Well Go | Release Date: October 1, 2010
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 119 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
103
Mixed:
15
Negative:
1
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
ThatsWhatIThinkOct 16, 2010
I really enjoyed this film. It had a nice balance of martial arts action and a solid storyline. I found myself getting sucked into the whole storyline with ease. While it won't win any prestigious awards, it is definitely worth the watch.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
MrSteerFeb 6, 2011
An outstanding kung fu movie, the plot is a little shaky in places, but what do you expect in a kung fu movie? Donnie Yen is unbelievable in this role and the action scenes are breath taking. If you're looking for a good old fashioned kungAn outstanding kung fu movie, the plot is a little shaky in places, but what do you expect in a kung fu movie? Donnie Yen is unbelievable in this role and the action scenes are breath taking. If you're looking for a good old fashioned kung fu film, this is for you. DVD Rental: Do It. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RAEDALSDIMay 14, 2013
Frankly the film was one of the best films I've seen in my life which relates to the martial arts the director was creative in all choices he made in environment- the dialogue between the characters- actors in everything else I did not findFrankly the film was one of the best films I've seen in my life which relates to the martial arts the director was creative in all choices he made in environment- the dialogue between the characters- actors in everything else I did not find obvious or large flaws in the film except for exaggerating of the strength of ip man and the film do not deserve this average evaluation by critics who seem to be enjoying more traditional films than inspiring films Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SnurchOct 30, 2010
That movie was AWESOME. I have been running into many lackluster MA films, but this one has it all. Story...Check, amazing choreography... CHECK +, has Jet Li's approval... yes. All around great values, build-up and controversy. The onlyThat movie was AWESOME. I have been running into many lackluster MA films, but this one has it all. Story...Check, amazing choreography... CHECK +, has Jet Li's approval... yes. All around great values, build-up and controversy. The only fault I found was in the ending where "someone" was a little late. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
nutterjrMar 21, 2011
Aesthetically pleasing but with the storyline that boardlines on boring, all is forgotten looking at the remarkable and masterful fights scenes choreographed by Sammo Hung.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
HalfwelshmanDec 29, 2011
Ip Man is mainly worth watching for the flawless fight choreography by Sammo Hung. It's creative and entertaining, and executed well by Donnie Yen playing Master Ip Man, as well as all the actors and martial artists he fights over the courseIp Man is mainly worth watching for the flawless fight choreography by Sammo Hung. It's creative and entertaining, and executed well by Donnie Yen playing Master Ip Man, as well as all the actors and martial artists he fights over the course of the film. Taken purely as entertainment, the film works extremely well, but after a promising and dramatic set up, it threatens to descend into tedium. In the second half, the film becomes more about spectacle than story - it's just one set-piece after another with little in terms of emotional drive to connect them, and the film only remains relatively decent because of the charisma of Yen. You have to take the events of the film (supposedly based on the real life of Bruce Lee's master) with a pinch of salt - the filmmakers have clearly used artistic license to make the story as action-packed as possible, and in some ways that is a shame. A deeper, more thoughtful look at the life of this extraordinary man would have been just as entertaining. As martial arts spectacle, Ip Man is among the best releases of the past few years, but as genuine drama, it's a little shallow. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
XiMenJan 9, 2012
I really didn't know what to expect when I first saw this movie... not only did it surprised me, but it made it my favorite movie ever! I'm a big fan of good choreographic fight scenes and every fight in this movie are outstanding ones! 10/10 for me!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Matty_KJan 15, 2012
One of the best kung fu movies ever made! Not only was there tons of great fighting scenes, there was also a FANTASTIC story line (which is rare in kung fu movies). Definitely recommend watching this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Solarus10Jul 4, 2012
The movie has excellent action, but boring characters and an overpowered protagonist. I think he gets hit under 10 times in the entire movie. It was fun to watch at first, but eventually even the action grew stale
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
NoLifeGammerApr 4, 2015
Best movie to I see in decades ...the best trilogy of artial marts movie (for me ever!! ) I cant belive some people write bad reviews ...maybe hate wing chu style and think fight is just send punchs to the air ..lol
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ChaiwallahOct 23, 2010
This is definitely one of Donnie's better films. His acting is very plausible, and his moves . . .? Well, he is Donnie Yen. If that doesn't mean anything to you, watch this film. And "Flashpoint". 8 1/2 on 10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BeatzAug 12, 2012
what the heck are these critics thinking? can they not read sub titles and get annoyed? i have become a user rating reader because i have always disagreed with critics. i think they might be shallow minded and unaware of good films. this filmwhat the heck are these critics thinking? can they not read sub titles and get annoyed? i have become a user rating reader because i have always disagreed with critics. i think they might be shallow minded and unaware of good films. this film is amazing and touching. every aspect of this film satisfies you as a human being. I am american and i feel all these **** are the typical american person wanting a over exaggerated hollywood film...do not listen to them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialNov 4, 2013
I'm not a big fan of Kung Fu or martial arts movies, but "Ip Man" really struck to my attention. Sammo Hung has brilliantly choreographed the fight scenes and Donnie Yen was perfect to play Ip Man.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 13, 2017
This delightful surprise of a martial arts film is not just your traditional "good guy gets mixed up in a bad situation" type of joint (even though it does feature that fundamental storyline to a degree). Wilson Yip's "Ip Man" is also anThis delightful surprise of a martial arts film is not just your traditional "good guy gets mixed up in a bad situation" type of joint (even though it does feature that fundamental storyline to a degree). Wilson Yip's "Ip Man" is also an incredibly important look at a period of history that's gone forgotten by so many for too long - the Second Sino-Japanese War. The film delivers the harsh, yet necessary realities of what happened, whilst also depicting the incredible trials and tribulations that the titular hero undertook throughout this period of history. And that of course means fight scenes, and - dear God - are they incredible to watch. Donnie Yen is a master of his craft and the filmmakers at hand have no doubts as to how to shoot him when he's doing his thing. It all looks so amazing. Just a well-meaning film with great set pieces and an incredible true story to build so many crowd-pleasing moments with. Great stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ToffenuffNov 3, 2013
One of my favorite realistic martial arts movies, and Donnie Yen is a beast! Love that guy. His character (the eventual teacher of Bruce Lee!) is fantastic and I found the plot to be surprisingly good despite initial misgivings. DefinitelyOne of my favorite realistic martial arts movies, and Donnie Yen is a beast! Love that guy. His character (the eventual teacher of Bruce Lee!) is fantastic and I found the plot to be surprisingly good despite initial misgivings. Definitely recommend this to any fans of martial arts movies simply because of the awesome fight sequences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ViolettSep 2, 2014
One of the best martial arts movie I ever saw. I reviewed this movie dozen of times and still wasn't bored. Strong plot based on real story. Thing that impressed me most is fights in this movie are without flying or unhuman acts. It is hardOne of the best martial arts movie I ever saw. I reviewed this movie dozen of times and still wasn't bored. Strong plot based on real story. Thing that impressed me most is fights in this movie are without flying or unhuman acts. It is hard to explain, but for example, compare this movie to Crouching Tiger - no human being can move as Li Mo Bai did, but real masters can definitely move as Ip Man did. Oh, I probably just confused you with my explanations. Just enjoy a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JB562Jan 23, 2016
A great Kung Fu film that popularized both Grandmaster Ip Man (the master of Bruce Lee) and Wing Chun. It's a Kung Fu movie that fans of martial arts films should see. Despite being historically inaccurate, it's cool action scenes overshadow that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
josippekicMar 15, 2015
This movie is quite simple, but I have to disagree critics about character depthness. It's really not that bad. For those who haven't watch the movie I highly recommend it. This is a movie with soul and maybe it has a lack of plot in someThis movie is quite simple, but I have to disagree critics about character depthness. It's really not that bad. For those who haven't watch the movie I highly recommend it. This is a movie with soul and maybe it has a lack of plot in some parts but I guarantee that you won't sense it if you let it overwhelm you Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
YorkManFeb 20, 2016
Wilson Yip's 'Ip Man' isn't the masterpiece a lot of people on this site think it is. It's not bad, but definitely not 'the best martial arts film ever', and other such nonsense.

Donnie Yen is good as always, balancing the dramatic with
Wilson Yip's 'Ip Man' isn't the masterpiece a lot of people on this site think it is. It's not bad, but definitely not 'the best martial arts film ever', and other such nonsense.

Donnie Yen is good as always, balancing the dramatic with the physical. The rest of the main cast are also very good....
All except Lynn Hung, who plays Man's wife Cheung Wing Sing. Every scene she's in she's just whining and moaning about something, it's like her entire character arc is based on the notion of being the 'unlikable' one in the film... It's very grating!

The Direction of the film is pretty basic, nothing really special in it at all. Production values are exactly what you'd expect for a mid-budget martial arts film made in 2008.

The musical score is very 'by the numbers', a bit of a crescendo here... A bit of dramatic music there.... Sombre music when it's needed....

The only outstanding things in the film are the fight scenes. Sammo Hung worked as the action director, and choreographed some of the best Wing Chun action put on screen. Hung is well known for being a close associate of Bruce Lee (who was a student of Yip Man), and Hung does a brilliant job of putting the ferocity and speed of this very effective (but particularly vicious and brutal) kung fu style on film

However, everything outside the martial conflicts is very slow paced and mundane. It's like a porn film, where you fast forward the bits where the plumber checks out the pipes, to get to the actual 'interesting' bits!

The storyline is predictable, and doesn't really conform to the actual life story of Yip Man anyway. I understand that there needs to be a little artistic license.... But if you're going to make stuff up, don't just make the fight scenes exciting, add some intensity and real drama to the story and the narrative.

Overall, it's a watch it in its entirety once kind of film. After that you can just go online and look up the fight scenes on YouTube!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
EpicLadySpongeApr 28, 2016
Energetic and generic, but doesn't make the fact that Ip Man can live up an "Oh", an "Ah", and a "Yay!" like enjoying the movie itself. Give this one a shot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BroyaxAug 7, 2017
Une biographie romancée du Maître d'un certain Bruce Lee, le Maître expert dans cette "boxe du sud" appelée Wing Chun que se fait une joie de restituer à l'écran le très posé et humble Donnie Yen décidément très à l'aise dans sonUne biographie romancée du Maître d'un certain Bruce Lee, le Maître expert dans cette "boxe du sud" appelée Wing Chun que se fait une joie de restituer à l'écran le très posé et humble Donnie Yen décidément très à l'aise dans son interprétation d'une belle sobriété.

La première partie du film penche volontiers du côté de la comédie, la seconde est nettement plus sombre puisqu'elle se déroule lors de l'invasion japonaise. Il est alors à regretter une désaturation des couleurs qui va presque jusqu'au sépia de temps à autre, un choix pas très heureux à dire vrai. En tout cas, que les combats soient plus "légers" ou deviennent par la suite beaucoup plus brutaux n'enlève rien à la chorégraphie soignée et spectaculaire de l'ensemble.

La réalisation est d'assez bonne facture malgré des ralentis trop rares ; de nombreux plans sont judicieusement choisis mais le montage aurait mérité plus de soin et d'attention. Nous suivons les difficultés du grand Maître en ces temps difficiles qui ne sont pas sans rappeler ce que l'on a déjà vu dans nombre de films d'arts martiaux chinois... rien de vraiment nouveau sous la botte du soleil levant à part les clichés habituels (dont le Kung fu contre le Karaté !).

Distrayant et plutôt convaincant, Ip Man souffre par ailleurs de quelques longueurs (et de ses clichés) et ne s'avère en fin de compte pas aussi brillant que le défunt Maître qu'il est censé honorer.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gzappia4Dec 30, 2016
It is not Shakespeare and it should not be. It is emotionally satisfying and meets expectations for a typical martial arts movie. It reminds of the old cowboy movies only it is martial arts instead of a quick draw. Shut up, sit back and enjoy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jamiembApr 20, 2017
Amazing film, great characters, felt deep and meaningful and I felt emotional which I don't usually feel with films, and the fights are great. Genuinely one of the very best films I've ever watched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
wendyisabigailMar 29, 2018
I watched all the Ip Man movies (1-3), and in my opinion this one was the best. I don't know much about Kung Fu, but to me it looked outstanding. In terms of character development, it was relateable and paced perfectly. No one seemed tooI watched all the Ip Man movies (1-3), and in my opinion this one was the best. I don't know much about Kung Fu, but to me it looked outstanding. In terms of character development, it was relateable and paced perfectly. No one seemed too animated or "exotic". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GrantD243Apr 25, 2018
Ip Man was recommended to me by my roommate since he knows that Donnie Yen was one of my favorite parts of Rogue One. And, man, I am glad he did. I think that I found this movie so enjoyable primarily because it gave me exactly what I wanted:Ip Man was recommended to me by my roommate since he knows that Donnie Yen was one of my favorite parts of Rogue One. And, man, I am glad he did. I think that I found this movie so enjoyable primarily because it gave me exactly what I wanted: Donnie Yen beating people up, and a lot of it. There is a story and it is pretty good, but there isn't too much fluff and for every slow point in the movie we are rewarded with a very entertaining action scene shortly thereafter. Quite a pleasant surprise, this one was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews