User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 102
  2. Negative: 15 out of 102
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 19, 2012
    6
    The concept and beautiful absurdity of the idea surpasses vastly the final realisation.
    Some moments of the film are brilliant, sublime and truly very funny, but then they are surrounded by others that just show glimpses of potential fun to be exploited buried deep in the dark side of the Moon.
    The cast, the narrative, the visuals, the direction and the dialogue are all an experiment on
    The concept and beautiful absurdity of the idea surpasses vastly the final realisation.
    Some moments of the film are brilliant, sublime and truly very funny, but then they are surrounded by others that just show glimpses of potential fun to be exploited buried deep in the dark side of the Moon.
    The cast, the narrative, the visuals, the direction and the dialogue are all an experiment on "hit and miss".
    In my opinion it is still a film to watch (if it does not pain your wallet to much), just be warned that you will find yourself at the end wishing it would have lived to its full promise of bizarre, demented fun.
    Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    6
    There are a lot of really funny moments in this film, and they're worth the price of admission. However, they don't quite overcome a slow pace and uneven tone (switching from whacky action/comedy to dark and grim). If anything, it's quite impressive for such a modest budget.
  3. May 29, 2012
    4
    The comedy is predictable, the characters shallow and boring. There are a lot of enjoyable moments, but most attempts at comedy fail. Overall the film does not hold up to a potentially epic concept.
  4. Jun 8, 2012
    6
    Iron Sky is definitely a fun movie . With the mixer of si-fi and comedy its just never boring . Good story , it was so different and script was kinda funny too. Most of the films like this just dont work out but it really did. The cast was amazing and funny on their own way. and the visual effect of the film was surprisingly amazing. I mean how did they do all those with a budget of â
  5. Apr 12, 2012
    4
    Iron Sky is, sadly, lame. I was killing for some good Nazi jokes - none here I'm afraid. Seems they spent all their time and money trying to make the film look expensive, instead of making it funny. The only time our packed audience really laughed was at a topical joke that had nothing to do with the film's story. The only thing you really need to know about this movie, is that for a filmIron Sky is, sadly, lame. I was killing for some good Nazi jokes - none here I'm afraid. Seems they spent all their time and money trying to make the film look expensive, instead of making it funny. The only time our packed audience really laughed was at a topical joke that had nothing to do with the film's story. The only thing you really need to know about this movie, is that for a film about NAZIS FROM SPACE, it ends on a serious note. Argghhhh! Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2012
    6
    thought it was a pretty good B movie but probably could have been a bit more camp with the nazi theme not really used to its ultimate... very good special effects for a low budget flick
  7. Jan 5, 2013
    5
    This is a very well produced, atrocious "B" movie. This film is not good but that is where it shines, it is a "B" movie for the sake of being a "B" movie. It never tries to take itself seriously in any way and only manages to pull off it's attempt at scripted humor occasionally. If you find yourself laughing it is usually "at" the movie and certainly not "with" it. A perfect candidateThis is a very well produced, atrocious "B" movie. This film is not good but that is where it shines, it is a "B" movie for the sake of being a "B" movie. It never tries to take itself seriously in any way and only manages to pull off it's attempt at scripted humor occasionally. If you find yourself laughing it is usually "at" the movie and certainly not "with" it. A perfect candidate for a "bad movie night". I've seen worse, but not by much. Ed Wood would be proud. Expand
  8. Sep 19, 2012
    5
    Iron Sky has one of the great all-time exploitation movie premises. There's no point beating about the bush, it's about space Nazis. Apparently, after they lost WWII, the Reich retreated to the moon, but feel the time is right for world domination 67 years later. For a film of its type, it works more often than not, though the setup is clunky even by B-movie standards, and the film as aIron Sky has one of the great all-time exploitation movie premises. There's no point beating about the bush, it's about space Nazis. Apparently, after they lost WWII, the Reich retreated to the moon, but feel the time is right for world domination 67 years later. For a film of its type, it works more often than not, though the setup is clunky even by B-movie standards, and the film as a whole is a bit too drawn out. There are a few satisfyingly surreal and tongue-in-cheek gags, the best of which mocks contemporary world politics (with a particularly cruel, but hilarious Sarah Palin caricature performed pitch-perfectly by Stephanie Paul) and another which involves two Nazi soldiers passionately disagreeing with the appeal of 21st century pornography. Despite these memorable moments and sporting some rather impressive visual effects for an independent Finnish film, Iron Sky often, sometimes fatefully, plays it far too straight-faced. The film's marketing campaign got it right by really embracing how ridiculous it is, and the film would probably have benefited from being similar in tone to the Tarantino/Rodriguez Grindhouse project from a few years ago - a parody, but a knowing, high-quality homage rather than an outright spoof that has the potential to quickly run out of steam. At the end of the day, though there's a lot to like in Iron Sky, and though you will probably laugh at some point, it needs to be far funnier to make the whole concept work. Expand
  9. Aug 11, 2012
    5
    The film was enjoyable to watch but it just wasn't that good. The idea of it seemed amazing a first and the initial trailer presented a sinister invasion from the nazi's where earth struggles to survive. but the film was different. it turned out to be more like a slap-stick/comedy/disaster/crime movie in which it failed in each category. The acting was mostly appalling, although JuliaThe film was enjoyable to watch but it just wasn't that good. The idea of it seemed amazing a first and the initial trailer presented a sinister invasion from the nazi's where earth struggles to survive. but the film was different. it turned out to be more like a slap-stick/comedy/disaster/crime movie in which it failed in each category. The acting was mostly appalling, although Julia Dietze fulfilled her role perfectly. not living up to it's premise Iron Sky was a disappointment. there were some remotely humorous moments and the CGI was "top notch". The big war ship which was revealed near the end after a large build-up got destroyed far too early. it was like the scene in transformers 2 where the big robot thing climbs the pyramid then gets blown up in a few seconds. we expect it to wreak havoc for at least half an hour but no, it travelled ten feet after blasting a hole in the moon...then it crashed! i feel like in the film, the "earthlings" won a bit too easily; all the nazi's did was blow up a few buildings in new york, but the "earthlings" practically destroyed everything including the moon base itself. Overall it was cheesy and predictable and shallow and a bit hard to keep up with whats going on at some points. but the CGI was fantastic, and Julia Dietze was well hot.

    Worth a watch, but nothing to rave about
    Expand
  10. May 18, 2015
    5
    This film had such promise but to be honest I found it very dumb and really not very funny. Basically gave up watching three quarters of the way through. I never really felt as though the creators knew what kind of movie they wanted to make. Best part was the nazi babe. Not much else to see.
  11. Aug 24, 2012
    5
    I was very intrigued with the trailers of this movie. I knew it was a comedy and that it wasnt to be taken seriously, but really.. this movie is nonsense. Even the jokes are not funny. Big disappointment.
  12. Dec 18, 2013
    4
    This movie is awful tbh. Some episods (about 90% of movie) is so absurd, so its even hard to watch. White afroamerican, what? You can see bad painted bleach on his face. Main actors, especially Helper of President, President herself and that Colonel or Vice-Furer-somewhat guy have faces like it was smashed by iron and want more. Fight of presidents at the end of movie? I wished someone toThis movie is awful tbh. Some episods (about 90% of movie) is so absurd, so its even hard to watch. White afroamerican, what? You can see bad painted bleach on his face. Main actors, especially Helper of President, President herself and that Colonel or Vice-Furer-somewhat guy have faces like it was smashed by iron and want more. Fight of presidents at the end of movie? I wished someone to kill me. That episode of afroamerican and nazi girl almost flying away in open space? Lolz
    But that Renata girl is quite cute, I also liked the moment when they meet with President and Renata explains their politics.
    I wont reccomend anyone to watch this, and hardly will watch it myself, but for sore reason I will keep it in my library.
    p.s. WHY THIS HELPER OF PRESIDENT WOMAN HAVE SUCH UGLY FACE WHYYY
    Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 3 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    Apr 1, 2012
    50
    Much more amusing in theory than in execution.
  2. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Apr 1, 2012
    50
    Vuorensola's sci-fi comedy is uneven, its humor never quite matching the luster of its visuals.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew Pulver
    Apr 1, 2012
    40
    It's not terrible, by any means: just not nearly as funny or cruel as its killer premise suggests.