Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2009
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 134 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
62
Mixed:
32
Negative:
40
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
marcmyworksJun 6, 2016
A cute fluffy film but with little to no real substance. The greatest part? It not being about two young people figuring out love but rather a more realistic couple.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
QuelhasSep 23, 2015
It made me laugh, and for that I'm giving a 7. But I'm quite skeptical about the story, how things begun, developed and ended... A divorce may be traumatic for a family, but I don't think, for example, that after a decade of a separationIt made me laugh, and for that I'm giving a 7. But I'm quite skeptical about the story, how things begun, developed and ended... A divorce may be traumatic for a family, but I don't think, for example, that after a decade of a separation "kids" cry over a "slip" from the parents... Specially at that age, come on! Besides that, it's a funny movie, not hilarious, but funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysSep 12, 2014
It's Complicated may be unrealistic and too slight to deliver a real thematic message, but the humor kills in this one. It's not slapstick or dirty; just like Mrs. Streep's performance, it is sophisticated and genuine. The final third mightIt's Complicated may be unrealistic and too slight to deliver a real thematic message, but the humor kills in this one. It's not slapstick or dirty; just like Mrs. Streep's performance, it is sophisticated and genuine. The final third might be a little below the rest of the movie, but overall it is enjoyable and an easy watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeAug 29, 2014
Nancy Meyers ceases to amaze us with another look at American relationships in the modern era. It truly is complicated--but that's what we love about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DerekXApr 12, 2014
Loved Streep and Baldwin together. Film is worth watching just to see those to interact. They make the film. Martin? Boy cannot act. His character is like someone's pet rock.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Jun 22, 2013
A nice romantic comedy that focuses on an older couple(that's rare.) I can only say good things about Meryl and there were some very funny scenes where you can tell they were having a lot of fun and it translated very well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
heyitsmegrif4Aug 3, 2012
The actors do fine work, but it is nothing new, nothing fun, and nothing funny. So not much goes on here that is actually complicated. I give this movie 34%.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
lasttimeisawApr 5, 2012
I intentionally gave this film a miss as I have a hunch it is not my cup of tea after Nancy Meyersâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Apr 3, 2012
Not funny at all especially when you have two talented actors. An insipid story with sappy dialogue delivered by predictable, one-dimensional characters. About as complex as the movie's title.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
NERIUMApr 2, 2012
Alec Baldwin, Meryl Streep, Steve Martin are all fantastic an Nancy Mayers always do manuscrips that are well written. This is one of the better Hollywood romantic comedies i have seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
JBMOct 16, 2011
This is a comedy? What a bore! I watched it for the many familiar faces in it and I have never seen so much talent do absolutely nothing. Krasinsky managed a small bit of comic performance in the middle of the film so thanks for that. ThisThis is a comedy? What a bore! I watched it for the many familiar faces in it and I have never seen so much talent do absolutely nothing. Krasinsky managed a small bit of comic performance in the middle of the film so thanks for that. This movie had no tension whatsover. Even when the characters were mildly bothered by their actions, they were totally thrilled with their perfect lives. And those kids? Where do you get kids who were little more than cardboard cutouts of persons? This is a perfect movie to keep on the DVR for when you cannot sleep. If I hear a soft and mellow guitar background one more time, I will shoot myself. no no no no no. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Peter_Labose_LAFeb 17, 2011
It's Complicated was the funniest movie I have seen in years, possibly ever. I watched it three times in the theater bringing different people each time. Every time I laughed harder then the last. It's believable in most cases and some of theIt's Complicated was the funniest movie I have seen in years, possibly ever. I watched it three times in the theater bringing different people each time. Every time I laughed harder then the last. It's believable in most cases and some of the situations that arise are hysterical. Definitely great to see with a lady friend. You won't be disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ZorglyFeb 9, 2011
It's not complicated, it's not well made, and it's not worth your time. Basic run of the mill chick flick themes and ideas trying to masquerade as something more by getting good actors to do bad work. a couple of mildly enjoyable momentsIt's not complicated, it's not well made, and it's not worth your time. Basic run of the mill chick flick themes and ideas trying to masquerade as something more by getting good actors to do bad work. a couple of mildly enjoyable moments (thanks to Alec Baldwin) can't save this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
smijatovDec 22, 2010
With having had a streak of great Streep films, "It's Complicated" is rather underwhelming. Just another romantic comedy, it feels more like a rip of from "Something's Gotta Give" than anything else. Meryl Streep is pretty good in it, but sheWith having had a streak of great Streep films, "It's Complicated" is rather underwhelming. Just another romantic comedy, it feels more like a rip of from "Something's Gotta Give" than anything else. Meryl Streep is pretty good in it, but she has rather little to work with, since the characters are not very well developed and the storyline is not extremely interesting. The film isn't even that funny. I guess, there were some entertaining parts, and the cast is pretty decent, so there is definitely something to find in the film, especially for rom-com fans! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DualRadiusAug 28, 2010
Tough movie to review. While most of the criticisms are fair, the movie is - in the end - pretty amusing.

Some movies are made to "deliver a message" and some are meant purely to entertain. This is much more of the latter. Worth seeing for
Tough movie to review. While most of the criticisms are fair, the movie is - in the end - pretty amusing.

Some movies are made to "deliver a message" and some are meant purely to entertain. This is much more of the latter.

Worth seeing for pure laughs...
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
bradleyAug 21, 2010
You probably won't like this movie if you're not a fan of chick flicks That said, fans of Nancy Meyers's other works (The Holiday, Something's Gotta Give) will feel right at home. Like her other movies, this is set in a visually stunningYou probably won't like this movie if you're not a fan of chick flicks That said, fans of Nancy Meyers's other works (The Holiday, Something's Gotta Give) will feel right at home. Like her other movies, this is set in a visually stunning environment that many would love to live in. The story is fun (if contrived in parts) and the cast is a joy to watch. No, it's not entirely realistic and won't challenge you intellectually, but it's a fun movie to watch and will join the list of Meyers's other movies that I watch repeatedly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
thelordoffilmAug 13, 2010
Lately comedies have been sex romps and teenage movies. Itâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JamesHJun 2, 2010
Meryl Streep is magnificent, as she always is. Alec Baldwin is wonderfully cast and gives a memorable performance. Steve Martin is effective in a subdued role. It
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ginatMay 31, 2010
This is the most absurdly vacuous and unfunny comedy I've seen in decades -- a ridiculous, irritating, unrealistic piece of fluff fantasy for middle-aged women. I couldn't believe that Meryl Streep would participate. I've This is the most absurdly vacuous and unfunny comedy I've seen in decades -- a ridiculous, irritating, unrealistic piece of fluff fantasy for middle-aged women. I couldn't believe that Meryl Streep would participate. I've always loved her but by the end of the film, I was so annoyed by the near-continous tinkle of her laughter -- before and after her every line, it seems -- that I started to hate her. Don't see it, don't rent it, don't order it on Instant Play or Netflix, don't look at the movie posters. It sucks like few films have ever sucked before. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
DaveyMay 23, 2010
If you liked Sex and the City you might like this miserable bore. Otherwise, it's a terrible waste of acting talent. One funny scene with a laptop computer in a bedroom is what gets the movie a 2 instead of a 0. Basically it's If you liked Sex and the City you might like this miserable bore. Otherwise, it's a terrible waste of acting talent. One funny scene with a laptop computer in a bedroom is what gets the movie a 2 instead of a 0. Basically it's about a manipulative, whiny, self-obsessed lawyer repeatedly conning a sappy ex into giving him her time and yet another chance. The guy is too much of a total jerk to care about and the wife is too much of a fool. Top it off with adult offspring who behave like 12-year-olds and you've got a film to avoid like the plague. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
robertiMay 15, 2010
A romp that you know will not end somewhere over the rainbow, but we play along with the fiction, if just to watch Streep and Baldwin lighting up the screen as mature adults. Love hurts.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
VictorMMar 21, 2010
I went to see this expecting worse, but was pleasantly surprised. A very enjoyable film, excellent if clownish performances. The kids mug a lot, the locations so upscale as to be off-putting, no one has financial worries, hardly a trace of I went to see this expecting worse, but was pleasantly surprised. A very enjoyable film, excellent if clownish performances. The kids mug a lot, the locations so upscale as to be off-putting, no one has financial worries, hardly a trace of minorities. On the other hand, the film allows late-middle-aged people with their wrinkles, cardiac disorders, and flab to shine and behave like teenagers all over again. On this note a little optimism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KayW.Mar 2, 2010
This is the funniest movie I have seen in years (maybe ever)! Maybe it's because I grew up in the 60's, but I haven't laughed so much at a movie in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GermanNMar 1, 2010
Below average movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrentPFeb 21, 2010
One of the most satisfying films I've ever seen. This was a laugh the whole way through, in the best of ways. I'm definitely buying on Blu-Ray disc.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TonyB.Feb 19, 2010
Nancy Meyers' philosophy seems to be that if you put reasonablly sensible adults into ridiculous situations, you will get some laughs. In this case, you do. A cast whose abilities range from good to brilliant makes the most of the Nancy Meyers' philosophy seems to be that if you put reasonablly sensible adults into ridiculous situations, you will get some laughs. In this case, you do. A cast whose abilities range from good to brilliant makes the most of the screenplay given them. Smart direction does the same. An ending that refuses to follow a formula took me by surprise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
artFeb 16, 2010
Very unpleasant- Hollywood uses divorce as it's major plot line now because they are bereft of imagination. 60 yr olds now have girlfriends and boyfriends and it makes normal people feel like they are missing something. Believe me , Very unpleasant- Hollywood uses divorce as it's major plot line now because they are bereft of imagination. 60 yr olds now have girlfriends and boyfriends and it makes normal people feel like they are missing something. Believe me , "the results are NOT hilarious". Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
EggyGFeb 8, 2010
This movie is a big exciting dance between Meryl Streep and Alec Baldwin....and I love every minute of it! The other casts, story, plot, and music are just nice entourage.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
NoahMFeb 3, 2010
A fantastic movie. Funny, clever, witty, and cute.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaryBFeb 1, 2010
I loved this movie and can't tell you the last time I heard a movie audience laughing so hard. For those critics who gave this movie bad reviews, all you have to do is look at the box office totals and see how out of touch they are with I loved this movie and can't tell you the last time I heard a movie audience laughing so hard. For those critics who gave this movie bad reviews, all you have to do is look at the box office totals and see how out of touch they are with the people. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GloriaJan 24, 2010
I hate Nancy Meyers. And I'm a Woman! She's simply not talented!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
HowardW.Jan 21, 2010
An insipid story with sappy dialogue delivered by predictable, one-dimensional characters. About as complex as a high school pajama party.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MarkJJan 18, 2010
Okay. Not everyone lives in Malibu and owns a French bakery catering to movie stars. Not everyone is a partner in an architectural firm specializing in million-dollar home improvements. Maybe Meryl Streep smiles and giggles a bit too much. Okay. Not everyone lives in Malibu and owns a French bakery catering to movie stars. Not everyone is a partner in an architectural firm specializing in million-dollar home improvements. Maybe Meryl Streep smiles and giggles a bit too much. But the comedy is, at least, inspired by some believable reality. Alec Baldwin is dead-on hilarious, Steve Martin is a charming leading man and Meryl Streep is light and lovable. Mark J. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
JohnG.Jan 12, 2010
John Krasinski almost steals the show as the son-in-law, but Streep is tremendous and the whole thing shows how life and love together can be, complicated by others.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
LarryJan 7, 2010
I really don't get the negativity about this movie. Sure, it's not deep or outrageous or wonderfully novel and clever. And, it is a bit long. Nevertheless, it has a solid storyline and most of the characters are solid. Most I really don't get the negativity about this movie. Sure, it's not deep or outrageous or wonderfully novel and clever. And, it is a bit long. Nevertheless, it has a solid storyline and most of the characters are solid. Most important, however, is that the film is actually funny. Some of the gags have been around a long time, but most are fresh, adult and fun. I saw it with an audience of people mostly over 50. The women, in particular, were cackling and guffawing loudly and frequently. I think someone must be at least a worldly and married 25 yrs or older to have a reasonable appreciation of this film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
RonP.Jan 5, 2010
Overall the movie was very good the acting was great the only real problem was the film it self. The last half of the movie showed mic booms and mic's hanging over the actors heads and prop guys hiding or trying to. There was just as Overall the movie was very good the acting was great the only real problem was the film it self. The last half of the movie showed mic booms and mic's hanging over the actors heads and prop guys hiding or trying to. There was just as many laughs and wonderments at that as in the movie. The film makers get an F, very unprofessional. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
bobwJan 4, 2010
Put off by recurrent Hollywood practice of placing story in megamansion/estate. This is where film makers live, perhaps, but not where people live, and it gets tiresome to watch - especially when a central theme is the planning of a major Put off by recurrent Hollywood practice of placing story in megamansion/estate. This is where film makers live, perhaps, but not where people live, and it gets tiresome to watch - especially when a central theme is the planning of a major edition to what already is a White House sized home (including a kitchen redo of what is already a commercial scale kitchen). There is also a "garden" which looks like a small farm at Versailles, ready for photographing for a coffee table book. In other words, the characters and settings were ridiculous. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DWillyDec 31, 2009
What an ironic title for a film so surface and forced I felt it leaching the art out of me as I sat there stunned and dispirited that the can-do-wrong Meryl Sreep could thrash about and do so wrong. Baldwin is terrible, too; he's much What an ironic title for a film so surface and forced I felt it leaching the art out of me as I sat there stunned and dispirited that the can-do-wrong Meryl Sreep could thrash about and do so wrong. Baldwin is terrible, too; he's much more nuanced in his sitcom and sketch comedy work than in this weird celebration of people so white they're disappearing. It's all so false I felt guity for wishing something awful would happen to not only the people on the screen, but the filmmakers themselves just to hopefully bestow on them some character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexandraE.Dec 31, 2009
This movie was a perfect comedy, romantic comedy. It was full of laughs and superb acting performance. I would recommend it to anyone who wants something different from the typical "chick flick."
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BillySDec 30, 2009
It's Complicated is very similar to Something's Gotta Give in story and demographic audience but with a couple hilarious set pieces and a wonderful performance by Alec Baldwin who should be a factor in the Best Supporting Actor It's Complicated is very similar to Something's Gotta Give in story and demographic audience but with a couple hilarious set pieces and a wonderful performance by Alec Baldwin who should be a factor in the Best Supporting Actor race next month. Our parents generation had Pillow Talk, now we get It's Complicated, if we were our parents, it would be awesome, but we're not, and it's just a good night at the movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ianbDec 30, 2009
The actors are well cast, and their natural and awkward interactions are directed with a light touch. The writing is natural and clever. Refreshingly, this movie shows emotional maturity and respects the intelligence of the viewers. It is The actors are well cast, and their natural and awkward interactions are directed with a light touch. The writing is natural and clever. Refreshingly, this movie shows emotional maturity and respects the intelligence of the viewers. It is straightforward but well-paced. Most importantly, the actors' subtle, comfortable performances and great comedic timing are the glues that bind this well-executed package into a entertaining whole. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TDKinDallasDec 30, 2009
Flat out hilarious movie. I can't believe that there is not pages of user reviews for this movie. I took my parents on Christmas Day. The theater was packed and I laughed so hard I cried. We had just watched Sherlock Holmes, which we Flat out hilarious movie. I can't believe that there is not pages of user reviews for this movie. I took my parents on Christmas Day. The theater was packed and I laughed so hard I cried. We had just watched Sherlock Holmes, which we also enjoyed, but this was even better. This movie is meant for adult audiences. Sorry, Kip, maybe you should have gone to see Alvin's Squeakquel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JasonKDec 30, 2009
Though a bit too long, I was entertained for the better part of it. Isn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DarrenUDec 30, 2009
There is nothing at stake in the plot of the film. Steve Martin's was the only character I cared about. The adult children are insufferable. Rich white folks are boring. It's not complicated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KateGDec 29, 2009
I loved this. Alec Baldwin is hilarious, believable every minute. A little too much of Streep laughing, but she's good, so's Steve Martin. Didn't notice the others much with the charismatic stars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MoniqueSDec 28, 2009
A pleasant surprise, though Meryl Streep can do no wrong.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MariaKDec 28, 2009
Alec Baldwin great as always! Meryl Streep also terrific and relaxed. By contrast, Steve Martin woefully miscast in the romantic nice guy lead. His character also suffered from the writing - I found it impossible to sympathize with his Alec Baldwin great as always! Meryl Streep also terrific and relaxed. By contrast, Steve Martin woefully miscast in the romantic nice guy lead. His character also suffered from the writing - I found it impossible to sympathize with his character, there was nothing particularly attractive or interesting about his personality. All in all, a pleasant enough distraction. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MikeD.Dec 28, 2009
One very funny scene does not a movie make. A better title would have been It's Trite.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomZ.Dec 28, 2009
Enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeC.Dec 28, 2009
It's a fun, easy-to-watch movie. Its thin "plot" doesn't justify the length of the movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadSDec 27, 2009
In the afterglow of making love to his ex-wife for a second time, Jake(Alec Baldwin) tells Jane(Meryl Streep), "We grew into the people we always wanted to be." Funny thing, though; the ten years, the intervening years of their divorce, In the afterglow of making love to his ex-wife for a second time, Jake(Alec Baldwin) tells Jane(Meryl Streep), "We grew into the people we always wanted to be." Funny thing, though; the ten years, the intervening years of their divorce, which it took to become the finished products Jake suggests that they'd become, seems to largely have been accomplished without the influence of each other's matrimonial company. Jane survived the divorce, and even prospered during the interim of her husband's departure. The sadness brought on by Empty Nest Syndrome, notwithstanding, this single businesswoman is doing fine; she has enough funds(as a result of her successfully-ran patisserie) to expand the house and remodel the kitchen, so, perhaps, divorce gave her wings. The motivation behind Jane's affair with Jake is designed to mollify, not horrify, the moviegoer, which is why "It's Complicated" falls short of being a French farce. (Something Baldwin says implies that it's so.) This is very much a Hollywood-sanctioned product, and this is how: While gabbing with close friends at a potluck, revenge against Agnes(Jake's much-younger wife, played by Lake Bell), the former other woman, is voiced by Jane, but the filmmaker relegates this juicier motivation behind the ironic sex to a mere byproduct of her residual feelings for Jake. "It's Complicated" is really not that complicated at all, since Jane has romantic notions toward her ex-husband from the outset. (In a major studio motion picture, the female protagonist can't be a vindictive home-wrecker.) Don't get me wrong: "It's Complicated" has quite a few laugh-worthy moments(and that's high praise, given the recent slate of "comedies"), but it's so depressingly safe. On "Inside the Actor's Studio w/James Lipton", Ms. Streep answered, "Edgy," as being her least favorite word on the survey which the host conducts at the end of every show, and true to form, "It's Complicated" is not edgy, at all. To be edgy, such entertaining of romantic notions on Jane's part should have been written as an unexpected outgrowth of her initial plan to be a middle-aged femme fatale. (The professional accomplishments of single women too often are undermined by some deficiency in their love lives.) "It's Complicated" makes adultery look innocent because the film mostly villifies the younger woman, even though, it would seem that Jake became the man he so admires, in due part to her guiding influence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RichDec 26, 2009
This is one of the better Hollywood romantic comedies of the last 40 years. Critical opinion seems a bit harsh, but I'd like to seem them come up with the names of five films of the genre that were better.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndresDec 26, 2009
Very funny and enjoyable comedy. Light-hearted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
KipH.Dec 25, 2009
Good acting but the movie is so drawn out that it becomes tedious. It's definitely a "chick flick" as most of the laughs from the audience were coming from women.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewH.Dec 25, 2009
A pleasant comedy perfectly suitable for the holidays. Full of laughs and good acting, I definitely recommend it. Streep is superb!
0 of 0 users found this helpful