Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 3, 2013
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 2121 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,292
Mixed:
509
Negative:
320
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
MathLover9000Jan 4, 2018
This movie is so underrated. It is perfect? No. It is a fun movie to watch? Yes. Is their character development for Iron Man's character? Yes. Did the humor work in this movie? Yes. Was the villain good? Yes. Was Iron Man likeable andThis movie is so underrated. It is perfect? No. It is a fun movie to watch? Yes. Is their character development for Iron Man's character? Yes. Did the humor work in this movie? Yes. Was the villain good? Yes. Was Iron Man likeable and relatable? Yes. Iron Man 2 was no to all these questions. That's right, the movie is a major improvement from the atrocious Iron Man 2. Not as good Iron Man 1 but still a good movie in its own right. A solid 7/10 I must give it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
wiiy71Dec 30, 2017
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MonkiReviewsDec 16, 2017
Not as good as the first two p, but still fun and great. The story was more fun to watch, and funny, but it had flaws. The last two had awesome villains, but this villain wasn’t that great. The special effects were amazing though. It is worthNot as good as the first two p, but still fun and great. The story was more fun to watch, and funny, but it had flaws. The last two had awesome villains, but this villain wasn’t that great. The special effects were amazing though. It is worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
spacebear1Dec 14, 2017
Shane Black's Iron Man 3 is a great and enjoyable movie and a great first film in Phase Two of this growing Marvel Cinematic Universe. Let me begin by saying that this film is a massive improvement over Iron Man 2. This doesn't spend it'sShane Black's Iron Man 3 is a great and enjoyable movie and a great first film in Phase Two of this growing Marvel Cinematic Universe. Let me begin by saying that this film is a massive improvement over Iron Man 2. This doesn't spend it's entire runtime setting up future films but instead has a great story by itself. The characters are great and Robert Downey Jr. is still perfect as Iron Man. The story is also really great as well as the action. The villain, however, is just really bland and some parts of the film didn't seem fully thought out. In the end, this is a solid entry in both, the Marvel Cinematic Universe and the Iron Man trilogy. I'm going to give this film an 8.4/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Bugger217Sep 13, 2017
From day one, Iron Man 3 proved to be divisive for a number of reasons. Among the core fanbase, it was primarily because of a turn of events that they felt had betrayed what certain characters stood for. Personally, I think this is a greatFrom day one, Iron Man 3 proved to be divisive for a number of reasons. Among the core fanbase, it was primarily because of a turn of events that they felt had betrayed what certain characters stood for. Personally, I think this is a great movie. Shane Black writes and directs here, and it certainly feels more like one of his films than a "Marvel movie." In that regard, it is a bit of an outlier in the MCU, but it also adds something fresh to the franchise, which Iron Man 2 failed to do.

What I find so fascinating about the film, is not only how well the twist works in my eyes, but how it feeds into Tony Stark's character and the themes that surround him. The movie is about wearing masks. It's about taking on a persona bigger than how you perceive yourself to make up for your shortcomings. It's about deciding if you really need those masks to live up to your full potential.

