Iron Man

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 1565 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. DesmondW.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Ironman was always my favorite hero from the marvel universe. It felt really good to watch him shine on the big screen. RDJ's acting is simply brilliant. Great story adaption leaving it realistic. Few but well done action scenes getting you a real feel for the suit. Suprisingly this movie will bring you alot of laughs..Yes its weird but it sure wll. I LOVE IT!
  2. BB
    May 22, 2008
    1
    Seriously, I'm going to start knocking 30 points off all scores to get a more realistic sense of a movie's quality. There's a lot of grade inflation going on here. Come on, people, 9's and 10's? Lame, lame, lame movie. Don't bother.
  3. PriyanthT.
    May 2, 2008
    8
    thye movie was awesome the graphics were done greatly and it was fun watchin and it was no less than spider man, superman or batman, and wish a sequel wuld be made
  4. Camille
    May 30, 2008
    9
    Though I admittedly enjoyed Speed Racer more, I absolutely loved this movie. It was the perfect balance of action and explanation needed for a comic book movie origin story. The thing that had me most appreciative was the believability of the special effects and dynamics between the characters. This is a film not to be missed.
  5. Tery
    May 3, 2008
    9
    I saw the movie at 10:30 PM on 5/2. I think is is a very good movie. The plot was pretty good. The actors were excellent. The movie didn't seem to flow that well due to direction. It was so exciting, I could not get out of my seat to go the restroom or buy anything, and that says something!
  6. MikeN.
    May 3, 2008
    8
    Downey nailed the character of Stark. Special effects look real. Dialogue is very sharp and witty. Would have been nice to give Bridges more screen time. Last act felt a little rushed. Final fight could have been a little longer/more dramatic. Good start to the series can
  7. DavidR.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    I have never really cared for RDJ as an actor and the current comic version of Iron Man is an unlikeable fascist dick, so I had zero expectations going into this movie. I only saw it because I had eight bucks to spend and two hours to kill. Coming out of the movie, I bought another ticket because I would have been ripping the theater off if I had only paid full price for it. This is the I have never really cared for RDJ as an actor and the current comic version of Iron Man is an unlikeable fascist dick, so I had zero expectations going into this movie. I only saw it because I had eight bucks to spend and two hours to kill. Coming out of the movie, I bought another ticket because I would have been ripping the theater off if I had only paid full price for it. This is the standard by which all future Marvel movies will be judged. I simply cannot praise this movie enough. It's as good as Batman Begins, but "lighter" and more suitable for children, and it has enough sly humor that the adults will be entertained as well. RDJ gives the performance of a lifetime in the role he was born to play. I have seen this movie six times now and I'm going back this weekend for yet another serving of metal-suited terrorist-punching awesomeness. Expand
  8. 2
    May 3, 2008
    1
    You can't mix serious issues with fantasy! Why did they have to include the war in the middle east for? Couldn't they think of a fictional enemy? And Stark being the "suit" in a cave? was just stupid!
  9. JulieF.
    May 4, 2008
    0
    They did it again! They RUINED another icon! Why does Hollywood have to force their opinions on us at every film showing? I became more and more angry throughout this film. Here's the REALLY hypocritical part: Robert Downey Jr. is just fine with TORCHING a bunch of Afghani's and obliterating a bunch more when it's HIS life on the line. He has no problem wasting dozens of They did it again! They RUINED another icon! Why does Hollywood have to force their opinions on us at every film showing? I became more and more angry throughout this film. Here's the REALLY hypocritical part: Robert Downey Jr. is just fine with TORCHING a bunch of Afghani's and obliterating a bunch more when it's HIS life on the line. He has no problem wasting dozens of men to escape from a cave (which he evidently could have just FLOWN out of anyway). But when it's our SOLDIERS that are in harm's way, OH....then we can't have any weapons! It's kind of like how Hollywood drives around in Limo's but wants the rest of us to ride bikes to work so we don't make a "carbon footprint". Anyway, the last 5/6 of this film will be a big preach-fest about how the USA is a war-mongering nation who has no right to defend herself and how any weapons manufacturer should not be allowed to exact a profit (while Hollywood gets to make BILLIONS of dollars of profit on its own products) What a farce. Don't see this film if you have a brain because it'll explode. Don't see this film if you love your country because this film certainly doesn't. SHAME ON YOU, IRON MAN. Recommended: Not in a million years. Expand
  10. MattA
    May 6, 2008
    8
    This was a very good movie. Although...it would have been nothing without Robert Downey Jr. He made the picture...well...him, and the awesome looking Iron Man suit. My only major gripe was that it all felt like it was leading up to something...better...in which it was. So when the sequel comes around...i may be giving this a nine, but until then, this serves as a good backstory.
  11. RienyeN.
    May 8, 2008
    9
    Awesome movie! I was riveted from the start to end. Simple clear-cut story without bothersome sub-plots! The special effects were excellent and Downey delivered. Gwyneth could have been more lively but other than that i highly recommend it. Best marvel comic adaptation to date.
  12. JasonP.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    Forget the pretentiously snivelling humdrum of those who would look down upon this piece of movie theatre gold. They are probably upset that an action movie could be such a powerful epic, and that some pathetic, self-indulgent yet tragic art-fiasco love-story wasn't the cause of the warm feelings welling from within. Out of shame, they look downward with their bespectacled glare and Forget the pretentiously snivelling humdrum of those who would look down upon this piece of movie theatre gold. They are probably upset that an action movie could be such a powerful epic, and that some pathetic, self-indulgent yet tragic art-fiasco love-story wasn't the cause of the warm feelings welling from within. Out of shame, they look downward with their bespectacled glare and succeed in once again providing all they can to the world: their judgment of someone else's brilliance. This movie was the perfect mix of snide wit and explosive special effects. It not only does the comic book justice, but sets itself apart from its printed origins and in fact all other movies in its genre. It is so rare to see Oscar worthy performances in what should be a simple shoot-em-up, but that's what you get for your money. This is a must-see, and one of the best of all time; believe it. Mark my words: this film will break the billions, and birth a new tinsel-town dynasty. Expand
  13. AntrossoI.
    May 8, 2008
    3
    Overrated movie, just another solid action movie. Nothing more, nothing less.
  14. EricaM.
    Nov 3, 2008
    4
    Boring. Music poorly concieved. Though there are good actors in this film, there aren't a lot of good acting opportunities. We turned it off half way through, and returned to it with resignation. What is it that everyone liked about this movie?
  15. NormanX.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Wonderfully done. I was afraid it'll be cheesy and lame, but it met every expectation with some great lines from Robert Downey Jr, the perfect Tony Stark. Pacing was good, great action, and even a quick reference to perhaps a sequel with Warhammer made me hunger for more.
  16. SteveS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    If you are a marvel comic fan, or even a fan of action movies in general, then you need to see this movie. Being the first in what will undoubtedly be a series, this movie has no baggage to bring into it, and really stands out because of it. The story may be a fairly simple one, but it is a brilliant introduction to the character of Iron Man. Robert Downey junior makes a return to form in If you are a marvel comic fan, or even a fan of action movies in general, then you need to see this movie. Being the first in what will undoubtedly be a series, this movie has no baggage to bring into it, and really stands out because of it. The story may be a fairly simple one, but it is a brilliant introduction to the character of Iron Man. Robert Downey junior makes a return to form in his portrayal of Tony Stark/Iron Man blending arrogance, some self realisation and lighter comedic moments well. The visuals and special effects are a credit to the production and special effects teams. Simply put, this is the best Marvel movie I have seen in a long time, and quite frankly I'm willing to see it again in the cinema. Expand
  17. ChrisR.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    I thoughts this was a very well done movie. the only problem I had with it was the amount of action. this movie really doesn't get going until the middle.
  18. DavidW.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Wow, this movie is definitely one of the best superhero movies. Arguably better than the Spiderman movies. What makes this movie so good is the character Tony Stark. Tony Stark is just one of those you guys who you hate and love at the same time cause he's so cocky. The ending is awesome.
  19. JanmikS.
    May 10, 2008
    9
    Very very entertaining and visually awesome. Great script for wit and humor and acting covers the somewhat typical superhero movie plot. 'Tis worth your money.
  20. Bluezboy8
    May 10, 2008
    10
    All the CG and gadgetry of a summer blockbuster, but surprisingly, all the well-drawn story and acting of a fall season Oscar contender. This movie just has it ALL!!
  21. ChadShiira
    May 19, 2008
    9
    When Tony Stark(Robert Downey Jr.) returns to the middle east as Ironman, he's no longer the problem to war; he's the solution. This routine, but literary-steeped screenplay, suggests that the weapons manufacturer is a contemporary Marlowe, the protagonist in Joseph Conrad's modernist classic "Heart of Darkness", which told the story of Africa's rape at the turn of theWhen Tony Stark(Robert Downey Jr.) returns to the middle east as Ironman, he's no longer the problem to war; he's the solution. This routine, but literary-steeped screenplay, suggests that the weapons manufacturer is a contemporary Marlowe, the protagonist in Joseph Conrad's modernist classic "Heart of Darkness", which told the story of Africa's rape at the turn of the century by European hands. Although Marlowe wasn't an imperialist, per se, he did foster the ongoing tyranny by simply being in that tug boat. In "Ironman", as Stark rides across the desert in an army utility vehicle, our anti-hero gets closer to his unbeknowing nightmare, the discovery that he's enabling the enemy. The horror, the horror. In that cave, he turns into Oskar Schindler(an ex-war profiteer), as a Marvel superhero. But if you're looking for a Kurtz stand-in, it's pretty hard not to miss Jeff Bridges' bald head. Bridges manages the neat trick of being a megalomaniacal tyrant with a god complex(in other words, Marlon Brando in Francis Ford Coppola's "Apocalypse Now"), and Preston Thomas Tucker(the car manufacturer in "Tucker: The Man & His Dreams; again, Coppola), a man of vision, albeit an evil one. "Ironman" also impresses with its Mulder/Scully dynamics between Stark and Pepper Potts(Gwyneth Paltrow). When Stark says, "Admit it. This isn't the worst thing you caught me doing," to his assistant, fans of "The X-Files" will nod knowingly. Mulder was a porn aficionado. "Ironman", predictably, has the requisite action to satisfy its target demographic(something that Ang Lee's "Hulk" failed to do), but it's the suppressed love between boss and employee that's the real story here. Expand
  22. BenH.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    What a great movie. I went in expecting possibly a passable movie and found that there was not a moment in this very well structured movie that didn't keep me absolutley glued to my seat. This movie is well worth seeing in the cinemas. The acting was great particularily from Robert Downey Jr. I couldn't imagine the role of Tony Stark ever going to anyone else. The comedy in it What a great movie. I went in expecting possibly a passable movie and found that there was not a moment in this very well structured movie that didn't keep me absolutley glued to my seat. This movie is well worth seeing in the cinemas. The acting was great particularily from Robert Downey Jr. I couldn't imagine the role of Tony Stark ever going to anyone else. The comedy in it was hilarious . What we need to keep in mind when rating this movie that it is a comic action flick, and as such i will rate it so.. there was no great meaning or artsy fartsy metaphors. For me this was the perfect comic book action movie. It was far better than any of the other marvels movies i have seen so far and made Transformers look like a joke. I will be going to the movies again soon for this one. 10/10 from me, i hope there is a sequel. Expand
  23. JesseB.
    May 20, 2008
    2
    I waited too long, I guess, for this movie. The pacing was wrong and the jokes were only good sometimes. His gadgetry is fantastic but not logical at all. Even a tiny explanation would have been interesting even if not entirely possible. Tony Stark makes an impression of being a Jock before and after his adventure. No character developement there. The action is mainly 2 or 3 scenes and I waited too long, I guess, for this movie. The pacing was wrong and the jokes were only good sometimes. His gadgetry is fantastic but not logical at all. Even a tiny explanation would have been interesting even if not entirely possible. Tony Stark makes an impression of being a Jock before and after his adventure. No character developement there. The action is mainly 2 or 3 scenes and the rest is just embarrasing. Especially the last fight. Watch this in the cinema and you'll at least get the special effects. Expand
  24. JarrodD.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    OK, Dark Knight has a opponent that I thought would fade away in a few minutes after seeing it. I thought Iron Man was going to be entertaining at most really. I didn't think they would do a super great job at "wow"ing me. As you know, I'm a comic book fanatic. I love em. So, imagine my surprise when they stayed true, and even upped the Iron Man characters, stories, and visuals.OK, Dark Knight has a opponent that I thought would fade away in a few minutes after seeing it. I thought Iron Man was going to be entertaining at most really. I didn't think they would do a super great job at "wow"ing me. As you know, I'm a comic book fanatic. I love em. So, imagine my surprise when they stayed true, and even upped the Iron Man characters, stories, and visuals. I didn't find myself once thinking about how good/bad the effects were. I know that they were incredibly well done, but I also was so into the !&^#% story that I wasn't paying attention to that....which I've never done. Robert Downey Jr in my opinion does his best work to date. I couldn't have asked for a better actor....absolutely perfect. I think RDJ can relate to Tony Stark cuz they've both had/have problems with drugs or women or whatnot, so it worked pretty well. Jeff Bridges, I couldn't see him as the antagonist in my mind before the movie. During and after the movie, I was all for him playing the villain. I don't know about all of you, but for me, it's hard to like or even really care about the "damsel in distress" in super hero movies. I could care less for Mary Jane in Spider man, or Rachael Dawes in Batman Begins. Their characters were just there to be in trouble and add a little sexual flavor to the movie. Gwyneth Paltrow, I honestly cared and liked her character. She was there for more than just, HELP! In fact, she was pretty bad @%#. The acting from all these people was great. They couldn't have done better. There was just enough comic book references in there to keep a nerd like me happy. I could myself a few times clenching my hands in anticipation and glee for what I was about to see or seeing. I was seriously like a 7 year old again watching a combination of Robocop, Superman, Batman, and the x-men cartoon for the first time. It was so @%^$ sweet to see such a good adaptation on screen. I can't tell you how critical I am of comic book movies. As adaptations they #^#*$ suck. As movies, they are usually just passable as entertaining, with the exception of a few. This was a great adaptation (the 8 people around me in the theater thought it was the best adaptation of a book to a story they've seen) Just enough action in it to keep everyone wanting to see what the hell that suit can do (and it is a lot) and just enough character development and story to keep everyone interested and caring for these characters. I can honestly say that I wouldn't have changed a single thing. There was everything in there that needed to be in there, without any of the #&$%@@#$. I would've added one thing. IT'S DIFFERENT THAT CHANGING THINGS! It's not a spoiler, just an awesome Iron Man line that was in a comic. There was a scene in the comic where Tony Stark is flying around in the suit and the guys on the ground are noticing he's slurring words and I think he's even singing. The people observing the test yell through the communication line, "Tony, are you #&$% drunk?!" to which it cuts to a panel of Tony Stark in the suit laughing and saying "Have you seen this thing!? Do you really think I'd get into it sober!" haha, everytime I let anyone read that series, they always remember that line and laugh. So, in conclusion, @&*$%^@#! Go see it immediately. I'm available for lunch if you want to go then! Also, when you do see it, stay till after the credits. I don't care if you get a phone call that your baby is birthing right then and there. You sit your @$$ down and watch the #*$%@# end! I honestly felt like an Arsenio Hall audience member after the end scene, I stood up and pumped my fist and gave a "woot woot woot" so awesome! Truly surprised. Alright, I'll shut up. Go see it already Expand
  25. DerekC.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    This is what it's all about. Where other movies have either gone cheezy (fantastic 4, the hulk) or realistic and gritty (batman begins), this film succeeds in being fun, carefree and allows you to just enjoy the ride. Downey is a perfect cast. Makes you want to be a kid again and build your own ironman suit out of cardboard.
  26. EugeneM.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Superb comic based movie. RDJ was perfect for the role. I did not give it a perfect 10 because I still wanted to see more ironman action scenes.
  27. SorenK
    May 3, 2008
    7
    Iron Man perfectly suits the superhero movie genre; especially if you're under fourteen years of age. The movie lacks a truly formidable foe to push the Iron Man's buttons and force him to prove his mettle (I blame Favreau). The casting/acting is top shelf, but too much of it is wasted on exposition (not to mention a lack of any real chemistry between Downey and Paltrow). Iron Man perfectly suits the superhero movie genre; especially if you're under fourteen years of age. The movie lacks a truly formidable foe to push the Iron Man's buttons and force him to prove his mettle (I blame Favreau). The casting/acting is top shelf, but too much of it is wasted on exposition (not to mention a lack of any real chemistry between Downey and Paltrow). Favreau's direction is mostly plodding and unsure of itself - antithetical to the movie's protagonist. By all means go see it, but let's hope Marvel picks a better director for the sequel. Expand
  28. ReyA.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best superhero movie of all time. I used to be a big fan of spiderman until Iron Man came around. Also, what I liked alot is the technologically advanced weaponry used in the film. It really caught my attention.
  29. Dplumm
    May 3, 2008
    10
    I went kicking and screaming.... This is not my type of movie....I'm more of a McDreamy kind of movie goer..... I never even heard of IronMan. I was not dissapointed. Robert and Terrance as friends. ... so believable .....and Pepper and Jeff....what a cast! A must see!!!!
  30. PaddyH.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    A great film......brilliant gadget wise! definately would recommend it to other people!!!!!!!!!!!!! go watch it
  31. J.B.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    I was very skeptical about with Downey playing Stark. I was wrong, no one else could have been Ironman. The movie had plenty of action with well timed humor. I will be taking my sons to see it again next weekend.
  32. JohnnyD.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    If you liked the previews, this movie won't disappoint. There were equal parts action, humor, and storyline. I can't wait for a sequel!
  33. NickG.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Well paced, intelligent and enjoyable film. The soul searching and slow paced traps other sueprhero films fall into aren't present in this throughout this film (luckily) and the lack of cheesy love moments or sentimentality give the film credibility. Ironman also looks amazing.
  34. JohnF.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    I have been waiting 25 years for this movie and it was worth every second of it! Terrific movie!
  35. DanR.
    May 4, 2008
    9
    This movie was really cool and one of the best comic book movies yet. Just make sure you stay until after the credits!
  36. JoeR.
    May 4, 2008
    3
    Same old plot, same old one-dimensional charatcers, same old "bangs" and "booms" and same old Robert Downey, Jr. playinp Robert Downey, Jr. I'm sorry but I was bored, amybe I've just seen too many of these to care anymore. It certainly didn't have the depth of "character" that Batman Begins did... it was more like Fantastic Four meets the (first) Hulk... I really wanted to Same old plot, same old one-dimensional charatcers, same old "bangs" and "booms" and same old Robert Downey, Jr. playinp Robert Downey, Jr. I'm sorry but I was bored, amybe I've just seen too many of these to care anymore. It certainly didn't have the depth of "character" that Batman Begins did... it was more like Fantastic Four meets the (first) Hulk... I really wanted to like this, but the went expensive with the visuals and cheap with the character development & simplistic storyline. Just feel flat, for me personally, but again I may have been expecting too much after reading some reviews and hearing WOM. I have a feeling after seeing the Hulk trailer that I'm gonna have to wait for INDY to really cheer again for a movie character... that's what a summer blockbuster is all about for me! Collapse
  37. SusanB.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Fantastic. Seamless animation, razor sharp editing and near-oscar worthy performances from Daniels, Paltrow and of course Downey. Equal in excellence to the 1 and 2 'Spiderman' movies and to the current 'Batman' series. Very believable and well written. Don't miss!
  38. AndreF.
    May 4, 2008
    9
    This is one of the best comic book movies that I have seen in quites sometime. The acting was on par with Batman Begins, and it gave hope to reviving a franchise with what I believe was a poor sequel in Spiderman 3. Great movie!
  39. CalvinC.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    The first movie made in 4 years where I actually cared about the characters. The CGI is there, yet it doesn't completely overshadow the movie, which is a nice touch. Lots of political drama spice up the plotline as well. Don't wait for the DVD or Blu-ray. Watch it now. You won't be dissapointed.
  40. ElizabethE.
    May 4, 2008
    9
    Fantastic. Downey is perfectly cast, plot is smart, special effects are terrific, dialogue is clever. It is the rare action movie in which even the non-action scenes are compelling.
  41. RDalvi
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Awesome film. Cool Visual effects. Robert Downey Jr, Gwyneth Paltrow, Jeff Bridges, Terence Howard and all others were great. COOL WITH A HUGE C.
  42. JeffL.
    May 5, 2008
    8
    The Dude abides.
  43. RonanonL.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    Expected Much Much Worse. Even with all the "summer movie" moments.
  44. MNG
    May 5, 2008
    6
    RDJ can act alright. He's great. Gwyneth is good too - but what was so good about her role - pretty sexist if you ask me. the movie was exciting and fun to look at it and an exciting ride. But a little worrying politically. Yay America - the only he wants after three months in a cave is a cheeseburger. an American has to be the one to save the Iraqi civilians (or whatever race they RDJ can act alright. He's great. Gwyneth is good too - but what was so good about her role - pretty sexist if you ask me. the movie was exciting and fun to look at it and an exciting ride. But a little worrying politically. Yay America - the only he wants after three months in a cave is a cheeseburger. an American has to be the one to save the Iraqi civilians (or whatever race they were - they looked Iraqi). the Iraqis are the bad guys. the Americans are the good guys. the token black is a good guy. the older bearded fellow is dodgy. and don't even get me started with RDJ's facial hair! the moustache is practically hitleresque and disgusting. Expand
  45. TimD.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    I'm a huge fan of comic film and this is one of the top 5 comic films. Robert Downey Jr is amazing, Favreau weaves an amazing story
  46. AustinM.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    This movie was spectacular. Sure, it was no Star Wars or The Godfather, but regardless, it was the most fun I've had at a movie since Cloverfield, and before that, since Star Wars Episode 3. The acting by Robert Downey Jr. was phenomenal, and after watching the movie, I yearned to be that Tony Stark, brilliant, funny, awesome, billionaire of a guy that he was in that part. The This movie was spectacular. Sure, it was no Star Wars or The Godfather, but regardless, it was the most fun I've had at a movie since Cloverfield, and before that, since Star Wars Episode 3. The acting by Robert Downey Jr. was phenomenal, and after watching the movie, I yearned to be that Tony Stark, brilliant, funny, awesome, billionaire of a guy that he was in that part. The soundtrack wasn't anything memorable, but it certainly didn't detract from anything. The special effects, as always by ILM, were amazing, and the entire visual aspect of the piece was great. The story as well, was admirable, and much, much better than that crap the Spider-Man movies keep throwing at us. This is probably because it stuck very loyally to the comics, with the added "Tony Stark is awesome" thing. Overall, just a really good movie. Expand
  47. Jennifer
    May 6, 2008
    7
    Good movie. I'll admit that I don't really like superhero action movies, but there were some thrilling scenes (like RDJ taking his Iron Man outfit out for a test drive). All the male actors are great. Paltrow is "meh."
  48. Fullys.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    this is an amazing movie, aguably with transformer to be the best movie during last 12 months
  49. Dr.C.
    May 7, 2008
    9
    It-Doesn't-Get-Any-Better-Than-This! What a ride... This movie is the reason you pays yer money to see it on the big screen. Wow. And, in a weird way, the high tech world of Tony Stark doesn't seem so far fetched, considering it's a comic book fer cryin' out loud! Attention Robert Downey, Jr.: Stay sober, man... You are a fantastic actor & you pull off this anti-macho, It-Doesn't-Get-Any-Better-Than-This! What a ride... This movie is the reason you pays yer money to see it on the big screen. Wow. And, in a weird way, the high tech world of Tony Stark doesn't seem so far fetched, considering it's a comic book fer cryin' out loud! Attention Robert Downey, Jr.: Stay sober, man... You are a fantastic actor & you pull off this anti-macho, cool cat, hipster industrialist Big Time. Expand
  50. NO
    May 8, 2008
    9
    Movie was great better than i expected retard that gave it a 4 was a transformers loser. Transformers and Iron are 2 TOTALLY different categories of movies.
  51. CraigM
    May 8, 2008
    2
    Am I crazy here, or did nobody else notice how crappy this movie was. Yes, Robert Downy Jr. is a good choice for the role but not when every line he has is some horribly cheesy joke. The robot banter also seems right out of the eighties. The romance between him and Paltrow is egregiously underdeveloped and the action wasn't even that good.
  52. DWilly
    May 9, 2008
    3
    Where previous American cultures made cinematic spectacle of the Bible or historical turning points, we, sadly, celebrate comic books. So, of course, this is thin. As you watch this your mind can wander... remember when Robert Downey Jr. broke into a house and went to sleep in some kid's bed... I thought at one time Terence Howard was going to be a good actor... did they approach Where previous American cultures made cinematic spectacle of the Bible or historical turning points, we, sadly, celebrate comic books. So, of course, this is thin. As you watch this your mind can wander... remember when Robert Downey Jr. broke into a house and went to sleep in some kid's bed... I thought at one time Terence Howard was going to be a good actor... did they approach Paltrow's husband to do the music?... who's the bad guy in this film, anyway... oh, sure, it's him... but what's his deal? If you like this movie a lot, maybe it's time to put away childish things. Expand
  53. MarcC.
    Jun 1, 2008
    9
    Awesome flick. I don't know what "Brian L" was watching. But it's like every start of a franchise. It has to start from scratch and told from the bottom to work it's way at the top. This movie has that and then some. Very entertaining and a cast that does the job well done. Downey Jr. played a good role and shows he's having fun doing so. Worth the money and your popcorn.
  54. ClarkW
    Aug 10, 2008
    9
    The casting of Downey as Iron Man is as perfect as Heath Ledger as the Joker. Downey plays a great hero, and is funny throughout. There are very few low points to this movie. The only drawback is the final fight scene, it could have been a bit better. But other than that, a great movie that will have you gasping in awe and laughing until your sides hurt.
  55. NigelM.
    Jan 5, 2009
    2
    Great film, but only if you're a 9 year old boy. Simplistic and predictable, as all superhero films are. Time for anyone older than that to grow up and stop hollywood churning these out I reckon. Brief synopsis: Good guy vs bad guy who wants to rule the world, big fight at end, guess who loses? See also: Batman, Hulk, Spiderman, Superman, Fantastic four, in fact every other damn Great film, but only if you're a 9 year old boy. Simplistic and predictable, as all superhero films are. Time for anyone older than that to grow up and stop hollywood churning these out I reckon. Brief synopsis: Good guy vs bad guy who wants to rule the world, big fight at end, guess who loses? See also: Batman, Hulk, Spiderman, Superman, Fantastic four, in fact every other damn superhero movie. Why bother? Expand
  56. kateb.
    Jan 18, 2010
    4
    The leads are riveting; the story is not. AND, the play upon ethnic stereotypes is obnoxious. I wanted to watch for Robert Downey Jr and Gwyneth Paltrow, and also the computer effects, but in the end I just couldn't tolerate the movie and it's standard good guy-bad guy stuff.
  57. Phil
    Oct 11, 2008
    9
    This is one of the best movies of the year. However, my only concern is the absurdly short boss battle.
  58. WickedS.
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    This is the most fun a comic book fan can have. Iron Man truly comes to life and entertains. If you like Batman or Spiderman then Iron Man will not dissapoint you. I am not a fan of Terrance nor Gwyneth but everyone else was great.
  59. AliR.
    Oct 8, 2008
    8
    Nice Effects, Power Suit is just like comics.
  60. EdayH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    at first, i didn't expect much from it, but it turned out, i was wrong. the movie is finely done.
  61. GordonT.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I was absolutely wowed by this movie. This is how to make a comic book movie ... Sam Raimi, eat your heart out.
  62. RM
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Everything a movie based on a comic should be and I'm not even a fan of the Iron Man comics. But it's a whole different ball game on screen. Robert Downey Jr. is the perfect Tony Stark. Can't wait to see it again. This is a movie that isn't to be missed.
  63. EmmaG.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It's been a long time, but finally I had fun watching a movie.
  64. MitchS.
    May 10, 2008
    0
    Worst movie I've ever seen honestly i don't know what they were thinking. Minimal fighting scenes and slow and long. So bad please take my advice do not see this movie.
  65. PaulB.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Definitely one of the best comic book adaptions, and definitely the best superhero movie i've seen. Downey was the perfect choice for Tony Stark - and brings some weight to the character, it was an intelligant casting choice, but then you could probably say the same for Pepper, Rhodey and Obediah Stane as well. This is the first fully marvel produced movie, its smart, funny and Definitely one of the best comic book adaptions, and definitely the best superhero movie i've seen. Downey was the perfect choice for Tony Stark - and brings some weight to the character, it was an intelligant casting choice, but then you could probably say the same for Pepper, Rhodey and Obediah Stane as well. This is the first fully marvel produced movie, its smart, funny and action packed and it bodes well for the future of the Iron man and marvel franchise. Solid gold. Expand
  66. MarcoM.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    The Iron Man experience was like going to see the first Spiderman, X-Men, Batman Begins movies, which translates to amazing. The movie had amazing action sequences that kept your eyes locked onto the screen. The comic relief through out the movie was right on time with each appearance. The movie has a great montage to get you up to speed with who Tony Stark a.k.a Iron Man was and who he The Iron Man experience was like going to see the first Spiderman, X-Men, Batman Begins movies, which translates to amazing. The movie had amazing action sequences that kept your eyes locked onto the screen. The comic relief through out the movie was right on time with each appearance. The movie has a great montage to get you up to speed with who Tony Stark a.k.a Iron Man was and who he is today in that movie. Robert Downy Jr. played a great Tony Stark. Downey had some great moments where he just told you through his eyes. Then the lovely Gweneth Paltrow played a great side kick through out the movie holding her own, and never being left behind in the story. The movie was about two hours, and I could have possibly seen a three hour version, because the movie was so good. I just hope that with the sequel they stick to what worked and not try to cram so much like Spiderman 3 wah wah! I am going to see this movie at least two more times. Amazing Movie! Expand
  67. John
    May 11, 2008
    8
    Very good movie worth seeing in a theatre.
  68. MattK
    May 12, 2008
    8
    Robert Downey Jr. is awesome. Jeff Bridges is a great Anti-Dude ("that's a publicity stunt---we made that to shut the hippies up!"). Favreau paces the film very well with the perfect mix of humor, action, suspense, and romance. I was hopeful that this was a sign of what's to come this summer (it was perfectly matched with the new Dark Knight trailer), but after Speed Racer, Robert Downey Jr. is awesome. Jeff Bridges is a great Anti-Dude ("that's a publicity stunt---we made that to shut the hippies up!"). Favreau paces the film very well with the perfect mix of humor, action, suspense, and romance. I was hopeful that this was a sign of what's to come this summer (it was perfectly matched with the new Dark Knight trailer), but after Speed Racer, I'm not so optimistic. Expand
  69. PDiddy
    May 1, 2008
    10
    The perfect comic book movie. Brilliantly cast, utterly faithful to the characters. There is no flaw, I just wish it could have been longer. I could honestly have watched this film all day long.
  70. JoeL.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    As a marvel superhero movie this was great. Funny at parts and serious at others. I recommend it, even my wife liked it and she only likes chick flicks usually.
  71. WayneR.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Downey shows what a true master he is, putting his stamp on this movie, a movie where he his remembered and not the character, 10 out of 10 for me.
  72. AlfredG.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    Lot's of fun! Won't exactly tax your mind, but for pure enjoyment, regardless of whether you're an Iron Man fan, this is the one to beat this summer blockbuster season. Highly recommended.
  73. GabrielK.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    I saw this movie for the world release date and one word can I say... "Amazing". I went to the movie theater expecting another mediocre movie of marvel, but this is was great, I never liked iron man before but now is my favorite hero. Robert Downey Jr. fit perfectly the character. The effects, the story and the action is fantastic. You will want to see it again, for sure. For me the best I saw this movie for the world release date and one word can I say... "Amazing". I went to the movie theater expecting another mediocre movie of marvel, but this is was great, I never liked iron man before but now is my favorite hero. Robert Downey Jr. fit perfectly the character. The effects, the story and the action is fantastic. You will want to see it again, for sure. For me the best movie I've ever seen for long time. Expand
  74. TrevorH.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    This movie is a solid B+. The first in the Marvel series to actually adapt real scenes and real storyline from the comics with integrity and modesty. Downey Jr. is perfect as Tony Stark. Gwenyth is a great Pepper. And most important, Jeff Bridges shows his stripes as an evil villan. Bring on Doctor Doom in Iron Man 2.
  75. ScottG.
    May 14, 2008
    10
    Best superhero movie yet.
  76. AriL.
    May 16, 2008
    5
    Military industrial complex driven movie should be inspiring for a younger generations. Perhaps thats why most of the corporate media gave it a big thumbs up. The perfectly sanctioned Pentagon film for the cattle. Enjoy.
  77. TroyM.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Robert Downey Jr's amazing perfomance elevates this film to epic heights. Equal in quality to Batman Begins while providing even more flash and eye candy. Best in genre to date, a triumph!
  78. DemetriusM.
    May 10, 2008
    3
    I feel like I was watching a commercial rather than a superhero movie. Burger King, Audi and others really make me feel like this movie was made to showcase all the brands. Sure, Transformers also did it but it was not obvious. Robert Downey Jr. really portrayed the billionaire Mr. Stark but Gwyneth really disappoint me. Hope the sequel will be a proper movie rather than a commercial disaster.
  79. RogB.
    May 19, 2008
    9
    Best popcorn movie in recent memory!!
  80. FrederickM.
    May 2, 2008
    8
    its an awesome movie... get that right before you read my review... my reviem does not have any major criticisms so i wont even bring them up... solid performance by downey... great cg effects... decent story and plot... and overall a kickass movie
  81. PawelA.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    The best superhero movie I've ever seen. Downey Jr. and the rest of the cast at their best. A must see for all comic book fans.
  82. StevenK.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Best superhero movie in ages!
  83. BillG.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    One of the best comic book movies. Downy nailed the part as tony stark. and It is good Marvel is starting to put the Marvel U in movies.
  84. DarrenK.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    So much better than most comic book movies. It manages to tell a compelling story AND have good performances from the entire cast. This is probably the only comic book movie I've seen where all the acting was actually good. The effects are fantastic and there is enough spectacle to keep everybody happy.
  85. SeanH.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Easily the best superhero movie I have ever seen. Perfect measure of plot, action, CG, physical props, and little subtle additions that the casual fan may not catch, but hard core Marvel fans will feel rewarded for getting.
  86. BobJ.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Just so damn good I have to see it again. Look at the teaser at the end of the credits.
  87. JMB.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    The exposition took up most of the movie, but every bit of it was enjoyable. Robert Downey Jr is easily the most likable, badass superhero we've seen in the theaters so far. Bring on the sequel!
  88. RickyQ.
    May 20, 2008
    7
    An entertaining film that feels too much like all the other superhero movies before it. Fairly funny, good acting, and cool effects throughout make this a fun night at the movies.
  89. JakeH.
    May 24, 2008
    9
    This movie was amazing! I was actionpacked and alot of sci-fi bombing. The movie had alot of talking I found and not enough fighting although I thought Robert Downey Jr. played the part perfectly he was funny and herioc. Although, the movie was pretty short of action, but besides that this movie was amazing!
  90. GregQ.
    May 25, 2008
    9
    This is the most enjoyable Marvel franchise movie made, is more mature than other comic-book based films (except for the Batman Begins, maybe), and is surprisingly gritty. Those looking for dramatic character development might be a little disappointed. However there is something to be said for the superhero who is not a "superbeing" but decides to become a hero, rather than the This is the most enjoyable Marvel franchise movie made, is more mature than other comic-book based films (except for the Batman Begins, maybe), and is surprisingly gritty. Those looking for dramatic character development might be a little disappointed. However there is something to be said for the superhero who is not a "superbeing" but decides to become a hero, rather than the "superbeing" who becomes the hero out of obligation to use his (or her) powers. The dynamic between Potts and Stark is especially well done, and I like how they close out that part of the movie. This is a great movie and you should go see it in the theaters while you can. Expand
  91. TimM
    May 2, 2008
    6
    Ehhh... overrated. Gotta love Downey though.
  92. WilliamG.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    Excellent movie, worth every penny.
  93. SimonD.
    May 27, 2008
    2
    I really regret seeing this movie. Acting was average, CGI was average, but it's the storyline that really destroys it. If you watch movies with a critical eye then you cant help noticing there are twice as many government-approved messages in this one, compared to any of the similar movies that have been released. I realize that's how you have to make them if you want to use I really regret seeing this movie. Acting was average, CGI was average, but it's the storyline that really destroys it. If you watch movies with a critical eye then you cant help noticing there are twice as many government-approved messages in this one, compared to any of the similar movies that have been released. I realize that's how you have to make them if you want to use the military's shiny toys but is it really worth it? I think John Cusack's "War, Inc" is a much more realistic view of things. On the other hand if you just watch movies to tune out then you'll have a blast, and hey, if the Wall Street Journal gives a movie 100% then it must be cool, right? Expand
  94. JoeS.
    May 2, 2008
    7
    A decent movie but ultimately lacking. It's 8 parts set up and 2 parts action, and I definitely would have liked more action. The villian choice was a bit lacking, but after the Spiderman 3 fiasco, I'd rather have less than way way way too much. A decent movie but I wouldn't recommend seeing it unless you're going to see Iron Man 2 right after it.
  95. Marc-AndreK.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    This movie was amazing. From the beginning to the end, you keep being involved in this never ending action process.
  96. SamD.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Firmly establishes itself as one of the best comic book movies ever and, at the same time, is a very good film overall.
  97. EddieM
    May 3, 2008
    10
    O my god where to start Robert Downey Jr. gives his best performance in his acting career, lines, effects, everything clicks in this movie. Could be argued as the best superhero movie ever made. Only thing holding it back is the brief ending, needed to go a little more instead of tony stark confessing that he is iron man at a press conference and the credits roll. That was the only O my god where to start Robert Downey Jr. gives his best performance in his acting career, lines, effects, everything clicks in this movie. Could be argued as the best superhero movie ever made. Only thing holding it back is the brief ending, needed to go a little more instead of tony stark confessing that he is iron man at a press conference and the credits roll. That was the only downside to this movie, other than that, Iron man is the sh*t, i think its better than the dark knight is going to be. Expand
  98. JoeyK.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Extremely awesome. There's not much else to say. It's awesome, go see it.
  99. WalterS.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Iron Man was great. The theatre broke out into cheers and applause seven times at the showing. Seven. You probably know what scenes it happened at. It's awesome, funny, and doesn't require a lot of thinking to understand what's going on. Go with the user vote instead of the critic vote on this one.
  100. RobC
    May 3, 2008
    5
    The only good thing besides the effects is Downey!, almost the worst of Marvel comics.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Downey plays off his own bad-boy image wonderfully. The writers give him great lines to work with and ditto that for his Girl Friday, Gwyneth Paltrow's Pepper Potts, whose own svelte lines cannot be improved on.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    Ever-eclectic director Jon Favreau, who briefly pops up onscreen as a Stark minion, maintains a brisk but not frantic pace, and, in concert with lenser Matthew Libatique, production designer J. Michael Riva and the first-rate visual effects team, has made an unusually elegant looking film for the genre.
  3. Loyal assistant, Pepper Potts, isn't much of a part, but Gwyneth Paltrow is a presence. She stands around looking amused and flabbergastingly pretty, slinging wisecracks with serene aplomb.