Into the White

Into the White Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Glasby
    Apr 7, 2013
    60
    It's stiff upper lips versus ruthless efficiency in Petter Naess’ modest WW2 drama.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 7, 2013
    40
    It's all a bit tame, predictable and muted; the inevitable revelation of German decency seems contrived and there's an outrageous plot cop-out towards the end. It's a reminder of how David Lean exploited this kind of drama with more potency in "The Bridge on the River Kwai."
  3. Reviewed by: Phil de Semlyen
    Apr 7, 2013
    40
    The performances are solid - Goodbye Lenin! actor Florian Lukas is the standout - but ponderous pacing makes this true-life tale a lot less enthralling than it might have been.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 11, 2014
    9
    I have not seen a film this good in years and I watch a lot of movies. It's a strong character driven movie. What will happen when you putI have not seen a film this good in years and I watch a lot of movies. It's a strong character driven movie. What will happen when you put people together in a stressful fight-for-your-life situation. Great film, reminiscent of films from 30 years ago that don't rely on special effects and explosions.

    My wife came into the room and was busy doing other things and stopped to watch. We watched the whole film together. This is saying something since my wife's philosophy on movies is, "I've got 20 years of movie watching after I retire, why waste time now when I could be outside on my bike."

    I'm giving it a 9 and not a ten because of the subtitles. However, most movies I've sat thru with subtitles have been excellent because I won't waste my time on them unless they have been highly rated or in this films case, it was suggested by a friend who loved it. So, this review is really 3 peoples opinion that this is a great film. You won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    this movie has a really good story, I think the movie is very wll done and has really good actors, they showed what the can do by actingthis movie has a really good story, I think the movie is very wll done and has really good actors, they showed what the can do by acting wonderful, they showed the story in a very good way so people can understand it. I really enjoyed it, I recomend it. Collapse
  3. Sep 14, 2013
    9
    why its offical rating is so low,i really think it is one of my favourite movies.
    it moved me,i like watch the movies base on war,but i am
    why its offical rating is so low,i really think it is one of my favourite movies.
    it moved me,i like watch the movies base on war,but i am not really like war,this show the true human nature about war,not cold blood.i like this Anti war film.
    Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2014
    8
    It was inspired by the true story but made few changes in script to look dissimilar to other similar plot movies. But still people areIt was inspired by the true story but made few changes in script to look dissimilar to other similar plot movies. But still people are comparing it to movies like 'No Man's Land' and 'Hell in the Pacific'. This Norwegian movie had international cast. A couple English and a trio Germans. It was almost an English language movie, except in few parts where German soldiers speak German.

    Unlike other fictional stories this movie was breathtaking. The whole movie was shot in a wooden cabin which located in the snow covered no man's land. That setting reminded me the Charles Chaplin's 'The Gold Rush'. Don't mistake it as a pure war movie, it was a drama with a backdrop of second world war. You can see only men with a soldier's suit and guns which they never use it.

    This movie tells the certain parts of the story that happened back in 1940. The filmmakers chose to tell only the drama parts, but I wanted the rest of the story. Like when they were taken back to the nearby English soldier camp what happen to the German prisoners. Of course they said it in words during before the end credits roll up. But I am eager to see it in a movie because I love movies.

    I think Rupert Grint had a good role other than he had in the Harry Potter series or any other recent his movies. The rest of the guys were also given their solid performances, especially Germans cast and their characters were so diverse. It was an unbelievable true story, glad to know it through this fine movie. All the thanks to the cast and crew for this wonderful drama.
    Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2015
    7
    I quite enjoyed this film. It's inspired by a true story and it's mostly driven by the story's very realistic characters and the actors did aI quite enjoyed this film. It's inspired by a true story and it's mostly driven by the story's very realistic characters and the actors did a good job. Expand

Related Articles

  1. The Best Pokemon Games of the 21st Century

    The Best Pokemon Games of the 21st Century Image
    Published: August 4, 2016
    Find out where Pokemon Go fits into our ranking of the best Pokemon games released since the turn of the century.
  2. This Week: Movie, TV, Music, and Game Picks for May 13-19

    This Week: Movie, TV, Music, and Game Picks for May 13-19 Image
    Published: May 12, 2013
    "Star Trek Into Darkness" finally beams into theaters this week (as does Noah Baumbach's acclaimed, low-budget, black-and-white comedy), while Vampire Weekend tops a strong week for album releases, and gamers get their first look at the sequel to "Metro 2033."
  3. The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best

    The 28 Biggest Summer Blockbusters of 2016, Ranked From Worst to Best  Image
    Published: August 27, 2016
    We rank this summer's highest-grossing films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/26): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 26, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester by the Sea, Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, Adam Wingard's Blair Witch, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.