Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 2, 2008
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1673 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,522
Mixed:
88
Negative:
63
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
LauraT.May 3, 2008
Awesome movie. I never read the comic and didn't even know much about the movie before going (my boyfriend wanted to see it) and I LOVED it. I feel like going again tonight. It's so great to see Robert Downey Jr. in something Awesome movie. I never read the comic and didn't even know much about the movie before going (my boyfriend wanted to see it) and I LOVED it. I feel like going again tonight. It's so great to see Robert Downey Jr. in something really good again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlbertoR.May 3, 2008
Makes 100 % justice to its comic book counter part great movies one of the best super heroes movies ever made im really glad this movies was so good from character development and deep to great effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidN.May 3, 2008
The cast shines, the storyline is surprisingly believable for the most part, and the effects are a treat to the wide-eyed ten year-old hiding in all of us. Downey is downright soulful as Tony Stark. A great mix of wit, action, intrigue, and The cast shines, the storyline is surprisingly believable for the most part, and the effects are a treat to the wide-eyed ten year-old hiding in all of us. Downey is downright soulful as Tony Stark. A great mix of wit, action, intrigue, and yes, intelligence. I'm not a huge fan of the genre, but I will anxiously await the sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoolzLMay 3, 2008
Worst Marvel Film Rob? Are you serious? It's among some of the better ones by a long shot. While there was some time at the beginning and end that didn't engage me as well as it could have there were some genuinely great moments in Worst Marvel Film Rob? Are you serious? It's among some of the better ones by a long shot. While there was some time at the beginning and end that didn't engage me as well as it could have there were some genuinely great moments in this film. Also being the obligatory "Origin" story it's hard to stray very far from a story that any marvel fan would be familiar with. It was a good effort and a far cry from some of the painful films of this genre we've been subjected to in the last few years. And despite all odds I look forward to an even better sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielD.May 3, 2008
Best movie of the year! You must go see it! I loved this movie! The graphics in Transformers were impressive but these graphics take the cake! I loved Terrance Howard in the film and I loved Robert Downey Jr. as Stark! He was AMAZING! The Best movie of the year! You must go see it! I loved this movie! The graphics in Transformers were impressive but these graphics take the cake! I loved Terrance Howard in the film and I loved Robert Downey Jr. as Stark! He was AMAZING! The show is very very realistic, and epic. The way their morphed the terrorist complex was very good. Had a few amazing jokes too (and I'm not talking, Spiderman jokes, I was cracking up here! but it wasn't a comedy it still kept pace with the story, and the action). The movie had a lot of acting but not a movie like Shoot 'Em Up who just had acting 24/7 with a weak storyline (but I enjoyed Shoot 'Em Up a lot but this movie is 1,000,000,000,000X better!) A must see! Also in the previews there is a preview for the new Hulk. THE GRAPHICS ON HULK ARE CORNY! DON'T SEE IT! But reach early to see the previews for Batman, and Indiana Jones, and a few good comedies with Mike Myers, and Adam Sandler. GOOD MOVER! 1790/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BenM.May 3, 2008
Fun to watch, but riddled with plot holes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SalMay 3, 2008
Its sick..what else do you want from a superhero movie man, this was no Incredible Hulk or Catwoman which were both flops.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoannaAMay 4, 2008
Fantastic movie, especially RDJr!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WalterRMay 4, 2008
Fun for it's genre. Robert Downey Jr. makes this movie, but the entire cast is solid. Clever, genuinely funny at times, and the effects are all carried off brilliantly. Loses points for being "the same ole, same ole" as far as superhero Fun for it's genre. Robert Downey Jr. makes this movie, but the entire cast is solid. Clever, genuinely funny at times, and the effects are all carried off brilliantly. Loses points for being "the same ole, same ole" as far as superhero dramas go...love interest, villain with similar powers, etc. Won't give away the ending, but it's nothing creative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeP.May 4, 2008
Iron Man is proof that comic book movies can be done right. Everything from casting to special effects was top notch and done perfectly. The acting could not have been better. What a great beginning to a new movie franchise! I am eagerly Iron Man is proof that comic book movies can be done right. Everything from casting to special effects was top notch and done perfectly. The acting could not have been better. What a great beginning to a new movie franchise! I am eagerly awaiting the sequel, and I am now a certified Iron Man fan for life! Support this movie any way you can! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulOMay 4, 2008
Real Good. Everyone else has already said it better than me. Just go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PhilD.May 4, 2008
Slid writing, pacing, direction and acting (Downey has found his character) - only problem is the ending fight sequence - boring and silly
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonL.May 5, 2008
An amazing movie, with clever and unexpected (occasionally) dialogue, great action sequences (albethem few and far between), not to mention the whole thing is a gadget lovers wet dream.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JrWilliamsMay 5, 2008
Marvel cant go wrong. Fun and high flying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielA.May 5, 2008
This movie had all sex, violence, and love the only thing missing was the part where they blew up the Washington post and all their critics in it. Action packed and at this point in history almost believable. If they had shown some way to This movie had all sex, violence, and love the only thing missing was the part where they blew up the Washington post and all their critics in it. Action packed and at this point in history almost believable. If they had shown some way to tie his power pak into high gas prices it would have been solid. cgi was great with only a few flaws ( or features I like to call them). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnMay 5, 2008
Superb film, superb acting, slightly predictable but nonetheless you will not be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AzuanS.May 5, 2008
The best superhero film ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomSMay 5, 2008
Great summer action flick! Nothing negative at all. Sure some of the action was over the top, but it's a super hero movie folks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisMay 5, 2008
Do yourself a favor and go see this movie. it was very good in every way. the idiot comparing ironman with batman begins obviously doesn't know what a good movie is so ignore him. the other FEW ppl who gave it low scores were just Do yourself a favor and go see this movie. it was very good in every way. the idiot comparing ironman with batman begins obviously doesn't know what a good movie is so ignore him. the other FEW ppl who gave it low scores were just looking for something bad to write. go see the movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mr.banksMay 5, 2008
Considering the obstacles that an origin story usually faces, Ironman is easily one of the best first installment comic book movies I have ever seen. That considered: Top Five Superhero Movies Ever: 1) Spider-Man 2, 2) Batman Begins, 3) Considering the obstacles that an origin story usually faces, Ironman is easily one of the best first installment comic book movies I have ever seen. That considered: Top Five Superhero Movies Ever: 1) Spider-Man 2, 2) Batman Begins, 3) Ironman, 4) Superman, 5) 300. Do yourself a favor, and go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexSMay 6, 2008
The best superhero movie yet, can't wait for iron man 2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimS.May 6, 2008
Actually I was so impressed that Stark was able to be pulled off by Robert Downey Jr. And I was looking for a real Redhead ot play Pepper... Her hair seems to go redder through the movie... And she seems to gain freckles... I love it!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidJenningsMay 6, 2008
I was very impressed with this movie over all. Maybe because I didn't expect much out of it. VIsuals were great. Robert Downey Jr. was a very interesting Tony Stark. I was never bored when he was on screen. Not to mention the set upI was very impressed with this movie over all. Maybe because I didn't expect much out of it. VIsuals were great. Robert Downey Jr. was a very interesting Tony Stark. I was never bored when he was on screen. Not to mention the set up for expanding on the universe in which Tony Stark/Iron Man exists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenMay 6, 2008
We need more superhero genre films like this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
deborahLMay 6, 2008
Downey always fun to watch but an ironic performance and lacked heart. And am I the only one who felt that Gwyneth played it like Lisa Kudrow?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AhmadF.AhmadKhairiMay 7, 2008
The movie holds a good balance between action and comedy. Robert Downey Jr was perfect for the role as Stark. Iron Man is a good action movie, not great, but is worth a sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewR.May 7, 2008
Very cool movie. Downey is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GrahamS.May 7, 2008
An epic to start to what is sure to be an epic trilogy...if you like superhero flicks, you can't go wrong, if on the other hand you are " grown up" and have lost all child like wonder in this life then you'll probably hate it...but An epic to start to what is sure to be an epic trilogy...if you like superhero flicks, you can't go wrong, if on the other hand you are " grown up" and have lost all child like wonder in this life then you'll probably hate it...but hey, you're likely all dried up and bitter anyway so no one cares...lol. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianPMay 8, 2008
Wonderful, fun movie ...loved all of it except the casting of Terence Howard....he was kind of a wussy for a fighter pilot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JenniMay 8, 2008
Super fun superhero flick! Robert Downey Jr. is a brilliant Iron Man, fantastically entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaxC.May 9, 2008
This was a pretty great movie and I can't wait for the sequel! This is easily one of the best superhero movies that have ever came out. Watch it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ColinG.May 9, 2008
Genuinely entertaining and fun from start to finish. Robert Downey Jr. is brilliant and at the top of his game. As a HUGE Spider-Man fan even I have to say Iron Man is the best comic book based movie I've seen yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SamTMay 9, 2008
No matter how much the CG costs, it will never be a substitute for good dialogue and plot. Iron man was lacking in both of these areas. Acting was brilliant all around, but the stereotypical middle-eastern terrorists/psychopaths were far too No matter how much the CG costs, it will never be a substitute for good dialogue and plot. Iron man was lacking in both of these areas. Acting was brilliant all around, but the stereotypical middle-eastern terrorists/psychopaths were far too cliche. In summary, there was good eye candy and great acting, but everything else was well below average. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
JudyTMay 9, 2008
Do the words secret identity mean anything in this movie? It was pretty good but could have been much better if they had taken the time to tell us how Tony Stark became a hapless playboy. At least with Bruce Wayne we knew his was a facade.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MargaretC.Jun 14, 2008
I am now excitedly torn between Iron Man and Batman Begins as my favorite comic book movies. I've always been a comic book fan, but it doesn't always translate to the big screen well. Iron Man looks good, feels exciting, and Robert I am now excitedly torn between Iron Man and Batman Begins as my favorite comic book movies. I've always been a comic book fan, but it doesn't always translate to the big screen well. Iron Man looks good, feels exciting, and Robert Downey Jr. does a great job as Iron Man. His acting is subtle and perfect as he pulls off the gloriously snide and alternately humble hero. His character development makes you feel like you believe a man like Tony Stark could go through hell and come out a hero. I am so looking forward to more Iron Man in many movies to come!!!! PS: Hi T! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CourtneyJun 1, 2008
The movie was overall very good, but i think i ended abit soon. And it wasn't very funny. i know its a superhero movie, but spiderman was funny and its one too. overll, it was not the best but i would see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewD.Jun 21, 2008
Best movie I've seen in a long time, there are no low points and it keeps ticking over at a great pace. Good to see a movie with robots and mechanicals that show the trails and errors of making machines. I will go back to see this again Best movie I've seen in a long time, there are no low points and it keeps ticking over at a great pace. Good to see a movie with robots and mechanicals that show the trails and errors of making machines. I will go back to see this again next week. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KenW.Jun 2, 2008
A good movie to nap to during a Sunday afternoon matinee. Way over rated.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JingH.Jun 25, 2008
Best marvel film ever. Marvel did a good job by making this film independently. Special effects were stunning.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LS.Jun 2, 2008
Simply, a great summer flick. The plot lulls at times, but the comedy, attitude, chemistry, and action make up for it in the end. The critics have praised the film, in my opinion, for the way it handles the war - something most films have Simply, a great summer flick. The plot lulls at times, but the comedy, attitude, chemistry, and action make up for it in the end. The critics have praised the film, in my opinion, for the way it handles the war - something most films have failed miserably at. The film doesn't preach to you about international relations, but how we all should reflect on our own actions in relating to the war. A very effective, and obviously praise worthy, approach. But don't go see it for that, go see it for a wonderful performance by RDJ. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShammyS.Jun 3, 2008
Movie was a wonderful experience. At first glance Robert Downey Jr. seems less likely to fill the role but as you go deeper into the movie you realize he was the best choice in the end. Lot's of funny moments, and alot of terrorist Movie was a wonderful experience. At first glance Robert Downey Jr. seems less likely to fill the role but as you go deeper into the movie you realize he was the best choice in the end. Lot's of funny moments, and alot of terrorist being pounded by the Iron! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DawnishA.hJun 7, 2008
this movie deserves a higher rating, it was one of the best marvel movies i have seen in a very long time!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ArinaY.Jun 7, 2008
Love this movie.superb acting from RDJ.the lines are funny and witty.thumbs up for GP..enjoyed the movie very much
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveJun 7, 2008
I think this may have been one of the best superhero movies ever made. It appeals more to a broader audience than the hardcore Iron Man comic book fan. So far, I know of at least 4 people who originally didn't care to see it but were I think this may have been one of the best superhero movies ever made. It appeals more to a broader audience than the hardcore Iron Man comic book fan. So far, I know of at least 4 people who originally didn't care to see it but were dragged to the theater anyways and ended up loving it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KumarD.Aug 31, 2008
It was pretty good, but it could have had a better ending. The climax was too short and mashed up , the fight in the end is not very exciting. Seems like the writers realized that the villain was too powerful too be beaten so they came up It was pretty good, but it could have had a better ending. The climax was too short and mashed up , the fight in the end is not very exciting. Seems like the writers realized that the villain was too powerful too be beaten so they came up with the idea of the explosion or iron man would have lost the fight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RS.Sep 21, 2008
Very strange film, very strange message - seemingly thus; man has epiphany that making weapons is wrong (regardless of it allowing him a billionaire playboy lifestyle). What does he do? Makes himself a new, more powerful weapon and starts Very strange film, very strange message - seemingly thus; man has epiphany that making weapons is wrong (regardless of it allowing him a billionaire playboy lifestyle). What does he do? Makes himself a new, more powerful weapon and starts warring again. Scratch the surface and it still brashly glorifies advanced weapons and war too (I thought in these Iraq war-years we'd all lost our appetite for such things. Seemingly I was wrong. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
7
RobHSep 7, 2008
Robert Downey Jr. was great, but I found everyone else irritating. A solid enough action movie, but it seemed a bit over-hyped for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LGSep 7, 2008
Awesome. It proves once again that a good plot and good acting doesn't need sex, profanity and overflowing buckets of blood. In fact, I think the lack of those three things made it that much better. It was well plotted, well acted, Awesome. It proves once again that a good plot and good acting doesn't need sex, profanity and overflowing buckets of blood. In fact, I think the lack of those three things made it that much better. It was well plotted, well acted, funny and it made you feel good at the end. A great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyHeatMay 8, 2009
Pretty much what you would expect in a movie about a superhero except that the writers allow us to see the human side of the character more than once. Robert Downey Jr does a good job of portraying the role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SatanicMajestyJul 9, 2009
I'd love to have an Iron Man suit to fly to the supermarket and buy some groceries every weekend. Imagine that! This movie is fantastic, it's got so much "metal": an eccentric millionaire, with a devotion for peace, who's I'd love to have an Iron Man suit to fly to the supermarket and buy some groceries every weekend. Imagine that! This movie is fantastic, it's got so much "metal": an eccentric millionaire, with a devotion for peace, who's built a scintillating suit to catch the bad guys. As for Nigel's opinion: let us be kids again, the superhero movie is a genre itself, so don't blame it on Iron Man. By far enough to bother. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GinnyOct 17, 2008
Fun movie, great action. Love the graphics
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PJOct 6, 2008
Stupid. don't waste your time. most reviews are tainted by love for the actor vs. his acting. the plot, acting, and SE are great if you're 13.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jamesMackyApr 28, 2008
Ironman born in 1963.....

Is now reborn 2008.... i rate this movie a full ten banana Splits. Get ready for the thrill of The new #1 super hero. Has everything a geek could want.in fact this movie will appeal to a much larger wider
Ironman born in 1963.....

Is now reborn 2008....

i rate this movie a full ten banana Splits.

Get ready for the thrill of The new #1 super hero.

Has everything a geek could want.in fact this movie will appeal to a much larger wider broader audience then anyone is expecting...

over 100 million opening weekend is in the bag...

Buy stock it will at least double this year.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
fredbobMay 11, 2008
I was really surprised when this movie was done. I really figured it would be just like the rest and fall short of my expectations. Now this and Batman Begins are the only two i truly love!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmirS.May 1, 2008
Robert Downey Jr. was excellent in the film. The CGI was amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KimC.May 1, 2008
I was fortunate enough to go to a screening of Iron Man and I have to say its up there on my Marvel movie list. The action was great, CG superb, and Robert Downey Jr. plays an excellent Tony Stark. Don't even get me started on the Iron I was fortunate enough to go to a screening of Iron Man and I have to say its up there on my Marvel movie list. The action was great, CG superb, and Robert Downey Jr. plays an excellent Tony Stark. Don't even get me started on the Iron Man suit, that thing is just plain awesome. Overall, solid and entertaining movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LewisP.May 11, 2008
This is basically 'Robocop' updated to 2008. Except it's nowhere as good as that film. The '87 thriller is set in the future with a semi-plausible scenario: the body of a murdered police officer is used to create a robot This is basically 'Robocop' updated to 2008. Except it's nowhere as good as that film. The '87 thriller is set in the future with a semi-plausible scenario: the body of a murdered police officer is used to create a robot who still retains traces of the dead man's memories. The core of Iron Man is totally implausible: set in the present time, the iron man (played by Robert Downey Jr.) must prance around with some kind of magnet implanted in his chest cavity, preventing shrapnel from puncturing his heart. Then, he invents an iron suit which enables him to fly at supersonic speeds and kill terrorists without suffering serious injury. Like Robocop, a computer interface is suggested inside the 'mask' of both superheroes; but in Robocop the hero is haunted by the memories of the dead man whose body was used to create him. There is no such internal tension in Iron Man. It's strictly a good guy-bad guy shoot 'em up. Downey plays Stark, the head of a large corporation which manufactures weapons. Stark is depicted as an arrogant playboy who takes no precautions when he travels around in a Humvee in Afghanistan. He ends up being captured by a local warlord and his crew of motley insurgents and realizes that they have been using his company's weapons to fight US troops. Now he suddenly has a change of heart and uses his skills (he's a genius!) to create an iron man outfit to escape the bad guys (they think he's working on a missile). When he returns to the US, he decides to utilize the prototype of the iron man outfit he created in Afghanistan to become a superhero fighting for good. A good part of the film is taken up with Downey designing the new Iron Man outfit; during the 'testing phase' he gets thrown against the walls of his laboratory numerous times (how exciting!). Finally, he starts flying through the air with this metal suit on and almost crashes when he goes too high up in the atmosphere and his suit gets frozen with ice (funny how he wasn't smart enough to invent some kind of deicing device contained on most commercial aircrafts). Terrence Howard (of 'Hustle & Flow' fame) isn't doing much hustling and flowing here in a do-nothing part as an army liaison officer for the munitions company. Similarly Gwyneth Paltrow, Stark's personal assistant, engages in a great deal of pointless banter leading to a non-romantic moment at the film's denouement. Jeff Bridges probably has the best part as Downey's partner in the multinational corporation who ends up betraying him and working with the warlords and terrorists in Afghanistan. But how did he so easily get past the alarm system or other security devices in Downey's home? You would think that breaking into a home like that wouldn't be so easy. In the end, there is the obligatory battle between the two machines (done much better in Terminator 2). Bridges looks ridiculous when he takes off his metal helmet and all you see is his face inside the metal contraption. I fail to see why so many critics gave this film good marks. It's strictly a film for uneducated teenagers who read comic books all day. It also serves to lull people in this country into a false sense of security vis-a-vis the terrorist threat. By creating an invincible 'Iron Man" who can easily mow down terrorists and bad guys, it makes us forget that the bad guys in real life are not so easily defeated. Case in point: 9/11. The only winners here are the actors who collected nice paychecks for participating in such a cheesy and worthless venture. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RafaelC.May 1, 2008
Fun. Cool. Inteligent. Probably the best adaptation comics to movie ever made. Sorry about that, bats...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CharlieL.May 12, 2008
Iron Man is not your typical superhero action flick, at least not until the end. It is a taught, funny, and yes, sometimes even emotionally involving story of an unexpected hero's rise to power and a story of how to forget the past and Iron Man is not your typical superhero action flick, at least not until the end. It is a taught, funny, and yes, sometimes even emotionally involving story of an unexpected hero's rise to power and a story of how to forget the past and muscle up. Until the end. Downey Jr.'s great, Paltrow's great and it's a hell of a lot of fun to watch Jeff Bridges (who will always be The Dude to me) just stand around and chew up the scenery. As i mention twice before, the ending's a mess. It's a cop out by director Favreau to resort into the geeky much weary Transformers territory and brought me completely out of the film (at least until the delivery of Downey Jr.'s last line), pulling the whole cast from 4 star territory down to 3 and a half star averageness, making me decide if the film deserves credit for the ending's iffishness, or the almost great parts in the middle and beginning parts. Going back and being reminded of the first 2 hours or so, though, I would have to go with the latter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidJMay 1, 2008
Amazingly gripping story, acting, special effects, and 'wow' factor. What more could you want.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RaymondA.May 10, 2008
I don't understand what people liked about this movie. Boring and stupid. Cool graphics can't make up for a sagging plot and horrendous storyline.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
xywMay 12, 2008
An absolutely fantastic movie. Best in a very very long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NormanN.May 12, 2008
Really good movie. Robert Downey really embodies Tony Stark. Should be a really great movie for all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JerryB.May 13, 2008
The visual style, dialogue, characters and pacing are really derived from old Marvel comics. Lots of Frank Miller and Jack Kirby in the art work, with ominous complex looking machines, glowering helmets, and big swooshes of motion. A hot-rod The visual style, dialogue, characters and pacing are really derived from old Marvel comics. Lots of Frank Miller and Jack Kirby in the art work, with ominous complex looking machines, glowering helmets, and big swooshes of motion. A hot-rod style pervades. The good guys are cute and ironic, muttering sarcastic asides in the middle of the action. Gwyneth Paltrow is wonderfully cute in a cartoonish way. I'd like to see the same team make a movie out of Stephenson's "Snow Crash". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesS.May 14, 2008
first half very slow....second half "a rush"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeP.May 16, 2008
It was one of the best comic adaptations I've ever seen. and it was a dang good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DerS.May 17, 2008
Plenty of expsnsive gadgets and state-of-the-art cg for the tech-and-status-obsessed 14-year-old in us all. The dark underside of all of this sound and fury is the perverse idolatry of Hollywood Wastrel #1, Robert Downey, Jr., who is in Plenty of expsnsive gadgets and state-of-the-art cg for the tech-and-status-obsessed 14-year-old in us all. The dark underside of all of this sound and fury is the perverse idolatry of Hollywood Wastrel #1, Robert Downey, Jr., who is in essence playing himself, the bad boy who is more smug than ever for having gotten away with it after all these years. One of the most cynical products of our cynical age. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SteveFraserMay 18, 2008
Excellent movie with great acting and great special effects!! Well worth seeing and then buying on dvd!
Robert Downey is really good in this as he was in Zodiac. He has a good career ahead of him. I just hope he doesn't fall down the
Excellent movie with great acting and great special effects!! Well worth seeing and then buying on dvd!
Robert Downey is really good in this as he was in Zodiac. He has a good career ahead of him. I just hope he doesn't fall down the path of excess drug and alcohol abuse.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnB.May 19, 2008
I'm not familiar with the comics but this movie was garbage. The character development seriously lacked. Who is Starks and why should I care about him? It seems to me that such a conflicted character could have been handled a bit more I'm not familiar with the comics but this movie was garbage. The character development seriously lacked. Who is Starks and why should I care about him? It seems to me that such a conflicted character could have been handled a bit more seriously. The whole movie felt like filler with a few decent scenes mixed throughout. The acting was one dimensional and dialog felt forced throughout the entire thing. A few cheap laughs, guilty of working over the audience multiple times is not what I call comic relief or entertainment. Even for summer blockbuster fare, I thought it really did not deliver. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
ChrisP.May 19, 2008
Better than transformers... and wittier!!! Can't wait for the sequel to the movie a I reluctantly saw!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcD.May 2, 2008
In terms of acting chops and believability, Robert Downey Jr. is head and shoulders above the leading actors from all other "superhero" movies, with the possible exception of Christian Bale from "Batman Begins". His understated performance In terms of acting chops and believability, Robert Downey Jr. is head and shoulders above the leading actors from all other "superhero" movies, with the possible exception of Christian Bale from "Batman Begins". His understated performance drives the film, and his chemistry with Gwyneth Paltrow and Terrence Howard is superb. What I appreciate most about the story is that Tony Stark doesn't gain any supernatural abilities in this film by getting bitten by a Spider, or getting mixed up in a chemical spill, etc. He uses his own skills as an engineer, mechanic, weapons developer (and his own brain power) to get himself out of a tough situation, and to then evolve as a human being by cleaning up his playboy act and using his skills for good. The technological aspects of the story, including the evolution of his suit through several iterations, are extremely interesting. And I especially the fact that the back story is well-developed, and the writers/director didn't spend so much of the movie on the final "fight" scene, which usually makes a movie of this type boring and trite. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickB.May 2, 2008
It was precisely what it needed to be - a great comic flick. The climactic scene isn't so climactic because of action, more just for the excitement of seeing such good actors have a field day. And I was surprisingly not annoyed by It was precisely what it needed to be - a great comic flick. The climactic scene isn't so climactic because of action, more just for the excitement of seeing such good actors have a field day. And I was surprisingly not annoyed by Paltrow. She did well. Downey is one of my favorites, and he continues to slather on the charm that seeps through the seams of his Iron Man suit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChadS.May 2, 2008
Ridiculously bad! Literally almost walked out. Most overhyped, overrated, overly stupid movie of 2008? Absolutely! Will this hit big in box office? Yes, definitely. Will everyone be dissappointed? Even more so than Spiderman 3. Please Ridiculously bad! Literally almost walked out. Most overhyped, overrated, overly stupid movie of 2008? Absolutely! Will this hit big in box office? Yes, definitely. Will everyone be dissappointed? Even more so than Spiderman 3. Please don't spend your 9 10 or 11 dollars on Iron Man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.May 22, 2008
Extraordinary movie simply for one reason, and one reason only, the extraordinary Robert Downey Jr.!! It's about time somebody took a chance on this remarkable actor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GB.May 22, 2008
How did this get a score of 78, much less 8.4? Please! What a waste of my money, time, and popcorn. Very disappointing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IsaiahA.May 23, 2008
Believe the hype, "Iron Man" is the best movie of 2008! I really enjoyed this smart, witty, even funny superhero flick with a lot of great special effects and action. I'm eagerly awaiting the sequel! Robert Downey Jr. is perfect in the Believe the hype, "Iron Man" is the best movie of 2008! I really enjoyed this smart, witty, even funny superhero flick with a lot of great special effects and action. I'm eagerly awaiting the sequel! Robert Downey Jr. is perfect in the role as Tony Stark/ Iron Man; Gwyneth Paltrow, Jeff Bridges, Terrence Howard are great, as well, but not nearly as good as Robert Downey Jr. . Jon Favreau was perfect for being chosen to direct "Iron Man", the action sequences were awesome, and the chemistry between Gwyneth Paltrow and Robert Downey Jr. was just too much to pass up. So far, other than "Horton Hears A Who!" and "Cloverfield", "Iron Man" is easily the best movie of 2008! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamMay 23, 2008
I thought it was ok while I was watching it but after I left and thought about it, it was pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnnyB.May 23, 2008
Oh gracious, no! Too many inept attempts at humor. Way too dumb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
souradeepb.May 23, 2008
Splendid movie...best superhero movie evvvvvvvvver.while watching,it felt like 3D or something....already placed order for PC game.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrianLMay 25, 2008
For a superhero movie, there is almost no action. And in the final fight scene he gets his butt kicked by the villain until Paltrow hits some weird switch that kills him? This movie was so dragged out and plotless. Don't see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeM.May 3, 2008
I really enjoyed this movie. Iron man is a perfect sync between action and comedy with some great effects throughout. I seriously couldn't find any faults with it at all. It's everything you could possibly want with a few special I really enjoyed this movie. Iron man is a perfect sync between action and comedy with some great effects throughout. I seriously couldn't find any faults with it at all. It's everything you could possibly want with a few special things thrown in to get you ready for the sequel. If you're seeing it in theaters, stay until after the credits. You won't be disappointed. Best superhero movie since Spider-man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewT.May 31, 2008
Plenty of funny lines almost made this a comedy. Robert Downy Jr's delivery of these lines is totally spot on. The plot is cartoonish, as you would expect, but not so much that it ruins the experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StenD.May 30, 2008
Great movie. Robert Downey, Jr. really grounds this movie and he plays the role perfectly. The supporting cast was also outstanding: Jeff Bridges makes a villain that absolutely warms my heart (I love bad guys). One slight quibble - Gwenneth Great movie. Robert Downey, Jr. really grounds this movie and he plays the role perfectly. The supporting cast was also outstanding: Jeff Bridges makes a villain that absolutely warms my heart (I love bad guys). One slight quibble - Gwenneth Paltrow is extremely appealing in her role, but she doesn't quite manage the screaming damsel in distress parts. Which is actually a compliment - it's about time writers gave up on the tired cliche of the poor helpless female standing there and squealing in fright. A good story simply adds to the overall pleasure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanA.May 3, 2008
Simply one of the best superhero movies ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZeeMMay 3, 2008
There aren't enough words to describe how amazing this movie Is!!..I Can sleep well tonight!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnS.May 3, 2008
It was fun, funny, and the technology ideas fresh and interesting. It's a comic book movie, you can't judge it's social importance. It's great escapism for we, the Marvel faithful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomE.May 3, 2008
I really enjoyed this movie! They could not have cast a better Tony Stark!!!! Highly Recommend!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GusMay 3, 2008
I thought the story was flat and marred by so many dull plot elements. If not for Downey's irrepressible personal traits that I suppose everyone wanted to be part of the character, there would be no one on screen worth bothering about. I thought the story was flat and marred by so many dull plot elements. If not for Downey's irrepressible personal traits that I suppose everyone wanted to be part of the character, there would be no one on screen worth bothering about. The robot is cool, there are a slew of fancy sport cars, the baddies are politically current and a bevy of hot ladies grace the screen. . . All the essentials are down. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JonH.May 3, 2008
Very good, great CGI
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NancyH.May 3, 2008
I didn't believe Downey could pull it off, but he did. The movie was GREAT! Technology, plot, effects, character development....enjoyed every moment!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyH.May 3, 2008
I'm not a big superhero fan nor is my wife. In spite of that, we both absolutely loved it - as did our kids.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MM.May 3, 2008
The good: Great, great special effects and CGI. This can't be stressed enough. Great acting all around. The bad: Stale plot, predictable plot. Can you say "stereotypical middle eastern bad guys?" I gotta be honest: I'm not a huge The good: Great, great special effects and CGI. This can't be stressed enough. Great acting all around. The bad: Stale plot, predictable plot. Can you say "stereotypical middle eastern bad guys?" I gotta be honest: I'm not a huge comic book guy and this was the movie I chose to break my streak on. I'm wishing I didn't. This is just the usual Hollywood stuff being churned out en masse as any original ideas have virtually dried up. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RonL.May 3, 2008
Super Fun! Also stick around after the credits. You won't want to miss "The Special Scene"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ZacF.May 3, 2008
movie was captivatingly entertaining with its witty dialog and blazing action sequences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeF.May 3, 2008
It simply works. Giving it a 9 seems odd for me, but i can't find a major flaw in this film. It does its job with near perfection. The only reason i can't give it a 10 is the last action sequence isn't perfect or as exciting It simply works. Giving it a 9 seems odd for me, but i can't find a major flaw in this film. It does its job with near perfection. The only reason i can't give it a 10 is the last action sequence isn't perfect or as exciting as it could have been. However, if you have seen this film, you know that it does not hurt the overall quality or enjoyment. It has a good ending otherwise. Oh... and stay after the credits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidDMay 3, 2008
I am not a Iron Man fan. Actually, i don't even know anything about Iron Man. That being said, i did think this movie was pretty cool. Very nicely done. The only reason it does not receive a higher score is because i thought the ending I am not a Iron Man fan. Actually, i don't even know anything about Iron Man. That being said, i did think this movie was pretty cool. Very nicely done. The only reason it does not receive a higher score is because i thought the ending with the boss fight was weak. It took away from Iron Man and how in the hell did the bad guy learn his craft on the first try where Tony Starks' took time and practice? Did not make any sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidJ.May 3, 2008
It was absolutely entertaining to watch Robert Downey Jr. play Iron Man, and the visual effects were just stellar. I only wish they had a real comic book villian but The Big Lebowski for a villian kinda compensates it (Jeff is just a damn It was absolutely entertaining to watch Robert Downey Jr. play Iron Man, and the visual effects were just stellar. I only wish they had a real comic book villian but The Big Lebowski for a villian kinda compensates it (Jeff is just a damn good actor). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RJR.May 3, 2008
Best damn movie I've seen in a loooong time. Fun an liively, even the wife liked it. Well, having Downey Jr. in it didn't hurt for her....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnnpMay 4, 2008
The movie was lots of fun and robert downey jr. was wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TommyG.May 4, 2008
I thought this movie was Awesome! It had a little bit of everything like comedy, action, sexuality ect. The story was not freakin' flat whoever said that. If you have not seen this movie I advise you to go and by a ticket NOW.
0 of 0 users found this helpful