Indie Game: The Movie Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After two years of painstaking work, designer Edmund McMillen and programmer Tommy Refenes await the release of their first major game for Xbox, Super Meat Boy—the adventures of a skinless boy in search of his girlfriend, who is made of bandages. At PAX, a major video-game expo, developer Phil Fish unveils his highly anticipated, four-years-in-the-making FEZ. Jonathan Blow considers beginning a new game after creating Braid, one of the highest-rated games of all time. First-time filmmaking duo Lisanne Pajot and James Swirsky capture the emotional journey of these meticulously obsessive artists who devote their lives to their interactive art. Four developers, three games, and one ultimate goal— to express oneself through a video game. (BlinkWorks Media) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    May 18, 2012
    90
    Along the way comes a bracing, honest confession about these interactive creations, voiced by one designer but no doubt applying to many more makers of all kinds: "I made it for myself."
  2. Reviewed by: Guy Dixon
    May 25, 2012
    88
    Video-game developers: Geeks, nerds, socially adrift obsessives. Indie Game thankfully gets past such base introductions in a flash and graduates to far more engrossing levels – levels which open up into the real worlds of the best independent game developers working their craft.
  3. Reviewed by: Duane Byrge
    May 14, 2012
    80
    Well-crafted and intelligent, this film is an illumination of the agony of creation – the self-doubt, the obsession, the life sacrifices – that are the core, not merely the side-effects of those define themselves through "art."
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    May 14, 2012
    70
    The picture scores big points by drawing a sharp distinction between corporate vidgame programmers and indies.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Miller
    May 15, 2012
    70
    An insightful new geek documentary, well directed by first-timers Lisanne Pajot and James Swirsky.
  6. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    May 14, 2012
    63
    Makes a compelling case for games as not only clever hand-eye coordination exercises, but also as manifestations of their creators' emotional and philosophical viewpoints.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    May 15, 2012
    60
    This is a movie about a subculture, made for that subculture; only hard-core Xboxers need apply.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    Seeing these designers, portrayed in such unfiltered manner, the building up tension, their fears and passions moved me to tears just nothing before in a long time. Aside from my personal view about how much this new media is underrated and misused, this movie brings to you what you can already feel from these "experiences", even more clearly. When i first saw the trailer i hoped this movie was good, but not as much it turned out! I cannot find any technical issue that may ruin the view. I guess this is what everybody following his dreams need to see, a true life and emotion injection! Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    One of the best films... Definitely the best film about gaming industry! The story about not such popular genre of contemporary games - indie games- games made by a single person or a small group of people, seam to be simple, but truely as hardcore as landing on the Sun is! Must seen for geeks, gamers, nerds and youngsters for the last to see that nowadays games are not only CoD or Battlefield but something more personal and creative! Absolutely fascinating shortage! Thriller at its best also :) 10/10 ! Unremarkable experience! Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    I am a gamer Have been since I was 4/5 years old I have wanted to makes games most of my life this Movie shows how hard it is to be a indie game developer and how much time and work goes in to the games it also shows the life of these indie game developers and what it takes to get rid of the bugs in the games it shows all the things they need to give up to make games and how they are just like us they smile at the reviews and laugh they are not just indie game developers they have family it shows that and friends and the music is great in the movie we get really close to what they are trying to put in to the games and how the games are some parts of their childhood Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    One of the best documentaries I've ever seen. Even my Lady loved it despite the fact she doesn't enjoy playing games at all. This movie will make every watcher start to respect all those indie developers out there. Expand
  5. May 18, 2012
    8
    I am a gamer, and from that viewpoint, it was great to sit down and watch a story documenting and celebrating the creative work that is behind making the games I enjoy. The documentary focuses heavily on the struggle and eventual success of Braid (Jon Blow), Fez (Phil Fish), and Super Meat Boy (Edmund and Tommy). Familiarity with the games would greatly enhance the experience because the story is about the intimate yet sometimes overlooked communication that occurs from the developers to the player through them. All of the games are wonderful, so at the least it is motivation to try each of them. Collapse
  6. Aug 21, 2013
    8
    Those with some knowledge of gaming will arguably get a little more from Indie Game: The Movie but, even if you've never picked up a pad in your life, this still makes for fascinating viewing. Focusing on the people behind Super Meat Boy, Braid and Fez it provides a unique insight into the minds of those people with the vision and talent to create high quality video games virtually by themselves. The sacrifices they have to make and the way they obviously care deeply about what they are doing is inspiring in an industry dominated by huge companies that are only really interested in making as much profit as they can. Expand
  7. AWG
    Jul 30, 2013
    4
    pre-ten-tious [pri-ten-shuhs]; adjective
    1. characterized by assumption of dignity or importance, especially when exaggerated or undeserved:
    a pretentious, self-important waiter.
    2. making an exaggerated outward show; ostentatious.
    3. full of pretense or pretension.
    (from Dictionary.com).
    You're just making video-friggin'-games, people... what about lying low a little?
    Expand

See all 23 User Reviews