User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 3105 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 17, 2010
    2
    I thought this movie was not as good as people are saying. Because we knew it was dreams inside dreams the over the top fight scenes had no bearing. Who cared? As a result the movie became boring and repetitious. I would be very hard pressed to recommend this movie to anyone. Stay away.
  2. Aug 28, 2010
    2
    We went because we enjoyed Memento, once we read a 3 page analysis of it; and Metacritic's high "score". But it was a disappointment. Where Memento was confusing but clever, and, once comprehended, brilliant.......Inception is confusing and boring, and way too long. The entire Alpine dream could have been eliminated with affecting the story line. Who was shooting who, anyway, andWe went because we enjoyed Memento, once we read a 3 page analysis of it; and Metacritic's high "score". But it was a disappointment. Where Memento was confusing but clever, and, once comprehended, brilliant.......Inception is confusing and boring, and way too long. The entire Alpine dream could have been eliminated with affecting the story line. Who was shooting who, anyway, and besides, who cares? I actually dozed off during this sequence. The chases scenes were also overdone and relatively uninteresting because it didnt much matter who got hit and who didnt. It is a dream, after all. The CGI is clearly clever and the links between the physical world and their effect on the dream world, amusing. But visionary? No. Entertaining? Only briefly. Expand
  3. Sep 8, 2010
    4
    Watching Inception is like watching an episode of the A-team or Hart to Hart. You find the same scene in all three things, a car in slow motion falling into the water. The shame is that when in those tv shows it lasts 3 minutes to the max, in Inception it lasts 1 hour and a half. One could think Chris Nolan did it on purpose and was giving us his thought on pop culture... Alas, C. NolanWatching Inception is like watching an episode of the A-team or Hart to Hart. You find the same scene in all three things, a car in slow motion falling into the water. The shame is that when in those tv shows it lasts 3 minutes to the max, in Inception it lasts 1 hour and a half. One could think Chris Nolan did it on purpose and was giving us his thought on pop culture... Alas, C. Nolan doesn't reflect on his art at all... He only wants to entertain and impress us with a cheap special effect from the 80s... Nothing will be as deep as your deception when you'll watch Inception.
    If you want a good and fun summer entertainment movie go see piranha 3D, if you want a beautiful and thoughtful film about dreams qo see Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives, by Apichatpong Weerasethakul.
    Expand
  4. Aug 8, 2012
    0
    The story of this movie is one that is not realistic whatsoever and it's not interesting in any way either. The movie itself is so boring it made me hope it would end soon. I think there is one joke in this movie and there are 2 smiles. It is a complex story partly because everything takes so long to explain itself. I really had a bad night at the cinema,. Nolan's style is really horribleThe story of this movie is one that is not realistic whatsoever and it's not interesting in any way either. The movie itself is so boring it made me hope it would end soon. I think there is one joke in this movie and there are 2 smiles. It is a complex story partly because everything takes so long to explain itself. I really had a bad night at the cinema,. Nolan's style is really horrible if you ask me. That's my honest opinion. Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2010
    0
    was like a writing exercises by Nolan.Lacks depth in the characters and action sequences were poor,could have been better if Nolan gave more emphasis on direction department
  6. Oct 16, 2010
    3
    A tedious and unoriginal spectacle. Completely saturated with blindly complementary hype and build up but I'm afraid it didn't take the biscuit. Perhaps a film for ITV 4 in 5 years at 10 on a Wednesday night - but truly undeserving of mass takings at box office
  7. Oct 25, 2010
    4
    This was easily the most disappointing movie of the year. I really wanted to like this movie. But it's a pretentious, mess of a movie. The acting was weak. DiCaprio is back to his old, bad acting habits. The only reason Ellen Page is in this movie is so DiCaprio has someone to explain things too. I just wanted to scream at Christopher Nolan, "SHOW ME, DON'T TELL ME". The charactersThis was easily the most disappointing movie of the year. I really wanted to like this movie. But it's a pretentious, mess of a movie. The acting was weak. DiCaprio is back to his old, bad acting habits. The only reason Ellen Page is in this movie is so DiCaprio has someone to explain things too. I just wanted to scream at Christopher Nolan, "SHOW ME, DON'T TELL ME". The characters are all one dimensional. I didn't care what happened to any of them. Some of the special effects were interesting, but they were in a vacuum. There was nothing compelling about them. This movie was trying to be original and clever, but you've got to have a compelling story with interesting characters for it too work. It was too complex for it's own good. Expand
  8. Aug 14, 2010
    0
    Never in my many years of going to the movies have I ever felt like walking out. NEVER. And I've seen a lot of bad movies. This movie is, without a doubt, the single WORST movie I have ever seen. It's film garbage. It has no soul.
    Hated it.
  9. Aug 15, 2010
    2
    Ridiculous, and ridiculously boring. No character development, no authentic emotion: Nolan gives you no reason to even CARE. Little by way of original ideas, or original film making. And the screenplay! 99.9% pure drivel. In all, it's a crappy movie inside a mindless movie inside a pretentious movie inside a boring movie. Skip it.
  10. Aug 24, 2010
    1
    Can't for the life of me figure out why this movie got such high ratings. Another movie rigged by reviewers to get people in seats. DO NOT SEE THIS IN THEATERS. Wait for the DVD if you must. The plot is stupid and confusing, the characters are annoying and far-fetched, the premise is so unbelievable it boggles the mind. Whoever came up with this should be shot. The dream sequences are justCan't for the life of me figure out why this movie got such high ratings. Another movie rigged by reviewers to get people in seats. DO NOT SEE THIS IN THEATERS. Wait for the DVD if you must. The plot is stupid and confusing, the characters are annoying and far-fetched, the premise is so unbelievable it boggles the mind. Whoever came up with this should be shot. The dream sequences are just excuses to use some CGI effects and basically stray from reality as much as possible, and OMG but I had NO IDEA my dreams could be so vivid and real, to the point where you can arrange heists and kidnappings and create 'projections' that can actually kill you. I've never sat through so much nonsense in my life. This is a poorly written movie. If M. Knight had of written this it would've been viciously attacked, in stark contrast to the rave reviews and high ratings this has received so far. I will never get that hour and a half back. What a waste. Expand
  11. Dec 10, 2010
    0
    THIS movie is completely overated. Watercooler prestige for those who sit through & pat theirsleves on the back at oh what smarty pants they are. This movie is crap that drags and is no where near as intersting as the nap & dream I took before it ended. Dreams are abstract, impossible to set up house in, one persons flying burritos and chairs with ship sails makes sense to them only.THIS movie is completely overated. Watercooler prestige for those who sit through & pat theirsleves on the back at oh what smarty pants they are. This movie is crap that drags and is no where near as intersting as the nap & dream I took before it ended. Dreams are abstract, impossible to set up house in, one persons flying burritos and chairs with ship sails makes sense to them only. Original? Ive seen better folding cities in the Matrix and Dark City.Its down right sad that spew like this and Monsters are loved by critics and yuppies everywhere when their comlplete dribble and will only contribute to the horrible drought of anything decent. DO yourself a favor rent Dark City & skip this nap maker. Expand
  12. Feb 11, 2011
    3
    everybody hyped this movie up so much but man were they wrong this is one of the slowest moving most boring movies I've ever seen what little action is in it is good but I could barely keep my eyes open waiting for something to happen
  13. Feb 12, 2011
    0
    Extremely overhyped, no actual intellectual content. Good if you want to pretend that you're watching an intelligent movie without actually having to use your brain. For those who enjoy actual stories with characters you care about or original ideas with relevance over pretentious, overthought, and purposely "complex" (not really) crap, this movie should be avoided. Unless you're a wannabeExtremely overhyped, no actual intellectual content. Good if you want to pretend that you're watching an intelligent movie without actually having to use your brain. For those who enjoy actual stories with characters you care about or original ideas with relevance over pretentious, overthought, and purposely "complex" (not really) crap, this movie should be avoided. Unless you're a wannabe intellectual, don't watch this. Action scenes would earn it a 5 (it's actually a decent popcorn movie), but amount of hype and intended audience make it get a 0 from me. Expand
  14. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    The film is both ill conceived and ill produced mess. It's to be expected that Hollywood will throw awards upon efforts which appear to be smart, though really aren't. I enjoyed Batman Begins. Memento was ok, but highly over-rated for the same reasons. This thing was nothing but a painful POS. An offensive turd.
  15. Aug 20, 2010
    4
    There are some good scenes in the film, like the anti-gravity fighting and the car chases to a degree, but they aren't enough to carry the film.
    Everything we find out about the world is explained by Cobb to one of the supporting characters at one point or another. There's nothing for us to find out for ourselves, and this is very disappointing in a film receiving such hype about how it's
    There are some good scenes in the film, like the anti-gravity fighting and the car chases to a degree, but they aren't enough to carry the film.
    Everything we find out about the world is explained by Cobb to one of the supporting characters at one point or another. There's nothing for us to find out for ourselves, and this is very disappointing in a film receiving such hype about how it's clever and makes you think. I saw a review praising how the film isn't dumbed down, but I find the exact opposite to be true. Everything is clearly explained before it happens, and re-explained if it happens again later on. For example, they explain a paradoxical situation, fairly early on, and when it comes into play later Arthur shouts "paradox" as the camera pans around to see exactly what happened, leaving nothing to be thought about.

    I would have loved to believe what was happening. Cobb is supposed to be the best at what he does, but the only time we see him in action, he seems to have no control over the situation and seems to fail entirely at what he's trying to do. We're told things too often, and never shown things to see for ourselves.

    I also had a problem with the entire sub-plot surrounding how Cobb is flawed, I won't go into detail, but it took up far too much screen time, and provided very little to the story.

    I expected an intelligent thriller, and ended up watching a disjointed and confused (not confusing) film with some neat action scenes sparsely placed throughout.
    See it if you want, but don't go out of your way for it.
    Expand
  16. Sep 1, 2010
    4
    A great cast, intersting concept, with high production values, but utlimately a very average action movie. I agree with JamesD that the film was "curiously impersonal and mechanical." Cut out roughly 45 minutes of Philosophy 201 level exposition and what you have is people shooting and punching each other. A film this hyped demands comment on the director: I thought Dark Knight was veryA great cast, intersting concept, with high production values, but utlimately a very average action movie. I agree with JamesD that the film was "curiously impersonal and mechanical." Cut out roughly 45 minutes of Philosophy 201 level exposition and what you have is people shooting and punching each other. A film this hyped demands comment on the director: I thought Dark Knight was very good, but mostly because of Ledger's performance. Take that away, and Dark Knight is rather average fair with Bale doing a lot of growling and gloating. In Inception there is no remarkable performance; Leonardo emotes but we are given no reason to care. Expand
  17. Nov 15, 2010
    2
    Go see the Matrix - again - and save your effort. Same movie as Matrix but now takes place inside a dream. Really unoriginal. Drags on far too long. This movie never should have been made.
  18. Dec 10, 2010
    0
    This is a review within a review that's trapped inside another review. Only a defibrillator can release the real score within my subconscious. So I improvised and reconstructed a score of zero based upon my memories of other movies like Glitter, Ishtar and My Giant.
  19. Dec 31, 2010
    3
    Talk about the emperor's new clothes, Nolan's oeuvre is the emperor's whole wardrobe. Although i did like Batman Begins, Inception, like that last Batman film is a big convoluted mess. Having read many complex narrative and metafiction novels, i love complexity when it's delivered by a talented artist with a capacity to deliver, Nolan can't. Who cares about richy rich and his dying father?Talk about the emperor's new clothes, Nolan's oeuvre is the emperor's whole wardrobe. Although i did like Batman Begins, Inception, like that last Batman film is a big convoluted mess. Having read many complex narrative and metafiction novels, i love complexity when it's delivered by a talented artist with a capacity to deliver, Nolan can't. Who cares about richy rich and his dying father? Who cares about the "kicks" being executed? And the security in the unconscious is paramilitary shootouts? What!? That is devoid of imaginations. Why aren't we seeing Leo's relationship with his wife? That might be a film. But Nolan has never shown any capacity to reveal intimacy so i shouldn't be too surprised. Expand
  20. Jan 8, 2011
    4
    Normally, I am very much against all of the "high brow" negative reviews of a movie, but in this case, I have to say that Inception is very over-rated. While interesting in concept, and certainly written by a genius or someone who has indulged in LSD way too many times, it's just "too much" for my tastes.
  21. Jan 17, 2011
    3
    Wow! What a tedious, confusing, mess! I have loved many movies with dreamlike sensibilities--"Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind," "Twelve Monkeys," and "Brazil" come to mind--movies which prompt the viewer to question reality and ponder their place in the universe. "Inception" is clearly attempting to be one of these movies, but it fails miserably. Piling layer upon layer of plotWow! What a tedious, confusing, mess! I have loved many movies with dreamlike sensibilities--"Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind," "Twelve Monkeys," and "Brazil" come to mind--movies which prompt the viewer to question reality and ponder their place in the universe. "Inception" is clearly attempting to be one of these movies, but it fails miserably. Piling layer upon layer of plot and exposition doesn't make a movie more "intelligent" or "thought-provoking," but that is what director Christopher Nolan seems to be doing. Instead of provocative, metaphysical sci-fi we get scene after scene that resemble outtakes from "Mission Impossible 12." None of it adds up to much, except that is, for confusion and boredom. Sure, there are some awe-inspiring CGI sequences of dream worlds folding over onto themselves, and edifices collapsing into nothing, but mostly what we get is meaningless, uninspired action and head-scratching explanations about the why these convoluted events are occurring. If I cared even a little bit about these characters, maybe I could forgive the filmmakers for some (though certainly not all) of the ridiculous plot contortions, but I didn't. Expand
  22. Jan 29, 2011
    3
    Brilliant concept, but so much action and violence it just seemed tiring after a while. This apparently is the only "reality" Hollywood knows how to produce, even with the opportunity to go "three layers deep". Not hard to follow or understand if you were paying attention. It was "disappointing". I thought it offered something on a deeper level. It's just a *movie* NOT a "film". KindBrilliant concept, but so much action and violence it just seemed tiring after a while. This apparently is the only "reality" Hollywood knows how to produce, even with the opportunity to go "three layers deep". Not hard to follow or understand if you were paying attention. It was "disappointing". I thought it offered something on a deeper level. It's just a *movie* NOT a "film". Kind of felt I wasted 2 hours of "real" time being I am used to films on a much deeper level that don't rely on action, violence and a bunch of shoot-em-up-bang-bang to take one through the movie's concept. Granted its better than most Hollywood movies out there, but still disappointing that it wasn't more on its own without following typical movie footsteps - you'll know what this means by the end of the movie. That's the idea I hope gets out there to save us from more disappointment. Expand
  23. Feb 26, 2011
    3
    No offense, because we all have been 12 years old, but the only way you can consider this film mind blowing, smart, creative and blah blah blah is if you are 12 or below. I give it 3 points because of the city landscape and some well done effects. Everything else is quite vague and boring.
  24. Jan 22, 2012
    3
    Clearly over thought concept, blockbuster budget and all star cast list makes the film feel like its trying too hard to impress. Nolan desperately tries to make the film awe inspiring with genius seeping out of every crevice of the plot. Unfortunately this is all counter productive, making for a very laborious and lacklustre watch.
  25. Apr 2, 2012
    1
    A horrible movie. I don't really care if I didn't comprehend it, it still wasn't interesting to watch. There have been plenty of movies that had complex story lines that I still found intriguing to watch. It was so boring. The only semi good thing was the music. Too long to.
  26. Oct 5, 2012
    4
    It was alright. Worth a watch if you're that bored. Would try to pick it up on DVD second hand though. Giving the movie a 10 doesn't make you more intelligent.
  27. Mar 24, 2013
    3
    A complicated mix of a twisted drama.
  28. Oct 29, 2013
    0
    Just a heap of excruciatingly long and dull action sequences that drag on and on, and in between them there's pseudo-intellectual explanatory dialogue that has no life or feeling to it. That's the whole movie.
    It's amazing what this generation views as a "masterpiece", a movie with no real plot or story, no character development, depth, or emotional engagement; just boring scenes that
    Just a heap of excruciatingly long and dull action sequences that drag on and on, and in between them there's pseudo-intellectual explanatory dialogue that has no life or feeling to it. That's the whole movie.
    It's amazing what this generation views as a "masterpiece", a movie with no real plot or story, no character development, depth, or emotional engagement; just boring scenes that play out like a video game, "Complete this dream level... now on to the next dream level..." It has no soul, it's a borefest from start to finish.

    True as some say, it has awesome special effects, but so do cologne commercials. When will people understand that special effects don't make a movie?

    And to anyone saying it's a "smart" movie; that understanding it makes you more intelligent than people who don't; trust me on this, you're an idiot. There was huge hype surrounding this film, you were told how it's targeted at the intellectuals, how "it's not a movie for everyone", and the goal of this was to convince simpletons like you that understanding the plot makes you intelligent, and that anyone who didn't like it was because he's too stupid to understand it. That couldn't be further from the truth, you are a complete idiot as you are unable to see when people are playing mind tricks on you. I can't help but to think how they laughed at all the people who bought into the hype they created, how they made people overlook what a boring piece of trash they made with simple psychological marketing.

    tl;dr: This movie was made to make stupid people feel smart.
    Expand
  29. Aug 11, 2010
    0
    TERRIBLE, it falls, to damn complicated for sal to understand probably because he smells bad davinchi goes into 4th sleep relm and **** ERVEY were thank you
  30. May 23, 2014
    0
    Even if you watch 9/11 tapes while reading conspiracy theories on the internet and listening to Silencer, you won't have a more depressing, humorless, dull, pseudo-complex, deadly serious experience than Inception. This movie proves that Chris "Just doin' it for money" Nolan doesn't know what a joke is. His daddy raised him to be a true no-nonsense businessman, and businessmen can neverEven if you watch 9/11 tapes while reading conspiracy theories on the internet and listening to Silencer, you won't have a more depressing, humorless, dull, pseudo-complex, deadly serious experience than Inception. This movie proves that Chris "Just doin' it for money" Nolan doesn't know what a joke is. His daddy raised him to be a true no-nonsense businessman, and businessmen can never lighten up! They also cannot make art, they can make only carefully engineered, emotionally inept, heartless blockbusters. Expand
  31. Jan 21, 2011
    3
    This film is so overhyped! It is boring action and an even more boring storyline, with even more boring atmosphere. This Film was literally putting people to sleep. I forced myself to stay awake because i was waiting for the plot to turn interesting, but no. The film finsihed and it was hard to make it all the way through. BORING! BORING! BORING!
  32. Mar 28, 2011
    4
    There are about five things that I hate about this world. And one of them is how goddamn overhyped and overrated this movie is. People say that they like if because they didn't understand it. It's just like Chinatown. Only that one was good.
  33. Jun 15, 2011
    3
    This film didn't quite know what it wanted to be. It was overly ambitious with little insight into realism when it was inviting audiences to take it seriously. A good cast wasn't enough to do it for me, as the slow and rather tedious story progression was too distracting. Towards the end I was quite restless as it was needlessly dragging on whilst becoming a bit of an action film where itThis film didn't quite know what it wanted to be. It was overly ambitious with little insight into realism when it was inviting audiences to take it seriously. A good cast wasn't enough to do it for me, as the slow and rather tedious story progression was too distracting. Towards the end I was quite restless as it was needlessly dragging on whilst becoming a bit of an action film where it wasn't necessarily due. Christopher Nolan is a brilliant director and I thoroughly enjoy the majority of his films except this one. Hopefully it was a one off. Expand
  34. Aug 24, 2011
    4
    I saw this in IMAX 3D and was nonplussed. I consider myself highly intelligent and the complicated beginning of this movie was very off putting. They couldn't spare five minutes for a little setup? The movie was too long and had some very slow parts. Soundtrack got annoying as well and I am a bass freak. Overall--the execution of a cool story was so poorly done that I can't give it higherI saw this in IMAX 3D and was nonplussed. I consider myself highly intelligent and the complicated beginning of this movie was very off putting. They couldn't spare five minutes for a little setup? The movie was too long and had some very slow parts. Soundtrack got annoying as well and I am a bass freak. Overall--the execution of a cool story was so poorly done that I can't give it higher than a 4. Expand
  35. Dec 2, 2011
    0
    Christopher Nolan shot to fame a decade ago with a low-budget masterpiece called Memento ... the same year that an over-hyped Peal Harbor flopped. Inception is the "Pearl Harbor" of the following decade ... an expensive failure. The most amazing thing about this one was how the promoters managed to bribe every major critic on the planet - at the time I did not read one bad review & I wasChristopher Nolan shot to fame a decade ago with a low-budget masterpiece called Memento ... the same year that an over-hyped Peal Harbor flopped. Inception is the "Pearl Harbor" of the following decade ... an expensive failure. The most amazing thing about this one was how the promoters managed to bribe every major critic on the planet - at the time I did not read one bad review & I was therefore conned into rushing out to see it. This is proof-positive that the critics are paid off by big interests. Ironically, my girlfriend fell asleep during the movie! Even my son agrees with me. This one is a complete abomination. Expand
  36. Mar 20, 2012
    3
    I guess this movie works. There's good action scenes and some interesting camera use, but it's ultimately ruined by Christopher Nolan's pretensions. I found myself annoyed by its attempts to be deep, with cheap tricks like the top at the end presented as some mind-bending ambiguity. Its resemblance to Shutter Island is also worth noting, with DiCaprio playing Cobb as a Federal MarshallI guess this movie works. There's good action scenes and some interesting camera use, but it's ultimately ruined by Christopher Nolan's pretensions. I found myself annoyed by its attempts to be deep, with cheap tricks like the top at the end presented as some mind-bending ambiguity. Its resemblance to Shutter Island is also worth noting, with DiCaprio playing Cobb as a Federal Marshall minus the accent. I was just really disappointed that this movie could have been better, had the dream nonsense either been removed or executed better. Expand
  37. Jul 20, 2012
    3
    In any medium of art, there is a balance between the abstract and concrete. The issue that arises in Inception is that the director, Nolan, delves too much into the abstract that any meaning becomes so purposefully ambiguous so as any logical explanation is irrelevant due due to the fact that so many are possible.

    Even though this can be seen as a pro or a con, pretentious
    In any medium of art, there is a balance between the abstract and concrete. The issue that arises in Inception is that the director, Nolan, delves too much into the abstract that any meaning becomes so purposefully ambiguous so as any logical explanation is irrelevant due due to the fact that so many are possible.

    Even though this can be seen as a pro or a con, pretentious psuedointellectuals will love this film, basking in its non-revelatory metaphysical overtones. Also, the action sequences are more than likely going to feel drawn out (Nolan could have at least made the unveiling towards the climax 1/3 of how it was) - the reason that it was done the way it was is in due probably cause to the fact that Nolan wanted to make an epic film.

    Though there is something that this movie is and the best word I can use is that of a concept coined by the author Kurt Vonnegut: "Cranfalloon."

    A Cranfalloon is something that seems epic, bold, audacious or significant and yet, like a balloon, is filled solely with air. It's as if this film "Inception" should have really been called "Deception," as in; we are deceived to believe that this jumble mess of ideas in which the number of possibilities for interpretations causes a negation of any one "true" interpretation. I don't regret watching it. The second time I watched it, though, I strongly desired having spent that time doing something else.
    Expand
  38. Jan 2, 2014
    3
    Inception one of the most overrated movies I have ever seen; complete and utter garbage. Apart from the good acting and my crush on both Leonardo DiCaprio and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, this film was terrible. I only brought this film because everyone kept raving about how good it was, but I should know better. The films that tend to be overrated are the films I hate the most, such as SkyfallInception one of the most overrated movies I have ever seen; complete and utter garbage. Apart from the good acting and my crush on both Leonardo DiCaprio and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, this film was terrible. I only brought this film because everyone kept raving about how good it was, but I should know better. The films that tend to be overrated are the films I hate the most, such as Skyfall and Avatar. I found Inception confusing to follow and there was too much going on at once and too many characters kept on being introduced. I just found this film boring and there was too much action to much up for the crap storyline. I am really disappointed in this film.

    Grade: D-
    Expand
  39. Jun 22, 2014
    3
    Inception' tries very hard to be ground-breaking but surprisingly I would call it below average. Inception fails in achieving everything that Nolan usually does brilliantly. Inception is one of Nolan's weakest screenplays. The people who think that Inception is a very clever and smart film are the one's who are being fooled by Nolan. The entire Act 1 was dragged and stretched and was allInception' tries very hard to be ground-breaking but surprisingly I would call it below average. Inception fails in achieving everything that Nolan usually does brilliantly. Inception is one of Nolan's weakest screenplays. The people who think that Inception is a very clever and smart film are the one's who are being fooled by Nolan. The entire Act 1 was dragged and stretched and was all about about establishing rules most of which seemed to broken towards the end. In fact the rules just started to become random towards the end. The character development was very very poor. They're wooden, heartless and almost seem as though they exist as mere subjects of experimentation. The only 2 characters portrayed well were Cobb and Mal. The entire idea of "The Kick" doesn't make much sense. They started off saying that it was the effect of Gravity, the sense of falling that wakes you up. But then how is it that no one woke up when the Van was rotating and fell to a lower ground? How is it that no one woke up during the period when the Van was falling from the bridge? Why did the kick, kick in only when the Van touched the water? The introduction of Limbo is completely pointless. So if you're highly sedated, and you kill yourself in a dream, you wake up in Limbo, but if you kill yourself in Limbo you wake up? Why didn't they just think of doing that when Saito was shot. (And for some reason Saito had men working for him in Limbo as well.) The entire plot of taking over Fischer's company seems a bit too McGuffin-y. Inception took all it's ideas from an animated film called Paprika and unlike Inception, Paprika treated it's characters as humans rather than machines. This has always been Nolan's problem. The characters (in Inception, The Prestige, Insomnia and even Memento to an extent ) are so emotionless that you don't even care about most of them. That's what he got right in Batman Begins and The Dark Knight. You don't feel emotionally detached in them. There's always a risk that these types of films may outsmart themselves, I'm not sure if that's what happened with Inception but of the back of a couple of extraordinary films, one would expect better. Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. 100
    In terms of sheer originality, ambition and achievement, Inception is the movie of the summer, the movie of the year and the movie of our dreams.
  2. In a summer of remakes, reboots and sequels comes Inception, easily the most original movie idea in ages.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    100
    If Inception is a metaphysical puzzle, it's also a metaphorical one: It's hard not to draw connections between Cobb's dream-weaving and Nolan's filmmaking -- an activity devoted to constructing a simulacrum of reality, intended to seduce us, mess with our heads and leave a lasting impression. Mission accomplished.