Because of this, I love Iron Man 3. It's clever, stylish, exciting, and a whole lot smarter than most people give it credit for. I can understand where some elements might not work for fans, but now that a few years have gone by, I recommend giving it another chance. I think you might find some things to appreciate that you hadn't noticed before.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Kes4278Jul 30, 2017
Good movie. I loved the mk.42 armor. The last fight was awesome.Just one thing I hated.They got the mandarin wrong.The rest is good. I'll give it a 9/10
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
SonicHD7Jun 1, 2017
Plagued with worry and insomnia since saving New York from destruction, Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.), now, is more dependent on the suits that give him his Iron Man persona -- so much so that every aspect of his life is affected, includingPlagued with worry and insomnia since saving New York from destruction, Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.), now, is more dependent on the suits that give him his Iron Man persona -- so much so that every aspect of his life is affected, including his relationship with Pepper (Gwyneth Paltrow). After a malevolent enemy known as the Mandarin (Ben Kingsley) reduces his personal world to rubble, Tony must rely solely on instinct and ingenuity to avenge his losses and protect the people he loves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Mar 7, 2017
I know, I'm a bit behind on my Marvel films, but to be honest, after Iron Man 2, I really wasn't looking forward to seeing another one. There's no doubt that Marvel films have gone from simple stories about superheroes to epic adventures withI know, I'm a bit behind on my Marvel films, but to be honest, after Iron Man 2, I really wasn't looking forward to seeing another one. There's no doubt that Marvel films have gone from simple stories about superheroes to epic adventures with the best writers and actors in Hollywood, but the fact is Iron Man 2 was your typical disappointing sequel. In the third installment of the Iron Man adventure though, the franchise bounces back in a huge way, as we get a story that not only rivals the original, but in my opinion knocks it on it's ass! Iron Man 3 finally answers the question does the suit make the man or does the man make the suit, as Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) faces his toughest enemy yet, the one with the greatest reach, that no one sees coming. With his team and gear in ruins, Stark is left to lamb it in the middle of nowhere, and in a sense start over and find himself all over again. After playing Tony Stark for so long and appearing in just about every film Marvel has made in the last decade, Robert Downey Jr. knows everything there is to know about the character, and it has never been more apparently than it is here. Writers utilize cannon from various comics, graphic novels, previous movies, and really delve deeply into the character like never before. I also like the fact that it wasn't just another film with Stark in his lab full of toys. This time he's stranded in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by new people, having to start from scratch, it gave the whole thing a much more realistic feel to it, and finally there's the villain. While I loved every second of the Avengers, the truth is that the bad guys are aliens and aren't all that realistic. The Mandarin is a really bad guy and he's as real as the rest of us, needless to say I loved it. If you're not the huge fan I am and you only decide to see one of the Iron Man films, I'd choose this one. Rarely do I ever suggest seeing anything but the original, where it all started, but in this case, the effects are better, Downey's knowledge of the character is better, the writing is much better, and it's not the same old tagline you tend to get with introductory films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ZerpnosMar 4, 2017
Gelen tehditler karşısında evinin açık adresini veren Tony Stark ardından gelen sorunlarla karşılaşır. Büyük aşkını bir sapıktan kurtarmaya çalışan Tony. Bu filmle, Demir Adam üçlemesinin sonuna gelindiğini ve senaryo bakımından pek fazla birGelen tehditler karşısında evinin açık adresini veren Tony Stark ardından gelen sorunlarla karşılaşır. Büyük aşkını bir sapıktan kurtarmaya çalışan Tony. Bu filmle, Demir Adam üçlemesinin sonuna gelindiğini ve senaryo bakımından pek fazla bir şey olmadığı ortaya konuyor. Yine de Aksiyonuyla kendini izleten bir film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
kman5473Jan 30, 2017
This one at least tries to dabble into deeper emotional issues and conflicts for its protagonist to work himself through. We have a love/hate relationship with the egotistical, well-intentioned billionaire Tony Stark -- this is perfect,This one at least tries to dabble into deeper emotional issues and conflicts for its protagonist to work himself through. We have a love/hate relationship with the egotistical, well-intentioned billionaire Tony Stark -- this is perfect, because this is the same exact disposition he has with himself and everyone around him. My only question for Marvel now is: is Tony Stark's character ever actually going to grow or change? Of course not. It's a proven brand from Disney. They have to churn out the same old **** at least 2-3 times a year without doing anything new or inventive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
egkJan 14, 2017
i really like this movie i don't understand why everyone hate it. I like the plot twist cause cause it is very unexpected is it the best no. but its different. this movie shows how good iron man without his suits.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FreedomFightersJan 3, 2017
"Iron Man 3," the first film in Phase 2 of the "Marvel Cinematic Universe," is definitely a very entertaining film that lives up to its predecessors. It's well-acted (once again, especially by Downey, Jr.), it's visually brilliant, pretty"Iron Man 3," the first film in Phase 2 of the "Marvel Cinematic Universe," is definitely a very entertaining film that lives up to its predecessors. It's well-acted (once again, especially by Downey, Jr.), it's visually brilliant, pretty well-written, exciting, action-packed and all-around fun. It's not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, and hardcore comic fans might not be as happy with this one as they were with the previous "Iron Man" films, but all things considered, I found "Iron Man 3" to be a thoroughly entertaining film that is absolutely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MasterRileyDec 20, 2016
Iron Man 3 is definitely better than 2, but still doesn't quite live up to the quality of the original that started it all. I appreciate the darker tones in this film and find it to still be quite entertaining overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HatersWannaHateOct 3, 2016
Surprisingly good film with twists that you don't usually see in movies. After Iron Man 2, Shane Black saved the franchise. Gwyneth doesn't really work in this film as well as she did in the first Iron Man, and actually all the performancesSurprisingly good film with twists that you don't usually see in movies. After Iron Man 2, Shane Black saved the franchise. Gwyneth doesn't really work in this film as well as she did in the first Iron Man, and actually all the performances are okay but not great, but the creative story makes this movie work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HectorInTheMornJun 15, 2016
I love this movie! I have seen all of the Iron man movies and this one has got to be my favorite out of all of the Iron Man movies! It is funny, fun, mature, action and sort heavy, it is a bloody good time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ElectroNickMay 3, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Iron Man is the grand return of Tony Stark in the suit with a story that tests his limits. It has its moments but it also has some major problems that hold it back. The film has Stark suffer some panic attacks after his near death experience in the events of The Avengers. The panic attacks had some potential to give him more depth considering the fact that he was surrounded by superhuman and even gods but it is really not that fleshed out enough. There is also a controversial conspiracy involving former U.S war veterans who regain their limbs based on an experiment that went wrong. This presents an interesting dilemma for Stark to come fully face to face with the horrors of his previous arms race campaign. How the war veterans were portrayed though are pretty questionable to say the least. Ben Kinsley is one of the best highlights of the film both for his propaganda videos as the ultimate reveal of him being a mere puppet for the real villain. It is understandable why fans will be very dissapointed but the Mandarin would not have flown well in today's PC culture since the Mandarin from the original comic is really nothing more than a racial stereotype of the Chinese. Although the plot twist was hilarious the true villain was a bland antagonist to Stark. Speaking of which, Robert Downey Jr is once again the best thing about this film especially with the interaction between him and the child actor. The child actor did an outstanding job developing a relationship with Stark. This is also a film where Stark has to rely on his wits for the majority of the film outside of the one time he gave his address to the Mandarin (the single most stupid thing any Superhero has ever done). The action is also pretty strong with impressive set pieces which actually kept me at the edge of my seat. The climax is outstanding with all of the multiple suits and Stark changing in between the suits in mid flight which displays some impressive visuals. His relationship with Pepper has developed alot more as well and I found myself genially concerned about their relationship status. If you are wiling to accept some of the flaws or the controversial plot twist than this film will definitely keep you entertained for a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
UrbanlistenerApr 21, 2016
Its a good film, Robert Downey still nails it as Iron Man, the story is interesting and sometimes thrilling, the effects and action scenes are great and there is some good jokes. I also enjoyed that Don Cheadle's war machine was there a lotIts a good film, Robert Downey still nails it as Iron Man, the story is interesting and sometimes thrilling, the effects and action scenes are great and there is some good jokes. I also enjoyed that Don Cheadle's war machine was there a lot in the film, he is a great addition to the MCU. I will say that the main villain of this movie is the weakest part about it, he is not bad, but a bit cliché and poorly written, there is not much to him. If the Mandarin had been the main villain, acted like in the comics and had been well developed instead of being a lazy old fart who we discover he is a fake, it would have been way better. But still, its tons of fun and very enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RojodeKantoMar 20, 2016
Mi admiración por Marvel empezó con Los Vengadores y más que nunca iba a seguir con ello, esta película comienza la Fase 2 de la franquicia, me pareció mejor que las antecesoras del Vengador blindado, aunque distinta, debido al director queMi admiración por Marvel empezó con Los Vengadores y más que nunca iba a seguir con ello, esta película comienza la Fase 2 de la franquicia, me pareció mejor que las antecesoras del Vengador blindado, aunque distinta, debido al director que es el mismo de Lethal Weapon (debo ver esa), pues hizo un buen trabajo, diferente a lo que hizo Jon Favreau, sobre la música esta bien sobre todo la del inicio, me trajo recuerdos, la trama sigue lo que dejó el incidente de Nueva York, con el protagonista sufriendo de estrés post-traumático al estar al borde de la muerte, aunque tiene que enfrentar a un terrorista que causa el caos, protegiendo a los suyos al igual que enfrentar a fantasmas de su pasado, lo he disfrutado bien, tiene un tono un poquito oscuro pero no le quita la gracia que nos tiene acostumbrado, me encanta que sea un thriller técnologico, Robert Downey Jr. una vez más demuestra ser un gran actor y muestra la evolución del personaje y como éste tiene que usar su ingenio aparte de su armadura, Gwyneth Paltrow aquí muestra un poco más de presencia y además rompe el molde de la damisela en apuros, en cierta parte de la película, Don Cheadle una vez más hace gran dúo con Downey, aparte también muestra grandes proezas, Ben Kingsley su personaje es único y genial no voy a decir más para los que aún no ven el filme, Guy Pearce vendría a ser un villano más, no destaca como otros, pero llena cierta parte, aunque muchos lo comparan con cierto villano animado que empieza con S, el personaje de Pearce en los comics tiene poca presencia, aquí le dan más importancia, aunque la película se base en el arco argumental Extremis, hay elementos rescatables, pero algo que les ha molestado a muchos es un giro inesperado en la trama, en mi caso, la primera vez que lo vi sólo me sorprendí de que no fuera lo que se había anunciado, el giro me parecio magistral, aparte aunque el Mandarín en los comics es un ser poderoso, no creo que vendría bien luego de haber presenciado algo extraterrestre antes, no habia que repetir ello, a pesar de que digan que es una mala pelicula por ese giro argumental y en el arco en que se basan, a mi me parece una excelente película, tampoco mejor que Los Vengadores, pero es una película disfrutable y única épica conclusión de las aventuras en solitario de Tony Stark, las parte que más me ha gustado es la parte del rescate aéreo, al igual como una épica batalla definitiva, el final, me dijeron que no me iba a gustar, pero al contrario fue uno buenísimo, para terminar la escena post-créditos no tiene relevancia alguna, pero es divertida aparte da sentido a la narrativa de Tony que le cuenta todo a cierto compañero científico. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BarneyOnMTMar 13, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: This is an odd mix of the amazing and the awkward, Iron Man 3 is full of the character stuff that makes Marvel films so great. Forget the rubbish of Iron Man 2, Tony Stark is developed really well and we really feel like we knowWHAT I LIKED: This is an odd mix of the amazing and the awkward, Iron Man 3 is full of the character stuff that makes Marvel films so great. Forget the rubbish of Iron Man 2, Tony Stark is developed really well and we really feel like we know him here. This is largely thanks to Robert Downey Jr being stripped back to basics and he really showcases his acting abilities here. Not only that but there's some really excellent opportunities for great action scenes (as the mark 47 is properly cool!)
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: There are a few odd niggles that you really can't ignore. For example, the confusing plot, and the baffling villain situation (which is even confusing after multiple viewings,) and the fact the movie doesn't really seem to fit in the whole Cinematic Universe.
VERDICT: Iron Man 3 is arguably the best film in the Iron Man franchise, it's darker than the first but still a lot of fun. Robert Downey Jr is just great in this role.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DyliebarMar 2, 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie to the fullest!!! This movie was a blast, it was emotional, and it was quite funny! Although people were pissed off about the Mandarin scene, but I honestly thought it was funny!! This movie also does aI thoroughly enjoyed this movie to the fullest!!! This movie was a blast, it was emotional, and it was quite funny! Although people were pissed off about the Mandarin scene, but I honestly thought it was funny!! This movie also does a fantastic job at digging deeper into the character of Tony Stark! I think this may be the best movie in the Iron Man trilogy! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeJan 26, 2016
An improvement of the last Iron Man installment in the franchise before this movie. A bit better than Iron Man 2 and lives up its name to the original Iron Man, but not good to that Iron Man.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TrackerDeviceNov 2, 2015
Iron Man 3 is definitely better than Iron Man 2, and more thrilling then the second one. The plot to this movie wasn't very convincing, but that doesn't Robert Downey Jr and the rest of the supporting cast to make Iron Man 3 fun to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DanBurritoOct 10, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A bit confusing but an interesting movie overall. I hadn't seen the other MCU movies at the time I saw this so I didn't understand all the references but I still liked it. Trust me, ieven if you don't like superhero movies, it's all worth it for the scene where The Mandrin- a terrorist who seems to be the movie's terrifying main villain- is revealed to be a drunken British actor who's a pawn in the real villain's scheme. I laughed my butt off at that scene. And even beside that, it's enjoyable for superhero fans. I liked it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JohnMasterLAug 6, 2015
Iron Man 3 se siente diferente, siento un aire mas ligero (¿Tal vez porque ahora Disney las produce?) también el estilo cambia totalmente, me atrevo a decir que pensé que estaba viendo una diferente versión de "El caballero de la noche" peroIron Man 3 se siente diferente, siento un aire mas ligero (¿Tal vez porque ahora Disney las produce?) también el estilo cambia totalmente, me atrevo a decir que pensé que estaba viendo una diferente versión de "El caballero de la noche" pero sin Batman ni el Joker. El elenco es excelente, pero el Guion es lo mas bajo del Film, en esta ocasión, veremos mas a Tony Stark que al mismo Iron Man. No decepciona, es divertida y en ocasiones emocionante, pero no supera a sus antecesoras. La primera parte sigue siendo la mejor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DJYepesJun 13, 2015
this movies is awesome...... esta pelicula es todo lo que quieres ver en una peicula de accion y ciencia ficcion es visualmente espectacular y nos muestra un heroe que se las ingenia y sale adelante
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Epik_NinnjaMay 23, 2015
The CGI on display here is top-notch and the action sequences are pretty crazy. Also, there's still that Iron Man flair to the film. Don't let the so-so reviews stop you form watching this movie but don't expect it to be as goos as the lastThe CGI on display here is top-notch and the action sequences are pretty crazy. Also, there's still that Iron Man flair to the film. Don't let the so-so reviews stop you form watching this movie but don't expect it to be as goos as the last two, because it's not. The writing just isn't as strong as it was in the previous Iron Man films but it's still good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpiderPlayerMay 16, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In general the film is very good, incredible special effects, this film shows that Tony Stark is not iron, but the end left much to be desired, this thing of Aldrich Killian talk that is the Mandarin was not too cool, let alone the Tony take the reactor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Pinglu50May 1, 2015
"You can take away my suits, but there's one thing you can never take away from me: I am Iron Man." I love this movie, such a great experience to see its end, even that for me it doesn't fit the Avengers: Age of Ultron, I'd like it more if"You can take away my suits, but there's one thing you can never take away from me: I am Iron Man." I love this movie, such a great experience to see its end, even that for me it doesn't fit the Avengers: Age of Ultron, I'd like it more if Stark had spent more time being the actual Iron Man, with the suits and stuff. Great movie anyway! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
homer4presidentMar 13, 2015
It was a good movie with impressive special effects but lacked serious potential towards one of Iron Man's main supervillains. Hopefully, Marvel will bring the Mandarin back with his powerful rings in either the next Avenger's film or Iron Man 4.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JohnKristoferDec 22, 2014
Fun,Hilarious and delightful Iron Man 3 is still a good film despite of too many criticism.The Twist of the mandarin may pissed by comic fanboys but some may found it funny.Robert Downey Jr. Is Back Being Tony Stark/Iron Man,he still deliversFun,Hilarious and delightful Iron Man 3 is still a good film despite of too many criticism.The Twist of the mandarin may pissed by comic fanboys but some may found it funny.Robert Downey Jr. Is Back Being Tony Stark/Iron Man,he still delivers what we love of the character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Le__XenomorphDec 16, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To be honest, I was a bit afraid when Jon Favreau stepped off the project of Iron Man 3 since his 2 films were so good. I was afraid that this movie would bomb with a director like Shane Black. But man was I wrong! The movie definitely has a different tone to it I like the darker looking visuals and the increased amounts of humor to offset the struggles of Tony Stark as he tries to fight the "Mandarin." Iron Man 3 is definitely a slight improvement over Iron Man 2. 9/10 (Awesome) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
supermann234Dec 7, 2014
This is an awesome movie filled with lots of action. Probably one of the best action movies I have seen. This is highly recommended if you love superhero and action movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
diogomendesDec 3, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) Analysis: Iron Man 3 (2013) *SPOILERS*

"Iron Man 3" is the movie that starts out the Phase 2 of Marvel Cinematic Universe, and while there's some questionably flawed elements, this film is wittily made and nicely acted. Sure, there was some stupid things like the real Mandarin being the nerdy guy Tony met on the elevator. Sure, they could have used Ben Kingsley – a fantastic actor by the way – as the real villain, which would’ve been incredible and would’ve make the film even more epic. But surprisingly enough, “Iron Man 3” is still good in its own right. It’s not as refined as some Marvel movies are, but it’s visually impressive and its main lead still holds that charm we liked in the first two Iron Man films. Director Jon Favreau was replaced by Shane Black, but still remained as a producer and as the character Happy.

Marvel's "Iron Man 3" pits brash-but-brilliant industrialist Tony Stark/Iron Man against an enemy whose reach knows no bounds. When Stark finds his personal world destroyed at his enemy's hands, he embarks on a harrowing quest to find those responsible. This journey, at every turn, will test his mettle. With his back against the wall, Stark is left to survive by his own devices, relying on his ingenuity and instincts to protect those closest to him. As he fights his way back, Stark discovers the answer to the question that has secretly haunted him: does the man make the suit or does the suit make the man?

Well, many people say that the clothes make the man, but what makes these series so rewarding is the man inside the suit: Robert Downey Jr. He is, once again, fantastic. Perhaps one of the coolest super-heroes in contemporary cinema and I would be very surprise if in the future someone will top him. As for the rest of the cast, Guy Pearce surely makes for a compelling villain. Even though I was expecting Trevor to be the real villain, Pearce’s character still makes up for that. Gwyneth Paltrow also returns as the love interest of Tony Stark and Don Cheadle appears once again as “Iron Patriot”. Really? “War Machine” sounds so much better. Apparently he changed it because War Machine was a little belligerent. Some antagonists in movies are way over-the-top, so if there’s something that this movie needs credit for, it’s the villain. Now, let’s talk about the Mandarin plot twist. The Mandarin plot twist ah… my god, is so **** stupid. When I saw the trailers for Iron Man 3 back in 2013, I was expecting something intense and dark, because THE TRAILERS LOOKED INTENSE AND DARK, but yeah… I never should trust the trailers or clips or whatever. As I was saying, I expected something out of that darkness, and it just pained me to see the real Mandarin being a nerd, and the fake one being a comedic actor. How exciting. I mean, how **** stupid is this? I’m disappointed about this and note, I rarely even read comic books.

The action scenes are utterly entertaining. Everything from the Malibu Mansion attack to the oil tanker battle is phenomenal. It is amazing. Trust me, it’s really good, and I dare to say that it’s even better than the first two Iron Man films. It’s so good. When Iron Man was rescuing those people when the plane exploded, I thought he was not going to make it, but man, he did make it. My friend complained exactly about that. He said that “Ah, Iron Man is not Superman. He can’t do that”. He’s an opinionated person, so I sometimes don’t take him seriously. What I thought it was odd in that sequence… you know, too stupid, was the fact that everyone who landed on the water knew how to swim. How convenient. The best fight in the whole movie is between Tony and Killian and this particular battle could positively explain why the fights in Marvel movies are so damn good.

Although I really left the theaters satisfied, I’m not looking forward to an Iron Man 4. We need to see new characters, new story arcs and new easter eggs. Thank God that some weeks ago, it has been announced some new movies in Marvel canon, and doesn’t include Iron Man films. I’m not saying that Iron Man is a crappy character, no, I think he’s a pretty good super-hero, but we do need some new stuff because this sh*t is getting repetitive.

Final Score to Iron Man 3: 7/10. This sequel is an improvement over its predecessor and while it’s not as refined as the very first installment, “Iron Man 3” still has style, charisma and the action sequences are purely entertaining. This was an appropriate follow-up to The Avengers, which – like I said in my review – was fantastic. If you’re an Iron Man fanatic, you will love this flick and probably a good chunk of it. And even if you’re a person who goes frequently to the movies, you won’t be left unsatisfied. Now, let’s review the disappointing one: Thor 2.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
vikesh2206Nov 8, 2014
An entertaining addition to the Marvel canon, Iron Man 3 solidly delivers great action sequences and a witty dialogue although it suffers from a terribly plotted final act.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NotoriousFraudOct 23, 2014
Iron Man 3 evolves the character Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) from a cocky playboy to a flawed hero. The theme of old demons is apparent when it begins in Switzerland in 1999 new years eve, Tony who was a different person then meets AldrichIron Man 3 evolves the character Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) from a cocky playboy to a flawed hero. The theme of old demons is apparent when it begins in Switzerland in 1999 new years eve, Tony who was a different person then meets Aldrich Killian (Guy Pearce), a nerdy scientist from AIM (Advanced Idea Mechanics) Tony blows him off after telling him to meet him on the roof leaving him there. Years later after the events of "The Avengers" Tony is a changed man, no longer just as the hero protecting America from terrorists but now frantically building suits trying to keep the ones he cares about safe after going through a wormhole and learning that there is a big and dangerous universe out there. Shane Black directs a good popcorn flick here taking over from Jon Favreau who directed the first two movies, and in terms of story this is much better than Iron Man 2. If you love seeing Tony Stark chew scenery for two hours you'll enjoy this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
Iron Man 3 pits brash-but-brilliant industrialist Tony Stark/Iron Man against an enemy whose reach knows no bounds. When Stark finds his personal world destroyed at his enemy’s hands, he embarks on a harrowing quest to find those responsible.Iron Man 3 pits brash-but-brilliant industrialist Tony Stark/Iron Man against an enemy whose reach knows no bounds. When Stark finds his personal world destroyed at his enemy’s hands, he embarks on a harrowing quest to find those responsible. This journey, at every turn, will test his mettle. With his back against the wall, Stark is left to survive by his own devices, relying on his ingenuity and instincts to protect those closest to him. As he fights his way back, Stark discovers the answer to the question that has secretly haunted him: does the man make the suit or does the suit make the man? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ViolettSep 5, 2014
Weak plot. It is a common problem of Marvel movies. Movie itself is too focused on special effects and explosions (which are awesome tbh), and plot is too ... how to say ... sucked from finger? I understand it is hard to create strong dramaWeak plot. It is a common problem of Marvel movies. Movie itself is too focused on special effects and explosions (which are awesome tbh), and plot is too ... how to say ... sucked from finger? I understand it is hard to create strong drama movie from comics, and I will never blame Marvel for that. This movie is for people who like explosions, fire, robots, fights - who focus only on action, who dont think at all watching movie. I say again, it is not bad, just not for everyone. By the way, as I understood this movie was last of Iron Man series, at least I hope so, despite my love to Iron Man and other Marvel characters. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
oxanaAug 24, 2014
Seen this twice now.

3D vs 2D: 2D wins, clearly. 3D action sequences are shotty, blurry, and hard to follow without losing focus, and there were no special bits where the 2D version didn't look just as good, in my opinion. You can tell
Seen this twice now.

3D vs 2D: 2D wins, clearly. 3D action sequences are shotty, blurry, and hard to follow without losing focus, and there were no special bits where the 2D version didn't look just as good, in my opinion.

You can tell this is directed and written by Shane Black. (Tony Stark tells us a story about the terrorism of today, botanists, and fire-breathers.) The story-telling is definitely different, the structure feeling a little clipped at times, jumping from one scene to the next while creating a thread to follow. I may have hoped for a little more background on a couple of things, but they were not too bothersome.

At the same time, the humor works perfectly, which can be hoped for and expected. Robert Downey Jr. is definitely working his magic once more.

While I was a little bummed out by some of the things at the end of the film, and am still wrapping my head around them, the movie had a steady thing going with no real "slowness" to it. You're constantly entertained. You won't be glancing at your watch - unless you decide to wait for the absolutely delicious post-credits scene, which is totally worth the wait!

There are twists and turns. The new armors are cool, although one would hope to see more of them - and more of Tony in the armor, but then, the way this film goes, you don't actually feel a constant longing for the Armored Avenger, because Tony delivers all you can possibly hope for.

Speaking of Avengers, there were more references to that movie - and the previous MCU films - than one could have hoped for. They worked very well, in between jibes, references, flashbacks and panic attacks.

Go see this movie, right now!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeJul 30, 2014
The film's [Iron Man trilogy] that failed to become better.

Okay, it really is a cool and entertaining movie to watch and it got eventful scenes, but the opening scene wasn't the best. I really had high expectations of this movie, but it
The film's [Iron Man trilogy] that failed to become better.

Okay, it really is a cool and entertaining movie to watch and it got eventful scenes, but the opening scene wasn't the best. I really had high expectations of this movie, but it wasn't as great as I thought it would be because the story truly is weird. The movie also got many things that didn't make sense at all, and combined with the weird ending and some silly details, the film wasn't great at all in comparison with the the previous Iron Man movies.

For an Iron Man movie, isn't it great at all, but it's still okay to watch.

Iron Man 3 gets a 7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Ok so here we go Iron man 3 the first movie in marvels phase 2 this is the first iron man not directed by Jon Favreau. You can totally tell that this is not his movie this easily is the darkest of the iron man films. Though keeping with aOk so here we go Iron man 3 the first movie in marvels phase 2 this is the first iron man not directed by Jon Favreau. You can totally tell that this is not his movie this easily is the darkest of the iron man films. Though keeping with a light feeling with comedy which was the best of the three films while some of it did feel misplaced i didn't have a problem with it and it didn't take away from the overall experience. Now this is one thing i really liked about the film is that you get to see tony use his intelligence in this more so then in iron man 2 this takes me back to Iron man 1 when he is in the cave building his suit.

Now this is one thing i didn't expect in the film so ill give them credit for trying to try do something different. I just didn't like what they did to The Mandarin i understand why they did it but seriously they crapped all over one of iron mans biggest villains. Though Ben Kingsley nailed his performance even when the switched happened he still killed it.

This takes me to Guy Pearce (Aldrich Killian ) he did an okey job i wasn't so intrigued by his performance it was nothing special even after a second viewing i just didn't really care for him

There is nothing to say about Robert Downey Jr. (Tony Stark) he did an amazing performance the guy is Iron man i don't anyone would tell you different. You can tell that he has some wear and tear on him he is trying to cope with events that took place in "The Avengers" he has anxiety attacks that take place a couple times throughout the film.

Now during the battle scene where the helicopters take out tony's mansion tony saves pepper by making his new suit go to her. That was cool because it is a reference towards "rescue" not sure if you know the general audience didn't realize that but of course us nerds do =D. Gwyneth Paltrow was great as always so nothing to complain about except for the ending with Killian that i didn't really like. To me it was like "The Dark Knight Rises" all over again and i can barely watch that film now.

Don Cheadle (Colonel James Rhodes) is not Warmachine anymore he is now Iron Patriot that i didn't have a problem with and it was funny with tony saying throughout the film that he didn't like that change. Cheadle did a great job and he was in the film more then what i was expecting so that was cool more Cheadle is always good also the guy bulked up he looked ripped that was one thing i noticed right away.

Overall i give the film a 7.5 i knew that it was going to be better then Iron man 2 but not as good as Iron man 1 and that is was i got. I know some people don't agree with me i still think IM1 is the best of the three films.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ReubenIsAGodApr 21, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I enjoyed Iron Man 3 way more then i intended, in fact, it made me want to go back and watch the first 2 again because i enjoyed it so much the movie was very funny and very entertain and made me care for Tony Stak because it presented him as more of a lovable jackass that really wants to do good yet always seems to still seem like a dick. Characters are alright, the plots so DAMN stupid, in fact its really bizarre, i like bizarre, The main villain was AMAZING, until we found out who he really was and the third act, final act was pretty much just like how i felt about the original film, terrible.

Overall a solid 7/10: mostly based on pure enjoyment, my expectations where very LOW
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
boshiApr 20, 2014
iron man 3 is a good movie, mainly due to great action scenes. the plot and characters are good, except for an incredible amount of disappointment towards the mandarin. there's more comedy in this one, and sometimes feels like it leans tooiron man 3 is a good movie, mainly due to great action scenes. the plot and characters are good, except for an incredible amount of disappointment towards the mandarin. there's more comedy in this one, and sometimes feels like it leans too much towards comedy. the action, especially the final fight is great. my biggest problem, besides the mandarin, is how little of a part Rhodey played in the film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
DrewtheDude85Apr 3, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Iron Man 3 is another fantastic film from Marvel Studios, It's a good way to end the trilogy. The original Iron Man movie is great, Iron Man 2 was not that great, The Avengers was revolutionary and this is also great. Overall it had some great action and some good story elements in it. I really wish people would not be so hateful to this movie just because of how much they hated that plot twist with the Mandarin, even though I didn't care, I mean I guess it was pretty stupid but I am not going to judge the movie by that one point. That wasn't even the worst part about this movie, I say probably the worst thing in this film is the fact that this felt more like "Tony Stark: The Movie" than a new Iron Man movie, I mean why not have more Iron Man in it. However the story was still good and it even has a bit of funny and enjoyable moments. If you can survive that plot twist that insulted many Comic Book fans, I think you will enjoy this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
epocFeb 16, 2014
If your a fan of the Iron Man comics, or just Marvel comics in general, don't see Iron Man 3. You'll probably rage and kill somebody (I won't explain why because of spoilers). The rest of you, you're in for a damn good film! Something thatIf your a fan of the Iron Man comics, or just Marvel comics in general, don't see Iron Man 3. You'll probably rage and kill somebody (I won't explain why because of spoilers). The rest of you, you're in for a damn good film! Something that the Iron Man films do brilliantly is great acting and casting. Well I'm happy to report that this film does both with excellence and flair. Surprisingly no one actor feels better than the other, creating a strong realism, especially in dramatic scenes. Like most Marvel movies the action is amazing and varied. One scene you'll see Tony without his suit, fighting super powered beings using only his intellect, and the next you'll see a pulse pounding air born rescue. However, the biggest thing I like about the action is how much there is. There's not to little ( like in Superman Returns ) and there's not to much ( like in Revenge of the Sith ). This leaves room for a fantastic story... That is until it hits the half way mark. The film brings in a twist, that it thinks is so clever, but just end up being stupid, and a slap in the face to all comic fans! This poor choice gets rid of an awesome, dark villain, The Mandarin, and replaces him with a poorly written villain that's generic as hell! Then when the story gets back on track, it introduces an awful ending that feels so rushed. In addition to this, this film has so many mistakes it's almost laughable! And its a shame because Shane Black's directing talent really shows. The camera feels organic and never out of place. If the fanboy inside of me was reviewing this, I would give it a 0. But because it's such a good film in its own right, I can't do that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oblique15Jan 29, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I like Iron Man, but I dislike Tony Starks.I think he makes it hard to enjoy the movie with his arrogant attitude. The movie was solid, but besides the Hype I liked G.I Joe much better.The movie does have it`s moments, but Iron Man is just not my favorite Super Hero. Also I feel like they made Tony Stark use remote controlled Bots just so you can see Robert Downey Jrs face.This is a huge issue with some of these actors. They have to get some face time.I should probably give the movie a lower rating, but it was at least entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BluntskyJan 11, 2014
I was thoroughly entertained. Enjoyed the story, but the middle of the movie was a bit slow. There is some good character development with Tony. Possibly one of the best third entries in a series of all time, if that can be said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
python2000Jan 3, 2014
Not only an awesome action movie and a clever science fiction flick. But also quite funny, I don't understand why it got so much hate. Seriously it is probably in my Top 10 of the year, planet Earth I guess.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ambenderDec 28, 2013
Iron Man 3 is the best of the franchise, due largely in part to an unforgettable twist about halfway through, and a finale that is spectacular in every sense of the word.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FranManDec 22, 2013
Ok, this is not so good than the first one, but neither is so bad than the second one. I think it is a good movie, with comedy and action. I really like it, of curse The Mandarin was a terrible deception, Extremis isn't the same thing likeOk, this is not so good than the first one, but neither is so bad than the second one. I think it is a good movie, with comedy and action. I really like it, of curse The Mandarin was a terrible deception, Extremis isn't the same thing like the comic, but, this is not a movie for a comic Fans, this is a movie for Marvel Cinematic Universe Fans, and I think it's better than the second one, but no like the first one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CaptainPrice141Dec 21, 2013
Almost perfect.Although I didn't like the ending, because it looks like there won't be Iron Man 4 :(
Otherwise it's a nice movie, with great cast and super, astonishing visual and sound effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
THEBUTTONMASHERDec 17, 2013
This trilogy of Iron Man is great, the last and recent Iron Man movie was not as good as the first two, it has nice special affects (as usual) and also is well created but the whole point is that the movie did not need to be made it was justThis trilogy of Iron Man is great, the last and recent Iron Man movie was not as good as the first two, it has nice special affects (as usual) and also is well created but the whole point is that the movie did not need to be made it was just a finale of the first two, but overall it was a decent movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FilmHackNov 28, 2013
Best one of the Iron Man series actually a lot better than I expected. Not at all deserving of these low scores (these folks must be looking for something else). It's a super-hero movie, okay? Lighten up, already. It's got some good catchyBest one of the Iron Man series actually a lot better than I expected. Not at all deserving of these low scores (these folks must be looking for something else). It's a super-hero movie, okay? Lighten up, already. It's got some good catchy action stuff with bits of romance and drama in between. If you like superhero genre films, you will not be disappointed. But if you expect "more" then save your bucks and take a film appreciation class and go see some 'real' film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
eagleeyevikingNov 28, 2013
A light, kid-friendly adaptation, Iron Man 3 solidly delivers great action sequences and a witty dialogue although it suffers from a terribly plotted plot twist at the end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksNov 27, 2013
This a far superior sequel to Iron Man 2. This film is reminiscent of action films from the 1980s and 90s, with its Lethal Weapon 2 like ending and originality of interpreting characters from the original comic book source.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AssassinationNov 20, 2013
Combination Of Dark Humor & House Party Protocol !!

**Iron Man 3** * The movie is certainly dark in nature but it exhibits humor excitement and good entertainment this movie swims in the theme of darkness to provide excitement and
Combination Of Dark Humor & House Party Protocol !!

**Iron Man 3**

* The movie is certainly dark in nature but it exhibits humor excitement and good entertainment this movie swims in the theme of darkness to provide excitement and adventure This film is not only based on action but also in deep emotions and flashing humor which dazzles in screen play considering its theme it feels like eating a dark chocolate with fruits on it The screen play focus in such way that the characters are not misplaced in any events .Each and every characters were essential in this movie to their correct attributes If they are not given those things confusion and mistakes takes place. The story revolves around tony stark the hero of this film .His lead is one of the factor that drive this movie entertaining .His character displays an amount of performance and charm which exceeds the performance of others characters .The entire credit goes to Robert Downey Jr he is a remarkable actor with such an excellent performance in full filling his role with out leaving any mark Not only lead character is good but also other characters such as Colonel James Rhodes, Maya Hansen & Pepper Potts they given such a delightful performance in full filling their role. Also characters regarding Aldrich Killian & The Mandarin these characters were well developed and very well performed by Guy Pearce and Ben Kingsley they were remarkable in their respective roles Director and screenplay writer shane black did wonderful performance in screen play and also in character development *Action sequence and visual effects are fantastic. *Overall this film is excellent its sparkles with humor & excitement with all possible fireworks !.

Iron Man 3 :*******

(7/10) Stars
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuNov 17, 2013
Iron Man 3, whilst not as good as the original, is still a decent improvement over the erstwhile sequel. The story is fun enough with the requisite amount of laughs and perils. That said, there isn't actually much Iron Man in this Iron ManIron Man 3, whilst not as good as the original, is still a decent improvement over the erstwhile sequel. The story is fun enough with the requisite amount of laughs and perils. That said, there isn't actually much Iron Man in this Iron Man movie. It's mostly just Tony Stark with a pistol. The final action reel brings some satisfying bangs and explosions (even if the bad guy's ultimate doom does spawn some eye-rolling) and this third chapter ends up as an entertaining 'hot mess'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Potter9988Nov 11, 2013
Iron Man 3 is a excellent movie. Its darker than previous movie. Robert Downey Jr. is as charismatic as ever. Special effects are higher than previous film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FranzHcriticNov 10, 2013
An improvement over the tedious 'Iron Man 2', the third film still can not live up to the first movie. It is more interesting than '2', with more thoroughness in the plot and better acting from the rest of the cast, as Downey doesn't need toAn improvement over the tedious 'Iron Man 2', the third film still can not live up to the first movie. It is more interesting than '2', with more thoroughness in the plot and better acting from the rest of the cast, as Downey doesn't need to change anything, he's fruitful and amusing all the time. Overall, a decent third chapter that fairs better, much better, than its predecessor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialNov 4, 2013
Perhaps after watching "The Avengers", I expected too much from this movie, and ultimately did not quite live up to my expectations. But "Iron Man 3" is still a pretty good movie. It's action-packed, it's filled with humor but doesn't have asPerhaps after watching "The Avengers", I expected too much from this movie, and ultimately did not quite live up to my expectations. But "Iron Man 3" is still a pretty good movie. It's action-packed, it's filled with humor but doesn't have as much playboy antics as its predecessors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
togefreeOct 27, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. kinda a letdown horrible humor twist was good but Aldrich Killian was a crappy villain except for his unique plan RDJ is amazing but the nonstop jokes and no real drama kinda makes this not as good as the 1st but a bit better than the 2nd Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ISHTIAKOct 27, 2013
the best iron man movie and also one of the best movies of the year...... every inches of the movie is enjoyable, breathtaking and thrilling. the twists in the story are awesome. i don't know why a few people don't like the movie!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerOct 14, 2013
Another excellent movie from Marvel. Captures the essence of the comic book and character and is just a heck of a lot of fun to watch. It's got action, emotion, and humor. It manages to show the effects being a super hero is having on Tony,Another excellent movie from Marvel. Captures the essence of the comic book and character and is just a heck of a lot of fun to watch. It's got action, emotion, and humor. It manages to show the effects being a super hero is having on Tony, like the events of the Avengers and previous movies, and does it without all of the melodrama and whining that plagued Iron Man 2. It's very enjoyable and the references to the Avengers movie and the other Marvel films out like Thor is very appreciated. All in all it's just a great Marvel film and if you have any love of the character or universe then you'll love this movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
Kronos362Oct 10, 2013
A bit boring if you ask me, Iron Man 1 was amazing, Iron Man 2 was good and Iron Man 3 starts to feel like a money making racket. That being said, in isolation the film is worth a watch and is a nice superhero romp with lots of shiny specialA bit boring if you ask me, Iron Man 1 was amazing, Iron Man 2 was good and Iron Man 3 starts to feel like a money making racket. That being said, in isolation the film is worth a watch and is a nice superhero romp with lots of shiny special effects that manages to entertain. 7/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
myEVILiOct 8, 2013
This is the best of the 3 Iron Man's. You really should watch the 1 and Avenger's first to full appreciate Tony Starks transformation from to panicking. Robert Downey does another great job, which is good given that he is outside the ironThis is the best of the 3 Iron Man's. You really should watch the 1 and Avenger's first to full appreciate Tony Starks transformation from to panicking. Robert Downey does another great job, which is good given that he is outside the iron suit more than inside. It will be a shame when someone else wears the suit. Without spoiling, I liked the different direction Shane Black took the Extremis story arc to appeal to a mass audience. It just made more sense. The blu-ray is packed with your typical blu-ray extras so no surprise there. Bottomline: a must see and own for even mild super hero movie fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SJ-ULTI-ReiewsSep 27, 2013
Iron Man 3 was more funny than action packed, their was hardly any scenes with iron man in them. It is a good movie but i felt that it could have been way better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysSep 15, 2013
Iron Man 3 is almost as good as the original, with an interesting story as well as a great script. It's a must-see summer action flick and a fun one, too.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
FirebalaSep 6, 2013
Good humor, good acting performances and the story is not the case so uninspired misfortune than most continuing. Relax and unwind spectacular actions, I have not looked up to 2 hours of film. I can only recommend.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
SuperstarVenomSep 6, 2013
I love the Iron Man film franchise, the previous films delivered childhood dreams for me and the 3rd film doesn't disappoint. There are a few things that they've done in this film that they shouldn't but it's still entertaining until the end.I love the Iron Man film franchise, the previous films delivered childhood dreams for me and the 3rd film doesn't disappoint. There are a few things that they've done in this film that they shouldn't but it's still entertaining until the end.
I have to say, I still prefer the assembly line suits in the previous films compared to the get in and go ones in this film but they did show the Extremis style suit very well.
Hopefully in 3 days time, I'll have it on Blu-Ray.
I highly recommend you buy the Invincible Iron man volume 1 hardcover just to see what the Extremis story arc really was about, look on Amazon.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
EUPOLEMOSSep 2, 2013
Better than Iron man 2.Not as good as Iron Man 1.It doesnt has a lot of points that you lose your interest.I would like a more impresive Mandarine with strong magic powers like in the Comics Marvel Universe.Nice final battle throught.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DarkWolf1991Sep 2, 2013
Great acting and action scenes but wasn't as good as the trailers made it out to be. It was a over-hyped film but that doesn't mean it was a bad film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SirSX3Aug 28, 2013
Great movie. Most people are just pissed about the whole Mandarin thing, thus the low score. This is a great film and deserves higher points. Great humor and good pacing. Yes, there are some things in the plot that doesn't make sense, butGreat movie. Most people are just pissed about the whole Mandarin thing, thus the low score. This is a great film and deserves higher points. Great humor and good pacing. Yes, there are some things in the plot that doesn't make sense, but it's still enjoyable nonetheless. Enjoy it for what it is and don't overanalyse it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Gary64Aug 26, 2013
I didn't like Iron Man 2, but 3 I love it.
I hate sequels, I hate watching same characters, story. I thought it is another Iron Man same movie.
but this movie is completely different movie what I was expecting, completely new different
I didn't like Iron Man 2, but 3 I love it.
I hate sequels, I hate watching same characters, story. I thought it is another Iron Man same movie.
but this movie is completely different movie what I was expecting, completely new different movie, ideas.
That's what I love about it. Everything was great. Great villains, battle scenes.
Robert Downey Jr. is great, just too perfect to be Iron Man.
It really surprise me.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
ncstatemikeAug 24, 2013
[8.0] In some ways it's my favorite Iron Man movie, and it's so much different from the first two. It has much more personality, but it doesn't take itself as seriously as I would have hoped.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
McLaughlinViewsAug 19, 2013
I loved it! Iron Man 3 wiped the floor with the disappointment of Iron Man 2. Unlike the other films of the Marvel Universe Iron Man did take have a darker feel to the film in comparison to the others in the film series. Although I was aI loved it! Iron Man 3 wiped the floor with the disappointment of Iron Man 2. Unlike the other films of the Marvel Universe Iron Man did take have a darker feel to the film in comparison to the others in the film series. Although I was a little let down as the trailer suggested that the film would be more about Tony Stark’s psychological state after his fall from deep space in The Avengers. So when the only real event that was carried on from Avengers (par the world knowing about aliens and the Avengers) was the idea that Tony Stark has now become an insomniac, presumably over the shock and stress of the Avengers, I felt that Marvel had let me down.

However, despite Marvel not taking the move I would of done with this film they still made a pretty epic movie. Iron Man continues to pull it’s quirky humor with yet another great performance from Robert Downey Jr. Iron Man sticks to its high explosive themes and great slapstick humor moments.

I love the Iron Man series, so when I saw just how dark it was I was very impressed the Mandarin had such great screen presence I was almost taken aback by the way that Ben Kingsley had over his scenes was mind-blowing. The use of editing in the Mandarin take over videos was mesmerizing, I loved the change to hand held cameras and the camera effects to drop the quality to make the events more realistic just encapsulated the audience. It was truly a great piece of editing.

Despite all the upsides of this film I do believe that it does get a bit tacky towards the end, I will not elaborate because of spoilers but I thought it dropped in quality from the rest of the film in the last 20 or so minutes. Despite this I promise to every fan of the Marvel Universe and even to those who aren’t all that keen but enjoy light-hearted humor which comes with an Iron Man film, or simply anyone who enjoys a Superhero movie. The film contains exciting twists, turns and impressive visuals then you will enjoy this film.

In hindsight i think this film is a very enjoyable experience which I could easily watch over and over again. I would recommend the film, and when I look back at I remember the community spirit of a cinema all laughing together at once (first time I have experienced that since The Inbetweeners Movie). The film isn’t one that will make you think and change your life but it’s one which could cheer you up with its humor and make a night twice more enjoyable. I would recommend this film to all, I hope you have fun with it.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
TrilobiteGAug 18, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had mixed feelings on Iron Man 3. I'll start off with the positives as I normally do with my reviews (unless there is no positives!). Firstly.....Robert Downey Jr is a number 1 badass as Iron Man!!! I like how he acts and how he is when it comes to being witty. He is almost the merc with the mouth (DEADPOOL MOVIE NOW PLEASE!!!!!). I also liked the action scenes which were packed full of explosions and smart gestures that made up a pleasant scene. However, there were a few negatives about this film that I have to mention. The second half of the film was just meh to me....I mean sure there was 'action' but it was all a bit slow moving and just made me shrug my shoulders. The ending frustrated me the most.....it to me just felt like he just gave up in the end and quit abruptly as being Iron Man. So to sum it up, Iron Man 3 is a pretty good film was some highs and lows. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
gerybotiAug 15, 2013
Here’s another, critic wise, underappreciated movie. I won't link a trailer because I don't condone advertising pizza with pictures of ice cream. Seriously, don't expect the movie to take after the tone of the preview stuff.

THE PLAYERS
Here’s another, critic wise, underappreciated movie. I won't link a trailer because I don't condone advertising pizza with pictures of ice cream. Seriously, don't expect the movie to take after the tone of the preview stuff.

THE PLAYERS

Happy Hogan He's the Jar-Jar of the Marvel Universe, with an uncontrollable badge fetish. He also survives a 3000 degree heat blast by ducking in front of a desk in a mall.
Pepper (Gwyneth Paltrow) is in there somewhere also, but she gets surprisingly little to do for the amount of screen time she gets. Her banter with Tony -who's again excellently played by RDJ- are good and that's kind of it. Oh, and he's basically half naked in the 2nd half of the movie.
Iron Man's other partner and best friend, James "Rhodey" Rhodes, finally gets to show us that there's a badass under and without that grey iron suit. Don Cheadle should legally change his name to Still Not Terrence Howard ".
Aldrich Killian. If spelling Cillian with a K doesn't give away that he's evil, the combed back hair and being played by Guy Pearce will. He's also the man behind the Extremis soldiers (super-powered men at day, ticking timebombs come night time).
Ben Kingsley Dude can A-R-T-I-C-U-L-A-T-E and act ).
And Robert Downey has a scene or two in here. He's snarky, talks fast and acts cool. After that he even tries to act. So he's great.

Play-by-Play

Where's Iron Man ?

No time for a house party. After Happy's long awaited coma time, Tony Stark takes matters into his own hands and informs the good people of his home address. So when enemy choppers trash his place why is did he act surprised and why wasn't he prepared with more than a prototype which can barely fly? If only he had a contingency plan Never mind, he took out a helicopter with a piano.Talk about a well orchestrated move. This is the only scene with Iron Man action in the first hour.

Side story with discount Macaulay Culkin. The child actor playing the kid is actually good and their moments together -for the most part- feel sincere ,but there’sa noticeable lack of Iron Man presence. At least we get to see Tony defeats an Extremis soldier with raw brain power (and a microwave).

PTSD BS. Tony is shown having panic attacks in the first half of the movie and freaks out when talking to children or driving. But when the time comes to blow everything up, he's cool. Because being MacGyver cures mental disorders.(The movie says so.)
Spoiler! The "Mandarin" pulls a reverse Keyser Soze. I sincerely feel torn about this one. It's hilarious, because of the clever setup and execution, yet the decision itself to do this can be questionable. Also, every time this scene gets mentioned, a die hard comic nerd gets a stroke.Personally I learned to really like and appreciate the ingenuity as well as the delivery of it.

Fights, camera, action !

Some Hulk-proof barn doors can be found in America. Stopping indestructible propulsor-accelerated metal is what small town people are prepared for. At the same time, one of the most creative movie shootouts in recent memory is its result.
Fool Pepper once, shame on her, fool me twice you brilliant motherf*cker. That prototype armor is good for something after all.
The Iron Patriot. All I could hear when it was on screen was the Team America theme.But the movie also makes fun of it, so kudos to Shane Black, again. Then in the climax of the movie, a character is put into it. The suit clearly wasn't functioning at the time.After Rhodey having reclaimed it, he could fly away instantly. Also, he didn't quite bother to hurry back to help his friend fight against a compact army of Extremis soldiers.
The end fight. Besides the dialogue being too joky for a life and death battle, this is on par with the best Marvel could offer. The lead-up wasn't perfectly logical with Tony and Rhodey sneaking into the villains hideout on foot, risking getting captured or killed, so that Shane Black gets to do 3 minutes of Lethal Weapon )

Clean slate.SPOILER for the ending It was a very grand and symbolic character moment and all, but the whole plot of the movie was an indicator for why the world needs Iron Man -and why Tony needs replacement suits-.

All in all, Shane Black ironed out most of the kinks that lead led to the fall of Iron Man 2, delivered on a very entertaining piece of cinema and made continuity fanboys throw out their Arc Reactor themed shirts. It's certainly up there with the first Iron Man while being unique compared to every other Marvel movie in terms of structure and execution. The. dialogue is witty, the action is entertaining and clever twists happen.

Note to Marvel After credits scenes are tedious at best. Not unlike this post review remark..

Just let it go.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
sonofosamadamsAug 12, 2013
This is a much, much better movie than that miserable Iron man 2. The pacing is better, the humor is more even, and there's more action and tension. Even with that much praise, Iron Man 3 is still not a great movie. Its plagued by a fewThis is a much, much better movie than that miserable Iron man 2. The pacing is better, the humor is more even, and there's more action and tension. Even with that much praise, Iron Man 3 is still not a great movie. Its plagued by a few underdeveloped characters, predictable plot points and some lame attempts at humor. Throughout this whole movie you just don't feel the sense of wonder that was carried in the Avengers and the original Iron man. The movie is lacking a clear threatening villain, which takes away some of the tension. Alone this movie is pretty solid, up against other films like Thor and Iron Man 2, it really stands out, but with much better movies like Captain America, Iron Man, Avengers, and the Incredible Hulk, Iron Man 3 is a solid blockbuster that will make a killing in sales but will be forgotten in about a year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SuperheroMoviesAug 3, 2013
After The Avengers, it be comes difficult for Marvel to top such a success, fortunately Iron Man 3 delivers with a heavy blow and all the same genius that made its predecessors so great, even improving upon the last Iron Man.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
itriphardJul 14, 2013
Great movie. In my Digital Fine Arts class a discussion about why Tony Stark and Iron Man weren't separate characters. I disagreed with a Theater Major Stating that The story isn't really about Iron Man It was about Starks hobbies and jobGreat movie. In my Digital Fine Arts class a discussion about why Tony Stark and Iron Man weren't separate characters. I disagreed with a Theater Major Stating that The story isn't really about Iron Man It was about Starks hobbies and job interfering with his Relationship with Pepper. Tony Stark isn't Iron man until he puts the suit on. It was embarrassing that a college theater major wouldn't understand what a mask was!
Director did a good job contrasting each relationship. Who is Superman P
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpiclukoJul 9, 2013
While Iron Man 3 is a vast improvement over Iron Man 2, it still doesn't reach that level of enjoyment that the first film did. That doesn't mean it is a bad film, however, far from it. Its action, while scarcely present throughout thatWhile Iron Man 3 is a vast improvement over Iron Man 2, it still doesn't reach that level of enjoyment that the first film did. That doesn't mean it is a bad film, however, far from it. Its action, while scarcely present throughout that middle act, is very solid and the climactic final battle is more than satisfying. Robert Downey Jr. is still flawlessly cast as Tony Stark and he doesn't disappoint in this installment. The humor still shines and it is well executed by Shane Black.

It's a great summer blockbuster for the family. if you're a Marvel fan, this film should satisfy your hunger for fun comic book entertainment. If you are looking for a deeper, more serious installment to Tony Stark's story arc, you may be a tad disappointed. No matter what, Iron Man 3 flies high!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jeff_reviewsJul 4, 2013
After the "Avengers", "Iron Man 3" can be seen as a step down, but is still engaging and fun to watch. With dazzling visual effects, it can sometimes mask the fact that its storyline isn't as well written as the first.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jetstarJul 3, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was my most anticipated movie of 2013 and i have to say, it was a bit disappointing. The man in the iron suit is back for the third installment of this franchise, but is his return a victorious one or was it disappointing? For me, it wasn't victorious as I thought it would be, because this movie has a lot of problems. The poor use of the Extremis storyline was downfall for this film, their was no need for this storyline, they couldv'e just focused on the conflict between on Iron Man and Mandarin. Mandarin is my favorite villain from the Iron man comics and I was really excited on how were they going to present him, in this movie they had a twist about the mandarin's true identity, that twist was my biggest gripe for this movie, they revealed that mandarin was just an actor and guy pierce's character was the real one. I thought that they were just joking, I did not expect them to go on that direction, they shouldv'e just avoided that twist and just stayed true to the comics. The acting in this movie was fantastic, all of them did a good job, especially Robert Downey Jr. and the effexts looked great. This movie was not epic and dramatic as I thought it would be, because if you watched the trailers, then you know what I am talking about. Iron Man 3 was still a fun and good movie, the movie was nice start for Marvel's phase 2 and I am excited for their other movies, also hope that this will not be the last time that we'll see about Iron Man 3. I am going to give Iron Man 3 an 8/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bradtheman123Jul 2, 2013
This was a pretty good movie im not gonna say great but it was still pretty exciting. I think some of the other iron mans were better. And I think they could have added a little more humor. But still an exciting movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
yeski_yesJun 29, 2013
Iron Man 3 was very complex movie, either to the first and second. Yet, it was one of the best in the sequel. Even though the battle was not that epic styled but it was one of the best.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
OddsbodikinsJun 26, 2013
As far as superhero movies go, the Iron Man franchise is up there. Iron man shows the world that you don't have to have been in a lab accident or bitten by a radioactive insect to be a super hero, but you will need several billion dollars!As far as superhero movies go, the Iron Man franchise is up there. Iron man shows the world that you don't have to have been in a lab accident or bitten by a radioactive insect to be a super hero, but you will need several billion dollars!

As usual (and as you would expect), Robert Downey Jr is flawless in his portrayal of Tony Stark. Following the events of the Avengers movie, Downey Jr shows that stark is in fact human with his anxiety attacks and desperation to catch the bad guy. Great performances from Gwyneth Paltrow and Don Cheadle amplify the overall feel and viewer connectivity to the characters, and the casting of Ben Kingsley as The Mandarin is fantastic.

The plot is dynamic and doesn't feel as forced as the second movie did, although it is not quite up to the standard of the first. It is fast flowing as you would expect for a superhero movie and even has a twist or two throw in to catch you completely off guard. The action scenes are edge-of-seat stuff and it makes you feel for the characters when you need to. Its got all the humour that the previous movies have and then some, even making you laugh out loud when it wants you to.

In conclusion, one of the best superhero movies out there. Robert Downey Jr is one of the greatest casting choices to play a superhero and proves it yet again in this action packed and engaging movie.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ZeratulofAiurJun 26, 2013
A sarcastically humorous action movie that starts out a bit slow, but does eventually pick up. They did not follow the books, but it was still a good family movie and the graphics I have to say, were not bad either.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
bigfoot6463Jun 25, 2013
Pretty good flick. Lots of action and surprises. Great acting and a good story plot, but is he Iron Man any more or not? Guess you will have to go see it to decide for yourself. But there will be another Iron Man movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
dougaussieJun 25, 2013
i love iron man movies, but i feel they take these super movies and try to really go over the top with special effects trying to outdo the last one. There is no way in reality for a man to jump and a suit join to him, see it's nonsense,i love iron man movies, but i feel they take these super movies and try to really go over the top with special effects trying to outdo the last one. There is no way in reality for a man to jump and a suit join to him, see it's nonsense, that's what spoils it. I think they could have made a better movie if it would have been a more simple one but smart. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
shpreaJun 24, 2013
In my opinion, the ending of a movie can make or break the experience. Up until the ending, Iron Man 3 was just outstanding. It was exactly the movie I had come to see, full of action, humor, and classic scenes. However, the ending wasIn my opinion, the ending of a movie can make or break the experience. Up until the ending, Iron Man 3 was just outstanding. It was exactly the movie I had come to see, full of action, humor, and classic scenes. However, the ending was terrible. The final act of the movie was just full of plot holes, impractical actions, and the very end in particular completely defeats the whole plot of Iron Man 2. It's a great movie and a must see, however the ending just bombs. It's definitely better than Iron Man 2, but not as good as the original Iron Man. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
justthefactsJun 21, 2013
I think out of all of the Iron Man movies, this was the best. This was a movie I would watch again tomorrow. Everything was good. The acting was good and the scenes were all good.
The action was right up there to where you kept in your seat.
I think out of all of the Iron Man movies, this was the best. This was a movie I would watch again tomorrow. Everything was good. The acting was good and the scenes were all good.
The action was right up there to where you kept in your seat.
I was never bored in the movie and I enjoyed the ending as you should.

We went and saw World War Z and that movie was not good at all. Iron man killed Brad Pitt.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
Cfarrell201Jun 20, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Iron man 3 is a good film. That is probably enough to say about it but unfortunately that can't be the last of it. This film could be a ten if the director didnt have the mandarin twist. Also it tries to be funny but ultimately isn't. Ok the action scenes are intense and exciting but no where near the level as the first movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
AReviewsJun 17, 2013
Iron Man 3 is extremely exciting, with great action sequences and a good plot, but it isn't better than the first one, but better than the second, but although there are some glitches here and there but still you can pass them away easily andIron Man 3 is extremely exciting, with great action sequences and a good plot, but it isn't better than the first one, but better than the second, but although there are some glitches here and there but still you can pass them away easily and enjoy the ride! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DanieldiabolicoJun 17, 2013
Fantastic. I loved this movie. Now that I have seen them both I can honestly say I like this movie better than man of steel. This movie had comedy. A good directed that knew what he was doing. And it had a lot of great action that wasn't toFantastic. I loved this movie. Now that I have seen them both I can honestly say I like this movie better than man of steel. This movie had comedy. A good directed that knew what he was doing. And it had a lot of great action that wasn't to over the top. So basically the opposite of Man of steel. I thought this was a great movie that is good for the whole family. Don't listen to all those bandwagon mandarin fans. Go see this movie. Enjoy, laugh, eat some popcorn. I will say though. Their are some big twists in the movie. Some that I thought were way funny that they did. Some that I was kinda sad about. Still, go see it. I think you will enjoy Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
thecolonel23Jun 16, 2013
I attended the midnight showing of Iron Man 3 and received satisfaction from a movie with a good plot outline, entertaining fight scenes that were planned out with technique, and Robert Downey Jr.'s ability to lift the crowd's humor with hisI attended the midnight showing of Iron Man 3 and received satisfaction from a movie with a good plot outline, entertaining fight scenes that were planned out with technique, and Robert Downey Jr.'s ability to lift the crowd's humor with his sarcastic and very believable role as Tony Stark. All in all, except for a few ending tweaks of disappointment, it was an entertaining movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
srininet1Jun 16, 2013
This movie rocks, and I am writing this after watching Man of Steel (a mega disappointment). This one is so much better than that at every level. The special effects rock see the way the suit clings to him and sometimes throws him offguard,This movie rocks, and I am writing this after watching Man of Steel (a mega disappointment). This one is so much better than that at every level. The special effects rock see the way the suit clings to him and sometimes throws him offguard, also the climax is awesome. The acting rocks RDJ is clearly the master of his game here and others chip in with superb performances too. The story, screenplay and dialogues rock it sounds like how normal people speak and is laced with subtle humor at all places. Most importantly, the film has soul and connects with people, rather than being crash-boom-bang without any purpose. If you haven't seen it, you're clearly missing one of the best films of 2013. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
killian13Jun 16, 2013
this is one of the films that I expected more in the year 2013, the action was there but has lost its freshness of the first film.
two things disappointed me: Mandarin and the end of the film that left me unsatisfied
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
alllifeinfateJun 15, 2013
Pretty split audiences' reaction towards this movie, which is a shame really considering the amount of work and care they took to maintain the Marvel's movie standard. A big task to follow up on one of the biggest movie franchise to date butPretty split audiences' reaction towards this movie, which is a shame really considering the amount of work and care they took to maintain the Marvel's movie standard. A big task to follow up on one of the biggest movie franchise to date but the team behind Iron Man 3 took it as a challenge instead of an obstacle and simply went the other way and focus on the smaller stuff instead of trying to match the big spectacle before it. There are some big set-pieces that holds true to the capabilities of Marvel universe in putting you in awe but the remainders of the movie leans much more closer to a spy-thriller than the usual superhero cliches. It is not a bad thing at all to take a new direction but excluding myself, audiences might feel differently towards the risks taken in this movie, especially with that one big twist.
Truth be told, the original canon is not suitable to be adapted in this day and age, with their aim in extending the Avengers movie franchise that's treading carefully between the 'real world' and the 'supernatural elements'. That being said, I thoroughly enjoyed watching this movie in 3D and loving every minute of it, including the end-credit scene which is bumming me out that it's just a playful scene but not doing much to extend this universe. Not perfect, but certainly one of the best to date!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MovieOranJun 15, 2013
Yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes RDJ you never fail me. This movie was incredible....action packed.....funny and watchable oh yeh and a marvel movie. This movie got slack for its very unexpected twist which made me cry from laughter it's justYes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes RDJ you never fail me. This movie was incredible....action packed.....funny and watchable oh yeh and a marvel movie. This movie got slack for its very unexpected twist which made me cry from laughter it's just sooo good to have an action movie that doesn't take everything so goddamn serious....DC Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BlackfuryRisesJun 11, 2013
Everything I want from a summer blockbuster: Drama, romance, comedy, craaaazy plot-twists, great performances...and action. Action galore. Probably my favorite Marvel film to date...even above The Avengers.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Mothman225Jun 11, 2013
May is the starting month for summer blockbusters. "Iron Man 3" is the first one for this season and it does not let down. Rather than being a tie in to the other "Iron Man" films and "The Avengers," this Iron Man stands out completely on itsMay is the starting month for summer blockbusters. "Iron Man 3" is the first one for this season and it does not let down. Rather than being a tie in to the other "Iron Man" films and "The Avengers," this Iron Man stands out completely on its own in merit. To summarize the overall plot of the new Iron Man, it is basically about the champ down on his luck who needs a comeback. Tony Stark's new nemesis is a mysterious terrorist known as the Mandarin, played in an out-of-character role by Ben Kingsley. After obliterating Stark's home and crippling his iron suits, Stark is forced on his own to survive and try to figure out a way to thwart the enemy's plans. We expect Stark to win and we know he will…he's Iron Man after all. Nevertheless, we want to see how he will triumph over his foes. A frequently overused plot device, it still somehow works and makes an intriguing movie.

Things are often predictable (as in most superhero flicks), but there are also some nice surprises. I thank Shane Black for his contribution as both writer and director for the movie. Jon Favreau is still in the picture as producer and Stark's trusting bodyguard Happy Hogan. Don Cheadle and Gwyneth Paltrow reprise their roles as Colonel Rhodes and Pepper Potts. Paltrow particularly breaks the norm from the typical damsel in distress and makes a stand with a fiery intensity. Guy Pearce and Rebecca Hall step in as new characters, and both seem to be just having fun with their roles (perhaps too much in some scenes).

The film moves at a steady pace. The action and humor is abundant. The VFX is meticulously impressive. The characters are solid. There is nothing more I can ask for in the big budget Super hero flick. "Iron Man 3" kicks off the summer season so far with a smashing success. I hope that "Star Trek Into Darkness" does as well later this month.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews