Universal Pictures | Release Date: October 10, 2003
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 107 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
51
Mixed:
27
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Pablo6120Apr 21, 2016
Not many films make me belly-laugh, but this gem from the Coen brothers is what satire should be. Great casting, slick writing and a perverse slant all point at a superb flick; well worth seeking out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleFeb 20, 2016
I loved Intolerable Cruelty. Though the mass public was more mixed on this charmer from the Coen Brothers, I found it to be absolutely hilarious. It was an absolute riot and is yet another fantastic film from the duo. George Clooney andI loved Intolerable Cruelty. Though the mass public was more mixed on this charmer from the Coen Brothers, I found it to be absolutely hilarious. It was an absolute riot and is yet another fantastic film from the duo. George Clooney and Catherine Zeta-Jones are both great, as are Richard Jenkins, Paul Adelstein, and Cedric the Entertainer. Honestly, though not as great as Coen Brothers classics, such as Fargo or No Country for Old Men, the film still reaches for some serious highs by riding on the great writing and charming leads. While they have done better, this one is still highly enjoyable and absolutely hilarious as it touches on themes such as deceit, love, and marriage. Overall, a well made and well acted comedy that had me in stitches. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TovenaarDec 9, 2014
There are some nice laugh-out-loud moments in this and it's good to see Catherine ZJ with her Welsh lilt counterbalancing the grey wolf :) A fun film with some pointed comments to make.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JamesNWAMar 8, 2011
It is safe to say that this film is not what I expected at all but it did have some elements that make it worthy of having a higher end score; those being George Clooney showing his comedic side and the addition of Catherine Zeta Jones. IIt is safe to say that this film is not what I expected at all but it did have some elements that make it worthy of having a higher end score; those being George Clooney showing his comedic side and the addition of Catherine Zeta Jones. I would perhaps rate it slightly higher if I didn't get distracted half way though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ricardodApr 13, 2009
Extremely funny, extremely smart and extremely well performed. worth it all the way. coen brothers, you did it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jan 26, 2007
A laugh riot. Also, a great looking film, resembling the romantic comedies of the 50's. George Clooney and Catherine Zeta-Jones make a wonderful pair. Cedric the Entertainer was hysterical. Good job, Coen brothers
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanB.Dec 1, 2005
Plot was a little hackneyed and smooth but Clooney gives such a great performance... and anyway, come on: everybody likes berries!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelM.Oct 2, 2004
A fun, inventive and hip romantic comedy that never sags or never falls apart. With a brilliant performance by Clooney, this film is definitely one of the funniest films of 2003. Zeta Jones and him have perfect chemistry. The film is A fun, inventive and hip romantic comedy that never sags or never falls apart. With a brilliant performance by Clooney, this film is definitely one of the funniest films of 2003. Zeta Jones and him have perfect chemistry. The film is definitely a gem and ranks as one of the top films of 2003. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
OnlySullivanApr 29, 2004
Simply intolerably boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PatC.Apr 12, 2004
Another Coen project that turns brillance into ineptitude. Spectacular start and presentation of characters in the zany Coen fashion. Proceeds to go over the top, asking us to cheer on the conversion of a lawyer into a human when his Another Coen project that turns brillance into ineptitude. Spectacular start and presentation of characters in the zany Coen fashion. Proceeds to go over the top, asking us to cheer on the conversion of a lawyer into a human when his elevated testosterone turns on him. While the practice of law attempts to bring about justice and fairness, it is primarily the enforcement of sociopolitical assumptions. If this reality had been followed to the end, the Coens would not have snatched defeat from the jaws of victory. In the end, like the law firm's senior partner, this film has no guts. The only insight the Coens had was refraining to turn this project into a holocaust by involving the children of divorce. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AllanT.Mar 23, 2004
I got the feeling that the Coen Brothers were trying to do something out of the the ordinary.When the Coen Brothers try to do something out of the ordinary, it comes across as extremely ordinary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DennisP.Mar 21, 2004
I still cannot believe that the normally reliable Coen Bothers had anything to do with this unfunny mess. Clooney and Zeta-Jones are fine, as is the rest of the talented cast, but nobody could have saved this bland, humorless script. Some I still cannot believe that the normally reliable Coen Bothers had anything to do with this unfunny mess. Clooney and Zeta-Jones are fine, as is the rest of the talented cast, but nobody could have saved this bland, humorless script. Some scenes, like Clooney's speech at the divorce lawyer convention, are simply painful. When I see the Coen's names in the credits of a film, I expect much, much more than "Intolerable Cruelty" delivered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
VivianD.Mar 19, 2004
