Despite some diffused messaging and oddly elliptical storytelling, "In the Name Of" proves an absorbing, at times hypnotic drama about religion, repression and sexuality.
  2. Reviewed by: John Oursler
    Oct 29, 2013
    70
    A nuanced, character-driven critique of the Catholic Church and its regressive stance on homosexuality.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Oct 29, 2013
    60
    Encouraging sensitive performances that mitigate the film’s sluggish pace and fuzzy narrative, Ms. Szumowska juxtaposes two-person scenes of wordless intimacy with group expressions of casual violence.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Oct 8, 2013
    60
    Co-writer/ director Malgorzata Szumowska, improving upon 2011's Elles, downplays the conflicts in a scenario apparently ripe for torrid melodrama, allowing the story and characters to reveal themselves at their own pace.
  5. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Nov 1, 2013
    50
    The second half is therefore much more interesting than the first; even so, the whole movie suffers from a lack of narrative momentum and a surfeit of wordless shots of men exchanging deep, meaningful glances.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Weber
    Oct 29, 2013
    50
    This Polish "gay priest tempted" drama is almost as confused about the moral quandaries of its characters as they are.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Oct 29, 2013
    40
    In The Name Of… might have worked moderately well as a character study, if not for the film’s insistence on treating other priests as mustache-twirling villains.
  8. Reviewed by: Alissa Simon
    Oct 8, 2013
    30
    While thesps Chyra and Kosciukiewicz... embody the physical aspect of their characters’ relationship comfortably enough, their pairing as lovers lacks both chemistry and narrative credibility.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 3 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    This is a slow starter to be sure but by its conclusion I was actually rather surprised that I found it as affecting as I did. It tells theThis is a slow starter to be sure but by its conclusion I was actually rather surprised that I found it as affecting as I did. It tells the story of a homosexual priest battling his true nature. His past failings have caused him to be moved from post to post within the priesthood and as the film begins we find him currently supervising delinquent boys somewhere off the beaten track. The densely detailed but un- showy screenplay brings out many nuances ultimately evoking an air of something tragic to come. This is turn keeps the attention focused and the interest constant. The film earns its plaudits the hard way, but definitely rewards patience.

    The ending does offer some optimism in the otherwise down beat proceedings, but it is fair to say that it
    is also ambiguous enough to suggest the pattern of what has gone before will possibly be repeated. Performances are good and the romance that develops between the priest and one of his charges, whilst questionable, is tenderly presented.
    Full Review »