Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 2, 2008
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1737 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,580
Mixed:
94
Negative:
63
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
MitchS.May 10, 2008
Worst movie I've ever seen honestly i don't know what they were thinking. Minimal fighting scenes and slow and long. So bad please take my advice do not see this movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
PaulB.May 1, 2008
Definitely one of the best comic book adaptions, and definitely the best superhero movie i've seen. Downey was the perfect choice for Tony Stark - and brings some weight to the character, it was an intelligant casting choice, but then Definitely one of the best comic book adaptions, and definitely the best superhero movie i've seen. Downey was the perfect choice for Tony Stark - and brings some weight to the character, it was an intelligant casting choice, but then you could probably say the same for Pepper, Rhodey and Obediah Stane as well. This is the first fully marvel produced movie, its smart, funny and action packed and it bodes well for the future of the Iron man and marvel franchise. Solid gold. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcoM.May 1, 2008
The Iron Man experience was like going to see the first Spiderman, X-Men, Batman Begins movies, which translates to amazing. The movie had amazing action sequences that kept your eyes locked onto the screen. The comic relief through out the The Iron Man experience was like going to see the first Spiderman, X-Men, Batman Begins movies, which translates to amazing. The movie had amazing action sequences that kept your eyes locked onto the screen. The comic relief through out the movie was right on time with each appearance. The movie has a great montage to get you up to speed with who Tony Stark a.k.a Iron Man was and who he is today in that movie. Robert Downy Jr. played a great Tony Stark. Downey had some great moments where he just told you through his eyes. Then the lovely Gweneth Paltrow played a great side kick through out the movie holding her own, and never being left behind in the story. The movie was about two hours, and I could have possibly seen a three hour version, because the movie was so good. I just hope that with the sequel they stick to what worked and not try to cram so much like Spiderman 3 wah wah! I am going to see this movie at least two more times. Amazing Movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnMay 11, 2008
Very good movie worth seeing in a theatre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattKMay 12, 2008
Robert Downey Jr. is awesome. Jeff Bridges is a great Anti-Dude ("that's a publicity stunt---we made that to shut the hippies up!"). Favreau paces the film very well with the perfect mix of humor, action, suspense, and romance. I was Robert Downey Jr. is awesome. Jeff Bridges is a great Anti-Dude ("that's a publicity stunt---we made that to shut the hippies up!"). Favreau paces the film very well with the perfect mix of humor, action, suspense, and romance. I was hopeful that this was a sign of what's to come this summer (it was perfectly matched with the new Dark Knight trailer), but after Speed Racer, I'm not so optimistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PDiddyMay 1, 2008
The perfect comic book movie. Brilliantly cast, utterly faithful to the characters. There is no flaw, I just wish it could have been longer. I could honestly have watched this film all day long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeL.May 1, 2008
As a marvel superhero movie this was great. Funny at parts and serious at others. I recommend it, even my wife liked it and she only likes chick flicks usually.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WayneR.May 10, 2008
Downey shows what a true master he is, putting his stamp on this movie, a movie where he his remembered and not the character, 10 out of 10 for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlfredG.May 1, 2008
Lot's of fun! Won't exactly tax your mind, but for pure enjoyment, regardless of whether you're an Iron Man fan, this is the one to beat this summer blockbuster season. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabrielK.May 10, 2008
I saw this movie for the world release date and one word can I say... "Amazing". I went to the movie theater expecting another mediocre movie of marvel, but this is was great, I never liked iron man before but now is my favorite hero. Robert I saw this movie for the world release date and one word can I say... "Amazing". I went to the movie theater expecting another mediocre movie of marvel, but this is was great, I never liked iron man before but now is my favorite hero. Robert Downey Jr. fit perfectly the character. The effects, the story and the action is fantastic. You will want to see it again, for sure. For me the best movie I've ever seen for long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TrevorH.May 1, 2008
This movie is a solid B+. The first in the Marvel series to actually adapt real scenes and real storyline from the comics with integrity and modesty. Downey Jr. is perfect as Tony Stark. Gwenyth is a great Pepper. And most important, Jeff This movie is a solid B+. The first in the Marvel series to actually adapt real scenes and real storyline from the comics with integrity and modesty. Downey Jr. is perfect as Tony Stark. Gwenyth is a great Pepper. And most important, Jeff Bridges shows his stripes as an evil villan. Bring on Doctor Doom in Iron Man 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottG.May 14, 2008
Best superhero movie yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AriL.May 16, 2008
Military industrial complex driven movie should be inspiring for a younger generations. Perhaps thats why most of the corporate media gave it a big thumbs up. The perfectly sanctioned Pentagon film for the cattle. Enjoy.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TroyM.May 1, 2008
Robert Downey Jr's amazing perfomance elevates this film to epic heights. Equal in quality to Batman Begins while providing even more flash and eye candy. Best in genre to date, a triumph!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DemetriusM.May 10, 2008
I feel like I was watching a commercial rather than a superhero movie. Burger King, Audi and others really make me feel like this movie was made to showcase all the brands. Sure, Transformers also did it but it was not obvious. Robert Downey I feel like I was watching a commercial rather than a superhero movie. Burger King, Audi and others really make me feel like this movie was made to showcase all the brands. Sure, Transformers also did it but it was not obvious. Robert Downey Jr. really portrayed the billionaire Mr. Stark but Gwyneth really disappoint me. Hope the sequel will be a proper movie rather than a commercial disaster. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
RogB.May 19, 2008
Best popcorn movie in recent memory!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FrederickM.May 2, 2008
its an awesome movie... get that right before you read my review... my reviem does not have any major criticisms so i wont even bring them up... solid performance by downey... great cg effects... decent story and plot... and overall a kickass movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PawelA.May 2, 2008
The best superhero movie I've ever seen. Downey Jr. and the rest of the cast at their best. A must see for all comic book fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenK.May 2, 2008
Best superhero movie in ages!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillG.May 2, 2008
One of the best comic book movies. Downy nailed the part as tony stark. and It is good Marvel is starting to put the Marvel U in movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarrenK.May 2, 2008
So much better than most comic book movies. It manages to tell a compelling story AND have good performances from the entire cast. This is probably the only comic book movie I've seen where all the acting was actually good. The effects So much better than most comic book movies. It manages to tell a compelling story AND have good performances from the entire cast. This is probably the only comic book movie I've seen where all the acting was actually good. The effects are fantastic and there is enough spectacle to keep everybody happy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanH.May 2, 2008
Easily the best superhero movie I have ever seen. Perfect measure of plot, action, CG, physical props, and little subtle additions that the casual fan may not catch, but hard core Marvel fans will feel rewarded for getting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobJ.May 2, 2008
Just so damn good I have to see it again. Look at the teaser at the end of the credits.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JMB.May 2, 2008
The exposition took up most of the movie, but every bit of it was enjoyable. Robert Downey Jr is easily the most likable, badass superhero we've seen in the theaters so far. Bring on the sequel!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RickyQ.May 20, 2008
An entertaining film that feels too much like all the other superhero movies before it. Fairly funny, good acting, and cool effects throughout make this a fun night at the movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeH.May 24, 2008
This movie was amazing! I was actionpacked and alot of sci-fi bombing. The movie had alot of talking I found and not enough fighting although I thought Robert Downey Jr. played the part perfectly he was funny and herioc. Although, the movie This movie was amazing! I was actionpacked and alot of sci-fi bombing. The movie had alot of talking I found and not enough fighting although I thought Robert Downey Jr. played the part perfectly he was funny and herioc. Although, the movie was pretty short of action, but besides that this movie was amazing! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregQ.May 25, 2008
This is the most enjoyable Marvel franchise movie made, is more mature than other comic-book based films (except for the Batman Begins, maybe), and is surprisingly gritty. Those looking for dramatic character development might be a little This is the most enjoyable Marvel franchise movie made, is more mature than other comic-book based films (except for the Batman Begins, maybe), and is surprisingly gritty. Those looking for dramatic character development might be a little disappointed. However there is something to be said for the superhero who is not a "superbeing" but decides to become a hero, rather than the "superbeing" who becomes the hero out of obligation to use his (or her) powers. The dynamic between Potts and Stark is especially well done, and I like how they close out that part of the movie. This is a great movie and you should go see it in the theaters while you can. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TimMMay 2, 2008
