User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 159

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    James Wan and Leigh Whannell's Insidious Chapter 2 fully delivers in terms of exploring the mysteries left behind in the previous installment, while also expanding on its intriguing mythology. However, the sequel also embraces the first film's quirkier, campier aspects, which makes for a few good laughs, but also some less-than-terrifying horror sequences. It's an excellent horror piece to swivel into the spiral of its previous film. Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    Considering this is a sequel and sequels are usually rubbish, James Wan does a brilliant job of taking us straight back into the action and exploring the universe he's created in even more depth. If you loved the first film I'd be very surprised if the second one doesn't hit home. Another visionary masterpiece from the best horror director around right now
  3. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    I really enjoyed this movie. I was so scared I was shivering! A nice continuation of the story. I definitely recommend to anyone who enjoyed the first one. I'm no movie critic but I can say I was very entertained.
  4. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    Chapter 2 will surely be a greatest hit on this years scale.
    I went to see this movie expecting a lame chapter 2 like most movie make but it really surprised me when I got there. I jumped and loved this part 2. Al though the sounds are a bit...bad...I still loved this movie!
    I recommend this movie to anyone.
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    When viewed as a continuation of the first installment, Insidious: Chapter 2 is seamless. There are jumps and gasps galore, a haunted hospital, the proverbial "woman in white" ghost, and an interesting subliminal message about domestic violence. What's not to love?
  6. Sep 14, 2013
    9
    I just came back from the theatre and I cannot express enough the genius of James Wan and how he directed this film. It's weird at first because it seems to start slow. After 20 minutes I started asking myself whether I wanted to continue to sit through or get up and leave and wait for the bluray version, But, DON'T LEAVE! It starts connecting and leading the viewer to places you've been familiar with in the first Insidious. Scarier..... about the same. Eeery..... just as much as the first. More screams and bumps in the night..... Definitely! And, this one even has some comedy from the ghost hunters. So glad I watched this and will be buying it when out on bluray! Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    This movie and the previous movie did a great job.It has a reasonable state of each events. Like director wan is focused on the flow of each events. He made it clarify and clear for the audience how it is happened, why is it happening, how it happened. Normally, we can see that the movie has many repetitions but that's because director wan wants us to understand each events. While I'm watching this chapter 2 I said to myself that "Oh,so that's why". As your fans, we are expecting an another chapter from this movie. In the end, we can see that there's another entity again, if you really deep understand the story you will feel that there is still something wrong and like it is not done, there is still something that we don't know. I don't know if anybody feel that. Overall my ratings would be 100% excellent movie. Collapse
  8. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    James Wan shows us an amazing sequel! Insisdious: chapter 2 was an excellent movie, full of scares and ghosts, I really enjoyed this film. It was better than the first one more action suspense and horror/humor :P
  9. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. James Wan and Leigh Whannell's story picks up right at the end of the first film. puts you right back into the thrilling action, with the same atmosphere and feel, they both write more in depth on the same characters and how they stretch this Further aspect, I love it!!! Again the cinematographers and editors are amazing. Specs and Tucker are my new favourite characters... also like the back story on Parker Crane. Expand
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 30
  2. Negative: 10 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Sep 30, 2013
    25
    At the start of Insidious 2, a young woman opens her mouth to speak and someone else’s voice comes out of her. Demonic possession? Nope, just some inexplicable dubbing to kick off this clunker of a horror sequel.
  2. Reviewed by: Jesse Hassenger
    Sep 19, 2013
    58
    The techniques of the movie, then, are sound. Wan still moves his camera and composes his shots with a patience that belies his dank Saw origins. But the cinematography isn’t as virtuosic this time around.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Sep 17, 2013
    20
    Insidious Chapter 2 picks up where its predecessor left off-- in abject silliness.