A major disappointment. The Coen Brothers make strange, smart films that show us our world slightly inverted. Intolerable Cruelty is occasionally hilarious and George Clooney gets to display his underappreciated comic gifts. But the film A major disappointment. The Coen Brothers make strange, smart films that show us our world slightly inverted. Intolerable Cruelty is occasionally hilarious and George Clooney gets to display his underappreciated comic gifts. But the film lacks the mad creative zest that pulses through the rest of the Coens' work. We'll just have to wait for the next one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BarbaraW.Mar 14, 2004
Boring and stupid. It is supposed to be comedy, but it was so inane and trite that it only become stupid, not funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SaerA.Feb 24, 2004
This is the funniest movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EDH.Feb 23, 2004
That is too high! The leads are ugly people. The characters are so far over-the-top that they are the equivalent of a magnum of champagne being poured into a thimble in one pouring. The facts are not applicable for any state, country or That is too high! The leads are ugly people. The characters are so far over-the-top that they are the equivalent of a magnum of champagne being poured into a thimble in one pouring. The facts are not applicable for any state, country or planet. No-Fault divorce exists in almost every state. Separate property (that which you receive from an inheritance) is never (unless you actively make it so) the property of the other spouse. So in addition to being unfunny this movie was not credible. If the two stars had not agreed to do it it would have saved many some money and only the environmentalists would have a beef because of the waste of paper. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeP.Feb 16, 2004
A solid screwball comedy, reminscient of the 30's movies starring Carole Lombard or Cary Grant. The Coen brothers have done better but still accomplish their goal, a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
UterFeb 15, 2004
This DVD deserves a zero b/c it forces you to sit through 5 minutes of ads everytime you pop the dvd in. That is just cruel to the people who shelled out 20$ to buy it (like me). It makes me really angry.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexK.Feb 10, 2004
As usual, another intelligently hilarious movie by the Coen brothers. If you like their style, then you will definitely like Intolerable Cruelty.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KarlK.Dec 25, 2003
We laughed so hard we almost cried, and were still laughing two hours later in the pub...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnDec 25, 2003
Shocked to see the 0's as it was very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PaulaD.Dec 13, 2003
Quite possibly one of the worst films of the year. Not funny in the least and the acting was terrible. Avoid at all costs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CharlesH.Dec 8, 2003
This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. I think I laughed a total of 3 times. Halfway though it I asked myself "Am I supposed to LIKE any of these people?" All the characters were detestable. It's hard to get involved when This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. I think I laughed a total of 3 times. Halfway though it I asked myself "Am I supposed to LIKE any of these people?" All the characters were detestable. It's hard to get involved when I hate every character. I like most of the Coen Brothers films. But I'm wondering if a lot of the praise this movie is getting is because it's just fashionable to like whatever they put out. And I also need to say that Clooney's performance here has finally proven to me that he is probably the worst actor in Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AdamE.Dec 2, 2003
What are U guys on about? That film was excellent! It was very funny and , I never thought I'd ever say this but, Clooney was hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DeonT.Nov 29, 2003
This was really a disappointing movie. Beautiful stars doing nothing. Not funny at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PaulA.Nov 29, 2003
It just wasn't funny. Admittedly I'm not a chick flick person, but I felt it was overdone and very bland. Plus the whole idea of prenuptial agreements makes me angry. And Zeta Jones, she makes me angry too. Not sure why, she just does
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CarolAnnC.Nov 28, 2003
Intolerably BAD!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BarryB.Nov 13, 2003
Couldn't agree more with the nonprofessional critics. You know the ones like you and I who pay to see this crap. No chemistry at all between the two visons of pulchritude. Were they acting or playing themselves?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BarryB.Nov 13, 2003
Couldn't agree more with the nonprofessional critics. You know the ones like you and I who pay to see this crap. No chemistry at all between the two visons of pulchritude. Were they acting or playing themselves?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidD.Nov 11, 2003
Sterile movie devoid of any chemistry. A waste of time and money. If you must see it, rent it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LarryL.Nov 10, 2003
Two beautiful people to look at but they just did not mesh. The chemistry was simply not there. The satire was not funny. Sorry but I thought it was a bomb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnNov 2, 2003
Better than I expected ... a slick, witty, and wonderfully acted screwball comedy that always has its tongue in its cheek.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErwinK.Nov 2, 2003
Absolutely brilliant!!! Hilarious!!! I just loved it! Can't understand why this movie has been getting such luke warm reviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RichardS.Nov 1, 2003
