Inception

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 3336 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JaneC
    Jul 18, 2010
    4
    I was hoping to give it a better score. I'll need to see it on Blu Ray later. It's one of those films that if you don't like it people think you're not cool. I'm not thick but I kept losing the plot.. Charactors had no depth. Film too long. Music too loud [although good] and you could only hear about 20% of the dialogue, so it was easy to lose your way. You I was hoping to give it a better score. I'll need to see it on Blu Ray later. It's one of those films that if you don't like it people think you're not cool. I'm not thick but I kept losing the plot.. Charactors had no depth. Film too long. Music too loud [although good] and you could only hear about 20% of the dialogue, so it was easy to lose your way. You couldn't hear ONE word that the Japanese chap said! Looked good with good actors but to be honest it left me cold. It became a' nightmare'. I will give it another go because Michael Cane was in it and Leonardo, two greats. By the way I thought Dark Knight was crap. Nolan seems to be a pretentious, self indulgent, up his own dark place, kind of person. Bring back the good old psycological 'Hitchcockian' thriller. I've just realized I'm overful of 'special effects'. This is just bilge dressed up, isn't it? Dissolusioned, yet again. Expand
  2. JamesD.
    Jul 26, 2010
    5
    Not very good really. I've heard the word visionary thrown Nolan's way, but this film was the work of a rather sterile imagination. Yes, it had many layers of narrative cleverly interweaved with eachother, but there was little to compel me at its core. The root cause of Cobb's state of mind just didn't grab me - partly as this relationship was never given the chance to Not very good really. I've heard the word visionary thrown Nolan's way, but this film was the work of a rather sterile imagination. Yes, it had many layers of narrative cleverly interweaved with eachother, but there was little to compel me at its core. The root cause of Cobb's state of mind just didn't grab me - partly as this relationship was never given the chance to develop to a tangible level. The elements of subconscious displayed were tame and the approach to the dreamworld rather banal - focusing as it did mainly on bland designs, bendy gimmicks and exploding things. There was little edge to Nolan's vision, he seemed quite happy to drown us in relentless exposition and unimaginative slow-mo shots. Scenes were very quick and at no point approached the atmosphere and interest of a real dream. A shame, because at their best, this is what films can do - engineer the quality of a waking dream. Compare Inception to the more intriguing work of Lynch, where scenes seduce with the perfect balance of the real and surreal, and whose images tend to linger in the mind. On top of this, Nolan is simply not a very good director of action; he is quite loose with the camera, and I yearned for more flair and invention in these scenes. Instead, he relied on an incredibly insistent score to give the action some punch. For a film about dreams and the subconscious, it was curiously impersonal and mechanical. Certainly, the real danger and sexuality of the subconscious might scare off mainstream audiences, but Nolan was given free reign to do what he wanted - so why not do something more interesting? Freud and Jung would find little to interest them here, as the film is less concerned with psychology and more with the narrative possibilities afforded by a convoluted dreamworld fiction. Perhaps Nolan does dream of corporate worlds and Bond fortresses. Unfortunately, such things don't interest me. Expand
  3. LaskhmanK.
    Jul 19, 2010
    4
    Disgusting!!! !The movie is trite, stilted & impervious. Very hard to follow the plot and the movie failed to engage the users. In the end the viewers were left confused.
  4. TomC.
    Jul 18, 2010
    4
    The special effects are the best part of this movie. The movie is basically taking naps with other people and joining their dream. that's goofy.
  5. JamesL.
    Jul 18, 2010
    4
    Where are the ratings of 10 coming from? Special effects were awsome. The plot was absurd and boring at times. It's no Matrix more along the lines of Total Recall. Leonardo DeCaprio's tortured soul characters are getting old. I must have dreamed this was going to be a better movie. Apparently a lot of the reviewers are still dreaming as well.
  6. BMW
    Jul 17, 2010
    4
    This movie had promise, the story was awesome, and the special effects were great. But, it was so long, boring, and confusing. That I wanted to leave the whole time, and get my $9.50 back. I don't know what these people are on who give this movie 9's and 10's. Don't get me wrong, i love a psychological thriller here and there, but this movie was just plain headache This movie had promise, the story was awesome, and the special effects were great. But, it was so long, boring, and confusing. That I wanted to leave the whole time, and get my $9.50 back. I don't know what these people are on who give this movie 9's and 10's. Don't get me wrong, i love a psychological thriller here and there, but this movie was just plain headache inducing. So many people walked out of the theatre with a migraine after that 2 and a half hour piece of garbage. Oh yeah, the acting was good. Yet not good enough to save this matrix wannabe. Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2015
    6
    Inception is a very hard to understand film and so confusing at times. I do however think Christopher Nolan is an amazing director and it is still watchable. A bit overlong, but a very strong cast.
  8. Susan
    Jul 17, 2010
    6
    Fight scene was great, otherwise this movie was disappointing. The plot was just absurd--scifi should make SOME attempt to connect with reality...
  9. Sue
    Jul 17, 2010
    6
    Great effects, good performance by DiCaprio. But the plot is so lame...a dream within a dream within a dream within...Please!
  10. LorenD.
    Jul 16, 2010
    6
    I was waiting so long to see this movie. Leo was great. It was kinda trippy at first, then it just got boring. The movie looked great though.
  11. Jan 5, 2012
    5
    A pretty good thriller that steps into tedium a few too many times. What is quite remarkable about this film is that it has gained a reputation for treating its audience like intelligent, thoughtful people. This view was illustrated by British film critic Mark Kermode when he used it as a primary reason to place Inception at the top of his best of 2010 list. I am quite surprised as IA pretty good thriller that steps into tedium a few too many times. What is quite remarkable about this film is that it has gained a reputation for treating its audience like intelligent, thoughtful people. This view was illustrated by British film critic Mark Kermode when he used it as a primary reason to place Inception at the top of his best of 2010 list. I am quite surprised as I really didn't find this film to be much more demanding or hard to follow than most films. This is due largely because of the over expository dialogue. There were entire reams of it that were so laden with explanation that I cringed at times. I'm surprised that they didn't just wheel on Basil Exposition to explain the next part of the plan. In contrast to many reviewers I felt patronised by the script and that it didn't trust the audience quite enough with the various complexities of the plot. Leonardo is currently stuck in a 'I'm a bit edgy, little bit mad' mode - differences between his role in this and Shutter Island are inscrutable. Tom Hardy? Not sure about him yet. Caine was certainly my favourite thing about this. The final set-piece was brilliantly executed but I feel that the entire first part of the film served as little more than groundwork for it. Sorry for fractured and unplanned review just had to get it out, thanks.

    Love you byeeeee.
    Expand
  12. JesseB.
    Jul 17, 2010
    4
    I think I've finally had it up to about here with Christopher Nolan. If you have ever seen a photograph of him, you might come away with the impression that his cranium is a tad larger than the rest of polite society (literally). This is not to speak badly of a person due solely to a physical quality which one possesses (as I have a gigantic boulder of a bald noggin) but to make the I think I've finally had it up to about here with Christopher Nolan. If you have ever seen a photograph of him, you might come away with the impression that his cranium is a tad larger than the rest of polite society (literally). This is not to speak badly of a person due solely to a physical quality which one possesses (as I have a gigantic boulder of a bald noggin) but to make the point that every inch of that fabled dome seems to be filled only with himself. Nolan, with the aid of his screenwriter brother, Jonathan, gave to us what many consider to be the grand achievement of the super-hero genre film to date, "The Dark Knight". I know what we are all thinking, "it doesn't take much to be the best of the bunch in that arena of film making." You are probably right, although there have been those rare exception, such as the aforementioned "Knight", which have exceeded the expectations of the viewer and brought us somewhere else rather than the local comic books store. With his latest directorial effort, "Inception", Nolan takes us on a trip through the imagination... literally. The story is of a man named Cobb (Leonardo Dicaprio) who works as a kind of secret agent for hire. He does all of the same task which would be called upon by any other spy, accept his playing field is not that of a world landscape, but that of the subconscious, and the men which chase after him do not belong to any organization, but are the projections of the host mind's subconscious which one deploys in order to guard one's self from mental harm. You see, Dicaprio, and crew, have the ability to dive into a sleeping person's dream and thus wade around their subconscious, extracting information which somebody else thinks it's important enough to pay someone off to steal. This may all sound rather confusing upon glancing over a simple synopsis, but I found the story all very decipherable-- perhaps too decipherable. "Inception" refers to the idea (you get it, "idea") that one would, in theory, be able to penetrate the sleepers mind and, instead of stealing an idea from the dreamer, one plants an idea in his head, making it as if the idea generated itself organically without the aid of any outside source. But who would want a skilled spy, such as Dicaprio, to a thing as that? Ken Watanabe (The Last Samurai, Batman Begins), who else. To get into the plot is just what this film would take the pleasure in having me do, because really, this film is nothing but plot. I don't necessarily have a problem with that, a film having a heavily plotted structure, but when the plot is the only thing that matters in the film, neglecting to develop characters and anything else beyond that which brings you from point A to B, I tend to get a little cranky. I got especially cranky while watching this flick. When you watch as many movies as I have (and I am sure that some of you have seen many more) you tend to learn things about the standardized structuring of a film which is used almost as a blueprint while a screenwriter crafts the tale which he wishes to weave. This is particularly true in a mystery-- nothing is discussed in the film unless it will have some sort of payoff in the end. This unfortunate blunder causes one to immediately catch on to the wool which the director would wished to pull over our eyes. Don't worry, I'm not going to give anything away. What is extremely tiresome is when one catches on too this little ploy, this ruse, and spends the rest of the time in the theater counting down the minutes until he or she is either proven correct or incorrect. I was correct... that is, I was correct ten minutes into the movie. I had many issues with this film, some having to do with what Roger Ebert calls the "idiot plot," a term which refers to the characters having to be somewhat dim in certain situations in order for the truth of the mystery to pass them by. For instance, upon exiting the dream of a failed mission, Dicaprio and crew wake up only to have the man whom they were attempting to steal from wake up as well and pull a gun on them. Now, imagine for a moment that you are undertaking this potentially dangerous mission with a group of your friends. The person that you are thieving from is asleep right next to you and, if by chance he finds out that you are doing him wrong, he may well become rather upset with you. Would you not take the two seconds out of your busy schedule to pat him down and make sure that he is not packing heat? Of course if you take away the gun before he wakes up there will be no fight and suddenly Hollywood execs begins to see those dollar signs peeling away from their eyes. Another problem that I had was that I did not like Dicaprio in the role. I found my eye much more attracted to actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt, a very appealing and intense young actor who has real star quality. I could have watched him for two-and-a-half hours, no problem. And yet another issue I take with the movie is the use of actor Pete Postlethwaite,one of Britain's finest Shakespearean actors, used only in two scene and in both he is confined to a hospital bed and is rendered practically useless as he is little more than a vegetable. If you are going to hire an actor as good as Postlethwaite than at least give him something to do. But them main villain in this whole mess is the use of plot itself. I knew I was in trouble when the film was ten minutes in and they already started explaining the plot to us. Don't tell me about the movie, guys. Just show it to me. I think Nolan is often times too preoccupied with the concept of control. He seems to think that he is the supreme magician who carries all of the secrets to a great show within his own self containing head. He condescends to the audience, making futile attempts at diverting our eyes thus perfecting his "masterful" illusion. Yet in his arrogance he forgets that his audience comes equipped with a fully functioning brain which is made curious by the attempts at diversion and looks past the unfruitful wavings of the wand only to discovers that what they are witnessing is not magic, but a man who thinks that he is one step ahead of the rest. This, of course would sound very familiar to those aware of Nolan's work, as it seems very close to a synopsis of his 2006 film "The Prestige". In fact this is Nolan's true artistic obsession, going all the way back to 2001's "Memento" a film which tells itself in reverse, from end to beginning, and would seem an amazing achievement, but when examined closer, it is only found to be a cheap gimmick which does not hold up. "Inception" is not the worst movie ever. In fact, a great many people may very much enjoy it. There are some fantastic visuals and... well... the visuals are good. The story-- rather, the various plot points which have been strung together in order to make some semblance of a story, is not as revolutionary as everyone seems to make it out to be. It is definitely no "2001: A Space Odyssey" or whatever great film which this has been compared to, it is a popcorn flick which would have you think that it is more intelligent than it really is because it introduces topics which are somewhat out of the ordinary, but have been addressed multiple times in far better movies movies and in literature. If you really have a hankerin' for movies about dreamlike realities, try watching "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" or even "The Matrix". I know while I was in the theater today, I was wishing that either of those movies were rolling instead of this one. Expand
  13. Vs.Dobbs
    Jul 16, 2010
    6
    This movie is visually stunning but also boring as all get-out. The first 20 minutes are okay and the last are okay, but the middle 9 and a half hours are slow moving, inconsistent, and downright sloppy.
  14. MarkV.
    Jul 20, 2010
    5
    People... it wasn't THAT good. Hard to follow and frankly not that interesting.
  15. JackR.
    Jul 29, 2010
    4
    My friends: this is not an intelligent film. This is just basic action flick with embarrasing plot, bad dialogue and absolutely nothing to tell us. The ones that feel that they have seen a "masterpiece" are seriously fooled by the shining surface and "witty" dialogue of this nonsense. But that's only human, isn't it?
  16. TonyB.
    Jul 29, 2010
    4
    Extremely well-designed, filmed and edited and more thsn sdequately acted, "Inception" is nevertheless essentially hogwash. We've been told that to really understand this film, we need to see it several times, but once is enough... If anything, a repeated viewing will more fully expose its nonsense.
  17. Ashmeriel
    Jul 16, 2010
    5
    "Inception" is a visually dazzling film, whose individual images never quite cohere under a clunking script that throws piles of red-herrings at viewers in a failed attempt to leave them with the same brain tinglings that films like Total Recall and the Matrix left. Nolan gets credit for his ambitious aspirations; but the real question is why bother making a story that has nothing new to "Inception" is a visually dazzling film, whose individual images never quite cohere under a clunking script that throws piles of red-herrings at viewers in a failed attempt to leave them with the same brain tinglings that films like Total Recall and the Matrix left. Nolan gets credit for his ambitious aspirations; but the real question is why bother making a story that has nothing new to offer on the world of dream/thought creation? In the end, "Inception" is a sanguine attempt to repackage old concepts in a sleek, empty way. Stay home and read a Borges book until this is available for rent. Expand
  18. TBoneG
    Jul 16, 2010
    5
    Can we please stop giving these directors such freedom to screw with us and explain their nonsensical b.s. as a "dream" or a "flashback"? Enough with you film school dropouts who walk away from movies like this not understanding jack yet exclaiming "that was brilliant"!!!
  19. Oct 25, 2010
    4
    This was easily the most disappointing movie of the year. I really wanted to like this movie. But it's a pretentious, mess of a movie. The acting was weak. DiCaprio is back to his old, bad acting habits. The only reason Ellen Page is in this movie is so DiCaprio has someone to explain things too. I just wanted to scream at Christopher Nolan, "SHOW ME, DON'T TELL ME". The charactersThis was easily the most disappointing movie of the year. I really wanted to like this movie. But it's a pretentious, mess of a movie. The acting was weak. DiCaprio is back to his old, bad acting habits. The only reason Ellen Page is in this movie is so DiCaprio has someone to explain things too. I just wanted to scream at Christopher Nolan, "SHOW ME, DON'T TELL ME". The characters are all one dimensional. I didn't care what happened to any of them. Some of the special effects were interesting, but they were in a vacuum. There was nothing compelling about them. This movie was trying to be original and clever, but you've got to have a compelling story with interesting characters for it too work. It was too complex for it's own good. Expand
  20. LoriG.
    Jul 17, 2010
    5
    The idea behind this movie seemed original enough, but I didn't much care for it. Normally, I love this genre of film, but truth be told, both my sister and I kept falling asleep, despite the very loud volume in the theater. I just didn't find any of the characters compelling, and the plot seemed full of holes. Some great special effects, but that was about it for me.
  21. MartinS.
    Jul 16, 2010
    5
    Okay... I expected so much from this movie, and it was such a freakin' let down. This is not the second coming Nolan fans. this movie sucked and there is no connection to Kubrick other than wow -- he had water popping out and an elevator sequence shot on a huge ferris wheel... big whup.
  22. SteveM.
    Jul 16, 2010
    6
    Not Airbender bad. But not what the commercial makes it out to be. Watching it once was more than enough.
  23. RussellM.
    Jul 26, 2010
    4
    An overblown, self indulgent sci fi flick that fails to convince the viewer of its subject matter. It left me feeling flat, unentertained and exhausted from all the gun fire and ecvessive explosions. It was more like watching my 13 year old son playing a video came with no real plot as opposed to a movie.
  24. SidneyC.
    Jul 29, 2010
    4
    While well executed and imaginative, Inception is empty at its core. It's game of trivial pursuit involving the details of Nolan's fantasy dream world. For all the levels and rules and characters it fails to go beyond the superficial. There is no exploration of the psychological aspects of dreams or the moral dilemma facing the characters or, as it descendsinto deeper dream While well executed and imaginative, Inception is empty at its core. It's game of trivial pursuit involving the details of Nolan's fantasy dream world. For all the levels and rules and characters it fails to go beyond the superficial. There is no exploration of the psychological aspects of dreams or the moral dilemma facing the characters or, as it descendsinto deeper dream levels, what lies in the deeper levels of the subconscious. A lot of flash, but no heart or substance. Expand
  25. Aug 20, 2010
    4
    There are some good scenes in the film, like the anti-gravity fighting and the car chases to a degree, but they aren't enough to carry the film.
    Everything we find out about the world is explained by Cobb to one of the supporting characters at one point or another. There's nothing for us to find out for ourselves, and this is very disappointing in a film receiving such hype about how it's
    There are some good scenes in the film, like the anti-gravity fighting and the car chases to a degree, but they aren't enough to carry the film.
    Everything we find out about the world is explained by Cobb to one of the supporting characters at one point or another. There's nothing for us to find out for ourselves, and this is very disappointing in a film receiving such hype about how it's clever and makes you think. I saw a review praising how the film isn't dumbed down, but I find the exact opposite to be true. Everything is clearly explained before it happens, and re-explained if it happens again later on. For example, they explain a paradoxical situation, fairly early on, and when it comes into play later Arthur shouts "paradox" as the camera pans around to see exactly what happened, leaving nothing to be thought about.

    I would have loved to believe what was happening. Cobb is supposed to be the best at what he does, but the only time we see him in action, he seems to have no control over the situation and seems to fail entirely at what he's trying to do. We're told things too often, and never shown things to see for ourselves.

    I also had a problem with the entire sub-plot surrounding how Cobb is flawed, I won't go into detail, but it took up far too much screen time, and provided very little to the story.

    I expected an intelligent thriller, and ended up watching a disjointed and confused (not confusing) film with some neat action scenes sparsely placed throughout.
    See it if you want, but don't go out of your way for it.
    Expand
  26. Jan 8, 2011
    4
    Normally, I am very much against all of the "high brow" negative reviews of a movie, but in this case, I have to say that Inception is very over-rated. While interesting in concept, and certainly written by a genius or someone who has indulged in LSD way too many times, it's just "too much" for my tastes.
  27. Aug 19, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Inception... where do I begin? Well, perhaps my expectations were a bit high after one of my film snob friends called it "the first truly important film of the century." It's moderately entertaining, but calling it anything more than a decent movie is a bit of a stretch. People call it original, but it's like a dreamworld version of the Matrix (which used ideas that had already been around a while, but at least made it exciting). However, a dreamworld should be so much more than just a sterile, realistic environment. My thoughts about how bland the dreams are here was magnified after watching the Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus. That's a movie that showed true imagination and creativity.

    I do enjoy other Nolan films (i.e. Memento, TDK), but I felt no thrills here. Part of the problem is that there is no real consequence of failure. Sure, you may be stuck in "limbo", but it's just another level of dream and you may not be able to escape, but at least you aren't dead.

    The snow level was particularly irritating as it just seemed like it was pulled straight out of a modern shooter game. It was very reminiscent of a level of Call of Duty: MW2.

    It's also amusing to me that the antagonist is named Mal, which means "bad". Really, we couldn't have come up with a better name to call our villain than "bad"? It was by no means horrible, but really, I don't see why it's called original, or amazing when it's merely entertaining. It's an average movie with an above average effects budget.
    Expand
  28. Aug 28, 2010
    6
    Original conceit and great special effects. Invites comparisons to The Matrix, but falls short in mty opinion. My main problem is with the pacing - at nearly 2 1/2 hours in length I started to suffer stimulation overload in the second half which never stops to catch it's breath
  29. Dec 17, 2012
    6
    Chris Nolan is hands down one of my favourite directors of recent times, however Inception fall short of the standards he has set so incredibly high. It pains me to say that the story was needlessly convoluted (but not confusing) and relatively uninteresting. It was unable to grip me even though his use of music and cinematic devices were as per usual of high quality. Di Caprio gave aChris Nolan is hands down one of my favourite directors of recent times, however Inception fall short of the standards he has set so incredibly high. It pains me to say that the story was needlessly convoluted (but not confusing) and relatively uninteresting. It was unable to grip me even though his use of music and cinematic devices were as per usual of high quality. Di Caprio gave a sense of unease in the role he played but it seemed similar to that of Shutter Island and several other roles he has played in the past. He is capable of so much more but I felt it was not the refined performance he was aiming for. It was a brilliant idea for a film but alas Nolan seemed to be caught up in the idea of "Inception" and thus lost his direction. All in all a good film but personally I won't be watching it again any time soon. Expand
  30. Dec 14, 2014
    6
    This was such a letdown, really. "Inception" is the rare film that I don't quite agree with the critics. It's got some impressive special effects and an appealing cast, but really that's about it, everything else is way too complex. Probably have to watch more times to fully understand it, but man... wow, what disappointment.

    Pros: + Well-chosen cast + Good special effects +
    This was such a letdown, really. "Inception" is the rare film that I don't quite agree with the critics. It's got some impressive special effects and an appealing cast, but really that's about it, everything else is way too complex. Probably have to watch more times to fully understand it, but man... wow, what disappointment.

    Pros:

    + Well-chosen cast
    + Good special effects
    + Gorgeous cinematography

    Cons:

    - Convoluted narrative
    - Expository dialogue
    - Uninteresting premise

    What a shame.
    Expand
  31. Nov 26, 2014
    5
    Over rated, over hyped, dull, boring, over the top, ridiculous, confusing, stupid, dumbfounded, silly, special effects, and melodramatic, these are all the words that I would use to describe inception. I can't recommend it.
  32. Dec 22, 2014
    6
    Using Director Christopher Nolan's slight of hand, he distracts viewers from a convoluted and boring plot with plenty of awesome actions scenes and special effects and Leonardo DiCaprio gives one of his dullest performances of all time. 6/10 (OK)
  33. MikeD.
    Jul 16, 2010
    4
    I suppose if I didn't know anything about movies or science fiction, this film would be spectacular. I'm glad Nick Pinkerton of the Village Voice had the cajones to call this movie out.
  34. Sep 8, 2010
    4
    Watching Inception is like watching an episode of the A-team or Hart to Hart. You find the same scene in all three things, a car in slow motion falling into the water. The shame is that when in those tv shows it lasts 3 minutes to the max, in Inception it lasts 1 hour and a half. One could think Chris Nolan did it on purpose and was giving us his thought on pop culture... Alas, C. NolanWatching Inception is like watching an episode of the A-team or Hart to Hart. You find the same scene in all three things, a car in slow motion falling into the water. The shame is that when in those tv shows it lasts 3 minutes to the max, in Inception it lasts 1 hour and a half. One could think Chris Nolan did it on purpose and was giving us his thought on pop culture... Alas, C. Nolan doesn't reflect on his art at all... He only wants to entertain and impress us with a cheap special effect from the 80s... Nothing will be as deep as your deception when you'll watch Inception.
    If you want a good and fun summer entertainment movie go see piranha 3D, if you want a beautiful and thoughtful film about dreams qo see Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives, by Apichatpong Weerasethakul.
    Expand
  35. Sep 19, 2010
    5
    Christopher Nolan's creation falls short in the ponderous, heavy-handed suspense film Inception. With its self-importance drummed into the viewer throughout, Inception is a ticket to a headache.

    The originality of the film, many great performances, and abundant special effects don't add up to an enjoyable movie experience. Inception should have been much better. It's not that Nolan
    Christopher Nolan's creation falls short in the ponderous, heavy-handed suspense film Inception. With its self-importance drummed into the viewer throughout, Inception is a ticket to a headache.

    The originality of the film, many great performances, and abundant special effects don't add up to an enjoyable movie experience. Inception should have been much better. It's not that Nolan aimed too high. It's that he took the psychological surrealism way too seriously here, and it nearly sinks the ship.

    Leonardo DiCaprio plays Dom Cobb, an expert thief who is specially trained to extract valuable information from the subconscious minds of targets by accessing their dreams. He assembles a team to help him on a new mission, including a dream architect Ariadne (Ellen Page). Wealthy industrialist Saito (Ken Watanabe) has hired Cobb to implant an idea into the mind of a rival businessman Robert Fischer Jr. (Cillian Murphy).

    The main incentive for Cobb is Saito's promise to return him to his children at the successful conclusion of the mission. It's one last plunge into the nefarious, multi-leveled dream layers for our hero.

    The screenplay's heavy emphasis on the labyrinth distracts significantly from character development. After an all-too-brief look at the characters, we are subjected to dizzying explosions, shoot-em-ups and earthquakes. The dangers of this imagined world are so overplayed that finally we become numb. Sharper editing could have saved the day, especially during the film's final hour.

    Visually Inception is ambitious, especially in an enjoyable, M.C. Escher-like scene where Cobb and Ariadne walk amidst a collapsing Paris streetscape.

    An excellent cast is led by DiCaprio and Page. Marion Cotillard undulates between life and half-life as Cobb's troubled, dead wife Mal.
    Expand
  36. JimK.
    Jul 17, 2010
    6
    Sure this has extreme special effects just like any other blockbusters. However, none that one hasn't been seen before. Actually Matrix was the first film of it's kind that totally blew my senses! Inception I felt actually stole some of it's idea from Matrix but not as effective. Dream within a dream within a dream is nothing new. Central idea is brilliant however Sure this has extreme special effects just like any other blockbusters. However, none that one hasn't been seen before. Actually Matrix was the first film of it's kind that totally blew my senses! Inception I felt actually stole some of it's idea from Matrix but not as effective. Dream within a dream within a dream is nothing new. Central idea is brilliant however could've been executed with better actors. Mostly I'm getting weary of Leonardo DeCaprio's redundant character of this "tortured soul" acting with his wife..very reminiscent of the movie "Shutter Island". In fact the character is one and the same. Same mannerism, redundant accent he seem to have acquired from the movie "Aviator" is becoming very annoying for the subsequent movies he's played in so far. Mainly a very good music soundtrack would've really helped the movie but that was absent making the movie seem very long and slow to get to the point. The ending of the movie however definitely made me think and analyze. I would not recommend this movie to a friend but advise them to wait until it comes out on blu-ray or DVD. Overall I felt cheated as I left the theater. Expand
  37. Sep 1, 2010
    4
    A great cast, intersting concept, with high production values, but utlimately a very average action movie. I agree with JamesD that the film was "curiously impersonal and mechanical." Cut out roughly 45 minutes of Philosophy 201 level exposition and what you have is people shooting and punching each other. A film this hyped demands comment on the director: I thought Dark Knight was veryA great cast, intersting concept, with high production values, but utlimately a very average action movie. I agree with JamesD that the film was "curiously impersonal and mechanical." Cut out roughly 45 minutes of Philosophy 201 level exposition and what you have is people shooting and punching each other. A film this hyped demands comment on the director: I thought Dark Knight was very good, but mostly because of Ledger's performance. Take that away, and Dark Knight is rather average fair with Bale doing a lot of growling and gloating. In Inception there is no remarkable performance; Leonardo emotes but we are given no reason to care. Expand
  38. Aug 22, 2010
    5
    Inception was highly entertaining to watch and very fun just for the talented performances, especially Leo's. I'm a big fan of his. However, as a science fiction fan too, I have to say that this movie falls short in providing anything that we haven't already seen. I can sight examples like The Matrix, Total Recall, The Cell, or Dreamscape. Inception's plot is chock full of all sorts ofInception was highly entertaining to watch and very fun just for the talented performances, especially Leo's. I'm a big fan of his. However, as a science fiction fan too, I have to say that this movie falls short in providing anything that we haven't already seen. I can sight examples like The Matrix, Total Recall, The Cell, or Dreamscape. Inception's plot is chock full of all sorts of logical flaws. This is the only one I will note here to avoid spoiling the show: Ask yourself how Leo's character knew the van was falling into water when he was asleep. In the dream within the dream he commented something like "wait for the van to hit the water". That's just example No. 1. Watch it carefully - you'll notice many others. The story is definitely gripping and interesting but it seems that it tries too hard and one is easily distracted by all the unnecessary violence and action that just takes away from the movie's underlying idea. Not even a single mention about how they're actually hopping into eachother's dreams - the most we see is a briefcase with some kind of device contained within. If you want to see a better take on the Inception idea, I suggest Dreamscape (1984) starring Dennis Quaid. Same idea, less fluff, more story, less budget. Inception is worth one viewing and maybe a second just to list out its flaws. For what it's worth, I didn't like the Dark Knight either - I couldn't even finish one viewing there. This movie hasn't changed my opinion of Christopher Nolan's work. Expand
  39. AngieK.
    Jul 17, 2010
    6
    Movie was not original at all. All the concepts have been used before...left the movie feeling very cheated!!!
  40. Oct 5, 2012
    4
    It was alright. Worth a watch if you're that bored. Would try to pick it up on DVD second hand though. Giving the movie a 10 doesn't make you more intelligent.
  41. JoeN
    Jul 21, 2010
    5
    Bloated dialogue, never ending music, and a storyline that will give you headaches, stop Inception from being a decent movie.
  42. Aug 22, 2010
    5
    Personally,the concept of the movie is not bad.But the plot is just too hard to follow,less action,and some "Why" comes to my mind in some scene.When i was watching this,i keep telling myself "when is this movie going to end ?" Because it just plain boring in my opinion.Maybe i'm just not good at appreciate "new idea".Hell...even The Dark Knight was 1000X better then this :/
  43. Aug 22, 2010
    5
    hmm...nothing is something....Inception is nothing but a stolen concept of MATRIX..........that made it different boring **** with leonard no change in the performance.. :)
  44. Sep 4, 2010
    5
    The concept of this film is the most original and thoughtful I have seen in a long time and the cinematography was first class. The actors all did a good job, especially the english guy who was the comic relief. But that was the problem with this film, there was little effort gone in to character development. I really didnt care for any of them when they were in peril and their motivationsThe concept of this film is the most original and thoughtful I have seen in a long time and the cinematography was first class. The actors all did a good job, especially the english guy who was the comic relief. But that was the problem with this film, there was little effort gone in to character development. I really didnt care for any of them when they were in peril and their motivations for joining the mission weren't explained well. Its not to say there weren't some interesting characters its just there were too many to go into enough depth with any of them.
    Don't even start me on the premise that you can enter someones dream via a thin plastic tube from your wrist to a suitcase....
    Expand
  45. JohnF.
    Jul 16, 2010
    5
    Special effects are spectacular at times, but repetitious. Storyline is weak and confused. Good acting by entire cast.
  46. roberti.
    Jul 18, 2010
    5
    Almost walked out in boredom. Ambiguous, unarticulated mishmash that doesn't let you in on the secret, and, at a certain level, who cares. All sound and light without the signification.
  47. Max
    Aug 17, 2010
    6
    It's not as good -- or as difficult -- as many would lead you to believe. It's easily consumed entertainment (it's two and a half hour running time moves by quite quickly) that likes to think it's much smarter than it actually is. It's much better and smarter than most of your typical Hollywood fare, but it fails to live up to expectations. Its characters are flat, and its plot isIt's not as good -- or as difficult -- as many would lead you to believe. It's easily consumed entertainment (it's two and a half hour running time moves by quite quickly) that likes to think it's much smarter than it actually is. It's much better and smarter than most of your typical Hollywood fare, but it fails to live up to expectations. Its characters are flat, and its plot is derivative. It's only slightly better than average. Expand
  48. Aug 12, 2010
    5
    Great when viewed again, otherwise credit goes to SFX and camera shots. I was about to give 7 but after reading JaneC review, this person seems to give the most unbiased reviewng- mentioning the Japs coudn't speak a single english word. Music added the depth and the script was going in a whole new direction until the controversial ending made me cold!
  49. Aug 14, 2010
    6
    It was a good movie, but definitely overrated. I watched it expecting a lot more but, while I liked the concept of a dream within a dream, the execution was poor. Sure, the CGI and special effects were great, but there was absolutely no character development for the supporting cast. Also, the constant state of climax made it feel bland: If everything is climax, then nothing is climax.
  50. Mar 21, 2011
    5
    My God, what a disappointment! I can hardly believe this movie was directed by the same guy who directed the masterpiece "The Dark Knight." This movie has the worst plot I've ever seen, way too convoluted!
  51. Mar 28, 2011
    4
    There are about five things that I hate about this world. And one of them is how goddamn overhyped and overrated this movie is. People say that they like if because they didn't understand it. It's just like Chinatown. Only that one was good.
  52. Feb 19, 2011
    6
    Without the relentless editing; bevy of name actors; clean, stylish direction; seamless special effects - this would have been a catastrophe. Christopher Nolan has somehow entangled kinetic action with analysis to make a theater experience beyond casual - there's a grandiosity, yet artful, almost European smartness to this film that makes for a thoroughly satisfying time. The filmWithout the relentless editing; bevy of name actors; clean, stylish direction; seamless special effects - this would have been a catastrophe. Christopher Nolan has somehow entangled kinetic action with analysis to make a theater experience beyond casual - there's a grandiosity, yet artful, almost European smartness to this film that makes for a thoroughly satisfying time. The film somewhat falters in it's last third, yet the wit involved in orchestrating such a feat is enough to make thoughtful action fan giddy with excitement. Expand
  53. Feb 26, 2011
    6
    A really interesting concept, but the movie falls short in many, many aspects. Character development, apart from Cobb (which is only adequate), is non-existant. Therefore I wasn't emotionally invested in the movie at all. Dialogue is a bit clunky, with so many expositions at the beginning of the film. The SFX were nice, but we've seen a lot of it before. They lacked the wow factor of sayA really interesting concept, but the movie falls short in many, many aspects. Character development, apart from Cobb (which is only adequate), is non-existant. Therefore I wasn't emotionally invested in the movie at all. Dialogue is a bit clunky, with so many expositions at the beginning of the film. The SFX were nice, but we've seen a lot of it before. They lacked the wow factor of say the Matrix, Avatar or Terminator 2. The climax felt rushed and there was way too much actiona and big explosions for what is supposed to be a thoughtful sicence fiction film. Plotholes in a complex plot such as this are inevitable, but for me, there were simply too many.

    In summary a great idea, but too much action and not enough character development. The ideas in this movie and the 'setup' at the beginning felt forced in a way that, say, the Matrix never did. This is a clever film for a blockbuster, but its execution falls well, well short of the user reviews on here. The critics are nearer the mark on this one.
    Expand
  54. Jul 15, 2011
    5
    This movie confused the heck out of me! It was still enjoyable to watch though and see what was going to happen next. But seriously? Dreams inside of other dreams? Get real!
  55. Aug 24, 2011
    4
    I saw this in IMAX 3D and was nonplussed. I consider myself highly intelligent and the complicated beginning of this movie was very off putting. They couldn't spare five minutes for a little setup? The movie was too long and had some very slow parts. Soundtrack got annoying as well and I am a bass freak. Overall--the execution of a cool story was so poorly done that I can't give it higherI saw this in IMAX 3D and was nonplussed. I consider myself highly intelligent and the complicated beginning of this movie was very off putting. They couldn't spare five minutes for a little setup? The movie was too long and had some very slow parts. Soundtrack got annoying as well and I am a bass freak. Overall--the execution of a cool story was so poorly done that I can't give it higher than a 4. Expand
  56. Mar 9, 2012
    5
    I thought this was massively over-rated. DiCaprio was unlikeable as always, as were some of the other main characters. The action was mediocre and I generally felt it was just going through the 'Hollywood action movie' paces. Even the soundtrack was predictable and began to grate. Nice idea, but poorly realised. Why DiCaprio keeps getting tough guy alpha male roles I will never understand.
  57. kevinm
    Jul 22, 2010
    6
    Any movie that expends a considerable amount of time explaining by its characters what is happening is ultimately not worth seeing except fo some cool fx/alternate realities.
  58. BruceS.
    Jul 18, 2010
    6
    I enjoyed this movie til it jumped the shark one too many times. the build up was entertaining, but once it entered the final phase it became one giant chase, each getting more absurd than the last. visually it was stunning, storywise it was lacking
  59. DavidP.
    Jul 23, 2010
    5
    If you go to a movie but don't understand what's going on with the plot yet the visuals and acting are good, did you really see a good movie? If you need to see the movie 2 or 3 times to understand the preise and plot, does that mean it is a great movie? If you must go to the internet to have the plot of the movie explained to you, does that mean the movie was too complex? In my If you go to a movie but don't understand what's going on with the plot yet the visuals and acting are good, did you really see a good movie? If you need to see the movie 2 or 3 times to understand the preise and plot, does that mean it is a great movie? If you must go to the internet to have the plot of the movie explained to you, does that mean the movie was too complex? In my opinion there is a difference between being mentally stimulated as opposed to trying to untie a Gordian Knot! Momento was complex enough to be entertaining. This movie left me dumbfounded. Those folks who said they understood the movie are lying. I'll prove it: Explain how Leo Di and his wife can grow old in limbo (they were in there for 50 years), but still be young. Explain why Saito was so old initially in the film? Explain how Leo and Saito got out of limbo? Why can't Leo see his kids face (but can see his wife's)? IN my opinion what we saw is that Leo is trapped in limbo!!!!! The whole movie was one big dream. Expand
  60. HazaelC.
    Jul 24, 2010
    6
    It's not good enough than dark knight...but nolan put di caprio and he's good in this movie!
  61. LizetteC
    Jul 24, 2010
    6
    I went to see this movie because my husband was told so many great things about it and the previews looked really good.. It was a good movie but thats about it.. it was not great!!! I would have waited to see it when it came out on DVD.
  62. JohnP
    Jul 25, 2010
    6
    It is a better film than its contemporaries, but is honestly not as good as it has been made out to be. An incredible portion of the film is just superfluous action, and halfway through the movie I began to become bored, as it is quite long overall. As well, a few things within the film are repeated so often they become trite and banal, like the stock-audio cacophony used for It is a better film than its contemporaries, but is honestly not as good as it has been made out to be. An incredible portion of the film is just superfluous action, and halfway through the movie I began to become bored, as it is quite long overall. As well, a few things within the film are repeated so often they become trite and banal, like the stock-audio cacophony used for stereotypical childrens' laughter, and for me only detracted from the film, which was good but not great. Expand
  63. willr.
    Jul 26, 2010
    4
    This movie amalgamates themes of other films less skillfully than these predecessors. multiple story-lines in time : "Primer" shared alternate reality : "Existenz" depths of a depraved mind : "Synecdoche New York" Even "The Sting" succeeded in being more fun as a assembled crack-team of crooks. This film neither pushed bounds nor outperformed any previous version, although it was basely This movie amalgamates themes of other films less skillfully than these predecessors. multiple story-lines in time : "Primer" shared alternate reality : "Existenz" depths of a depraved mind : "Synecdoche New York" Even "The Sting" succeeded in being more fun as a assembled crack-team of crooks. This film neither pushed bounds nor outperformed any previous version, although it was basely entertaining. Collapse
  64. SebaW.
    Jul 16, 2010
    6
    The only letdown of the movie is its horrible story, its like it was completely left out in the movie and it makes the entire experience just confusing.
  65. HollyR.
    Jul 18, 2010
    6
    This movie is no MATRIX!! I was hoping for so much more, but in the end it is really about DeCaprio and his relationship with his wife (big yawn). I didn't find myself really caring about any of the characters or the lame premise (corporate greed) that lead them on their merry chase. Call me BORED.
  66. VinceS
    Jul 19, 2010
    6
    This movie was really disappointing to me. Nolan, director of Batman Begins, Dark Knight, Memento, and The Prestige (all of which are incredible movies) really fell short here. This is nothing to say of the potential, I will credit him for his ambition with this movie, but it just did not deliver. The whole idea of using dreams seems weird here, because these aren't dreams that This movie was really disappointing to me. Nolan, director of Batman Begins, Dark Knight, Memento, and The Prestige (all of which are incredible movies) really fell short here. This is nothing to say of the potential, I will credit him for his ambition with this movie, but it just did not deliver. The whole idea of using dreams seems weird here, because these aren't dreams that anyone can have, but very stratified and well-defined dreams. You, for instance, cannot do impossible feats in a dream, though sometimes we can do them in our real dreams. In Nolan's dreamscape you also remember everything that happened in a dream when you wake up, which rarely happens in real life. Nolan allowed impossible architecture, which is weird given the lack of impossible feats, but uses it in a grand total of one scene of the action. Huge disappointment. There is also little mention or description of how this dream-sharing mechanism works. How the hell do Leo and Ellen get in OTHER people's dreams by simply sedating them? The dialogue for all of Nolan's other movies was written by his brother, and it really shows. Nolan hurriedly tries to stuff a paragraph worth of dialogue into a sentence or two and it ends up sounding unnatural. This is particularly blatant in the case of Ellen Paige's character, Ariodne. The whole point of her job is to design difficult mazes. This task would presumably require an uncommonly sharp intellect. However, Ariodne's character was either written or (more likely) portrayed like an art history major. When someone says "smart" the first thing that pops into your head is probably a mathematician or physicist, NOT an art history major. Not saying art majors are stupid, but they're not exactly known for their intellect. Overusing unnatural vocabulary and mannerisms show Paige's obvious discomfort and conscious attempt to sound smarter than she really is. This is painful and just plain embarrassing to watch. Overall this movie is just untapped potential. It could have been so much more, but fell short. I think that a sequel could iron out all these issues and provide a compelling narrative set in this world, but this is a poor offerring. Expand
  67. AdM
    Jul 21, 2010
    6
    Inception has to be one of the most hyped films of this year. I do not blame it (have you SEEN the rubbish that
  68. JSet
    Jul 22, 2010
    6
    Compared to Avatar, this film overtops it. However, some films continously get good reviews despite the overlying errors within. If you fully understood this film, you are out of your freaking mind. Check yourself into the nearest mental hospital while you're at it. Christopher Nolan had this insane idea with, ironically, is not the most creative. No where near the Dark Knight. That Compared to Avatar, this film overtops it. However, some films continously get good reviews despite the overlying errors within. If you fully understood this film, you are out of your freaking mind. Check yourself into the nearest mental hospital while you're at it. Christopher Nolan had this insane idea with, ironically, is not the most creative. No where near the Dark Knight. That movie had excellent symbolism, story, and character development. This just had an interesting concept. I guess that's just about it with this film. The beginning was confusing, but the rest of the film kinda made sense. Expand
  69. kate
    Jul 25, 2010
    6
    Another over hyped chris nolan film. it's beautifully shot & all the actors hit there marks but there's no thought provoking genius in the script. this is no 'the matrix'. more 'vanilla sky'.
  70. ConnieD
    Jul 25, 2010
    6
    This movie was impossible to follow! It was hard to tell what was real and what was dreams and who was alive and who was dead. The low point was an extended "polar scene" where everyone was dressed in heavy padded white winter wear including snow goggles and there were snow plows and skis, but nobody's breath turned white! Without a doubt, the bad guys in this movie were the worst This movie was impossible to follow! It was hard to tell what was real and what was dreams and who was alive and who was dead. The low point was an extended "polar scene" where everyone was dressed in heavy padded white winter wear including snow goggles and there were snow plows and skis, but nobody's breath turned white! Without a doubt, the bad guys in this movie were the worst shots in movie history! Over and over again, the white van was bombarded with tons of bullets, but only one of the passengers was hit (a flesh wound from which he recovered). The bad guys in the snow scene were even poorer shots! Very good special effects, but overall not worth the price of the ticket. Expand
  71. lancek
    Jul 27, 2010
    6
    The clever and well-designed details of the beginning quickly fade into a bunch of chase scenes of the most militaristic sort. Sadly, there isn't enough surreality to match the premise that all of this goes on in dreaming minds. It's like a Bond movie adding in some dreamy ideas.
  72. Sausage
    Jul 27, 2010
    5
    Okay...I get it!! This movie is the most hyped piece of celluloid since last months flavour!! But does that make it good?...No!!! I hate to break it to all u lovers of everything 'new', but this story is old hat! Through the twilight zone years, shutter island and every other 'am I dreaming' movie this has been done, its just more complex and full of its own Okay...I get it!! This movie is the most hyped piece of celluloid since last months flavour!! But does that make it good?...No!!! I hate to break it to all u lovers of everything 'new', but this story is old hat! Through the twilight zone years, shutter island and every other 'am I dreaming' movie this has been done, its just more complex and full of its own 'amazingness'!!! Dont get me wrong, this movie was clever in its own way, it had pretty good special effects and the fact that Nolan could hold this jenga tower together is a testiment to his ability. However what didnt work for me, was it tried to be way to clever for its own good, the music was copied and pasted from shutter island etc etc, but the worst above all was that the underlying current through the entire movie...was greed!! Everything that was done, was for ones self gain, Think about it.... When the dust settles down I hope everyone realises that it was not the fact that this movie was so great and life bending, but that it was the first blockbuster in a long time that made us think...obviously some more than others...and for that Im giving it its marks!! Expand
  73. Aug 23, 2010
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved the film but at the end of the day a dream sequence is a dream sequence and I detest dream sequences. Otherwise a really good film but still it can't completely redeem itself Expand
  74. Mar 26, 2011
    5
    I'm tired of hearing that this movie will win Best Movie(which it didn't, The Social Network should of), so I went to go see it and I had high hopes for it. I love all of Christopher Nolan's work but I have to say...I was disappointed. They(other people) say that if you don't understand it, you won't like it. I understood but I still didn't like it. The soundtrack was great though, butI'm tired of hearing that this movie will win Best Movie(which it didn't, The Social Network should of), so I went to go see it and I had high hopes for it. I love all of Christopher Nolan's work but I have to say...I was disappointed. They(other people) say that if you don't understand it, you won't like it. I understood but I still didn't like it. The soundtrack was great though, but Hans Zimmer always delivers great songs. Leonardo DiCaprio's performance wasn't different. I've seen it before in other movies. I thought the premise and idea of Inception was great but the movie didn't satisfy me. I thought it was predictable at some points. I was also glad it wasn't 3-D. The effects and cinematography were great too. I didn't think the romance worked though. But I did like the ending. It puzzles you, but it's actually reality because Leonardo DiCaprio's character's dad is never in the dream. He always leaves him out but has trouble keeping Mal out. When his dad is there, it's reality. But just ending the movie with just that thing spinning is genius. But overall, I was excited to see it but I was disappointed. Expand
  75. Aug 31, 2010
    6
    After the Dark Knight I was expecting something as impressive if not more. Alas it's not to be. Not the hugest DiCaprio fan in the world for a start. He seems to play the same character in every film he's in nowadays. My main problem with the film itself is that its just too overly complicated to be truly entertaining. There are some clever ideas such as the dream within a dreamAfter the Dark Knight I was expecting something as impressive if not more. Alas it's not to be. Not the hugest DiCaprio fan in the world for a start. He seems to play the same character in every film he's in nowadays. My main problem with the film itself is that its just too overly complicated to be truly entertaining. There are some clever ideas such as the dream within a dream concept and how this can affect the physics of that dream world. You really have to pay close attention though. The sub plot involving Marion Cotillard's character is more intriguing. Expand
  76. Sep 10, 2010
    6
    This film was completely monotonous, and far too long. The characters had no depth at all. When you think about what 'plot' means, you would be able to see that the plot of Inception was so plain and thoughtless that it insults every viewer it hands out its complimentary rose shades to. Inception may have amounted to something of substance if it had spent more time thinking about what itThis film was completely monotonous, and far too long. The characters had no depth at all. When you think about what 'plot' means, you would be able to see that the plot of Inception was so plain and thoughtless that it insults every viewer it hands out its complimentary rose shades to. Inception may have amounted to something of substance if it had spent more time thinking about what it was lacking and less time running around in zero gravity squealing 'Yay! Look at what I can do!' Expand
  77. Sep 12, 2010
    6
    It's started out very well but the rest of the movie is merely set pieces for the actions before returning to the main storyline of a man trying to get home to his children. For a movie dealing with dreams, the logic is too logical after a while and all the wonderful ability in dreams is no longer explored. Like one of the character said, "why not dream bigger?"
  78. Nov 2, 2010
    6
    A decent movie and a very good performance by Leonardo DiCaprio. I think people are over blowing the whole concept of this movie, it's not really that hard to understand, the movie just makes it seem more complicated than it is. The ending is particularly good.
  79. Nov 16, 2010
    5
    Nolan had a good idea to work with here but it fell far short of such high expectations. He never lets DiCaprio act and he never lets any true emotion seep into the film to give it any lasting value. People will and have commended this movie for being such an original and risky film released in the middle of the summer. But, that aside, will it really hold its own as a seminal piece ofNolan had a good idea to work with here but it fell far short of such high expectations. He never lets DiCaprio act and he never lets any true emotion seep into the film to give it any lasting value. People will and have commended this movie for being such an original and risky film released in the middle of the summer. But, that aside, will it really hold its own as a seminal piece of film making in even a year? Probably not because it is too self indulgent on Nolan's part, it almost seems like a rough outline of a movie that had the potential to be way better. Expand
  80. Nov 24, 2010
    5
    Inception a bladderful of a movie. It's long. As befits a film written and directed by the guy who made Batman cool again, it's heavy on the action and visual arts. As befits a film written and directed by the guy behind Memento, it has a mind-bending plot. What's the movie about? The most basic of questions: what is reality? It plays with us by sending its characters into ever-deeperInception a bladderful of a movie. It's long. As befits a film written and directed by the guy who made Batman cool again, it's heavy on the action and visual arts. As befits a film written and directed by the guy behind Memento, it has a mind-bending plot. What's the movie about? The most basic of questions: what is reality? It plays with us by sending its characters into ever-deeper layers of dream states in search of a MacGuffin. And while the film ostensibly delivers the obvious enigmatic ending, it's scattered with hints that suggest a further hidden layer. How clever. By the time my bladder had insistently declared its presence, I was bored with the spectacle. For the film is indeed a spectacular, the sort of thing Hollywood does well. It's also an example of what Hollywood spectaculars often don't do well; it fails to connect with the emotions, with our sense of empathy. This, despite a plot in which the love interest is a central device. Ellen Page is terrific as the spunky, wisecracking, rule-breaking girl who gets pregan.... wait, let me start over; Ellen Page is terrific as the spunky, wisecracking, rule-breaking sidekick. She's also at risk of getting typecast as a spunky, wise.. well, you get the idea. Leonardo DiCaprio is excellent as the thinking man's tortured action hero. He looks great. Everyone else is a cipher, including the aforementioned love interest. I'm sure that Inception is a visually stunning, intellectually intriguing movie. I'm not sure it earned the right to test my bladder's breaking point. Expand
  81. Dec 14, 2010
    6
    really great for all the technicians aspects of the movie...
    ...(obviously) impressive...(with such names in the crew)...
    but about the screenplay...check south park!
  82. Sep 1, 2011
    5
    One thing for sure the movie will mess with your head. But it was slow and a bit dull for my likings. But it's definitely worth a watch just to see if you can figure out what the hell is going on.
  83. Jan 8, 2011
    6
    Dreams layered on top of dreams makes this a difficult movie to follow. The great action is inhibited by the confusing layers of dreams. Let the confusion be your friend and enjoy the action.
  84. Jan 31, 2011
    5
    In an industry filled with sequels and remakes Inception dare to be original, and for the most part it delivered!!! The only problem that I had with this movie is that it was way to long, and the ending was a little far fetched even in a fantasy world.
  85. Mar 23, 2011
    5
    This movie draws an 84 score? No way. Plot is too complicated and goofy to be followed by anyone who wants some context with reality. Ellen Page is annoying as the new talent brought into the IM force as the last minute and turns out to be the smartest one of the bunch while playing a game she didn't even know about a few days earlier. Best way to watch this move, if you must, is withThis movie draws an 84 score? No way. Plot is too complicated and goofy to be followed by anyone who wants some context with reality. Ellen Page is annoying as the new talent brought into the IM force as the last minute and turns out to be the smartest one of the bunch while playing a game she didn't even know about a few days earlier. Best way to watch this move, if you must, is with the CC on so you can follow the thin plot somewhat. For my money, watch "12 Monkeys" again. Expand
  86. Jul 30, 2011
    6
    Inception should have opened to Mark Twain's famous quote; "other people's dreams are dreadfully wearisome". Thanks to the media machine surrounding Inception, it became impossible for me to approach without wanting to cast aspersions on the whole film. Yes, it's more intricate than the majority of run-of-the-mill action films that are released year after year, but that isn't saying much.Inception should have opened to Mark Twain's famous quote; "other people's dreams are dreadfully wearisome". Thanks to the media machine surrounding Inception, it became impossible for me to approach without wanting to cast aspersions on the whole film. Yes, it's more intricate than the majority of run-of-the-mill action films that are released year after year, but that isn't saying much. It's an OK film, if a little boring and with its head firmly up its own arse, but throughout I was reminded of examples where the subject matter was tackled far more effectively. It's sort of like The Matrix of its time; here's a dream, a world of complete imagination! Now, let's solve our problems with automatic weapons. Expand
  87. Aug 31, 2014
    6
    Meh. A good cast and a good premise wasted. I went and watched this expecting cool action with some psychological twist, what I got was arbitrary mechanics not too far from The Matrix and a movie that doesn't even manage to respect its own set of rules. Once again, Nolan is acclaimed for doing something incredibly average and adorning it with its dark film colors and serious acting to makeMeh. A good cast and a good premise wasted. I went and watched this expecting cool action with some psychological twist, what I got was arbitrary mechanics not too far from The Matrix and a movie that doesn't even manage to respect its own set of rules. Once again, Nolan is acclaimed for doing something incredibly average and adorning it with its dark film colors and serious acting to make it look like it's something more than what it is.

    Also, open endings really grind my gears, to me they shout "we want to keep the public guessing so that they'll talk about the movie, even though we didn't put thought at all into this scene, but whatever they'll just think it's intentional and deep and that it stimulates critical thinking!".
    Expand
  88. Jul 29, 2014
    5
    Yawn!
    Two and a half hours of personality deprived people talking about dreams while an obnoxious Hans Zimmer horn blares in the background is not my idea of a fun action thriller. 80% of the dialogue is nothing but exposition, so the characters just come off really boring and I end up not caring about them.
  89. Sep 22, 2013
    5
    Have you ever had a dream that you woke up from than found out you was still dreaming? In the movie
    "Inception," they get real deep inside the dreams. This movie is worth watching for the imagination, and all the crazy things you see, but I found myself wishing it would just end. I just did not care what happened to the characters.
  90. Aug 11, 2015
    4
    Inception is a movie that collapsed under its own weight. Not only because it is unnecessary complicated to begin with, but ultimately because the spectacular action scenes ride roughshod over any deeper concepts.
    The idea that one can enter another's dream and manipulate it is not new. Nor is the confused blending of what is 'real' or 'unreal'. Nor is the choice for living in a make
    Inception is a movie that collapsed under its own weight. Not only because it is unnecessary complicated to begin with, but ultimately because the spectacular action scenes ride roughshod over any deeper concepts.
    The idea that one can enter another's dream and manipulate it is not new. Nor is the confused blending of what is 'real' or 'unreal'. Nor is the choice for living in a make belief paradise, however fake this paradise is. It is not whether you belief it that matters, but how much you belief in it.
    This what the movie is about. The idea that one can implant an idea in someone's consciousness that is so strong that it steers him(or her) towards a desired behavior. In this case to prevent a company from gaining total control over the world's energy sources. It has to be big of course, we want nothing less.
    The hero, Cobb, is thus hired by by the business suit Saito to implant an idea into the head of the son of his big competitor, the latter who is a dying man. Cobb has his own reasons for taking the job and so a deal is made.
    Now that must have sounded a bit too straight forward.
    So to make it more complex, we are served a superfluous first part, that has nothing to do with the main story, other in that it introduces Cobb and Saito to us and some concepts. It is a waste of time which should have gone to the main story.
    The center story requires that Cobb kidnap his target and induces him to sleep, and also to enter his dream and then a dream in that dream and then a dream in that dream and even a dream in that dream to pull of the job. Cobb needs a team to do that job as he can't do it all on his own. And that team swells from an original four to six people in all. Not counting the captured son.
    Why?
    It isn't that, amidst the explosions and the gunfights, there is enough time for some meaningful personal interactions to develop. Indeed, whatever interaction there is, is between Cobb and his wife Mal, yet another figure introduced into the movie, and between Cobb and Ariadne, the other woman in the movie, who, of course, tries to unearth what Cobb is struggling with because the story wants her to(And because she is that other woman?)
    Cobb gets cleansed in the end by facing his deeper inner demon Mal on dream layer 4, prodded by necessity and Ariadne. It sounds cool, but it is mostly confusing.
    And as if reaching dream layer 4 wasn't deemed to be unbelievably dangerous and impossible to do, -level 3 required a special medicine -, Cobb simply goes into dream layer 5 on a whim. By now the movie has been completely uprooted.
    We have been told before that time slows down with each subsequent layer. Hence, at dream level 1 every 5 real time minutes are an hour, at level 2 it is a week, and at level three it is 10 years or something like that. So what is it at level 5? It must be a 1000 years. And to get out of the dream, one needs a kick. So what kick is there at level 5? And if the team can conjure up weapons as happens in one scene, why do they not conjure up a robot army to help them out? And then apparently the team has superhuman fighting skills, for they fight off waves of attackers who are luckily so inadequate that they even miss their targets from ten feet away firing automatic rifles, while getting shot by mere handguns.
    Perhaps though, the most disappointing were the mundane dreams. It immediately qualifies the director. Instead of capturing the surrealism and strangeness of dreams, he prefers to deal in explosions.
    In the end the movie is dominated by the word too. Too much complexity, too much people, too much explosions. With a smaller cast, a simpler story that centers around the tragedy in Cobb's life it would have been a stronger movie altogether. Now it is just hubris.
    A final note: Thumbs up for Ellen Page and Ken Watanabe. Both of them fine actors.
    Expand
  91. Jul 30, 2013
    6
    I tried to watch this movie hew times, and it just doesn't work! Part about dreams is really incredible, but I was immediately turned off after first fifteen minutes of pointless lies about dreams and dreaming. Film is so boring for me and has no magic to keep my eyes and mind concentrated. Respect for Nolan, but this one and The Dark Knight are greatly overrated movies, and I leave noI tried to watch this movie hew times, and it just doesn't work! Part about dreams is really incredible, but I was immediately turned off after first fifteen minutes of pointless lies about dreams and dreaming. Film is so boring for me and has no magic to keep my eyes and mind concentrated. Respect for Nolan, but this one and The Dark Knight are greatly overrated movies, and I leave no chance to tell everyone about it. Expand
  92. Sep 30, 2014
    6
    One of the most overrated movies of all time. It tries to be a modernized Matrix. But the action was exhilarating and the effects were spectacular which is why Inception gets a 6/10 (decent).
  93. Aug 1, 2014
    6
    Not much to justify all the fuss. "Inception" is, of course, thought-provoking, but does not match genre classics, such as "The Matrix". Perhaps more of an action film that a meaningful sci-fi.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. 100
    In terms of sheer originality, ambition and achievement, Inception is the movie of the summer, the movie of the year and the movie of our dreams.
  2. In a summer of remakes, reboots and sequels comes Inception, easily the most original movie idea in ages.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    100
    If Inception is a metaphysical puzzle, it's also a metaphorical one: It's hard not to draw connections between Cobb's dream-weaving and Nolan's filmmaking -- an activity devoted to constructing a simulacrum of reality, intended to seduce us, mess with our heads and leave a lasting impression. Mission accomplished.