Inception

Inception Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 3517 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Dom Cobb is a skilled thief, the absolute best in the dangerous art of extraction, stealing valuable secrets from deep within the subconscious during the dream state, when the mind is at its most vulnerable. Cobb's rare ability has made him a coveted player in this treacherous new world ofDom Cobb is a skilled thief, the absolute best in the dangerous art of extraction, stealing valuable secrets from deep within the subconscious during the dream state, when the mind is at its most vulnerable. Cobb's rare ability has made him a coveted player in this treacherous new world of corporate espionage, but it has also made him an international fugitive and cost him everything he has ever loved. Now Cobb is being offered a chance at redemption. One last job could give him his life back but only if he can accomplish the impossible—inception. Instead of the perfect heist, Cobb and his team of specialists have to pull off the reverse: their task is not to steal an idea but to plant one. If they succeed, it could be the perfect crime. But no amount of careful planning or expertise can prepare the team for the dangerous enemy that seems to predict their every move. An enemy that only Cobb could have seen coming. This summer, your mind is the scene of the crime. (Warner Bros. Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. 100
    This is a deeply felt work of art in the form of a big, brassy movie-movie.
  2. 100
    Inception does a difficult thing. It is wholly original, cut from new cloth, and yet structured with action movie basics so it feels like it makes more sense than (quite possibly) it does.
  3. 100
    In terms of sheer originality, ambition and achievement, Inception is the movie of the summer, the movie of the year and the movie of our dreams.
  4. As engrossing and logic-resistant as the state of dreaming it seeks to replicate, Christopher Nolan's audacious new creation demands further study to fully absorb the multiple, simultaneous stories Nolan finagles into one narrative experience.
  5. 75
    One of the best things about Nolan as a director is that he’s not self-conscious. His movies unfold and fold in on themselves without the strain of labor or flash. But that lack of self-consciousness is also Nolan’s downside.
  6. Stymied by a clunking script, crammed with expository exchanges and urgent blather.
  7. 25
    I'd like to tell you just how bad Inception really is, but since it is barely even remotely lucid, no sane description is possible.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. RedzuanM.
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    What makes Inception so special is that it's not your typical straight forward summer blockbuster. Nolan gives you bits and pieces of What makes Inception so special is that it's not your typical straight forward summer blockbuster. Nolan gives you bits and pieces of information, and as the movie plays out the viewer begins to put the pieces together and the picture gradually becomes clearer. Chris Nolan doesn't dumb down the movie for the audience like most Hollywood movies do these days, he expects us to keep up with him. And when we do, the reward is extremely gratifying. And the visuals were amazing. Collapse
  2. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Two words to describe this movie: Mind F**k. The best movie of the summer, the best movie of the year, the best movie i have seen in a while.Two words to describe this movie: Mind F**k. The best movie of the summer, the best movie of the year, the best movie i have seen in a while. Not since The Matrix, have i been so excited about a movie. Expand
  3. Travis
    Jul 16, 2010
    10
    Inception is a masterpiece. After one viewing I can't wait smack down another 10 bucks to unlock some of the deeper narrative themes. Inception is a masterpiece. After one viewing I can't wait smack down another 10 bucks to unlock some of the deeper narrative themes. That said after seeing it once Leo deserves an Oscar nod as does Christopher Nolan for directing, Wally Pfister for the cinematography, Han's Zimmer for the haunting musical score, and hopefully in choreography if alone for Joseph Gordon Levitt's awe inspiring weightless scenes. Go see it, and while your at it go see it again, cherish the experience because movies like this come along every couple of decades. Brilliant. Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    What a complex film, everything about it is near perfection. The story though i won't give too much away is amazing yet simple. The acting isWhat a complex film, everything about it is near perfection. The story though i won't give too much away is amazing yet simple. The acting is phenominal Joseph Gordon Luvit, Leonardo Dicrapio, Tom Hardy all steel scenes in the film hell even Ellen Page was great. The special effects were fantastic. The music my god the music is breath taking. The film approaches a lot of subject matters, at 1st glance it seems like a normal sci fi movie with dreams but the film does more it shows how burrying memories can lead to more pain and suffering, or sometimes you just have to let go. Overall Inception isn't only one of the best films of all time it's definately in the top 10 best films ever. Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2010
    9
    Inception is One GREAT sci-fi psychological thrillers.One of THE best in the genre.Christopher Nolan has created a masterpiece with perfectInception is One GREAT sci-fi psychological thrillers.One of THE best in the genre.Christopher Nolan has created a masterpiece with perfect direction,phenomenal acting,great script,mind bending scenes and an action packed story being the key ingredients, making it a must-see movie...! Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    It was a ridiculously entertaining film with amazing visuals and memorable action scenes. Although confusing and too specific at times it willIt was a ridiculously entertaining film with amazing visuals and memorable action scenes. Although confusing and too specific at times it will keep you at the edge of your seats. Expand
  7. JerryH.
    Jul 22, 2010
    0
    What a waste of time and money. I never had the suspension of disbelief required to be part of or absorbed by a movie. The whole time I What a waste of time and money. I never had the suspension of disbelief required to be part of or absorbed by a movie. The whole time I thought, "what a load of crap". It makes The Matrix look simple, linear and sane by comparison. Don't waste your time and money on this movie, even on DVD. I liked the Dark Knight and enjoy Leo iin most of his movies. Big flop. Expand

See all 1048 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: February 28, 2011
    Were there any surprises among last night's Oscar winners? How accurate were expert and user predictions? And just how terrible was the telecast? We have the answers to those questions and more inside our Academy Awards wrap-up.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. 2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28]

    2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28] Image
    Published: December 14, 2010
    Over the next three months, we
  4. 2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6]

    2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6] Image
    Published: December 9, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we