Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 2, 2008
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1658 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,508
Mixed:
87
Negative:
63
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JakeP.May 16, 2008
It was one of the best comic adaptations I've ever seen. and it was a dang good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DerS.May 17, 2008
Plenty of expsnsive gadgets and state-of-the-art cg for the tech-and-status-obsessed 14-year-old in us all. The dark underside of all of this sound and fury is the perverse idolatry of Hollywood Wastrel #1, Robert Downey, Jr., who is in Plenty of expsnsive gadgets and state-of-the-art cg for the tech-and-status-obsessed 14-year-old in us all. The dark underside of all of this sound and fury is the perverse idolatry of Hollywood Wastrel #1, Robert Downey, Jr., who is in essence playing himself, the bad boy who is more smug than ever for having gotten away with it after all these years. One of the most cynical products of our cynical age. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SteveFraserMay 18, 2008
Excellent movie with great acting and great special effects!! Well worth seeing and then buying on dvd!
Robert Downey is really good in this as he was in Zodiac. He has a good career ahead of him. I just hope he doesn't fall down the
Excellent movie with great acting and great special effects!! Well worth seeing and then buying on dvd!
Robert Downey is really good in this as he was in Zodiac. He has a good career ahead of him. I just hope he doesn't fall down the path of excess drug and alcohol abuse.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnB.May 19, 2008
I'm not familiar with the comics but this movie was garbage. The character development seriously lacked. Who is Starks and why should I care about him? It seems to me that such a conflicted character could have been handled a bit more I'm not familiar with the comics but this movie was garbage. The character development seriously lacked. Who is Starks and why should I care about him? It seems to me that such a conflicted character could have been handled a bit more seriously. The whole movie felt like filler with a few decent scenes mixed throughout. The acting was one dimensional and dialog felt forced throughout the entire thing. A few cheap laughs, guilty of working over the audience multiple times is not what I call comic relief or entertainment. Even for summer blockbuster fare, I thought it really did not deliver. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
ChrisP.May 19, 2008
Better than transformers... and wittier!!! Can't wait for the sequel to the movie a I reluctantly saw!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcD.May 2, 2008
In terms of acting chops and believability, Robert Downey Jr. is head and shoulders above the leading actors from all other "superhero" movies, with the possible exception of Christian Bale from "Batman Begins". His understated performance In terms of acting chops and believability, Robert Downey Jr. is head and shoulders above the leading actors from all other "superhero" movies, with the possible exception of Christian Bale from "Batman Begins". His understated performance drives the film, and his chemistry with Gwyneth Paltrow and Terrence Howard is superb. What I appreciate most about the story is that Tony Stark doesn't gain any supernatural abilities in this film by getting bitten by a Spider, or getting mixed up in a chemical spill, etc. He uses his own skills as an engineer, mechanic, weapons developer (and his own brain power) to get himself out of a tough situation, and to then evolve as a human being by cleaning up his playboy act and using his skills for good. The technological aspects of the story, including the evolution of his suit through several iterations, are extremely interesting. And I especially the fact that the back story is well-developed, and the writers/director didn't spend so much of the movie on the final "fight" scene, which usually makes a movie of this type boring and trite. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickB.May 2, 2008
It was precisely what it needed to be - a great comic flick. The climactic scene isn't so climactic because of action, more just for the excitement of seeing such good actors have a field day. And I was surprisingly not annoyed by It was precisely what it needed to be - a great comic flick. The climactic scene isn't so climactic because of action, more just for the excitement of seeing such good actors have a field day. And I was surprisingly not annoyed by Paltrow. She did well. Downey is one of my favorites, and he continues to slather on the charm that seeps through the seams of his Iron Man suit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadS.May 2, 2008
Ridiculously bad! Literally almost walked out. Most overhyped, overrated, overly stupid movie of 2008? Absolutely! Will this hit big in box office? Yes, definitely. Will everyone be dissappointed? Even more so than Spiderman 3. Please Ridiculously bad! Literally almost walked out. Most overhyped, overrated, overly stupid movie of 2008? Absolutely! Will this hit big in box office? Yes, definitely. Will everyone be dissappointed? Even more so than Spiderman 3. Please don't spend your 9 10 or 11 dollars on Iron Man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.May 22, 2008
Extraordinary movie simply for one reason, and one reason only, the extraordinary Robert Downey Jr.!! It's about time somebody took a chance on this remarkable actor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GB.May 22, 2008
How did this get a score of 78, much less 8.4? Please! What a waste of my money, time, and popcorn. Very disappointing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IsaiahA.May 23, 2008
Believe the hype, "Iron Man" is the best movie of 2008! I really enjoyed this smart, witty, even funny superhero flick with a lot of great special effects and action. I'm eagerly awaiting the sequel! Robert Downey Jr. is perfect in the Believe the hype, "Iron Man" is the best movie of 2008! I really enjoyed this smart, witty, even funny superhero flick with a lot of great special effects and action. I'm eagerly awaiting the sequel! Robert Downey Jr. is perfect in the role as Tony Stark/ Iron Man; Gwyneth Paltrow, Jeff Bridges, Terrence Howard are great, as well, but not nearly as good as Robert Downey Jr. . Jon Favreau was perfect for being chosen to direct "Iron Man", the action sequences were awesome, and the chemistry between Gwyneth Paltrow and Robert Downey Jr. was just too much to pass up. So far, other than "Horton Hears A Who!" and "Cloverfield", "Iron Man" is easily the best movie of 2008! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamMay 23, 2008
I thought it was ok while I was watching it but after I left and thought about it, it was pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnnyB.May 23, 2008
Oh gracious, no! Too many inept attempts at humor. Way too dumb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
souradeepb.May 23, 2008
Splendid movie...best superhero movie evvvvvvvvver.while watching,it felt like 3D or something....already placed order for PC game.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrianLMay 25, 2008
For a superhero movie, there is almost no action. And in the final fight scene he gets his butt kicked by the villain until Paltrow hits some weird switch that kills him? This movie was so dragged out and plotless. Don't see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeM.May 3, 2008
I really enjoyed this movie. Iron man is a perfect sync between action and comedy with some great effects throughout. I seriously couldn't find any faults with it at all. It's everything you could possibly want with a few special I really enjoyed this movie. Iron man is a perfect sync between action and comedy with some great effects throughout. I seriously couldn't find any faults with it at all. It's everything you could possibly want with a few special things thrown in to get you ready for the sequel. If you're seeing it in theaters, stay until after the credits. You won't be disappointed. Best superhero movie since Spider-man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewT.May 31, 2008
Plenty of funny lines almost made this a comedy. Robert Downy Jr's delivery of these lines is totally spot on. The plot is cartoonish, as you would expect, but not so much that it ruins the experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StenD.May 30, 2008
Great movie. Robert Downey, Jr. really grounds this movie and he plays the role perfectly. The supporting cast was also outstanding: Jeff Bridges makes a villain that absolutely warms my heart (I love bad guys). One slight quibble - Gwenneth Great movie. Robert Downey, Jr. really grounds this movie and he plays the role perfectly. The supporting cast was also outstanding: Jeff Bridges makes a villain that absolutely warms my heart (I love bad guys). One slight quibble - Gwenneth Paltrow is extremely appealing in her role, but she doesn't quite manage the screaming damsel in distress parts. Which is actually a compliment - it's about time writers gave up on the tired cliche of the poor helpless female standing there and squealing in fright. A good story simply adds to the overall pleasure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanA.May 3, 2008
Simply one of the best superhero movies ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZeeMMay 3, 2008
There aren't enough words to describe how amazing this movie Is!!..I Can sleep well tonight!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.May 3, 2008
It was fun, funny, and the technology ideas fresh and interesting. It's a comic book movie, you can't judge it's social importance. It's great escapism for we, the Marvel faithful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomE.May 3, 2008
I really enjoyed this movie! They could not have cast a better Tony Stark!!!! Highly Recommend!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GusMay 3, 2008
I thought the story was flat and marred by so many dull plot elements. If not for Downey's irrepressible personal traits that I suppose everyone wanted to be part of the character, there would be no one on screen worth bothering about. I thought the story was flat and marred by so many dull plot elements. If not for Downey's irrepressible personal traits that I suppose everyone wanted to be part of the character, there would be no one on screen worth bothering about. The robot is cool, there are a slew of fancy sport cars, the baddies are politically current and a bevy of hot ladies grace the screen. . . All the essentials are down. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JonH.May 3, 2008
Very good, great CGI
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NancyH.May 3, 2008
I didn't believe Downey could pull it off, but he did. The movie was GREAT! Technology, plot, effects, character development....enjoyed every moment!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyH.May 3, 2008
I'm not a big superhero fan nor is my wife. In spite of that, we both absolutely loved it - as did our kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MM.May 3, 2008
The good: Great, great special effects and CGI. This can't be stressed enough. Great acting all around. The bad: Stale plot, predictable plot. Can you say "stereotypical middle eastern bad guys?" I gotta be honest: I'm not a huge The good: Great, great special effects and CGI. This can't be stressed enough. Great acting all around. The bad: Stale plot, predictable plot. Can you say "stereotypical middle eastern bad guys?" I gotta be honest: I'm not a huge comic book guy and this was the movie I chose to break my streak on. I'm wishing I didn't. This is just the usual Hollywood stuff being churned out en masse as any original ideas have virtually dried up. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RonL.May 3, 2008
Super Fun! Also stick around after the credits. You won't want to miss "The Special Scene"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZacF.May 3, 2008
movie was captivatingly entertaining with its witty dialog and blazing action sequences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeF.May 3, 2008
It simply works. Giving it a 9 seems odd for me, but i can't find a major flaw in this film. It does its job with near perfection. The only reason i can't give it a 10 is the last action sequence isn't perfect or as exciting It simply works. Giving it a 9 seems odd for me, but i can't find a major flaw in this film. It does its job with near perfection. The only reason i can't give it a 10 is the last action sequence isn't perfect or as exciting as it could have been. However, if you have seen this film, you know that it does not hurt the overall quality or enjoyment. It has a good ending otherwise. Oh... and stay after the credits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidDMay 3, 2008
I am not a Iron Man fan. Actually, i don't even know anything about Iron Man. That being said, i did think this movie was pretty cool. Very nicely done. The only reason it does not receive a higher score is because i thought the ending I am not a Iron Man fan. Actually, i don't even know anything about Iron Man. That being said, i did think this movie was pretty cool. Very nicely done. The only reason it does not receive a higher score is because i thought the ending with the boss fight was weak. It took away from Iron Man and how in the hell did the bad guy learn his craft on the first try where Tony Starks' took time and practice? Did not make any sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidJ.May 3, 2008
It was absolutely entertaining to watch Robert Downey Jr. play Iron Man, and the visual effects were just stellar. I only wish they had a real comic book villian but The Big Lebowski for a villian kinda compensates it (Jeff is just a damn It was absolutely entertaining to watch Robert Downey Jr. play Iron Man, and the visual effects were just stellar. I only wish they had a real comic book villian but The Big Lebowski for a villian kinda compensates it (Jeff is just a damn good actor). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RJR.May 3, 2008
Best damn movie I've seen in a loooong time. Fun an liively, even the wife liked it. Well, having Downey Jr. in it didn't hurt for her....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnnpMay 4, 2008
The movie was lots of fun and robert downey jr. was wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TommyG.May 4, 2008
I thought this movie was Awesome! It had a little bit of everything like comedy, action, sexuality ect. The story was not freakin' flat whoever said that. If you have not seen this movie I advise you to go and by a ticket NOW.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachaelL.May 4, 2008
WOW! That's all I got to say... almost. The special effects were absolutely impeccable, the plot was original, and the movie had an astounding life to it! A friend of mine has never been the type to see 'superhero' movies, but WOW! That's all I got to say... almost. The special effects were absolutely impeccable, the plot was original, and the movie had an astounding life to it! A friend of mine has never been the type to see 'superhero' movies, but when I brought her to Ironman, she fell in love with it! Yeah, it's that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RodrigoS.May 4, 2008
Downey jr. is as great an actor as edward norton, i hope marvel keep casting such tremendously talented actors for their susequent movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BradGMay 4, 2008
Incredibly fun and beautiful to look at, but a terrible soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RonAMay 4, 2008
Great action movie with a fast pace.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]May 4, 2008
With superhero movies, it's usually a hit or miss. The only movie of it's genre I didn't like was Batman and Robin (I mean, honestly, "Let's kick some ice?" What a terrible movie). Iron Man had everything it needed, great With superhero movies, it's usually a hit or miss. The only movie of it's genre I didn't like was Batman and Robin (I mean, honestly, "Let's kick some ice?" What a terrible movie). Iron Man had everything it needed, great cast and director, to be good. And thankfully, this was very good. This is this year's Transformers, and so far the best film I've seen this year. I give this movie a 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveF.May 4, 2008
This clever, quick-witted, tightly scripted adaptation of yet another superhero movie may actually turn into one of the most respected and highest ranked movies in this genre
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanH.May 4, 2008
Excellent movie. Excellent. No offense, but you really need to get a lobotomy if you don't want to see this movie. By far the best Marvel movie to date. Excellent acting, amazing special effects, great story, awesome action sequences, Excellent movie. Excellent. No offense, but you really need to get a lobotomy if you don't want to see this movie. By far the best Marvel movie to date. Excellent acting, amazing special effects, great story, awesome action sequences, and it's pretty damn funny, too. What are you doing reading this review? Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatK.May 4, 2008
nearly perfect
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
OliverC.May 4, 2008
I want everyone to just hold on a second and think this through. Is this movie really what passes for good these days? It wasn't more than acceptable. The plot is moronic. I guess everyone just takes that for granted, but can't we I want everyone to just hold on a second and think this through. Is this movie really what passes for good these days? It wasn't more than acceptable. The plot is moronic. I guess everyone just takes that for granted, but can't we maybe afford to raise our standards a bit? Downey Jr is just a sardonic james bond, complete with his own moneypenny and over the top gadgets. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
CJR.May 4, 2008
Awesome movie with a great performance from Robert Downey Jr. Jon Favreau has made one of the top superhero movies ever up there with Batman Begins and Spider-Man 2 maybe even better!!! Fast pace, great humor, awesome action sequences go watch it!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyM.May 4, 2008
One word to describe it, WOW!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanA.May 4, 2008
This is the best comic book adaption yet. Yes, better than Spider-Man 2 and Batman Begins.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanMay 4, 2008
Great movie. crappy music!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveMay 5, 2008
This movie was amazing! Funny, exciting, and well made, I can't wait to go see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RoySMay 5, 2008
Top notch superhero film, with my only wish being that they'd made better use of Black Sabbath's music (it's wasted in the end credits).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AngK.May 5, 2008
Expected another mediocre comic book movie and received an absolutely hilarious and entertaining piece of comic genius. If I wasn't sure about Robert Downey Jr. before, I love him now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarcoC.May 5, 2008
I found the movie very slow and did not impress with the special effect. After Transformers, Ironman should have been incredible, and it was not!!!! don't spend your money on this movie...it is not worth it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
halbMay 5, 2008
Check your brain at the door and have a blast. Very entertaining for the genre. Robert Downey Jr. and Gwyneth Paltrow are excellent. A fine mix of plot, character quirks, humor and special effects (not overdone for a change; until the Check your brain at the door and have a blast. Very entertaining for the genre. Robert Downey Jr. and Gwyneth Paltrow are excellent. A fine mix of plot, character quirks, humor and special effects (not overdone for a change; until the ending). The climax is predictable and cliche'd, but otherwise this is a fine summetime (okay, springtime) escape. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IronManMay 5, 2008
This was an amazing movie! the special effects were irreplaceable the weapons and gadgetry were awesome and the suit was CRAZY best movie ever
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LindaW.May 6, 2008
Finally, Robert Downy Jr. is back!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AlexC.May 7, 2008
I can't believe all the good reviews here Downey spends more than half the movie making the Iron Suit and making eyes at Gwenyth Paltrow. YAWN !!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidV.May 7, 2008
A fun summer movie with great special effects and performances. I found the last battle to a be a little anti-climactic though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RichardO.May 7, 2008
Needed more action scenes, but altogether a sound movie. The trailers really gave up too much of what the movie was about. By the way, stay after the movie credits are over, there's more secret footage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KAMay 7, 2008
The worst. Another manichean cartoon using our sad political state to justify it's embarrassing and simplistic obsession with power.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Traveller1976May 8, 2008
Fantastic; refreshing. I finally belief in the flawed anti-hero on the big screen Downey and Favreau deliver a power punch yet delicate film one I will care about later.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JG.May 9, 2008
Surprise! This movie was actually great. Terrence Howard which normally is fantastic was a little campy and Gwyneth who played smart through out the movie had the dumb scary screen girl moment with cheesy lines, but the rest was awesome. Surprise! This movie was actually great. Terrence Howard which normally is fantastic was a little campy and Gwyneth who played smart through out the movie had the dumb scary screen girl moment with cheesy lines, but the rest was awesome. Robert, who was always one of my favorite actors since his B/C-list days of "Tuff Turf" early 80s flick look it up, is back on top. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RonFMay 9, 2008
Even checking your brain at the door might not be enough to save this film. I got a free ticket and felt that was an over-charge. To be truthful, I did walk out half way through (around the time where Ms Potts pulls the coil out of Even checking your brain at the door might not be enough to save this film. I got a free ticket and felt that was an over-charge. To be truthful, I did walk out half way through (around the time where Ms Potts pulls the coil out of Stark's chest), so it might have picked up from there. If you are gung-ho military, have racist attitudes towards Afghans and do not mind a very unconvincing script, see this movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AvicennaA.May 9, 2008
Spectacular, funny, refreshing, and excellently crafted!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobL.Jun 13, 2008
Best of film of the summer. It deserves an Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CliffBJun 13, 2008
Good for what it is, a comic book super hero movie. Much more enjoyable than the last Spider Man movie. I would like to see a less predictable story, but hey like I said, it is what it is and it does a good job doing it. I had doubts about Good for what it is, a comic book super hero movie. Much more enjoyable than the last Spider Man movie. I would like to see a less predictable story, but hey like I said, it is what it is and it does a good job doing it. I had doubts about them being able to pull of Iron Man with the masses. Great casting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArmaganC.Jun 19, 2008
Val Kilmer as Batman? No way..... Hugh Jackman as wolverine ? !00% right choice, has soul and hearth. Downey Jr. is Tony Stark ,nothing more or less ,with hearth and soul, like Jack Nicholson as Joker. Come on people, don´t throw some Val Kilmer as Batman? No way..... Hugh Jackman as wolverine ? !00% right choice, has soul and hearth. Downey Jr. is Tony Stark ,nothing more or less ,with hearth and soul, like Jack Nicholson as Joker. Come on people, don´t throw some 2-3 rating for this movie , it is the first Iron man movie.There were many failures at Batman History and at the and we have majestic glorius Batman Begins. Iron man will grow with a good placed sequel ,i have faith.Go to Cinema , watch it ,enjoy ,it is worth to do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChuckN.Jun 20, 2008
I though Iron man was a really good movie. It had action, humor and a excellent storyline. I can't wait when they make a second iron man in 2010.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MinhNJun 27, 2008
Not what I expected. Some very very obvious product placement and not enough storyline but a decent film overall.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrandonT.Jun 27, 2008
One of the best action films I've ever seen. Excellent acting and a gripping story with a well done script. I'm not a huge fan of superhero movies though and it didn't quite feel like a classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkoJ.Jun 7, 2008
I liked this one very much. Downing was great. I do wish that not every movie had to be about how corporations are evil, and the U.S. Government is evil. Maybe we could be the good guys? But the movie is pretty close to the books, and it was I liked this one very much. Downing was great. I do wish that not every movie had to be about how corporations are evil, and the U.S. Government is evil. Maybe we could be the good guys? But the movie is pretty close to the books, and it was very entertaining and well done. A must see if you like smart action movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JesterJul 10, 2008
Is anyone else out there getting sick of good actors taking paydays by getting dressed up in superhero costumes? Are we really facing a generation that has the maturity level of a 12 year old boy? In any case, I thought the movie was entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KurtC.Jul 13, 2008
Very good stroryline.Only problem is that obadiah stane is like santa claus with a shaved head and the iron monger armor looks like a hunk of scrap metal.Overall, its a very good film
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChrisC.Jul 13, 2008
A pretty good movie, with some obvious product placement, and some unrealistic CGI. What I cannot see though, is how IMDB managed to place Ironman in its top 250 movies of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkW.Aug 12, 2008
Sure the plot line was not earth-shattering but this is a popcorn munching film based on a comic book. The humor, the characters, the action and the special effects are acting are more than supported by a simple but effective plotline. IMO Sure the plot line was not earth-shattering but this is a popcorn munching film based on a comic book. The humor, the characters, the action and the special effects are acting are more than supported by a simple but effective plotline. IMO better than the Spiderman movies and a different beast than the more introspective Batman Begins and Dark Knight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewP.Aug 19, 2008
Easily the best superhero film of the year, forget about any film that tries too hard to be dark and brooding - superhero films should be fun and this certainly is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeyZ.Sep 13, 2008
Probably one of the best movies I've ever seen this year! Highly entertaining! You should definitely see this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CzarSep 15, 2008
It was ok - I expected more. The whole cave scene was silly - of all the things he could of done - why build a suit? The ending was boring and confusing. The film was entertaining but shallow in development and had some big holes in it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Sep 24, 2008
The film obviously has a top notch production, the special effects are first rate, the art direction outstanding. Good performances. I do feel it was lacking in substance and clearly was not as enthralled with the film as most. It indeed is The film obviously has a top notch production, the special effects are first rate, the art direction outstanding. Good performances. I do feel it was lacking in substance and clearly was not as enthralled with the film as most. It indeed is imaginative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewK.Sep 24, 2008
Tony Stark is hilarious! Great acting, great story, great Action! Very entertaining, can't wait to see what Marvel cooks up next. The Avengers, perhaps?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZackaryS.Sep 29, 2008
I dont normally go around giving 10's out unless i really mean it and i really do mean it. this is the must own DVD of the YEAR!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveHDec 8, 2009
Definitely an amazing film. No words to describe it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JSDec 9, 2009
No plot. Cliche, mock 30's style acting. Its just another movie rated highly because it had a big effects budget. Totally illogical, pointless, and even racist at time. I forced myself through the movie, hoping it would get somewhere. I No plot. Cliche, mock 30's style acting. Its just another movie rated highly because it had a big effects budget. Totally illogical, pointless, and even racist at time. I forced myself through the movie, hoping it would get somewhere. I ended up wondering where the movie went (did it even start? where's the substance?) and wishing I had used that time to get some more sleep. You're kind of just there to watch the 10 minute opening action scene. Just a big nothing of an action movie. Conglomerated, forced. It did have a smidgen of personality and a few funny parts. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
9
MasterOrbApr 29, 2009
Only one problem: the idea that you can tell terrorists you are building a rocket while imprisoned in their secret base but secretly build a huge metal suit, all while on closed-circuit TV, without them knowing. I know you're supposed Only one problem: the idea that you can tell terrorists you are building a rocket while imprisoned in their secret base but secretly build a huge metal suit, all while on closed-circuit TV, without them knowing. I know you're supposed to suspend your disbelief with comic book movies but this was so ridiculous that it really took me out of the film. besides that, it kicks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnWOct 13, 2008
Likely one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Pay attention to those that score this movie with a low rating; they're actually the ones who know what they're talking about. Movie Summary: over 45 minutes of watching our hero Likely one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Pay attention to those that score this movie with a low rating; they're actually the ones who know what they're talking about. Movie Summary: over 45 minutes of watching our hero build the machine. If I wanted to watch the 'A-Team' again with B.A. Baracus I would, but I certainly wouldn't want 45 minutes straight. He then flies away in his machine and is picked up by his American friends. Rest of Movie Summary: Our hero has a change of heart and decides to not build weapons for the military. Yet, of course he builds one for himself and carries on to destroy some badboy 'terrorists'. Our hero tweaks machine to perfect the machine. This process takes an additional 30 minutes minimum. Weak romance/humor displayed between our hero and his secretary. Villain of movie makes bigger version of the flying gayboy contraption. Villain of movie wacks our hero around for awhile, hero of course wins battle of the gayboy flying machines. This movie is utterly pathetic with poorly played 'terrorists' and scenes that dwelled far too long to get the point across. If I could get my money back, I would. Time not well spent. Oh, 2 points is awarded for the 'cool' sunglasses that I'm sure gayfanboys around the world will flock to buy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidFOct 17, 2008
This is a movie I would have never seen, but for rave reviews of others. I'm glad I did. This is much better done than the typical comic-book sendup. A really great movie that keeps your attention throughout. A rare repeat for me, as I This is a movie I would have never seen, but for rave reviews of others. I'm glad I did. This is much better done than the typical comic-book sendup. A really great movie that keeps your attention throughout. A rare repeat for me, as I don't usually pay for a movie twice. I had to see this again! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickK.Oct 26, 2008
First off, I have never seen a Robert Downey Jr. Movie before this one, so you can't call me biased. I loved the movie. It had it all. Romance, comedy, quick wit, and of course, action. This is THE best movie I had ever seen and I First off, I have never seen a Robert Downey Jr. Movie before this one, so you can't call me biased. I loved the movie. It had it all. Romance, comedy, quick wit, and of course, action. This is THE best movie I had ever seen and I strongly disagree with those who gave it mediocre ratings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JJB.May 11, 2008
I was surprisingly impressed. After all the comic book and super hero movies that have fallen very short, Iron Man definitely delivered. Slipping in a foreshadow of Iron Man 2 was also a nice touch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DougN.May 11, 2008
Very well done. Liked the story development, humour, and updated story too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CindyK.May 11, 2008
Iron Man was GREAT!!! Robert Downey Jr. deserves all the kudos he gets. I am a huge Downey fan and he is the one who made Iron Man a huge hit!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OrenK.May 12, 2008
One of the best movies i have never seen! sometimes it gets a little to crazy but still is really good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GilbertL.May 12, 2008
Run of the mill plot twists almost seem besides the point in this movie. The director/producers/screenwriters hit all the marks of a typical superhero movie, knowing that the movie will be a crowd pleaser.This movie feels as though it would Run of the mill plot twists almost seem besides the point in this movie. The director/producers/screenwriters hit all the marks of a typical superhero movie, knowing that the movie will be a crowd pleaser.This movie feels as though it would have been fresh at least 10 years ago, but, as seen in 2008, the movie is somewhat dull. Robert Downey Jr's line readings and the banter between him and Gwyneth Paltrow are the most entertaining elements of the movie. Even the character of the villain is boring. If a movie of this sort doesn't have a strong, seemingly invincible villain, then what is the point? Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
MichelleBMay 12, 2008
A surprisingly original take on the superhero genre. Clever casting, irony and a wonderful Downey make even the clunky "escape from captivity" sequence and predictable "oh here's the ring on the evil villain" scene--plausible. This A surprisingly original take on the superhero genre. Clever casting, irony and a wonderful Downey make even the clunky "escape from captivity" sequence and predictable "oh here's the ring on the evil villain" scene--plausible. This movie thrills the eye and gives geeks and cool kids something to applaud. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MorganB.May 15, 2008
I've never been a giant fan of Comic book movies, but I always seem to enjoy then none the less-as long as there decent:I'm talking to you Incredable Hulk. Though I don't quite have words to describe how wonderful this movie I've never been a giant fan of Comic book movies, but I always seem to enjoy then none the less-as long as there decent:I'm talking to you Incredable Hulk. Though I don't quite have words to describe how wonderful this movie was-and how amazing Robert Downey Jr was. No one, absolutely no one could have played this character better. It's the best casting I've seen since John Barrowman in Torchwood. Amazing story, fantasticly snarky, and the genious of Robert Downey Jr, who could ask for more! I saw it twice the first weekend:) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TiernanS.May 15, 2008
The strengths of this film are numerous. It's got a funny, sharp, fast, and witty script and a terrific and inspired performance by Downey Jr., complemented well by Paltrow. Strangely, the best action happens before the climax as Downey The strengths of this film are numerous. It's got a funny, sharp, fast, and witty script and a terrific and inspired performance by Downey Jr., complemented well by Paltrow. Strangely, the best action happens before the climax as Downey discovers the flying machine warrior wihin and escapes captivity. Bridges' villian is unfortunately rather bland and sterile. His character establishes the requirement for a villian, but doesn't really inhabit the film as a truly necessary story element, which is pretty odd. The final showdown is actually a tad hokey and stagnant, and that's surprising for such an otherwise stellar super hero movie. Great entertainment nonetheless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilWMay 18, 2008
This was the best comic book based film I have ever seen. It was so well done that you never say to yourself 'that is so unreal' --- even if it is in real life. It takes quite an exceptionally well done production to make you focus This was the best comic book based film I have ever seen. It was so well done that you never say to yourself 'that is so unreal' --- even if it is in real life. It takes quite an exceptionally well done production to make you focus on the story at hand, and keep you involved and Iron Man does that easily. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisT.May 19, 2008
This is quite possibly the best movie to come out of the Marvel franchise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaimeL.May 21, 2008
This has honestley been the best movie marvel has made. It gets staright to the point and the effects are great. Its a movie that people dont get tired of watching overs and overs again. Since this movie is so great the sequel will do even This has honestley been the best movie marvel has made. It gets staright to the point and the effects are great. Its a movie that people dont get tired of watching overs and overs again. Since this movie is so great the sequel will do even better but until then this is the movie that hasnt been beatin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GRigMay 23, 2008
The movie was fantastic but i feel that it had the same anticlimactic ending as the first fantastic 4 movie. I wanted more of the suit action!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ToreyA.May 27, 2008
The movie was good stupid fun with a pretty good plot line that gets ruined by a horrible climax.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DDMay 28, 2008
Great Movie and can't wait for Part 2!
0 of 0 users found this helpful