Ehhh... overrated. Gotta love Downey though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WilliamG.May 2, 2008
Excellent movie, worth every penny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SimonD.May 27, 2008
I really regret seeing this movie. Acting was average, CGI was average, but it's the storyline that really destroys it. If you watch movies with a critical eye then you cant help noticing there are twice as many government-approved I really regret seeing this movie. Acting was average, CGI was average, but it's the storyline that really destroys it. If you watch movies with a critical eye then you cant help noticing there are twice as many government-approved messages in this one, compared to any of the similar movies that have been released. I realize that's how you have to make them if you want to use the military's shiny toys but is it really worth it? I think John Cusack's "War, Inc" is a much more realistic view of things. On the other hand if you just watch movies to tune out then you'll have a blast, and hey, if the Wall Street Journal gives a movie 100% then it must be cool, right? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeS.May 2, 2008
A decent movie but ultimately lacking. It's 8 parts set up and 2 parts action, and I definitely would have liked more action. The villian choice was a bit lacking, but after the Spiderman 3 fiasco, I'd rather have less than way way A decent movie but ultimately lacking. It's 8 parts set up and 2 parts action, and I definitely would have liked more action. The villian choice was a bit lacking, but after the Spiderman 3 fiasco, I'd rather have less than way way way too much. A decent movie but I wouldn't recommend seeing it unless you're going to see Iron Man 2 right after it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Marc-AndreK.May 2, 2008
This movie was amazing. From the beginning to the end, you keep being involved in this never ending action process.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamD.May 3, 2008
Firmly establishes itself as one of the best comic book movies ever and, at the same time, is a very good film overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EddieMMay 3, 2008
O my god where to start Robert Downey Jr. gives his best performance in his acting career, lines, effects, everything clicks in this movie. Could be argued as the best superhero movie ever made. Only thing holding it back is the brief O my god where to start Robert Downey Jr. gives his best performance in his acting career, lines, effects, everything clicks in this movie. Could be argued as the best superhero movie ever made. Only thing holding it back is the brief ending, needed to go a little more instead of tony stark confessing that he is iron man at a press conference and the credits roll. That was the only downside to this movie, other than that, Iron man is the sh*t, i think its better than the dark knight is going to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeyK.May 3, 2008
Extremely awesome. There's not much else to say. It's awesome, go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WalterS.May 3, 2008
Iron Man was great. The theatre broke out into cheers and applause seven times at the showing. Seven. You probably know what scenes it happened at. It's awesome, funny, and doesn't require a lot of thinking to understand Iron Man was great. The theatre broke out into cheers and applause seven times at the showing. Seven. You probably know what scenes it happened at. It's awesome, funny, and doesn't require a lot of thinking to understand what's going on. Go with the user vote instead of the critic vote on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RobCMay 3, 2008
The only good thing besides the effects is Downey!, almost the worst of Marvel comics.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LauraT.May 3, 2008
Awesome movie. I never read the comic and didn't even know much about the movie before going (my boyfriend wanted to see it) and I LOVED it. I feel like going again tonight. It's so great to see Robert Downey Jr. in something Awesome movie. I never read the comic and didn't even know much about the movie before going (my boyfriend wanted to see it) and I LOVED it. I feel like going again tonight. It's so great to see Robert Downey Jr. in something really good again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlbertoR.May 3, 2008
Makes 100 % justice to its comic book counter part great movies one of the best super heroes movies ever made im really glad this movies was so good from character development and deep to great effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidN.May 3, 2008
The cast shines, the storyline is surprisingly believable for the most part, and the effects are a treat to the wide-eyed ten year-old hiding in all of us. Downey is downright soulful as Tony Stark. A great mix of wit, action, intrigue, and The cast shines, the storyline is surprisingly believable for the most part, and the effects are a treat to the wide-eyed ten year-old hiding in all of us. Downey is downright soulful as Tony Stark. A great mix of wit, action, intrigue, and yes, intelligence. I'm not a huge fan of the genre, but I will anxiously await the sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoolzLMay 3, 2008
Worst Marvel Film Rob? Are you serious? It's among some of the better ones by a long shot. While there was some time at the beginning and end that didn't engage me as well as it could have there were some genuinely great moments in Worst Marvel Film Rob? Are you serious? It's among some of the better ones by a long shot. While there was some time at the beginning and end that didn't engage me as well as it could have there were some genuinely great moments in this film. Also being the obligatory "Origin" story it's hard to stray very far from a story that any marvel fan would be familiar with. It was a good effort and a far cry from some of the painful films of this genre we've been subjected to in the last few years. And despite all odds I look forward to an even better sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielD.May 3, 2008
Best movie of the year! You must go see it! I loved this movie! The graphics in Transformers were impressive but these graphics take the cake! I loved Terrance Howard in the film and I loved Robert Downey Jr. as Stark! He was AMAZING! The Best movie of the year! You must go see it! I loved this movie! The graphics in Transformers were impressive but these graphics take the cake! I loved Terrance Howard in the film and I loved Robert Downey Jr. as Stark! He was AMAZING! The show is very very realistic, and epic. The way their morphed the terrorist complex was very good. Had a few amazing jokes too (and I'm not talking, Spiderman jokes, I was cracking up here! but it wasn't a comedy it still kept pace with the story, and the action). The movie had a lot of acting but not a movie like Shoot 'Em Up who just had acting 24/7 with a weak storyline (but I enjoyed Shoot 'Em Up a lot but this movie is 1,000,000,000,000X better!) A must see! Also in the previews there is a preview for the new Hulk. THE GRAPHICS ON HULK ARE CORNY! DON'T SEE IT! But reach early to see the previews for Batman, and Indiana Jones, and a few good comedies with Mike Myers, and Adam Sandler. GOOD MOVER! 1790/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BenM.May 3, 2008
Fun to watch, but riddled with plot holes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SalMay 3, 2008
Its sick..what else do you want from a superhero movie man, this was no Incredible Hulk or Catwoman which were both flops.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoannaAMay 4, 2008
Fantastic movie, especially RDJr!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WalterRMay 4, 2008
Fun for it's genre. Robert Downey Jr. makes this movie, but the entire cast is solid. Clever, genuinely funny at times, and the effects are all carried off brilliantly. Loses points for being "the same ole, same ole" as far as superhero Fun for it's genre. Robert Downey Jr. makes this movie, but the entire cast is solid. Clever, genuinely funny at times, and the effects are all carried off brilliantly. Loses points for being "the same ole, same ole" as far as superhero dramas go...love interest, villain with similar powers, etc. Won't give away the ending, but it's nothing creative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeP.May 4, 2008
Iron Man is proof that comic book movies can be done right. Everything from casting to special effects was top notch and done perfectly. The acting could not have been better. What a great beginning to a new movie franchise! I am eagerly Iron Man is proof that comic book movies can be done right. Everything from casting to special effects was top notch and done perfectly. The acting could not have been better. What a great beginning to a new movie franchise! I am eagerly awaiting the sequel, and I am now a certified Iron Man fan for life! Support this movie any way you can! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulOMay 4, 2008
Real Good. Everyone else has already said it better than me. Just go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PhilD.May 4, 2008
Slid writing, pacing, direction and acting (Downey has found his character) - only problem is the ending fight sequence - boring and silly
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonL.May 5, 2008
An amazing movie, with clever and unexpected (occasionally) dialogue, great action sequences (albethem few and far between), not to mention the whole thing is a gadget lovers wet dream.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JrWilliamsMay 5, 2008
Marvel cant go wrong. Fun and high flying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielA.May 5, 2008
This movie had all sex, violence, and love the only thing missing was the part where they blew up the Washington post and all their critics in it. Action packed and at this point in history almost believable. If they had shown some way to This movie had all sex, violence, and love the only thing missing was the part where they blew up the Washington post and all their critics in it. Action packed and at this point in history almost believable. If they had shown some way to tie his power pak into high gas prices it would have been solid. cgi was great with only a few flaws ( or features I like to call them). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnMay 5, 2008
Superb film, superb acting, slightly predictable but nonetheless you will not be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AzuanS.May 5, 2008
The best superhero film ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomSMay 5, 2008
Great summer action flick! Nothing negative at all. Sure some of the action was over the top, but it's a super hero movie folks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisMay 5, 2008
Do yourself a favor and go see this movie. it was very good in every way. the idiot comparing ironman with batman begins obviously doesn't know what a good movie is so ignore him. the other FEW ppl who gave it low scores were just Do yourself a favor and go see this movie. it was very good in every way. the idiot comparing ironman with batman begins obviously doesn't know what a good movie is so ignore him. the other FEW ppl who gave it low scores were just looking for something bad to write. go see the movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mr.banksMay 5, 2008
Considering the obstacles that an origin story usually faces, Ironman is easily one of the best first installment comic book movies I have ever seen. That considered: Top Five Superhero Movies Ever: 1) Spider-Man 2, 2) Batman Begins, 3) Considering the obstacles that an origin story usually faces, Ironman is easily one of the best first installment comic book movies I have ever seen. That considered: Top Five Superhero Movies Ever: 1) Spider-Man 2, 2) Batman Begins, 3) Ironman, 4) Superman, 5) 300. Do yourself a favor, and go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexSMay 6, 2008
The best superhero movie yet, can't wait for iron man 2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimS.May 6, 2008
Actually I was so impressed that Stark was able to be pulled off by Robert Downey Jr. And I was looking for a real Redhead ot play Pepper... Her hair seems to go redder through the movie... And she seems to gain freckles... I love it!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidJenningsMay 6, 2008
I was very impressed with this movie over all. Maybe because I didn't expect much out of it. VIsuals were great. Robert Downey Jr. was a very interesting Tony Stark. I was never bored when he was on screen. Not to mention the set upI was very impressed with this movie over all. Maybe because I didn't expect much out of it. VIsuals were great. Robert Downey Jr. was a very interesting Tony Stark. I was never bored when he was on screen. Not to mention the set up for expanding on the universe in which Tony Stark/Iron Man exists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenMay 6, 2008
We need more superhero genre films like this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
deborahLMay 6, 2008
Downey always fun to watch but an ironic performance and lacked heart. And am I the only one who felt that Gwyneth played it like Lisa Kudrow?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AhmadF.AhmadKhairiMay 7, 2008
The movie holds a good balance between action and comedy. Robert Downey Jr was perfect for the role as Stark. Iron Man is a good action movie, not great, but is worth a sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewR.May 7, 2008
Very cool movie. Downey is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GrahamS.May 7, 2008
An epic to start to what is sure to be an epic trilogy...if you like superhero flicks, you can't go wrong, if on the other hand you are " grown up" and have lost all child like wonder in this life then you'll probably hate it...but An epic to start to what is sure to be an epic trilogy...if you like superhero flicks, you can't go wrong, if on the other hand you are " grown up" and have lost all child like wonder in this life then you'll probably hate it...but hey, you're likely all dried up and bitter anyway so no one cares...lol. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianPMay 8, 2008
Wonderful, fun movie ...loved all of it except the casting of Terence Howard....he was kind of a wussy for a fighter pilot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JenniMay 8, 2008
Super fun superhero flick! Robert Downey Jr. is a brilliant Iron Man, fantastically entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaxC.May 9, 2008
This was a pretty great movie and I can't wait for the sequel! This is easily one of the best superhero movies that have ever came out. Watch it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColinG.May 9, 2008
Genuinely entertaining and fun from start to finish. Robert Downey Jr. is brilliant and at the top of his game. As a HUGE Spider-Man fan even I have to say Iron Man is the best comic book based movie I've seen yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SamTMay 9, 2008
No matter how much the CG costs, it will never be a substitute for good dialogue and plot. Iron man was lacking in both of these areas. Acting was brilliant all around, but the stereotypical middle-eastern terrorists/psychopaths were far too No matter how much the CG costs, it will never be a substitute for good dialogue and plot. Iron man was lacking in both of these areas. Acting was brilliant all around, but the stereotypical middle-eastern terrorists/psychopaths were far too cliche. In summary, there was good eye candy and great acting, but everything else was well below average. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
JudyTMay 9, 2008
Do the words secret identity mean anything in this movie? It was pretty good but could have been much better if they had taken the time to tell us how Tony Stark became a hapless playboy. At least with Bruce Wayne we knew his was a facade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MargaretC.Jun 14, 2008
I am now excitedly torn between Iron Man and Batman Begins as my favorite comic book movies. I've always been a comic book fan, but it doesn't always translate to the big screen well. Iron Man looks good, feels exciting, and Robert I am now excitedly torn between Iron Man and Batman Begins as my favorite comic book movies. I've always been a comic book fan, but it doesn't always translate to the big screen well. Iron Man looks good, feels exciting, and Robert Downey Jr. does a great job as Iron Man. His acting is subtle and perfect as he pulls off the gloriously snide and alternately humble hero. His character development makes you feel like you believe a man like Tony Stark could go through hell and come out a hero. I am so looking forward to more Iron Man in many movies to come!!!! PS: Hi T! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CourtneyJun 1, 2008
The movie was overall very good, but i think i ended abit soon. And it wasn't very funny. i know its a superhero movie, but spiderman was funny and its one too. overll, it was not the best but i would see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewD.Jun 21, 2008
Best movie I've seen in a long time, there are no low points and it keeps ticking over at a great pace. Good to see a movie with robots and mechanicals that show the trails and errors of making machines. I will go back to see this again Best movie I've seen in a long time, there are no low points and it keeps ticking over at a great pace. Good to see a movie with robots and mechanicals that show the trails and errors of making machines. I will go back to see this again next week. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KenW.Jun 2, 2008
A good movie to nap to during a Sunday afternoon matinee. Way over rated.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JingH.Jun 25, 2008
Best marvel film ever. Marvel did a good job by making this film independently. Special effects were stunning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LS.Jun 2, 2008
Simply, a great summer flick. The plot lulls at times, but the comedy, attitude, chemistry, and action make up for it in the end. The critics have praised the film, in my opinion, for the way it handles the war - something most films have Simply, a great summer flick. The plot lulls at times, but the comedy, attitude, chemistry, and action make up for it in the end. The critics have praised the film, in my opinion, for the way it handles the war - something most films have failed miserably at. The film doesn't preach to you about international relations, but how we all should reflect on our own actions in relating to the war. A very effective, and obviously praise worthy, approach. But don't go see it for that, go see it for a wonderful performance by RDJ. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShammyS.Jun 3, 2008
Movie was a wonderful experience. At first glance Robert Downey Jr. seems less likely to fill the role but as you go deeper into the movie you realize he was the best choice in the end. Lot's of funny moments, and alot of terrorist Movie was a wonderful experience. At first glance Robert Downey Jr. seems less likely to fill the role but as you go deeper into the movie you realize he was the best choice in the end. Lot's of funny moments, and alot of terrorist being pounded by the Iron! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DawnishA.hJun 7, 2008
this movie deserves a higher rating, it was one of the best marvel movies i have seen in a very long time!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ArinaY.Jun 7, 2008
Love this movie.superb acting from RDJ.the lines are funny and witty.thumbs up for GP..enjoyed the movie very much
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveJun 7, 2008
I think this may have been one of the best superhero movies ever made. It appeals more to a broader audience than the hardcore Iron Man comic book fan. So far, I know of at least 4 people who originally didn't care to see it but were I think this may have been one of the best superhero movies ever made. It appeals more to a broader audience than the hardcore Iron Man comic book fan. So far, I know of at least 4 people who originally didn't care to see it but were dragged to the theater anyways and ended up loving it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KumarD.Aug 31, 2008
It was pretty good, but it could have had a better ending. The climax was too short and mashed up , the fight in the end is not very exciting. Seems like the writers realized that the villain was too powerful too be beaten so they came up It was pretty good, but it could have had a better ending. The climax was too short and mashed up , the fight in the end is not very exciting. Seems like the writers realized that the villain was too powerful too be beaten so they came up with the idea of the explosion or iron man would have lost the fight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RS.Sep 21, 2008
Very strange film, very strange message - seemingly thus; man has epiphany that making weapons is wrong (regardless of it allowing him a billionaire playboy lifestyle). What does he do? Makes himself a new, more powerful weapon and starts Very strange film, very strange message - seemingly thus; man has epiphany that making weapons is wrong (regardless of it allowing him a billionaire playboy lifestyle). What does he do? Makes himself a new, more powerful weapon and starts warring again. Scratch the surface and it still brashly glorifies advanced weapons and war too (I thought in these Iraq war-years we'd all lost our appetite for such things. Seemingly I was wrong. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
7
RobHSep 7, 2008
Robert Downey Jr. was great, but I found everyone else irritating. A solid enough action movie, but it seemed a bit over-hyped for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LGSep 7, 2008
Awesome. It proves once again that a good plot and good acting doesn't need sex, profanity and overflowing buckets of blood. In fact, I think the lack of those three things made it that much better. It was well plotted, well acted, Awesome. It proves once again that a good plot and good acting doesn't need sex, profanity and overflowing buckets of blood. In fact, I think the lack of those three things made it that much better. It was well plotted, well acted, funny and it made you feel good at the end. A great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyHeatMay 8, 2009
Pretty much what you would expect in a movie about a superhero except that the writers allow us to see the human side of the character more than once. Robert Downey Jr does a good job of portraying the role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SatanicMajestyJul 9, 2009
I'd love to have an Iron Man suit to fly to the supermarket and buy some groceries every weekend. Imagine that! This movie is fantastic, it's got so much "metal": an eccentric millionaire, with a devotion for peace, who's I'd love to have an Iron Man suit to fly to the supermarket and buy some groceries every weekend. Imagine that! This movie is fantastic, it's got so much "metal": an eccentric millionaire, with a devotion for peace, who's built a scintillating suit to catch the bad guys. As for Nigel's opinion: let us be kids again, the superhero movie is a genre itself, so don't blame it on Iron Man. By far enough to bother. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GinnyOct 17, 2008
Fun movie, great action. Love the graphics
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PJOct 6, 2008
Stupid. don't waste your time. most reviews are tainted by love for the actor vs. his acting. the plot, acting, and SE are great if you're 13.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jamesMackyApr 28, 2008
Ironman born in 1963.....

Is now reborn 2008.... i rate this movie a full ten banana Splits. Get ready for the thrill of The new #1 super hero. Has everything a geek could want.in fact this movie will appeal to a much larger wider
Ironman born in 1963.....

Is now reborn 2008....

i rate this movie a full ten banana Splits.

Get ready for the thrill of The new #1 super hero.

Has everything a geek could want.in fact this movie will appeal to a much larger wider broader audience then anyone is expecting...

over 100 million opening weekend is in the bag...

Buy stock it will at least double this year.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
fredbobMay 11, 2008
I was really surprised when this movie was done. I really figured it would be just like the rest and fall short of my expectations. Now this and Batman Begins are the only two i truly love!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmirS.May 1, 2008
Robert Downey Jr. was excellent in the film. The CGI was amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KimC.May 1, 2008
I was fortunate enough to go to a screening of Iron Man and I have to say its up there on my Marvel movie list. The action was great, CG superb, and Robert Downey Jr. plays an excellent Tony Stark. Don't even get me started on the Iron I was fortunate enough to go to a screening of Iron Man and I have to say its up there on my Marvel movie list. The action was great, CG superb, and Robert Downey Jr. plays an excellent Tony Stark. Don't even get me started on the Iron Man suit, that thing is just plain awesome. Overall, solid and entertaining movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LewisP.May 11, 2008
This is basically 'Robocop' updated to 2008. Except it's nowhere as good as that film. The '87 thriller is set in the future with a semi-plausible scenario: the body of a murdered police officer is used to create a robot This is basically 'Robocop' updated to 2008. Except it's nowhere as good as that film. The '87 thriller is set in the future with a semi-plausible scenario: the body of a murdered police officer is used to create a robot who still retains traces of the dead man's memories. The core of Iron Man is totally implausible: set in the present time, the iron man (played by Robert Downey Jr.) must prance around with some kind of magnet implanted in his chest cavity, preventing shrapnel from puncturing his heart. Then, he invents an iron suit which enables him to fly at supersonic speeds and kill terrorists without suffering serious injury. Like Robocop, a computer interface is suggested inside the 'mask' of both superheroes; but in Robocop the hero is haunted by the memories of the dead man whose body was used to create him. There is no such internal tension in Iron Man. It's strictly a good guy-bad guy shoot 'em up. Downey plays Stark, the head of a large corporation which manufactures weapons. Stark is depicted as an arrogant playboy who takes no precautions when he travels around in a Humvee in Afghanistan. He ends up being captured by a local warlord and his crew of motley insurgents and realizes that they have been using his company's weapons to fight US troops. Now he suddenly has a change of heart and uses his skills (he's a genius!) to create an iron man outfit to escape the bad guys (they think he's working on a missile). When he returns to the US, he decides to utilize the prototype of the iron man outfit he created in Afghanistan to become a superhero fighting for good. A good part of the film is taken up with Downey designing the new Iron Man outfit; during the 'testing phase' he gets thrown against the walls of his laboratory numerous times (how exciting!). Finally, he starts flying through the air with this metal suit on and almost crashes when he goes too high up in the atmosphere and his suit gets frozen with ice (funny how he wasn't smart enough to invent some kind of deicing device contained on most commercial aircrafts). Terrence Howard (of 'Hustle & Flow' fame) isn't doing much hustling and flowing here in a do-nothing part as an army liaison officer for the munitions company. Similarly Gwyneth Paltrow, Stark's personal assistant, engages in a great deal of pointless banter leading to a non-romantic moment at the film's denouement. Jeff Bridges probably has the best part as Downey's partner in the multinational corporation who ends up betraying him and working with the warlords and terrorists in Afghanistan. But how did he so easily get past the alarm system or other security devices in Downey's home? You would think that breaking into a home like that wouldn't be so easy. In the end, there is the obligatory battle between the two machines (done much better in Terminator 2). Bridges looks ridiculous when he takes off his metal helmet and all you see is his face inside the metal contraption. I fail to see why so many critics gave this film good marks. It's strictly a film for uneducated teenagers who read comic books all day. It also serves to lull people in this country into a false sense of security vis-a-vis the terrorist threat. By creating an invincible 'Iron Man" who can easily mow down terrorists and bad guys, it makes us forget that the bad guys in real life are not so easily defeated. Case in point: 9/11. The only winners here are the actors who collected nice paychecks for participating in such a cheesy and worthless venture. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RafaelC.May 1, 2008
Fun. Cool. Inteligent. Probably the best adaptation comics to movie ever made. Sorry about that, bats...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CharlieL.May 12, 2008
Iron Man is not your typical superhero action flick, at least not until the end. It is a taught, funny, and yes, sometimes even emotionally involving story of an unexpected hero's rise to power and a story of how to forget the past and Iron Man is not your typical superhero action flick, at least not until the end. It is a taught, funny, and yes, sometimes even emotionally involving story of an unexpected hero's rise to power and a story of how to forget the past and muscle up. Until the end. Downey Jr.'s great, Paltrow's great and it's a hell of a lot of fun to watch Jeff Bridges (who will always be The Dude to me) just stand around and chew up the scenery. As i mention twice before, the ending's a mess. It's a cop out by director Favreau to resort into the geeky much weary Transformers territory and brought me completely out of the film (at least until the delivery of Downey Jr.'s last line), pulling the whole cast from 4 star territory down to 3 and a half star averageness, making me decide if the film deserves credit for the ending's iffishness, or the almost great parts in the middle and beginning parts. Going back and being reminded of the first 2 hours or so, though, I would have to go with the latter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidJMay 1, 2008
Amazingly gripping story, acting, special effects, and 'wow' factor. What more could you want.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RaymondA.May 10, 2008
I don't understand what people liked about this movie. Boring and stupid. Cool graphics can't make up for a sagging plot and horrendous storyline.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
xywMay 12, 2008
An absolutely fantastic movie. Best in a very very long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NormanN.May 12, 2008
Really good movie. Robert Downey really embodies Tony Stark. Should be a really great movie for all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful