Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1669 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Iron Man 3 pits brash-but-brilliant industrialist Tony Stark/Iron Man against an enemy whose reach knows no bounds. When Stark finds his personal world destroyed at his enemy’s hands, he embarks on a harrowing quest to find those responsible. This journey, at every turn, will test hisIron Man 3 pits brash-but-brilliant industrialist Tony Stark/Iron Man against an enemy whose reach knows no bounds. When Stark finds his personal world destroyed at his enemy’s hands, he embarks on a harrowing quest to find those responsible. This journey, at every turn, will test his mettle. With his back against the wall, Stark is left to survive by his own devices, relying on his ingenuity and instincts to protect those closest to him. As he fights his way back, Stark discovers the answer to the question that has secretly haunted him: does the man make the suit or does the suit make the man? [Marvel Studios] Expand
  • Director: Shane Black
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Thriller, Fantasy
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 130 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 1, 2013
    91
    Iron Man 3 is an ominously exciting, shoot-the-works comic-book spectacular.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Iron Man 3 is smart, funny and spectacular.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 30, 2013
    80
    It sharply fuses the humor and heart of the earlier films with a satisfyingly heavy-metal strength — and a darkness that’s more than earned.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 1, 2013
    63
    The best scenes are when Stark just cuts impatiently through the claptrap.
  5. 63
    The real question for audiences isn’t whether Tony Stark/Iron Man defeats the latest supervillain (of course he does), but whether the movie itself rises above the dreaded third-in-a-sequel torpor of "Spider-Man" and "The Dark Knight." Spoiler alert: Yes, mostly, it does.
  6. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    May 1, 2013
    58
    Here, it’s hard not to wish Downey were sparring with his costumed comrades again, instead of trading barbs with the far-less-colorful cast members — old and new — of this busy, sporadically diverting sequel.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Apr 30, 2013
    38
    The villains are all wrong, the motivations are muddy, even the gadgetry is off. And the swaggering genius at the center of it all has become a preening fool.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 97 out of 452
  1. May 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers. So first of all, I want to say that I loved this movie, but I do get the hate on it, for it's controversial plottwist.
    But there are some reasons why some fanboys shoud NOT be so angry about it;
    - first of all, the fake mandarin was set up, to not set up a racist stereotype and more of like a fun character.
    - aldrich killian revealed that he was the real mandarin, he even had some dragontattoos across his chest.
    - a big part of the fanbase was angry at Tony throwing his arc reactor away at the end, but Tony states that he is still Iron Man and he picks up one of the extremis holders, which will likely mean that he will build an extremis suit, powered by repulsor technology (which has also been confirmed as the new energysource for the suits.) and this will set up a suit that will allow Tony to go into space with it, and this will probably set up the bridge between guardians of the galaxy and avengers 2.

    so for me this was a very good movie, and I think they've done a great job with expanding the MCU even further
    Collapse
  2. May 4, 2013
    9
    This was a great movie it was really good The was tons of action, it had some funny moments and Robert Downey Jr did a great job acting wiseThis was a great movie it was really good The was tons of action, it had some funny moments and Robert Downey Jr did a great job acting wise as well as Gwyneth Paltrow Don Cheadle, Ben Kingsley and Guy Pearce. Expand
  3. May 3, 2013
    8
    Iron Man 3 was an incredibly entertaining and clever movie. That said, like most superhero movies, it's a popcorn film, the kind where youIron Man 3 was an incredibly entertaining and clever movie. That said, like most superhero movies, it's a popcorn film, the kind where you simply sit back and enjoy the ride. And I3 certainly is a fun ride. Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2013
    6
    This movie has abated the glory of the two previous ones, and gone to a state messed up. At the end of it Tony Stark threw that piece ofThis movie has abated the glory of the two previous ones, and gone to a state messed up. At the end of it Tony Stark threw that piece of energy source into water, and murmured himself still an iron man. It seems that directors have been tired of rationalizing this superman, are earnest to shatter his image apiece, and restore the meaning of “iron man” to the spiritual domain. Thus snapped off together are the gorgeous show of acrobatics in the movie’s body: what such exaggerated myths are for, if the man can remain steel without his armor? It’d be better the directors throw away all his iron pieces at the beginning, and progress on a fleshed man’s struggles with his iron-like spirit.
    Yet watching it is not very tedious, as the visual effects are somewhat good.
    Expand
  5. May 4, 2013
    6
    Going into this movie I was very excited to see what the third installment in the "Iron Man" series would give me. Would it be theGoing into this movie I was very excited to see what the third installment in the "Iron Man" series would give me. Would it be the disappointment that was "Spider Man 3" or a wonderful ride like "The Dark Knight Rises"? Well after going to see the move and coming out I will say it was a very decent movie. While most fans and critics may attack this movie for not following the comics, many inaccuracies and overall slapping fans in the face, I for one thought the movie was very clever. Now I see see most movies in the Marvel and DC Universes their own stories. Not to be taken canon or to heart with the comic stories. They are their own story and that's the way this movie should be viewed.

    The overall story is that a terrorist known as "The Mandarian" portrayed by Ben Kingsley is setting off bombs and causing mass destruction and death all across the United States in order to get to the president of the US. With Tony Stark/Iron played by Tony Stark challenges "The Mandarian" to come after him, so that he may finish off the the threat once and for all. the whole story is set in motion by a flash back to 1999 where Tony Stark is attending a New Year's Eve party and hooking up at the end with a woman who is on the verge of a new way for humans to evolve. Which involves a part of the brain that would allow for regeneration of limbs and many other powers, creating meta-humans. To which a handicapped man approaches Tony and his date about a proposal to join A.I.M or Advanced Idea Mechanics. To which Tony gives his sarcastic remarks and tells him he will meet him on the roof. To no surprise Tony doe snot show and this leads the man to find his own way to get his idea off the ground. This leads this man known as Aldrich Killian played by Guy Pearce to come to Stark Industries to once again try to get Tony or more importantly Stark Industries and Pepper Potts played by Gwyneth Paltrow to sign on with AIM. It is noted that Pepper and Aldrich have a past but it is never gone into or explained which did disappoint me a little. The story does drag a bit until Tony's friend Happy Hogan played by Jon Farveau is put into a coma by another Mandarian attack. To which Tony challenges the Mandarian and leads to his house being destroyed and Tony going to Tennessee. the reason behind that being that when Tony is looking into the blast that hurt Happy and killed others, he noticed an anomaly of high temperatures and uses his vast amount of technology to find similar cases to which a case in Tennessee is discovered and wasn't linked to the Mandarian attacks, and asked JARVAS played by Paul Bettany to set course for later. when he lands, he is presumed dead by the world and meets up with a young boy named Harley played by Ty Simpkins who discovers Tony in his mothers garage and helps out Tony with his investigation. The interaction between the two is very funny and heart warming at times, though in a weird way, with Tony dishing out smart remarks and insults to hide his growing amount of anxiety of the New York event (The Avengers). While this story is going on Don Cheadle as Col. James "Rhodey" Rhodes Iron Patriot is trying to protect the President by trying to find the Mandarin's location. With a few loose ends and a few confusing scenes the story seems to play itself out well and leads to one of the most spectacular ending I've seen in a while, though I will not say what happens, you'll have to see it for yourself.

    The interactions between characters is great for some but poorly with others. Tony by himself trying fight his worries and anxiety of the alien invasion New York is a nice touch, to show Tony's human side and the struggles that he has that can make him relateable. The relationship between Pepper and Tony is really shown fin full here with everything from the fights to the love for each other that they possess is surly believable. The interaction between Ty and Tony is very cute and heart warming at times, with each learning from the other and becoming friends along the way. However which Col. Rhodes and tony on screen it is a bore. They don't really say a whole lot of interesting things and make the scene drag on for a good long while.

    Now the action was intense and very much a joy to watch. From explosions, disruptor blasts and even armor flying through the air, it was spectacular. With not a ton of Iron Man action until the end, it still managed to keep my entertained throughout. The comedy was much better than any of the previous movies and made me want to go see it again just to have that good laugh again.

    This movie was a movie much like the Dark Knight Rises. To show the hero rising up and learning something new and overcoming a new challenge in order to beat a new and almost unbeatable adversary. It is something to be enjoyed in both the story and action sense. As I said don't take the movie to heart when it comes to the comic, or you will be disappointed. If I have convinced you, go give it a watch.
    Expand
  6. May 11, 2013
    4
    This movie was an extreme disappointment to me. The quality of the Iron Man movies is dropping. While watching it it was great, but as soon asThis movie was an extreme disappointment to me. The quality of the Iron Man movies is dropping. While watching it it was great, but as soon as it finished and I got some time to think about what I just saw and I felt some sadness. The story was weird, the bad guys were weird and the whole movie felt off. Hadn't I seen the first two movies, I'd have given it a 7, but I know they can do better. Expand
  7. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    Iron Man 3 seems to be a tired echo of its predecessors. The scenes were bland and the fast, and unusual, pace of the movie, compared to theIron Man 3 seems to be a tired echo of its predecessors. The scenes were bland and the fast, and unusual, pace of the movie, compared to the previous, made it unbearable to watch. 15 minutes into the movie I very munched missed the former director. If Iron Man 3 is a taste of what is now to come from Marvel studios, I will no longer be the devoted movie goer I have been in the past. I have a feeling Disney is interfering too much in the production process now. I hope this does not carry over to the upcoming Star Wars movies or I will not be watching those as well.

    We need character depth and devolpement. Fast paced action is for Michael Bay teeny bopper fans. Blah. Waste of money.
    Expand

See all 452 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More

    Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and More Image
    Published: September 3, 2013
    Find out which summer movies were most liked by critics, and which performed best at the box office. Plus, we check on our users' Metascore predictions for the major summer films to see how accurate they were.
  2. Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium

    Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium Image
    Published: May 2, 2013
    Get the details (and watch trailers) for all of the key films heading to cineplexes between now and the end of August, including the latest Star Trek, Superman, and Hangover films, new features from Sofia Coppola, Joss Whedon, Noah Baumbach, Nicolas Winding Refn, and Edgar Wright, and much more.