User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 98
  2. Negative: 15 out of 98

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    Iron sky has a great mix of comedy, movie references and criticism of modern culture. Comedy parts are very well structured and in just right places. Also visuals are handled well, knowing that this is not Hollywood production. I would definitely recommend it to all.
  2. May 19, 2012
    6
    The concept and beautiful absurdity of the idea surpasses vastly the final realisation.
    Some moments of the film are brilliant, sublime and truly very funny, but then they are surrounded by others that just show glimpses of potential fun to be exploited buried deep in the dark side of the Moon.
    The cast, the narrative, the visuals, the direction and the dialogue are all an experiment on
    "hit and miss".
    In my opinion it is still a film to watch (if it does not pain your wallet to much), just be warned that you will find yourself at the end wishing it would have lived to its full promise of bizarre, demented fun.
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    Very good directed movie. I did like the Iron sky alot. It was more comedy than action and it was very funny at some part and it did end a bit too early.
  4. Apr 5, 2012
    8
    Iron Sky is a bit of a mixed bag, some may hate it and some may love it. The humor is done pretty well and some of the jokes and/or parodies had me cracking up in the theater. Most of the special effects are gorgeous and there's a lot of action in it too. I thought the story was kind of generic and not that interesting even though it did have some twists in it. The ending was a tad bit disappointing since it kinda left some questions unanswered and came out of the blue but overall the movie was good. I'd say it's a movie that is best seen in the cinema. Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2012
    9
    Super cool movie. I love the concept of Nazis from the dark side of the moon. The movie is not only absolutely funny but transports also a great portion of morale.
  6. Apr 20, 2012
    9
    Iron sky may be misunderstood by some for its trashy dark humor and for its abundance of cultural references. To those who understand and appreciate this, the movie is a gift from heaven. Iron Sky is guaranteed to become a classic, so may as well just watch it now.
  7. Apr 29, 2012
    8
    < See those critic reviews on the left? Those are there and give this movie 50 out of 100 because Iron Sky makes a laugh of the culture they represent. It's a witty and funny movie that derides the pop culture and politics as a whole with a ton of well-chosen references, proving that you don't need an AAA budget to create a good movie with stunning visuals nor that you must have a Spielberg as the executive producer. It is not "as funny or cruel as its killer premise"? Oh come on! It's a wonderfully done B-class black comedy that even in the end mocks Hollywood productions! And it's great! Don't listen to "critics" whom the movie criticizes! I saw the "killer premise" and I expected a movie with a simple plot, full of bad acting, with lots of star battles and jokes about the nazi, all presented in a high quality way. Except for bad acting, which was correct and decent, all was there and I'm far from disappointed. Expand
  8. May 4, 2012
    0
    The writing, story, and direction of this film are just terrible. Even the jokes are totally lame. There really isn't much to say about it, it is just a very bad and boring film.
  9. May 21, 2012
    10
    Fantastic Movie, I visualize like Watchmen and Sucker Punch, and is funny, Iron Sky is a great sci-fi, comedy, action, parody movie, I love Iron Sky. Great movie.
  10. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    This movie is just awesome it has good jokes and good acting. Best movie made by Finland and one of my favorites. I would say it is mostly a sci-fi and comedy movie the action scenes were little slow but still good movie.
  11. May 29, 2012
    4
    The comedy is predictable, the characters shallow and boring. There are a lot of enjoyable moments, but most attempts at comedy fail. Overall the film does not hold up to a potentially epic concept.
  12. Apr 15, 2012
    0
    A textbook example of how an interesting general concept can be turned into a terrible movie. This is so sad! What one could have done with a budget of 7.5 million and Nazi UFOs... What we get instead is a disappointing combination of horrific writing without any sense for dramaturgy and mostly mistimed jokes.

    The actually very good production design and CGI feel like an awful waste for a
    movie that almost entirely fails to entertain. Expand
  13. Apr 12, 2012
    4
    Iron Sky is, sadly, lame. I was killing for some good Nazi jokes - none here I'm afraid. Seems they spent all their time and money trying to make the film look expensive, instead of making it funny. The only time our packed audience really laughed was at a topical joke that had nothing to do with the film's story. The only thing you really need to know about this movie, is that for a film about NAZIS FROM SPACE, it ends on a serious note. Argghhhh! Expand
  14. May 15, 2012
    6
    There are a lot of really funny moments in this film, and they're worth the price of admission. However, they don't quite overcome a slow pace and uneven tone (switching from whacky action/comedy to dark and grim). If anything, it's quite impressive for such a modest budget.
  15. Jun 8, 2012
    6
    Iron Sky is definitely a fun movie . With the mixer of si-fi and comedy its just never boring . Good story , it was so different and script was kinda funny too. Most of the films like this just dont work out but it really did. The cast was amazing and funny on their own way. and the visual effect of the film was surprisingly amazing. I mean how did they do all those with a budget of â
  16. May 3, 2012
    8
    This movie was a very positive surprise for me.
    When I bought the ticket, I didn't know this movie was a comedy. I expected a really idiotic no-brainer similar to Asylum movies (like classical Titanic 2, Sharktopus or Megapython vs Gathoroid) that's stupidity I can laugh at. The moment I realised it's a comedy though, a voice in my head said: "Oh f***. It's going to be next Epic movie or
    Disaster movie". I don't think I've ever been so happy about being wrong.
    Iron Sky, while not a masterpiece is definitely a /likable movie/. There is some clever humor (I wasn't expecting that), a lot of political satire and some references to other films and internet culture. I cannot say much without spoiling the movie, so I'll just recommend it to everyone who likes some simple silly humor, and ridiculous plot.
    Expand
  17. May 28, 2012
    9
    this film was funny and exciting the exploitation and the way they did this film was absolutely amazing. this film had the best story line, the best chosen actors and a very well done back story of the Americas having a female president that had the might of an ant. this film will be going down in my books as one of the best films in sic fi and comedy. well done.
  18. May 27, 2012
    7
    The film is brilliant in concept and has some absolutely killer sight gags, especially with respect to Nazi-genre tropes. (i.e. a Nazi spaceman riding a motorcyle with a side car on the moon). Unfortunately, they did not put nearly enough thought into the script. It could have been so much better. It's like they were having so much find with the IDEA of Nazis in space that when it came to writing a plot they were sitting around getting high and someone just said "Oh, I don't know, let's have Sarah Palin be the President, that would be funny, LOL!" And they just ran with that - which is so lame in comparison to the Space Nazi parts of the film that it just drags the whole thing down. And then the old trope about turning a black man white. Just Sad. Waste of a fantastic concept, really. On the plus side, they make have invented Nazi-Steam-Punk. It really does have a great aesthetic cross between the stylistic aspects of Nazi films and goth-indistrial-steam-punk aesthetics. Everything is gears and pulleys and chains and heavy machinery, in shades of grey and black instead of brass. The men dress in shiny leather black trench coats and the women wear trim form fitting grey business suits. Or occasionally corsets. With nazi armbands. Expand
  19. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    I really enjoyed this, but, it's not for everyone. If you can get behind something that's intentionally a bit cheesy, intentionally a bit 'b-movie' and you can suspend disbelief for the sake a bit of enjoyable nonsense then this may well work for you.

    If you're expecting a top of the line sci fi movie that takes things seriously and spends lot of time doing a good job of being serious
    then you'll be disappointed, I think. Expand
  20. Jun 5, 2012
    7
    Nazis living on the Moon and building their super space battleship to conquer the Earth! It is true, they live on the dark side of the Moon and they are totally disconnected from the life on the Earth, they still live in 50s. They don't even know what Nazis did to the world in the last century, they think that they are good and that their mission is to spread peace among us living on the Earth. Only Führer and some generals know their evil plans. As an advertisement for American president elections two astronauts land on the Moon and they see the dark side of it. On of them is black and that causes a lot of silly questions among Nazis. But rulers of the Earth (specially American president, who is a woman) aren't any better. There is also a space battle like in Star Wars. I must admit that this movie is really critical to present world order. A lot of comical situations happen and you are able to learn some basics of Deutsche Sprache. Expand
  21. Jul 11, 2012
    1
    While there were a couple of funny-ish jokes overall the film couldn't hold it's own, nor could it hold my attention. It's not at all subtle and comes across as heavy-handed and clumsy.
  22. Jan 5, 2013
    5
    This is a very well produced, atrocious "B" movie. This film is not good but that is where it shines, it is a "B" movie for the sake of being a "B" movie. It never tries to take itself seriously in any way and only manages to pull off it's attempt at scripted humor occasionally. If you find yourself laughing it is usually "at" the movie and certainly not "with" it. A perfect candidate for a "bad movie night". I've seen worse, but not by much. Ed Wood would be proud. Expand
  23. Sep 19, 2012
    5
    Iron Sky has one of the great all-time exploitation movie premises. There's no point beating about the bush, it's about space Nazis. Apparently, after they lost WWII, the Reich retreated to the moon, but feel the time is right for world domination 67 years later. For a film of its type, it works more often than not, though the setup is clunky even by B-movie standards, and the film as a whole is a bit too drawn out. There are a few satisfyingly surreal and tongue-in-cheek gags, the best of which mocks contemporary world politics (with a particularly cruel, but hilarious Sarah Palin caricature performed pitch-perfectly by Stephanie Paul) and another which involves two Nazi soldiers passionately disagreeing with the appeal of 21st century pornography. Despite these memorable moments and sporting some rather impressive visual effects for an independent Finnish film, Iron Sky often, sometimes fatefully, plays it far too straight-faced. The film's marketing campaign got it right by really embracing how ridiculous it is, and the film would probably have benefited from being similar in tone to the Tarantino/Rodriguez Grindhouse project from a few years ago - a parody, but a knowing, high-quality homage rather than an outright spoof that has the potential to quickly run out of steam. At the end of the day, though there's a lot to like in Iron Sky, and though you will probably laugh at some point, it needs to be far funnier to make the whole concept work. Expand
  24. Aug 11, 2012
    5
    The film was enjoyable to watch but it just wasn't that good. The idea of it seemed amazing a first and the initial trailer presented a sinister invasion from the nazi's where earth struggles to survive. but the film was different. it turned out to be more like a slap-stick/comedy/disaster/crime movie in which it failed in each category. The acting was mostly appalling, although Julia Dietze fulfilled her role perfectly. not living up to it's premise Iron Sky was a disappointment. there were some remotely humorous moments and the CGI was "top notch". The big war ship which was revealed near the end after a large build-up got destroyed far too early. it was like the scene in transformers 2 where the big robot thing climbs the pyramid then gets blown up in a few seconds. we expect it to wreak havoc for at least half an hour but no, it travelled ten feet after blasting a hole in the moon...then it crashed! i feel like in the film, the "earthlings" won a bit too easily; all the nazi's did was blow up a few buildings in new york, but the "earthlings" practically destroyed everything including the moon base itself. Overall it was cheesy and predictable and shallow and a bit hard to keep up with whats going on at some points. but the CGI was fantastic, and Julia Dietze was well hot.

    Worth a watch, but nothing to rave about
    Expand
  25. Jul 23, 2012
    8
    The trailer makes Iron Sky look like a relatively serious (other than the whole Nazis from the moon thing) sci-fi war movie but it is actually mostly a comedy. It has some good cultural references and some that don't really work. It is not that funny but it is still quite entertaining and fun.
  26. Jul 10, 2014
    6
    If you think a lookalike dumb version Sarah Palin versus space nazis sounds like a good idea, well maybe this is the film for you? I only bought the film to get the backstory for the Iron Sky PC game on Steam.
  27. Jun 20, 2012
    6
    thought it was a pretty good B movie but probably could have been a bit more camp with the nazi theme not really used to its ultimate... very good special effects for a low budget flick
  28. Aug 24, 2012
    5
    I was very intrigued with the trailers of this movie. I knew it was a comedy and that it wasnt to be taken seriously, but really.. this movie is nonsense. Even the jokes are not funny. Big disappointment.
  29. Feb 23, 2013
    8
    great movie, i liked it a lot. The characters were probably one of the biggest highlights aside from the great premise. Although i suppose almost every aspect of the movie succeeds in my opinion.
    the characters; the characters were all awesome especially the "black guy". his scenes and the things that he goes through were probably the best parts of the movies. My favorite quote of the
    movie was "im the moon spook you turned into a snowflake". Good stuff. Also the female nazi was awesome in how naive she was to how the world really worked and she was also incredibly sexy. The female president was also a great character always working out and being an overly stereotypical female politician. She acted very well.
    The plot; its overlly obsurd and thats a definite plus for me that someone takes a chance on such a bizarre title. And the movie delivers on the idea of nazis from space. We have a cool refreshing look at nazis and then there is the space element that makes this movie fall into the sci-fi category. You also have the black guy thrown into the nazi mix and i feel they pulled off this great premise very well.
    The movie has it all, beautifull women(no nudity), action, sci-fi, comedy, and of course...nazis. I'd highly recommend it as being one of the most origonal movies i have seen in a while.
    Expand
  30. Mar 14, 2013
    7
    Not as good as it could have been. The premise was really interesting and it's comedic aspects were also pretty good. The special effect (for the most part) were pretty good, considering. Overall: A fun movie that looks like it could have been better, and perhaps it could be if ever a sequel would be made.
  31. Feb 17, 2013
    8
    Really enjoyed iron sky, really interesting premise great action and some funny moments.Gets a bit bogged down in the middle third but really picks up at the end for a great finale.The guys who made this deserve a lot of credit for doing something different and i think it really pays off.
  32. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    i really enjoyed the film and game i have watched it 20+ times and still not get bored plus the actors play their parts well and the way the film mocks usa is funny and one of the most important things is that Julia Dietze plays renate and she is Sexy and speaks good english :D but i would of liked it more if James would of stayed black throughout the film but the ending came far too soon and it wasnt as happy as i thought because i would of rather of had the film ending take place 2 months later where the nazis were on earth and renate and james were married Expand
  33. Dec 18, 2013
    4
    This movie is awful tbh. Some episods (about 90% of movie) is so absurd, so its even hard to watch. White afroamerican, what? You can see bad painted bleach on his face. Main actors, especially Helper of President, President herself and that Colonel or Vice-Furer-somewhat guy have faces like it was smashed by iron and want more. Fight of presidents at the end of movie? I wished someone to kill me. That episode of afroamerican and nazi girl almost flying away in open space? Lolz
    But that Renata girl is quite cute, I also liked the moment when they meet with President and Renata explains their politics.
    I wont reccomend anyone to watch this, and hardly will watch it myself, but for sore reason I will keep it in my library.
    p.s. WHY THIS HELPER OF PRESIDENT WOMAN HAVE SUCH UGLY FACE WHYYY
    Expand
  34. Feb 19, 2014
    3
    I can count on one hand the amusing or slightly funny moments this movie had. That and the occasional cleavage saved this movie from a rotten 1/10, still, not really a recommended flick.
  35. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    I like this movie because...
    -Some scene is funny
    -German scene is subtitled

    I don't like some of the things about this movie.
    -Some scene is boring

    Overall I give this movie 10/10.
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 3 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    Apr 1, 2012
    50
    Much more amusing in theory than in execution.
  2. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Apr 1, 2012
    50
    Vuorensola's sci-fi comedy is uneven, its humor never quite matching the luster of its visuals.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew Pulver
    Apr 1, 2012
    40
    It's not terrible, by any means: just not nearly as funny or cruel as its killer premise suggests.