Sorry, not funny. Stupid is more like it. I go to the movies to be entertained not to see someone's genius. If you need to find excuses to explain a movie then the flick missed the mark.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
StephenS.Oct 30, 2003
If you?re a big Coen Bros fan, be vewy, vewy afwaid. After a return to form in The Man Who Wasn?t There, this one makes Fargo look like the masterpiece it never was. In trying to accommodate three different films, Intolerable Cruelty ends up If you?re a big Coen Bros fan, be vewy, vewy afwaid. After a return to form in The Man Who Wasn?t There, this one makes Fargo look like the masterpiece it never was. In trying to accommodate three different films, Intolerable Cruelty ends up in no-man?s land. There is the (increasingly numbing) homage to Hollywood greats, plus the Coen signature movie, plus an insipid nod (two happy endings) to commercialism. Apparently, the concept of the gold-digging Marylin (Catherine Zeta-Jones) hunting the ultimate divorce payout is several years old, long predating the recent sideswipe at Catherine from Michael?s first wife. It should have stayed in the vault. There are delightful Coen gags, notably in divorce lawyer Miles?s (George Clooney) tiptoe hunt through the mansion for Marylin?s would-be assassin. Other unmistakably Coen elements fall flat, with too many unamusing showings from Miles?s disgusting colostomy-bagged legal paterfamilias. Clooney eats up the quick-fire repartee he?s given, but these sequences sound ponderously studied from other movies. This is the first Coen collaboration that almost discards the brothers? visual flair and forgets to capture the audience. It?s too easy for whiskery George to steal the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
D.M.Oct 30, 2003
Laugh out loud funny, something few comedies are anymore. The usual outstanding cohesion and film chemistry that makes everything the Coen Brothers do worth the trip to the theatre. The banter between the characters is fast paced and biting, Laugh out loud funny, something few comedies are anymore. The usual outstanding cohesion and film chemistry that makes everything the Coen Brothers do worth the trip to the theatre. The banter between the characters is fast paced and biting, and where has Paul Adelstein (Wrigley) been, this guy can give Mary Tyler Moore a run for her money when it comes to crying on cue. And I missed most of the dialogue following the comedy climax of "Wheezy Joe's" demise (in tears, crippled in the aisle, laughing). Great dialogue and physical comedy, A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JanetT.Oct 28, 2003
Not funny at all! Hell, I've been married and divorced 5 times already. I'm so sick of these money grubbing broads. Hell, I have the word annuity stamped on my forehead. Left the theater and dumped the date who brung me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JaredH.Oct 26, 2003
Catherine Zeta Jones in one cute hottie. As for the movie it sucked. Did I mention the CZJ is hot?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Oct 25, 2003
A fun and clever movie. Clooney & Zeta-Jones on the mark.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ThomasSOct 25, 2003
Stupid, not funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LaraOct 24, 2003
It was pretty good as far as contemporary movies go, but I'm surprised at how many people found the dialogue snappy and witty. I thought it was sorta lackluster, and way too plodding for this kind of movie. In those old screwball It was pretty good as far as contemporary movies go, but I'm surprised at how many people found the dialogue snappy and witty. I thought it was sorta lackluster, and way too plodding for this kind of movie. In those old screwball comedies the actors talk so fast, and the plot twists get so improbable, that you barely have time to think. Here there was plenty of breathing space for you to sort out in your head where it was going before it got there, so that there weren't many fun surprises. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LeslieOct 24, 2003
Painful subject that portrays women as baracuda's and men as stupid rich playthings who are on this Earth to have their toys taken away. Not funny at all. Very demeaning to both genders.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
XiongC.Oct 18, 2003
Full of the little touches that make great comedy -- the ball is always rolling. Z-J is looking good, and Clooney is devastating. The plot is authentic screwball, and if transparent, so what? It won't surprise you, but will make you Full of the little touches that make great comedy -- the ball is always rolling. Z-J is looking good, and Clooney is devastating. The plot is authentic screwball, and if transparent, so what? It won't surprise you, but will make you laugh. Has the kind of polish you don't often see anymore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WACKOJAKOOct 17, 2003
So far the must-see comedy of the season. My girl, Zeta-Jones, is as yummy as ever, and Clooney is as looney as in his better parts. The dialoge zizzles and the chemistry between the leads will leave you longing for a rematch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RobertHOct 17, 2003
Blah, Blah, Blah. Yeah, these are the Coen brothers! So what? This movie is ridiculous and a total waste of time. Sorry, but it is not funny; especially to those who have lived through the pain of divorce. In simple words, divorce attorneys Blah, Blah, Blah. Yeah, these are the Coen brothers! So what? This movie is ridiculous and a total waste of time. Sorry, but it is not funny; especially to those who have lived through the pain of divorce. In simple words, divorce attorneys are blood sucking maggots who derive their income from the suffering of the victims they allegedly represent. They incite, lie and embellish their victims to continue on while billing by the hour. In the end, the attorneys get it all. Not funny - just a very SAD commentary on real life! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TrinimanOct 16, 2003
This film will be seen by movie buffs who recognize the producer/ director team known as the Cohen Brothers. These are the same folks who brought us Fargo and the smash O, Brother Where Art Thou? In comparison, Intolerable Cruelty lacks the This film will be seen by movie buffs who recognize the producer/ director team known as the Cohen Brothers. These are the same folks who brought us Fargo and the smash O, Brother Where Art Thou? In comparison, Intolerable Cruelty lacks the edge and sophistication of their previous work. There are some impossibly absurd characters that add color, but overall this is light-weight fare that doesn't quite satisfy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeM.Oct 16, 2003
Intolerable Cruelty will be near the top of the list of favorite Coen Brothers movies. George Clooney carries the comedic lead well but, the movie, may be hindered by major studio backing. It seems at times like they held back just a little. Intolerable Cruelty will be near the top of the list of favorite Coen Brothers movies. George Clooney carries the comedic lead well but, the movie, may be hindered by major studio backing. It seems at times like they held back just a little. It's filled with with the trademark memborable characters as with all Coen brothers movie (the old man, Whezzy Joe) and the humor that not everyone might not get but should enjoy. I was dissapointed they couldn't find parts for Turturro or Buschemi but I'll deal with it. This is not quite a Coen classic but it's close. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FantasyOct 16, 2003
Two big stars drawing a paycheck - nothing more, with a couple of predictable chuckles. Dumb, dumber and dumbest. If you must see it rent it as you will be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AliceZ.Oct 15, 2003
Personally, I thought this movie was great! And for all of those who say it "isn't a Coen brothers movie" i say, "were you even watching the movie?" This movie includes the coen's ingenious touch at making a could be "normal movie" Personally, I thought this movie was great! And for all of those who say it "isn't a Coen brothers movie" i say, "were you even watching the movie?" This movie includes the coen's ingenious touch at making a could be "normal movie" into a hilarious classic. If you are a Coen fan, you'll love this movie, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeF.Oct 13, 2003
Brilliant dialogue, as usual - plus the ravishing la Zeta Jones. So what's not to like? The Coens don't make films for stupid people. Unlike most modern filmmakers, their movies are directed at the smart, culturally literate Brilliant dialogue, as usual - plus the ravishing la Zeta Jones. So what's not to like? The Coens don't make films for stupid people. Unlike most modern filmmakers, their movies are directed at the smart, culturally literate minority, hence the mixed reviews. The hayseeds don't always "get" it. No matter, there's always some ignorant Julia Roberts movie for the unwashed masses. Bravo, Ethan and Joel! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobT.Oct 13, 2003
The movie is witty, clever, eccentric, and very funny. Both Clooney and Zeta Jones are delicious, but the dialogue is what makes this movie well worth the $8.50.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RalphR.Oct 12, 2003
This is the worst movie i've seen in a while. it is NOT a coen bros. movie...they didn't write it! and really, how can you have a coen bros. movie without their signature characters and dialogue. its boring, its long, its unfunny,This is the worst movie i've seen in a while. it is NOT a coen bros. movie...they didn't write it! and really, how can you have a coen bros. movie without their signature characters and dialogue. its boring, its long, its unfunny, and i want my money back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatG.Oct 11, 2003
Very funny in parts. Always nice to watch the gorgeous Catherine and George. (Has anyone else noticed that she has man hands?! A small price to pay for that face, I guess.) The ending is lame, and the depiction of the old man is in pretty Very funny in parts. Always nice to watch the gorgeous Catherine and George. (Has anyone else noticed that she has man hands?! A small price to pay for that face, I guess.) The ending is lame, and the depiction of the old man is in pretty poor taste. But it is a mostly entertaining two hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatrickF.Oct 10, 2003
This was the best silly movie I've seen in a while. Sure, it wasn't going to change cinema, but for a person that sees predominatly artsy fartsy films, this was a good change of pace. The Dialouge is shotgun speed, the wit is This was the best silly movie I've seen in a while. Sure, it wasn't going to change cinema, but for a person that sees predominatly artsy fartsy films, this was a good change of pace. The Dialouge is shotgun speed, the wit is scathing, and unrelenting, and the acting is fun. Although it isn't by any imagination the best film of any the parties involved, It was sure a lot of fun to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MaxC.Oct 10, 2003
Though definitely not the Coen's best film, it shows that you can take "A-List" stars and familiar territory (screwball/farce) and still make an entertaining picture where the audience can respect itself in the morning. I did miss the Though definitely not the Coen's best film, it shows that you can take "A-List" stars and familiar territory (screwball/farce) and still make an entertaining picture where the audience can respect itself in the morning. I did miss the Coen's darker sensibilities, which they have toned down, however they prove once again that they are among the elite in the filmmaking community. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful