Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 2, 2008
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1649 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,499
Mixed:
87
Negative:
63
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DesmondW.May 2, 2008
Ironman was always my favorite hero from the marvel universe. It felt really good to watch him shine on the big screen. RDJ's acting is simply brilliant. Great story adaption leaving it realistic. Few but well done action scenes getting Ironman was always my favorite hero from the marvel universe. It felt really good to watch him shine on the big screen. RDJ's acting is simply brilliant. Great story adaption leaving it realistic. Few but well done action scenes getting you a real feel for the suit. Suprisingly this movie will bring you alot of laughs..Yes its weird but it sure wll. I LOVE IT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BBMay 22, 2008
Seriously, I'm going to start knocking 30 points off all scores to get a more realistic sense of a movie's quality. There's a lot of grade inflation going on here. Come on, people, 9's and 10's? Lame, lame, lame Seriously, I'm going to start knocking 30 points off all scores to get a more realistic sense of a movie's quality. There's a lot of grade inflation going on here. Come on, people, 9's and 10's? Lame, lame, lame movie. Don't bother. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful
8
PriyanthT.May 2, 2008
thye movie was awesome the graphics were done greatly and it was fun watchin and it was no less than spider man, superman or batman, and wish a sequel wuld be made
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CamilleMay 30, 2008
Though I admittedly enjoyed Speed Racer more, I absolutely loved this movie. It was the perfect balance of action and explanation needed for a comic book movie origin story. The thing that had me most appreciative was the believability of Though I admittedly enjoyed Speed Racer more, I absolutely loved this movie. It was the perfect balance of action and explanation needed for a comic book movie origin story. The thing that had me most appreciative was the believability of the special effects and dynamics between the characters. This is a film not to be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TeryMay 3, 2008
I saw the movie at 10:30 PM on 5/2. I think is is a very good movie. The plot was pretty good. The actors were excellent. The movie didn't seem to flow that well due to direction. It was so exciting, I could not get out of my seat to go I saw the movie at 10:30 PM on 5/2. I think is is a very good movie. The plot was pretty good. The actors were excellent. The movie didn't seem to flow that well due to direction. It was so exciting, I could not get out of my seat to go the restroom or buy anything, and that says something! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeN.May 3, 2008
Downey nailed the character of Stark. Special effects look real. Dialogue is very sharp and witty. Would have been nice to give Bridges more screen time. Last act felt a little rushed. Final fight could have been a little longer/more Downey nailed the character of Stark. Special effects look real. Dialogue is very sharp and witty. Would have been nice to give Bridges more screen time. Last act felt a little rushed. Final fight could have been a little longer/more dramatic. Good start to the series can Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidR.May 30, 2008
I have never really cared for RDJ as an actor and the current comic version of Iron Man is an unlikeable fascist dick, so I had zero expectations going into this movie. I only saw it because I had eight bucks to spend and two hours to kill. I have never really cared for RDJ as an actor and the current comic version of Iron Man is an unlikeable fascist dick, so I had zero expectations going into this movie. I only saw it because I had eight bucks to spend and two hours to kill. Coming out of the movie, I bought another ticket because I would have been ripping the theater off if I had only paid full price for it. This is the standard by which all future Marvel movies will be judged. I simply cannot praise this movie enough. It's as good as Batman Begins, but "lighter" and more suitable for children, and it has enough sly humor that the adults will be entertained as well. RDJ gives the performance of a lifetime in the role he was born to play. I have seen this movie six times now and I'm going back this weekend for yet another serving of metal-suited terrorist-punching awesomeness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
2May 3, 2008
You can't mix serious issues with fantasy! Why did they have to include the war in the middle east for? Couldn't they think of a fictional enemy? And Stark being the "suit" in a cave? was just stupid!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
JulieF.May 4, 2008
They did it again! They RUINED another icon! Why does Hollywood have to force their opinions on us at every film showing? I became more and more angry throughout this film. Here's the REALLY hypocritical part: Robert Downey Jr. is just They did it again! They RUINED another icon! Why does Hollywood have to force their opinions on us at every film showing? I became more and more angry throughout this film. Here's the REALLY hypocritical part: Robert Downey Jr. is just fine with TORCHING a bunch of Afghani's and obliterating a bunch more when it's HIS life on the line. He has no problem wasting dozens of men to escape from a cave (which he evidently could have just FLOWN out of anyway). But when it's our SOLDIERS that are in harm's way, OH....then we can't have any weapons! It's kind of like how Hollywood drives around in Limo's but wants the rest of us to ride bikes to work so we don't make a "carbon footprint". Anyway, the last 5/6 of this film will be a big preach-fest about how the USA is a war-mongering nation who has no right to defend herself and how any weapons manufacturer should not be allowed to exact a profit (while Hollywood gets to make BILLIONS of dollars of profit on its own products) What a farce. Don't see this film if you have a brain because it'll explode. Don't see this film if you love your country because this film certainly doesn't. SHAME ON YOU, IRON MAN. Recommended: Not in a million years. Expand
0 of 10 users found this helpful
8
MattAMay 6, 2008
This was a very good movie. Although...it would have been nothing without Robert Downey Jr. He made the picture...well...him, and the awesome looking Iron Man suit. My only major gripe was that it all felt like it was leading up to This was a very good movie. Although...it would have been nothing without Robert Downey Jr. He made the picture...well...him, and the awesome looking Iron Man suit. My only major gripe was that it all felt like it was leading up to something...better...in which it was. So when the sequel comes around...i may be giving this a nine, but until then, this serves as a good backstory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RienyeN.May 8, 2008
Awesome movie! I was riveted from the start to end. Simple clear-cut story without bothersome sub-plots! The special effects were excellent and Downey delivered. Gwyneth could have been more lively but other than that i highly recommend it. Awesome movie! I was riveted from the start to end. Simple clear-cut story without bothersome sub-plots! The special effects were excellent and Downey delivered. Gwyneth could have been more lively but other than that i highly recommend it. Best marvel comic adaptation to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonP.May 8, 2008
Forget the pretentiously snivelling humdrum of those who would look down upon this piece of movie theatre gold. They are probably upset that an action movie could be such a powerful epic, and that some pathetic, self-indulgent yet tragic Forget the pretentiously snivelling humdrum of those who would look down upon this piece of movie theatre gold. They are probably upset that an action movie could be such a powerful epic, and that some pathetic, self-indulgent yet tragic art-fiasco love-story wasn't the cause of the warm feelings welling from within. Out of shame, they look downward with their bespectacled glare and succeed in once again providing all they can to the world: their judgment of someone else's brilliance. This movie was the perfect mix of snide wit and explosive special effects. It not only does the comic book justice, but sets itself apart from its printed origins and in fact all other movies in its genre. It is so rare to see Oscar worthy performances in what should be a simple shoot-em-up, but that's what you get for your money. This is a must-see, and one of the best of all time; believe it. Mark my words: this film will break the billions, and birth a new tinsel-town dynasty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AntrossoI.May 8, 2008
Overrated movie, just another solid action movie. Nothing more, nothing less.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
EricaM.Nov 3, 2008
Boring. Music poorly concieved. Though there are good actors in this film, there aren't a lot of good acting opportunities. We turned it off half way through, and returned to it with resignation. What is it that everyone liked about this movie?
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
NormanX.Apr 30, 2008
Wonderfully done. I was afraid it'll be cheesy and lame, but it met every expectation with some great lines from Robert Downey Jr, the perfect Tony Stark. Pacing was good, great action, and even a quick reference to perhaps a sequel Wonderfully done. I was afraid it'll be cheesy and lame, but it met every expectation with some great lines from Robert Downey Jr, the perfect Tony Stark. Pacing was good, great action, and even a quick reference to perhaps a sequel with Warhammer made me hunger for more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveS.Apr 30, 2008
If you are a marvel comic fan, or even a fan of action movies in general, then you need to see this movie. Being the first in what will undoubtedly be a series, this movie has no baggage to bring into it, and really stands out because of it. If you are a marvel comic fan, or even a fan of action movies in general, then you need to see this movie. Being the first in what will undoubtedly be a series, this movie has no baggage to bring into it, and really stands out because of it. The story may be a fairly simple one, but it is a brilliant introduction to the character of Iron Man. Robert Downey junior makes a return to form in his portrayal of Tony Stark/Iron Man blending arrogance, some self realisation and lighter comedic moments well. The visuals and special effects are a credit to the production and special effects teams. Simply put, this is the best Marvel movie I have seen in a long time, and quite frankly I'm willing to see it again in the cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisR.May 10, 2008
I thoughts this was a very well done movie. the only problem I had with it was the amount of action. this movie really doesn't get going until the middle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidW.May 1, 2008
Wow, this movie is definitely one of the best superhero movies. Arguably better than the Spiderman movies. What makes this movie so good is the character Tony Stark. Tony Stark is just one of those you guys who you hate and love at the same Wow, this movie is definitely one of the best superhero movies. Arguably better than the Spiderman movies. What makes this movie so good is the character Tony Stark. Tony Stark is just one of those you guys who you hate and love at the same time cause he's so cocky. The ending is awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JanmikS.May 10, 2008
Very very entertaining and visually awesome. Great script for wit and humor and acting covers the somewhat typical superhero movie plot. 'Tis worth your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Bluezboy8May 10, 2008
All the CG and gadgetry of a summer blockbuster, but surprisingly, all the well-drawn story and acting of a fall season Oscar contender. This movie just has it ALL!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadShiiraMay 19, 2008
When Tony Stark(Robert Downey Jr.) returns to the middle east as Ironman, he's no longer the problem to war; he's the solution. This routine, but literary-steeped screenplay, suggests that the weapons manufacturer is a contemporaryWhen Tony Stark(Robert Downey Jr.) returns to the middle east as Ironman, he's no longer the problem to war; he's the solution. This routine, but literary-steeped screenplay, suggests that the weapons manufacturer is a contemporary Marlowe, the protagonist in Joseph Conrad's modernist classic "Heart of Darkness", which told the story of Africa's rape at the turn of the century by European hands. Although Marlowe wasn't an imperialist, per se, he did foster the ongoing tyranny by simply being in that tug boat. In "Ironman", as Stark rides across the desert in an army utility vehicle, our anti-hero gets closer to his unbeknowing nightmare, the discovery that he's enabling the enemy. The horror, the horror. In that cave, he turns into Oskar Schindler(an ex-war profiteer), as a Marvel superhero. But if you're looking for a Kurtz stand-in, it's pretty hard not to miss Jeff Bridges' bald head. Bridges manages the neat trick of being a megalomaniacal tyrant with a god complex(in other words, Marlon Brando in Francis Ford Coppola's "Apocalypse Now"), and Preston Thomas Tucker(the car manufacturer in "Tucker: The Man & His Dreams; again, Coppola), a man of vision, albeit an evil one. "Ironman" also impresses with its Mulder/Scully dynamics between Stark and Pepper Potts(Gwyneth Paltrow). When Stark says, "Admit it. This isn't the worst thing you caught me doing," to his assistant, fans of "The X-Files" will nod knowingly. Mulder was a porn aficionado. "Ironman", predictably, has the requisite action to satisfy its target demographic(something that Ang Lee's "Hulk" failed to do), but it's the suppressed love between boss and employee that's the real story here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenH.May 2, 2008
What a great movie. I went in expecting possibly a passable movie and found that there was not a moment in this very well structured movie that didn't keep me absolutley glued to my seat. This movie is well worth seeing in the cinemas. What a great movie. I went in expecting possibly a passable movie and found that there was not a moment in this very well structured movie that didn't keep me absolutley glued to my seat. This movie is well worth seeing in the cinemas. The acting was great particularily from Robert Downey Jr. I couldn't imagine the role of Tony Stark ever going to anyone else. The comedy in it was hilarious . What we need to keep in mind when rating this movie that it is a comic action flick, and as such i will rate it so.. there was no great meaning or artsy fartsy metaphors. For me this was the perfect comic book action movie. It was far better than any of the other marvels movies i have seen so far and made Transformers look like a joke. I will be going to the movies again soon for this one. 10/10 from me, i hope there is a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JesseB.May 20, 2008
I waited too long, I guess, for this movie. The pacing was wrong and the jokes were only good sometimes. His gadgetry is fantastic but not logical at all. Even a tiny explanation would have been interesting even if not entirely possible. I waited too long, I guess, for this movie. The pacing was wrong and the jokes were only good sometimes. His gadgetry is fantastic but not logical at all. Even a tiny explanation would have been interesting even if not entirely possible. Tony Stark makes an impression of being a Jock before and after his adventure. No character developement there. The action is mainly 2 or 3 scenes and the rest is just embarrasing. Especially the last fight. Watch this in the cinema and you'll at least get the special effects. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JarrodD.May 2, 2008
OK, Dark Knight has a opponent that I thought would fade away in a few minutes after seeing it. I thought Iron Man was going to be entertaining at most really. I didn't think they would do a super great job at "wow"ing me. As you know,OK, Dark Knight has a opponent that I thought would fade away in a few minutes after seeing it. I thought Iron Man was going to be entertaining at most really. I didn't think they would do a super great job at "wow"ing me. As you know, I'm a comic book fanatic. I love em. So, imagine my surprise when they stayed true, and even upped the Iron Man characters, stories, and visuals. I didn't find myself once thinking about how good/bad the effects were. I know that they were incredibly well done, but I also was so into the !&^#% story that I wasn't paying attention to that....which I've never done. Robert Downey Jr in my opinion does his best work to date. I couldn't have asked for a better actor....absolutely perfect. I think RDJ can relate to Tony Stark cuz they've both had/have problems with drugs or women or whatnot, so it worked pretty well. Jeff Bridges, I couldn't see him as the antagonist in my mind before the movie. During and after the movie, I was all for him playing the villain. I don't know about all of you, but for me, it's hard to like or even really care about the "damsel in distress" in super hero movies. I could care less for Mary Jane in Spider man, or Rachael Dawes in Batman Begins. Their characters were just there to be in trouble and add a little sexual flavor to the movie. Gwyneth Paltrow, I honestly cared and liked her character. She was there for more than just, HELP! In fact, she was pretty bad @%#. The acting from all these people was great. They couldn't have done better. There was just enough comic book references in there to keep a nerd like me happy. I could myself a few times clenching my hands in anticipation and glee for what I was about to see or seeing. I was seriously like a 7 year old again watching a combination of Robocop, Superman, Batman, and the x-men cartoon for the first time. It was so @%^$ sweet to see such a good adaptation on screen. I can't tell you how critical I am of comic book movies. As adaptations they #^#*$ suck. As movies, they are usually just passable as entertaining, with the exception of a few. This was a great adaptation (the 8 people around me in the theater thought it was the best adaptation of a book to a story they've seen) Just enough action in it to keep everyone wanting to see what the hell that suit can do (and it is a lot) and just enough character development and story to keep everyone interested and caring for these characters. I can honestly say that I wouldn't have changed a single thing. There was everything in there that needed to be in there, without any of the #&$%@@#$. I would've added one thing. IT'S DIFFERENT THAT CHANGING THINGS! It's not a spoiler, just an awesome Iron Man line that was in a comic. There was a scene in the comic where Tony Stark is flying around in the suit and the guys on the ground are noticing he's slurring words and I think he's even singing. The people observing the test yell through the communication line, "Tony, are you #&$% drunk?!" to which it cuts to a panel of Tony Stark in the suit laughing and saying "Have you seen this thing!? Do you really think I'd get into it sober!" haha, everytime I let anyone read that series, they always remember that line and laugh. So, in conclusion, @&*$%^@#! Go see it immediately. I'm available for lunch if you want to go then! Also, when you do see it, stay till after the credits. I don't care if you get a phone call that your baby is birthing right then and there. You sit your @$$ down and watch the #*$%@# end! I honestly felt like an Arsenio Hall audience member after the end scene, I stood up and pumped my fist and gave a "woot woot woot" so awesome! Truly surprised. Alright, I'll shut up. Go see it already Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekC.May 2, 2008
This is what it's all about. Where other movies have either gone cheezy (fantastic 4, the hulk) or realistic and gritty (batman begins), this film succeeds in being fun, carefree and allows you to just enjoy the ride. Downey is a This is what it's all about. Where other movies have either gone cheezy (fantastic 4, the hulk) or realistic and gritty (batman begins), this film succeeds in being fun, carefree and allows you to just enjoy the ride. Downey is a perfect cast. Makes you want to be a kid again and build your own ironman suit out of cardboard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EugeneM.May 3, 2008
Superb comic based movie. RDJ was perfect for the role. I did not give it a perfect 10 because I still wanted to see more ironman action scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SorenKMay 3, 2008
Iron Man perfectly suits the superhero movie genre; especially if you're under fourteen years of age. The movie lacks a truly formidable foe to push the Iron Man's buttons and force him to prove his mettle (I blame Favreau). The Iron Man perfectly suits the superhero movie genre; especially if you're under fourteen years of age. The movie lacks a truly formidable foe to push the Iron Man's buttons and force him to prove his mettle (I blame Favreau). The casting/acting is top shelf, but too much of it is wasted on exposition (not to mention a lack of any real chemistry between Downey and Paltrow). Favreau's direction is mostly plodding and unsure of itself - antithetical to the movie's protagonist. By all means go see it, but let's hope Marvel picks a better director for the sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReyA.May 30, 2008
This is by far the best superhero movie of all time. I used to be a big fan of spiderman until Iron Man came around. Also, what I liked alot is the technologically advanced weaponry used in the film. It really caught my attention.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DplummMay 3, 2008
I went kicking and screaming.... This is not my type of movie....I'm more of a McDreamy kind of movie goer..... I never even heard of IronMan. I was not dissapointed. Robert and Terrance as friends. ... so believable .....and Pepper and I went kicking and screaming.... This is not my type of movie....I'm more of a McDreamy kind of movie goer..... I never even heard of IronMan. I was not dissapointed. Robert and Terrance as friends. ... so believable .....and Pepper and Jeff....what a cast! A must see!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaddyH.May 3, 2008
A great film......brilliant gadget wise! definately would recommend it to other people!!!!!!!!!!!!! go watch it
0 of 0 users found this helpful