Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 16, 2010
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 3855 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
3,457
Mixed:
210
Negative:
188
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ChuckEAug 11, 2010
Inception, is an amazingly smart flick, that could have only been given from an outstanding director, and superior actors. they all come together to bring you a film that grabs hold of you and shakes you dry, and even when the movie finishes.Inception, is an amazingly smart flick, that could have only been given from an outstanding director, and superior actors. they all come together to bring you a film that grabs hold of you and shakes you dry, and even when the movie finishes. you're left with a sense of confusion, and wonder. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
KundKOct 31, 2010
Although painstakingly constructed and well executed (like all Nolan's movies) - Inception is more fun to parse and think about than to actually watch. Not really very original if one is familiar with SF literature and films, but the ideasAlthough painstakingly constructed and well executed (like all Nolan's movies) - Inception is more fun to parse and think about than to actually watch. Not really very original if one is familiar with SF literature and films, but the ideas are carefully and tightly packed, the structure works on multiple levels, there are at least 2-3 possible interpretations of the events, the heist/bond movie structure and the this-worldliness of the dreamscapes is familiar enough as not to drive away the non-SF and non-surrealist crowds... It would really not be fair to ask for much more in a movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
batsAug 12, 2010
Great when viewed again, otherwise credit goes to SFX and camera shots. I was about to give 7 but after reading JaneC review, this person seems to give the most unbiased reviewng- mentioning the Japs coudn't speak a single english word.Great when viewed again, otherwise credit goes to SFX and camera shots. I was about to give 7 but after reading JaneC review, this person seems to give the most unbiased reviewng- mentioning the Japs coudn't speak a single english word. Music added the depth and the script was going in a whole new direction until the controversial ending made me cold! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
mau1133Aug 12, 2010
wow, this movie was really good, i am serriously thinking about going to see it again, it left me with so many doubt about what went on and what did´t happen, well thats how crasy the movie was. so go see it and be careful , uwow, this movie was really good, i am serriously thinking about going to see it again, it left me with so many doubt about what went on and what did´t happen, well thats how crasy the movie was. so go see it and be careful , u have to pay atention to all of the details. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
mjadriAug 16, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a fantastic film with a fantastic actor how leonardo dicaprio and with a fantastic director how cristhoper nolan.
very very very advisable.
In fact, i'm sure that this film comes to make a revolution in the oscars.....
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ChonquistAug 24, 2010
Overall this film has great emotional debt, a phenomenal cast, mind-bending action sequences, and one of the most original screenplays i have seen in recent years. However, it is not the greatest movie of our time, groundbreaking maybe, butOverall this film has great emotional debt, a phenomenal cast, mind-bending action sequences, and one of the most original screenplays i have seen in recent years. However, it is not the greatest movie of our time, groundbreaking maybe, but not best. While Nolan's direction and screenplay are flawless, as are the effects and editing, it offers up too many similar characters and some implausible plot developments. The acting of some does redeem the characters being similar (those being Dicaprio, Cotillard, Page, and pleasant surprise Murphy) and the movie is saved with its head warping action sequences and the perfection of CHristopher Nolan. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Frmz84Aug 12, 2010
Great flick. Could be a perfect 10, but the story has a few holes that bothered me. Cast was great. Leo was Leo, always great, but sometimes i feel like I'm watching the same character in every movie he does.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
raefonAug 12, 2010
Liked the concept and way the film developed. Although easy to work out in the end as to the overall finality of it all have to say I enjoyed it and will watch it again.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MatthewAug 12, 2010
I had high hopes for this movie, as I'm sure many others did. I loved Christopher Nolan's other work and was hoping this was as good as his other movies. I was very satisfied with the end result. This movie is very complex and hard to follow,I had high hopes for this movie, as I'm sure many others did. I loved Christopher Nolan's other work and was hoping this was as good as his other movies. I was very satisfied with the end result. This movie is very complex and hard to follow, so if you're looking for more of an action movie with a more simple plot, I wouldn't recommend this movie to you. But if you want a film that causes you to really think, than this movie is certainly for you. Nolan has really come up with an ingenious film concept and has thought through this plot. By the end of the movie, I was blown away. It was quite amazing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
FitriAmirrolNov 19, 2010
Nolan provides another lengthy look at his expertise yet again with Inception, two ingenious hours well built with substantial writing and solid performances, despite its innovative yet awfully bewildering premise.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BobM48Aug 13, 2010
Not as good as Matrix but very well done and well worth the time and money. You definitely had to pay attention but that is part of its appeal--you had to think.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
thelordoffilmAug 13, 2010
This is the kind of movie Iâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
CremildoAug 13, 2010
Inception é um pequeno passo à frente para Nolan, um diretor frio e ambicioso, tendente a priorizar o andamento mecânico das histórias com as quais lida, volta e meia desenoveladasInception é um pequeno passo à frente para Nolan, um diretor frio e ambicioso, tendente a priorizar o andamento mecânico das histórias com as quais lida, volta e meia desenoveladas através de uma seriedade agudíssima de mãos dadas com narrativas estrutural e temporalmente quebradas. Este vertiginoso combo de ficção high concept e heist thriller mantém os pesados traços que definem seu criador, vitalizados, contudo, por um elemento essencial desabrochado desde o díptico Batman: coração, empatia para com o fator humano, uma representação mais direta de sentimentos dos personagens (construídos com zelo, defendidos com garra por cada membro do elenco), o que não só facilita mas também torna merecido o investimento emocional da plateia. Ninguém traduz o mundo dos sonhos para o cinema com a mesma habilidade de David Lynch, embora Nolan se mantenha na dianteira quando o assunto é, de alguma forma, a obsessão. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
DavidrhlAug 13, 2010
Excellent Experience almost perfect, one of the best movies I've seen in years. I can´t wait for the Blu Ray. The Dream is Real
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
nmsmixAug 13, 2010
Wow um, ok. One, or THE best movie i have ever seen. Love the music, never truly slow, had deep meaning, awesome acting, and plot that makes you feel proud to understand (which a majority do after a while) . Seeing it twice was also awesomeWow um, ok. One, or THE best movie i have ever seen. Love the music, never truly slow, had deep meaning, awesome acting, and plot that makes you feel proud to understand (which a majority do after a while) . Seeing it twice was also awesome because now you know what you are looking for and you also see more. I took my friend the second time and it was the 2nd best movie he has every seen..he watches a lot of movies. But ya, just open your mind and see it. Just dont get incepted. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Joshua_JamaarAug 17, 2010
I would like to hint that this is an intellectual film, therefore it's going to lessen the 'popcorn experience'. Again, throughout the entire film you'll be working your mind to connect everything, and this might not be something you findI would like to hint that this is an intellectual film, therefore it's going to lessen the 'popcorn experience'. Again, throughout the entire film you'll be working your mind to connect everything, and this might not be something you find entertaining. If you're still not sure whether or not to see it, I'll recommend you see it with a friend, or wait till it's on DVD, therefore you could watch it at your own pace. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BKLAug 13, 2010
Best Leonardo DiCaprio Movie EVER! This is way better than Titanic, and The Aviator. The Plot makes sense, and Little CGI was used to make this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SteveMartin97Aug 13, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A must see, Inception is confusing at the beginning but it really captures you. I must say this is my favorite movie of all times. A marvelous film with good performances and a great director. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
NeilieoAug 13, 2010
Liked the progression of the story as well as the "stacking" of plot lies to create a long segment of action. Very matrix-like but more clear and easier to understand.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
spektrum_92Aug 13, 2010
A mind-expanding film that will undoubtedly go down in history as one of the all-time greats. Incredible special effects, an ideal score from Hans Zimmer and, most pleasingly; outstanding performances from some of the finest actors of today.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
dandimann46Aug 14, 2010
Very great movie!! I like especially the time pressure and the open end.
The first half hour you don't get anything but then the story gets clearer and clearer but in the end you don't know what happened...again...
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
NatDurmanAug 14, 2010
Christopher Nolan is well known for his recent revamp of the popular Batman film series. The Dark Night was one his most critically acclaimed pieces, resulting in a huge boost to the saga but also raising the expectations of his future films.Christopher Nolan is well known for his recent revamp of the popular Batman film series. The Dark Night was one his most critically acclaimed pieces, resulting in a huge boost to the saga but also raising the expectations of his future films. He now steps back into the limelight after two years to deliver his mind twisting thriller; Inception. Costing over $150 million to make, itâ Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
acade365Aug 14, 2010
It was a good movie, but definitely overrated. I watched it expecting a lot more but, while I liked the concept of a dream within a dream, the execution was poor. Sure, the CGI and special effects were great, but there was absolutely noIt was a good movie, but definitely overrated. I watched it expecting a lot more but, while I liked the concept of a dream within a dream, the execution was poor. Sure, the CGI and special effects were great, but there was absolutely no character development for the supporting cast. Also, the constant state of climax made it feel bland: If everything is climax, then nothing is climax. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DrillurAug 14, 2010
This is the best movie I have ever seen. But not even loving it, not even seeing it twice in theaters, can I know who that man is near the end. I'll need to watch it a third time to find out, which will not be a chore, but a treat.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
xiuyiwangAug 18, 2010
A perfect film. Filled with nolan's original concepts and filmmaking mastery. I find the most amazing part of this film is his ability to convey thoroughly his dreamscape storyline. My only complaint was the excessive gunfighting, whichA perfect film. Filled with nolan's original concepts and filmmaking mastery. I find the most amazing part of this film is his ability to convey thoroughly his dreamscape storyline. My only complaint was the excessive gunfighting, which spoiled the overall feel of the movie somewhat. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
THe hype was huge, the idea behind the movie was incredible, and it mostly lived up to both of those things. The movie is not perfect, and there will be detractors, but it is a unique movie that will make you think.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
LancelandHtsAug 14, 2010
Inception is a rare blend of of both the visceral and the intellectual elements of film -a true cinema experience- My best since Fight Club. I was really surprised I loved this movie as much as I did-since usually a highly hyped movieInception is a rare blend of of both the visceral and the intellectual elements of film -a true cinema experience- My best since Fight Club. I was really surprised I loved this movie as much as I did-since usually a highly hyped movie usually leaves disappointed - I'm looking at you Avatar. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
mightymaxAug 14, 2010
I'm a huge Chris Nolan fan, and Inception ranks as one of his best, if not the best. Highly original, a rarity these days, the story is dense but richly rewarding.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
FilmTroutAug 15, 2010
Christopher Nolan has a catalogue of previous works that is undoubtedly envied by professional and amateur directors and writers alike, featuring the blistering talent of The Dark Knightand Memento amongst others. Does the hugely anticipatedChristopher Nolan has a catalogue of previous works that is undoubtedly envied by professional and amateur directors and writers alike, featuring the blistering talent of The Dark Knightand Memento amongst others. Does the hugely anticipated Inception live up to the standard set by Nolanâ Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
EmericAug 15, 2010
With an original, mind-blowing and philosophical movie, Inception brings me the masterpiece I wish I had seen when I was born. It's the kind of movie most people needs to see at least twice to fully understand how the dreams really works. ButWith an original, mind-blowing and philosophical movie, Inception brings me the masterpiece I wish I had seen when I was born. It's the kind of movie most people needs to see at least twice to fully understand how the dreams really works. But already after the first time most people notice how deep the story really is. But of course, to fully understand the movie you must be concentrated for 150 minutes. En if you drop your concentration for a single minute, you won't understand a thing.

If I could, I would've given it more than score 10.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
dbakker007Aug 17, 2010
This movie is amazing. Period. Those who gave it negative reviews didn't understand it. I guess they should waste their time reviewing other movies which they might try to comprehend with their pitiful, secluded minds while the rest of usThis movie is amazing. Period. Those who gave it negative reviews didn't understand it. I guess they should waste their time reviewing other movies which they might try to comprehend with their pitiful, secluded minds while the rest of us enjoy one of the best movies on the planet. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Luis171288Aug 15, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love it! Is a movie that makes you think about a lot of things. Visually stunning, Superb soundtrack and exciting plot. After seeing the movie you get the feeling that you see everything in a different and exciting way. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
markSep 13, 2010
Anyone who didn't enjoy this movie should stick with Twilight, Clash of the Titans, Sex & The City 2 and other such Hollywood drivel. What or who were you expecting to see? I suspect if Cobb's character was called Jack, the dreams sequencesAnyone who didn't enjoy this movie should stick with Twilight, Clash of the Titans, Sex & The City 2 and other such Hollywood drivel. What or who were you expecting to see? I suspect if Cobb's character was called Jack, the dreams sequences were filmed on a sinking boat and the deceased heroine were Kate Winslet you'd all be wetting your pants with excitement. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
bassthingAug 16, 2010
If Freud had written Bond this would have been the movie he made. Clearly a Nolan film because of the sheer balls this film has. Inception entertains and boggles all at once, not only because Nolan credits the audience with intelligence inIf Freud had written Bond this would have been the movie he made. Clearly a Nolan film because of the sheer balls this film has. Inception entertains and boggles all at once, not only because Nolan credits the audience with intelligence in presenting a complex narrative and concepts, but also because Nolan knows how to direct action bloody well. The ensemble cast work very well together, and a noteable performance from Tom Hardy was a delight to watch. A highly recommended film to see right now before you run the risk of any spoilers, and once youâ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
sebastianAug 16, 2010
To affirm two streams of critique pervading this site: (1) Inception makes very little, if any, sense; (2) Inception is awesome fun. One way to reconcile these two, apparently conflicting notions is to restate the basic fact that inceptionTo affirm two streams of critique pervading this site: (1) Inception makes very little, if any, sense; (2) Inception is awesome fun. One way to reconcile these two, apparently conflicting notions is to restate the basic fact that inception is a movie--most notably a movie that takes place almost entirely in worlds of dreams. Where Nolan (may) go astray is that he attempts to layer a system of logic and physical laws over the realms of imagination and subconscious; any such system is, of course, untenable (though quite fun--as Freud/Jung/etc. also prove). At the same time, some such system is critical in order to create the game within which the movie plays. So all along the way the viewer is confronted with massive offenses to her reason: the main logic being that the imagination doesn't play by rules. Bring on the insults--because their packaged inside one freakin' cool box. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
olly984Aug 16, 2010
I must say I really didn't have a clue what to expect with this. I certainly like Nolan, but I feel I didn't get quite as caught up in the hype over some of his films as a lot of people did. However, I was blown away by this. I've seen itI must say I really didn't have a clue what to expect with this. I certainly like Nolan, but I feel I didn't get quite as caught up in the hype over some of his films as a lot of people did. However, I was blown away by this. I've seen it twice in the cinema and I'll most likely buy the DVD as well. Really exceptional performances across the board from a terrific cast, particularly Cotillard (who knew she could be so scary?) and the ever-excellent DiCaprio. I did feel that Ariadne was maybe slightly miscast, and as good as I think Ellen Page is, I felt her role could have been played by pretty much anyone. That's a minor niggle though, and probably a result of my not being able to find much else to constructively criticise. A marvellous thriller in every sense of the word - in scope, imagination and execution. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
NeverLiftAug 16, 2010
A totally new, totally involving film, radical in its concept, perfect in its combination of live action and computer generation, and acted with authenticity and intensity. Do not go to it tired, or expecting to sit back and relax as if itA totally new, totally involving film, radical in its concept, perfect in its combination of live action and computer generation, and acted with authenticity and intensity. Do not go to it tired, or expecting to sit back and relax as if it were some light musical -- or even an easily followed blockbuster such as Avatar. Pay attention, get involved, the nuances from level to level are exquisite -- and take a few minutes after leaving the theater to re-enter reality. I drove very carefully for the first five minutes going home from this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
1966ZodiacOct 6, 2010
This is a Amazing movie with so many good actors. I really liked this movie. It's seriously mind blowing. Christopher Nolan is really a true genius. I really hope that this movie will get nominated for best picture(which it probably will).
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
MovieFailAug 17, 2010
I don't want to call Christopher Nolan a hack director, because by all rights, he isn't. But if he continues to receive these accolades so undeservedly, I might just have to in order to balance out the hyperbole. In truth, this movie was farI don't want to call Christopher Nolan a hack director, because by all rights, he isn't. But if he continues to receive these accolades so undeservedly, I might just have to in order to balance out the hyperbole. In truth, this movie was far from terrible, and on paper, much like Nolan's The Dark Knight, this film is my wet dream. As a fully realized epic depicting a futuristic world with equal parts sci fi, sophistication, dream science, and suave- all made possible by near-perfect special effects and amazing camera work- how could it go wrong? The story follows, primarily, Dom Cobb (DiCaprio), a mercenary agent of sorts working for various private companies to extract information from other company leaders' minds wile they sleep. Naturally, to give him a backstory, Cobb is also seeking redemption from the United States for some unknown reason, and has been forbidden to returning to his children due to exile. As the story progresses, Cobb is given the opportunity to get a clean slate, if only he can successfully build a team of people to go into the mind of the head of a major executive and plant an idea instead of extracting one- inception. Throw in an excellent cast of characters, how incredibly cool does this sound? How does any of it not hit home? And in fact, it doesn't really go wrong- perhaps by the sheer merit of the aforementioned ingredients and premise. However, three major, glaring problems hold this film back from realizing true greatness. It's risky for me to bring you, the reader, three levels into my psyche, but it's necessary. We need to go deeper. 1. Logistics and plot holes. On the first plane, we have the logistics of the movie. For all the praise this film is getting, you would think that this film was immune to pitfalls as basic as logical story arc progression. Unfortunately, it isn't. In fact, this film is simply riddled with myriad examples of nonsensical rules that are set up and broken all within the two hour run time. At the beginning of the movie, much like that little indy film The Matrix, rules are set up explaining how extraction/inception works, and how the dream world (parallel to the Matrix) operates. Well, that's great- that's just what you want. To establish rules for an alternate reality is necessary in a new film. The issue is that all throughout the movie, Nolan decided it would be great for characters to continually add new rules while simultaneously breaking the old rules. If you set rules, don't break them shortly thereafter. This breaks the trust of the audience, and the believability of the world you created. Without ruining anything, the second half of the movie is essentially a multilayered dream. In order to get out of each level, one must get a "kick" to move up until you reach complete consciousness- usually easiest to do this by getting killed or killing yourself. However, due to various extenuating circumstances, the multilayered dream won't allow for such an easy wake-up. Instead, dying brings you down lower in the dream state to a subconscious realm called Limbo. Way to switch up the rules. That would be fine I suppose except then, simply killing oneself or getting killed in Limbo kicks you all the way back into reality. Wait- so then what's the big deal about getting stuck in Limbo? This annoyance comes along with a slew of other made up plot devices which feel completely synthetic and appear to be used for sheer convenience. Shame on you, Mr. Nolan- leave that hack style for the bad directors. 2. Violation of accepted rules of dream science Okay, I'll keep this brief because I'm a nerd and most everyone else doesn't care about this. However, I say it is relevant because Nolan professes to love the idea of dreams and how they work. There is a field of study around dreaming, and more specifically, "lucid dreaming"- wherein someone is dreaming but is conscious and acting with the knowledge that you are in a dream world. This has been well documented and there are official rules governing how a lucid dream works. Nolan is free to take liberties with dream sharing, something that is not real and is a great concept for him to invent and talk about. However, lucid dreaming is not science fiction- it's real. And in that dream science, the rules are as follows: A. To find out you are dreaming, check fine print on signs, books, etc. It will usually be nonsensical or a blur, because your mind won't fill in that level of detail. B. You may also check any digital clock to see if it is unreadable or rapidly changing, another indication you are dreaming. C. Flipping a light switch should do nothing in a dream- light levels are usually unchangeable in the dream state. The worst part is definitely that Nolan managed to follow rule C. throughout the dream sequencesâ Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
dannymlufcAug 17, 2010
Inception. One of the best films you will ever see. (probably the best). From writer/director Chris Nolan (who made the terrific Dark Knight) throws audiences into this world of awesome fight scenes, genuine emotion and white knuckleInception. One of the best films you will ever see. (probably the best). From writer/director Chris Nolan (who made the terrific Dark Knight) throws audiences into this world of awesome fight scenes, genuine emotion and white knuckle excitement. From Hans Zimmers beautiful score to the excellent performances by the cast (particularly Joseph Gordon-Levitt) quality shines out from everywhere. Its a film that does not degrade its audience. Its a film that assumes it's audiences intelligence; it has an amazing story, unlike most other blockbusters which just rely on visuals whilst disregarding the story (Avatar).
In short; it's an action packed, tear jerking, exciting, funny, smart, adrenaline ride of a film, one that will forever be remembered as a modern classic. A masterclass in film making.You simply MUST see this film.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JawclAug 17, 2010
This movie was THE BEST I've seen in the past few years. I liked it way more than Avatar, better everything in my opinion. The story was completely original, I've heard nothing of it before. I will totally buy this movie once it releasesThis movie was THE BEST I've seen in the past few years. I liked it way more than Avatar, better everything in my opinion. The story was completely original, I've heard nothing of it before. I will totally buy this movie once it releases on DVD and Blu-Ray. You must go watch it, don't miss it in theaters. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Island7Aug 17, 2010
The most entertaining movie I have seen in a long time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
FRIENDLYHUNKAug 18, 2010
GREAT GREAT SIMPLY OUTSTANDING.Although iam a big fan of Nolan movies i watched dark night some 30 times . But talking about this flick i think it was OUT OF THE BOX a great relief from those nonsense summer flick i think the problem came forGREAT GREAT SIMPLY OUTSTANDING.Although iam a big fan of Nolan movies i watched dark night some 30 times . But talking about this flick i think it was OUT OF THE BOX a great relief from those nonsense summer flick i think the problem came for the most of the people that watched this flick is that it took time to click or understand the overall concept but i understood it very well it was a masterpiece. by the i should confess that the movie was very fast paced .Next time Nolan should take effort in explaining and making the plot simple. Doing this will go very well with casual moviegoers his movies will earn well. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Pete2584Aug 18, 2010
I don't agree with the people who totally slated this film and yet I'm not prepared to side with the people who attack anyone who thought this film was over hyped and offered very little. Personally, I think the film was quite good. However,I don't agree with the people who totally slated this film and yet I'm not prepared to side with the people who attack anyone who thought this film was over hyped and offered very little. Personally, I think the film was quite good. However, in my opinion where this film failed was that it really didn't cause me to feel anything or to even question or think about any aspect of the film. Give me the Matrix, The Usual Suspects, The Sting or a good Alfred Hitchcock thriller any day.

7/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Rob274Jan 11, 2011
Since, The Dark Knight I was amazed by Christopher Nolan's work. Then some of the films of 2010 were either stupid or a waste. Then Inception came, and blew our minds with mindbending strategies that were absolutly amazing. THE PERFECT ANDSince, The Dark Knight I was amazed by Christopher Nolan's work. Then some of the films of 2010 were either stupid or a waste. Then Inception came, and blew our minds with mindbending strategies that were absolutly amazing. THE PERFECT AND BEST FILM OF 2010! I say that is better than The Dark Knight. The story was great, the director did very well, the effects were amazing, and the film was just--Really, really amazing! 10/10! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
threeivalorAug 18, 2010
By far my favorite movie (so far) of 2010. Captivating in both it's creativity and complexity, Inception had me in constant deep thought. While making some key elements of the story a bit difficult to decipher (until later, when the piecesBy far my favorite movie (so far) of 2010. Captivating in both it's creativity and complexity, Inception had me in constant deep thought. While making some key elements of the story a bit difficult to decipher (until later, when the pieces fall into place), the movie gave all intellectually inclined audience members their money's worth. Inception gets my vote for movie of the summer, and most likely movie of the year. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MrSandmanAug 19, 2010
A movie that tries to be serious, being extremely fantastic. Too many unanswered questions. Great special effects and camera work tough.
Altough is a long movie, you don't get bored at all. Costant action and awesome scenes make this a very
A movie that tries to be serious, being extremely fantastic. Too many unanswered questions. Great special effects and camera work tough.
Altough is a long movie, you don't get bored at all. Costant action and awesome scenes make this a very enjoyable movie.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MaxBAug 19, 2010
Inception is beyond good. It's the most original, ambitious, and mind blowing movie you will ever see. You will leave the theater in shock and awe picking up the pieces of your mind. Aside from all that inception is perfectly acted and theInception is beyond good. It's the most original, ambitious, and mind blowing movie you will ever see. You will leave the theater in shock and awe picking up the pieces of your mind. Aside from all that inception is perfectly acted and the cinematography is exceptional. Truly one of the greatest movies to ever grace the big screen. A must see! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
FlintAug 20, 2010
It's simple enough. Christopher Nolan's best film. Action sequences are brilliantly executed and imaginative, the cast is almost unbelievably strong helping to provide the unique depth which comes mainly from the writing. Plus you will beIt's simple enough. Christopher Nolan's best film. Action sequences are brilliantly executed and imaginative, the cast is almost unbelievably strong helping to provide the unique depth which comes mainly from the writing. Plus you will be able to follow that story, as long as you don't have to leave at any stage. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
mathcorreiaAug 20, 2010
Remarkable. This is the Christopher Nolan's masterpiece! Leonardo DiCaprio and Marion Cotillard gave us strong performances. And the Oscar goes to...
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TheJackalAug 20, 2010
As with Memento (2001) and The Dark Knight (2008) before it, Chris Nolan continues to raise the bar with yet another complex, fascinating, thrill ride. Nolan takes the layers of complexity he established in his previous films and here takesAs with Memento (2001) and The Dark Knight (2008) before it, Chris Nolan continues to raise the bar with yet another complex, fascinating, thrill ride. Nolan takes the layers of complexity he established in his previous films and here takes them to an almost absurd level. Inception is a phenomenal achievement from beginning to end. The performances are all top-notch (led by master-of-the-furrowed-brow Leonardo DiCaprio), but its the story and visuals that really take the cake. Innovative and invigorating this is the best film of Summer 2010. Inception delivers. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
JoanHollowayAug 20, 2010
Nolan is brilliant as usual in this summer blockbuster, as is Leonardo DiCaprio. This is a cerebral movie with lots of twists and turns, and you have to keep up. Will definitely buy on Blu-ray and watch several times to catch things I mayNolan is brilliant as usual in this summer blockbuster, as is Leonardo DiCaprio. This is a cerebral movie with lots of twists and turns, and you have to keep up. Will definitely buy on Blu-ray and watch several times to catch things I may have missed in the theater. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
dannyboy057Aug 20, 2010
Hands down one of the most creative and original movies of the year. Although the movie can seem a bit confusing at first because there are not many explanations at the beginning. However, the movie will make so much more sense if you goHands down one of the most creative and original movies of the year. Although the movie can seem a bit confusing at first because there are not many explanations at the beginning. However, the movie will make so much more sense if you go watch it more than once. It definitely helped for me, for I have seen it twice in theatres and I can`t wait for it to be released on DVD and Blu-Ray. Everything about the movie is just fantastic. The visuals, the story, the score, the acting, and the direction were all just simply astounding. This movie should be nominated for at least 10 Oscars. I`ve always been a fan of Christopher Nolan ever since Momento, and he continues to amaze me today with Inception. Hollywood needs more filmmakers with the ambition and originality that Nolan has to offer. Keep up the good work, and I look forward to your next project. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
operatorAug 20, 2010
okay, i expected a lot of this movie. From the same director of Memento and The Dark Knight. Well I can say in my opinion. Best movie EVER !, The Godfather ? Nah its boring... Inception is the best !!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
FUNTALKAug 21, 2010
A relateful film with all elements of it produced,barely to find anything to blame.Inception have all the thing great movie had but within a clear title to follow,which make all the thing not also.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Chrispy0789Aug 21, 2010
Inception was a very good movie. I believe the movie, while not anywhere near straight forward, was not entirely hard to follow. The movie seemed well written and i enjoy these types of movies. Memento was a great movie and i was notInception was a very good movie. I believe the movie, while not anywhere near straight forward, was not entirely hard to follow. The movie seemed well written and i enjoy these types of movies. Memento was a great movie and i was not disappointed by Inception either. Even with the high expectation placed on it by my friends and reviews it lived up to the hype. Great movie and would recommend to anyone with an open mind. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Danny197Aug 21, 2010
An outstanding, intelligent film designed to get your brain whirring. The characterization is superb, the acting is brilliant, and the plot will keep you on the edge of your seat til the end. I needed to go to the toilet from the halfwayAn outstanding, intelligent film designed to get your brain whirring. The characterization is superb, the acting is brilliant, and the plot will keep you on the edge of your seat til the end. I needed to go to the toilet from the halfway mark, but simply couldn't because the film just kept building the tension up to its stunning finale. Nolan's vision is clear from the get-go, with a twist around every corner. Absolutely epic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
jetboyAug 22, 2010
it looked cool. sounded cool. a movie about a team of people who rob information from a person's dreams. and the movie was cool. that sadi it was confusing and mind boggling, after a while i had no idea what was going on. i was so confusedit looked cool. sounded cool. a movie about a team of people who rob information from a person's dreams. and the movie was cool. that sadi it was confusing and mind boggling, after a while i had no idea what was going on. i was so confused that im not even sure if i liked the movie Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TausMunkAug 22, 2010
This film defines everything that's right about a good film. I thought to myself that it could be slightly difficult to keep track of the plot if I wasn't with it from the beginning, and being awake sure paid off. Inception is exhilarating,This film defines everything that's right about a good film. I thought to myself that it could be slightly difficult to keep track of the plot if I wasn't with it from the beginning, and being awake sure paid off. Inception is exhilarating, epic, beautiful, brilliantly written and executed in a way that couldn't have been done better. If you haven't seen this film in a cinema yet, don't cease trying till you've done so. On a side note, this is the best film I have EVER seen. I was with it from the beginning, and I've never been rewarded in the ways Inception rewarded me before. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RazvAug 23, 2010
Whoever doesn't give this movie a straight 10 just means that he didn't understand it. It is the type of movie in which you really have to concentrate to be fully aware of what is happening and which you got to see a second time to understandWhoever doesn't give this movie a straight 10 just means that he didn't understand it. It is the type of movie in which you really have to concentrate to be fully aware of what is happening and which you got to see a second time to understand completely. The story is perfectly put together and it manages to throw you from one sensational idea to another. Adding to this, the actors do a wonderful job and the effects make every scene breathtaking. It's a definite must-see. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
TylerJCAug 24, 2010
I really enjoyed this movie...I don't understand how people found it hard to follow, and that seems to be why it was given quite a lot of negative reviews. It's a good film with a great cast to back it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
OllyAug 24, 2010
Absolutely loved it, the intricacy with which it was put together, and how ambiguous the ending was kept my brain permanently ticking over. And instead of being boring on the thrills front like many thinking man's films are, the slow-moAbsolutely loved it, the intricacy with which it was put together, and how ambiguous the ending was kept my brain permanently ticking over. And instead of being boring on the thrills front like many thinking man's films are, the slow-mo sequences and stunts were breathtaking and fun to watch. As for character development and the like, I suppose many have argued this is lacklustre, but without knowing exactly what each person's role is within the film due to ambiguous plot means it's a terribly difficult one to approach. Personally, I felt that I knew who each character was, and Page and DiCaprio who were really the main characters, put in good, deep performances. Past that, I feel I don't have any problems with how the characters were portrayed and thus I'm not going to 'mark the film down'. I am bound to watch the film again at some point in the near future, in which case my views may change slightly, but for now this film wowed me from start to finish, almost completely made logical sense to me (mixed with suspension of disbelief needed for the whole Inception concept), and has kept me thinking about it for days after. If that's not a damn good film, I don't know what is. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kk10Aug 24, 2010
Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. Indeed it is complex but Christopher Nolan makes it both enjoyable and understandable. This is by far the best film i have seen this year and a major contender at the oscars.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
IqbalJan 21, 2011
This film is so overhyped! It is boring action and an even more boring storyline, with even more boring atmosphere. This Film was literally putting people to sleep. I forced myself to stay awake because i was waiting for the plot to turnThis film is so overhyped! It is boring action and an even more boring storyline, with even more boring atmosphere. This Film was literally putting people to sleep. I forced myself to stay awake because i was waiting for the plot to turn interesting, but no. The film finsihed and it was hard to make it all the way through. BORING! BORING! BORING! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
therockxAug 25, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Perfectoo!
J'ai adoré , l'histoire mysterieuse ,compliqué mais bien ficelé ,les acteur qui se sont donné au maximum et le truc que j'ai aimé avec christopher nolan c'est qui nous a laissé la possibilité d'interpreter l'histoir a notre guise . Un chef d'oeuvre a voir et a revoir !
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
CHANGOMADRIDAug 25, 2010
hands down best movie of the year. thank you Nolan for making the most original movie ive seen after the matrix, when the movie ends it puts your mind to think.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SierraMtzAug 28, 2010
A mind bender that rises to the ranks of The Matrix and Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind. A unique plot line that increasingly, as the movie progresses, gets you to question from what layer of reality events are occurring. While thereA mind bender that rises to the ranks of The Matrix and Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind. A unique plot line that increasingly, as the movie progresses, gets you to question from what layer of reality events are occurring. While there are some plausibility issues at a technical level, they are far outweighed by the underlying questions that the movie forces you to grapple with. You will not be disappointed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
theinspectorAug 26, 2010
Inception was a thinking mans movie, much like the people who really question the world of dreams. Its starts off and ends kinda confusing, but after a second viewing, the plot is complex, but well thought-out. I enjoyed a summer movie withInception was a thinking mans movie, much like the people who really question the world of dreams. Its starts off and ends kinda confusing, but after a second viewing, the plot is complex, but well thought-out. I enjoyed a summer movie with great special effects and a deep personal story, hard to come by these days and i'm glad it didn't get suckered in to 3-d. I also thought the camera, sound and music work was unbelievable. At times you mind find it slow, (how long did it take for the van to fall into the river?), and some simply wont get it. but in the end, this summer tale of dreams and regret will leave you breathless Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
shlugalugAug 27, 2010
Thank you Christopher Nolan for making a film that doesnâ
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ChewySmokeyAug 27, 2010
It was alright, a little hard to follow at times, but not too complicated. I would have appreciated a little more expository narrative instead of just taking the main character's word for it, like "this is how it is" "...okay". It was veryIt was alright, a little hard to follow at times, but not too complicated. I would have appreciated a little more expository narrative instead of just taking the main character's word for it, like "this is how it is" "...okay". It was very pleasing visually and I was surprised to see as much action in it as there was, though there were quite a few instances that seemed to just drag on throughout the movie, even some of the action scenes seemed to drag on. All-in-all, an alright movie, though not one I would care to see again and I don't really feel I would have missed anything if I had never seen it at all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
kris2furAug 28, 2010
I don't know how all you "smart people" are have trouble understanding this damn movie. And don't go listing how your a particle physicist or other rubbish, trying to show how smart you are. If you don't follow this movie you won't get it. IfI don't know how all you "smart people" are have trouble understanding this damn movie. And don't go listing how your a particle physicist or other rubbish, trying to show how smart you are. If you don't follow this movie you won't get it. If you aren't willing to go see a movie with an open mind you won't get it. If you can't watch a movie and accept the rules in place set by that film and think in your dreams there are no rules, you won't get it. With this in mind if you are willing to accept all the above, then prepare for the most thought out physiological movie of the year. The "layering" of the storyline is perfect with each dream. If you don't follow these rules just rate it a zero (Which is ridiculous.) write no positive points and how the expendables was heaps better. Even though your an idiot because they are two completely category films. If you don't like the film you should at least admit it had original ideas, or you could continue to throw feces on you wall whilst making monkey noises. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
hippie_9004Aug 28, 2010
Let me just say that this is a movie that requires you to expand your mind and understand that it is simply a movie; not a documentary. Truly enjoyed the premise of entering others dream world. Great and original!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MayhemunitAug 29, 2010
An abstract and totally conceptual film. You cannot miss the opportunity to mesmerize yourself in movies like these -even though inception may leave your brain numb if you pay attention to every detail and every moment- but it's worth it, andAn abstract and totally conceptual film. You cannot miss the opportunity to mesmerize yourself in movies like these -even though inception may leave your brain numb if you pay attention to every detail and every moment- but it's worth it, and will leave you overwhelmed at the sheer quality and beauty of the plot, action and dialogue. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
owlseyeSep 1, 2010
I was disappointed in this movie. Especially, after all the hoopla. The concept of the film was clever, but the way the director chose to tell the story was dull and unoriginal. The use of the video game shoot 'em ups were disappointingI was disappointed in this movie. Especially, after all the hoopla. The concept of the film was clever, but the way the director chose to tell the story was dull and unoriginal. The use of the video game shoot 'em ups were disappointing and not at all dreamlike. It was pretty much the same old rehashed stuff we've been subjected to watch for the last thirty years. The idea that someone would experience real life automatic weapons down to the last spec and detail in a dream is laughable. Anybody that dreams, and that's just about everyone, knows it doesn't happen that way. There were a few good and believable dreamlike scenes, like the city and the folding streets, and Nolan can thank M.C. Escher for his strongest statements into the dream world, but for the most part, the director lost a great opportunity to tell a unique story about the profound power and importance of dreams in our lives, and instead decided to make it into just another run-of-the-mill action thriller with a sci-fi tease. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
PSardinasSep 4, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Inception" is an engrossing and enthralling thriller. This is the kind of film that requires multiple viewings, not just because it creates an entire dream world but because it offers deeper exploration into the mind, a place only Nolan can take you. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
higherfiSep 5, 2010
This does go into the weeds - past the point of belief.

But, like any GOOD movie, it makes you SUSPEND that belief. I did not find this to be anything PROFOUND (yeah, I capitalize my points), but a good movie it is. Excellent acting all
This does go into the weeds - past the point of belief.

But, like any GOOD movie, it makes you SUSPEND that belief.

I did not find this to be anything PROFOUND (yeah, I capitalize my points), but a good movie it is.
Excellent acting all around - no complaints. It's well-presented, and although it is actually quite a VERY long film (2h20something if memory serves), you never notice.. Probably the best compliment I can pay.

At the end, some people think it's oh so mystical, etc. No - it isn't that. But what it is is an EXCELLENT combination of period-piece filmmaking, music and casting. (note I didn't say PLOT) They don't distinguish a timeline with respect to the styles they portray, which I thought was awesome. It could have been 70 years ago or today. Nice touch, I thought. Casting was immaculate all the way around. Probably by accident, but no matter.

It is true that the IMAX version is BEST. I live in NC but I was out in CA on business and saw it in an IMAX in Santa Clara which was very well done (the sound, in particular, was really well-done).

In my opinion, it's not "earth-shattering," but it's a very fine movie nonetheless. I highly recommend it.

Just know what you're looking at, OK? ;)
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
KudosToTheMovieSep 6, 2010
Fabricating dreams and threading them together to make a cohesive multi-layered blanket is a daunting task that's awfully difficult to weave. However, Christopher Nolan pieces together a marvelous endeavor deep into lucid dreams within dreamsFabricating dreams and threading them together to make a cohesive multi-layered blanket is a daunting task that's awfully difficult to weave. However, Christopher Nolan pieces together a marvelous endeavor deep into lucid dreams within dreams with Inception. The dazzling summer blockbuster is a fascinating heist film with rich visual effects and a vastly engaging plot that passes quicker than the elapsed time would indicate. This is convenient, though, because this pic undoubtedly requires more than just one viewing to fully embrace. Enter Dom Cobb (Leonardo DiCaprio), an extractor who enters dreams of others in order to get otherwise unobtainable information. Along with a team consisting of point man Arthur (Joseph Gordon-Levitt), architects Nash (Lukas Haas) and Ariadne (Ellen Page), and forger Eames (Tom Hardy), Cobb is auditioned to commit the perfect crime for business tycoon Saito (Ken Watanabe). In order to alter the fate of Saito's business, Cobb is instructed to plant an idea in the mind of corporate rival Robert Fischer (Cillian Murphy) that will persuade him into dismantling his father's business. Along the way, Cobb frequently encounters the adequately named Mal (Marion Cotillard), his deceased wife that has an unrelenting determination to keep him in the dream limbo. Her intense desire serves as the most significant emotional conflict, steering Inception away from being a superficial heist film. However, this doesn't cement Inception as a deep journey into character. Nolan meanders into the life of Cobb and his strained relationship with his family. This strain Cobb blames himself for, but the reason for the blame eventually develops as the film progresses. The backdrop of the rest of the characters is vague, not offering much substance to the characters. Some hints lie within Fischer's character, including a cryptic artifact that paints significant dimension, though it's subtle enough to go unnoticed. Additionally, Ariadne shovels out plenty exposition, but it is forgiveable given the already convoluted plotline and potential time constraints. Perhaps a film with this kind of magnitude needs some sort of explanation--it's not so much of a force feed, and the exposition doesn't hinder the pace. It's just there and it might be a bit much for those who vehemently oppose it, but keep in mind that without it, there's a good chance that it would make the film much more difficult to follow.
Inception is an intricate dive into the deepest state of mind that threads a remarkable sense of surreality. Don't ignore this film. See it more than once. Disregard the critics' opinions until you make your own, though a first impression will not be sufficient. This is the Hollywood summer blockbuster of your dreams.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
chaz1953Sep 9, 2010
So, are people reviewing "The Matrix" or Inception?" I'm confused. I treat going to a movie like I treat the day when I awake...if I get too excited or have high expectations or preconceived notions, I set myself up for possibleSo, are people reviewing "The Matrix" or Inception?" I'm confused. I treat going to a movie like I treat the day when I awake...if I get too excited or have high expectations or preconceived notions, I set myself up for possible disappointment. We just bought our tickets, put our butts in the seats, and let it play. I found Inception a thrill ride, and much better than the blockbuster drivel that passes for entertainment these days. If you want human interaction that builds drama, this isn't the movie for you. If you want a no holds barred action flick that is highly inventive, breathtaking, and challenges you to pay attention in our world of texters and multi-taskers; put your money down and enjoy Inception. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DN3RDSep 11, 2010
Two words to describe this movie: Mind F**k. The best movie of the summer, the best movie of the year, the best movie i have seen in a while. Not since The Matrix, have i been so excited about a movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
yenemySep 12, 2010
This movie is fantastic. It's amusing to see how many of the negative reviews complain about confusing plots, too little action, too much action, or... amazingly... all three. For me, this movie stands out as one that makes you think; notThis movie is fantastic. It's amusing to see how many of the negative reviews complain about confusing plots, too little action, too much action, or... amazingly... all three. For me, this movie stands out as one that makes you think; not necessarily in order to unravel the plot, which (despite some complaints) is simple enough, but about reality versus perception.

The score, acting, and story were all fantastic, but for me what makes this film special is that I'm still thinking about it.

Also... Ken Watanabe is the man.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MiniOreoSep 12, 2010
I watched Inception and it was the most intelligent movie I've ever seen. It's not a movie that had to be plotted from the beginning, it started with an idea (ironically) and it bloomed into a story; middle to end, because there was noI watched Inception and it was the most intelligent movie I've ever seen. It's not a movie that had to be plotted from the beginning, it started with an idea (ironically) and it bloomed into a story; middle to end, because there was no beginning, the beginning was the end and how it started.
Anyone who can say this movie is bad is probably someone who doesn't appreciate true quality. Inception was great because the movie was great; the idea was great, and didn't need to be covered up by sex and gun fights. Anyone who say they didn't like it, don't flame the movie, either you didn't pay attention or it's just not right for you.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
gm101Mar 21, 2011
My God, what a disappointment! I can hardly believe this movie was directed by the same guy who directed the masterpiece "The Dark Knight." This movie has the worst plot I've ever seen, way too convoluted!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Syn_againSep 16, 2010
Excellent film. A fascinating take on merging fact and fiction of dreams and the human mind. Nolan once again has a great story influenced by human nature.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Justinavery7074Mar 28, 2011
There are about five things that I hate about this world. And one of them is how goddamn overhyped and overrated this movie is. People say that they like if because they didn't understand it. It's just like Chinatown. Only that one was good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
bubbaOct 8, 2010
this is the best movie i've ever seen, and in my opinion the best movie ever made. the acting is great, the story intriguing and engrossing and the effects dazzling. this is the movie to go see this year, if not this lifetime.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
FrostbiteOct 9, 2010
Few movies go for the feel that Inception brings to the table- the story revolves around, "Dream Thieves," who get hired by people to go into the sleeping minds of others to retrieve information. As the move goes on the main characterFew movies go for the feel that Inception brings to the table- the story revolves around, "Dream Thieves," who get hired by people to go into the sleeping minds of others to retrieve information. As the move goes on the main character explains the rules of the dream world, and how time gets slower the more layers you go down. Near the start of the movie, the main character and his team are hired to preform an elaborate performance on a CEO's son to get him to cancel his company. I have to say, when they are doing the dream theft it is pretty sweet- it might remind you of The Dark Knight in terms of awesomeness. The story of the movie seemed fairly strong, and I liked how they developed the main character, but they didn't seem to develop the rest of the team enough, which was a bit of a disappointment. But the ending will leave you wondering, something I loved about the movie. If you enjoyed Nolan's previous films (Batman Begins, Dark Knight) or some of DiCaprios recent appearances, this is a good film for you. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
JohnQPublicOct 9, 2010
A really entertaining and original movie. Likely the best of the summer movie season of 2010 - i.e. better than Iron Man 2 and just a hair above Toy Story 3. Leonardo fits the movie and simply knows how to pick scripts and directors. WhenA really entertaining and original movie. Likely the best of the summer movie season of 2010 - i.e. better than Iron Man 2 and just a hair above Toy Story 3. Leonardo fits the movie and simply knows how to pick scripts and directors. When was the last time that Leonardo was in a bad picture? I am not even a big Leonardo fan, but he knows how to pick his projects.

Well worth the ticket price. I will be buying this on DVD.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
SimonBR9Oct 10, 2010
Not the most epic, but good. Good performance by DiCaprio, an averege really acting. I still with Shutter Island the most cultic movie of 2010. Very classic modern story but very very fantasy by Nolan brithers. I think after The dark Knight ,Not the most epic, but good. Good performance by DiCaprio, an averege really acting. I still with Shutter Island the most cultic movie of 2010. Very classic modern story but very very fantasy by Nolan brithers. I think after The dark Knight , Nolan be going a little bit slow now, I very expect that next Batman of Nolan in 2012 will be the best ever of Batman, I think he must cast to the film Johnny Depp for Lead Villian in the Movie and stay with Gary Oldham with the dirtty police-man after all Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Gamingking007Jun 9, 2011
Easily one of the best movies ever made!!! Nolans vision is original and his mind is truly spectacular!!! The actors could not have been chosen better and the effects were just perfection!!!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
percy972Oct 17, 2010
It was a ridiculously entertaining film with amazing visuals and memorable action scenes. Although confusing and too specific at times it will keep you at the edge of your seats.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
8
BikerjamesJan 31, 2011
The trailer for the film was fantastic, and the fact that Chris Nolan directed it reeled me in. I couldn't wait to see it. When I saw it, I liked it but didn't love it like so many others. I tend to see things black or white, so the storyThe trailer for the film was fantastic, and the fact that Chris Nolan directed it reeled me in. I couldn't wait to see it. When I saw it, I liked it but didn't love it like so many others. I tend to see things black or white, so the story that so many people have blogged and argued and were confused about seemed pretty straight forward to me. In fact, the characters explain what is going to happen when they are inside a dream, then when they dream it does happen. Another problem I had with the film is that I didn't care about any of the characters, so I didn't care if they died or not. A better film than this one in the same genre would be "Dark City". That one blew my mind AND I cared about the characters. I also thought the loud soundtrack sometimes muted the dialogue. Overall a good film with great special effects that might get better for me with repeated viewings. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
doinyahmomOct 24, 2010
Wow that was... amazing. Every second I was sitting at the edge of my seat, wating for the next plot twist. A film of this quality is not normal; do yourself a favor a watch it twice
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
NATDude101Oct 27, 2010
Inception is the latest film from Writer/Director, Christopher Nolan. The same guy who brought the world Batman Begins, Memento, Insomnia, The prestige, and, most importantly, The Dark Knight. Seeing as how The Dark Knight is one of myInception is the latest film from Writer/Director, Christopher Nolan. The same guy who brought the world Batman Begins, Memento, Insomnia, The prestige, and, most importantly, The Dark Knight. Seeing as how The Dark Knight is one of my favorite films of all-time, I didn't think Nolan could out due this masterpiece. So, when I first heard of Inception, I didn't expect it to live up to The Dark Knight. I was wrong. Inception is as good, if not better than The Dark Knight.
I have no idea how to even begin speaking of how great this film this is. The cast is amazing, especially Leonardo DiCaprio, who gives the performance of his life. The look is unlike any other movie ever. The changing environments, the amount of layers, and the scope are unreal. everything about this movie is just perfect.
I'll begin with the cast. The Film is power packed with loads of great actors and actresses. I already spoke about Leo and I'll come back to him. Tom Hardy from Band of Brothers plays a shape-shifting Eames. Joseph Gordon-Levitt plays Arthur, an extractor. Ellen Page, who played Juno in, well, Juno, plays Ariadne and architect. Cillian Murphy, Who played a chilling scarecrow, plays Robert Fischer, the future leader of a billion dollar energy company. Dileep Rao plays a medicine man who produces the team with drugs to enter deep sleeps. Ken Watanabe is the man who funds the entire project. Marion Cotillard plays Mal, Cobb's former Wife. And good 'ole Leonardo plays Cobb and extractor tasked with implanting the idea of breaking apart a huge energy company soon to be run by Robert Fischer. He puts together an elite team of 5(6 since the funder comes along) to do this near impossible mission of inception.
The look is amazing. The constantly changing scenes, especially towards the end, make an amazing feat of editing glory. The movie was filmed in 6 different countries going from a small hotel room to a snowy landscape in seconds. The idea of layers also plays deeply in the movie. Its hard to explain without spoiling the movie, but its a key concept that lasts through out the entire film.
I already spoke of the acting, but, god, I was blown away. Leonardo DiCaprio gives an amazing performance as a man who had everything and then lost it. the amount of emotion and conveying is so intense that I have already nominated and given him the academy award for best acting ever. the rest of the cast does well too, but Marion does a great job as well. I wouldn't be surprised if she was nominated for best supporting actress.
The Story is of course the best part. This is an ever going film. You can't look away for a moment. The dialogue is some of the best I've ever heard. Lines that not only develop the story, but show off Nolan's ability to make characters likable even with many flaws. The story follows these characters through many environments, of course, but the pace of the movie is just unreal. It isn't fast, but it isn't slow. Its not really in the middle either. Its literally impossible to describe.
The movie opens with Cobb already in a dream, trying to perform an extraction. The dream, however, is a test to see if Cobb can preform the art of inception. Initially, he refuses, but after being offered a cleared name and his family back, he agrees, saying, "I can do the inception. I've done it before." Cobb puts together a team of people to build the dreams and help add an idea to Fischer's mind. The only problem is, they can't give him the idea in a single dream. He would reject the idea. they have to trick him into believing that he actually came up with the idea. The devise a plan to go through 3 levels of dreams. I wouldn't spoil it for you, but the entire latter half of the film is shear amazement. And for all of you who think all movies have predictable endings, be warned. Inception has the greatest ending ever. Out of all the stories I've ever heard, watched, read, or even played, none compare to this one.
The idea of the movie is amazing and very original. I heard a lot of people say that they were comparing the film to The Matrix, another very original film. I can't think of any other film that has used the idea of entering dreams. It sounds more like a crazy religion that a movie, but Nolan does it and he does it well.
I can't get over how great this film is. If you haven't seen it, go right now and watch Inception. Its the best and most original film that you'll see this year and maybe even this decade. Inception will be remembered by many things. I will remember it as one simple thing, perfection. 5/5
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MightyQuinn3000Nov 7, 2010
I found this movie to be entertaining and epic. It's plot was great and was something you really needed to pay attention to. The acting was great and all of the actors need to be applauded for their efforts. All in all, an epic look, greatI found this movie to be entertaining and epic. It's plot was great and was something you really needed to pay attention to. The acting was great and all of the actors need to be applauded for their efforts. All in all, an epic look, great story, and great acting gives you Inception! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
UsamahNov 9, 2010
Inception is One GREAT sci-fi psychological thrillers.One of THE best in the genre.Christopher Nolan has created a masterpiece with perfect direction,phenomenal acting,great script,mind bending scenes and an action packed story being the keyInception is One GREAT sci-fi psychological thrillers.One of THE best in the genre.Christopher Nolan has created a masterpiece with perfect direction,phenomenal acting,great script,mind bending scenes and an action packed story being the key ingredients, making it a must-see movie...! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
QTIP1283Dec 8, 2010
I have learned that when I was young, I would always wake up before hitting the ground during a free fall. (Always from a cliff of some sort.) However, nowadays when I find myself in that precarious position in a dream I become aware that II have learned that when I was young, I would always wake up before hitting the ground during a free fall. (Always from a cliff of some sort.) However, nowadays when I find myself in that precarious position in a dream I become aware that I am in a dream and I just transport or change positions without concern. Nolan has managed to take this interesting topic of dream state and make a wholly original film exploring what is "real." In addition to the originality, the cast and editing are top-notch. The way the movie was edited and directed adds to the ambiguity by never really having a starting point. i.e. "How did you get here?" Nolan definitely expects us to keep up with him. He rarely dumbs down the dialogue reiterating things we already know. After all, I am now grown and know it is all just a dream....... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
CreativitaSep 15, 2011
I don't know what to say. Inception is a movie that changes film-making into an art form. Every aspect of it I loved; the mind-blowing plot, the stunning special effects, the amazing acting and every part of the film fit to be judged. ForI don't know what to say. Inception is a movie that changes film-making into an art form. Every aspect of it I loved; the mind-blowing plot, the stunning special effects, the amazing acting and every part of the film fit to be judged. For some the plot may seem confusing but I loved it in every way. It has been artfully created so that it reveals key pieces of information at precisely the right time. The performances of every one of the actors were spectacular, each demonstrating their true talents and showing what real acting is all about. The emotion and realism conveyed through the script, acting and the movie itself was astonishing. But pure originality, the one thing that every film should be judged upon, shines through Inception from start to finish. Inception is tribute to the very first of the filming world and a sign that more like it are soon to come. This is by far the best film I have ever seen and I highly recommend it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
DeathrompFeb 19, 2011
Without the relentless editing; bevy of name actors; clean, stylish direction; seamless special effects - this would have been a catastrophe. Christopher Nolan has somehow entangled kinetic action with analysis to make a theater experienceWithout the relentless editing; bevy of name actors; clean, stylish direction; seamless special effects - this would have been a catastrophe. Christopher Nolan has somehow entangled kinetic action with analysis to make a theater experience beyond casual - there's a grandiosity, yet artful, almost European smartness to this film that makes for a thoroughly satisfying time. The film somewhat falters in it's last third, yet the wit involved in orchestrating such a feat is enough to make thoughtful action fan giddy with excitement. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
cameron326Feb 26, 2011
A really interesting concept, but the movie falls short in many, many aspects. Character development, apart from Cobb (which is only adequate), is non-existant. Therefore I wasn't emotionally invested in the movie at all. Dialogue is a bitA really interesting concept, but the movie falls short in many, many aspects. Character development, apart from Cobb (which is only adequate), is non-existant. Therefore I wasn't emotionally invested in the movie at all. Dialogue is a bit clunky, with so many expositions at the beginning of the film. The SFX were nice, but we've seen a lot of it before. They lacked the wow factor of say the Matrix, Avatar or Terminator 2. The climax felt rushed and there was way too much actiona and big explosions for what is supposed to be a thoughtful sicence fiction film. Plotholes in a complex plot such as this are inevitable, but for me, there were simply too many.

In summary a great idea, but too much action and not enough character development. The ideas in this movie and the 'setup' at the beginning felt forced in a way that, say, the Matrix never did. This is a clever film for a blockbuster, but its execution falls well, well short of the user reviews on here. The critics are nearer the mark on this one.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
SciFiFan89Jul 15, 2011
This movie confused the heck out of me! It was still enjoyable to watch though and see what was going to happen next. But seriously? Dreams inside of other dreams? Get real!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews