Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 16, 2010
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 3886 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
3,485
Mixed:
213
Negative:
188
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
PaulJJul 30, 2010
Overated and over complicated. Never has such a talented cast gone to such waste.... none of the characters had any depth and the story telling was non-existent. Its hard to fathum what people enjoyed about this movie and how Nolan has Overated and over complicated. Never has such a talented cast gone to such waste.... none of the characters had any depth and the story telling was non-existent. Its hard to fathum what people enjoyed about this movie and how Nolan has gained such a big reputation. I went to see this movie with friends - had I been alone I would have left the theatre 50 mins into the film. Never have I been so disinterested in the outcome of a movie. The hero (Di Caprio) explains that you can never remember the beginning of a dream, and that dreams that seem to cover hours may only last a short time. Unfortunately, this nightmare last a full 2 1/2 hours!! Expand
11 of 30 users found this helpful
3
GaryR.Jul 18, 2010
Overly complex and hard to understand. I want to be entertained by a movie, not challlenged to see if I can keep up with the plot. And then, at the end, is an overdone James -Bond like scene with snow and a military fortress, which has no Overly complex and hard to understand. I want to be entertained by a movie, not challlenged to see if I can keep up with the plot. And then, at the end, is an overdone James -Bond like scene with snow and a military fortress, which has no meaning at all. Even all the senseless gunfire is not entertaining at all. I want my money back. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
1
markf.Jul 18, 2010
Easily one of the worst movies ever made.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
jamesm.Jul 27, 2010
THis movie was so bad for me I wouldn't have stayed past the first 40 minutes if I had been watching it alone. It didn't set up the plot at all. Like you were just supposed to accept on this intense chasing and shooting without THis movie was so bad for me I wouldn't have stayed past the first 40 minutes if I had been watching it alone. It didn't set up the plot at all. Like you were just supposed to accept on this intense chasing and shooting without ever knowing why just to be set up for the big dream sequence in the end. I thought the end was MUCH MUCH better, but getting there was painful and infuriating. Not a joy to watch and not well developed as a story. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
tomM.Jul 16, 2010
What a waste of time & film. As we left the movie we asked what did the people understand about the movie - confusion is probably the best reply. Your critics' review system "blew" this one - bummmer.
8 of 25 users found this helpful
0
RandyS.Jul 16, 2010
Absolute crap. You critics have lost all credibillity with me. And those that like it. Obviously you are not in reality.wake up!!!
2 of 7 users found this helpful
1
JudithR.Jul 17, 2010
One note movie-- mostly an unvarying level of all- out action throughout, and loud, bombastic soundtrack too, so it gets more and more boring to sit through. Not all dream sequences needed to be like Nazi horror dreams; but the few scenes in One note movie-- mostly an unvarying level of all- out action throughout, and loud, bombastic soundtrack too, so it gets more and more boring to sit through. Not all dream sequences needed to be like Nazi horror dreams; but the few scenes in which Nolan introduced less noisy interactions were short and not very engaging. Not for thoughtful viewers. Expand
6 of 19 users found this helpful
0
DavidBJul 18, 2010
Lisa M is spot on. For a film to depict dream content in such a prosaic and visually unimaginative way -- especially given the budget available to Mr. Nolan -- is a major failure.
6 of 17 users found this helpful
0
DanJul 20, 2010
Reading the reviews definitely gives you an idea why the world is so messed up! How anyone can think this movie was worth the admission price is beyond me! This movie STUNK! Everytime there had to be an explanation of a prblem in a dream Reading the reviews definitely gives you an idea why the world is so messed up! How anyone can think this movie was worth the admission price is beyond me! This movie STUNK! Everytime there had to be an explanation of a prblem in a dream sequence it made up bizarre rules! DiCaprio better start being a bit more selective on the scripts he chooses or he will be making 'Made for TV' movies very soon! Expand
2 of 16 users found this helpful
0
MissyChrissyJul 20, 2010
To all you critics and viewers that are giving this movie rave reviews, I ask, did we see the same movie? The music drove me insane, the acting was un-inspired, the plot was chaotic and confusing, the dialogue was excessive and boring and To all you critics and viewers that are giving this movie rave reviews, I ask, did we see the same movie? The music drove me insane, the acting was un-inspired, the plot was chaotic and confusing, the dialogue was excessive and boring and the characters were emotionally empty. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful
0
gillr.Jul 23, 2010
This movie sucks it makes no sense at all .they risks their lives to go in three layers dream for what?. so he can his father saying I disappointed that you try to be me.to find out his father wants him to be his own man. this a piece of This movie sucks it makes no sense at all .they risks their lives to go in three layers dream for what?. so he can his father saying I disappointed that you try to be me.to find out his father wants him to be his own man. this a piece of crap. I want my money back. If you able to go in three layers of dream you shoud come up with something more important than this piece of shit. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
TheresaR.Jul 24, 2010
It sucked. I knew after the first 5 minutes. I wanted to reach out and grab one of those cuffs to put on my arm to go into a "dream-like state" until the movie was over. Don't waste your money ($11.00 btw) or your time.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
lucasb.Jul 26, 2010
Horrible dialogue, and character development that simply made the movie boring. Yeah I could keep up with the plot but was I supposed to care? Wanted to leave an hour in.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
RoganK.Jul 29, 2010
Was looking forward to watching this movie so got me a ticket. The movie is about people working for an organisation thalt go into other peoples dreams to steal data. Movie goes on forever and is both boring and confusing and full of filler, Was looking forward to watching this movie so got me a ticket. The movie is about people working for an organisation thalt go into other peoples dreams to steal data. Movie goes on forever and is both boring and confusing and full of filler, only gave it a 2 for special effects. Expand
8 of 19 users found this helpful
1
CarmelaJul 17, 2010
Would have given this a zero, but gave it a 1 since I was able to catch a good nap during it. What a wanna be metaphysical bunch of crap! The only way to enjoy this movie is if you were dreaming while you were watching it.
7 of 18 users found this helpful
0
MaryB.Jul 17, 2010
I thought the plot was boring and gimmicky. The characters lacked depth. The whole movie felt like a collection of trite special effects.
5 of 16 users found this helpful
0
DustinN.Jul 17, 2010
This movie was utter garbage. If there were no Dark Knight, none of you would care a lick about Nolan or Inception.
5 of 15 users found this helpful
0
DanJ.Jul 17, 2010
You guys are nuts. You really want to believe this is the best movie ever? This movie was shallow as a kiddie's pool.
5 of 15 users found this helpful
0
LisaM.Jul 18, 2010
If this movie makes someone think, they probably haven't had many thoughts before. Basically recycled ideas wrapped in some boring nonsense ("exposition") intercut with action sequences that aren't even that spectacular and quite If this movie makes someone think, they probably haven't had many thoughts before. Basically recycled ideas wrapped in some boring nonsense ("exposition") intercut with action sequences that aren't even that spectacular and quite boring CGI. Whoever thinks these ideas are fresh, needs to read more and watch better movies -- Existenz, World on a Wire, Dark City, The Thirteenth Floor, Matrix, even something like Last Year at Marienbad which manages to have complex ideas about memory and human mind and complex arresting visuals before CGI even existed. As to the originality of the visuals -- the New York Times reviewer was too kind to the movie but he was right -- dreams and the subconscious aren't that literal and obvious. If the subconscious was so literal, it wouldn't be the subconscious. And the visuals in something as crappy as "The Cell" were much more interesting. Expand
9 of 26 users found this helpful
0
RodneyMJul 18, 2010
In my Top 10 of worst movies and most overhyped of all time. It is so scary how the critcs and the viewers think this is a good, smart movie when it is boring, long, confusing. I don't know what other movies you have all seen, but you In my Top 10 of worst movies and most overhyped of all time. It is so scary how the critcs and the viewers think this is a good, smart movie when it is boring, long, confusing. I don't know what other movies you have all seen, but you must not have seen many good movies in your time. Music was horrible, way too much dialogue, too much exposition. Lots of crying going on but I wasn't emotionally attached to any characters. Action, which was very little, was too confusing. You don't know who is who or doing what. Joseph Gordon Levitt was wasted in this and Ellen Page miscast. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
1
SammyP.Jul 18, 2010
I didn't like it. First and foremost the audio was horrible! I went and talked to the manager of the theater and he said that they were getting a lot of complaints and said that they just got a new sound system last month. One of the I didn't like it. First and foremost the audio was horrible! I went and talked to the manager of the theater and he said that they were getting a lot of complaints and said that they just got a new sound system last month. One of the few movies that had me knodding off to sleep. If you asked me what this movie was about, I honestly could not tell you. I think I understood one sentence that was coming out of Ken Wanntanaba's mouth. I would not recommend this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
HWJul 18, 2010
Disjoineted plot. Could not carel less about the characters. Stale dialogue and nothing interesting. Director trying to be clever by confusing audience, so when the end comes you sit and wonder what the hell you just saw.
4 of 10 users found this helpful
1
TomW.Jul 20, 2010
Possibly one of the most tedious movies I've ever seen. I looked forwards to seeing it, but after 20 minutes I wanted to leave, and I kept asking myself that every 10 minutes after that. Scores of giant plot-holes and lapses of logic; Possibly one of the most tedious movies I've ever seen. I looked forwards to seeing it, but after 20 minutes I wanted to leave, and I kept asking myself that every 10 minutes after that. Scores of giant plot-holes and lapses of logic; practically every other minute I saw something that didn't make sense. The entire premise doesn't make sense, because dreams aren't like reality: that's what makes them fascinating. But in Nolan's world, dreams look everyday, except for huge gigantic events that happen that get to be rendered in CGI. There wasn't much thought about this world he created, except how to make it bigger, flashier, and noisier. Think about real dreams - they're eerie and strange, and illogically logical. Bunuel captured them well; so also did The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. This was a boring world without any kind of sublety. The soundtrack was probably the worse I've every heard - a loud uberWagnerian rant that squelched any sense of real drama. The actors were fine, but since the script was full of idiotic lines, they couldn't win. And the ending was completely obvious - no surprises there. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ChesterLJul 20, 2010
One of the absolute worst movies I have EVER seen. Ive never been tempted to walk out of a movie before until seeing this pile of trash. Bad acting, lack of humanity and a convoluted plot not worth caring about. Simply awful movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
LionelLJul 22, 2010
I walked out. It was gibberish. Diarrhea. Any critic who liked this movie loses all credibility with me.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
1
PaulMJul 22, 2010
Long, boring, and pretentious. It's sound and fury, signifying nothing.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
BillFJul 24, 2010
I though this film was extremely disappointing. First of all, you shouldn't have to see a movie multiple times to just get the point of it. I was bored with all the antics going on and finally just got tired of trying to put it all I though this film was extremely disappointing. First of all, you shouldn't have to see a movie multiple times to just get the point of it. I was bored with all the antics going on and finally just got tired of trying to put it all together. I looked at my watch many times to see how long I had sat there watching this. The hype for this movie is very misleading and though it appears many of the viewers who have expressed their feelings here thought it was a masterpiece, I am one of those who definitely does not feel this way. Nolan is a creative director, but this one isn't with his best. Of course, I did lose track after I had fallen asleep for the third time! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
EvanW.Jul 24, 2010
Watched he movie at the cinama last night, oh my god it was boring! All that stuff to make a dude destro his fathes empire, why dont blackmail him or something. Stupid story
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JoanR.Jul 25, 2010
I went into this movie with a rave recommendation from my sister. She loved it. I HATED IT. It was so contrived. I felt I was being forced to feel as if individual scenes were exciting (they weren't), that action was amazing (it I went into this movie with a rave recommendation from my sister. She loved it. I HATED IT. It was so contrived. I felt I was being forced to feel as if individual scenes were exciting (they weren't), that action was amazing (it wasn't). Perhaps it was the music...terrible. I hate movies where I can figure out what's coming next. And it didn't drive me to care about any of the characters. This is supposed to be challenging? It was LAME It was a waste of money. Wait for it to come out on DVD. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
joshuaf.Jul 26, 2010
A whole lotta money spent on a whole lotta nonsense. not even half as good as the matrix and is twice as stupid.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JohnA.Jul 26, 2010
Horrible movie. I've actually liked Nolan's previous work despite his allergy to coherent storytelling, but Inception is a miserable failure in every possible respect. It is not a complicated film; it is intentionally convoluted in Horrible movie. I've actually liked Nolan's previous work despite his allergy to coherent storytelling, but Inception is a miserable failure in every possible respect. It is not a complicated film; it is intentionally convoluted in the hope audience members will mistake this for depth. The overwrought music and sound effects are likewise intended to create the illusion of substance. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
AlexSJul 27, 2010
Very weak film, even dull. I felt no emotions when the credits came rolling. But the photography is beautiful and creative. Rent it.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
LallyR.Jul 29, 2010
There is a great idea for a film here. Too bad the film they made is so terrible.
4 of 10 users found this helpful
3
JarrodC.Jul 29, 2010
An absurd and boring movie. Remember being 8 years old and writing a story with the ending "...but it was all a dream"? Inception is similar, but tells you that it's all a dream right from the start, thereby making it impossible to An absurd and boring movie. Remember being 8 years old and writing a story with the ending "...but it was all a dream"? Inception is similar, but tells you that it's all a dream right from the start, thereby making it impossible to become emotionally involved in the plot, and therefore the characters. Ken Watanabe's acting is appalling. Don't waste 10 bucks going to see this. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful
3
JamesS.Jul 16, 2010
Boring. Boring. Boring. This movie didn't have enough action. The action scenes aren't even memorable. Parts of the film, such as the use of mental time dilation, are ripe for parody already. I kept thinking... haven't I seen Boring. Boring. Boring. This movie didn't have enough action. The action scenes aren't even memorable. Parts of the film, such as the use of mental time dilation, are ripe for parody already. I kept thinking... haven't I seen this film before? Stupid. Expand
5 of 75 users found this helpful
1
JonathanP.Jul 16, 2010
This film has made ma lose my faith in humanity. I thought movie goers would be intelligent enough to see through this drivel.
13 of 45 users found this helpful
1
AlexN.Jul 16, 2010
Funny how people think complex equals smart and intellectual. This movie was a big bag of hot wind. Matrix was better.
15 of 43 users found this helpful
0
JimboG.Jul 16, 2010
Warning: this movie is basically two-and-a-half hours of talky, pretentious exposition intercut with boring, generic summer-blockbuster-gunfight/car-chase action scenes. (Also, the good guys here are armed with the same Magic Hollywood Warning: this movie is basically two-and-a-half hours of talky, pretentious exposition intercut with boring, generic summer-blockbuster-gunfight/car-chase action scenes. (Also, the good guys here are armed with the same Magic Hollywood Bullets that enable one nearsighted cowboy to singlehandedly kill a hundred Indians.) As for "visually stunning," don't believe the hype---it's the same now-familiar CGI crap you've seen everywhere from "The Matrix" to car commercials on network TV. Expand
5 of 17 users found this helpful
1
PredragS.Jul 16, 2010
Such a boring movie...good effects but movie is sucks.
2 of 9 users found this helpful
2
AngelicaR.Jul 16, 2010
Whoever is giving this film high marks is either a TDK Nolan fan, or a moron. Even from an objective Nolan fan it deserves maybe a 5 at the most. I give it a 2 because in comparison to his other movies, this one was weak, convoluted, oddly Whoever is giving this film high marks is either a TDK Nolan fan, or a moron. Even from an objective Nolan fan it deserves maybe a 5 at the most. I give it a 2 because in comparison to his other movies, this one was weak, convoluted, oddly structured, and didn't have enough originality to keep me rooted. People who say it is imaginative should go rent the Matrix and Existenz and the Thirteenth Floor. I mean if imaginative is "extracting" other people's ideas, then I guess this movie was imaginative. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful
0
RamonT.Jul 16, 2010
Crap. Crap. Crap. Crap. Hey, can one of you guys who liked this movie so much, pay me for my lost time?
4 of 12 users found this helpful
0
JackH.Jul 16, 2010
Folks, this the first movie I've ever walked out of half-way through. If you like a confusing plot, typical Hollywood visions of urban destruction, complete with large-calibre handguns killing people randomly and disjointed rambling Folks, this the first movie I've ever walked out of half-way through. If you like a confusing plot, typical Hollywood visions of urban destruction, complete with large-calibre handguns killing people randomly and disjointed rambling dialogue by cut-out characters... you'll love this movie. Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful
1
JectorP.Jul 17, 2010
I'm sorry, I understood this movie the first time. There was nothing to understand. A guy goes into a dream, then goes into another dream, then goes into another dream, then he may have died in one dream, while living an eternity in I'm sorry, I understood this movie the first time. There was nothing to understand. A guy goes into a dream, then goes into another dream, then goes into another dream, then he may have died in one dream, while living an eternity in another, or the whole thing was one big dream, or parts of his psyche are sleeping while other parts are awake, and the whole thing might be an endless torrent of cognitive disruption. Either way, Nolan did nothing new. And don't get me started about that cross-cutting bs. Have you seen Time Code? Okay, so there are people have done what Nolan has done before. If you only read the review, you are going to buy the hype because that's all there is, is hype. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful
1
BillJul 17, 2010
One of the worst movies of the year. Unoriginal, non- inspiring performances. Very thin story. Very slow moving. Effects were cool, but have been done numerous times before. The Matrix blows this movie away. Nothing new here. Very One of the worst movies of the year. Unoriginal, non- inspiring performances. Very thin story. Very slow moving. Effects were cool, but have been done numerous times before. The Matrix blows this movie away. Nothing new here. Very predictable. Knew how it would end a half hour in. If you are intelligent, avoid this one! Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful
0
MitchG.Jul 17, 2010
Completely ridiculous story with a thousand flaws in logic, compounded by the fact that it's completely impossible to follow. Two hours of my life I wish I could have back. Total waste of the gazillion dollars they spent making this Completely ridiculous story with a thousand flaws in logic, compounded by the fact that it's completely impossible to follow. Two hours of my life I wish I could have back. Total waste of the gazillion dollars they spent making this baloney. Save your money! Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful
0
VitoMJul 18, 2010
Worst movie of 2010. Terribly confusing, bloated, overlong. Music is horrible, Ellen Page is mis-cast. Best Picture worthy? Must be a bad year for movies. Dialogue goes on and on and on. Too much expostion, confusing action scenes. Did I Worst movie of 2010. Terribly confusing, bloated, overlong. Music is horrible, Ellen Page is mis-cast. Best Picture worthy? Must be a bad year for movies. Dialogue goes on and on and on. Too much expostion, confusing action scenes. Did I mention boring? Indifferent acting, none of the plot makes sense. Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful
1
JoelF.Jul 18, 2010
Toy Story 3 is way better.
14 of 49 users found this helpful
0
MikeV.Jul 18, 2010
I honestly can't even begin to fathom how this "film" is getting the positive reviews that it seems to be getting. With such a rich set of tools to work with, a film in which literally ANYTHING can happen since it is set in a dream, I honestly can't even begin to fathom how this "film" is getting the positive reviews that it seems to be getting. With such a rich set of tools to work with, a film in which literally ANYTHING can happen since it is set in a dream, you'd figure Nolan could have came up with something better than some folding streets and 3 or 4 9boring) storylines, Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
1
JenniferRJul 18, 2010
This movie was just talky, boring nonsense that made me want to gouge out my eyeballs. While everyone around me seemed (or pretended) to understand the plot of this piece of crap, I sat there trying like hell to understand just what the f*** This movie was just talky, boring nonsense that made me want to gouge out my eyeballs. While everyone around me seemed (or pretended) to understand the plot of this piece of crap, I sat there trying like hell to understand just what the f*** was going on. Also, who are these people...?? What "agency" do they work for...? And, the plot line between Cobb and his wife: also utterly contrived CRAP. I had no preconceived notions, but a lot of optimism about this movie. I feel very let down. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
CarlFJul 21, 2010
Brilliant, masterful tedium. Never before has so much genuine talent and expertise been applied to the film making process with such dull and dismal results. Inception should get an award just for that. Someone please take away the big Brilliant, masterful tedium. Never before has so much genuine talent and expertise been applied to the film making process with such dull and dismal results. Inception should get an award just for that. Someone please take away the big hollywood money Mr. Nolan has to work with. The more money he gets, the worse his movies are. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
RayRJul 21, 2010
Louis D, you are suppossed to tell us why you gave this movie a 10, not scold people who disagree with you and found this movie to be crap crap crap. Don't be so insecure.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JerryH.Jul 22, 2010
What a waste of time and money. I never had the suspension of disbelief required to be part of or absorbed by a movie. The whole time I thought, "what a load of crap". It makes The Matrix look simple, linear and sane by comparison. What a waste of time and money. I never had the suspension of disbelief required to be part of or absorbed by a movie. The whole time I thought, "what a load of crap". It makes The Matrix look simple, linear and sane by comparison. Don't waste your time and money on this movie, even on DVD. I liked the Dark Knight and enjoy Leo iin most of his movies. Big flop. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
joeGJul 23, 2010
An over-long mess of a film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JackL.Jul 23, 2010
Embarrassing flick. Juvenile silliness geared to the tastes of the juvenile mind. Nolan some day may grow up, but it's doubtful. Such fluff, such gobbledy gook. In a just world, Nolan would never again be allowed to waste time, talent Embarrassing flick. Juvenile silliness geared to the tastes of the juvenile mind. Nolan some day may grow up, but it's doubtful. Such fluff, such gobbledy gook. In a just world, Nolan would never again be allowed to waste time, talent and money. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
lindas.Jul 24, 2010
This is the worst movie I have ever seen. Leonardo Dicaprio is a terrible actor and in my opinion there are no redeeming qualities whatsoever. A boring mess.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
WaleighR.Jul 25, 2010
I think this movie was Hollywood's attempt to see just how stupid the movie-going audience is.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
HenryJul 26, 2010
Don´t get the hoopla. The story just wasn´t that interesting. It was tedios and confusing. When they all woke up in the plane and looked around as if to say ¨Why are we here¨ I felt the same way. Can´t recommend it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
jamesc.Jul 26, 2010
Take the 2 hours and 48 minutes that you will waste on this film and help feed the homeless. This film is another useless film that people are told they are supposed to get excited about because it's 'smart." Please, a violent bore Take the 2 hours and 48 minutes that you will waste on this film and help feed the homeless. This film is another useless film that people are told they are supposed to get excited about because it's 'smart." Please, a violent bore of a film. Notice how all the people who gave it a 10 never explain why it's worthy of a ten. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JonathanJJJul 28, 2010
Inception tries to be clever but gets bogged down in over complex dialogue constantly having to explain itself. It seems to be inventing its plot as it goes along in order to fit as much dream mumbo jumbo as possible. When the Inception tries to be clever but gets bogged down in over complex dialogue constantly having to explain itself. It seems to be inventing its plot as it goes along in order to fit as much dream mumbo jumbo as possible. When the 'guru' in the opium den dream theatre refers to his 'addicted dreamers' and announces - who's to say whether or not their dreams are reality or not in other words - are we therefore in the dream - I got up and walked out - if I wanted that kind of teenage logic I ll go and watch Nightmare on Elm Street. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful
3
ChrisR.Jul 29, 2010
Why do I keep forgetting how overrated Christopher Nolan is? Why all the praise? Please, someone explain. MEMENTO is brilliant, but that's it. I respect him for his ambitious productions, but his post-Memento writing & directing skills Why do I keep forgetting how overrated Christopher Nolan is? Why all the praise? Please, someone explain. MEMENTO is brilliant, but that's it. I respect him for his ambitious productions, but his post-Memento writing & directing skills are ...mediocre at best. He has the mind of a pretentious mathematician, and his films are cold, soulless, and without heart. The "romance" in this film is more like an intellectual exercise. The characters are stiff, and speak glib 50's dialogue. This surreal heist story is too convoluted for its own good, and I don't enjoy experiencing a story through constant explanation. I understood (most of) it, but there is a difference between 'understanding' and 'feeling'. I didn't feel the forced stakes in this film. I wasn't invested in the characters until nearly the end. There are some interesting moments and a couple of daring ideas. A few really cool visuals... but not as many as I was expecting (all are revealed in the trailers). Overall, the majority of the film left me bored and unengaged. The last half hour picks up, but not enough to reverse course. Dammit, I am obligated to see the next Batman film. But after that, someone please remind me how I feel about Nolan. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful
2
AmyCJul 29, 2010
Was expecting a lot more from this film. My overall feeling is that Nolan has intentionally and pretentiously complicated the whole plot, forcibly added a lot of unnecessary elements and scenes in order to make it a "big" movie. Would have Was expecting a lot more from this film. My overall feeling is that Nolan has intentionally and pretentiously complicated the whole plot, forcibly added a lot of unnecessary elements and scenes in order to make it a "big" movie. Would have been much better if kept simpler. The role played by Ellen Page was a total mis-cast as she seemed to be completely out of place. My 2 stars go to DiCaprio. Expand
7 of 16 users found this helpful
0
acdc2000000Aug 11, 2010
TERRIBLE, it falls, to damn complicated for sal to understand probably because he smells bad davinchi goes into 4th sleep relm and **** ERVEY were thank you
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
jaibalajiAug 12, 2010
was like a writing exercises by Nolan.Lacks depth in the characters and action sequences were poor,could have been better if Nolan gave more emphasis on direction department
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
1
skuz440Aug 24, 2010
Can't for the life of me figure out why this movie got such high ratings. Another movie rigged by reviewers to get people in seats. DO NOT SEE THIS IN THEATERS. Wait for the DVD if you must. The plot is stupid and confusing, the charactersCan't for the life of me figure out why this movie got such high ratings. Another movie rigged by reviewers to get people in seats. DO NOT SEE THIS IN THEATERS. Wait for the DVD if you must. The plot is stupid and confusing, the characters are annoying and far-fetched, the premise is so unbelievable it boggles the mind. Whoever came up with this should be shot. The dream sequences are just excuses to use some CGI effects and basically stray from reality as much as possible, and OMG but I had NO IDEA my dreams could be so vivid and real, to the point where you can arrange heists and kidnappings and create 'projections' that can actually kill you. I've never sat through so much nonsense in my life. This is a poorly written movie. If M. Knight had of written this it would've been viciously attacked, in stark contrast to the rave reviews and high ratings this has received so far. I will never get that hour and a half back. What a waste. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
0
Chucky666Aug 14, 2010
Never in my many years of going to the movies have I ever felt like walking out. NEVER. And I've seen a lot of bad movies. This movie is, without a doubt, the single WORST movie I have ever seen. It's film garbage. It has no soul.
Hated it.
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
2
ScosorAug 15, 2010
Ridiculous, and ridiculously boring. No character development, no authentic emotion: Nolan gives you no reason to even CARE. Little by way of original ideas, or original film making. And the screenplay! 99.9% pure drivel. In all, it's aRidiculous, and ridiculously boring. No character development, no authentic emotion: Nolan gives you no reason to even CARE. Little by way of original ideas, or original film making. And the screenplay! 99.9% pure drivel. In all, it's a crappy movie inside a mindless movie inside a pretentious movie inside a boring movie. Skip it. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
2
fantasyAug 17, 2010
I thought this movie was not as good as people are saying. Because we knew it was dreams inside dreams the over the top fight scenes had no bearing. Who cared? As a result the movie became boring and repetitious. I would be very hardI thought this movie was not as good as people are saying. Because we knew it was dreams inside dreams the over the top fight scenes had no bearing. Who cared? As a result the movie became boring and repetitious. I would be very hard pressed to recommend this movie to anyone. Stay away. Expand
16 of 56 users found this helpful1640
All this user's reviews
3
IqbalJan 21, 2011
This film is so overhyped! It is boring action and an even more boring storyline, with even more boring atmosphere. This Film was literally putting people to sleep. I forced myself to stay awake because i was waiting for the plot to turnThis film is so overhyped! It is boring action and an even more boring storyline, with even more boring atmosphere. This Film was literally putting people to sleep. I forced myself to stay awake because i was waiting for the plot to turn interesting, but no. The film finsihed and it was hard to make it all the way through. BORING! BORING! BORING! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
brewsterAug 28, 2010
We went because we enjoyed Memento, once we read a 3 page analysis of it; and Metacritic's high "score". But it was a disappointment. Where Memento was confusing but clever, and, once comprehended, brilliant.......Inception is confusing andWe went because we enjoyed Memento, once we read a 3 page analysis of it; and Metacritic's high "score". But it was a disappointment. Where Memento was confusing but clever, and, once comprehended, brilliant.......Inception is confusing and boring, and way too long. The entire Alpine dream could have been eliminated with affecting the story line. Who was shooting who, anyway, and besides, who cares? I actually dozed off during this sequence. The chases scenes were also overdone and relatively uninteresting because it didnt much matter who got hit and who didnt. It is a dream, after all. The CGI is clearly clever and the links between the physical world and their effect on the dream world, amusing. But visionary? No. Entertaining? Only briefly. Expand
11 of 32 users found this helpful1121
All this user's reviews
3
Alex6Oct 16, 2010
A tedious and unoriginal spectacle. Completely saturated with blindly complementary hype and build up but I'm afraid it didn't take the biscuit. Perhaps a film for ITV 4 in 5 years at 10 on a Wednesday night - but truly undeserving of massA tedious and unoriginal spectacle. Completely saturated with blindly complementary hype and build up but I'm afraid it didn't take the biscuit. Perhaps a film for ITV 4 in 5 years at 10 on a Wednesday night - but truly undeserving of mass takings at box office Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
2
RobertRyansonNov 15, 2010
Go see the Matrix - again - and save your effort. Same movie as Matrix but now takes place inside a dream. Really unoriginal. Drags on far too long. This movie never should have been made.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
chargodfreyDec 10, 2010
This is a review within a review that's trapped inside another review. Only a defibrillator can release the real score within my subconscious. So I improvised and reconstructed a score of zero based upon my memories of other movies likeThis is a review within a review that's trapped inside another review. Only a defibrillator can release the real score within my subconscious. So I improvised and reconstructed a score of zero based upon my memories of other movies like Glitter, Ishtar and My Giant. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
guitarmahnDec 10, 2010
THIS movie is completely overated. Watercooler prestige for those who sit through & pat theirsleves on the back at oh what smarty pants they are. This movie is crap that drags and is no where near as intersting as the nap & dream I tookTHIS movie is completely overated. Watercooler prestige for those who sit through & pat theirsleves on the back at oh what smarty pants they are. This movie is crap that drags and is no where near as intersting as the nap & dream I took before it ended. Dreams are abstract, impossible to set up house in, one persons flying burritos and chairs with ship sails makes sense to them only. Original? Ive seen better folding cities in the Matrix and Dark City.Its down right sad that spew like this and Monsters are loved by critics and yuppies everywhere when their comlplete dribble and will only contribute to the horrible drought of anything decent. DO yourself a favor rent Dark City & skip this nap maker. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
3
MikeABJan 17, 2011
Wow! What a tedious, confusing, mess! I have loved many movies with dreamlike sensibilities--"Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind," "Twelve Monkeys," and "Brazil" come to mind--movies which prompt the viewer to question reality andWow! What a tedious, confusing, mess! I have loved many movies with dreamlike sensibilities--"Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind," "Twelve Monkeys," and "Brazil" come to mind--movies which prompt the viewer to question reality and ponder their place in the universe. "Inception" is clearly attempting to be one of these movies, but it fails miserably. Piling layer upon layer of plot and exposition doesn't make a movie more "intelligent" or "thought-provoking," but that is what director Christopher Nolan seems to be doing. Instead of provocative, metaphysical sci-fi we get scene after scene that resemble outtakes from "Mission Impossible 12." None of it adds up to much, except that is, for confusion and boredom. Sure, there are some awe-inspiring CGI sequences of dream worlds folding over onto themselves, and edifices collapsing into nothing, but mostly what we get is meaningless, uninspired action and head-scratching explanations about the why these convoluted events are occurring. If I cared even a little bit about these characters, maybe I could forgive the filmmakers for some (though certainly not all) of the ridiculous plot contortions, but I didn't. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
kormac66Dec 31, 2010
Talk about the emperor's new clothes, Nolan's oeuvre is the emperor's whole wardrobe. Although i did like Batman Begins, Inception, like that last Batman film is a big convoluted mess. Having read many complex narrative and metafictionTalk about the emperor's new clothes, Nolan's oeuvre is the emperor's whole wardrobe. Although i did like Batman Begins, Inception, like that last Batman film is a big convoluted mess. Having read many complex narrative and metafiction novels, i love complexity when it's delivered by a talented artist with a capacity to deliver, Nolan can't. Who cares about richy rich and his dying father? Who cares about the "kicks" being executed? And the security in the unconscious is paramilitary shootouts? What!? That is devoid of imaginations. Why aren't we seeing Leo's relationship with his wife? That might be a film. But Nolan has never shown any capacity to reveal intimacy so i shouldn't be too surprised. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
gertJan 29, 2011
Brilliant concept, but so much action and violence it just seemed tiring after a while. This apparently is the only "reality" Hollywood knows how to produce, even with the opportunity to go "three layers deep". Not hard to follow orBrilliant concept, but so much action and violence it just seemed tiring after a while. This apparently is the only "reality" Hollywood knows how to produce, even with the opportunity to go "three layers deep". Not hard to follow or understand if you were paying attention. It was "disappointing". I thought it offered something on a deeper level. It's just a *movie* NOT a "film". Kind of felt I wasted 2 hours of "real" time being I am used to films on a much deeper level that don't rely on action, violence and a bunch of shoot-em-up-bang-bang to take one through the movie's concept. Granted its better than most Hollywood movies out there, but still disappointing that it wasn't more on its own without following typical movie footsteps - you'll know what this means by the end of the movie. That's the idea I hope gets out there to save us from more disappointment. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
yeti_sanFeb 11, 2011
everybody hyped this movie up so much but man were they wrong this is one of the slowest moving most boring movies I've ever seen what little action is in it is good but I could barely keep my eyes open waiting for something to happen
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
genericGuy21Feb 12, 2011
Extremely overhyped, no actual intellectual content. Good if you want to pretend that you're watching an intelligent movie without actually having to use your brain. For those who enjoy actual stories with characters you care about orExtremely overhyped, no actual intellectual content. Good if you want to pretend that you're watching an intelligent movie without actually having to use your brain. For those who enjoy actual stories with characters you care about or original ideas with relevance over pretentious, overthought, and purposely "complex" (not really) crap, this movie should be avoided. Unless you're a wannabe intellectual, don't watch this. Action scenes would earn it a 5 (it's actually a decent popcorn movie), but amount of hype and intended audience make it get a 0 from me. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
3
JalemanyFeb 26, 2011
No offense, because we all have been 12 years old, but the only way you can consider this film mind blowing, smart, creative and blah blah blah is if you are 12 or below. I give it 3 points because of the city landscape and some well doneNo offense, because we all have been 12 years old, but the only way you can consider this film mind blowing, smart, creative and blah blah blah is if you are 12 or below. I give it 3 points because of the city landscape and some well done effects. Everything else is quite vague and boring. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
Alexander_NJun 15, 2011
This film didn't quite know what it wanted to be. It was overly ambitious with little insight into realism when it was inviting audiences to take it seriously. A good cast wasn't enough to do it for me, as the slow and rather tedious storyThis film didn't quite know what it wanted to be. It was overly ambitious with little insight into realism when it was inviting audiences to take it seriously. A good cast wasn't enough to do it for me, as the slow and rather tedious story progression was too distracting. Towards the end I was quite restless as it was needlessly dragging on whilst becoming a bit of an action film where it wasn't necessarily due. Christopher Nolan is a brilliant director and I thoroughly enjoy the majority of his films except this one. Hopefully it was a one off. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
m3xcJul 20, 2012
In any medium of art, there is a balance between the abstract and concrete. The issue that arises in Inception is that the director, Nolan, delves too much into the abstract that any meaning becomes so purposefully ambiguous so as any logicalIn any medium of art, there is a balance between the abstract and concrete. The issue that arises in Inception is that the director, Nolan, delves too much into the abstract that any meaning becomes so purposefully ambiguous so as any logical explanation is irrelevant due due to the fact that so many are possible.

Even though this can be seen as a pro or a con, pretentious psuedointellectuals will love this film, basking in its non-revelatory metaphysical overtones. Also, the action sequences are more than likely going to feel drawn out (Nolan could have at least made the unveiling towards the climax 1/3 of how it was) - the reason that it was done the way it was is in due probably cause to the fact that Nolan wanted to make an epic film.

Though there is something that this movie is and the best word I can use is that of a concept coined by the author Kurt Vonnegut: "Cranfalloon."

A Cranfalloon is something that seems epic, bold, audacious or significant and yet, like a balloon, is filled solely with air. It's as if this film "Inception" should have really been called "Deception," as in; we are deceived to believe that this jumble mess of ideas in which the number of possibilities for interpretations causes a negation of any one "true" interpretation. I don't regret watching it. The second time I watched it, though, I strongly desired having spent that time doing something else.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
battleTerrorMay 9, 2015
Pure B-movie concept with an A movie veneer and budget. An utterly tedious 2 hours of pretentious non-sense and posing actors relentlessly espousing pseudo philosophical ideas. Not fun, not smart, not a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
jjolla88aDec 2, 2011
Christopher Nolan shot to fame a decade ago with a low-budget masterpiece called Memento ... the same year that an over-hyped Peal Harbor flopped. Inception is the "Pearl Harbor" of the following decade ... an expensive failure. The mostChristopher Nolan shot to fame a decade ago with a low-budget masterpiece called Memento ... the same year that an over-hyped Peal Harbor flopped. Inception is the "Pearl Harbor" of the following decade ... an expensive failure. The most amazing thing about this one was how the promoters managed to bribe every major critic on the planet - at the time I did not read one bad review & I was therefore conned into rushing out to see it. This is proof-positive that the critics are paid off by big interests. Ironically, my girlfriend fell asleep during the movie! Even my son agrees with me. This one is a complete abomination. Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
0
BarryDec 13, 2011
The film is both ill conceived and ill produced mess. It's to be expected that Hollywood will throw awards upon efforts which appear to be smart, though really aren't. I enjoyed Batman Begins. Memento was ok, but highly over-rated for theThe film is both ill conceived and ill produced mess. It's to be expected that Hollywood will throw awards upon efforts which appear to be smart, though really aren't. I enjoyed Batman Begins. Memento was ok, but highly over-rated for the same reasons. This thing was nothing but a painful POS. An offensive turd. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
3
BenYaniwJan 22, 2012
Clearly over thought concept, blockbuster budget and all star cast list makes the film feel like its trying too hard to impress. Nolan desperately tries to make the film awe inspiring with genius seeping out of every crevice of the plot.Clearly over thought concept, blockbuster budget and all star cast list makes the film feel like its trying too hard to impress. Nolan desperately tries to make the film awe inspiring with genius seeping out of every crevice of the plot. Unfortunately this is all counter productive, making for a very laborious and lacklustre watch. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
surrealismedMar 20, 2012
I guess this movie works. There's good action scenes and some interesting camera use, but it's ultimately ruined by Christopher Nolan's pretensions. I found myself annoyed by its attempts to be deep, with cheap tricks like the top at the endI guess this movie works. There's good action scenes and some interesting camera use, but it's ultimately ruined by Christopher Nolan's pretensions. I found myself annoyed by its attempts to be deep, with cheap tricks like the top at the end presented as some mind-bending ambiguity. Its resemblance to Shutter Island is also worth noting, with DiCaprio playing Cobb as a Federal Marshall minus the accent. I was just really disappointed that this movie could have been better, had the dream nonsense either been removed or executed better. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
Trev29Apr 2, 2012
A horrible movie. I don't really care if I didn't comprehend it, it still wasn't interesting to watch. There have been plenty of movies that had complex story lines that I still found intriguing to watch. It was so boring. The only semi goodA horrible movie. I don't really care if I didn't comprehend it, it still wasn't interesting to watch. There have been plenty of movies that had complex story lines that I still found intriguing to watch. It was so boring. The only semi good thing was the music. Too long to. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
Isaac_adhdAug 8, 2012
The story of this movie is one that is not realistic whatsoever and it's not interesting in any way either. The movie itself is so boring it made me hope it would end soon. I think there is one joke in this movie and there are 2 smiles. ItThe story of this movie is one that is not realistic whatsoever and it's not interesting in any way either. The movie itself is so boring it made me hope it would end soon. I think there is one joke in this movie and there are 2 smiles. It is a complex story partly because everything takes so long to explain itself. I really had a bad night at the cinema,. Nolan's style is really horrible if you ask me. That's my honest opinion. Expand
7 of 20 users found this helpful713
All this user's reviews
3
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
A complicated mix of a twisted drama.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
LuccaSSCAug 15, 2017
This is probably the most overrated movie of all time. Christopher Nolan doesn't seem to know how to explain something without expository dialog, and it gets really boring once you hear the same thing for a dozen times. This is a movie thatThis is probably the most overrated movie of all time. Christopher Nolan doesn't seem to know how to explain something without expository dialog, and it gets really boring once you hear the same thing for a dozen times. This is a movie that tries to be intelligent but doesn't want to lose the appeal to the masses, and tries to fix that by making sure that everyone understands exactly what is happening, and it made me feel as though I was in a kindergarten class. While it's a gorgeous film with incredible actors, the looks don't make up for the lack of script quality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
slicOct 29, 2013
Just a heap of excruciatingly long and dull action sequences that drag on and on, and in between them there's pseudo-intellectual explanatory dialogue that has no life or feeling to it. That's the whole movie.
It's amazing what this
Just a heap of excruciatingly long and dull action sequences that drag on and on, and in between them there's pseudo-intellectual explanatory dialogue that has no life or feeling to it. That's the whole movie.
It's amazing what this generation views as a "masterpiece", a movie with no real plot or story, no character development, depth, or emotional engagement; just boring scenes that play out like a video game, "Complete this dream level... now on to the next dream level..." It has no soul, it's a borefest from start to finish.

True as some say, it has awesome special effects, but so do cologne commercials. When will people understand that special effects don't make a movie?

And to anyone saying it's a "smart" movie; that understanding it makes you more intelligent than people who don't; trust me on this, you're an idiot. There was huge hype surrounding this film, you were told how it's targeted at the intellectuals, how "it's not a movie for everyone", and the goal of this was to convince simpletons like you that understanding the plot makes you intelligent, and that anyone who didn't like it was because he's too stupid to understand it. That couldn't be further from the truth, you are a complete idiot as you are unable to see when people are playing mind tricks on you. I can't help but to think how they laughed at all the people who bought into the hype they created, how they made people overlook what a boring piece of trash they made with simple psychological marketing.

tl;dr: This movie was made to make stupid people feel smart.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
Titanicfan91Jan 2, 2014
Inception one of the most overrated movies I have ever seen; complete and utter garbage. Apart from the good acting and my crush on both Leonardo DiCaprio and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, this film was terrible. I only brought this film becauseInception one of the most overrated movies I have ever seen; complete and utter garbage. Apart from the good acting and my crush on both Leonardo DiCaprio and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, this film was terrible. I only brought this film because everyone kept raving about how good it was, but I should know better. The films that tend to be overrated are the films I hate the most, such as Skyfall and Avatar. I found Inception confusing to follow and there was too much going on at once and too many characters kept on being introduced. I just found this film boring and there was too much action to much up for the crap storyline. I am really disappointed in this film.

Grade: D-
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
AkashVijayJan 21, 2015
This is not just Nolan's weakest film to date, I feel it's one of the most overpraised movies of this century. Inception has got to be the most insultingly superficial and unimaginative depiction of the human mind ever put to celluloid. TheThis is not just Nolan's weakest film to date, I feel it's one of the most overpraised movies of this century. Inception has got to be the most insultingly superficial and unimaginative depiction of the human mind ever put to celluloid. The characterisation is terrible. In fact there is no characterisation. Nothing is revealed about the supporting characters. Their motivations and intentions are left blank and there's not a shred of humanity in any of them. Half the characters have only one task - to explain the plot to the audience. It almost feels like Nolan distributes the expository dialogue among the unimportant characters and saves the actual bit for the important characters. They're merely subjects to experimentation. And Nolan still doesn't know how to write adult women. Nolan's women tend to be ruled by their lady feelings before ultimately capitulating to the men around them. Mal is, by far, the worst example (so far). Anne Hathaway's Brandt would be second. And this is where Nolan's exposition spins wildly out of control. He spends the first half dictating all the rules of the dreamland and then spends the other half dictating how to break all these rules. And why do all these dreams feel like James Bond movies? I never understood why Inception is soooo action oriented. It almost feels like a video game at times. And there's not a shred of depth to it. I keep asking myself "why did nolan go to such great lengths to make this movie? what is he trying to convey through it?" And the answer is nothing. He's just created a world with no ideas. That's why the movie feels so cold and mechanical. And keep in mind Nolan is often praised for dealing with dark philosophical ideas (especially in Memento and his first 2 batman movies) but Inception doesn't bother with that. It's not just superficial, it's pretentious. This is the perfect example of a film that can fool people into thinking it's profound and deep. It's not. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
BakaHaramMay 23, 2014
Even if you watch 9/11 tapes while reading conspiracy theories on the internet and listening to Silencer, you won't have a more depressing, humorless, dull, pseudo-complex, deadly serious experience than Inception. This movie proves thatEven if you watch 9/11 tapes while reading conspiracy theories on the internet and listening to Silencer, you won't have a more depressing, humorless, dull, pseudo-complex, deadly serious experience than Inception. This movie proves that Chris "Just doin' it for money" Nolan doesn't know what a joke is. His daddy raised him to be a true no-nonsense businessman, and businessmen can never lighten up! They also cannot make art, they can make only carefully engineered, emotionally inept, heartless blockbusters. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
CharlemagneDec 13, 2015
The popularity of Inception is an example of not only people being unable to tell the difference between style and substance, but of not even being aware that substance exists. America's cultural hostility to thinking and feeling has led toThe popularity of Inception is an example of not only people being unable to tell the difference between style and substance, but of not even being aware that substance exists. America's cultural hostility to thinking and feeling has led to the popularity of these utterly mind-numbing movies, but Inception is a new low, where you watch it and pretend you have just seen something smart. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
LetMeInPleaseDec 10, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The winner in the category "The dullest depiction of dreams ever". Add to that boring characters who are in the movie just to explain the plot, and also they talk and think a lot faster than an average viewer. This and plot's unnecessary complexity can pass as something intellectual nowadays, I guess. Though I seriously doubt that a truly intellectual movie can be praised and understood by the majority. Nolan is good on a technical side but he is so unimaginative he needs to collab with someone more creative asap. I'm tired of seeing him fail.
PS: I wanted to score it 2 but Metacritic went full retard and scored it 0 against my will
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
2morovianOct 2, 2016
First of all, Cillian Murphy, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Ellen Page and Leonardo DiCaprio should never be cast as adults in films. They are far too small of stature and too baby-faced to be believable in adult roles. Personally, I’ve never boughtFirst of all, Cillian Murphy, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Ellen Page and Leonardo DiCaprio should never be cast as adults in films. They are far too small of stature and too baby-faced to be believable in adult roles. Personally, I’ve never bought the Leonardo DiCaprio tough-guy persona, as hard as I have tried. Ellen Page looks like Howdy Doody’s twin sister with her porcelain skin, chubby cheeks and billboard-sized forehead…creepy, and yet she is often cast as an "attractive woman". At least Michael Caine, Marion Cotillard and Tom Hardy looked like real human beings while trying desperately to dignify a terrible storyline and a stupid, stupid script.
If you’re ready for 2 ½ very long hours of watching all the actor’s urgently shouting things at each other and intensely explaining the scientific narrative so that the audience isn’t completely lost, shoot yourself up with some Novocain and see if you can make it all the way through without sticking a pencil in your eye and/or your ear.
The special effects and animation were fairly impressive but not nearly enough to carry the film.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews